أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

جلسات الصلح العرفي في مصر تضرّ بالأقلية المسيحية


متاح أيضاً في English

30 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2018

بين رهبة وانكسار، يلملم الشاب المسيحي مرقص غبريال وأسرته أشلاء ذكرياتهم وبقايا حيواتهم وأحلامهم المتناثرة على طرقات بلدتهم القديمة بمحافظة قنا (جنوب)، حيث أجبرت أسرة غبريال على الرحيل ليلا وذلك عقابًا على علاقة عاطفية جمعته بفتاة مسلمة من القرية ذاتها أدت إلى إثارة الضجة داخل القرية.

يشكل المصريون المسيحيون أكبر أقلية دينية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط، وتشير تقديرات غير رسمية إلى أن عددهم في مصر يصل إلى 10في المئة من إجمالي عدد سكان البلاد، الذي يزيد عن 90 مليون نسمة. وعلى مدى عقود مضت، تعرض المسيحيون بمصر لأحداث عنف واعتداءات استهدفت أشخاصًا وممتلكات وكنائس، لأسباب مختلفة بعضها عقائدي والآخر جراء خلافات حول بناء الكنائس، ومعاملات تجارية، وكذلك علاقات عاطفية مع مسلمين.

ووفقا للقانون الدولي، فإن التهجير القسري هو "ممارسة تنفذها حكومات أو قوى شبه عسكرية أو مجموعات متعصبة تجاه مجموعات عرقية أو دينية أو مذهبية بهدف إخلاء أراضٍ معينة وإحلال مجاميع سكانية أخرى بدلًا عنها". وعلى الرغم من أن الدستور المصري قد نص في مادته (63) على "حظر التهجير القسري التعسفي للمواطنين بجميع صوره وأشكاله، وأن مخالفة ذلك جريمة لا تسقط بالتقادم"، غير أن قطاع من المسيحيين في صعيد مصر عادة ما يكون "التهجير القسري" مصيرهم بعد الحوادث الطائفية الكبرى، دون اتخاذ خطوات فعلية من المؤسسات الرسمية أو مؤسسات العمل المدني لتحقيق العدالة أو جبر الضرر الواقع على هؤلاء الضحايا.

وتتشكل لجان الصلح العرفي في مصر بمعرفة جهات رسمية، إذ تمارس عملها تحت إشراف وإدارة الأجهزة الأمنية، وتضم قيادات أمنية، وشخصيات عامة من المدينة/ المركز، ورجال دين مسلمين ومسيحيين، ويختار طرفا الخصومة مكانًا محايدًا والأطراف المرجحة. ويقوم المحكمون بتقدير أخطاء كل طرف والإعلان عن الحكم، وتحرير محضر بالصلح يتضمن بنود الاتفاق وقرارات اللجنة وتوقيع الأطراف عليه، مع وضع شروط جزائية على الطرفين حال عدم التنفيذ أو العدول عن الصلح. وتسمى تلك اللجان بـ "الصلح"نظرا للدور الذي تقوم به في إبرام مصالحات عرفية بين طرفي النزاع الديني، غير أن العوامل الديموغرافية والثقافية في مصر، غالبا ما تلقي بظلالها على تلك الجلسات التي تُعقد في ضوء توازن مختل للقوى، ما يؤثر سلبًا على عدالة أحكامها، إذ يغلب على كثير منها الانحياز للطرف الأقوى والمؤثر الفاعل في السلطة.

وخلال سنوات امتدت بين عامي 2011 و2014، عقد نحو 50 مجلسًا عرفيًا للفصل في نزاعات بين مسلمين ومسيحيين بالبلاد، وفق ما تيسر من توثيق المبادرة المصرية للحقوق الشخصية. ومع ذلك، ساهمت تلك الجلسات العرفية في تفاقم الأزمة ولم تقدم حلولًا جذرية لأحداث العنف الطائفي بمصر، إذ يُظهر تقرير المبادرة المصرية للحقوق الشخصية الصادر لعام 2015، أن جلسات الصلح العرفي تحولت إلى بوابة للهروب من تنفيذ القانون، وانتهى معظمها إلى قرارات بالتهجير القسري لأسر مسيحية، أو إجبارهم على دفع غرامات مالية، أو التنازل عن ممتلكات وأصول عقارية. كما قضت بعضها أيضًا بإغلاق كنائس أو عدم استكمال أعمال البناء أو الترميم أو التوسعات بها بزعم "دواع أمنية".

