أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

دور "الحشد الشعبي" في العملية السياسية العراقية


متاح أيضاً في English

1 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2018

لا تندلع حرب في البلدان النامية إلا وتظهر مجموعات مسلحة رديفة للقوات النظامية فيها، والعراق ليس استثناء، فلم يكن أحد ليتوقع أن تتوحد الفصائل المسلحة الشيعية تحت راية واحدة. فعلى الرغم من أن تلك الفصائل اتبعت مذهبًا إسلاميا واحدًا، وكانت مرتبطة بعدد من الأحزاب والحركات السياسة ذات الميول والتوجهات الأساسية المختلفة، إلا أنها عملت على الأرض كقوة عسكرية فعالة ومتماسكة.

"الحشد الشعبي".. هذه المفردة، باتت خلال الأعوام الثلاثة أو الأربعة الأخيرة، تمثل أحد أبرز المفردات في الأدبيات السياسية والإعلامية العراقية. واليوم، لا يمكن فصل الحشد الشعبي عن مجمل الحراك السياسي في البلاد، وقد يذهب المرء لتصنيف الحشد كمؤسسة عسكرية رسمية فعلية - تعمل في نفس سياق الجيش العراقي والمؤسسات الأمنية والعسكرية الأخرى. وكما هو الحال في السياسة العراقية، غالباً ما تتداخل وتتشابك العوامل المحددة لتوجهات وأفعال المجموعات السياسية.

وقد تصاعدت الحملات المحلية ضد الحشد الشعبي، مع احتدام المفاوضات الماراثونية لتشكيل الحكومة، خلال الشهور القلائل الماضية، وبروز محورين أساسيين: تحالف " الفتح"، وهويته حشدية إلى حد كبير، وتحالف "سائرون “، الذي لا يعلن عن رفضه للحشد على الرغم من عدم ارتباطه به، وكلاهما معنيين باختيار رئيس الوزراء الجديد.

واليوم بعدما انتهت الحرب على تنظيم "داعش" الإرهابي بنسبة كبيرة، وفي ظل احتدام التجاذبات السياسية بين مختلف القوى والكيانات والشخصيات لبلورة صورة المرحلة السياسية المقبلة على ضوء نتائج ومعطيات الانتخابات البرلمانية الأخيرة وحضوره القوى على الساحة العراقية، من الطبيعي جدا أن يكون "الحشد الشعبي" حاضرا في كل محطات ومنعطفات البحث والنقاش.

وقد وجد الحشد نفسه عند مفترق طرق، عالقا بين من يسعى إلى إقصاءه وتهميشه وإبعاده، وبين من يحاول استثماره وحتى استغلاله، وبين من يريد المحافظة على هويته وأدواره ومنجزه، بعيدا عن مناكفات السياسة ومخرجاتها "السلبية". ومن ثم، لا يوجد صعوبة في تتبع تطور سياسة الحشد وذلك من خلال التصريحات الأخيرة حول تشكيل الحكومة، والتي سلطت الضوء على الدور الذي سيلعبه الحشد في السياسة بمجرد تشكيل الحكومة.

بدأ الصراع يظهر بين قوات الحشد الشعبي بعد إصدار الحشد بعض البيانات السياسية التي تؤكد رغبته في الانسحاب من المدن العراقية، فمثلا، وعلى الرغم من إصدار نائب رئيس هيئة الحشد الشعبي، جمال جعفر أل إبراهيم (أبو مهدي المهندس)، قرارا بسحب قوات الحشد من بعض المناطق والمدن المحررة، وإخراج كافة مقراته من داخل المدن، إلا أن حيدر العبادي رفض تلك الخطوة وأصدر تعليمات تقضي بابقاء قوات الحشد في مواقعها وعدم سحبها من المدن والمناطق المحررة.

