أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

القوات الشيعية في العراق تعطي الأولوية لبلادها حال اندلاع نزاع بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران


متاح أيضاً في English

14 أيار/مايو 2019

"لن نسمح بأن يصبح العراق ساحة معركة تصفّي فيها البلدان الأخرى حساباتها" – ما كان هذا التصريح ليشكّل مفاجأةً لو أدلى به عدة رجال سياسة عراقيين، بما أنه يتماشى مع وجهة النظر الحاليّة لمعظم الأحزاب السياسية العراقية والرئاسات الثلاث في العراق: أي الرئيس ورئيس الوزراء ورئيس مجلس النواب. لكنّ واقع أنه أتى على لسان هادي العامري، قائد منظمة "بدر" العراقية شبه العسكرية التي غالبًا ما تُصنَّف في الغرب كقوة إيرانية بالوكالة، يعطي هذا التصريح نكهةً مختلفةً تمامًا. فتم التلفّظ بهذا الرأي منذ بضعة أيام، ويبدو أنه يضمّ العامري إلى صفوف وجهة النظر السياسية العامّة في الوقت الراهن. فلا أحد من بين الأحزاب الرئيسية في العراق يتمنى أن يرى مصالح العراق توضع في المرتبة الثانية بعد مصالح إيران أو أمريكا إذا خرجت الأمور عن السيطرة في المنطقة. وكان المسؤولون العراقيون واضحين بشأن هذه النقطة في محادثاتهم الأخيرة مع الإيرانيين والأمريكيين، إذ عكسوا كيف تصبح سياسة "العراق أوّلًا" أولويةً بين رجال السياسة المحليين فيما تواصل الاضطرابات بين إيران والولايات المتحدة تصاعدها.

من بين التطورات الأخيرة في إطار هذا النزاع، شكّلت زيارة وزير الخارجية بومبيو المفاجئة إلى العراق هذا الأسبوع مزيجًا من ممارسات عالميْ الأعمال والسياسة. فمن جهة، يحترز الأمريكيون من الصفقات التجارية الأخيرة التي أبرمها العراق مع السعوديين والفرنسيين والألمان بعد الزيارات الرفيعة المستوى التي قام بها الرئيس برهم صالح ورئيس مجلس الوزراء عادل عبد المهدي إلى هذه البلدان. ففي الزيارة الأخيرة للوفد الحكومي إلى ألمانيا، وقّع العراق مذكّرة تفاهم مع الشركة الصناعية الألمانية العملاقة "سيمنز" لتطوير شبكة الكهرباء في العراق، في إطار عقدٍ قيمته 14.5 مليار دولار. وتقضي هذه الصفقة على الجهد الأمريكي لضَم شركة "جنرال إلكتريك" إلى صفقةٍ في مجال تطوير الكهرباء في العراق، رغم أن الولايات المتحدة بذلت جهودًا قصوى لتحقيق هذا المسعى.

في خلال الزيارة، حثّ وزير الخارجية بدلًا من ذلك على عقد صفقة تُطوّر بموجبها شركة "إكسون موبيل" البنية التحتية لقطاع النفط والغاز في جنوب العراق، وهو عقدٌ يُقال إن قيمته تبلغ 53 مليار دولار. وأشاد رئيس الوزراء بهذه الصفقة مع "إكسون"، قائلًا إنها ستساهم بما يقارب 400 مليار دولار في الاقتصاد العراقي في خلال السنوات الثلاثين القادمة.

غير أن زيارة وزير الخارجية بومبيو كانت مصممة أيضًا لإيصال رسالة سياسية واضحة. وقدّم بومبيو في الوقت نفسه جرعةً حلوة المذاق وأخرى مرّة إلى القيادة العراقية. فمن جهة، أعلن بومبيو أن العراق سيبقى معفيًّا من العقوبات ضد إيران في خلال الصيف، وهو أمرٌ حيويٌّ بشكلٍ خاص لاستمرار واردات الكهرباء من إيران في خلال الأشهر الأكثر حرًّا من العام.

