أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

هل يستطيع الأسد وروسيا إخراج إيران من سوريا؟


متاح أيضاً في English

25 حزيران/يونيو 2018

منذ الضربة الصاروخية الثلاثية التي نفذتها الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية بالتعاون مع فرنسا وبريطانيا، تصاعدت الضربات العسكرية المركزة التي تنفذها إسرائيل ضد القواعد العسكرية الإيرانية في سوريا، وقد استهدفت هذه الضربات المطارات والقواعد الإيرانية في دمشق "مطار تي فور العسكري" ومطارات عسكرية في حماة ودير الزور وحتى تشكيلات مليشيات حزب الله في منطقة القنيطرة.

تهدف إسرائيل إلى   تخفيض حجم التهديد الذي تشكله إيران على أمنها القومي، وذلك وفقا لمبررات حول تجاوز إيران للخطوط الحمراء وذلك من خلال تدخلها المتزايد في سوريا. وفى حين انه لا يوجد هناك أي تطور في ما يخص العداء القائم بين إسرائيل وإيران، واستنادا إلى تفاهم جديد تم إبرامه بين روسيا وإسرائيل مؤخرا، يمكن لإسرائيل الآن شن غارات جوية ضد القواعد الإيرانية، مع استثناء قطاعات الجيش السوري من هذه الضربات.

ولا تخفي إسرائيل من خلال هذا التصعيد أن هدفها ممارسة اقسي الضغوط على الرئيس الأسد ودفعه لاتخاذ قرار بطرد القوات الإيرانية من سوريا، وإرسال رسائل مفادها أن إسرائيل ستعمل الإبقاء على الأسد في السلطة في حال إقدامه طرد القوات الإيرانية من سوريا. حتى انه تردد أن رئيس الحكومة الإسرائيلية بنيامين نتنياهو خلال زيارته الأخيرة لموسكو، طرح على الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين صفقة بهذا المعنى.

ويرى الكثير من المحللون أن نشوب أي خلاف بين إيران وروسيا لن يصب في مصلحة الأخيرة التي ليس لديها الكثير من الحلفاء في المنطقة، إضافة إلى أن التواجد العسكري الروسي في سوريا لم يكن ليستقر دون وجود القوات الإيرانية على الأرض. ومع ذلك، وفي سياق أهداف روسيا في سوريا، فإن الاتفاق بين روسيا وإسرائيل لا يثير الدهشة، خاصة أن إيران تشكل خطرا على استراتيجية روسيا في سوريا على المستويين العسكري والسياسي، ففي الوقت الذي تسعى فيه روسيا لإنجاز تسوية في سوريا في إطار دولة علمانية وفدرالية مع الاحتفاظ بقواعدها العسكرية الساحلية، تتطلع إيران لإنجاز تسوية في سوريا تؤكد دورها الإقليمي في إطار مشروع أيديولوجي قومي فارسي ودولة طائفية.

وبالتالي، ليس من المتوقع أن تعمل روسيا على إزاحة إيران من المشهد السوري بشكل كامل. وبدلا من ذلك، ستمارس روسيا المزيد من الضغوط على إيران بغية تحجيم نفوذها في سوريا. وهكذا أرسل توقف الدفاعات الروسية عن مواجهة الغارات الإسرائيلية، رسالة لإيران مفادها أنه بالرغم من تواجدها العسكري في سوريا إلا أن هذا التواجد بدون غطاء روسي سيبقى عرضة لمخاطر الاستهداف.

ومن الواضح أن تطور العلاقات بين روسيا وإيران، قد وضعت الأسد في وضع غير مستقر، ففي الوقت الذي يدرك فيه الرئيس السوري أن أسباب التمسك بالتحالف مع روسيا أهم بالمقارنة مع إيران، إلا أنه يدرك أيضا أن روسيا غير معنية بشخص الرئيس الأسد في مواصلة قيادة سوريا بعد المرحلة الانتقالية المفترضة، وذلك على عكس طهران التي لديها مصلحة راسخة في إبقائه في السلطة.

وعلى الرغم من الجهود التي تبذلها روسيا، إلا انه من غير الواضح إلى أي مدى يمكن إقناع الأسد بالحد من وجود القوات الإيرانية في سوريا، خاصة وأن إيران يمكن أن تمنحه درجة من الحماية ضد الضغوط الروسية. علاوة على ذلك، مازالت قدرة الأسد على اتخاذ إجراءات ضد إرادة طهران مقيدة إلى حد كبير بالنفوذ العسكري والاقتصادي الإيراني في سوريا، فمنذ بداية الأزمة، أصبحت الميليشيات الإيرانية التي تقاتل في سوريا جزء لا يتجزأ من الجيش السوري، وذلك من خلال عمليات اندماج تم تنفيذها بتعليمات من إيران.  إضافة إلى ذلك، تؤكد المعارضة السورية أن إيران وعبر خطط مدروسة تمكنت من اختراق الاقتصاد السوري، عبر اتفاقات اقتصادية مع الحكومة السورية، في مجالات النفط والزراعة والسوق المالي والعقارات والاستثمار في الفوسفات وغيرها من المشاريع الاقتصادية الحيوية الكبرى.

