أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

في غياب تنوّع اقتصاد إقليم كردستان الريعي سيزداد تشاؤم شبابه


متاح أيضاً في English

25 أيلول/سبتمبر 2019

تمثّل إرث الحكم الذاتي الكردي خلال السنوات الثماني والعشرين الماضية لغاية الآن بإقليم سياسي واقتصادي متعثّر حيث يُحرم الشباب الكردي من حب الوطن. وقد دفع الاقتصاد الريعي الذي يتميز به إقليم كردستان بصنّاع السياسة فيه إلى التفكير في المكاسب السياسية القصيرة الأمد، وغذى نظامًا قائمًا على علاقة الزبون-العميل مترسخًا أساسًا في النظام الاجتماعي-السياسي الكردي، ما ساهم في بناء تصوّر سائد عن فساد غير مسبوق في الإقليم.

وخلال زيارة قمتُ بها مؤخرًا إلى كردستان العراق، بدت المؤشرات في الظاهر إيجابية بالنسبة لاقتصاد الإقليم. فقد رأيت طرقات مكتظة وسوبرماركات ومطاعم ومقاهيَ مزدحمة ومناطق سياحية تعجّ بالسياح. وقد أفاد مالك أحد المقاهي أنه تمّ افتتاح نحو 124 مقهىً جديدًا في السليمانية منذ العام 2018، كما انتشر عدد من المطاعم في أجزاء مختلفة من السليمانية وإربيل. 

وفي الظاهر، يمكن تفسير هذه المؤشرات على الاستهلاك المتزايد بأنها دليل على تحسّن الاقتصاد منذ 2015، حين أقفلت العديد من المطاعم أبوابها وقلّ المارة على الطرقات، ولا سيما في ظل عدم تقاضي موظفي القطاع العام أجورهم. لكن حتى هذا النجاح الاقتصادي الظاهري الجديد يبيّن المشاكل الشاملة التي تواجه اقتصاد كردستان العراق. فنجاح الإقليم الاقتصادي يعتمد بشكل خطير حاليًا على النفط، وهو وضع أثبت أنه كارثي بالنسبة لإقليم كردستان في الماضي.

فإقليم كردستان العراق لا يزال مثالًا نموذجيًا على اقتصاد ريعي حيث توفّر الدفعات الكبيرة من الميزانية الوطنية العراقية والنفط الذي يصدّره الإقليم بنفسه مداخيل يتمّ ضخها في اقتصاده الهش. لكن لهذه التدفقات النقدية الوجيزة أثر سلبي على إجمالي النمو حيث تشهد الأسواق وقطاعا العقارات والخدمات ارتفاعًا في الأسعار في وقت تُقفل فيه المصانع أبوابها ويتراجع أداء قطاع الزراعة. ووفق عضو البرلمان الكردستاني دابان محمد، خسر أكثر من 25 ألف شخص وظائفهم في محافظة السليمانية بسبب إقفال نحو 1350 مصنعًا من أصل 1550. وعزا سبب هذا الإقفال إلى خفض حكومة إقليم كردستان للإعانات وارتفاع أسعار الوقود وزيادة الضرائب وأخذ المسؤولين المحليين الأموال من المصانع بطريقة قسرية.

هذا ويقدّم القطاع الزراعي في الإقليم أداءً أسوأ حتى؛ فلم يعد المزارعون قادرين على المنافسة في وجه أسعار المنتجات المنخفضة المستوردة من الدول المجاورة. وقد أظهر مقطع فيديو يتمّ تداوله عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ووسائل الإعلام الكردية هذا الاستياء حيث عرض إقدام مزارعيْن كردييْن على رمي محصولهما من الطماطم معربين عن استيائهما من الأسعار المتدنية للغاية ومحتجيْن على سماح الحكومة باستيراد منتجات أرخص ثمنًا من دول مجاورة.

