أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

السودان أمام طرق وعرة: اتفاق "تقاسم السلطة" ودوره في مستقبل البلاد


متاح أيضاً في English

19 أيلول/سبتمبر 2019

بعد أشهرٍ من الاضطرابات وإراقة الدماء في الشوارع السودانية، تمّ توقيع اتفاق مهم لتقاسم السلطة في 17 آب/أغسطس بين "المجلس العسكري الانتقالي" وتحالف المعارضة المدنية المعروف باسم "قوى إعلان الحرية والتغيير." وقد أسفر الاتفاق عن إنشاء مجلس انتقالي مؤلف من ستة مدنيين وخمسة قادة عسكريين سيتناوبون على قيادة المجلس خلال الفترة الانتقالية. وعليه، سيتولى الجيش إدارة المجلس الانتقالي لفترة 21 شهرًا على أن يديره التحالف المذكور خلال الأشهر الثمانية عشر التالية. وسيسمح هذا الاتفاق لـ"قوى إعلان الحرية والتغيير" بالسيطرة على الحكومة الانتقالية – باستثناء وزارتي الداخلية والدفاع، فيما سيحظى التحالف بأغلبية الثلثين في البرلمان إضافةً إلى الحق في تعيين عالم الاقتصاد البارز عبدالله حمدوك أول رئيس وزراء مدني منذ تولّي عمر البشير السلطة في العام 1989.

وصحيحٌ أن الاتفاق يمثّل خطوةً في الاتجاه الصحيح بالنسبة للسودان، لكنه يطرح في الوقت نفسه عددًا من التحديات أمام تحالف "قوى إعلان الحرية والتغيير" – لا سيما الحفاظ على تأييد الشعب السوداني له. فمجرد تقاسم السلطة مع المجلس العسكري قد يعرّض التحالف لانتقادٍ أكبر من الشعب الذي سيحمّله "الذنب بحكم علاقته" بالمجلس. على سبيل المثال، كان "المجلس العسكري الانتقالي" قد قطع الإنترنت ووسائل التواصل للحدّ من تسرّب الأخبار من السودان بغية التعتيم على انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان التي ترتكبها "قوات التدخل السريع" في أرجاء البلاد. ومع عودة الإنترنت، اكتسحت الشبكة فيديوهاتٌ تُظهر عمليات القمع الوحشية التي ارتُكبت في الثالث من حزيران/يونيو أمام مقر الجيش في الخرطوم، ما عزّز استياء الشعب السوداني من "المجلس العسكري الانتقالي". ففي أعقاب إبرام اتفاق تقاسم السلطة، علم الشعب فجأةً بتعرّض المئات إما للقتل أو للإصابة أو للاغتصاب على يد القوات التابعة لـ"المجلس العسكري الانتقالي". ولذلك، في حال قرر تحالف "قوى إعلان الحرية والتغيير" منح أعضاء "المجلس العسكري الانتقالي" حصانةً ضدّ انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان هذه – بما أنه قد يتعرض للضغط من أجل القيام بذلك خلال الفترة الانتقالية – من الممكن أن يخسر دعم الشعب السوداني وبالتالي شرعيته كهيئة حاكمة.

ويُعتبر هذا الأمر مبعث قلق خاص نظرًا إلى أن تحالف "قوى إعلان الحرية والتغيير" بنى شرعيته باعتباره ممثلًا مدنيًا من خلال حملات محلية ودولية هدفت إلى فضح فظائع الجيش، وذلك عبر تنظيم عصيان مدني حاشد والدعوة إلى إنصاف ضحايا القمع الوحشي في الخرطوم. وكان من شأن قاعدة الدعم الهائلة التي حظي بها التحالف من ملايين السودانيين أن أظهرت قدرته أمام داعمي الجيش في المنطقة.


مع ذلك، تُعتبر سلطة تحالف "قوى إعلان الحرية والتغيير" مقيدةً أكثر من سلطة "المجلس العسكري الانتقالي" ومن المرجح إلى حدّ أكبر أن يتمّ تحميله مسؤولية أي عوائق مستقبلية بسبب الآمال الكبيرة التي يعلّقها الشعب السوداني عليه. وفي ظل توقيع الاتفاق السياسي، قد يواجه التحالف انقسامًا سياسيًا كبيرًا بسبب غياب الإجماع بين فصائله. واللافت بشكل خاص هو أن التحالف سبق أن خسر دعم "الجبهة الثورية السودانية" التي تضم "حركة العدل والمساواة" وحركات المتمردين في ولايتَي جنوب كردفان والنيل الأزرق و"حركة تحرير السودان."    

