أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

أحزاب المعارضة الكردية خسرت في انتخابات 12 أيار/مايو: هل الاحتيال هو السبب؟


متاح أيضاً في English

23 أيار/مايو 2018

أعلنت "المفوضية العليا المستقلة للانتخابات" النتائج الرسمية للانتخابات النيابية العراقية خلال الساعات الأولى من يوم التاسع عشر من أيار/مايو بعد تأخيرات عدة. وفي إقليم كردستان العراق، شابت النتائج غير الرسمية والرسمية ادعاءات باحتيال واسع النطاق في الانتخابات لصالح الحزبين الحاكمين - "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" و"الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني". وما شكّل مفاجأة للكثيرين، مقارنةً بالدورتَين الانتخابيتَين الماضيتَين، أن "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" حقق عودة جيدة من خلال الفوز بثمانية عشر مقعدًا في البرلمان، في حين احتفظ "الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني" بمعظم مقاعده من خلال الفوز بثمانية وعشرين مقعدًا، وحصلت جماعات المعارضة على غرار "حركة التغيير" ("كوران") على 5 مقاعد، و"الجيل الجديد" على 4، ومقعدين لكل من "تحالف الديمقراطية والعدالة" و"الجماعة الإسلامية" ("كومال") و"الاتحاد الإسلامي الكردستاني". في المقابل، عجزت أحزاب كردية أخرى أصغر حجمًا عن تحقيق أي فوز.

وعقب الإقفال الرسمي لمراكز الاقتراع وصدور النتائج الأولية في 12 أيار/مايو، بات الوضع في محافظة السليمانية، معقل الجماعات المعارضة ضد حزب "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" الحاكم، محتدمًا ومتوترًا للغاية لدرجة أسفر عن أعمال عنف. وقد أمر أحد قادة الحزب رجاله المسلحين بمهاجمة المقر الرئيسي لـ "حركة التغيير" ("كوران")، وهي جماعة انفصلت عن "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" منذ 2006. وقد طعنت الحركة بنتائج الانتخابات، معلنةً أنها لن تقبل بها بسبب التباين والاحتيال. وتردد أن أحد مقرات "تحالف الديمقراطية والعدالة" بقيادة رئيس الوزراء الكردستاني السابق برهم صالح الذي انفصل بدوره عن "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني"، كانت محاصرة من قبل مسلحي الحزب الحاكم. لكن الهجوم أثبط بفضل مهارات التواصل الفعالة لصالح مع قادة آخرين من "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني". ورغم عدم صدور أي تقارير عن وقوع إصابات، كانت أعمال العنف مؤشرًا ورسالة بأنه من المستبعد أن يكون الحزبان الكرديان الحاكمان على استعداد للتخلي عن السلطة بسهولة. فهما مستعدان للجوء إلى القوة بغية ضمان سيطرتهم على السلطة السياسية والاقتصادية التي زودتهما بشبكة رعاية قوية تُرجمت بقاعدة انتخابية وفية إلى حدّ كبير.      

يُذكر أنه خلال الدورتَين الانتخابيتَين الماضيتَين، استفادت حركة "كوران" من الاستياء الواسع النطاق من حكم "الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني" و"الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" الذي تشوبه الحوكمة السيئة والفساد والمؤسسات العاجزة واقتصاد يكافئ فقط من هم في السلطة ومتجاهلًا باقي أفراد المجتمع. وخضع هذا النموذج الاقتصادي لمزيد من الضغوط حين خفضت بغداد موازنة "حكومة إقليم كردستان" في 2014، ما جعل هذه الأخيرة غير قادرة على دفع الرواتب في موعدها وتأخيرها لأشهر عديدة.