إلّا أن بومبيو وجّه أيضًا إنذارًا قاسيًا إلى الحكومة العراقية في ما يخص أي هجوم تنفّذه القوّات الموالية لإيران على المنشآت أو المصالح الأمريكية داخل العراق. وعكَسَ هذا الإنذار القلق الأمريكي المتنامي من احتمال قيام بعض "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" العراقية بتنفيذ هذه الأنواع من الهجمات نيابةً عن إيران – وبعثَ برسالة إلى القيادة العراقية مفادها أن هذا الاحتمال غير مقبول أبدًا. وبدلًا من ذلك، تريد الولايات المتحدة أن تضطلع الحكومة العراقية بدورها في حماية البعثات الدبلوماسية والشركات الدولية العاملة في العراق، وتأكدت من أن الحكومة العراقية سمعت منها مباشرةً عن عواقب أي هجوم مماثل إذا وقع على الأرض العراقية.

تشعر القيادة العراقية من جهتها بالقلق الشديد حيال الوضع الراهن بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران؛ فالحكومة بحاجة إلى كلا البلدين، بما أن كليهما شريكان يؤديان دورين مختلفين للعراق. كما تعتقد هذه القيادة أن وضع العراق بحد ذاته هشٌّ. فالأوضاع الأمنية والاقتصادية والعسكرية داخل البلد غير مستقرة، ويمكن بالتالي أن تؤدي أي حرب أو نزاع عسكري بين إيران والولايات المتحدة إلى نتيجة مدمّرة بالنسبة إلى العراق. لهذا السبب، يتبذل القيادة العراقية كامل جهدها ضمن سلطتها لردع هذا النزاع. ويتردد خبرٌ بأن رئيس الوزراء أرسل كبير مستشاريه إلى إيران لإعلامهم بمضمون زيارة بومبيو والرسائل التي بعث بها. وتم أيضًا فهم هذه الزيارة التي يُحكى عنها على أنها محاولة لتحذير إيران من أي محاولة لإقناع القوات المحلية المؤيدة لإيران بالتصرف بأي شكلٍ يضر بالمصالح العراقية داخل العراق نفسه.

لكن من المهم أيضًا إدراك أن أي اعتداء محتمل على المصالح الأمريكية في العراق سيكون صعبًا، وقد تكون أرجحية حدوث ذلك مبالَغًا بها. فالأحزاب الشيعية المسيطرة التي لها قدرة عسكرية ممثَّلة داخل "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" قليلة، أي "منظمة بدر" و"عصائب أهل الحق" و"الحكمة" ("سرايا عاشوراء") و"التيار الصدري" ("سرايا السلام").

غنيٌّ عن القول إنه يمكن استبعاد "سرايا عاشوراء" و"سرايا السلام" من أي هجوم ضد المصالح الأمريكية. إلى ذلك، طالما أظهرت "منظمة بدر" ولاءها للعراق، وهو واقعٌ لم يُشدّد عليه سوى البيان العام الأخير الذي أدلى به هادي العامري. لذلك، المجموعة الوحيدة داخل "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" التي يمكن الاعتبار أنها قد تعتدي على المصالح الأمريكية في العراق بناءً على وصية إيران هي "عصائب أهل الحق". غير أن هذه المجموعة أيضًا اصطفت إلى جانب العراق في عدة مناسبات، كما عندما رفضت بشكلٍ قاطع مواجهة أنصار "التيار الصدري" عندما كانوا على وشك اقتحام "المنطقة الخضراء" في عام 2015 رغم توقع قيام "عصائب أهل الحق" بذلك. كما أوضح السياسيون الرفيعو المستوى في هذه المنظمة في محادثاتٍ خاصة أنهم يعتقدون بقوة أن العراق يأتي أولًا، وذكروا أيضًا واقع أن "عصائب أهل الحق" لم تتورط في أي نزاع مع القوات الأمريكية منذ عدة سنوات.

في غضون ذلك، تبقى بعض المجموعات داخل "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" ذات قدرة مسلحة تطرح تهديدًا، من بينها "كتائب حزب الله" و"حركة النجباء" وقوات "الخراساني" وبعض المجموعات الأصغر حجمًا. فتتمتع أول منظمتين بالقدرة على الاشتباك مع القوات الأمريكية في معركةٍ وبخبرة في ساحة القتال، مع أن المجموعات الباقية لها القدرة على تعكير أجواء السلام إنما ليس القيام بالكثير من الأمور الأخرى. رغم ذلك، من الصعب تصور أن أيًّا من هذه المجموعات سيعرّض المصالح العراقية للخطر في الظروف الراهنة، خاصةً أنها تعلم أن الحكومة العراقية وقيادتها السياسية ستردّان على أي جهدٍ مماثل من أجل حماية مصلحة العراق.

