أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

على المفكرين المسلمين معالجة إشكالية العقيدة الدينية المستجدة بشأن «اليهود»: التمييز بين أهل الكتاب (الجزء الاول)


متاح أيضاً في English

6 أيلول/سبتمبر 2019

شهد الفكر الإسلامي تطوراً مقلقاً على مدى القرن الماضي، إذ تشكلت عقيدة دينية جديدة بشأن «اليهود»، سواء جاء ذلك من خلال البحث العلمي المبني على تفسير النصوص وتأصيل القناعات العقدية، أو من خلال الطروحات الموجهة للعامة. وهذه العقيدة الدينية المستجدة تؤكد على استتباب الشر في «اليهود» في كامل ماضيهم وحاضرهم. فاليهود، ككم أحادي، وفق هذه العقيدة التي تزداد اتساعاً وتشدداً، ليسوا خصوماً سياسيين أو مخالفين دينيين وحسب، بل هم العدو الأول والأساس والذي يرسم التصدي له معالم التاريخ ويأتي مصدّقاً لأخبار الملاحم والفتن.

وفي حين أن عالم الفكر الإسلامي واسع، ومشتمل على توجهات مختلفة، وجامع لرؤى وتصورات متعارضة في أحيان عدة في المواضيع التي يستوعبها، فإن وجه الإشكالية في العقيدة الدينية المستجدة بشأن اليهود هو أنها تكاد ألا تواجه بأية معارضة. بل أن التصوير والتقييم لليهود في الفكر الإسلامي سلبي بالإجماع. وإذا كان ثمة تنبيه حول ضرورة تجنب الإفراط، كما لدى القلة من المفكرين الذين يرفضون صحة «بروتوكولات حكماء صهيون»، فإن شكل الاعتراض الغالب هو أن المبالغات تشتت التركيز على ما يستحق النقد فعلاً. ومع ندرة المحاولات لاعتبار التعدد والاختلاف في التاريخ اليهودي والمجتمعات اليهودية، سار التوجه التسطيحي باتجاه تعميق العداء، متبنياً لذلك الطروحات الغربية بـ «معاداة السامية»، ومعتمداً على العداء للصهيونية كأرضية ومدخل إلى المزيد.

وقد تعمد بعض الأوساط الفكرية المتقدمة في المحيط العربي أحياناً إلى التمييز بين «الصهيوني» و «الإسرائيلي» و «اليهودي»، فيأتي التأكيد على أن العداء ليس مع اليهود كمجموعة دينية، وأن التسوية الهادفة إلى السلام يجب أن تتحقق في نهاية المطاف مع الإسرائيليين، فالعدو وحسب هم الصهاينة أصحاب العقيدة التوسعية التي تنكر الحقوق الوطنية للفلسطينيين وتنضح بالقناعات العنصرية، فيما هي تدين من يتوجه بأي نقد للسياسات الإسرائيلية أو للصهيونية نفسها بـ «معاداة السامية».

ولكن حين تدرج هذه المواقف في السياق الواسع من الشيطنة العميقة التي تطال اليهود في الإطار الفكري العربي، فإنها تبدو وكأنها إما متعامية بالأمنيات أو مفتقدة للنزاهة الفكرية. ذلك أن الكلام الطاعن باليهود والمسقط لهم هو الرائج والمستقر في الخطاب الفكري والسياسي والشعبي في الإطار العربي، وقلّ أن يجري التمييز بين «اليهودي» و «الإسرائيلي» و «الصهيوني». وإن حدث التمييز فإنه يأتي استدراكياً أو اعتذارياً، وحالات التمييز القليلة لا تعبّر البتة عن المساواة الثابتة بين الصفات الثلاث في معظم الخطاب والمادة المكتوبة. بل حتى الحالات التي تظهر فيها رغبة بالاصطفاف مع إسرائيل بمواجهة إيران مثلاً، يشوبها في الكثير من الأحيان كلام يفيد بالقبول بمقولة سيطرة «اليهود» على مراكز القوة وفائدة استثمار العلاقة معهم. فكما هو الحال في السياق الغربي، فإنه ثمة خيط رفيع بين مشاعر الذم باليهود والمواقف المادحة لهم.