أما في القطاع العام، فقد أسس الاقتصاد الريعي أرضية خصبة لانتشار الفساد. فقد أُبقيت إيرادات النفط مخفية عن الشعب حيث أن عددًا قليلًا فقط من كبار المسؤولين في الحكومة على علم بالإيرادات الفعلية التي تحصل عليها حكومة إقليم كردستان من مبيعات النفط ومشتقاته. وتذمّر العديد ممن أُجريت معهم مقابلات من واقع أن مسؤولي الأحزاب يملكون حصصًا كبيرة في قطاع النفط من خلال شبكاتهم الشخصية، وأشاروا إلى أن هؤلاء المسؤولين يسيطرون على حقول النفط بشكل قانوني عبر إبرام عقود مع شركات نفط أجنبية بموجب آليات مشاريع مشتركة.

وبالتالي، فإن التوزيع غير العادل للثروات في إقليم كردستان واضح للعيان حيث أن بعض النخب تسرف في الاستهلاك بشكل فاضح في حين أن الكثيرين بالكاد يتدبرون حاجاتهم الأساسية. بعبارة أخرى، يعود انقسام إقليم كردستان المتنامي إلى تفاوت الثروات أكثر منه إلى السياسة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالطبقة الحاكمة والمجتمع. غير أن الفوائد التي قد تجنيها النخبة من السيطرة على الاقتصاد الريعي تساعد على الحفاظ على الوضع القائم.

وقد ترك مزيج تفاوت الثروات والفساد المستشري في إقليم كردستان أثرًا سلبيًا فادحًا على شباب الإقليم. فقد أعرب الذين أُجريت معهم مقابلات عن فقدان ثقتهم بمؤسسات الإقليم سواء بنظام الحكم أو الانتخابات أو الاقتصاد أو حتى التعليم. وفي الحالة الأخيرة، أشار الكثيرون إلى المتخرجين في السنوات العديدة الأخيرة الذين لا يزالون عاطلين عن العمل أو عملوا في قطاعات لا تتناسب ومجالات اختصاصهم أو تطلعاتهم. وأصبح الاعتقاد الشائع في أوساطهم بأن تحقيق أحلامهم لن يكون سوى من خلال الهجرة إلى أوروبا أو أمريكا الشمالية. كما عزا عدد كبير من الذين أُجريت معهم مقابلات سبب الركود واليأس إلى النظام السياسي في الإقليم.

أضف إلى هذا حالة الفوضى الكاملة على المستوى السياسي، إذ لم يتمكن حتى الآن أي زعيم بعد الاستفتاء على الاستقلال في 2017 من وضع رؤية جديدة وبديلة لمستقبل شباب الإقليم. ويؤثر غياب مفهوم شامل لمستقبل الإقليم سلبًا بشكل خاص على حس الشباب الكردي بالارتباط بالإقليم، وقد أدّى إلى اندلاع أزمة هوية معقدة ومليئة بالتحديات في أوساط الجيل الجديد. وبدأ الأكراد العراقيون الشباب يشككون حتى بحب وطنهم الذي كان في ما مضى مكونًا أساسيًا ميّز الإقليم.

إن التشاؤم الذي رأيته في أعين الشباب الكردي غير مسبوق ويجب اعتباه ردًا على فشل القادة الأكراد في تحقيق نتائج ملموسة تتماشى مع المسار الاقتصادي والقومي الذي روّجوا له. فالاستياء المزدوج إزاء الاقتصاد الراكد والرؤية السياسية القاتمة يقوّض آمال الأكراد اليافعين ويشير إلى ضرورة أن تبحث حكومة إقليم كردستان بشكل فوري عن بدائل لتحسين علاقتها بهذه الشريحة الحيوية من السكان.

كيف يمكن لحكومة إقليم كردستان المساعدة

بحسب موقع حكومة إقليم كردستان الإلكتروني الجديد، تتمثل إحدى أهم أولويات الحكومة الجديدة في تنويع اقتصاد الإقليم بعيدًا عن النفط والعمل على استحداث فرص في قطاعات الصناعة والزراعة والسياحة. لكن في الأشهر العديدة السابقة التي تولت خلالها الحكومة الجديدة مهامها، عجزت عن وضع خطة عمل متينة تُظهر المسار الذي ستتبناه باتجاه تنوّع الاقتصاد. فحكومة إقليم كردستان تفتقر إلى الخبرة والمؤشرات العامة على أنها تمكّنت من تحديد العوائق أمام التنوّع، ما يقوّض الثقة بقدرتها على تخطي التحديات الحالية في قطاعي الزراعة والصناعة. 

