أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الاضطرابات في العراق تُثير تساؤلات حول التصعيد الإيراني المحتمل ضد المملكة العربية السعودية


متاح أيضاً في English

3 كانون الثاني/يناير 2020

في أعقاب أحداث الحادي عشر من أيلول / سبتمبر2001، وبعد التدخل العسكري الأمريكي – الأطلسي، تصاعد التدخل الأمريكي بشكل مباشر في شؤون الشرق الأوسط، حيث قدمت الولايات المتحدة أكثر من سبعة آلاف قتيل، وأنفقت ما يقرب من 5.5 ترليون دولار. ومع ذلك، هناك وجهة نظر إقليمية تزعم أن الغزو الأمريكي للعراق، هو من تسبب في زعزعة الاستقرار في العراق، وفتح الباب أمام إيران للسيطرة عليه، وهو ما ساهم بدوره في زيادة النفوذ الإيراني في منطقة الشرق الأوسط. وبعد ما يقرب من عقدين من الغزو الأمريكي للعراق، لا تزال مشكلة عدم الاستقرار تطارد الولايات المتحدة والعراقيين أنفسهم. كما يشير تصاعد الهجمات التي شنتها كتائب حزب الله والرد الأمريكي اللاحق - والذي توج بقتل قائد «قوة القدس» التابعة لـ «فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» الإيراني قاسم سليماني- إلى أن الولايات المتحدة قد تكون على استعداد للعودة إلى مسرح الشرق الأوسط، لكن الخطوات المحتملة التي قد تتخذها إيران ردا على ذلك غير واضحة.

إن الرغبة الواضحة للوكلاء المدعومين من قبل إيران لاستهداف المناطق ذات الوجود الأمريكي في العراق يجب أن يُنظر إليها كإشارة تحذيرية تشير إلى احتمال شن هجمات مستقبلية ضد المملكة العربية السعودية التي تجاور العراق. وفي حين أن العداء بين الدولتين ليس بالأمر الجديد، إلا أن اهتمام إيران وسعيها لإعادة تشكيل المنطقة قد ساهم في جذب انتباه العديد من الدول العربية إلى الخطر الإيراني، وخاصة السعودية، بشكل أساسي. وقد دفع تزايد النفوذ الإيراني وتدخلها في المنطقة لعدة سنوات السعودية إلى لعب دور حامية السنة في العالم العربي، حيث أخذت على عاتقها مواجهة إيران، ووظفت في سبيل ذلك العديد من الوسائل السياسية والاقتصادية والأمنية، منها اتخاذ بعض الإجراءات الاقتصادية للنأي بالعراق عن إيران.

تجلت سياسة المواجهة التي تبناها ولي العهد السعودي محمد بن سلمان في السنوات القليلة الماضية، في دخول بلدين عربيين في نزاع مباشر والإعلان عن تشكيل التحالف العربي لدعم الحكومة الشرعية في اليمن في آذار / مارس 2015، وقيام المملكة العربية السعودية بإعدام رجل الدين الشيعي نمر النمر في عام 2016، وهو ما أفرز ردة فعل إيرانية نجم عنها هجوم محتجين إيرانيين على مقر السفارة السعودية في طهران، وقطع العلاقات الدبلوماسية بين البلدين.

ومن جانبها، تنظر إيران إلى التحدي السعودي لنفوذها في المنطقة باعتباره عقائديًا بطبيعته أكثر منه سياسيا، على اعتبار أن السعودية تكتسب شرعية سياسية – روحية في العالم الإسلامي لوجود مكة المكرمة والمدينة المنورة فيها، وهو ما عبر عنه الخميني صراحة في أكثر من مناسبة، ولهذا تسعى إيران اليوم إلى تدويل موضوع الحج، من أجل سحب هذا الملف من يد السعودية، ومن ثم تحويل مركز شرعية العالم الإسلامي إلى مدينة قُم - المركز العلمي الديني للشيعة- وطهران