الجلي هو أن الخطاب المعادي لليهود في السياق العربي يتغذّى من العقيدة الدينية المستجدة بشأنهم، كما يساهم في تغذيتها. وأي سعي جدي إلى تسوية منصفة للصراع في الشرق الأوسط سوف يواجه العراقيل، إن لم يفشل بالكامل، دون الجهد الصادق من المفكرين المسلمين لمعالجة هذه العقيدة الدينية النامية بشأن اليهود، والسعي إلى تفكيكها.

ليس في الأمر هنا دعوة إلى الإصلاح الديني، أو إلى محاكاة ما أقدمت عليه الكنيسة الكاثوليكية في مجمع الڤاتيكان الثاني في ستينات القرن الماضي، إذ أعادت النظر بكافة المواقف العقدية السابقة إزاء الأديان الأخرى. كل ما في الأمر هو اقتراح مواجهة مجموعة من التطورات المستجدة في العقيدة الدينية الإسلامية، والتي من شأنها، ما لم يتم اعتراضها، إن تتسبب بالضرر الدائم للصرح العقائدي الإسلامي، والذي تمّ تشييده على مدى أكثر من ألف عام، فيما هي تدفع به للتماهي مع الهامش الفكري الغربي في القائم على «معاداة السامية».

ذلك أن العقيدة الدينية الإسلامية المستجدة المسقطة لليهود قائمة على مقومات لم تكن معتمدة لدى علماء الدين في المراحل السابقة. أول هذه المقومات التخلي عن عدم التمييز في المواقف إزاء أهل الكتاب. وثانيها رفع الاعتبار لأخبار وأحاديث من صدر الإسلام، وإضفاء أهمية عليها لم تكن لها في ما مضى. وثالثها الربط بين مضمون القصص الديني والتسلسل التاريخي المفترض للخروج بصيغة مختزلة للتاريخ لليهود فيها دور سلبي متواصل. يتطرق هذا المقال إلى المقوم الأول،

الحضور اليهودي بارز في النصوص التأسيسية في صدر الإسلام، سواء في الإشارات إلى «بني إسرائيل» أو إلى «يهود» يثرب وسائر الحجاز. وفي حين أن النص القرآني يشير إلى رسول الإسلام على أنه «النبي الأمي» (أي نبي المبعوث من الأمم أو إلى الأمم)، فإنه يدرجه عند نهاية سلسلة أنبياء بني إسرائيل ورسلهم، مع الإفادة بأن هؤلاء المبعوثين جميعاً كانوا دعاة للإسلام، باعتباره دين الله الحق الواحد. على أن الرسول الذي يذكره النص القرآني أكثر عدد من المرات هو موسى، لا محمد. وتتكرر في السور القرآنية الإشارة إلى بني إسرائيل، على الغالب كنماذج للمعاندين للرسل والمخالفين لأمر الله، وكذلك الإشارة إلى المجادلات مع اليهود المعاصرين للرسالة المحمدية في يثرب، المدينة التي وفق السيرة جاءها الرسول حكماً قبل أن يتولى الأمر فيها. وصلب هذه المجادلات مع يهود يثرب هو اتهامهم بإخفاء ذكر محمد في نصوصهم وجحودهم الإقرار برسالته.

والتثليب إزاء اليهود كجماعة هو الطابع العام ضمن النص القرآني في كلتا المرحلتين، فيما يحظى المسيحيون («النصارى») في القرآن على بعض الثناء. ولكن بالمقابل، فإن نصوص المجادلات ومؤلفات الكلام والملل والنحل في المراحل التالية تفيد عن مسافة عقدية أقل بين الإسلام واليهودية، منها بين الإسلام والمسيحية. فعقيدة التثليث المسيحية، والتي صنّفها العلماء المسلمون انطلاقاً من النص القرآني على أنها شركية، أسست لمقولة المسيحيين «الضالين». أما اليهود، ورغم الإشارة المتشابهة إلى انتقاص لديهم في التوحيد من خلال نسبة مقولة «عزرا ابن الله» إليهم، فإن غالب النقد الذي وُجّه إليهم هو لعنادهم إزاء رسول الإسلام، فهم «المغضوب عليهم»، لرفضهم الرسول، لا لخطأ في عقيدتهم الإلهية، كما هو حال المسيحيين.

