أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

تأثير النزاع داخل مجلس التعاون الخليجي على ردود الفعل إزاء قرار الضم الإسرائيلي


متاح أيضاً في English

1 تموز/يوليو 2020

مع احتمال قيام إسرائيل بالمضي قدما في تنفيذ قرار الضم الذي بدأ يلوح في الأفق، تزداد أهمية التساؤل عن إمكانية تأثير ذلك على بوادر التطبيع الأخيرة مع دول الخليج. لكن الوضع مبهمٌ حاليًا، في حين أن نطاق أي عملية ضم، وحدّة الاعتراض عليها في العالم العربي، سيرسمان على الأرجح المعالم الرئيسية لآثاره على العلاقات الإسرائيلية الخليجية، علمًا أن ردود فعل الدول الخليجية ستُصاغ وفقًا لطرق تبلور صراعاتها الداخلية على مر السنوات الماضية.

من هذا المنطلق، فإن الجواب المعقول على هذا التساؤل يستوجب معرفة تأثير الخلاف بين قطر وشريكاتها الثلاثة في مجلس التعاون الخليجي – أي السعودية والإمارات والبحرين – على علاقات الخليج الخارجية، بما فيها العلاقات مع الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل. للمفارقة، فإن قرار قطر بعدم الاقتداء بالدول الخليجية الأخرى التي تتخذ خطوات ظاهرة لتطبيع العلاقات مع إسرائيل، يقلّل احتمالات توقّفها عن أي تنسيق بينها وبين إسرائيل في حال المضي قدمًا بالضم. في المقابل، من المحتمل أن يتم تعديل الخطوات العلنية التي تتخذها الدول الخليجية الأخرى باتجاه تطبيع العلاقات مع إسرائيل – والتي تطورت خلال الخلاف الحاصل داخل مجلس التعاون الخليجي – ردًّا على قرار الضم.

مسار تطور الخلاف داخل مجلس التعاون الخليجي

يوافق شهر حزيران/يونيو مرور 2020 ثلاث سنوات على المقاطعة الدبلوماسية والاقتصادية والثقافية لقطر من قبل "الرباعي العربي" المؤلف من السعودية والإمارات والبحرين ومصر. تُعتبر هذه المقاطعة التعبير الأحدث والأشدّ عن الشكوك – إن لم يكن العداوات – الموجودة منذ زمنٍ بعيد بين الطرفين نتيجة مزيجٍ مستمر من المصالح المتضاربة والخصومات الشخصية والخلافات على المناطق.

والجدير بالذكر هو أن بذور هذا التدهور الملحوظ خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية زُرعت منذ عقود مع تولّي حمد بن خليفة الحكم قسريًا من والده عام 1995. وما هو إلا عامٌ حتى أنشئت شبكة "الجزيرة" الإعلامية التي جاهرت بسياسة قطر المستقلة عن سائر الدول الخليجية الكبرى. ولطالما شعرت قطر بالحاجة إلى التوفيق بين خوفها من المواجهة مع إيران ورغبتها في لجم الهيمنة السعودية على مجلس التعاون الخليجي.

من وجهة نظر السعودية والإمارات والبحرين، تتماشى ادعاءاتها ضد قطر – المتمحورة حول شبكة "الجزيرة" القطرية وعلاقات قطر الخارجية الودية مع تركيا وإيران – تماشيًا تامًا مع تحقيق هدف "توحيد السياسات" المنصوص عليه في الميثاق التأسيسي لمجلس التعاون الخليجي والذي يعود إلى عام 1981. أما من وجهة النظر القطرية، فهذه الأعمال لا تعدو كونها إملاءً من دول أخرى تسعى إلى إخضاع سياسة قطر الخارجية لسياساتها الخاصة.

وما يحدث على وجه الخصوص هو أن الشائعات تسري بين الفترة والأخرى عن محاولاتٍ سعودية لتنفيذ انقلاب في قطر، بينما تدعم السعودية علنًا جبهة المعارضة ضد أمير قطر الحالي الشيخ تميم بن حمد. حتى أن وزير الخارجية القطري اتهم "دول الحصار" خلال شهر حزيران/يونيو هذا بمحاولة التخطيط لانقلاب على أمير قطر بسبب حملة معلومات مغلوطة تم نشرها على موقع تويتر في أيار/مايو 2020 وزعمت حصول محاولة انقلاب على رأس السلطة من داخل العائلة الملكية القطرية.

