أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

إعادة إعمار العراق: أنقرة وبغداد وأربيل


متاح أيضاً في English

5 نيسان/أبريل 2018

في شباط/فبراير الماضي، تباهت مصادر تركية موالية للحكومة بفخر بأن وزير الخارجية التركي مولود جاويش أوغلو تعهد بتقديم المبلغ الأكبر من المال في المنطقة خلال مشاركته في مؤتمر الجهات المانحة الدولي حول إعادة إعمار العراق في مدينة الكويت. وقد جمع الحدث الذي دام ثلاثة أيام ممثلين عن المجتمع المدني ومسؤولين حكوميين رفيعي المستوى وعدد من المنظمات غير الحكومية. وقد تمّ جمع 30 مليار دولار من أصل مبلغ 88 مليار دولار الذي طلبته الحكومة العراقية. وقد غرّد جاويش أوغلو قائلًا إن العراق "دولة مجاورة وصديقة وشريك موثوق، سنقف دائمًا إلى جانب أشقائنا العراقيين". ولم يفاجئ هذا التعهد الخبراء، إذ إن نمو تركيا الاقتصادي وأمنها المحلي وتطلعاتها الإقليمية مرتبطة ببغداد وإربيل على السواء.

وكانت العلاقات التركية في العراق أحدثت توازنًا بين "حكومة إقليم كردستان" العراقية ومقرها إربيل والحكومة الفدرالية في بغداد. وكما قال السفير الأمريكي السابق إلى أنقرة جايمس جيفري "تركيا تريد إبقاء الطرفين في صفها". في هذا السياق، صرّح بلال وهاب، وهو خبير في شؤون العراق وزميل في "معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى" قائلًا "لم أتفاجأ [بالتعهد] لأن العراق، ولا سيما "حكومة إقليم كردستان"، كان ثاني أو ثالث أكبر شريك تجاري لتركيا". وفي عام 2010، ساءت العلاقات التركية مع بغداد خلال حملة رئيس الوزراء العراقي السابق نوري المالكي وإعادة انتخابه بسبب استبداده المتزايد ونشره للخطاب الطائفي المدمر في العراق.

وتحاول تركيا منذ فترة الاضطلاع بدور بارز مع جارتها الجنوبية. فعلى سبيل المثال، خلال هجوم الموصل في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2016 ضد "داعش"، حاولت أنقرة القيام بالتحرك المطلوب، في وقت أصرّ فيه الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان على رغبته في مشاركة "القوات المسلحة التركية". وفي ذلك الوقت، واجهت هذه الرغبات معارضةً دولية صريحة من قبل الغرب وما تبقى من المشاعر المعادية لاستعمار الإمبراطورية العثمانية في بغداد.

غير أن أنقرة وبغداد حافظتا على علاقة من التسامح تخللتها فترات من التوترات لغاية 25 أيلول/سبتمبر 2017، عندما قاد رئيس "حكومة إقليم كردستان" مسعود برزاني الاستفتاء الكردي حول الاستقلال عن العراق الذي أثار جدالًا واسعًا. وقد عزّز ذلك إلى حدّ كبير المخاوف التركية من أن حكومة كردية عراقية مستقلة قد تطلق مفعول الدومينو المتسلسل الذي يثير حماسة الاستقلال في أوساط الأقليات الكردية الكبيرة في سوريا وإيران وفي نهاية المطاف في تركيا. وللحدّ من هذه المخاوف، أعلنت طهران دعمها الكامل لأنقرة وبغداد حيث فرضت بشكل مؤقت حظرًا شمل عدة أصعدة على المنطقة المستقلة. وكانت الضربة النهائية القاضية الموجهة إلى الأكراد العراقيين إعلان وزير الخارجية الأمريكي السابق ريكس تيلرسون أن "التصويت والنتائج تفتقد إلى الشرعية" بسبب التوقيت الحساس للاستفتاء.