ومن النتائج العرضية لهذا التباين العقدي، والظاهرة إلى اليوم ولا سيما لدى المسلمين في الدول الغربية، أن أكل ذبائح اليهود حلال للمسلمين (لملاحظة أن ما حرّم عليهم يتجاوز شروط الحلال الإسلامي).

ولكن فيما يتعدى الجوانب الهامشية، فإن الرصيد الديني الإسلامي في مجمله يعتمد عدم التمييز بين أهل الكتاب، من يهود ومسيحيين وغيرهم، في التعامل معهم وفي إدخالهم في ذمة المسلمين، مع ما تقتضيه الذمة من شروط الصغور. فاليهود والمسيحيون، ومعهم بعض الملل الأخرى، قد نالوا قدراً متساوياً من الإتاحة ومقادير متماثلة من القيود على مدى التاريخ الإسلامي قبل المرحلة الحديثة.

غير أن القرن الماضي قد شهد تخلياً عملياً عن قاعدة عدم التمييز. ولا شك أن ظهور الصهيونية، كحركة قومية هادفة إلى إقامة وطن لليهود في فلسطين، قد ساهم ببروز التمييز ومضاعفته، في المواقف إزاء اليهود والمسيحيين ضمن الفكر الإسلامي، غير أن بوادر هذا التمييز سابقة للخلاف حول فلسطين، ويمكن استشفافها ضمن الأدبيات الشعبوية لدى مؤلفين من المسلمين والمسيحيين.

فمع انتشار القناعة الحداثية بتراجع أولوية الدين، استعار الفكر القومي العربي مفهوم «الأمة» من المصطلح الإسلامي، مع إعادة صياغة مضمونه، لتنتقل الجماعة من شرطها الديني الإسلامي والذي يضم العرب والأتراك وغيرهم، إلى شرط قومي عربي جديد يجمع المسلمين والمسيحيين وغيرهم. على أن الصيغة الجديدة شهدت ممانعة وفشلاً في آن واحد إزاء ضم يهود البلاد العربية إليها، كأحد مقومات «... وغيرهم» ضمن التعريف الجديد.

ومع تصاعد الحضور اليهودي في فلسطين، ازدادت حدة التمييز. أنطون سعادة مؤسس الحزب السوري القومي الاجتماعي ومؤلف كتاب «الإسلام في رسالتيه»، وهو محاولة لإعادة تصور لتاريخ الشرق الأوسط تجعل من كل من المسيحية والإسلام تعبيراً عن البنية الذهنية الإبداعية للمنطقة، تقدّم بمقولة «ليس لنا من عدو يقاتلنا في ديننا وحقنا ووطننا إلا اليهود».

سعادة مفكر علماني من خلفية مسيحية، ومقولته هذه جاءت انعكاساً لمحيطه الفكري بقدر ما كانت عنصر صياغة لهذا المحيط، باتجاه تأصيل العداء لليهود. وسرعان ما أمسى مضمون هذه المقولة أساس الخطاب، مع انشغال جمهرة من الكتّاب المسلمين بتوثيق خبث اليهود وفضح مكائدهم تجاه الإسلام، وبالدعوة إلى تعزيز العداء الإسلامي لهم. والفوج الأول من هذه المؤلفات لم تسعَ إلى التفريق بين اليهود والصهاينة (أو الإسرائيليين فيما بعد)، بل استعملت هذه النعوت للطعن دون تحفّظ، مما استدعى ابتكار مصطلح جديد («موسوي» نسبة إلى النبي موسى) للإشارة دون تجريح إلى اليهود المحليين.