وما زاد حملة المقاطعة تعقيدًا هو الدور الأمريكي المتأرجح. فقد نشبت الأزمة مباشرةً بعد زيارة الرئيس ترامب إلى السعودية عام 2017، حيث بلغ به الحد أن اتّهم قطر بالإرهاب والتطرف بخلاف الرسائل الأمريكية الرسمية التي تتسم باعتدال أكبر. ولكن بالرغم من علاقة التحالف القائمة بين السعودية والإمارات والولايات المتحدة، تمتد العلاقات بين قطر والولايات المتحدة على عقود طويلة، وتربط بين الدولتين اتفاقية تعاون دفاعي تعود إلى عام 1992 وتنص على نشر نحو عشرة آلاف جندي ومتعاقد أمريكي في الإمارة القطرية، كما أطلقت الدولتان "حوارًا استراتيجيًا" عام 2018 فيما كان الخلاف دائرًا داخل مجلس التعاون الخليجي. وسعيًا إلى المحافظة على علاقتها القريبة بالولايات المتحدة، تعمل قطر اليوم على تمويل تحديثات لقاعدة "العديد" العسكرية الأمريكية الضخمة على أراضيها، وأيضًا على تسريع مشترياتها من الأسلحة الأمريكية.

في الواقع، تسببت هذه الأزمة بالضرر للتعاون القائم بين دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي وكذلك للجهود الأمريكية الرامية إلى إقامة تعاون أمني متينٍ في إطار حملة الضغط على إيران. وقد امتدّت التداعيات إلى ما بعد الخليج، حيث أن السجال بين الطرفين يؤثر على عدد من المواجهات ويؤججها إلى حدٍ أكبر – بعضها تحوّل إلى مواجهة عسكرية بسبب انخراط تلك الأطراف، وتجلّى ذلك للمرة الأولى وبالشكل الأكبر في ليبيا. وفيما يسعى الطرفان إلى كسب الولايات المتحدة كحليف، تبيّن أن واشنطن نفسها هي مجالٌ آخر يتم فيها التنازع على النفوذ: فقد عمد كل طرف إلى تمويل جماعات الضغط وفرق البحث في محاولة للتأثير على المشرّعين والرأي العام لصالحهم. وبما أن إسرائيل تُعتبر حليفًا مهمًا للولايات المتحدة ومعارضًا شديدًا لتعاظم النفوذ الإيراني في المنطقة، تطورت علاقاتها بدول الخليج بسبب الخلاف داخل مجلس التعاون الخليجي.

الموقف الإسرائيلي

رغم أن إسرائيل ليست منخرطة مباشرةً في الخلاف داخل مجلس التعاون الخليجي، فهي تتمتع بروابط لا يُستهان بها مع كل واحد من الأطراف الرئيسية المعنية. من هنا، تكمن مصالح إسرائيل الخاصة في الحفاظ على علاقات متينة بكل الأطراف المعنية، وفي البقاء على مسافة سليمة من الخلاف نفسه.

خلال السنوات الماضية، توسّعت العلاقات الإماراتية والسعودية مع إسرائيل بكل المقاييس لتشمل مجالات جديدة من التعاون، سيما وأن كل الأطراف تتشابه في نظرتها إلى بيئتها الاستراتيجية. في المقابل، اتّصفت السياسة الإسرائيلية تجاه قطر بانقسامٍ ملحوظ. فمن جهة، وجّه بعض كبار المسؤولين الإسرائيليين كلامًا قاسيًا بشأن قطر خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية، وقيل إنهم كانوا يفكرون في كيفية استغلال المقاطعة ضدها لتعميق عزلتها – وذلك على الأرجح في محاولة لكسب النقاط مع السعودية والإمارات. كما أن التوتر بين إسرائيل وقطر وأيضًا تركيا لعب دورًا في توسيع التعاون بين القدس والرياض وأبو ظبي والقاهرة في ضوء الخلاف الجاري.