حتى أن جزءًا كبيرًا من القيادة العراقية سترغب في أن تضطلع الحكومة بدورٍ ناشطٍ كوسيط في التوصل إلى نوعٍ من التسوية بين الحكومتين الأمريكية والإيرانية. فسيفضّل رجال السياسية العراقيون تشجيع كلا الجهتين على الجلوس إلى الطاولة أكثر بكثير من تبادل الإدلاء بالتصريحات وتوجيه التهديدات بشن الحرب. كذلك، تتشارك الأحزاب السياسية والرئاسات الثلاث في العراق هاجسًا واحدًا تجاه الشعب الإيراني؛ فلا أحد يريد أن يرى الشعب الإيراني يعاني في محنة العقوبات والكل يريد بدلًا من ذلك مساعدته.

مع ذلك، يعتقد بعض المراقبين السياسيين أن العراق يمكنه في أفضل الأحوال تأدية دور المتفرّج في النزاع الأمريكي-الإيراني الأكبر والأكثر شمولًا من نفوذ كلٍ من البلدين داخل العراق. ويرى هؤلاء المراقبون الضغط الأمريكي على إيران بمثابة محاولة لإضعاف طاقتها وقدرتها على التحرك في المنطقة بطريقة مرتبطة بالنفوذ الإقليمي الإجمالي وأيضًا بالجهود الأمريكية للشروع ببذل مجهودٍ جديد من أجل التفاوض بين الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين. ومن هذا المنظار، إن الجهود لقطع ارتباطات إيران في سوريا واليمن ولبنان وفلسطين مصممة للمساعدة على تنفيذ "صفقة القرن" غير الصادرة بعد، التي يُتوقَّع أن تُعلن عنها إدارة ترامب في حزيران/يونيو.

لن تتمكن إيران الأضعف والأفقر من تمويل المجموعات شبه العسكرية في البلدان المحيطة بإسرائيل كما اعتادت في الماضي، ما يخفف المعارضة الإجمالية على الصفقة وربما يُلزم الجهات الفاعلة في فلسطين بالقبول بها. وإذا اعتُبر هذا السيناريو صحيحًا، إذًا لن يكون النزاع في العراق مجديًا كثيرًا لإيران. وقد يحافظ الإيرانيون على العراق باعتباره منفَذًا لسلعهم وخدماتهم لم يتعرّض بعد للعقوبات.

مع ذلك، لا يجوز اعتبار أن عدم اكتراث إيران بالحث على الاعتداء على المصالح الأمريكية في العراق يشكّل أمرًا مقضيًّا. وسيكون من الحكمة أن تنشط الحكومة والقيادة السياسية في العراق في إعطاء الأولوية لمصالح العراق قبل كل شيء. فتريد القيادة العراقية من المجتمع الدولي أن يعترف بالسيادة العراقية. ولهذا السبب، لا بد من أن يتصرف العراق كدولة ذات سيادة: فعلى الحكومة أن تضمن عدم قيام أي مجموعة شبه عسكرية بأي اعتداء على أي بعثات دبلوماسية أو مصالح اقتصادية أجنبية. وعلى القادة العراقيين ألا يسمحوا بأن يصبح البلد ساحةً تسجّل فيها الكيانات الأخرى أهدافها، حتى ولو كانت هذه الكيانات صديقة للعراق نفسه. لذلك، لا بد من أن تنشط الدبلوماسية العراقية كثيرًا وأن تقدّم أفضل ما لديها من أداء من أجل حماية العراق من أي ضرر ممكن.