ونال التخلي الطارئ عن عدم التمييز بين أهل الكتاب مساندة عقدية من خلال الاستدعاء المتكرر لآية قرآنية من سورة المائدة تطعن باليهود وتثني على المسيحيين، فتحقق فائدة مزدوجة إذ تساهم بتشديد العداوة مع اليهود في حين أنها تدعم طرح التعاضد الإسلامي المسيحي (بل هي تلمّح كذلك إلى تفريق بين المسيحية والشرك)، بما يتناسب مع الخطاب القومي العروبي. نصّ الآية ٨٢ من سورة المائدة: «لَتَجِدَنَّ أَشَدَّ النَّاسِ عَدَاوَةً لِّلَّذِينَ آمَنُوا الْيَهُودَ وَالَّذِينَ أَشْرَكُوا ۖ وَلَتَجِدَنَّ أَقْرَبَهُم مَّوَدَّةً لِّلَّذِينَ آمَنُوا الَّذِينَ قَالُوا إِنَّا نَصَارَىٰ».

لم يوفر التخلي عن عدم التمييز في اعتبار أهل الكتاب السبيل الفقهي لرفع مقام المسيحيين، على أنه أتاح المجال بإسهاب لخفض موقع اليهود. وقد توالت الفتاوى في إقرارها مشروعية قتل اليهود المدنيين، في مراحل أولى على أساس المماثلة، ثم لمقتضيات جهاد الدفع، وصولاً إلى إطلاقه بالأصل. أما المواقف المعارضة لهذه التوجهات، والصادرة عن المراجع الدينية الرسمية فجاءت على الغالب متأخرة، وكادت أن تخلو من شمل اليهود ضمن مفهوم العصمة الأصلية للنفس البشرية.

ويمكن استشفاف استتباب التخلي عن عدم التمييز، في تسعينات القرن الماضي، من الاسم الذي اختاره أسامة بن لادن وصحبه للتحالف الإرهابي الذي أعلن عنه حينها، أي «الجبهة الإسلامية العالمية للجهاد ضد اليهود والصليبيين». فالعداء إزاء المسيحيين كان يومئذ لا يزال مقروناً بسلوكهم العدائي، أي حين يقدمون على أعمال «صليبية»، أما العداء إزاء اليهود، فهو قائم على أنهم يهود.

وقد جنحت المواقف القطعية إلى المزيد من التشدد على مدى العقود التالية، فالإشارات التالية إلى الآية ٨٢ من سورة «المائدة» تكاد في مجموعها أن تقتصر على الشطر الأول حول العداوة، باعتباره من العام الذي ينطبق على كل زمان ومكان، وتمتنع عن ذكر الشطر التالي حول المودة، على أنه من الخاص المتعلق بزمن الرسول وحسب. وعليه فإن الحكم على المسيحيين المعاصرين ينبني بالتالي ضمن الآية على عبارة «والذين أشركوا»، لتصبح الآية لدى الجهاديين المتشددين دعوة عامة لعداء اليهود والمسيحيين.

على أن الإفراط بالتشدد في هذه القراءة، كما التهميش المتعاظم للمسيحيين الناتج عن أسلمة الهوية الوطنية في أكثر من حالة، لا ينفي الاستمرار بالتفريق في الاعتبار بين المسيحيين واليهود، وذلك للحطّ الإضافي لليهود في الخطاب العام.

المفارقة هي أن هذه العقيدة الدينية المسجدة بشأن اليهود، بانهماكها المتواصل بقتال اليهود وإفنائهم، تبدو عازمة على ملء كل ناحية من نواحي العالم الإسلامي بمضمون «يهودي» وإن بالصيغة السلبية، فاليهودي هو عدو الله، واليهودي هو عامل الشر في التاريخ، واليهودي هو مصدر الخبث والمكر والخيانة