من جهة أخرى، عمّقت إسرائيل وقطر تعاونهما الثنائي في غزة منذ الانفجار العسكري الأخير عام 2014، بدافع هدف مشترك وهو نقل المزيد من المساعدات الإنسانية إلى الفلسطينيين هناك. ومصلحة إسرائيل واضحة في استمرار المساعدات القطرية – التي فاقت قيمتها المليار دولار منذ العام 2012 – بما أنها تعتبر أن تحسين الوضع الإنساني في غزة يساهم في تجنب المواجهة مع "حماس". والواقع أن رئيس جهاز المخابرات الإسرائيلية ("الموساد") يوسي كوهين قام بزيارة إلى الدوحة في شباط/فبراير 2020 لضمان تأمين المساعدات المالية لغزة خلال الأيام الأولى من تفشي الوباء العالمي الناتج عن فيروس كورونا. وحتى الآن، لا تزال إسرائيل تعتبر قطر لاعبًا سلبيًا بالرغم من حاجتها إلى التعاون معها بعض الشيء استنادًا إلى مصلحتهما المشتركة الوحيدة. ويعتقد البعض في إسرائيل أن القدس يمكنها الاستفادة من اهتمام قطر بالوصول إلى غزة من أجل مطالبة الدوحة بالضغط على حماس في الأمور التي تعنى بها إسرائيل.

إذًا ثمة توتر جوهري بين مصلحة إسرائيل في الاعتماد على الأموال القطرية لتحسين الظروف الإنسانية في غزة، وحاجتها إلى الحفاظ على علاقات جيدة بدول مصر والسعودية والإمارات التي لا يروقها النفوذ القطري المتنامي في غزة.

والواقع أنه من مصلحة إسرائيل اليوم أن تنتهي الاضطرابات داخل مجلس التعاون الخليجي. فالتبعات الإقليمية تصب في خدمة إسرائيل، إذ أن المصالحة قد تحدّ من المساعدات الاقتصادية التي تقدمها الدوحة لأنقرة، وتقلل من مكانة تركيا الإقليمية، وتدفع قطر إلى تبنّي موقف ألطف بشكل عام تجاه إسرائيل وذلك تماشيا مع سياسات الرياض وأبو ظبي. كما أن تشكيل جبهة إن جبهة سنية موحدة ضد إيران هو أيضا يصب في مصلحة إسرائيل.

لكن للوقت الراهن، من المرجّح أن تكون الردود القطرية والردود الخليجية الأخرى متباعدة، نظرًا للاختلاف في علاقاتها مع إسرائيل. أما إسرائيل التي تقوم علاقتها بقطر بالدرجة الكبرى على المساعدات الإنسانية القطرية لغزة، فربما تجد الموقف أوضح. ومن وجهة نظر قطر، يعزز نقل المساعدات الاقتصادية إلى غزة من مكانتها الإقليمية ويساهم في تعزيز روابطها بالإدارة الأمريكية – وبالتالي يمنح قطر أوراقًا للمساومة في الخلاف الداخلي لمجلس التعاون الخليجي. كما أن مساعدة قطر لسكان غزة توفر لها نفوذًا مفيدًا تجاه إسرائيل، وهي ورقة ضغط قد تستخدمها للتأثير على خطط الضم الإسرائيلية.

بذلك، وحتى إذ تم المضي قدمًا بالضم، ستبقى على الأرجح العلاقات الضمنية بإسرائيل قائمة بعد التعرّض لضربة وجيزة ومحدودة. وفي المواقف التي تتجلى فيها العلاقات العامة بين قطر وإسرائيل، تستطيع قطر التلطّي خلف مساعداتها للفلسطينيين – التي تستدعي تعاونًا من الجانب الإسرائيلي – لا بل يمكن للدوحة أن تجادل أن لهذه المساعدات أهمية خاصة في الوقت الراهن – أي في خضم تفشي الوباء العالمي وربما أيضًا بسبب الضم نفسه.

في المقابل، يمكن التوقع أن يؤدي الضم إلى تراجع نواحٍ معينة مختلفة من التطبيع بين الدول الخليجية الثلاثة الأخرى وإسرائيل، لا سيما تلك العلنية منها. فقد صرّح ممثلون عن الدولتين السعودية والإماراتية بأمور مماثلة في الصحف العبرية، بصرف النظر عن أن القضية الفلسطينية لا تندرج ضمن أولى أولويات هذه الدول، وبالرغم من ريبتهم وأحيانًا حتى عداوتهم حيال السلطة الفلسطينية وحركة "حماس" ككل.