وبحلول نهاية أيلول/سبتمبر 2017، أمالت تركيا ميزانها الدبلوماسي من إربيل إلى بغداد. ومن دون دعم دولي، فشل الاستفتاء الكردي العراقي المعزول فشلًا ذريعًا. ولحسن حظ أنقرة، لم يعق رفض الأتراك لمهمة برزاني الصفقات التجارية بين "حكومة إقليم كردستان" وتركيا التي تصل قيمتها إلى 2.5 مليار دولار. لكن التحول السريع في العلاقات بين أنقرة وإربيل لم يقلل من الحساسية بين أنقرة وبغداد حيال التعاون الوثيق من خلال الاستفادة من الأرضية المشتركة الناتجة عن جهود تقرير المصير التي بذلها الأكراد. هذا وذكر وهاب أن "تركيا لم تخسر "حكومة إقليم كردستان"، لكنها ربحت في الوقت نفسه العراق [بغداد]. أعتقد أن ما حققته تركيا هو مكسب لها". وبعد أسابيع قليلة فقط من الاستفتاء، زار رئيس الوزراء العراقي حيدر العبادي تركيا. وقد دعم التوصل إلى اتفاق تساهم من خلاله بغداد في محاربة "حزب العمال الكردستاني" الإرهابي، كما أطلق محادثات لاستبدال خط أنابيب نفط كركوك-جيهان الذي دمرته الحرب.

وكان لمبادرات إيران الأثر الإجمالي الأسوأ على إقليم كردستان العراق. فسرعان ما استعادت قوات الحكومة العراقية في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2017 الأراضي المكتسبة حديثًا خلال دحر تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" على يد "حكومة إقليم كردستان"، على غرار مدينة كركوك. ويزعم وهاب أن "إيران أرسلت وكلاءها لمساعدة العراقيين على استعادة كركوك. أعني أن خطة استعادة كركوك كانت من إعداد إيران. إنها العقل المدبّر. وبالتالي، لم يكن لتركيا أي يد في ذلك. بل على العكس، كان رئيس الوزراء الكردي يطالب، بل يتوسل من أجل عقد اجتماع مع أردوغان".

وقوّض هذا التحول في الآونة الأخيرة نحو بغداد إلى حدّ ما "حكومة إقليم كردستان" التي لا تزال أنقرة بحاجة إليها لأغراض التجارة وتلبية طلبها المتنامي على الطاقة. وفي هذا السياق، قال ديليمان عبد القادر، وهو مدير "مشروع كردستان" في مركز البحوث "وقف حقيقة الشرق الأوسط" (إيميت) ومقره واشنطن العاصمة، إنه "يمكن اعتبار الاستثمارات مؤشرًا لإربيل على أن تركيا تؤيد وحدة العراق وأننا [نحن الأتراك] سنواصل تعزيز هذه الوحدة، لكنني أعتقد أن الأكراد باتوا يفهمون هذه الحقيقة الآن". وعلى خط السياسة الخارجية التركية نفسه، علّق ريكس تيلرسون أن الولايات المتحدة تدعم "عراقًا موحدًا فدراليًا ديمقراطيًا ومزدهرًا".

وقد جمعت بين الولايات المتحدة وتركيا علاقات متشنجة خلال الشهرين الماضيين. غير أن بند إعادة إعمار العراق مدرج في أجندة البلدين وسيمثل فرصةً فريدة للتعاون. ويفيد السفير السابق جيفري أن "تركيا مهتمة شأنها شأن الولايات المتحدة بكبح إيران. وثمة محادثات ثنائية أساسًا بين البلدين [بشأن إعادة إعمار العراق]. كما أن نظرة أمريكا وتركيا للعراق تتمثل باندماجه الكامل مع الغرب بدلًا من عراق يميل إلى إيران. وتكمن المشكلة في أن كلًا من تركيا والولايات المتحدة لديهما روابط وطيدة في العراق تكون متنافسة في بعض الأحيان".    

وبخلاف الوضع في سوريا، يتشارك الحليفان في "الناتو" مصالح مشتركة في العراق، وتشمل الحفاظ على وحدة العراق الاتحادية والحدّ من منطقة نفوذ إيران واستقرار الاقتصاد العراقي - إلى جانب نقطة مشتركة تتمثل بعراق مندمج في الغرب.

