أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الحوار الاستراتيجي بين العراق والولايات المتحدة: إيجاد اتفاق ضمن الخلاف


متاح أيضاً في English

18 آب/أغسطس 2020

بعد الكثير من التوقعات، أكّد البيت الأبيض في بيانٍ رسميٍّ في 2 آب/أغسطس أنّ اجتماعًا بين رئيس الوزراء العراقي مصطفى الكاظمي ورئيس الولايات المتحدة دونالد ترامب سيُعقَد هذا الأسبوع لمناقشة "التحديات التي يطرحها وباء فيروس كورونا بالإضافة إلى قضايا الأمن والطاقة والاقتصاد". ويأتي هذا الاجتماع على خلفية الجولة الثانية من الحوار الاستراتيجي بين البلدين التي أثارت جدلًا كبيرًا.

شدّدت الولايات المتحدة كثيرًا على فكرة أنّ هذه المحادثات يجب أن "تُعيد العلاقة إلى الوضع الصحي والمستدام سياسيًّا"، وفقًا لتصريحٍ غير رسمي أدلى به أحد المسؤولين الرفيعي المستوى في الحكومة الأمريكية. "فقد اتّضح جدًّا أنه كان لا بدّ من القيام بأمرٍ ما لإعادة التأكيد على العلاقة بين الولايات المتحدة والعراق نظرًا إلى مجموعة الأحداث التي جرت في فصليْ الخريف والشتاء الماضييْن".

وشدّدت الجهة العراقية أيضًا بشكلٍ كبير على الحوار الاستراتيجي؛ فالحكومة العراقية بحاجة إلى دعم الولايات المتحدة لمواجهة تحدياتها المالية والاقتصادية المستمرة فضلًا عن المساعدة في محاربة تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" الذي قد يظهر مجددًا. إلّا أنّ هذا الدعم لن يأتي من دون شروط، لا سيّما بعد قرار إخراج القوات الأمريكية من العراق الذي أصدره البرلمان العراقي في كانون الثاني/يناير ولم يُطبَّق حتى الآن.

لذلك، سيصل الكاظمي إلى الولايات المتحدة فيما يخضع للضغط السياسي الهائل من الداخل لإنشاء اتفاق حقيقي. وفي غضون ذلك، تُعرب الميليشيات الموالية لإيران عن استيائها من خلال زيادة الاعتداءات على القواعد والقوافل الأمريكية في الأيام القليلة الماضية. ويُتوقَّع أن يستمرّ ذلك وأن يتمّ التصعيد ربما حتّى موعد الاجتماع.

إلى ذلك، رغم المصلحة المشتركة التي تحققها المشاركة في الحوار، يتّضح وجود فجوة بين المطالب والتوقعات الأمريكية والعراقية، مع أنّ الجهتيْن تحافظان على التفاؤل الحذز بشأن إمكانية التوصل إلى صفقة يتفق عليها الطرفان.

يركّز الدبلوماسيون الأمريكيون باستمرار على أنّ هدفهم هو تحقيق "شراكة ثنائية دائمة ومستدامة سياسيًّا" مع العراق. إلا أن الشيطان يكمن في التفاصيل، وتتجاوز المطالب الأمريكية هذه النقاط العامة وتشمل شروطًا محددة قد تجد الحكومة العراقية أنّه من الصعب استيفاؤها.

قال مسؤولٌ عراقيٌّ على صلة وثيقة مع مفاوضات الحوار الاستراتيجي إنّ الحكومة العراقية تتطلّع إلى تحقيق "جولة ناجحة من المحادثات ذات نتائج ملموسة، تكون بعيدة عن الميدان الأمني إنما تغطي قطاعات أخرى مثل الاقتصاد والاستثمار والتجارة والتعليم والصحة وغيرها. فنحن بحاجة إلى مساعدة الولايات المتحدة ونريد أن نكون شركاء معها، ونحن نقدّم لتحقيق هذه الغاية صفقات كبيرة إلى الشركات الأمريكية الراغبة في العمل في العراق، وستُعرَض في خلال المحادثات"، كما قال المسؤول العراقي الذي طلب عدم الكشف عن هويّته.