وبفائق الترحيب والسعادة، استقبل العديد من المفكرين المسلمين التراث الغربي بـ «معاداة السامية»، بقديمه وجديده، لاعتماده في جهودهم التي تستهدف اليهود. من مؤامرة السيطرة على العالم، إلى استبدال الأديان السماوية بعقيدة تراتبية «إسرائيلية نوحية»، مروراً بالمسؤولية عن استفحال كل من الشيوعية والرأسمالية، والثورة الفرنسية ثم البولشڤية، والأزمات الاقتصادية على مرّ العصور، وترويج المثلية الجنسية والتعددية الثقافية والانحلال الأخلاقي، كلها مقومات تدلّ على خبث اليهود وشرّهم، وتجد القبول والترحيب في بيئة ثقافية تعتمد «بروتوكولات حكماء صهيون» كدليل ثانٍ. الدليل الأول هو طبعاً «التلمود» وفق قراءة قائمة على ترجمة أهوائية لمقتطفات خارج السياق أو على مقاطع موضوعة دون أساس أو أصل في النص.

ليس هذا للأسف حال هامش شاطح عند أطراف الثقافة الشعبية والسياسية في العالم العربي. وحتى إذا لم يكن اعتماد هذا التصوير علنياً وصريحاً، فإن غياب الطرح البديل يتيح للعقيدة الدينية المستجدة بشأن اليهود فرصة الانتشار الواسع النطاق في عموم الثقافة العامة. النتيجة هي خراب للثقافة في الجانب العربي والإسلامي، ولكنه أيضاً تمكين للاندفاع القاتل والداعي إلى إبادة اليهود، وإن تمكنت إسرائيل نتيجة لإفراط في الاحتياط من تجنب معظم تداعياته.

والخطوات التدريجية الهادفة لإعادة الاعتبار الإنساني لليهود من منظور إسلامي قيّمة دون شك، كما الدعوة التي وجهها أمين عام رابطة العالم الإسلامي الشيخ محمد العيسى، أحد المقربين من ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان، إلى مجموعة من الناجين من المحرقة اليهودية في أوروبا، لزيارة في شهر كانون الثاني ٢٠٢٠. على أن مواقف القيادات والتي لا تجد سنداً في الإنتاج الفكري والعلمي قابلة للنقد التلقائي على أنها سياسية وحسب، كما أنها غير قادرة على دفع الثقافة العامة. في هذه الخطوات بالتالي مقدار من العزاء الرمزي، ولكنها لا ترتقي إلى مستوى الحوار الذي تعقد عليه الآمال.

و «المسألة اليهودية» في العالم العربي اليوم مختلفة تماماً عن المسألة اليهودية التي عاشتها أوروبا في القرن التاسع عشر. ذلك أن الضحية، في الحالة العربية، هم العرب أنفسهم حيث العديد منهم أسير إنهاك فكري يعترض الصعود باتجاه ثقافة القيم العالمية. قليلة هي المهام الملقاة على عاتق المفكرين العرب والتي تفوق في أهميتها مسؤولية تفكيك هذا البلاء الطاغي. قد تكون المواجهة المباشرة للعقيدة الدينية المستجدة بشأن اليهود عملاً يتطلب الشجاعة، ولكنه كذلك فعل ضروري. لا بد من الموافقة على ما يطرحه دعاة هذه العقيدة الشاطحة من أن الأوان قد آن لتحرير العقل الإسلامي والعربي من «اليهود». غير أن «اليهود» هنا ليسوا السكان اليهود في إسرائيل، أو المجتمعات اليهودية في أنحاء العالم، بل الشياطين الذين ابتدعتهم هذه الرؤية المشوّهة للعالم على حساب الصحة الأخلاقية والفكرية والمادية للجمهور العربي والمسلم والذي تدّعي الدفاع عنه.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Muslim Thinkers to Face the Problematic New “Theology of the Jews” (Part 1)


Also available in العربية

September 6, 2019

In the course of the past century, a troubling development has asserted itself in Islamic thought. Whether in scholarly religious texts or in popular presentations, a new Islamic “theology of the Jews” has coalesced into a thorough demonization of both historical and contemporary ‘Jews.’ In this evolving and radicalizing theological outlook, “the Jews” are presented as a unitary, undifferentiated collective. This collective is portrayed not only as political foes or religious rivals, but as the quintessential nemesis—with the corresponding struggle shaping the course of history and fulfilling prophecy.

