أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

السودان: تحديات وفرص الانتقال


متاح أيضاً في English

1 حزيران/يونيو 2020

في العام الماضي، انتصرت سلمية الشعب السوداني علي ثلاثين عاما من الظلم، وصٌك الشعار الأشهر للثورة بما يعكس توق الشعب ورغبته في تحقق معاني المفردات الثلاث؛ حرية، سلام، عدالة، وأفرزت العملية التفاوضية بنية سياسية ذات فروع سيادية وتشريعية وتنفيذية مكلفة بتحويل هذه الأحلام والمفردات إلى حقيقة.

وتم الاتفاق على أن تتكون السلطة التنفيذية من أصحاب الكفاءات غير الحزبية بغرض تحقيق أكبر قدر من التوافق وإبعادها عن التجاذب الحزبي. وعليه شُكلت الحكومة في سبتمبر من العام ٢٠١٩ برئاسة الدكتور عبد الله حمدوك وهو خبير اقتصادي تتوفر له خبرات في مجالات متعددة منها إصلاح القطاع العام والحوكمة وبناء السلام وسجل وظيفي مميز يتضمن منظمة العمل الدولية واللجنة الاقتصادية لإفريقيا.

ومع ذلك، واجه حمدوك وحكومته والسودان نفسه عددًا من التحديات على مدى الأشهر التسعة الماضية، أدت إلى اختبار الهيكل الحكومي، وطرحت سؤالا عما إذا كان باستطاعة السودان أن يحقق استقرارا اقتصاديا في ظل الأزمة الاقتصادية العالمية. وفي حين تمتلك الحكومة سلسلة من الخيارات عندما يتعلق الأمر بالإصلاحات المحلية، فإن تيسير إعادة السودان إلى خارطة الاقتصاد العالمي وإعطاء دفعة قوية للاقتصاد عن طريق رفع العقوبات مع تأمين معيار سياسي وأمني يفضي إلى التنمية، يمثل ضرورة قصوى لنجاح الإصلاحات الأخرى.

 السياسة المتصدعة وأسئلة الاقتصاد الشائكة

علي الرغم من أن البعض  يري أن الدافع الأساسي للثورة هو وعي الجماهير ورغبتها في تحقيق ذاتها وحفظ كرامتها الإنسانية، غير أن  الواقع يشير إلي أن تدهور الأوضاع الاقتصادية في أواخر سنوات الرئيس المخلوع وانعكاساتها قد شكل الدافع الرئيسي  لشريحة كبيرة من الشعب  للانخراط في الثورة       ضد النظام القديم . فعقب تشكيلها، ورثت الحكومة الانتقالية العبء الاقتصادي مع خزائن خاوية وموارد مبددة. وعلى الرغم من المساعدات السخية التي حصل عليها للمجلس العسكري من عدة دول   لها أجندتها الخاصة، فإن هذا الدعم قد أخذ في التناقص بشكل كبير عقب تشكيل الحكومة، وهو أمر يتم تفسيره بمحاولة  تدجين الحكومة الانتقالية وخلق نظام يتوافق مع أجندة هذه الدول .

إحدى أشكال المعضلة الاقتصادية للحكومة ووزارة ماليتها هي كيفية التوفيق بين استخدام الموارد المحدودة لتوفير الاحتياجات اليومية من الخبز والوقود والدواء وغيرها وبين استخدامها لتعزيز بنية الاقتصاد وتوسيع قاعدته الإنتاجية بما يضع السودان على أولى عتبات سلم التنمية في المديين المتوسط والطويل.