نقاط التباين:

حتى الآن، حافظ واضعو السياسات الأمريكيون والعراقيون على دبلوماسيتهم، فتفادوا القضايا المثيرة للخلاف في هذه المرحلة. لكن تتعدد المواضيع المعقَّدة التي ستركّز عليها حتمًا هذه المحادثات، وستساعد كيفية تناول هذه القضايا على تحديد نجاحات الحوار القادم وعوائقه.

الأزمات الاقتصادية العراقية والنفوذ الاقتصادي الإيراني

العراقيون في أمسّ الحاجة إلى الأموال لمواجهة التحديات الاقتصادية الناتجة عن وباء "كوفيد" وهبوط أسعار النفط، ويأملون المزيد من الولايات المتحدة. وفي غضون ذلك، تعتقد الولايات المتحدة أنّ احتمال قدوم الأموال الإضافية يبقى ضئيلًا، إلّا إذا ازدادت الجهود لمحاربة الفساد وتنفيذ الإصلاح. فترفض الولايات المتحدة بشكلٍ قاطع دفع الأموال التي ينتهي بها المطاف "في الجيوب الخاطئة".

ما يعقّد مسألة المساعدة الاقتصادية أكثر فأكثر هي مسألة التجارة مع إيران. فتبلغ قيمة التجارة بين العراق وإيران حاليًّا 12 مليار دولار، وتهدف الجهة الإيرانية إلى رفع قيمة التجارة الثنائية لبلوغ 20 مليار دولار. لكن تسير هذه التجارة فعليًّا باتجاهٍ واحد – خاصةً في قطاعيْ الكهرباء والغاز حيث يشتري العراق من إيران. ويبدو أنّ الولايات المتحدة ترى هذا الاعتماد على التجارة مع إيران بمثابة إظهار واضح وغير مبرر لدعم العراق الاقتصاد الإيراني، وقد هدّدت الحكومة السابقة بفرض عقوبات إذا لم يوضع ذلك تحت السيطرة.

على نطاقٍ أوسع، يعتقد الأمريكيون أن إيران تتمتع بنفوذٍ كبيرٍ جدًّا في العراق والمنطقة بشكلٍ عام، ويرغبون في الحدّ منه. لكن نظرًا إلى العلاقة المتأصّلة بين إيران والمؤسسة السياسية في العراق، لن تتحقق هذه المهمة بسهولة. ففيما يرى الكثير من العراقيين أهمية الحفاظ على علاقة ثابتة ومتوازنة مع إيران، لم تتمكّن الحكومات العراقية المتتالية من تقليص النفوذ الإيراني.

دور القوات الأمريكية وقوات "الحشد الشعبي"

لم يتّضح بعد ما هو الدور الذي ستؤدّيه القوات الأمريكية المتمركزة حاليًّا في العراق إذا توصّل الطرفان إلى اتفاق. فلا يريد الكثير من العراقيين القوات المقاتلة الأمريكية على الأرض إلا لتقديم الاستشارة العسكرية. وبدلًا من ذلك، يريدون أن توفّر الولايات المتحدة الغطاء الجوّي ضدّ تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية"، بالإضافة إلى تدريب القوات العراقية وتزويدها بالمعدات. غير أنّ بعض القوات المقاتلة (ولو بأعدادٍ أصغر بكثير) ستكون لازمة لحماية المستشارين العسكريين، وستطلب الولايات المتحدة حمايتهم القانونية. وفضلًا عن ذلك، تعتقد الولايات المتحدة أنّ "بناء المؤسسات الأمنية وإصلاحها" ضروريان، وبالتالي ستطالب بهما على الأرجح قبل القيام بأي التزامات تتعلق بحركة القوات.