While the universe of Islamic thought is wide, encompassing diverse trends and displaying multiple, often conflicting, expressions on any given subject, the problematic aspect of the new pejorative “theology of the Jews” is that it has been virtually unchallenged. Islamic portrayals and assessments of “the Jews” are almost invariably negative. In the rare instances where an ‘excess’ is noted—such as among the few intellectuals that reject the authenticity of the Protocols of the Elders of Zion—the rationale for qualifying this negative portrayal is that such excesses obfuscate the ‘real’ grounds for criticism. With scant attempts to see Jewish history and society as complicated and diverse, the trend toward enmity has also assimilated and appropriated Western antisemitism while leveraging anti-Zionism as a baseline and an entry point.

It is true that some distinction is occasionally (and defensively) made between the categories of Zionist, Israeli, and Jewish in sophisticated intellectual circles in the Arab world. Statements on this point stress that the enmity is not with the Jews as a religious group, and that a settlement for peace should ultimately be achieved with the Israelis as a national community. These intellectuals insist that the enemy is instead the Zionists, whose expansionist ideology denies Palestinian national rights and espouses racist convictions while branding any attempts to criticize Israeli politics or Zionism itself as “anti-semitic.”

Yet when contrasted with the broader and deeply seated demonization of the Jews that also exists in the Arab world, these statements seem to oscillate between wishful denial and intellectual dishonesty. Anti-Jewish rhetoric is the overwhelming norm in Arab cultural, political, and popular discourse. The distinction between “Jewish,” “Israeli,” and “Zionist” is seldom made in either popular or elite discourse and, if mentioned at all, is often added as an after-thought. Even the few instances of a tacit willingness to align with Israel, such as in the pursuit of a anti-Iranian coalition, are partially motivated by an assumption that “the Jews” hold disproportionate influence and power that can be leveraged. Not unlike some Western contexts, there seems to be a fine line in these cases between philo-Jewish and anti-Jewish sentiments.

The roots of this discourse must be understood as feeding both into and from a new but expanding Islamic “theology of the Jews.” As such, the pursuit of any meaningful resolution for the Middle East conflict will be hampered, if not outright denied, without a genuine effort on the part of Muslim intellectuals to address and dismantle this newly dominant radical theology.

This is not a call for religious reform, or for the enactment of Vatican II style reconsiderations, since the framework to challenge this new trend already exists within Islamic theology itself. The task at hand is instead to counter a recent set of developments, which, if continued to be left unchallenged, have the potential of causing lasting damage to longstanding traditions of Islamic theology while aligning with fringe Western antisemitism.

The modern pejorative Islamic “theology of the Jews” is based on three interlocking trends: an abandonment of the longstanding Islamic principle of non-differentiation between non-Islamic “Divine” faiths, an amplification of the value and implications of traditions and events regarding certain episodes from the formative phase of Islam that involve Jews previously deemed marginal; and an equation between religious parables and assumed historical chronology to promote a reductionist model of history in which “the Jews” are ascribed an ongoing negative role. This first trend is discussed below, while the second two are discussed in a separate article.

The Abandonment of Non-Differentiation: Separating Jews from ‘Ahl al-Kitaab’

Jews as a collective figure prominently in the foundational texts of early Islam, where they are known as al-Yahud (the Jews) or Banu Isra’il (the tribe of Israel). While Muhammad in the Qur’an is called the “Prophet of the Nations” (al-Nabi al-Ummi), he is presented in particular as fulfilling the lineage of the prophets of Israel. In turn, these prophets are all characterized as preachers of Islam—the perpetual Divine religion. It is Moses, not Muhammad, to whom the Qur’an makes the most references. Similarly, the Qur’anic text is replete with accounts of the Biblical Israelites—most often explicitly as archetypal examples of renegades against the call of the prophets and the will of God. The Qur’an also records Muhammad’s polemics with the contemporary Jews of the city of Yathrib, where tradition reports that Muhammad had settled as an arbiter, then leader. The substance of much of these arguments with the “Yahud” is their rejection of Muhammad’s status as Divine messenger despite presumed references to Muhammad in their own texts.

