أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

السياسة التوافقية والديمقراطية في تونس: تحديات الإصلاح السياسي


متاح أيضاً في English

2 آذار/مارس 2020

أحيت تونس يوم 14 كانون الثاني/ يناير الذكرى التاسعة للثورة التّي أطاحت بنظام الرئيس السابق زين العابدين بن علي في ظلّ أجواء اجتماعية وسياسية تتّسم بـالاحتقان ووضع اقتصادي صعب وهشّ. وفي حين ينعم المُواطن التُونسي بحُريّة التعبير بعد أنّ ألجمت الأفواه لعُقود، يطول انتظاره لتحسين مُستوى معيشته واقتصاده.

يراقب التونسيون عن كثب الإخفاقات الأخيرة في عملية تشكيل حكومة، وهي عملية استمرت منذ الانتخابات التي عقدت في شهر تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر. وبعد مرور شهر على الاحتفال بالذكرى السنوية للديمقراطية التونسية، قدم مبعوث رئيس الوزراء مرة أخرى اقتراحًا حكوميًا جديدًا، بعد الرفض البرلماني للحكومة التي اقترحها الحبيب الجملي في العاشر من كانون الأول/ يناير. ومن ثم، تثير الصعوبات المستمرة الذي واجهتها الدولة بعض التساؤلات لدى التونسيين حول مستقبل التحول الديمقراطي في بلادهم.

أفرز قانون الانتخابات في تونس ونظام الحُكم الهجين الذّي يتم فيه تقاسم السلطة التنفيذية بين رئيس الوزراء والرئيس، برلمانًا يتكون من كتل معزولة ومختلة وظيفياً، حيث فشلت في الاندماج وفي تشكيل هيئة حاكمة فاعلة. كما لم تسمح السياسة التوافقية للحزب الفائز بالانتخابات أن يحكُم بمُفرده بل فرض عليه الدخول في سياسة توافقية حتّى يستطيع تشكيل حُكومة.

وبالطبع كان هذا خيارًا متعمدا حيث تبنت تونس المزيد من سياسات التوافق بتشكيل حكومة ائتلاف إسلامية علمانية كبرى في عام 2015، ومضت في تلك السياسة حتى وقتنا هذا. ومع ذلك، قد يكون هناك تركيز كبير على الإجماع الذي يأتي على حساب قضايا أخرى مرتبطة بالحكم في تونس. وبعبارة أخرى، أصبحت أليات " الديمقراطية التوافقية: تمثل عقبة أمام التحول الديمقراطي والإصلاح السياسي في البلاد.

وتحت شعار التوافقية، تخلت الدولة عن قضايا ضرورية، مثل العدالة الانتقالية، وإصلاح قطاع الأمن ولم يتسنى لها اتخاذ إجراءات جريئة بشأن الاقتصاد أو تشكيل المحكمة الدستورية. أدّت أيضا تلك السياسة التوافقية إلى تطبيق نظام المُحاصصة الحزبية وملء المناصب بمسؤولين تنقصهم الكفاءة اللاّزمة والوعي السياسي المطلوب، ويفتقرون إلى التجربة في إدارة شؤون البلاد. وقد فتح الباب على مصراعيه لتفشّي الفساد والمحسوبية.

هذا الوضع المزرى دفع الناخبين التونسيين وخاصّة الشباب الى مقاطعة العمل السياسي، حيث قّررت فئة الشباب مُعاقبة الأحزاب على تقصيرها وتراخيها في مُعالجة المشاكل الكبرى التّي تتخبّط فيها البلاد منذ الثورة وعلى رأسها البطالة والفقر وقد انعكست تلك الإجراءات العقابية في ضعف نسبة الإقبال على الانتخابات التشريعية عام 2019 (أقلّ من 42 بالمائة) مقارنة بالانتخابات السابقة.

طالت تلك الإجراءات العقابية أيضا الحزب الإسلامي (حركة النهضة) الذي حصل مرشحوه على نحو 52 مقعد بالبرلمان مُقارنة ب 89 نائبا في 2012 و67 نائبا في 2014.  ُويفسّر هذا التراجع عدم رضا التونسيين على سياسة حركة النهضة وفشلها في تحقيق أهداف الثورة.
جلبت المواقف "الحداثية" أيضا لحركة النهضة الكثير من الانتقادات حتّى من داخل اليمين الإسلامي الذّي يعتبر أنّ النهضة حركة علمانية فرّطت بشكل مُتواصل في كثير من قضايا الإسلام، وخُصوصًا قضايا الأحوال الشخصية وحُقوق المرأة والإرث. تلك القضايا أحدثت انشقاق كبير بين النهضة بين النهضة وزعامات مُتعدّدة على جانبي الطيف السياسي.