غير أن الكثير من العقبات تواجه هذا المسعى الحثيث لإعادة إعمار العراق. ففي هذا البلد غير المستقر والمدمّر بفعل الحرب 5.7 ملايين نازح يجدون صعوبةً في العودة إلى وطنهم، كما أن 60% تقريبًا من العراقيين هم دون سنّ الخامسة والعشرين وقد ترك عدد كبير من بينهم مقاعد الدراسة. فضلًا عن ذلك، لا تزال مخاطر الألغام قائمةً إلى جانب مشاكل ضبط النظام وضرورة إجراء محادثات صلح ما بعد الحرب بغية استئناف الحياة اليومية. والأهم من ذلك أن البلاد تواجه مشكلةً كبيرة مع الفساد رغم انطلاق إصلاحات حكومية هائلة قريبًا. وفي الوقت الراهن، يمكن اعتبار جمع مبلغ 30 مليار دولار في قمة مدينة الكويت قصة نجاح متواضعة للعراق، قصة تمثّل فرصةً فريدة لرأب الروابط بين الحلفاء التاريخيين على أسس مشتركة.

هذا ولم تفصح تركيا بشكل خاص كيف سيتمّ تطبيق التعهد بمبلغ 5 مليارات دولار. وثمة الكثير من الغموض حول ما إذا كانت هذه الأموال ستكون على شكل قروض سيادية أو هبات أو استثمارات خاصة. ويقول وهاب في هذا الإطار إن "التعهد التركي هو تعهد حكومي بتقديم 5 مليارات دولار، أما التعهد الأمريكي فهو خط ائتماني مقدم إلى المستثمرين الأمريكيين من أجل العمل في العراق". وتطرح الانتخابات العراقية المرتقبة في الشهر المقبل والإقالة المباغتة لوزير الخارجية الأمريكي ريكس تيلرسون ودعوة الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان القوات المسلحة التركية لمهاجمة منبج بعد عفرين تعقيدات حقيقية أمام التعاون. لكن، وللمرة الأولى منذ وقت طويل، يتشارك الأمريكيون والأتراك أجندةً متطابقة في المنطقة.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Iraqi Reconstruction: Ankara, Baghdad, and Erbil


Also available in العربية

April 5, 2018

Last February, Turkish pro-government sources proudly boasted that Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu had pledged the most money towards Iraqi reconstruction of the regional powers while attending the Kuwait International Conference for the Reconstruction of Iraq. The three-day event brought together civil society representatives, high-level government officials, and NGOs, raising a total of  $30 billion of the $88 billion requested by the Iraqi government. Çavuşoğlu then tweeted that Iraq is “a neighbor, friend, and reliable partner, we will always stand by our Iraqi brothers.” The pledge did not come as a surprise to experts, as Turkey’s economic growth, domestic security, and regional aspirations are tethered to both Baghdad and Erbil.

Turkish relations in Iraq have been a balancing act between the Kurdistan Regional Government of Iraq (KRG) based in Erbil and the Iraqi Federal Government in Baghdad. As former U.S. Ambassador to Ankara James Jeffrey states, “Turkey wants to keep both eggs in the basket.” Bilal Wahab, an expert on Iraq and fellow at The Washington Institute for Near East Policy, similarly described that he "wasn’t surprised [at the pledge] because Iraq has been, the KRG in particular, the second or third largest trade partner with Turkey.” However, Turkish relations with Baghdad had soured during the 2010 campaign and re-election of Nouri al-Maliki, the former Prime Minister of Iraq, due to his authoritarian tendencies and spread of detrimental sectarian rhetoric in Iraq.

As a result, Turkey has been trying to play a more prominent role in their southern neighbor's politics for some time now. For instance, Ankara tried to step up during the Mosul offensive in October 2016 against IS, with Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan adamantly expressing his desire for the Turkish Armed Forces (TSK ) to also participate. At the time, vocal international opposition by the West and Baghdad’s remaining anti-colonial sentiment against the Ottoman Empire deterred the implementation of this interest.

However, Ankara and Baghdad maintained a relationship of tolerance, albeit including bouts of tension, with one another until September 25th, 2017, when KRG leader Masoud Barzani spearheaded the highly controversial Kurdish referendum for independence from Iraq. This announcement played into Turkish fears that any autonomous Iraqi Kurdish government would trigger a domino effect of fervor for independence within the sizable Kurdish minorities in Syria, Iran, and ultimately Turkey. Playing into these fears, Tehran expressed full support of both Ankara and Baghdad by temporarily enacting various prohibitions on the autonomous region. Former U.S. Secretary of State Rex Tillerson brought the ultimate blow to Iraqi Kurdish hopes for independence by stating that “the vote and results lack legitimacy” due to the sensitive timing of the referendum.