على ضوء ما سبق، لا بد من أن تؤكّد الإدارة الأمريكية أيضًا على السيادة العراقية وتحترمها. وعلى الصعيد العملي، تحتاج الولايات المتحدة إلى كل الأصدقاء الذين يمكنها أن تحصل عليهم في المنطقة، وكان العراق صديقًا جيّدًا في الأعوام الستة عشر الماضية. والإدارة الحالية في العراق، ممثَّلةً بالرئاسات الثلاث، هي أكبر صديقة للأمريكيين من بين كافة الإدارات العراقية السابقة. وعلى الولايات المتحدة أن تفهم أن حسن نية العراقيين يجب أن يأتي من موضع الاحترام والعلاقات المتبادلة وليس من الإكراه. وبهدف التشجيع على ذلك، على الولايات المتحدة أن تعطي العراق فسحةً للتنفس وتمد له يد العون التي يحتاجها من أجل حماية مصالحه كدولة ذات سيادة.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

During Conflict Between the United States and Iran, Iraq’s Shiite Forces Will Prioritize Iraq


Also available in العربية

May 14, 2019

“We will not allow Iraq to become a battlefield for other countries to clear their debts”—this statement would be unremarkable coming from many Iraqi politicians, as it is in sync with the current view of most Iraqi political parties and the three Presidencies of Iraq: the President, Prime Minister and the Speaker. Yet the fact that it was uttered by the Iraqi paramilitary Badr organisation’s leader Hadi al-Ameri, an organization often characterized in the West as an Iranian proxy force, gives the statement another flavor entirely. This sentiment was uttered a few days ago, and appears to align al-Ameri with a general political perspective at the moment. No one among Iraq’s mainstream parties wishes to see Iraq’s interests put second to those of Iran or America if matters get out of hand in the region. Iraqi officials have been clear on this point in their recent conversations with the Iranians and Americans, reflecting how an “Iraq first” policy is becoming a priority among domestic politicians as tensions between Iran and the United States continue to escalate.

As one of the latest developments in this conflict, Secretary Pompeo’s unscheduled visit to Iraq this week was a mix of business and politics. On the one hand, the Americans are wary of recent business deals struck between Iraq and the Saudis, French, and Germans after President Barham Salih and Prime Minister Adel Abdul Mehdi’s high level visits to these countries. In the government delegation’s latest visit to Germany, Iraq signed an MoU with the German industrial giant Siemens to develop Iraq’s electricity network, a contract worth $14.5 billion. This deal beat out the American effort to include GE in Iraq’s electricity development deal, though the U.S. government had been heavy handed in its efforts to include GE in the deal.

During his visit, the Secretary of State instead pushed for a deal for Exxon Mobil to develop southern Iraq’s oil and gas infrastructure, a contract said to be worth $53 billion. The Prime Minister has praised the deal with Exxon, saying that it would contribute some $400 billion to the Iraqi economy in the course of next thirty years.

Yet Secretary Pompeo’s visit was designed to deliver a clear political message as well. Pompeo presented both a sweet pill and a sour one to Iraqi leadership. On the one hand, Pompeo announced that Iraq would remain exempt from sanctions against Iran over the summer, particularly vital for continued electricity imports from Iran during the hottest months of the year.

However, Pompeo also issued a stark warning to the Iraqi government regarding any attack carried out by forces loyal to Iran on U.S. installations or interests within Iraq. The warning reflected an increasing American concern that some of the Iraqi Popular Mobilization Units (PMU) may carry out these types of attacks on behalf of Iran—and sent a message to Iraqi leadership that this prospect is completely unacceptable. Instead, the United States wants the Iraqi government to take its role in protecting the diplomatic missions and international companies working in Iraq and made sure that the Iraqi government heard first-hand of the consequences of such an attack if it takes place on Iraqi soil.

For their part, the Iraqi leadership is deeply concerned about the current state of affairs between the United States and Iran; the government needs both countries, as they are both partners who play different roles for Iraq. They also believe that the state of Iraq itself is fragile. The security, economic, and military situations inside the country are not stable, and any war or military conflict between Iran and the United States could consequently have a devastating result on Iraq. For that reason, Iraqi leadership would do everything in its power to prevent such conflict.  It is rumored that the PM dispatched his Chief of Staff to Iran to inform them of the content of Pompeo visit and the messages Pompeo conveyed. This rumored visit was also understood as an attempt to warn Iran against any attempt to persuade domestic forces sympathetic to Iran to act in ways harmful to Iraqi interests inside of Iraq itself.