ومع ذلك، لا يتحمل حزب النهضة وحده كل اللوم على تلك السياسية الهزلية، حيث أن جميع الحُكومات المُتعاقبة على حُكم تونس بعد الثّورة هي في حقيقة الأمر حُكومات خالية من أيّ برنامج سياسي أو اقتصادي، وخالية من تصوّر عام لشؤون البلاد أو استشراف للمُستقبل. فهي فقط كانت حُكومات لتصريف الأعمال اليومية دون رؤية واضحة أو استراتيجية في الحُكم. وقد تجلى ذلك الأداء في ارتفاع حجم الديون، وعجز الميزان التجاري وانهيار سعر الدينار. ونتيجة لذلك فُقدت الثقة بين تلك الحكومات وبين الشعب وبين الشعب، وفشلت القُوى والأحزاب السياسية في أن تتحوّل إلى قُوّة شعبية فعالة، حيث ظلّت في غالبها مُجرّد قُوى نُخبويّة تُمارس عملاً نضالياً دون القُدرة على تفعيل التواصل مع الشارع أو تقديم برامج ملموسة تصب في مصلحة المواطن.

إضافة الى ذلك، يعكس اختيار الناخبين التونسيين للرئيس مدى إحباطهم من الوضع الراهن، كما يشير الى احتمال تنامى الدعم الشعبي المطالب بمراجعة نموذج الديمقراطية التوافقية برمته. انعكست أيضا حالة الإحباط الشعبي في حصول أستاذ القانون قيس سعيد على نسبة ساحقة من الأصوات تجاوزت (72 بالمائة)، وهي نسبة لم يصل إليها أي رئيس بعد الثّورة. وقد عُدّت هذه النسبة بمثابة استفتاء شعبي.

وفى خضم حالة الركود التي تعصف بالكتلة السياسية الحالية في البرلمان التونسي، خرجت بعض الأصوات لتنادى بتأسيس "حكومة الرئيس"، وهي أصوات بعضها يستندُ على القاعدة الشعبية التّي يحظى بها الرئيس. كما خرجت بعض الأصوات لتنادى بضرورة تغيير طبيعة النظام السياسي ليصبح نظاما رئاسيا إلى حين تعديل الدستور. وقد تضع تلك الصعوبات التي تواجه عملية تشكيل الحكومة الجديدة الرئيس أمام واحده من أشدّ الاختبارات التّي يُمكن أن تواجهها الديمقراطية الناشئة في هذا البلد.

ومع ذلك، يبدو أن البديل سيكون أكثر قساوة إذا فشل الاقتراح الأخير في تشكيل الحكومة، حيث انه من المحتمل أن تلجأ القيادة السياسية التونسية بشكل متزايد إلى الدعوة إلى عقد انتخابات جديدة، وهو خيار سيكون مُرهقا ومُتعبا للتونسيين الذّين توجّهوا لصناديق الاقتراع ثلاث مرّات خلال شهر واحد فقط، وقد يفرز ذلك تحركًا شعبيًا نحو مقاطعة الانتخابات تمامًا – وهي إشارة تحذير جدية لا يمكن الاستهانة بها في أي نظام ديمقراطي.

أمام هذه الظروف يستوجب على الأحزاب التي تسعى لتجنب تلك الخيارات الكبيرة أن تعمل على   تغيير نوعية خطابها السياسي من حيث الهيكلة والتنظيم والتوجّهات والرُؤى العامّة بما يُعطي للمواطن الذي صنع الثورة فُرصة لأن يجد مكانه في النظام السياسي الجديد. كما يجب الاهتمام بالتكوين والتدريب السياسي للشباب داخل الأحزاب، وتقديم برامج واقعية ومعقولة تمسّ كافّة شرائح الشعب.

وتشمل التدابير الاقتصادية الإصلاحية الأخرى التي يجب أن تتخذها الحكومة العمل على مُحاربة الفساد وبعث مشاريع تنموية تنهض بالبلاد والجهات الدّاخلية المحرومة، وتشجيع الاستثمار والشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاصّ. وتشريعيا، يجب العمل على تنقيح الدستور وخاصّة في بابه المُتعلق بنظام الحُكم ومُراجعة القانون الانتخابي وإصدار قانون يمنع "السياحة الحزبية" – التي تسمح للسياسيين بتبديل الأحزاب السياسية بعد الانتخابات - والتي أضرت بصورة المشهد السياسي كثيرا في الآونة الأخيرة، وتفعيل القوانين التّي تُجرّم التلاعب بالانتخابات والتمويلات المشبوهة للأحزاب والجمعيات.

تواجه الدولة مهمة شاقة تتمثل في استعادة أمل الشعب التونسي وتقديم رسائل مطمئنة حول المستقبل، وبالتالي تهيئة مناخ من الثقة المتبادلة. لكن هذه كلها عناصر حيوية ضرورية لأي ديمقراطية ناجحة، وهناك مسئولية كبيرة تقع على عاتق النخبة السياسية التونسية تتمثل في الحفاظ على تراث الثورة التونسية خلال عقدها الأول.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Consensus Politics and Democracy in Tunisia: Challenges for Political Reform


Also available in العربية

March 2, 2020

On January 14, Tunisia marked the ninth anniversary of the revolution that overthrew the regime of Zine El Abidine Ben Ali. Yet this year’s anniversary took place amid a tense social and political atmosphere, made even more strained by Tunisia’s fragile economy. Although Tunisian citizens now enjoy freedom of expression after decades of oppression, they are still waiting for an improved standard of living and better economic prospects.