يدفع المتشددون الحكومة العراقية إلى تنفيذ قرار مجلس النواب العائد إلى السنة الماضية لإخراج كافة القوات الأجنبية من الأرض العراقية. ويتّضح غياب التوافق الوطني حول هذه المسألة، إذ لم يشارك الأكراد والسنّة في عملية التصويت البرلماني. والأهمّ هو أنّ الولايات المتحدة لا تريد قطعًا سحب قواتها تحت الضغط. فهي ترى أنّ القرار البرلماني اتُّخذ بتأثيرٍ من إيران، وتعتبره بالتالي استسلامًا لا يجوز الرضوخ له. وعلاوةً على ذلك، يجب أن تكون أي عملية لسحب القوات إما قائمة على اتفاقٍ تم التوصل إليه مع الحكومة العراقية، وإما بتنفيذٍ من الإدارة الأمريكية في ظلّ ظروفٍ تراها مناسبة.

على نحوٍ مماثل، تريد الولايات المتحدة أن يضع العراق قوات "الحشد الشعبي" تحت السيطرة، وأن ينزع سلاحها ويُزيل التهديد الذي تشكّله على الدولة وقوات التحالف على حدٍّ سواء. فقد صرّح مرّةً أحد المسؤولين الأمريكيين المقرّبين من المفاوضات قائلًا: "من غير المقبول أن تقوم عناصر ’الحشد الشعبي‘ المدعومة من إيران بإطلاق النار على قواتنا من دون مواجهة أي عواقب؛ وقد أبلغنا حكومة الكاظمي أنه لا يمكن السماح باستمرار ذلك".

تشكّ الولايات المتحدة أيضًا في قيام إيران باستخدام العراق كمعبر لنقل الأسلحة والصواريخ إلى سوريا. ورغم أنّ هذه الأنشطة أصبحت أقل شيوعًا بكثير من السابق، فهي لا تزال تشكّل مسائل تعني الولايات المتحدة إلى حدٍّ كبير، ويريد المفاوضون الأمريكيون معالجتها بجدّيّة خلف الأبواب المغلقة.

عملت الحكومة العراقية على تقليص الاعتداءات من خلال إقناع الإيرانيين بكبح المجموعات المسلحة الخاضعة لسيطرتهم وملاحقة آخرين، كما حصل في الدورة في 25 حزيران/يونيو عند اعتقال 14 عضوًا من "كتائب حزب الله" تمّ الإفراج عنهم لاحقًا باستثناء واحدٍ منهم كان يشكّل الهدف الأساسي للمداهمة (وهو خبيرٌ في عمليات إطلاق الصواريخ).

مع ذلك، تتخطى هذه المهمة الصعبة المتمثلة في التخلص تمامًا من خطر "الحشد الشعبي" قدرة الحكومة العراقية. فيتمتع "الحشد الشعبي" بدعمٍ شعبيٍّ ملحوظٍ بين الشيعة في العراق، والأهم هو وجود اتفاق غير معلن عنه على ما يبدو ضمن المؤسسة الشيعية وهو أنّ "الحشد الشعبي" مهم جدًّا لحماية الحُكم الشيعي، ولا بدّ بالتالي من الحفاظ عليه.

النتائج المحتملة

في زيارة رئيس الوزراء الكاظمي التي تمتد على ثلاثة أو أربعة أيام وجولات اجتماعاته، سترغب الحكومة العراقية في تقديم صورة تُظهِر نجاح الرحلة. فسيشكّل لقاء الرئيس ترامب في المكتب البيضاوي فرصة كبيرة لالتقاط الصور إذا سارت الأمور على ما يُرام. والأهم هو أنّ هذه الجولة من المحادثات في الحوار الاستراتيجي ستحقق منافع مهمة للوفد العراقي إذا عاد حاملًا معه نتائج ملموسة.

ستكون الولايات المتحدة راضية على الأرجح من جهتها إذا تمكّنت من إقناع الوفد العراقي ورئيس الوزراء بالابتعاد ولو قليلًا عن إيران والتوجه نحو موقفٍ أكثر حيادًا، والأهم من ذلك هو التوصل إلى شكل اتفاق يتعلّق بالإطار الأمني وببقاء القوات الأمريكية في العراق.