فقد رفضت هذه الجماعات اتفاق تقاسم السلطة، مدعيةً أنها توصلت سابقًا إلى اتفاق مع تحالف "قوى إعلان الحرية والتغيير" في أديس أبابا من أجل دمج ميليشياتها ووحداتها شبه العسكرية في صفوف الجيش السوداني والمشاركة كأطراف رئيسية في عملية السلام. لذا فإنّ أي استثناء لاحق لهذه الجماعات العسكرية قد يطرح تهديدًا كبيرًا أمام الانتقال الديمقراطي في السودان ومصداقية التحالف ككل.   

نظرًا إلى التهديدات المحتملة، يحتاج التحالف إلى دعم المجتمع الدولي، وبخاصةٍ الولايات المتحدة، من أجل الحث على عملية انتقالية سلمية ناجحة نحو تشكيل حكومة مدنية في السودان. وعلى واشنطن ربط الانتقال إلى الديمقراطية بإزالة السودان عن قائمة الدول الراعية للإرهاب. 

ويُشار في هذا السياق إلى أن الولايات المتحدة كانت قد صنّفت على نحو خاص المدير السابق لجهاز الأمن والمخابرات الوطني السوداني صالح غوش على قائمة الإرهاب لضلوعه في "انتهاكات فاضحة لحقوق الإنسان". وعلى الولايات المتحدة توسيع نطاق هذا الإجراء من خلال التهديد بفرض عقوبات على قادة عسكريين سودانيين بارزين متورطين في انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان – بمن فيهم رئيس "المجلس العسكري الانتقالي" عبد الفتاح عبد الرحمن برهان وكذلك "قوات التدخل السريع" وقائدها اللواء محمد حمدان دقلو حميدتي. وبشكل خاص، ستُظهر هذه التهديدات التزام الولايات المتحدة والمجتمع الدولي بعملية انتقالية سلسة من قيادة "المجلس العسكري الانتقالي" وتساعد على كبح أي طموحات لدى قائد "قوات التدخل السريع" اللواء حميدتي ترمي إلى إفساد الاتفاق الحالي بين "المجلس العسكري الانتقالي" وتحالف "قوى إعلان الحرية والتغيير".

كما ستردع العقوبات الجيش السوداني و"قوات التدخل لسريع" عن ارتكاب المزيد من انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان، الأمر الذي قد يؤدي إلى انتشار الاضطرابات في السودان. ومن شأن اتخاذ خطوات ملموسة ضد منتهكي حقوق الإنسان في السودان أن يشير أيضًا إلى أنه على القوى الإقليمية الحدّ من الدعم الذي تقدّمه إلى "المجلس العسكري الانتقالي" و"قوات الدعم السريع" منذ الإطاحة بالرئيس عمر البشير.  

حاليًا، يُعتبر تحالف "قوى إعلان الحرية والتغيير" قوة مهيمنة في الساحة السياسية السودانية وقد نجح في حشد الشعب السوداني خلف مطالبه. ومن أجل حصد أكبر قدر ممكن من الفوائد من اتفاق تقاسم السلطة مع "المجلس العسكري الانتقالي"، على التحالف أن يدرك خطر فقدان الدعم في أوساط المتظاهرين السودانيين وفصائل أخرى تابعة له، وأن يتخذ خطوات تتماشى مع المواقف التي سمحت له بحصد هذا الدعم. غير أنه لا يجب الافتراض بأن التحالف قوي بما يكفي لمعالجة هذه المسائل بمفرده. فبغية ضمان انتقال ديمقراطي سلس، على الولايات المتحدة وأعضاء المجتمع الدولي مساعدة السودان على الضغط على كلٍّ من "المجلس العسكري الانتقالي" و"قوات الدعم السريع". فقد تسفر إضاعة هذه الفرصة عن انتشار الفظائع وإعادة ظهور الجماعات الإسلامية إضافةً إلى تدفق هائل للاجئين إلى الدول المجاورة. لذلك من المهم مقاربة هذا الوضع بحذر، إذ إن أي عملية انتقالية ديمقراطية فاشلة قد تتسبب باستمرار الفظائع في وقتٍ يواجه فيه السودان مرحلة دقيقة من تاريخه.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

A Troubled Road Ahead: 'Power-Sharing' and What It Means For the Future of Sudan


Also available in العربية

September 19, 2019

Following months of unrest and bloodshed in the Sudanese streets, a critical power-sharing agreement was signed on August 17 between the Transitional Military Council (TMC) and the civilian opposition alliance–better known as the Forces of Freedom and Change (FFC). The agreement has established a transitional council with 6 civilian and 5 military leaders, who will rotate the leadership of the council during the transitional period. The military will run the transitional council for 21 months and the FFC will run it for the following 18 months. This agreement will allow the FFC to be in control of the transitional government—with the exception of the interior and defense ministers. The FFC will have a two-thirds majority in parliament in addition to appointing the prominent economist Abdullah Hamdok, as the first civilian prime minister since Omar al-Bashir took power in 1989.