Yet it is also important to recognize that a possible attack on American interests in Iraq would be difficult, and the likelihood of such an event may be exaggerated. The dominant Shiite parties that have military capability represented inside the PMU are few, namely the Badr Brigade, Asaib Ahl Al-Haq (AAH), Hikma (Saraya Ashura) and the Sadr Movement (Saraya al-Salam).

It goes without saying that Saraya Asura and al-Salam can be ruled out in any attack against American interests. Moreover, the Badr organization has long shown its allegiance to Iraq, a reality that is only emphasized by Hadi al-Ameri’s recent public statement. Thus, one of the only major groups within the PMU that might be considered likely to attack U.S. interests in Iraq at Iran’s bequest is AAH. Yet they too have sided with Iraq on many occasions, such as when AAH flatly refused orders to face off against Sadrists when they were about to storm the Green Zone in 2015 in spite of the expectation that AAH would do so.  The organization’s high-ranking politicians have also made it clear in private conversations that they firmly believe Iraq comes first, while also citing the fact that AAH has not been involved in any conflict with U.S. troops for several years.

Meanwhile, there do remain some PMU groups with the arms capability to pose a threat, including Kataib Hizballa, Al-Nujabaa, Khurasani forces, and a few smaller groups. The first two organizations have the capacity to engage American troops in battle and have battlefield experience, though the remainder are capable of disturbing peace but not a great deal more. Nevertheless, it is difficult to imagine that any of these groups would endanger Iraqi interests in the current circumstances, especially since they know that the Iraqi government and its political leadership will react against any such effort in order to protect Iraq’s interest.

Much of the Iraqi leadership would even like the government to take an active role in reaching some sort of compromise as a mediator between the U.S. and the Iranian governments. Iraqi politicians would much prefer to encourage both sides to sit around a table instead of a reciprocal issuing of statements and threats of war. The Iraqi political parties and the Three Presidencies also have a shared concern for the Iranian people; no one wants to see the Iranian people suffer through the hardship of sanctions and want instead to help them.

However, some political observers believe Iraq can at best serve as a bystander to the U.S.-Iran conflict, which is bigger and more comprehensive than their respective influence inside of Iraq. These observers view U.S. pressure on Iran as an attempt to weaken the latter's capacity to move in the region in a manner that is linked to overall regional influence and U.S. efforts to engage in a new effort to negotiate between Israelis and Palestinians. Through this lens, efforts to cut Iran’s links in Syria, Yemen, Lebanon, and Palestine are designed to help enforce the as-yet unreleased “Deal of the Century,” which the Trump administration is expected to announce in June.

A weaker and poorer Iran wouldn't be able to fund paramilitary groups in the countries surrounding Israel as they have in the past, lowering overall opposition to the deal and perhaps forcing the players in Palestine to accept it. If such a scenario is said to be true, then conflict in Iraq would serve little purpose for Iran. Iraq might be saved by the Iranians as a gateway for their goods and services, which continue to not be subject to sanctions.

Nevertheless, Iran’s disinterest in prompting an attack on U.S. interests in Iraq should not be taken for granted. The Iraqi government and political leadership would be well advised to actively prioritize Iraq’s interests first and foremost. Iraqi leadership wants the international community to recognize Iraqi sovereignty. For that reason, it needs to act as a sovereign state: the government must ensure that no paramilitary group carries out an attack on any foreign diplomatic missions or economic interests. Iraqi leaders must not allow the country to become an arena where other entities settle scores, even if said entities are friendly with Iraq itself. Thus, Iraqi diplomacy needs to get into high gear and fire on all cylinders in order to protect Iraq from any possible harm.

In light of this, the U.S. administration should also affirm and respect Iraqi sovereignty. Practically speaking, the United States needs all the friends it can get in the region, and Iraq has indeed been a good friend for the past sixteen years. Iraq’s current administration, as represented by the Three Presidencies, is the most friendly to the Americans of all past Iraqi administrations. The United States should understand that the good will of Iraqis must come from a place of respect and mutual relations rather than coercion. In order to encourage this, the United States needs to give Iraq the breathing space and helping hand that it needs to protect its interests as a sovereign state.

Customize your RSS Feed