 وقد أثارت هذه المعضلة الخلاف بين بعض التيارات التي تمثل الحاضنة السياسية للحكومة الانتقالية (لجنة الخبراء بقوي الحرية والتغيير) ووزير المالية الذي تتمثل رؤيته للحل في إعادة هيكلة الإنفاق العام   وأولوية إصلاح الدعم السلعي الشامل، الذي يعتبر عبء يستنزف الموارد ويحد من قدرة الحكومة على إعادة توجيها. إلا أن الحديث عن إصلاح الدعم يثير حفيظة بعض مكونات الحاضنة السياسية إذ ترفضه بعض تياراتها من منطلقات أيديولوجية، حيث  تري أن إصلاح الدعم جزء من سياسات صندوق النقد الدولي لإفقار الدولة النامية فيما ترفضه تيارات أخري بحجة عدم  ملائمة التوقيت وان هنالك إجراءات ضرورية ولازمة يجب وضعها  لتخفيف الأثار السالبة علي الطبقات الضعيفة قبل الشروع في إصلاح  الدعم .

وفي إطار التشاور قدمت لجنة الخبراء بقوي الحرية والتغيير مقترحات تري أنها ستعالج الأشكال الاقتصادي دون الحاجة إلى إصلاح الدعم السلعي منها على سبيل المثال استعادة الأموال المنهوبة بالخارج وإعادة ولاية المالية على المال العام بالإضافة إلى سيطرة الحكومة على شركات القطاع العسكري بمكوناتهً المختلفة والتحكم في إنتاج وتصدير الذهب وغيرها، وهي مقترحات جيدة في مضمونها ً وان كان جزء منها يصعب تحقيقه خلال الفترة الانتقالية.

 بعيدا عن المعارضين لسياسية إعادة هيكلة الدعم،   فإنه من الصعوبة بمكان أن  تستطيع الحكومة الانتقالية أو أي حكومة قادمة توجيه الموارد نحو القطاعات الإنتاجية لتدعيم النمو و تحقيق التنمية دون مراجعة لسياسة الدعم السلعي الشامل، فسياسة الدعم المطبقة حاليا بالإضافة إلي عبئها المالي منحازة  لسكان المدن دون غيرهم، كما تسهم في إبقاء الفقراء في دائرة الفقر بالحد من قدرة الاقتصاد علي النمو ،بالإضافة إلي أن تمويل الإنفاق عليها يستنزف الموارد الطبيعة مما قد يؤدي إلى حرمان أو خفض نصيب الأجيال المستقبلية فهي سياسة تحابي الحاضر علي المستقبل.

تلقى المفاوضات المعقدة حول القضايا الاقتصادية الرئيسية أيضا بظلالها على أداء الحكومة الانتقالية. ويتكون الفاعلون الرئيسيون من قوي الحرية والتغيير وهي تحالف عريض يضم قوي نداء السودان، قوي الإجماع الوطني وكليهما يتكون من تحالف عدة أحزاب، بالإضافة إلى تجمع المهنيين السودانيين ومجموعات مدنية أخرى.

وبجانب قوي الحرية والتغيير هنالك حركات الكفاح المسلح التي تضم الجبهة الثورية والحركة الشعبية لتحرير السودان (شمال) جناح عبد العزيز الحلو وجناح مالك عقار، وهنالك أيضا حركة تحرير السودان بقيادة عبد الواحد محمد نور وهي غير مشاركة في محادثات السلام المنعقدة بجوبا عاصمة دولة جنوب السودان. القوي السياسة أعلاه تصنف كداعمة للحكومة الانتقالية إلا أن التباين الشاسع بين مكوناتها يحد من فعاليتها.

لا تؤيد جميع الأحزاب الحكومة الانتقالية؛ حيث تتواجد في الساحة السياسية أيضا بعض التنظيمات الإسلامية المتحالفة مع بقايا حزب المؤتمر الوطني المحلول وهي ترى الحكومة الانتقالية كحكومة يسار وتسعي لإسقاطها من خلال الاحتجاجات وافتعال الأزمات المختلفة. ولكن تظل لجان المقاومة وهي لجان شبابية غير حزبية كانت عماد الثورة وهي الفاعل الأكثر تأثيرا بما لها من قدرات على العمل السياسي الاحتجاجي المباشر