وإذ تعهدت الحركة بالحكم وفق منصة إصلاحية مناهضة للفساد، حققت "كوران" نتائج جيدة في الانتخابات البرلمانية في كل من "حكومة إقليم كردستان" والعراق بين العاميْن 2013 و2014. فقد حصلت على أصوات العديد من الناخبين في دوائر "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" وبالفعل حصدت 9 مقاعد في الانتخابات البرلمانية العراقية عام 2014، في وقت حصل فيه الاتحاد على 21 مقعدًا. لكن فوز "كوران" الانتخابي لم يُترجم في سلطة فعلية ضمن مؤسسات "حكومة إقليم كردستان" نظرًا إلى سيطرة "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" و"الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني" على المؤسسات الأمنية والعسكرية وغيرها من المؤسسات المهمة في الإقليم.  بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يمكن إلقاء اللوم على تعيين كوران للوزراء غير الأكفاء في حكومة إقليم كردستان بسبب تقليص المقاعد التي حصل عليها الحزب في الانتخابات بشكل عام؟

وبالتالي، أدّى ذلك إلى إحباط قادة الحركة وكذلك ناخبيها، ما حال دون وفائها بوعودها الانتخابية السابقة. وفي المقابل، ساد التشاؤم وخيبة الأمل حيال أي تغيير مجدٍ خلال العملية الانتخابية في إقليم كردستان العراق.

وانعكست خيبة الأمل هذه في انتخابات 12 أيار/مايو حيث بلغت نسبة الإقبال الوطنية 44.5 في المائة. وقد أتت النسبة أفضل بقليل في محافظات إقليم كردستان مسجلةً 48 في المائة - توزعت على الشكل التالي: السليمانية 50 في المائة، إربيل 43 في المائة ودهوك 51 في المائة. ويشير ذلك إلى أن 52 في المائة من الناخبين المؤهلين لم يصوتوا في إقليم كردستان لأي حزب. ويبقى السؤال الذي يطرح نفسه: من هي نسبة 52 في المائة من الناخبين هذه؟ يكمن أحد التفسيرات المحتملة في أن هذه الأغلبية من الناخبين مؤلفة ممن فقدوا الأمل في العملية الانتخابية وكذلك كافة الأحزاب السياسية، بما فيها "كوران" والأحزاب الإسلامية و"تحالف الديمقراطية والعدالة" المشكّل حديثًا. ويبدو أن هؤلاء الناخبين يعتقدون أنه لا فرق بين أي من الأحزاب السياسية وأن أصواتهم ستغني ببساطة المرشحين بينما يبقون في حالة الفقر التي يعيشونها.

في المقابل، يبدو أن 48 في المائة من الناخبين الذين شاركوا في العملية الديمقراطية يشكّلون القاعدة الوفية لكافة الأحزاب السياسية الكردية. وعلى غرار "قاعدة الورقة الرابحة"، صوتوا للفصائل التي ينتمون إليها بغض النظر عن فشلها أو نجاحها في السابق. بعبارة أخرى، الإيديولوجية تنتصر على السياسية. على سبيل المثال، أثبت "الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني" أنه يملك قاعدة خارجية وفية في معقليه التقليديين إربيل ودهوك. لكن الإقبال المتدني في هاتين المحافظتين على سبيل المثال، مقارنةً بالإقبال الذي فاق 90 في المائة على استفتاء الاستقلال قبل ستة أشهر فقط، يجب أن يُنذر الحزب بأن قاعدته الوفية تتقلص في وجه السياسات الفاشلة والفساد والحوكمة السيئة، بما في ذلك تفاقم الوضع الاقتصادي. ويبدو أيضًا أن "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" يمتلك قاعدة وفية قوية. فقد حصد 8 مقاعد في السليمانية مقابل 6 في 2014 وحافظ على مقاعده الستة في كركوك.     

في الواقع، يمكن دمج نظرية "القاعدة الوفية" هذه مع الإقبال المتدني في معاقل المعارضة على غرار السليمانية وحلبجة وغيرهما من المناطق خلال الاستفتاء على الاستقلال الذي جرى العام الفائت. فقد عارضت حركة "كوران" ووقفت ضد الاستفتاء، داعيةً مناصريها إلى عدم المشاركة في العملية كما فعلت حركة "الجيل الجديد" التي برزت مع انطلاق استفتاء العام الفائت. وفي دهوك وإربيل، معقلي "الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني" التقليديين، تجاوزت نسبة الإقبال 90 في المائة. لكنها بلغت 50 في المائة في السليمانية، معقل "كوران" و55 في المائة في حلبجة. مجددًا، يشير ذلك إلى أن القاعدة الوفية لكل من "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" و"الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني" صوّتت لصالح الاستفتاء في هاتين المنطقتين، في حين أن مكونات المعارضة وغيرها فقدت إيمانها بالعملية ولازمت منازلها.