في الظروف الراهنة، يبقى كلا الحكومتيْن في حاجة ماسة إلى تصدُّر بعض العناوين الرئيسية الإيجابية ولا يمكن أن تتحمّلا أي أوضاع غير مؤاتية. ولأسباب مختلفة، سيخسر كلا الطرفيْن أمورًا كثيرة إذا تعثّرت المفاوضات. ومع أخذ ذلك في الاعتبار، من المهم بالنسبة إلى الجانب الأمريكي أن يُدرك أنه في خلال هذه الجولة من الحوار، لا يمكن مساعدة العراق عبر تدوين بعض الكلمات اللطيفة فحسب على بيانٍ مشترك. فالعراق بحاجة إلى المساعدة الحقيقية في مجموعة متنوعة من القطاعات، وتتمتع الولايات المتحدة بالمعدات والحوافز الجيدة لتوفير هذا النوع من المساعدة ضمن الإطار الصحيح.

 

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Iraq-U.S. Strategic Dialogue: Finding Agreement within Contention


Also available in العربية

August 18, 2020

After much anticipation, the White House confirmed in an official August 2 statement that a meeting between the Iraqi Prime Minister Mustafa al-Kadhimi and U.S. President Donald Trump will take place this week to discuss “challenges posed by the coronavirus pandemic as well as security, energy, and economic issues.” The meeting comes on the backdrop of the much-debated second round of Strategic Dialogue between the two countries.

The United States has placed a great deal of emphasis on the idea that these talks should “put the relationship back on a healthy and politically sustainable footing,” according to one high ranking U.S. government official speaking anonymously. “It had become quite apparent that something needed to be done to reaffirm the relationship between the U.S. and Iraq given the series of events that occurred throughout the last fall and winter.”

The Iraqi side has also placed a major emphasis on the Strategic Dialogue; the Iraqi Government needs U.S. support to face its ongoing financial and economic challenges as well as help in fighting a potentially resurgent ISIS. However, such support will not be unconditionally forthcoming, particularly after the Iraqi Parliament’s as-yet unimplemented decision this January to remove U.S. troops from Iraq.

Al-Khadhimi is thus arriving in the United States under immense political pressure from home to produce a substantive agreement. Meanwhile, pro-Iran militias are expressing their displeasure through an increase in attacks on U.S. bases and convoys during the past few days. They are expected to continue and potentially escalate in the run-up to the meeting.

Moreover, despite the shared interest in engaging in dialogue, there is a clear gap between U.S. and Iraqi demands and expectations, though the two sides remain cautiously optimistic that a mutually agreeable deal can be reached.

U.S. diplomats frequently stress that their objective is to achieve an “enduring, politically sustainable bilateral partnership” with Iraq. However, the devil is in the details, and American demands go beyond these general points and include specific conditions that the Iraqi government may find difficult to meet.

An Iraqi official closely associated with the Strategic Dialogue negotiations said that the Iraqi government looks forward to having “a successful round of talks with tangible results, moving away from security but covering other sectors such as the economy, investment, trade, education, health and more. We need the U.S. to help us and we want to be partners with them, and for that purpose we are offering major deals to American companies who are willing to work in Iraq, they will be outlined during the talks,” said the Iraqi official on condition of anonymity.

Points of Disparity:

So far, U.S. and Iraqi policymakers have been diplomatic, avoiding contentious issues at this stage. Yet there are several complex topics that inevitably will be the focus of these talks, and how these issues are navigated will help define the successes or drawbacks of the upcoming dialogue.

Iraqi Economic Straits and Iranian Economic Influence

The Iraqis urgently need funds to face the economic challenges caused by COVID and the drop in oil prices, and they hope that more will be done by the United States. Meanwhile, the United States believes that unless more is done to combat corruption and carry out reform, there is little possibility of further funds forthcoming. The United States categorically refuses to pay funds that end up “in the wrong pockets.”