وإلى جانب الأحزاب المدنية، يحتوي المكون العسكري السوداني على بعض التصدعات داخله، حيث أن هناك فاعل أخر يتمثل في المكون العسكري بشقيه القوات المسلحة وقوات الدعم السريع، ولكليهما مطامع في السلطة ويبدو هنالك تنافس خفي بينها، وان كان المناخ السياسي بعد الثورة لن يتقبل أي انقلاب أو حكم عسكري مع ذلك يظل المكون العسكري يمثل التهديد الأكبر للفترة الانتقالية وللعملية الديمقراطية. وان كانت تصدعات المكون المدنى تفهم في إطار التنافس السياسي فان التصدع والمواجهة بين أطراف المكون العسكري مخاطرة يتمنى الجميع عدم حدوثها.

أدت هذه الصراعات السياسية على السلطة، إلى جانب عدم الاتفاق على كيفية إدارة الاقتصاد، إلى حالة من الشلل والركود في أداء المالية العامة فضلا عن أداء المؤسسات الاقتصادية الأخرى. وبالتالي، فإن تحسن الأداء المالي من جانب الحكومة الانتقالية لا يزال رهينة اختلاف الآراء بشأن أولويات الإصلاح وأساليب إدارة الاقتصاد.

العقوبات الدولية وتحديات التحرير الاقتصادي

تمثل إعادة السودان إلى خارطة الاقتصاد العالمي ضرورة ملحة، إذ انه بلا تدفقات أجنبية في شكل استثمارات ومساعدات تنموية وتحويلات عاملين وبدون علاقات وانفتاح على الأسواق العالمية، يصبح من الصعب توقع تحقيق نهضة اقتصادية في ظل اقتصاد مغلق ومحاصر.

ولسنوات طويلة مثلت العقوبات الأمريكية إحدى اهم أسباب تدهور الأداء الاقتصادي، إلا أن أكثرها إيلاما هو الحصار الاقتصادي في العام ١٩٩٧ الذي عزل السودان عن منظومة الاقتصاد العالمي ومؤسساته المالية فأصبح من غير الممكن استخدام الشبكات المصرفية للقيام بالتحويلات للعاملين بالخارج أو التحويلات المتعلقة بالتجارة الخارجية من صادر ووارد وغيرها، كذلك حد الحصار من إمكانية الحصول علي قطع الغيار اللازمة للسكك الحديدية والطائرات، كما قلل من فرص البعثات التعليمية وعطل نقل المعرفة والاستفادة من التقنيات الحديثة.

وفى هذا الصدد، بذلت الحكومة الانتقالية منذ تشكيلها العديد من الجهود لمعالجة ملف العقوبات مع الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، ونتج عن الزيارات والاتصالات المتبادلة بين الطرفين الاتفاق على ترفيع مستوي التمثيل الدبلوماسي إلى درجة السفير.

  وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تم رفع العقوبات المفروضة على عدد من الشركات السودانية الخاصة في نيسان/أبريل الماضي. كما وأنه وفي إطار معالجة القضايا القانونية ضد السودان بالمحاكم الأمريكية تم دفع تسوية لأسر ضحايا المدمرة كول برغم ضيق ذات يد الحكومة الانتقالية. والآن، يعمل البلدان على تسوية المطالبات المعلقة على الحكومة السودانية، لكن العملية لم تكتمل بعد.

إزالة اسم السودان من قائمة الدول الراعية للإرهاب يمثل تحدي حقيقي وذو تأثير مباشر علي نجاح أو فشل الحكومة الانتقالية، فوجود السودان ضمن القائمة يحد من قدرته الاقتصادية في الحصول على الموارد اللازمة - على وجه الخصوص المساعدات المقدمة من مؤسسات التمويل الدولية، كما وانه يدفع المصارف العالمية إلى عدم إكمال المعاملات المصرفية التي يكون السودان أحد أطرافها.