وربما يكون السبيل الأفضل أمام تشكيل مجلس استشاري حول التنوّع الاقتصادي يكون بمثابة مؤسسة مستقلة ترتبط مباشرة بمجلس الوزارات في الحكومة. ويجب أن يضمّ هذا المجلس خبراء من حقول متعددة الاختصاصات بما فيها الاقتصاد والسياسة والحوكمة والموارد الطبيعية. ويتعيّن أن تبدأ استراتيجيتهم بالتواصل مع العمال الأكراد العاديين – أي الاجتماع مع رواد الأعمال والتصنيع المحليين، والمزارعين والخبراء المحليين ومنظمات المجتمع المدني لتحديد الحواجز التي تعيق نجاح الشركات والمصانع والمزارعين الصغار في الإقليم. واستنادًا إلى مدخلاتهم، يمكن للمجلس تقديم توصيات إلى الحكومة لمباشرة خطة التنوّع على أساس تدريجي.

كما يتعيّن على حكومة إقليم كردستان اتخاذ خطوات كبيرة لمواجهة ممارسات الفساد الفادحة في قطاع النفط وضمان النفاذ العادل لشركات محلية غير حزبية وشركات أجنبية من أجل الاستثمار في البناء والزراعة والسياحة والتصنيع. وفي ظل تنامي التصوّر ببروز فرص متساوية، من المرجح أن تؤدي منافسة أكبر إلى استحداث وظائف على نطاق واسع. 

هذا ولا بدّ من التركيز أيضًا على أن تطال الإصلاحات الاقتصادية كامل إقليم كردستان وألا تقتصر على مناطق قليلة. فتركُّز الاستثمارات حاليًا في إربيل أثّر سلبًا على باقي الإقليم ليس فقط من الناحية الاقتصادية بل السياسية والاجتماعية أيضًا.

أما على الصعيد الأمني، فعلى حكومة إقليم كردستان فرض سيادة القانون من خلال دعم الشرطة والنظام القضائي. وعليها العمل على الحدّ من تدخل "الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني" و"الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" السياسي في هذين الجهازين، وإلا ستتعثر جهود الإصلاح والتنوّع الاقتصادي ولن تكون مجدية في نهاية المطاف.

أخيرًا، من المهم أن تُعدّ حكومة إقليم كردستان برامج تعليمية وتنظّم مؤتمرات وندوات للمساعدة على تغيير طريقة تفكير الشباب في ما يتعلق بفرص العمل. فقطاع النفط في إقليم كردستان رسّخ ذهنية أنه يحق للمتخرجين استلام وظائف في القطاع العام مباشرة بعد تخرجهم. فهذه الذهنية تطرح معضلة كبيرة تعاني منها معظم الدول المنتجة للنفط. غير أن تغيير هذه الذهنية هو عنصر أساسي آخر لتنشيط وتنويع اقتصاد الإقليم.

فرصة للدعم الخارجي

يمكن للولايات المتحدة والحكومات الغربية المساعدة أيضًا في توجيه الإقليم نحو اقتصاد أقوى من خلال جعل المساعدات المقدمة إلى إقليم كردستان مشروطة بتقديم أدلة ملموسة على إصلاحات اقتصادية وسياسية. وقد تساهم اجتماعات منتظمة بين سياسيين أكراد ودبلوماسيين ومسؤولين عسكريين أمريكيين فعليًا في إعاقة التغيير، إذ تضخّم وسائل الإعلام الحزبية مثل هذه الاجتماعات وتقدّم تصورًا خاطئًا إلى الشعب الكردي عن اعتراف ودعم دوليين وغير مشروطين للوضع القائم. وبغض النظر عن الواقع، فسكان إقليم كردستان لا يعتقدون أن التغيير الداخلي ممكن من دون مساعدة ودعم واشنطن. 

لهذا السبب، من المهم للبعثات الدبلوماسية الأمريكية والغربية في العراق وإقليم كردستان أن تصيغ بوضوح موقفها إزاء الحوكمة والديمقراطية وحرية التعبير في إقليم كردستان العراق. ويجب أن تأخذ هذه البعثات في الحسبان أيضًا عدم إضفاء الشرعية على مسؤولي الأحزاب غير المنتخبين من خلال الالتقاء بهم في العلن. وفي حين قد تكون الاجتماعات مع هؤلاء المسؤولين ضرورية في إطار الدبلوماسية، تسمح الاجتماعات الخاصة لدبلوماسيين أجانب بتحقيق أهدافهم من دون تقويض الديمقراطية الناشئة في إقليم كردستان.