وخلال انتخابات عام 2014، بلغت نسبة الإقبال على التصويت 72.1 في المائة في إقليم كردستان، بينما بلغت 70.6 في المائة في أربيل، و72 في المائة في السليمانية، و73.9 في دهوك. وفى ظل تلك النسبة المرتفعة من الإقبال على التصويت، برزت حركة "كوران" كفائز في الانتخابات التي عقدت في إقليم كردستان في محافظة السليمانية، حيث حصلت على 12 مقعدًا من أصل 32 مقعدًا في المحافظات، يتبعها الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني الذي حصل على 12 مقعدًا. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، حققت "كوران" نجاحات في معاقل الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني، حيث حصلت على 4 مقاعد من أصل 30 مقعدًا في العاصمة الكردية أربيل ومقعدًا آخر في معقل الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني في محافظة دهوك.

هذا وتراجع عدد مقاعد "كوران" في السليمانية من 7 في 2014 إلى 5 في انتخابات 2018. وعلى الرغم من وجود مخاوف مشروعة من تزوير الانتخابات على نطاق واسع، ومدعومة بوثائق تسربت من المفوضية العليا المستقلة للانتخابات، ومدعومة بتصريحات أدلى بها سعيد كاكاي الذي كان عضو في المفوضية ومسؤول كوران، إلا أن تراجع الحركة الانتخابي لا يبدو احتيالًا انتخابيًا بقدر ما هو خسارة القاعدة الانتخابية لصالح منضمين جدد على غرار "تحالف الديمقراطية والعدالة" و"الجيل الجديد" إلى ساحة انتخابية مكتظة أساسًا وتنافسية في "حكومة إقليم كردستان". فقد فازت حركة "الجيل الجديد" بقيادة شاسوار عبد الواحد بأربعة مقاعد - اثنان في السليمانية واثنان في إربيل، في حين حصد "تحالف الديمقراطية والعدالة" مقعدًا في السيلميانية وآخر في إربيل. وعلى غرار "كوران"، ترشّحت حركة "الجيل الجديد" و"تحالف الديمقراطية والعدالة" على أساس محاربة "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" و"الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني"، مروجين لحوكمة جيدة ومساءلة.

ويشير هذا إلى أن 6 مقاعد محتملة كان من الممكن أن تذهب إلى كوران في غياب "تحالف الديمقراطية والعدالة" و"الجيل الجديد"، وبذلك يصل إجمالي مقاعد كوران إلى 9 مقاعد، وهو نفس عدد المقاعد الإجمالية التي حققتها كوران في عام 2014. ومن ناحية أخرى، انخفض إجمالي المقاعد البرلمانية التي حققها "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" من 21 في عام 2014 إلى 18 في عام 2018. في المقابل، خسر الحزبان الإسلاميان الآخران "كومال" و"الاتحاد الإسلامي الكردستاني" نسبة الخمسين في المائة من مقاعدهما بالمقارنة بالانتخابات السابقة. وقد يكون السبب الآخر وراء الأداء السيئ لكوران هو فشل الحركة في إطلاق قاعدتها بقوة أكبر، ودفع الأصوات المستقلة للتصويت لصالح الحزب. كما يمكن أن يكون وفاة الزعيم المعروف للحركة نوشيروان مصطفى في أيار/ مايو عام 2017 سبباً آخر لفشل الحزب في جذب المزيد من الأصوات في عام 2018، نظراً لأن قادة الحزب الحاليين يفتقرون إلى سمات زعيمه الراحل.