إن حرمان السودان من المساعدات التنموية والقروض الميسرة وإحجام المصارف العالمية عن التعامل معه يجعل الحكومة الانتقالية رهينة وخاضعة لمساعدات دول لها أجندة سياسية مثل الأمارات العربية المتحدة والمملكة العربية السعودية. والتي يعتقد على نطاق واسع داخل السودان، أنها ضد أي انتقال حقيقي يغير موازين القوي وينتج دولة ديمقراطية.

رغم الجهود الحثيثة ودعوة الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة أنطونيو غواتريس لإزالة السودان من قائمة الدول الراعية للإرهاب ودعم تجربة الانتقال في السودان، فإن التقدم مازال بطيئا الأمر الذي ولد شعورا لدي تيار عريض من السودانيين بان الإدارة الأمريكية لا ترغب في دعم عملية الانتقال الديمقراطي بالسودان، وبالتالي في حال فشل تجربة الانتقال سيكون للولايات المتحدة النصيب الأكبر من اللوم بلا شك.

حل النزاعات وتكلفة بناء السلام

 تشكل جروح السودان العميقة الناجمة عن عقود من الصراع تحدياً هائلاً للحكومة الجديدة. فبعد انفصال جنوب السودان، ظلت أقاليم دارفور وجبال النوبة والنيل الأزرق تعاني من ويلات الحرب وآلام النزوح وعدم الاستقرار. تحقيق السلام هو أحد أهم أهداف الثورة وما يجعل السلام أولوية قصوى هو عدم إمكانية تحقيق استقرار اقتصادي واستدامة تنموية في ظل وجود مناطق حروب ونزاعات نشطة، فالحرب تهزم الموازنة العامة وتعظم سلطات العسكر.

وكما أن للحرب كلفة فإن للسلام متطلبات أيضا، ففي الشق الاقتصادي هنالك حاجة لتوفير موارد ضخمة لمعالجة قضايا التعويضات وإعادة التوطين وإعادة الدمج والتسريح بالإضافة إلى تقديم الخدمات الأساسية. توفير هذه الموارد تحدي لن يكن بمقدور الحكومة الانتقالية التعامل معه، ولذا فإن خطاب رئيس الوزراء الخاص بطلب تشكيل بعثة أممية تحت الفصل السادس قد يمثل إحدى السبل لتوفير الموارد اللازمة لتحقيق السلام. ويمثل هذا النوع من الجهود الدولية لبناء السلام إحدى الطرق لتوفير الموارد اللازمة لتحقيق السلام.

إن وجود قيادة ذات رؤى وتحقيق الإدماج في الاقتصاد العالمي، وتحقق السلام غير كافية لوضع الاقتصاد على مسار الاستدامة. إذ لابد من توفر المؤسسات ذات الكفاءة والمقدرات الفنية والبشرية العالية. والأمر الذي لا شك فيه أن ثلاثون عاما من الحكم الديكتاتوري أوجدت مؤسسات بالية ذات كفاءة متدنية بفعل التمكين السياسي والعشائري، ترافق معها فساد مستشري وبيئة قانونية غير فاعلة. إن ضعف المؤسسات (قوانين ومنظومات) يحد من فعالية تنفيذ برامج الحكومة الانتقالية ويستدعي الشروع في الإصلاح المؤسسي بالتوازي مع الإصلاحات الاقتصادية.