في ضوء ما سبق، وحتى يتسنى لها تحقيق مصالحها في سوريا، قد تجد موسكو نفسها مضطرة إلى وعد الأسد بأنه في حالة نجاحه في طرد القوات الإيرانية من سوريا، ستضمن روسيا بقاء نظامه في المستقبل. وفى الوقت عينه، فان استمرار العمليات الواسعة التي تنفذها إسرائيل ضد القواعد العسكرية الإيرانية في سوريا حول دمشق وفي الجنوب والشمال والشرق السوري سترسل رسالة قوية لإيران بأن نفوذها الإقليمي قد أصبح في خطر. ونتيجة لذلك، ربما يدفع ذلك إيران للقبول بالتفاوض وتقديم تنازلات في أية مفاوضات قادمة.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Could Assad and Russia Expel Iran from Syria?


Also available in العربية

June 25, 2018

Since the triple missile strike carried out by the United States in cooperation with France and Britain, Israel has escalated its attacks against Iranian military bases in Syria: airfields and Iranian bases in Damascus, the Syrian Air Force T-4 military airbase, and Hezbollah militia units in the Quneitra area have all served as targets so far.

Israel, aiming to reduce the threat to its national security posed by Iran, justifies these attacks by arguing that Iran has crossed a red line through its ever increasing involvement in Syria. But while there is nothing new about the hostility between Israel and Iran, due to an agreement just recently reached with Russia, Israel can now launch air raids against Iranian bases so long as the Syrian Army is not implicated in these strikes.

It is clear that Israel’s recently increased aggression is designed to exert pressure on Syrian President Bashar al-Assad and push him to help expel Iranian forces from Syria. In this manner, Israel is signaling that it would tacitly accept the continuance of the Assad regime if and only if Assad works to remove Iranian forces from the country. According to some reports, Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu directly communicated this message to Russian President Vladimir Putin during a recent visit to Moscow.

Since Russia has few allies in the region, and as Iranian forces have helped Russia’s military establish its presence in Syria, many analysts believe that a rift with Iran would be deleterious for Russian interests. Nonetheless, in the context of Russia’s goals in Syria, the agreement between Russia and Israel is hardly surprising. In the long run, Iran poses a threat to Russia’s military and political intentions in Syria: whereas Moscow would prefer Syria to be a secular and federal state able to maintain its coastal military bases, Tehran is interested in expanding its regional influence through a sectarian Syrian state controlled by Iran's ideological counterparts.

Therefore, although Russia is not expected to go so far as to remove Iran from the scene entirely, it is likely to try to curtail the latter’s influence in Syria. Thus, Russian forces have stopped responding to Israeli raids, thereby sending the message to Tehran that without Russian backing, it is at risk of being targeted.

The current dynamic between Russia and Iran puts Assad in a precarious position: while he recognizes that his alliance with Russia is more important than the alliance with Iran, Assad is also aware that unlike Tehran, which has a vested interest in keeping him in power, Moscow is indifferent as to whether or not he continues to rule Syria after the presumed transitional phase.

Consequently, despite Russia’s efforts, it is unclear to what extent Assad can be convinced to limit the presence of Iranian forces in Syria, especially since Iran can grant him some degree of protection against Russian pressure. Moreover, Assad’s ability to take action against Tehran’s interests is largely constrained by the latter’s military and economic leverage in Syria: since the beginning of the crisis, Iranian militias fighting in Syria have become an integral part of the Syrian army through mergers carried out under Iranian direction. Furthermore, according to Syrian opposition Iran has succeeded in tightening its grip on Syria’s economy through economic agreements with the Syrian government over oil, agriculture, the financial market, real estate, phosphate investment, and other major projects.

In light of the above, it appears that in order to secure its interest in Syria, Moscow may have to guarantee Assad’s future in Syria in order to convince him to fully support a removal of Iranian forces from Syria. Meanwhile, Israel’s operations around Damascus and in the north and east of Syria may signal to Iran that its regional hold is at risk. In this case, Assad may be sidelined entirely if Iran itself decides to join the negotiation table.

Customize your RSS Feed