Tunisians have closely watched the recent failures of the government to form, a process that has dragged on since the country’s elections in October until just this week. After the parliamentary rejection of the government proposed by Habib Jemli on January 10, the current struggle the state faces in finally forming a government has raised additional questions for Tunisians about the future of the democratic transition in their country.

The reality is that Tunisia’s election laws and its hybrid system of government—based on a split in the executive branch between the Prime Minister and President—have produced a parliament that consists of dysfunctional, isolated blocs that have failed to consolidate into an effective governing body. The country’s politics of consensus does not allow the party that wins the elections to govern on its own, requiring a belabored process of consensus bloc formation in order to form a government.

This was a deliberate choice: Tunisia chose to adopt consensus politics when forming a broader coalition government between Islamists and secularists in 2015, an approach that has continued in the years since. However, there may be too much focus on consensus at the expense of other necessary aspects of governance in Tunisia. In other words, the prioritization of “democratic consensus” has become a real obstacle to democratic transition and political reform.

Under the banner of consensus, the state has abandoned key issues such as transitional justice and reforming the security sector. The state has also failed to take bold measures on economic matters or form a constitutional court. Consensus politics has also led to a system of political party quotas where positions are filled by officials who lack the necessary competencies, political awareness, or experience in running the affairs of a country. Naturally, this process has also opened the door to rampant corruption and cronyism.

Many of the Tunisian electorate have responded to this disappointing reality by boycotting politics altogether. Tunisian youth in particular have decided to punish political parties for their inaction and failure to solve the major problems that the country has grappled with since the revolution—most importantly, unemployment and poverty. This punitive impulse is reflected in the low levels of turnout for the parliamentary elections in 2019 (less than 42 percent) when compared to earlier national elections.

The Islamist party (the Ennahda Movement) has also faced repercussions from the electorate: their candidates took about 52 seats in parliament during the previous elections—notable when compared to their 89 seats in 2012 and 67 in 2014. This decline can be attributed to the dissatisfaction among Tunisians with the policies of the Ennahda Movement and its failure to achieve the goals its leaders espoused during the revolution.

On the other hand, Ennahda’s “modern” stances have brought them a great deal of criticism among right-wing Islamists, who consider Ennahda to be a secular movement that has consistently compromised on issues related to Islam, especially personal status law, women’s rights, and inheritance. These issues have produced major rifts between Ennahda and leaders on both sides of the political spectrum.

But Ennahda does not bear all of the blame for Tunisia’s anemic political policies. Tunisia’s successive coalition governments since the revolution—with both Islamist and secularist pluralities—have lacked any coherent political or economic program, and their parties continue to lack an overall vision for the affairs of the country and its future. Politicians instead focused on routine day-to-day matters without a clear vision or strategy for governing. Tunisia’s rising state debt, trade deficits, and the collapse of the Tunisian dinar have reflected this performance. Most parties remain only elite forces that attempt to fight for the people but lack the capacity to actually communicate with the Tunisia street or to present concrete programs that would help everyday citizens.

Tunisian voters’ choice of President further emphasizes their frustration with the status-quo, and may suggest some popular support for revising the current consensus model altogether. The outsider status of Kais Saied, a professor of law who received the overwhelming percentage of the vote at 72 percent, reflected this frustration by receiving a greater margin of victory than any presidential candidate has received since the revolution. This overwhelming victory was considered by most as a popular mandate for Saied’s leadership.

And in the midst of the stagnation that plagued the current political block in Tunisia’s parliament, some voices emerged calling for the establishment of a “president’s government,” especially given Saied’s popularity and grassroots support. There are those who have gone so far as to call for a change in the nature of the political system that would create a presidential regime until Tunisia’s constitution can be amended.

If the country’s established political parties would like to avoid the repetition of this most recent political stagnation, they need to change the kind of political discourse they are producing. They must reflect in structure, as well as their attitudes and general vision, the will of the people who carried out the revolution, giving them an opportunity to find their place in the country’s new political order. This willingness to evolve is of particular importance for political elite’s ability to connect with Tunisia’s youth; political parties must pay greater attention to training youth inside political parties to become political leaders rather than become increasingly disaffected.

Other reforms must be performance-based; the government should fight corruption and promote development projects that will uplift the country and underserved sectors while promoting investment and partnerships between the private and public sectors. Additionally, legislative measures should be taken to review the country’s electoral law and issuing legal prohibitions on ‘party tourism,’ the current phenomenon where politicians switch political parties after election, revising the constitution if necessary. Finally, laws that criminalize tampering with elections or funding parties and organizations through suspicious means must be enforced.

The new Prime Minister, Elyes Fakhfakh, has touched on some of these very issues in his first speech in his new office, emphasizing the country’s desperate need for political and economic reform. But implementing these reforms is another matter. The state indeed faces a daunting task; restoring the Tunisian people’s hope and providing reassuring messages about the future, thereby establishing a climate of reciprocal trust. But these are all vital elements necessary in any successful democracy, and Tunisian political elites are responsible for maintaining the legacy of the Tunisian revolution through its first decade.

Customize your RSS Feed