هشاشة البني السياسية بأحزابها المشاكسة، وحركاتها المسلحة ومكونها العسكري تتطلب ولنجاح تجربة الانتقال المدني أن تتوفر لقادة التغيير مهارات تفاوضية ومقدرات على المناورة وربما رقابة دولية أو إقليمية مع إيجاد آليات لتبادل الآراء ووجهات النظر مع أطراف الخارطة السياسية والاتفاق على تقديم الأجندة الوطنية على ما سواها. تجارب الانتقال من نظام ديكتاتوري إلى نظام ديمقراطي تتضمن سلسلة من الصعود والهبوط، الكثير النجاحات والإخفاقات فالمسار ليس خطيا ونجاح الانتقال يعتمد على إدراك قادة التغيير للتحديات الجمة التي تكتنف مساره واستعدادهم للعمل معا لتجاوزها. كما يجب على المجتمع الدولي أن يعترف بهذه الجهود، وأن يبذل قصارى جهده لضمان نجاح السودان الجديد. فبوعي القيادة وهمة الشباب الثائر وبدعم الأصدقاء والقليل من الحظ قد نشهد نجاح تجربة الانتقال وتخلق سودان مختلف.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Sudan’s Transition: Challenges and Opportunities


Also available in العربية

June 1, 2020

Last year, the nonviolent protests of the Sudanese people triumphed over thirty years of oppression, as reflected in the Revolution’s best-known slogan: “Freedom, peace, and justice.” These three words represent the Sudanese people’s yearning to bring these ideals to their country; pressure has led to a negotiation process culminating in a transitional political structure with sovereign, legislative, and executive branches tasked with turning these dreams into reality.

It was agreed that the executive branch would consist of qualified, nonpartisan officials in order to achieve the highest degree of consensus and protect it from partisan tensions. The transitional government was thus formed in September 2019 with Dr. Abdalla Hamdok as prime minister, an economist with experience in numerous fields including public sector reform, governance, and peace-building. His distinguished employment history includes the International Labour Organization and the Economic Commission for Africa.  

Yet Dr. Hamdok, his government, and Sudan itself has faced a number of challenges over the past nine months, testing the governmental structure and raising the question of whether Sudan can stabilize its own economy during a global economic crisis. While the government has a series of options when it comes to domestic reforms, facilitating Sudan’s reintegration into the global economy through the removal of sanctions while securing a political and security standard conducive to development is paramount towards the success of other reforms.  

Fractured Politics and the Thorny Economic Question

Some consider the primary driver of the Revolution to have been public awareness, desire for self-realization, and the need to preserve their human dignity. Yet Sudan’s deteriorating economic conditions, which became particularly severe during the final years of the now-ousted president, served as the primary driver for a large segment of the Sudanese people when protesting the old regime. The transitional government has now inherited the economic burden of its predecessor, along with empty coffers and squandered resources that have left it scant room to maneuver. Though the Transitional Military Council initially received generous assistance from several countries—presumably motivated by political agendas—this assistance began to dwindle significantly once the government was formed. Many Sudanese have interpreted these aid offers as a failed attempt to tame the transitional government and create a regime to suit these countries’ agendas.

Now, the transitional government faces tough choices on which of Sudan’s many economic challenges it should first address. Among the variety of economic dilemmas faced by the government and its Ministry of Finance is how to balance its limited resources: should they be allocated towards meeting people’s daily needs such as bread, fuel, and medicine, or towards strengthening the economic infrastructure in order to put Sudan on the first rungs of the ladder of development in the medium to long term?

This dilemma has put some of the groups representing the transitional government’s political allies—the committee of experts from the civilian coalition Forces of Freedom and Change—at odds with the Finance Minister, whose vision for a solution involves restructuring public expenditures and prioritizing the reform of universal commodity subsidies, which the Minister sees as a burden draining resources and limiting the government’s ability to redirect them. But talk of subsidy reform provokes the ire of some elements from within the political incubator, where several factions oppose such a move on ideological grounds. These groups see subsidy reform as an IMF policy aimed at impoverishing developing nations. Others oppose subsidy reform as an untimely move at present, arguing that crucial steps should first be taken to mitigate the adverse effects it would have on the already vulnerable strata of Sudan’s population.

Within the context of consensus-building, the committee of experts from Forces of Freedom and Change—the political incubatorhave put forward recommendations to address the economic problems without the need for commodity subsidy reform. These included the recovery of siphoned funds abroad, the restoration of the Ministry of Finance’s jurisdiction over public funds, government control of companies in the military sector, and control of the production and export of gold and other commodities. These recommendations are good in substance, though some would be difficult to achieve during the transitional period.