وبهدف إحياء شعور إحراز تقدم في أوساط الأكراد – لا سيما الأجيال الشابة – يمكن لحكومة إقليم كردستان والمسؤولين الدوليين على السواء اتخاذ خطوات ملموسة واضحة للمساعدة على تخطي بعض التحديات السياسة والاقتصادية التي يواجهها الإقليم. وفي نهاية المطاف، إلى حين تحقيق ذلك، وإلى حين نجاح حكومة الإقليم في الابتعاد عن اقتصاد ريعي، سيتنامى استياء الشعب من حكومته.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Without Diversifying its Rentier Economy, Pessimism Among Kurdish Youth Will Increase


Also available in العربية

September 25, 2019

The legacy of the last 28 years of Kurdish self-governance has been marked by a broken political and economic region—with youth stripped of Kurdish patriotism. The Kurdistan Region’s rentier economy has led its policymakers to think in terms of short-term political gains, fed into a patron-client system already deeply entrenched in the Kurdish socio-political system, and has contributed to a popular perception of unprecedented corruption in the region.

During a recent trip to Iraqi Kurdistan, signs outwardly looked positive for the region’s economy. I saw overcrowded roads, packed supermarkets, restaurants, cafes, and tourist areas overflowing with visitors. One café owner reported that some 124 new cafes have opened in Slemani since 2018, and a number of restaurants have spread in various parts of Sulaymaniyah and Erbil.

On the surface, these signs of increased consumption could be interpreted as indication that the economy has improved since 2015, when many restaurants were closed and the roads were less crowded, especially as public sector employees were not receiving their salaries. However, even this new apparent economic success demonstrates the overarching problems facing Iraqi Kurdistan’s economy. Currently, the region’s economic success is dangerously dependent on oil, a situation that has proven disastrous for the Kurdistan region in the past.

The Iraqi Kurdistan region continues to be a typical example of a rentier economy, where massive payments from the Iraqi national budget and oil exported by the region itself provide periodic injections into the its fragile economy. However, these brief bursts of cash have a chilling effect on overall growth, hiking prices from the markets to real estate and service sector while shuttering factories and undermining agriculture. According to Kurdish MP Daban Mohammed, more than 25,000 people have lost their jobs in Slemani province due to the closure of approximately 1,350 factories out of 1,550 in total. He attributed these closures to the cutbacks of subsidies by the Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG), higher fuel prices, taxes hikes, and local officials taking money from factories in a coercive manner.

The region’s agricultural sector is faring even worse; farmers can no longer compete with the low prices of products imported from neighboring countries. A video clip circulated on social media and Kurdish media outlets demonstrated this frustration by allegedly showing two Kurdish farmers throwing away their tomato products in frustration with extremely low prices and in protest at the government allowing the import of cheap produce from neighboring countries.

In the public sector, the rentier economy has created a favorable ground for widespread corruption. Oil revenues have remained opaque to the public, with just a few at the highest levels of government aware of exactly how much revenue the KRG receives through oil sales and its derivatives. Many of those interviewed complained that party officials have large stakes in the oil industry through their personal networks, and suggested that these officials control oilfields legally by contracting with foreign oil companies through joint venture mechanisms.

An unequal distribution of wealth in the Kurdistan Region is clearly visible, with some elites making displays of conspicuous consumption while many are hardly able to meet their basic needs. In other words, Kurdistan is becoming increasingly divided by wealth disparity rather than politics when it comes to the ruling class and society. However, the potential benefits to elites of maintaining the rentier economy are helping to preserve the status quo.

The combination of wealth disparity and rampant corruption in the Kurdistan Region has led to a striking negative effect on the region’s youth. Those interviewed expressed a loss of trust in the region’s institutions, whether it be the governing system, elections, economy, or even education. In the latter case, many point to graduates from the last several years who have remained jobless or work in sectors that are not compatible with their field of study or visions. It is now a common belief that the fulfillment of their dreams can be achieved only by migrating to Europe or North America. Many of those interviewed also blame the region’s political system for this stagnation and sense of hopelessness.