By the end of September 2017, Turkey had tilted its diplomatic balance from Erbil to Baghdad, and with ith no international backing, the isolated Iraqi Kurdish referendum failed. Barzani’s undertaking did not disrupt the $2.5 billion trade between the KRG and Turkey. Nevertheless, the swift recovery of relations between Ankara and Erbil did not desensitize Ankara and Baghdad to closely cooperate by taking advantage of the mutual ground created by the Kurdish self-determination efforts. Wahab states that “Turkey did not lose the KRG, but Turkey also gained Iraq [Baghdad]. I would say it is a win for Turkey.” Just weeks after the referendum Iraqi Prime Minister Abadi visited Turkey. He encouraged an agreement that Baghdad would help fight the terrorist organization Kurdistan Workers Party (PKK) and initiated talks to replace the war-torn Kirkuk–Ceyhan Oil Pipeline.

Iran’s initiatives have had the worst overall impact on Iraqi Kurdistan. The newly gained territory during the deterioration of the Islamic State by the KRG, such as the city of Kirkuk, was promptly taken back by the Iraqi Government forces in October 2017. Wahab claims, “Iran sent agents to help Iraqis take Kirkuk. I mean the plan to take back Kirkuk was orchestrated by Iran, it was masterminded by Iran. So Turkey didn’t do any of this. On the contrary, the Kurdish Prime Minister has been asking, pleading to have a meeting with Erdogan.”

To an extent, this recent shift to Baghdad has undermined the KRG which Ankara still needs for trade and their growing energy demands. Diliman Abdulkader, the Director of the Kurdistan Project at the DC think tank Endowment for Middle East Truth (EMET), argues, “The investments can be viewed as a sign to Erbil, that Turkey is for the unity of Iraq and we [Turks] will continue to strengthen that unity, but I think the Kurds understand this now.” On the same line as Turkish foreign policy, Rex Tillerson commented that the United States supports “a united, federal, democratic and prosperous Iraq.”

The United States and Turkey have shared a strenuous relationship these past couple months. However, Iraqi reconstruction is on both of their agendas and would be a unique opportunity for cooperation. Former Ambassador Jeffrey states that “Turkey is interested alongside the United States to curb Iran. There are already bilateral talks between Turkey and the United States in place [on Iraqi reconstruction]. America’s and Turkey’s view is for Iraq to be fully integrated to the West rather than have an Iraq drifting towards Iran. The issue is that both Turkey and the U.S. have deep ties in Iraq that at times compete.”

Unlike in Syria, in Iraq, the two NATO allies share common interests. These include: keeping federal unity in Iraq, limiting Iran’s sphere of influence, and stability for Iraq’s economy- with an overlapping theme of Iraq integrated into the West.

There are many hurdles for the immense endeavor of Iraqi reconstruction. The instability and war-torn country faces 5.7 million displaced citizens that find difficulty in returning home. Nearly 60 percent of Iraqis are under the age of twenty-five and many have witnessed a halt in their education. There are still mine hazards, policing issues, and post-war reconciliation talks necessary in order to resume daily life. Above all, the country has a colossal issue with corruption even though substantial governmental reforms are to begin. For the time being, raising $30 billion at the Kuwait City summit is a small success story for Iraq, one that presents a unique opportunity to patch ties between historic allies on mutual grounds.

Turkey has not disclosed specifically how the $5 billion pledge would be implemented. There is a lot of uncertainty whether this money will in the form of sovereign loans, donations, or private investments. Wahab states “the Turkish pledge is a government pledge of $5 billion, the American one is more of a credit line for American investors to work in Iraq.” The Iraqi elections next month, the abrupt departure of U.S. Secretary of State Rex Tillerson, and Turkish President Erdogan’s calls for the TSK attacking Manbij after Afrin raised valid complications for cooperation. However, for the first time in a long time, the Americans and the Turks share a corresponding agenda in the region.

Customize your RSS Feed