نتيجة الضغوط الاقتصادية والمالية الكبيرة التي مارستها الولايات المتحدة على إيران عبر سلسلة من العقوبات المستمرة، والتي جاءت بعد انسحاب الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية من خطة العمل المشتركة الشاملة، تقلصت خيارات إيران في مواصلة سعيها لتوسيع نفوذها في المنطقة بشكل كبير، خاصة في ضوء الاحتجاجات الأخيرة التي اندلعت في العراق ولبنان. ومع ذلك، فإن حالة الإحباط الناجمة عن تلك العقوبات والرغبة الإيرانية في الانتقام بعد الهجوم الأمريكي الذي أدى إلى مقتل على سليماني، قد تولد عداوة متزايدة في الداخل الإيراني ضد السعودية الذي يُعتقد أنها تُسهل الضغط الأمريكي.  وبالفعل، أظهرت إيران رغبتها في استهدفت المملكة العربية السعودية من خلال سلسلة من الهجمات الصاروخية – الجوية على منشآت نفطية سعودية تابعة لشركة أرامكو في خريص وبقيق. وفي حين أنه لم يتم التأكيد بان تلك الهجمات قد شنت مباشرة من قبل إيران، ولم يعلن الحوثيون في اليمن مسئولياتهم عنها، إلا أن الاعتقاد السائد هو أن تلك الهجمات كانت مدبرة بشكل مباشر من قبل إيران نفسها.

ومن المرجح أن تكون إيران خلف تلك الهجمات نظرا لأن القيادة الإيرانية لديها قناعة أن السعودية قد تكون أقصر الطرق لجر المنطقة نحو حرب، تتمكن إيران من خلالها من فتح باب جديد لاستئناف المفاوضات حول الضغوط المفروضة عليها من قبل الولايات المتحدة، كشرط لإنهاء حالة الحرب. وفى هذا الصدد اختبرت إيران الولايات المتحدة مرارًا وتكرارًا من خلال تنفيذ عمليات احتجاز وتفجير العديد من الناقلات النفطية في مضيق هرمز. كما إن اندلاع حرب بين إيران والمملكة العربية السعودية سيكون بمثابة مكسب سياسي لإيران تتمكن من خلاله إعادة توجيه الضغوط المتصاعدة في الداخل.

إن "اللا حرب واللا سلم" التي أعلن عنها المرشد الإيراني علي خامنئي في وقت سابق، والتي وصفها القائد العام للقوات المسلحة الإيرانية اللواء محمد باقري بأنها "مقاومة فاعلة"، قد استنزفت القدرات الوطنية الإيرانية كثيراً، وقللت من خياراتها مما قد يدفع البلاد إلى حرب شاملة بعد قرار الولايات المتحدة بالتصعيد في العراق. لذلك، فان المناورات العسكرية التي أجرتها إيران في مياه الخليج العربي، والتي ترافقت مع استعراض عسكري أخر بمناسبة بدء الحرب العراقية الإيرانية، هي بمثابة رسائل مباشرة مفادها أن إيران مستعدة للدخول في منازعات مستقبلية .

من الواضح بشكل متزايد أن العراق قد يكون أن يكون الموقع الرئيسي لتلك المعركة، ففي حين يمثل كل من لبنان وسوريا اللذين لاعبان أساسيان في "محور المقاومة" الذي تقوده إيران، قد يصبح العراق الذي يقع - بين مطرقة إيران وسندان السعودية - ساحة للمعركة، حيث يعتبر العراق الركيزة الأساسية لهذا المحور، وذلك بسبب حجمه وقربه من إيران وثروته النفطية والقوة التي تمتلكها الميليشيات الموالية لإيران مقارنة بالجيش العراقي.

لسنوات مضت، كان يُنظر للعراق على أنه معقل للدعم الإيراني، حيث استطاعت إيران السيطرة على القدرات الاقتصادية للعراق، وتشكيل مليشيات مواليه لها هناك وجذب عدد من السياسيين العراقيين المؤيدين لها في السلطة. وعلى الرغم من أن الولايات المتحدة والمملكة العربية السعودية حاولا تقليص النفوذ الإيراني في العراق من خلال توظيف بعض الوسائل الاقتصادية، إلا أن الشعب العراقي هو نفسه الذي قرر الخروج للشارع للاحتجاج بقوة على التدخل الإيراني. وفى حين تشكل الاحتجاجات المستمرة في العراق والتي نجحت في الإطاحة بالحكومة، تهديدًا كبيرًا للنفوذ الإيراني هناك، إلا أنها أيضًا قد توفر نافذة لإيران تقوم من خلاله باستغلال التعديل الوزاري بغرض تشديد قبضتها على القطاعات السياسية والأمنية في العراق.