كما خلت تلك الجلسات العرفية في حالة الاعتداءات الطائفية من وجود تشكيل ثابت أو قواعد حاكمة متعارف عليها، فكل حادثة تختلف عن نظيرتها من حيث تفعيل هذه الجلسات وتطبيقها والقائمين على تنفيذها، وبالتالي تفتقر تلك الجلسات إلى هيكل ثابت يساهم في زيادة فاعلياتها وشرعيتها.

ويرجع ذلك إلى قيام تلك الجلسات باستبعاد الدولة في مقابل تفعيل دور القبيلة. وبغض النظر عن انعدام تمثيل المسيحيين خلال تلك الجلسات العرفية، أو من خلال تشجيع ممثلين من محافظات أخرى لإعطاء انطباع خاطئ عن التمثيل الفعال، فإن الجلسات العرفية يتم التحكم فيها بشكل عام من قبل الكيانات الأكثر قوة وتأثيراً والتي تمتلك سلطة الحكم العرفي. وللأسف، يؤثر هذا الخلل في السلطة سلباً على نزاهة قرارات تلك الجلسات، التي أصبح معظمها متحيزاً بشدة لصالح الأطراف الأخرى الأقوى. 

ومع ذلك، يلجأ قطاع من المواطنين لهذه الجلسات كأسلوب لحل النزاعات وتسوية الخلافات، خوفًا من تفاقمها وتداعياتها، خصوصًا في ظل استمرار مظاهر وأشكال التوتر الطائفي والديني في ربوع البلاد.

وقد أدى إهمال الإعلام لتلك الجلسات والقرارات العرفية التي يتم اتخاذها بمعزل عن القانون الرسمي في حوادث العنف الطائفي إلى تفاقم الأزمة. فالنظام السياسي في مصر يتعامل مع تلك القضايا بحساسية شديدة نظرا لاعتقاده بانها تثير حفيظة الرأي العام وتؤجج الفتن، لا سيما عقب سنوات من الاضطرابات السياسية والأمنية شهدتها البلاد منذ ثورة يناير/كانون ثان 2011.

فعقب الإطاحة بحكم الإخوان المسلمين في يونيو/حزيران 2013، شددت الحكومة المصرية قبضتها على المحتوى الإعلامي، بصفة خاصة، وبدا ذلك جليًا سواء بتغيير أنماط ملكية معظم وسائل الإعلام أو بحرص القيادة السياسية على عقد لقاءات دورية بممثلي الإعلام، للتأكيد على التعامل الحصيف مع التحديات التي تواجه البلاد. ومن ثم، اعتادت وسائل الإعلام (المرئي والمسموع والمقروء) تسليط الضوء على الفصل الأخير من حوادث العنف الديني (دون التطرق إلى مراحلها) بعبارات تقليدية شائعة تشير في مجملها إلى "تماسك نسيج الوطن الواحد أمام قوى التطرف"، فيما لا تتطرق غالبًا إلى الإجراءات التي تتخذها جلسات الصلح العرفي حيال المتضررين بصفة خاصة.

إن التمسك بعقد تلك الجلسات العرفية التي تمثل انتهاكا للدستور والدولة المدينة لم يساهم في الحد من الأحداث الطائفية التي تدلع بشكل متكرر بل زادها تفاقما، وخير دليل على ذلك هو استمرار أعمال العنف الطائفي التي تطل علينا بوجهها من حين لأخر. فتلك الجلسات ما هي إلا بديلاً مشوهًا لمنظومة العدالة الرسمية، وضماناتها الحقيقية في تحقيق الردع والمساواةة والمواطنة.

وقد تحولت تلك الجلسات إلى قضاء عرفي ينافس القضاء الرسمي ويعزز فرض السياسات القبائلية والعشائرية على الخلافات العقائدية، كما يجهض حق المواطنين الدستوري في اللجوء إلى القضاء لجبر الضرر عنهم. ومن ثم، يجب العمل بالمبادئ التي نص عليها دستور 2014 والذي يدعوا إلى سرعة الفصل في قضايا العنف الديني بهدف تحقيق العدالة الناجزة، وإيجاد بنية تشريعية تمنع التحيز والتمييز على أساس ديني أو مذهبي وتجريم جلسات الصلح العرفي.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Egypt’s Customary Reconciliation Sessions Hurt its Christian Minority


Also available in العربية

November 30, 2018

Marqos Ghabrial and his family gathered the what remained of their lives scattered around their old hometown in the Qena governorate of southern Egypt. The Ghabrial family was forced to leave in the middle of the night after news of Marqos’ romantic relationship with a Muslim girl from the same village ignited furor.

Egypt’s Christians, the largest religious minority in the Middle East, represent some 10 percent of the country’s population, which exceeds 90 million. For the past few decades, Christians in Egypt have faced incidents of violence and assault targeting people, property, and churches for a variety of reasons. Some conflicts are doctrinal in nature—including their recent targeting by Islamist groups—while other disputes come from within the broader community, based around the construction or repair of churches, financial transactions, or romantic relationships between Christians and Muslims.