In both cases, the Qur’an maintains a critical tone towards ‘the Jews,’ and is occasionally more charitable towards Christians. Even so, later Islamic treatises in comparative religions generally establish that there is less doctrinal distance between Islam and Judaism than with Christianity. The concept of the Trinity, deemed polytheistic, establishes a dogmatic rejection of Christianity as theologically in error. On the other hand, despite an opaque reference in the Qur’an to a Jewish infringement on monotheism (suggesting Jews view Uzayr—possibly Ezra—as the “son of God”), it was accepted by classical exegetes and scholars that though Jews’ deviated in their rejection of Muhammad, they were not—as the Christians were—in theological error.

The implications of this distinction, though marginal, continues to manifest in some practices today. Among Muslims in Western settings, Jewish Kosher butchering is recognized as adhering to a more restrictive set of rules than Muslim Halal requirements, and Kosher meat is thus permitted for consumption.

Nevertheless, the overwhelming majority of scholastic treatises by Islamic scholars classify both Jews and Christians under the non-differentiated category of Ahl al-Kitab—followers of preceding faiths made obsolete with the coming of Muhammad’s prophesy. In contrast to the theological rejection of polytheism in Islamic-controlled territories, incorporating the Ahl al-Kitab into an Islamic polity is acceptable, though regulated by restrictive measures and with the understanding that they occupy a subordinate status. In line with these theological precepts, Jews, Christians, and a few other communities have been granted the same margins and suffered the same restrictions throughout the course of pre-modern Islamic history.

Yet in the last century, this principle of non-differentiation has been abandoned. And while the advent of Zionism as a national movement seeking the establishment of a Jewish homeland in Palestine certainly contributed to and accelerated the differentiation between Jews and Christians in Islamic thought, the beginnings of this distinction can be traced to populist formulations—phrased by both Christian and Muslim intellectuals—predating the conflict over Palestine.

In the late 19th century, as intellectuals perceived an environment of receding primacy for religion, the Arab nationalist version of the “Ummah” redefined the concept from its original theological meaning as a community of Muslims regardless of ethnic background to one of Arabs, whether Muslim, Christian, or other. Yet this new nationalist formulation reflected a reluctance and, ultimately, failure to incorporate the Jews of the Arab lands into the broader notion of Arab community.

As Jewish presence in Palestine increased, the pitch of the Arab nationlists’ efforts to differentiate Arab Jews intensified. Antoun Saadeh—founder of the influential pan-Arab Syrian Social Nationalist Party (SSNP)—attempted in his book al-Islam fi Risalatayhi (Islam in its Two Messages) to reframe Middle Eastern history by presenting both Christianity and Islam as reflections of the region’s ethos and genius. In parallel, he advanced the paradigmatic statement that “none challenges us in our land and our history other than the Jews.”

Saadeh was a secular thinker of Christian background. Yet while his bold statement may have been a product of his intellectual universe, its substance quickly emerged as the new norm. A number of Islamic authors began to engage in a sustained effort to document and demonstrate Jewish perfidy towards Islam and to underline the need to strengthen the Islamic enmity towards the Jews. Early works did not see any distinction between Jews, Zionists, and (later) Israelis—these terms all had unqualified pejorative connotations. This non-differentiation even necessitated the introduction of a new term—“Musawi” (Mosaic, of Moses) in certain areas to allow for non-pejorative references to local Jews.

These authors legitimated their new differentiation between Christian and Jewish Arabs through recourse to the Qur’anic text. A verse in the “al-Ma‘idah” chapter that presents opposing assessments of Jews and Christians gained new prominence. In line with the view favored by Arab nationalists, it was interpreted as confirming enmity towards the Jews while endorsing Muslim-Christian solidarity, even suggesting a distinction between Christianity and polytheism that contrasted with earlier Islamic theology. The Quranic verse (5:82) declares: “Verily, you will find the strongest in enmity to the believers the Jews and the polytheists, and you will find the nearest in affection to them those who say ‘We are Christians.”