والأرجح أن التعاون الأمني الهادئ لن يتزعزع بشكل كبير أو دائم. لكن بما أن إسرائيل لطالما أعطت أهمية كبيرة للطبيعة العلنية للعلاقات مع الدول العربية – خصوصًا تلك التي لا تربطها بإسرائيل روابط رسمية بالرغم من المصالح المشتركة بينهما – فإضعاف العلاقات العلنية التي انبثقت عن مساعٍ حثيثة في السنوات الأخيرة الماضية سيلعب دورًا استراتيجيًا سلبيًا بالنسبة لإسرائيل.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

How GCC Conflict Impacts the Gulf Response to Israeli Annexation


Also available in العربية

July 1, 2020

With the potential of Israel moving forward with annexation looming, the question of its likely impact on recent steps of normalization with Gulf countries is becoming increasingly relevant. Yet the situation is ambiguous; while the scope of any annexation and the intensity of opposition to it throughout the Arab world will likely shape the contours of its impact on Israeli-Gulf relations, Gulf states’ reactions will also be impacted by the ways in which their internal conflicts have played out over the past several years.

As such, a plausible answer to this question requires an understanding of how the rift between Qatar and its three GCC partners—Saudi Arabia, the UAE, and Bahrain—has impacted the Gulf’s broader foreign relations, including those with the United States and Israel. Ironically, Qatar’s decision to not follow in the steps of other Gulf states in making visible moves to normalize relations with Israel make it less likely to stop what coordination with Israel it does have if annexation is to go forward. In contrast, other Gulf states’ more public moves to normalize relations with Israel—which have developed during the intra-GCC rift—are likely to be adjusted in response.

How the Intra-GCC Dispute has Evolved

June 2020 marks three years of the diplomatic and economic boycott against Qatar decreed by the “Arab Quartet” of Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Bahrain, and Egypt. This boycott is the latest and most acute expression of longstanding suspicions, if not enmities, between the two sides, which derive from an ongoing mix of conflicting interests, personal rivalries, and territorial disputes.

The seeds of deterioration visible in the past few years were planted decades before, with the forcible takeover in Qatar by Hamad bin Khalifah from his father back in 1995. The Al-Jazeera media network was established the following year, trumpeting Qatar’s independent policy from other major Gulf players. Qatar has long felt the need to balance its fear of confrontation with Iran and its desire to restrict Saudi dominance inside the GCC. 

From the standpoint of Saudi Arabia, the UAE, and Bahrain, their claims against Qatar—centered around Qatar’s al-Jazeera network and friendly foreign policies towards Turkey and Iran—are in full alignment with the realization of the “monarchical unity” goal featured in the the GCC’s founding charter back in 1981. From Qatar’s standpoint, this is no less than a diktat by other states seeking to subordinate its foreign policy to their own.

In particular, rumors periodically resurface of Saudi attempts to carry out a coup in Qatar, and the Saudis openly back opposition to Qatar’s current leader, Hamad’s son Sheikh Tamim. This June, Qatar’s foreign minister even accused the “Siege States” of trying to engineer a coup against his Emir over a May 2020 Twitter disinformation campaign which alleged an attempted palace coup inside the Qatari royal family.

Further complicating the boycott is the United States’ ambivalent role. The crisis erupted immediately after a 2017 visit by President Trump to Saudi Arabia, where he went so far as to accuse Qatar of terrorism and extremism in rhetoric that contrasted with more moderate official U.S. messaging. Yet while Saudi Arabia, the UAE, and the United States are all allies, Qatar also has decades-long ties with the United States; the two have a Defense Cooperation Agreement dating from 1992 that positions approximately 10,000 U.S troops and contractors in the emirate. The two countries also launched a ‘Strategic Dialogue’ in 2018 during the intra-GCC dispute. In order to stay close to the United States, Qatar is now funding upgrades to the gigantic U.S. military base of Al-Udeid on its soil while expediting its purchases of U.S. weapons.

The crisis has damaged both intra-GCC cooperation and U.S. efforts to create solid security coordination as part of the campaign of pressure against Iran. Repercussions have expanded beyond the Gulf as the rivalry between the two sides impacts and fuels a number of confrontations much further afield—some of them militarized through their involvement, visible first and foremost in Libya. With both sides seeking the United States as an ally, Washington itself has proven to be another arena of contested influence: each side has funded lobbyists and think-tanks in attempts to sway legislators and public opinion to their own advantage. As a major U.S. ally staunchly against greater Iranian influence in the region, Israel has also seen its relations with Gulf countries evolve due to the GCC rift.