According to international law, forced displacement is “a practice implemented by governments, paramilitary forces, or extremist groups towards ethnic, religious, or ideological groups with the goal of evacuating certain territories and replacing certain segments of the population with others.” Although Article 63 of Egypt’s 2014 Constitution forbids all forms of arbitrary forced migration and considers it a crime without a statute of limitations, the reliance on customary reconciliation sessions to resolve sectarian incidents has led to the forced displacement of numerous Egyptian Christians in Upper Egypt. Neither the state nor civil society institutions have yet taken effective steps to achieve justice or repair the damage inflicted on the victims.

Customary reconciliation sessions are formed by official entities and operate under the supervision of local security services. These sessions include security leaders, other figures from the city/markaz, and both Christian and Muslim religious leaders. The parties to the dispute select a neutral location and their representatives for the sessions. Arbitrators of these sessions then evaluate the claims of each party and announce a ruling along with a verbatim report of the reconciliation which including the articles of the agreement and the decisions of the committee. This document is then signed by both parties. They are called “reconciliation” sessions due to their goal of customary reconciliation between two parties of a religious dispute. However, demographic and cultural factors in Egypt often cast a large shadow over these meetings, and the sessions are often characterized by an imbalance in power. This imbalance negatively affects the fairness of their rulings, most of which are biased towards the more powerful and influential party.

To give a sense of scope, nearly 50 customary reconciliation sessions were organized between 2011 and 2014 to settle disputes between Christians and Muslims, as documented by the Egyptian Initiative for Personal Rights (EIPR) in their 2015 report. However, these customary councils often exacerbated the crises they were designed to address and failed to provide reliable solutions for addressing the incidents of sectarian violence in Egypt.

Rather, the EIPR report demonstrates how customary reconciliation sessions became outlets to avoid enforcing legal protections. Most sessions ended in decisions to forcefully displace the Christian family, pay fines, or give up property. Some sessions also ruled to close churches or halt projects to build, renovate, or expand churches on the pretext of “security concerns.”

Undermining such reconciliation sessions is the lack of both a consistent structure and widely-recognized rules to govern them. Indeed, sessions differ for each incident in terms of their application, thus lacking an established structure, which would potentially increase effectiveness and legitimacy.

This is due to the fact that customary sessions exclude the state in favor of the clan. Whether failing to represent Christians during reconciliation sessions as an entity or by encouraging the attendance of representatives from other governorates to give a false impression of effective representation, customary sessions are generally controlled by the most powerful and influential entities which hold authority over customary ruling. This imbalance of power negatively affects the fairness of their rulings, most of which have become strongly biased in favor of the stronger parties.

However, citizens continue to resort to such sessions to settle disputes because they fear local fallout and consequences, especially in light of continuing sectarian and religious tensions across the country.

The Egyptian media’s ignorance of customary sessions and rulings for cases of sectarian violence has worsened the crisis. Their failure to address the issues posed by customary sessions can be attributed to the Egyptian political regime’s fear that sectarian violence may arouse public opinion and foment further strife, particularly in the context of political and security turmoil since the 2011 Revolution.

The Egyptian government has strengthened its grip on the media since the overthrow of Muslim Brotherhood rule in June 2013, evident through changes in ownership patterns for many media outlets and occasional meetings between political leaders and media representatives to ensure prudent handling of the challenges facing the country. Audio, visual, and print media have consequently grown accustomed to reporting incidents of religious violence without touching on buildup to the incident and by relying on traditional language referencing “the cohesion of the fabric of one nation in the face of extremism.” The procedures of customary reconciliation sessions, and the rulings towards the victims in particular, are therefore often underreported, leaving Egyptians relatively unaware of the potential negative impact of these customary sessions.

Still, adherence to customary sessions, which violate the constitution and the civil state, actually exacerbate sectarian incidents rather than contribute to solving them. This is best evidenced by the continuation of incidents of sectarian violence. These sessions are a distorted alternative to the official Egyptian justice system and the true guarantees it provides in terms of deterrence, equality, and citizenship.

Customary justice is now competing with the official judiciary, fostering the imposition of tribal and clan-based policies for faith-based disputes. Thus, the principles set out in the 2014 Constitution calling for fast official judicial decisions in cases of religious violence must be rigorously applied with the goal of achieving quick justice. By emphasizing the laws of a civil state and criminalizing customary reconciliation sessions, Egypt will be closer to a legislative structure that prevents bias and discrimination on a religious or sectarian basis.

Customize your RSS Feed