تثير شبكة المصالح المتنافسة التي تتمحور حول العراق مسألة كيف أن الولايات المتحدة أصبحت تتدخل وتشارك بقوة، في منطقة عبر عنها رئيسها مرارًا وتكرارًا عن رغبته في الانسحاب منها. وبالنظر إلى احتمال أن استهداف إيران شركاء الولايات المتحدة الإقليميين، ينبغي على الأخيرة بذل كل جهد ممكن لقدرات الدفاعية للسعودية في حالة وقوع المزيد من الهجمات المباشرة من قبل إيران.

مرة أخرى، ما زال الوضع في العراق يحتل جوهر الصراع الإقليمي الأكبر وفى حين يبدوا أن الولايات المتحدة هذه المرة لا تحبذ بشكل متزايد خيار التدخل العسكري، إلا أنها يجب أن تفكر في الدعم الذي يجب أن توفره لحلفائها الإقليميين لضمان عدم استعادة إيران تفوقها في المنطقة.

على وجه الخصوص، سوف تستفيد المملكة العربية السعودية من مساعدة الولايات المتحدة في تشخيص الفجوات الاستراتيجية التي تمكنت عبرها إيران من شن هجماتها الأخيرة، ونصب مزيداً من منظومات الإنذار المبكر، وتفعيل الهجمات السيبرانية على منظومات القيادة والسيطرة الإيرانية المنتشرة على طول الخليج العربي والبحر الأحمر وعبر السفن الحربية الإيرانية. وفى حين تعقد المملكة العربية السعودية محادثات سلام غير مباشرة مع الحوثيين، إلا أن الوضع في العراق أصبح متقلب وخطير.

 

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Escalation in Iraq Raises Questions About Tensions Between Saudi Arabia and Iran


Also available in العربية

January 3, 2020

Following the events of September 11, 2001, US-NATO military interventions brought the United States directly into Middle Eastern affairs while costing the country more than 7,000 lives and approximately $5.5 trillion dollars. However, the regional perspective of the U.S. invasion of Iraq in particular is that its main result was in providing the groundwork for Iran’s expanding footprint in the Middle East, particularly through a destabilized Iraq. The problem of unrest in Iraq continues to haunt the United States and the Iraqis themselves almost two decades after the invasion. The escalation of attacks by Kat’aib Hezbollah and the subsequent U.S. response—which has culminated in the killing of the Iranian Revolutionary Guards Corps Quds Force leader Qassem Soleimani suggests that the United States may be willing to re-enter the Middle East theater, but the potential steps Iran is likely to take in retaliation are unclear.

The apparent willingness of Iranian-backed proxies to target areas with an American presence in Iraq should also be seen as a warning sign for potential future attacks on Iraq’s neighbor: Saudi Arabia. While the animosity between the two states is not new, Iran’s interest in shaping the region has fundamentally realigned the focus of numerous Arab states, and particularly the Saudi monarchy. Years of Iranian encroachment has reinforced the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia’s self-perception as the ‘Sunni protector’ of the Arab world. To this end, Saudi Arabia has taken on its perceived regional responsibility of confronting Iran through a number of political, economic, and security measures—including economic efforts to push Iraq away from Iran.

Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman has notably presided over a series of targeted policies in the past several years that have also contributed to bringing the two countries closer to direct conflict. These include the March 2015 declaration to form the Arab Coalition to Support the Legitimate Government in Yemen and the execution of the prominent Shia cleric Nimr al-Nimr in 2016, which led to Iranian protesters attacking the Saudi Embassy in Tehran and the end of diplomatic relations between the two countries.