Yet even taking this opposition to subsidy reform into consideration, it will be difficult for the transitional government, or for that matter any that follows it, to channel resources towards the productive sectors to foster growth or achieve development without reviewing Sudan’s current policy of universal commodity subsidies. The policy has numerous drawbacks; a fiscal burden, it is also biased towards some Sudanese over others, favoring urban populations. Moreover, if the focus does not shift towards growing the Sudanese economy, Sudan’s poor will remain trapped in a cycle of poverty that subsidies can soften but never break. Meanwhile, subsides deplete natural resources, which could deprive future generations or reduce the share that is left for them.

These complicated discussions on a key economic issue also highlight how the current complexities of Sudan’s political context cast a shadow on the performance of the transitional government. The Forces of Freedom and Change represent a broad alliance of interest, containing the Sudan Call movement and the National Consensus Forces—themselves multiparty coalitions—in addition to the Sudanese Professionals Association and other civilian groups.

Alongside Forces of Freedom and Change are movements of armed struggle including the Sudan Revolutionary Front and the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement—North—with the latter containing factions led by Abdelaziz al-Hilu and by Malik Agar. There is also the Sudan Liberation Movement led by Abdul Wahid Mohamed el-Nur, which is not participating in the peace talks currently being held in Juba, the capital of South Sudan. The aforementioned political forces are classified as supportive of the transitional government, although the wide variation between their constituent parts limits their effectiveness and, as discussed above, there is a lack of consensus on the appropriate policies for a number of key issues.

Not all parties support the transitional government; Sudan’s political landscape also features some Islamist organizations allied with the remnants of former dictator al-Bashir’s dissolved National Congress Party. These organizations consider the transitional government as leftist and seek to to bring it down through protests and fomenting various crises. Resistance committees, the nonpartisan youth committees which were a pillar of the Revolution, remain the most influential actor, with their capacity for carrying out direct action through political protests.

Aside from civilian parties, Sudan’s military component contains its own fractures. Its two factions—the Sudanese Armed Forces and the Rapid Support Forces—both have ambitions to gain more power and appear to be competing with one another surreptitiously. While Sudan’s post-revolution political environment will not tolerate a coup or the return of military rule, the military component nonetheless represents the greatest threat to the transitional period and to the democratic process. Yet, if the fracture between the civil components is understood in the context of political competition, the rift and confrontation between military components is a significant risk that no one wish to occur.

These political player disputes, combined with a lack of agreement on how to manage the economy, have led to paralysis and sluggishness in the performance of public finance management as well as that of other economic institutions. Thus, improved financial performance on the part of the transitional government continues to be impaired by the lack of consensus on reform priorities and methods for managing the economy.

Economic Sanctions and The Challenges of Economic Liberalization

Apart from its domestic economic woes, Sudan urgently needs to be reintegrated into the global economy. Indeed, without foreign cash inflows in the form of investments, developmental aid, and workers’ remittances, and without access to closer bilateral relations and international markets, it is difficult to expect an economic rebirth for Sudan’s closed, blockaded economy.

For many years, U.S. sanctions have represented one of the primary reasons behind the country’s deteriorating economic performance. The most painful among them was the economic sanction issued in 1997, which isolated Sudan from the global economic system and its financial institutions. It became impossible to use banking networks for sending workers’ remittances or money transfers related to foreign trade of imports and exports. Thus, the sanctions limited access to spare parts needed for railroad tracks and planes, reduced education exchanges opportunities, disrupted the transfer of knowledge, and hampered the ability for Sudanese to benefit from modern technologies.