فخلال زيارته لمقر هيئة الحشد الشعبي في بغداد، في أواخر شهر أغسطس الماضي، أكد العبادي أن " إخراج الحشد من مدن هائلة لا يجب أن يخضع لضغط سياسي، فعصابات داعش طردناها وهزمناها، ولكن لديهم خلايا وفكر أيديولوجي، يجب أن نستمر بمحاربته، أما أخلاء الساحة بشكل مفاجئ فأنه سيعطي فرصة للجماعات الإرهابية للاعتداء على المواطنين، وان الدستور والقوانين تمنع الخلط بين العمل الأمني والعسكري والاستخباري مع السياسي".

وهناك أيضا من رحب بإخراج الحشد الشعبي من المدن منهم أعضاء في الحكومات المحلية ومجالس المحافظات في صلاح الدين ونينوى، علما أن دعوات سابقة كانت قد انطلقت من تلك المحافظات لإخراج الحشد منها. وفى هذا الصدد، قدم رئيس مجلس محافظة صلاح الدين، لائحة تتضمن ثلاثة عشر مطلبا إلى الحكومة الاتحادية، من بينها "إخراج فصائل الحشد الشعبي من المدينة، وتسليم الملف الأمني إلى الشرطة الاتحادية، وإعادة النازحين الذين ما زلوا- بحسب لائحة المطالب- مجبرين على البقاء في المخيمات بسبب إصرار فصائل مسلحة على عدم إعادتهم". ولعل من بين أبرز أسباب رفض محافظات صلاح الدين ونينوى لوجود قوات الحشد الشعبي فيها، هو انه رغم مساهمة الأخير في طرد تنظيم "داعش" من مناطق واسعة من تلك المحافظات، إلا أن الهاجس الطائفي مازال وسيبقى هو المسيطر والمتحكم بتفكير وتوجهات أبناء تلك المحافظات.

   كما تعالت بعض الأصوات بضرورة حل الحشد الشعبي بحجة أن الحاجة إليه قد انتفت، خاصة بعد هزيمة داعس، وطالبوا المرجعية الدينية المتمثلة بالسيد على السيستاني الذي أصدر فتوى الجهاد الشفائي إلى الإعلان عن انتهاء مهمة الحشد. وبالفعل استجاب السيستاني لتلك الدعوات حيث شدد في احدى خطب صلاة الجمعة من مدينة كربلاء في منتصف شهر كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2017، على ضرورة دمج قوات الحشد الشعبي ضمن المنظومة العسكرية والأمنية الحكومية العراقية. وقد لاقت تلك الدعوة ترحيبا واسعا، حيث أشاد محمد الكربولي رئيس كتلة الحل البرلمانية بدعوة السيستاني ودعا إلى دمج متطوعي الحشد الشعبي في المؤسسات والأجهزة الأمنية الحكومية. ومع ذلك، ظلت الأمور لم تتغير وبقيت على حالها، وما ساهم في ذلك هو أن الحرب على داعس لم تنتهي فعليا، إذ مازالت هناك بعض الجيوب لذلك التنظيم والمنتشرة في مساحات مختلفة من الجغرافية العراقية، تتطلب تأهبا عسكريا وامنيا متواصلا.

   ولا شك أن الضغوطات لحل الحشد الشعبي، أو إعادة النظر بالأدوار والمهام الموكلة إليه، ليس بالأمر الجديد. وبعض تلك الضغوطات خارجية، توجهها واشنطن بالدرجة الأولى، وبعضها إقليمية تتصدرها الرياض، وبعضها داخلية، وكل تلك الضغوطات المتعددة المصادر والمستويات تلتقي عند نقطة واحدة، وان تنوعت واختلفت أساليبها وأدواتها، وهذه النقطة، تتمثل في أبعاد إيران عن المشهد العراقي بأقصى قدر ممكن، إذا لم يكن بالإمكان إقصائها بالكامل. ولعل هناك تصورا وانطباعا عاما لدى المجتمع الدولي مفاده أن الحشد الشعبي في العراق مرتبط بإيران وتابع لها، ولكن في حقيقة الأمر فأنه لا يمكن تصنيف الحشد بعناوينه المتعددة، ومرجعياته المتنوعة، في إطار واحد. 