On its end, Iran views the Saudi challenge to its own supremacy in the region as more doctrinal than political in nature. Saudi Arabia derives political and spiritual legitimacy in the Islamic world from the presence of Mecca and Medina–a dynamic that Khomeini targeted explicitly on multiple occasions. For this reason, Iran has made efforts to internationalize the hajj pilgrimage to wrest claims of unique religious legitimacy from Saudi Arabia’s hands and shift the seat of Islamic legitimacy to Qom—a major center of Shia academic learning—and Tehran.

With the United States’ extended exertion of significant financial pressure through ongoing sanctions on Iran after its withdrawal from the JCPOA, the state’s options to continue its spread of influence into the region have dramatically been reduced—especially given the latest protests in Iraq and Lebanon. However, desperation—and a desire to retaliate after the U.S. attack on Soleimani—is likely to breed increased aggression in Iran against a country seen as facilitating U.S. pressure. Iran has already shown a willingness to target Saudi Arabia through a series of unprecedented airstrikes and rocket attacks on Saudi Aramco’s oil installations in Khurais and Abqaiq. While these attacks have not been confirmed as coming directly from Iran and instead have been claimed by Yemen’s Houthis, the attack is widely believe to having been directly orchestrated by Iran.

Such attacks may have occurred because the Iranian leadership believes that confronting Saudi Arabia may be the quickest way to drag the region into war, bringing tensions out into the open and creating an opportunity for renegotiating U.S. pressures in order to bring the fight to a close. Iran has already repeatedly tested the United States through escalating actions, including the derailing of several oil tankers in the Strait of Hormuz. A war with Saudi Arabia may be seen as an increasingly attractive valve to redirect the mounting pressures inside Iran itself.

This constant state of “not-war” but “not-peace,” a term coined by Ali Khamenei and described as “active resistance” by the Chief of Staff of the Iranian Armed Forces Major General Mohammad Bagheri, has significantly depleted Iran’s national capacities and subsequently narrowed its options, which may push the country to all-out war after the U.S. decision to escalate in Iraq. Iran has had months to prepare: military exercises Iran conducted in the Persian Gulf were accompanied by a large military parade commemorating the start of the Iran-Iraq War and served as a direct message that Iran is ready for future conflicts.

It is increasingly apparent that Iraq is likely a principle site of that battle. While Lebanon and Syria are both key players in Iran’s ‘axis of resistance,’ Iraq is considered its main pillar, due to its size, proximity to Iran, the strength of its pro-Iranian militias relative to Iraq’s army, and the country’s ever attractive oil sector.

For years, Iraq was understood as a stronghold of Iranian support given the country’s stranglehold on the Iraqi economy, its pro-Iranian militias, and the number of pro-Iranian politicians in power. Even so, both the United States and Saudi Arabia have attempted to reduce Iranian influence in Iraq through economic means, though it is the Iraqi people themselves who have come out forcefully to protest against Iranian intervention.

The ongoing Iraqi demonstrations—which have already unseated the government and continue to challenge Iranian proxies’ hold on the country—do pose a major threat to Iranian influence in Iraq, but they are also providing a window for Iran to use the governmental reshuffle to further tighten its grip on Iraq’s political and security sectors.

The tangled knot of competing interests centering around Iraq raises the question of how the United States has become re-entangled in a region from which its president has repeatedly expressed a desire to withdraw. Given the potential for Iran to lash out at the America’s regional partners, the United States should make every effort to support Saudi defensive capabilities in the case of more direct attacks by Iran.

Once again, the situation in Iraq occupies the crux of a larger regional struggle. And while this time, the United States appears increasingly averse to any regional military involvement, its government must consider what support it should provide regionally to ensure that Iran does not regain the upper hand.

In particular, Saudi Arabia will benefit from help from the United States in identifying the strategic gaps through which Iran managed to conduct its latest attacks. The United States should help install early warning systems to alert against Iranian attacks, while waging cyberattacks against Iranian command and control systems throughout the Persian Gulf, Red Sea, and on Iranian warships. While Saudi Arabia has held indirect peace talks with the Houthis, Iraq’s situation is volatile and therefore dangerous.

Customize your RSS Feed