The agreement represents a way forward for Sudan, but also presents a number of challenges for the FFC—namely maintaining its support among the Sudanese public. Simply sharing power may invite greater criticism upon the FFC and ‘guilt-by-association’ from the public. For example, the TMC enforced an internet and communications blackout to limit media flow out of Sudan to block coverage of human rights violations committed by Rapid Support Forces (RSF) across the country. The return of internet services flooded the internet with viral videos of the brutal crackdown on June 3rd in front of the military headquarters in Khartoum, which has increased resentment of the TMC among the Sudanese public. Suddenly, in the aftermath of the power-sharing agreement, the public was exposed to the hundreds killed, injured, or raped by the forces of the TMC. If the FFC decides to grant TMC members immunity from these human rights violations—as it may be pressured to do during the transition–it risks losing support from the Sudanese public and therefore its legitimacy as a governing body.

This is of particular concern given that the FFC based its legitimacy as civilian representation through local and international campaigns to expose the military’s atrocities, by organizing mass civil disobedience, and by advocating for justice for the victims of the brutal crackdown in Khartoum. The FFC’s massive support base of millions of Sudanese people has demonstrated its power to the military’s regional backers.

Nevertheless, the FFC is both more constrained in its power than the TMC and more likely to be held accountable for the road bumps ahead due to the strong expectations of the Sudanese public. With the political agreement signed, the FFC may face a major political rift due to the lack of consensus among its factions. Most notably, the FFC has already lost the support of the Sudanese Revolutionary Front, which includes the Justice and Equality Movement, rebel movements in South Kordofan and the Blue Nile states, and the Sudan Liberation Movement.

These groups rejected the power-sharing agreement, claiming that they had previously reached an agreement with the FFC in Addis Ababa to integrate their paramilitary units and militias into the Sudanese military and to reach a final power-sharing agreements with the central government in Khartoum. The subsequent exclusion of these military groups will pose a major threat to the democratic transition in Sudan and the credibility of the FFC.

Given the potential threats, the FFC needs the support of the international community, and more specifically the United States, to pressure for a successful peaceful transition towards the civilian government in Sudan. Washington should link the transition towards democracy with the removal of Sudan as a designated State Sponsor of Terrorism.

The United States has specifically designated former Sudan’s National Intelligence and Security Service director Salah Gosh for his involvement in “gross violations of human rights.” The United States must expand on this by threatening to impose sanctions on prominent Sundanese military leaders implicated in human rights violations—including the TMC chairman General Abdel Fattah Abdelrahman Burhan as well as the paramilitary Rapid Support Forces (RSF) and its leader General Mohamed Hamdan Dagalo Hemedti. Most notably, this action will showcase the United States and the international community's commitment to a smooth democratic transition from the TMC leadership, and helping to curb any ambitions of RSF leader General Hemediti to spoil the current agreement between the TMC and the FFC.

Sanctions will also deter the Sudanese military and the RSF from committing further human rights violations, which could lead to widespread unrest in Sudan. And concrete actions against human rights violators in Sudan could also signal that regional powers should limit their support, which the TMC and RSF have enjoyed since ousting President Omar Al-Bashir. 

The FFC is currently a dominant force in Sudanese politics and has succeeded in mobilizing the Sudanese public behind its demands. To reap maximum benefits from the power-sharing agreement with the TMC, the FFC should not align itself with the TMC by providing any sort of legal protection or it risks losing support among Sudanese protestors and other FFC bodies. However, the FFC should not be assumed to be powerful enough to tackle these issues alone. To ensure a smooth democratic transition, the United States and members of the international community must help Sudan exert pressure on the TMC and RSF. A mishandling of this opportunity could result in widespread atrocities, a resurgence of Islamist groups, and a massive flow of refugees in to the surrounding countries. It is important to approach this situation with caution, as a failed democratic transition could bring continued atrocities as Sudan faces a critical juncture in its history.

Customize your RSS Feed