The question of economic aid is further complicated by the question of trade with Iran. Trade between Iraq and Iran currently runs at $12 billion, with the Iranian side aiming to grow bilateral trade to as high as $20 billion. However, this trade is in effect a one-way stream—especially in the Electricity and Gas sectors where Iraq buys from Iran. The United States appears to see this reliance on trade with Iran as a blatant and unjustifiable show of Iraqi support for Iran’s economy, and threatened the previous government with sanctions if it is not brought under control.

More broadly, Americans believe that Iran enjoys far too much influence in Iraq and the wider region and wish to curtail it. However, given the deep-rooted relationship between Iran and the political establishment of Iraq, this task will not be easily achieved. While many Iraqis see the importance of keeping a steady and balanced relationship with Iran, the successive Iraqi governments have not been able to reduce the Iranian influence.

The Role of U.S. Troops and PMF

It is not yet clear what role the U.S. troops currently stationed in Iraq will play if the two sides reach an agreement. Many Iraqis do not want U.S. combat troops on the ground except as military advisors. Instead, they want the United States to provide air cover against ISIS, as well as training and equipping Iraqi forces. However, some combat troops (albeit in much smaller numbers) will be needed to protect the military advisors, and the United States will be asking for their legal protection. In addition, the United States believes “building and reforming security institutions” is essential, and therefore will likely be asking for it before making any commitments about troop movement.

Hardliners are pushing for the Iraqi government to implement the parliamentary decision from last year to remove all foreign troops from Iraqi soil. Clearly, there is no national consensus on this issue, as the Kurds and Sunnis didn't take part in the parliamentary vote. Importantly, the United States definitely does not want to withdraw its troops under pressure. They see the Parliament’s decision as made under Iran's influence, and therefore, a capitulation that should not be implemented. Furthermore, any troop withdrawal has to be either based on an agreement reached with the Iraqi government or made by the U.S. administration under the circumstances they see fit.

Similarly, the United States wants Iraq to bring the PMF under control, strip them of their arms and neutralize the threat they pose to the state and the coalition forces alike. A US official close to the negotiations once stated that: “it’s not acceptable that Iran-backed elements of the PMF fire on our troops and face no consequences; we’ve communicated to the al-Kadhimi government that this cannot be allowed to continue.”

The United States has also been suspicious of Iran’s use of Iraq as a corridor for the transfer of arms and missiles to Syria. Although these activities are by far less common than they used to be, they remain issues of great U.S. concern and U.S. negotiators want it addressed seriously behind closed doors.

The Iraqi government has worked to reduce the attacks by persuading the Iranians to reign in some of the armed groups under their control and going after others, as they did in Dorra on June 25 in detaining 14 members of Kataib Hizballah who later were released except for one who was the main target of the raid (an expert in missile launches).

However, such a tall order of completely neutralizing the PMF is beyond the Iraqi government’s capability. The PMF have enjoyed significant popular support among the Shias of Iraq and, more importantly, there seems to be an unspoken agreement among the Shia establishment that the PMF is critical for protecting the Shia rule, and therefore, should be kept in place. 

Possible Outcomes

In the 3-4 day visit of PM al-Kadhimi and his rounds of meetings, the Iraqi government would like to portray an image of a successful trip. Meeting President Trump at the Oval Office would be a major photo opportunity if carried out without hiccups. More importantly, this round of talks in the Strategic Dialogue would provide substantive benefits for the Iraqi delegation if they come back with tangible results.

On its part, the United States would likely be satisfied if they can persuade the Iraqi delegation and the PM to move away even a little from Iran to a more neutral position and, more importantly, reach a form of agreement in relation to the security framework and U.S. troops remaining in Iraq.

As it stands, both governments desperately need to hit some positive headlines and cannot afford any untoward situations. For different reasons, both sides have plenty to lose if negotiations stall. Keeping this in mind, it is important for those on the U.S. side to recognize that during this round of dialogue, Iraq cannot be helped just with a nice wording on a joint statement. Iraq needs real help in a variety of sectors and the United States is well equipped and has good incentives to provide this type of help within the correct framework.

Customize your RSS Feed