إن الأطراف الدولية والإقليمية المهتمة بتقليص النفوذ الإيراني في العراق يجب إن تدرك أن قوات الحشد الشعبي ليست مليشيا شيعية متجانسة، ومن ثم، فان اتخاذ أي سياسة ما نحو الحشد الشعبي يجب أن تتعامل مع المجموعات المكونة للحشد بشكل منفصل خاصة أن منها الموالي لإيران وترتبط دينيا بالمرشد الإيراني علي خامنئي، ومنها ما   يدعوا إلى إدماج قوات الحشد في الجيش العراقي النظامي مثل تلك المليشيات التي أسسها المرجع الشيعي علي السيستاني وتلك التي تقع تحت إمرة المرجعية الشيعي مقتدى الصدر.

   ومن ثم، فان تمكين الجيش العراقي ووضعه تحت إمرة الحكومة العراقية هو المفتاح لمواجهة زيادة نفوذ قوات الحشد الشعبي خاصة تلك الموالية لإيران. كما أن هناك ضرورة لتطبيق قانون الحشد الشعبي، الذي دعا إلى مأسسة الحشد الشعبي ، والذي أقره البرلمان العراقي  في شهر تشرين/نوفمبر عام 2016.

لذلك، فان دمج قوات الحشد الشيعي في المؤسسة العسكرية النظامية يمثل الخطوة الأولى لعزل تلك القوات عن إيران. ومع ذلك، يجب أن تتم عملية الدمج بشكل فردى وليس جماعي لمواجهة مشكلة الانتماءات المتعددة وتجنب انقسام الولاءات بين الحكومة والانتماءات العسكرية للأعضاء الجدد.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

The Role of the Popular Mobilization Forces in the Iraqi Political Process


Also available in العربية

October 1, 2018

Wars do not break out in developing countries without armed groups appearing alongside regime forces, and Iraq is no exception. However, the fact that armed Shia factions have united under one banner as the Popular Mobilization Forces (PMF) has been an unexpected development in Iraqi politics. Although adhering to the same school of Islamic thought, Shia groups affiliated with political parties and movements with deeply different teachings have operated as a functional, cohesive military force.

Over the last three or four years, the PMF have consequently occupied a prominent place in Iraq’s political and media consciousness. Today, the PMF cannot be separated from the country’s political landscape, and one might go so far as to categorize it as a de-facto official military institution—operating within the same context as Iraq’s army and other security and military institutions. As is the case with Iraqi politics, the factors behind a group’s direction, actions, and impact often overlap and intertwine.

However, domestic  opposition to the PMF has escalated over the last few months as the marathon negotiations to form a government have dragged on. During this time, two main focal groups—Sairoon and Fateh—have emerged concerning the selection of the new prime minister. The latter is affiliated with the PMF, while the former, though not connected with the group, does not reject it outright either.

Today, with the war against the Islamic State (IS) nearing an end, political tensions have been mounting over the blueprint for the next era of politics, especially in light of the surprising results of May’s parliamentary elections. Given its growing presence in Iraqi life, the PMF is now at the forefront of discussions on the next era of Iraqi politics.

Indeed, the group finds itself at a crossroads, caught between those striving to exclude and remove it from its current position of power, those attempting to invest in and exploit it politically, and those hoping to keep the identity, role, and achievements of the PMF far removed from political squabbles and their “negative” consequences. As such, it is not difficult to trace the developing ‘politics’ of the PMF in recent statements on government formation, which shed light on what role the PMF will play in politics once the government is formed.