تعرضت الديمقراطية في إقليم كردستان العراق للاحتيال والتزوير في انتخابات 2018 وفى الاستحقاقات الانتخابية السابقة.، حيث استخدمت الأحزاب الحاكمة سلطتها لتخويف المعارضين، والتلاعب بالانتخابات لصالحهم. ومن ثم، ولتفادي زعزعة صورة حكومة إقليم كردستان دوليا، ولإعادة الثقة في النظام الانتخابي كطريقة لحل النزاع السلمي، يجب إجراء تحقيق شامل في إقليم كردستان للوقوف عل حقيقة دعاوى الاحتيال والتزوير التي أدعتها كوران والأطراف الأخرى. إضافة إلى ذلك، فان انخفاض نسبة الإقبال على التصويت الذي أججه ووجهه التشاؤم حيال أي تغيير مجدٍ خير تفسير لخسارة "كوران" وغيرها من الأحزاب الكردية الأصغر حجمًا أمام أحزاب راسخة على غرار "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" و"الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني" اللذين يتمتعان بتنظيم أفضل ونظام رعاية أقوى.  وأخيراً، سيتم إجراء الانتخابات البرلمانية في إقليم كردستان في سبتمبر 2018، ومن ثم، فإن فشل حركة كوران والمعارضة في جلب نسبة 52 في المائة الأخرى من الناخبين المؤهلين إلى مراكز الاقتراع، يجب أن يكون بمثابة نداء استيقاظ للحركة وللأحزاب الأخرى. لذلك فإن الطريق إلى الأمام والفوز بالانتخابات القادمة سوف يعتمد على مدى ومقدار استفادة تلك الأحزاب من هذا الاحتياطي الناقص من الناخبين.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Kurdish Opposition Parties Lost in May 12th Election: Does Fraud Explain it?


Also available in العربية

May 23, 2018

The Independent High Electoral Commission (IHEC) announced the official results of the Iraqi parliamentary election on the early hours of May 19 after several delays. In the Kurdistan Region of Iraq, the unofficial and the official results were mired by claims of widespread electoral fraud in favor of the two ruling parties—the Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK) and the Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP). To the surprise of many, the PUK made a comeback compared to the last two elections by garnering eighteen parliamentary seats, while the KDP retained most of its seats by winning twenty-eight. Opposition groups such as the Change Movement (Gorran) fared more poorly, with Gorran winning only five seats, the New Generation Movement four seats, and only two seats each for the Coalition for Democracy and Justice (CDJ), Islamic Group (Komal) and Kurdistan Islamic Union (KIU). Other smaller Kurdish parties failed to win any seats.

Following the official closing of polling stations and early preliminary results on May 12, the situation in Sulaymaniyah province, the bastion of the opposition groups as well as the PUK, became so tense that it resulted in violence. A PUK commander ordered his armed men to attack the main headquarters of Gorran, which split from the PUK in 2006. Gorran has contested the results of the election, claiming it would not accept the outcome because of inconsistency and fraud. Reportedly, armed PUK men also surrounded the headquarters of CDJ—led by former PUK Kurdish Prime Minister Bahram Salih—but Salih's effective communication skills with other PUK leaders thwarted the attack. Although there were no reports of injuries, this threat of violence is an indication that the ruling Kurdish parties are unlikely to quit power easily. They are willing to resort to force in order to ensure their grip on both political and economic power, which have provided them with strong patronage networks, and in turn a loyal electoral base.

In the past two elections, Gorran had capitalized on the widespread dissatisfaction with the KDP and PUK's hold on the Kurdistan Region, which was plagued with bad governance, corruption, failed institutions, and an economy that only rewarded those at the top while ignoring the rest of society. This economic model further came under stress when Baghdad cut the Kurdish Regional Government's (KRG) budget in 2014, which meant that the KRG was unable to pay salaries on time and is still behind payments by several months.

Running on a reformist, anti-corruption platform, Gorran did very well in both 2013 KRG and 2014 Iraqi parliamentary elections. The new party won over many of the PUK’s electoral constituents and garnered nine seats in the national parliamentary election, while the PUK received twenty-one. But Gorran’s electoral win did not translate into real power within KRG institutions, since the PUK and KDP continued to control security, military, and other important institutions of the Kurdistan Region. In addition, Gorran’s appointment of incompetent ministers in the KRG cabinet can also be blamed for the party’s recent electoral shrink.

Consequently, this led to both the party’s leaders and voters becoming frustrated by Gorran's inability to fulfil its previous electoral promises. In turn, there was pessimism and disappointment about the ability to make any meaningful change through the Kurdistan Region's electoral process.

The May 12 elections reflected such disappointment, where national Iraqi turnout reached only 44.5 percent, and with KRG provinces faring little better at a 48 percent turnout—with 50 percent in Sulaymaniyah, 43 percent in Erbil, and 51 percent in Duhok. This implies that 52 percent of the Kurdistan Region's eligible voters did not vote for any party. The question remains: who are these disaffected voters? One possible explanation is that this majority of voters has lost faith in the electoral process and all political parties, including Gorran, the Islamist parties, the newly formed CDJ, and the New Generation Movement. These voters appear to believe that there is no distinction between any of the political parties and that casting their votes would only enrich candidates while they themselves remain impoverished.