Add to this a complete state of disarray on the political level, as no leader after the 2017 independence referendum has yet been able to provide a new, alternative vision for their future to the region’s youth. This lack of a grand concept for the region’s future is particularly damaging for Kurdish youths’ sense of connection with the region, and has led to a complex and challenging identity crisis among the new generation. Young Iraqi Kurds are beginning to question the idea of Kurdish patriotism, once considered a staple of the region.

The pessimism I observed among the Kurdish youth is unprecedented, and should be understood as a response to the failure of Kurdish leaders to deliver tangible results based on the economic and nationalist discourse they have promoted. The twin frustrations of a stagnated economy and a murky political vision provide little for younger Kurds to grasp onto, and suggest that the KRG should urgently explore alternatives to reconnect with this vital segment of the population.

How the KRG Can Help

According to the new KRG website, one of the main priorities of the new cabinet is to diversify the regional economy away from oil and work to create opportunities in industry, agriculture, and tourism. However, during the past several months in which the new cabinet has been active, it has failed to put forward a solid action plan to demonstrate how it will create a path towards economic diversification. The KRG lacks both expertise and public signs that it has diagnosed the obstacles to diversification, which undermines trust that it can improve the current challenges of the agriculture and industrial sectors.

The best way forward would be for the KRG to form an advisory council on economic diversification that serves as an independent institution with a direct link to the KRG council of ministries. This council should consists of experts from interdisciplinary fields of economics, politics, governance, and natural resources. Their strategy should begin with connection to regular Kurdish workers—meeting with local business and manufacturing leaders, farmers, local experts, and civil society organizations to diagnose the barriers to the success of the region’s small businesses, factories, and farmers. Based on their inputs, the council could produce recommendations to the government to start its diversifications plan on a piecemeal basis.

The KRG must also take major steps to address the significant corruption practices within the oil sector and ensure fair access to local nonpartisan companies and foreign companies to invest in construction, agriculture, tourism, and manufacturing. With an increased perception of a fair playing field, greater competition is likely to lead to job creation across the board.

There should also be a focus on ensuring that economic reform reaches across the Kurdistan region and is not regulated to a few areas. The current concentration of investment in Erbil has inversely impacted the rest of Kurdistan Region not just economically but politically and socially.

On a security level, the KRG must uphold the rule of law by supporting the police and the judiciary system. It must work to limit political interventions from the Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP) and the Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK) in these systems. Otherwise, reform and economic diversification efforts are likely to be stalled and ultimately ineffective.

Lastly, it is essential for the KRG to design education programs, conferences, and seminars to help adjust young people’s mindsets regarding jobs. The Kurdistan region’s oil industry has created a mindset wherein graduates believe they have a right to public sector jobs directly after graduation. This is a profoundly problematic mindset that exists in most of the oil-producing countries. However, shifting this mindset is another key element to invigorating and diversifying the region’s economy.

A Chance for Outside Support

U.S. and Western governments can also help guide the region towards a stronger economy by conditioning its aid to the Kurdistan Region based on evidence of economic and political reforms. Regular meetings between Kurdish politicians and U.S. diplomats and military officials can actually contribute to paralyzing change, as such meetings are multiplied on partisan media outlets and give the false perception to regular Kurds that there is international, unconditional legitimation and support of the status quo. Regardless of the reality, people in the Kurdistan Region do not believe that internal change is possible without the assistance and support of Washington.

For this reason, it is important for U.S. and the Western diplomatic missions in Iraq and the Kurdistan Region to clearly articulate where they stand on governance, democracy, and freedom of expression in the Iraqi Kurdistan Region. These missions should also consider not legitimizing unelected party officials by meeting them in public. While meetings with these officials may be necessary as part of diplomacy, private meetings would allow foreign diplomats to achieve their goals without further undermining the Kurdistan Region’s nascent democracy.

In order to reignite a sense of progress among Kurds—especially among the younger generations—both the KRG and international officials can take clear concrete steps to help tackle some of the region’s political and economic challenges. Ultimately, until the KRG can successfully shift away from a rentier economy, frustration with their government among regular Kurds will continue to build.

Customize your RSS Feed