The first is the tension between the PMF and political statements on the forces’ deployment patterns. Despite a decree issued by the PMF’s Vice President Jamal Jaafar Ibrahimi (also known as Abu Mahdi al-Muhandis) ordering the withdrawal of PMF forces from some liberated cities and regions, along with the removal of all its headquarters within cities, Haidar al-Abadi rejected this measure. Instead, the Prime Minister issued directives instructing the PMF forces to remain in the liberated cities and regions.

During his visit to PMF headquarters in Baghdad, al-Abadi confirmed that “removing the PMF from big cities should not be subject to political pressure. We have expelled and defeated IS gangs, but they have sleeper cells and an ideology that we must continue to fight. A sudden withdrawal of forces will give terrorist groups an opportunity to attack civilians. Moreover, the constitution and the law forbid mixing military, security, and intelligence business with politics.”

Those who welcomed the removal of the PMF from cities included members of the local government and councils in both Saladin and Nineveh Governorates; both had previously called to remove PMF forces. The head of the Saladin Governorate Council had presented a list of thirteen demands to the federal government. These included “removing PMF brigades from the city, handing security matters over to the federal police, and returning displaced peoples, who,” according to the list, “are forced to stay in camps because armed factions insist on preventing them from returning home.” Perhaps one of the most prominent reasons underlying the Saladin and Nineveh provinces’ refusal to maintain PMF presence is that despite the latter’s contribution to the expulsion of the Islamic State in multiple areas of these regions, there is still underlying concern regarding the PMF’s sectarian affiliations in the minds of the people of those provinces.

Some voices have also called for dissolving the PMF entirely on the basis that they are no longer needed given the end of the war on IS. Indeed, these same voices have asked the Shia religious authority Ayatollah Al-Sistani, who had issued the fatwa calling for compulsory jihad against IS that helped form the PMF, to announce an end to the PMF’s mission. As a result, Al-Sistani responded to these calls, and stressed in one of the Friday sermons in mid-December 2017 the need to integrate the popular mobilization forces into the Iraqi military and security apparatuses. Moreover, head of the parliamentary Solution bloc ( Al –Hal ), hailed Sistani's call and called for the integration of the popular mobilization forces into the state security institutions. However, things have not changed since the war on ISIS has not yet reached an end; pockets of ISIS still exist in different areas in Iraq, and these require continuous military and security preparedness.

Of course, the pressure to dissolve the PMF, or even reconsider their assigned roles and tasks, is nothing new. One aspect of this has already been in the works for months. Some of these pressures are external, directed largely by Washington, some are regional, led by Riyadh, while others are internal. Though their means, methods, and sources may differ, these multi-level pressures converge on a single point: removing Iran from Iraqi politics as much as possible, if not completely. Moreover, there is a general perception and impression within the international community that the PMF in Iraq is linked to Iran. But here the crucial truth is different:  the PMF are not one homogenous entity and thus cannot be categorized as such.

The regional and international actors interested in reducing Iranian influence in Iraq must realize that the PMF is not a homogenous Shia militia. In this way, any policy adopted regarding the PMF must deal with its constituent factions on an individual basis, especially those groups loyal to Iran that have religious ties to Iran’s Supreme Leader, Ali Khamenei. These forces should be treated differently from groups founded by the Shia religious authority Ayatollah Al-Sistani and those under the command of the Shia cleric Muqtada al-Sadr, which call for the merging of the PMF with the regime’s forces.

Consequently, enhancing the capabilities of the Iraqi army and placing it under the Iraqi government’s control is key to mitigating the PMF’s increasing influence, especially of those forces loyal to Iran. Further, there is a need to reactivate the PMF's law—which called for the institutionalization of the Iraqi army—originally enacted by the Iraqi parliament in November 2016.

Thus, merging these Shia forces with the regime’s military institution is the first step to isolating them from Iran. Moreover, the process of merging these forces should be carried out on an individual rather than collective basis in order to confront the issue of these groups’ multiple allegiances, as well as to prevent new members from dividing their loyalties between the government and their former military affiliations.

Customize your RSS Feed