The Israel Angle

Though Israel is not directly involved in the intra-GCC dispute, it possesses non-negligible ties, separately, with each key player. As such, Israel’s own interests lie in maintaining solid relations with all involved parties while maintaining a healthy distance from the conflict itself.

By all accounts, UAE and Saudi ties with Israel have expanded in recent years to additional areas of cooperation, especially as parties view their strategic environment in a similar fashion.

By contrast, Israel’s policy toward Qatar is characterized by a noteworthy dichotomy. On the one hand, some senior Israeli officials in the past few years have engaged in tough talk about Qatar and have reportedly even considered ways to exploit the boycott against it in order to deepen its isolation—probably in an attempt to win points with Saudi Arabia and the UAE. Tensions between Israel and Qatar, along with Turkey, have also played a role in expanding cooperation between Jerusalem and Riyadh, Abu Dhabi, and Cairo in light of the ongoing dispute.

Yet on the other hand, Israel and Qatar have deepened their bilateral cooperation on Gaza ever since the military flare-up in 2014, driven by the common objective of transferring more humanitarian aid to the Palestinians there. Israel has a clear interest in seeing Qatari aid—which amounts to more than a billion dollars since 2012–continue because it believes improvements in the Gazan humanitarian situation will help push off a confrontation with Hamas. The head of the Mossad, Yossi Cohen, actually visited Doha in February 2020 to ensure that the financial aid to Gaza in the early days of the coronavirus pandemic. At present, Israel sees Qatar primarily as a negative actor despite feeling the need for some cooperation based on their one shared common interest. Some in Israel think that Jerusalem can use Qatar's interest of accessing Gaza in order to ask Doha to pressure Hamas on matters important to Israel.

So there exists a fundamental tension between Israel’s interest in relying on Qatari money to ameliorate Gaza’s humanitarian condition and its need to preserve good relations with Egypt, Saudi Arabia, and the UAE, which do not look positively upon Qatar’s growing influence in Gaza.  

In fact, it is now in Israel’s interests for there to be an end to intra-GCC tensions. The regional implications are in Israel’s favor; reconciliation might reduce Doha’s economic aid to Ankara, take Turkey’s regional standing down a peg, and lead Qatar to adopt a softer overall stance toward Israel that is more in line with the policies of Riyadh and Abu Dhabi. A united Sunni front against Iran is also in Israel's interest.

But for now, the reaction of Qatar and the other Gulf States to a potential annexation is likely to diverge given the difference in extant relations with Israel. For Israel, whose relations with Qatar are mainly circumscribed to Qatar’s humanitarian aid to Gaza, the situation is perhaps more straightforward. From Qatar’s perspective, transferring economic aid to Gaza strengthens its regional position and contributes to enhancing its ties to the U.S. administration—thus also gaining Qatar bargaining chips in the intra-GCC dispute. Its assistance to Gazans also provides it with useful leverage vis-à-vis Israel, a leverage it might use to influence Israel's annexation plans.

As such, even if annexation goes forward, tacit relations with Israel will probably remain after suffering a short and limited blow. In instances of public relations with Israel, Qatar can always hide behind the fact that it is providing assistance to the Palestinians—which requires Israeli cooperation. Doha could even argue that such assistance is especially important in the current moment—in the midst of an ongoing pandemic and perhaps even because of annexation itself.

In contrast, annexation can be expected to prompt a rollback of certain different aspects of the other three Gulf states’ normalization with Israel, particularly those that are public. Saudi and Emirati representatives have said as much in Hebrew newspapers. This is notwithstanding that the Palestinian issue does not figure among the top priorities in those states, and despite their suspicion and sometimes even hostility toward both the Palestinian Authority and Hamas.

Quiet security cooperation will likely not be upset in a significant or sustained manner. Yet because Israel has long assigned great importance to the public nature of relations with Arab states—especially those with which Israel does not enjoy official ties with—weakening of the public ties that have emerged through great effort in recent years will be of negative strategic significance for Israel.

Customize your RSS Feed