In contrast, the 48 percent of voters who took part in the democratic process seem to represent the loyal bases of all the Kurdish political parties. Like the American “Trump base,” they vote for their respective factions regardless of past failures or successes. In other words, ideology trumps policy. For example, the KDP has proven to have an extremely loyal base in its traditional stronghold of Erbil and Duhok. However, the low turnout in these two provinces, for example, compares to the over 90 percent turnout for the independence referendum just six months ago. These figures should alert the party that its loyal base, while still present, is shrinking in the face of failed policies, corruption, and bad governance. The PUK also appears to have a strong loyal base, retaining its six seats in Kirkuk and garnering eight seats in Sulaymaniyah compared to its six seats in 2014.

In fact, this notion of a “loyal base” can be corroborated by the low voter turnout in opposition strongholds such as Sulaymaniyah, Halabja, and other areas during last year’s independence referendum. Gorran challenged and stood against the referendum, calling on its supporters to not take part in the process. In the KDP’s traditional strongholds of Duhok and Erbil, the turnout was over 90 percent. But in Sulaymaniyah, Gorran’s stronghold, the turnout was 50 percent, and in Halabja 55 percent. Again, these numbers indicate that the KDP and PUK's loyal bases in these areas voted for the referendum, while opposition constituents and others who had lost faith in the process stayed home. 

Furthermore, in the 2014 provincial election, the regional voter turnout was 72.1 percent—with 70.6 percent in Erbil, 72 percent in Sulaymaniyah, and 73.9 percent in Duhok. With such a high turnout, Gorran emerged as the winner in the province of Sulaymaniyah, garnering twelve out of thirty-two provincial seats, equal in number to the PUK's twelve seats. In addition, Gorran made inroads into KDP strongholds, winning four out of thirty seats in Erbil and another seat in the pro-KDP province of Duhok.

However, Gorran’s Iraqi parliamentary seats in Sulaymaniyah decreased from seven in 2014 to five in 2018 elections. Although there are legitimate concerns of widespread fraud and election rigging, supported by leaked documents from IHEC and statements made by IHEC member and Gorran official Said Kakae, the shrinking of Gorran’s electoral base also appears to have resulted from losing electoral ground to newcomers such as the CDJ and the New Generation Movement in the KRG's already crowded and competitive electoral battlefield. The New Generation Movement led by Shaswar Abdulwahid won four seats—two each in Sulaymaniyah and Erbil—while CDJ also gained a seat in Sulaymaniyah and another in Erbil. Like Gorran, both CDJ and the New Generation Movement also ran on anti-KDP and PUK platforms, promising good governance and accountability. This indicates that six potential seats could have gone to Gorran in the absence of CDJ and the New Generation Movement, which would have brought Gorran’s total seats to nine, the same number as in 2014.

Moreover, PUK’s total parliamentary seats have actually decreased from twenty-one seats in 2014 to eighteen in 2018. The two Islamic parties, Komal and KIU, lost 50 percent of their seats compared to last election as well. Another reason for Gorran’s bad performance could be the failure of the movement to fire up its base and inspire independents to vote for the party. The death of Gorran’s charismatic leader Nawshirwan Mustafa in May 2017 also could also be a reason that the party did not attract more votes in 2018, since the current leaders of Gorran lack the characteristics of its late leader.

Democracy in the Kurdistan Region has been tainted with fraud both in the 2018 and past elections, where the ruling parties have used their power to intimidate dissidents and rig the elections in their favor. To bolster the image of the KRG internationally and to reinject faith in the electoral system as a way of peaceful conflict resolution, the fraud claims by Gorran and other parties warrant a thorough investigation. Having said that, the low turnout, fueled by pessimism thatany meaningful change can occur, could also explain the loss of Gorran and other smaller Kurdish parties to the established parties like KDP and PUK, which enjoy better organization and a stronger patronage system. Lastly, the Kurdistan Region will hold a parliamentary election in September 2018. This month's failure to get 52 percent of the eligible voters out to vote should be a wake-up call for Gorran and other parties. The way forward to win the next election will depend on how much opposition parties can tap into this disappointed reserve of voters.

Edited July 5, 2018.

Customize your RSS Feed