Though Islamic jurisprudence did not elevate the status of Christians on the basis of this new emphasis, it did present opportunities to diminish the status of the Jews. Radical fatwas (scholastic opinions) proclaimed the legitimacy of the killing of Jewish non-combatants, initially on the basis of reciprocity and the imperatives of defensive jihad, and later on a sui generis basis. Statements countering these new opinions from official religious authorities trailed behind belatedly, and were virtually never framed to insist on applying the inviolability of innocent human life to Jews.

By the 1990s, the outcome of this differentiation could be seen in the name of the radical jihadist coalition announced by Usamah bin Ladin: “The Global Islamic Front for Jihad Against the Jews and the Crusaders.” The name emphasized that any enmity towards Christians was based on their aggressive behavior—when they engaged in “Crusades.” Enmity towards the Jews, on the other hand, required no qualifications.

In the decades since bin Ladin made this distinction, there has been a hardening of the radical position towards Christians. More contemporary references to Q 5:82 tend to be limited to the sura’s first half, omitting the kinder portrayal of Christians and placing contemporary Christians under the category of ‘polytheists.’ Radicals now claim the “affinity” with Christians was restricted to the time of the Prophet (Khass), even as the first half (‘Am) remains applicable in the modern period. However, while Jihadists reinterpret these words as a commandment to practice enmity towards both Jews and Christians, the modern differentiation of Jews has remained, present in both extremist theology and wider discourse.

Moreover, this new “theology of the Jews,” favored particularly by extremists throughout the Arab world is obsessed with defeating and eradicating the Jews because they are presented, as a group, as the eternal enemy of God, the agency of evil throughout history, and a source of treachery and deceit.

To develop their point, these Islamic thinkers have also incorporated classic Western antisemitism into their rhetoric. Along with references to Islamic theological texts, they have drawn on conspiracy theories positing a Jewish plan to control the World—in order to impose a two-tier universal religion (Israelite/Noahide). Capitalism and communism, the French and Bolshevik revolutions, the economic crises, the promotion of homosexuality, multiculturalism, and debauchery in general are all explained as part of a Jewish grand plan for control. Both The Protocols and truncated, and in some cases totally fabricated, passages of the Talmud are used to substantiate these claims.

These radical views, even when not espoused by the mainstream, are able to define the narrative due to a lack of resistance or alternative views, thereby allowing it to propagate its tenets in the wider culture. Ultimately, this has empowered homicidal and genocidal impulses against Jews, even if Israeli diligence has been able to ward most of the danger against the largest physical concentration of Jews in the Middle East.

Incremental steps toward reinvigorating Muslim perspectives that insist on the humanity of Jews are appearing―such as the invitation extended by Mohammed Al-Issa, a close associate of the Saudi Crown Prince Muhammad bin Salman and head of the Saudi-based World Muslim League, to Holocaust survivors for a January 2020 visit to the Kingdom. However, such top-down stances without the support of broader scholastic and intellectual output, can be critiqued as largely political, with little permanent traction in popular culture. They may provide some symbolic solace, but they do not amount to a serious debate that can substantively challenge cultural and theological anti-Jewish attitudes.

The “Jewish Question” in Arab culture is vastly different from the one that Europe faced in the nineteenth century. The actual victim in this case are the Arabs themselves, with many trapped in an obsession that interdicts their ascension to a culture of universal values. Directly addressing the corrosive “theology of the Jews” is an act of courage, but is also necessary. There are few tasks facing Arab intellectuals more important than deconstructing this recent yet pervasive affliction. It may be possible to agree with the adherents to this perverse theology that it is indeed time to free the Islamic and Arab mind of the “Jews.” The “Jews” in question, however, are not the Jewish population of Israel and the Jewish communities across the world, but the demons that this distorted world views has created at the detriment—moral, intellectual, and physical—of the Arab and Islamic population it claims to defend.

Customize your RSS Feed