The transitional government has undertaken numerous efforts to address the sanctions issue with the United States, including mutual visits and phone calls between the two sides. These efforts have borne some fruits: they have resulted in an agreement to upgrade diplomatic representation to the ambassadorial level. In addition, the sanctions were lifted on a number of private Sudanese companies in April. To address the legal cases against Sudan in U.S. courts, settlements have been paid to families of the victims of the destroyer USS Cole despite transitional government’s lack of funds. Now, the two countries are working towards a settlement of outstanding claims on the Sudanese government, but the process is far from completion.

However, the ultimate goal of removing Sudan from the State Sponsors of Terrorism list remains a significant challenge, one that will have a direct impact on the success or failure of the transitional government. Sudan’s presence on the list limits its economic capacity to receive much-needed resources, particularly aid offered by international financial institutions. The situation also deters global banks from completing financial transactions to which Sudan is a party.

The denial of access to development assistance and concessional loans, along with global banks’ reluctance to deal with Sudan, holds the transitional government hostage and leaves it subject to assistance from countries with political agendas for Sudan, such as the UAE and Saudi Arabia. In the long term, it is believed that such countries oppose any meaningful transition that would alter the balance of power within Sudan and produce a democratic state.

Despite vigorous efforts and an appeal from the UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres to remove Sudan from the State Sponsors of Terrorism list and to support Sudan’s attempted transition, progress remains slow. This has led a broad segment of the Sudanese people to feel that the U.S. administration has no real desire to support the democratic transition in Sudan. Consequently, if the transition fails, Sudanese will no doubt see the United States as bearing the largest share of the blame.

Conflict Resolution and the Cost of Peace Building

Sudan’s deep wounds from decades of conflict also pose a formidable challenge to the new government. Since the secession of South Sudan, the regions of Darfur, Nuba Mountains and Blue Nile have continued to suffer from the scourge of war and the pain of displacement and instability. Achieving peace is among the most important goals of the Revolution; any efforts to achieve economic stability and developmental sustainability must rest on a groundwork of peace. As such, it is imperative to engage parts of the country that still have active war zone and conflict in peace building efforts. Sudan’s history has proved that in war, the public budget and the people are losers while military generals are victorious.

Just as war is expensive, peace also has its requirements: on the economic side, substantial resources must be made available to address the issues of reparations, resettlement, demobilization, and reintegration, in addition to the delivery of basic services. Provision of resources is a challenge that the transitional government will be unable to handle on its own. The Prime Minister recognized this in his recent speech, where he called for the formation of a UN mission under Chapter VI mandate to address these issues. This type of international peace-building efforts represents one way to make available the necessary resources for achieving peace.

Vision, peace-building, and successful integration into the global economy are all necessary steps for Sudan. Even so, all these elements will still not be enough to put the economy on a sustainable path. These efforts must be accompanied by efficient institutions with high levels of both human and technological capacity. There can be no doubt that thirty years of dictatorial rule have shaped outmoded institutions in Sudan with a low level of efficiency specially when it comes to political and tribal empowerment, not to mention widespread corruption and an ineffective legal environment. Weak legal and governmental institutions curb the effective implementation of transitional government programs and therefore warrant institutional reform in conjunction with economic reforms.

Since the civilian transition takes place in a landscape of fractious political parties with volatile political structures, not even factoring in the country’s armed movements and military component, its success will require leaders to have negotiating skills, a capacity for maneuverability, and perhaps regional or international oversight. Mechanisms must also be established so that those across the political arena can exchange opinions and perspectives and agree upon promoting the national agenda. Attempts to transition from a dictatorship to a democratic system go through a series of ups and downs, successes and failures; it is not a linear path. In order for the transition to succeed, those leading the change must recognize the formidable challenges that obstruct the way, and be prepared to work together to overcome them. The international community must recognize these efforts, and do everything it can to ensure that the new Sudan is set up to succeed. With the leadership’s alertness, the youth’s rebellious passion, the support of friends, and a little of luck, we may see the success of the attempted transition and the birth of a different Sudan.

Customize your RSS Feed