أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

العراق بحاجة إلى قائد ذي رؤية


متاح أيضاً في English

16 آب/أغسطس 2018

نجحت الدولة العراقية منذ سقوط نظام صدام حسين في التغلب على سلسلة من الأزمات الأمنية التي وحّدت الشعب بوجه عدوٍّ مشترك. فخلال الحرب ضد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش" مثلاً، تضافر العراقيون من مختلف الانتماءات ووقفوا بجانب الحكومة. ولكن ما لبث أن انتهى القتال حتى عاد سياسيو الدولة إلى منهج الفساد والمآرب الشخصية فيما تحوّل التأييد الشعبي لزعماء البلاد إلى موجة احتجاجات ضد سوء الإدارة.

وبالفعل فقد فشلت الحكومة حتى الآن في معالجة أو توحيد البلد بوجه التحديات التي تعيق تقدّمه كما فعلت إزاء التحديات الأمنية. ومع ذلك، من الممكن لموجة الاحتجاجات الراهنة أن تتيح فعليًا للقيادة العراقية فرصة الأخذ بالانتقادات الشعبية وتطبيق مخطط جديد يعيد توحيد البلاد. 

فإذا طبّقنا إطار العمل المنهجي الذي وضعه الخبير في شؤون القيادة كيث غرينت، يتبين أن الزعماء العراقيين يركزون على المشاكل الجوهرية (أي الأزمات) ويهملون التحديات "الوديعة" – أي المشاكل المتكررة التي يمكن معالجتها عبر التطبيق الثابت للحل المناسب منطقيًا – والتحديات "الخبيثة" – أي المشاكل التي لا يمكن معالجتها إلا بحلول غير مثالية ويجب دراستها بالمقارنة مع التحدي الأصلي.

وقد كان لهذه الاستراتيجية عواقب وخيمة على المستوى العام للحكم العراقي. فالمشاكل الجوهرية تستدعي استراتيجيةً إداريةً مختلفة عن أنواع التحديات الأخرى: وهي نمط السلطة السريع والحاسم الذي تم تطبيقه خلال الأزمة الأمنية التي مرت على البلاد عام 2003. ولكن الاتكال على السلطة جاء على حساب الإدارة الكفوءة والصبر والمرونة اللازمة لإدارة المشاكل "الوديعة" على غرار الضعف المتواصل في البنى التحتية العراقية للخدمات.

علاوةً على ذلك، لم تحرز الحكومات العراقية المتعاقبة أي تقدم في التعامل مع مشاكل العراق الخبيثة. ولا شك في أن هذه التحديات هي الأصعب بطبيعتها، لا سيما وأن العلاقة بين المسبب والنتيجة غامضة في غالب الأحيان. ومن الأمثلة الأخرى عن هذه المشاكل الخبيثة نسبيًا هي الفساد والبيروقراطية الخانقة في العراق. وامتلاك الرؤية أمرٌ في غاية الأهمية للتعامل مع هذا النوع من التحديات – وهذه ميزة افتقرت إليها القيادات العراقية.

وقد أثبتت الحكومات العراقية مدى أهمية الرؤية في ما تم تحقيقه وما لم يتم تحقيقه على مدى السنوات الخمس عشرة الماضية. إذ وجد العراق في المالكي صورة الزعيم القوي وفي العبادي صورة الشخصية الموحِّدة، ولكن أيًا من هذين الزعيمين لم يبدِ "رؤيةً" لمعالجة مشاكل البلاد في ما يتعدى نطاق المشاكل الأمنية. لذلك يواجه العراق كل أربعة سنوات صعوبة في حسم البحث عن مرشح ما عدا رئيس الوزراء الحالي وتم اختيار مرشح توافقي غير متوقع في اثنين من الحكومات الثلاث الماضية.

فحين استلم حيدر العبادي رئاسة الحكومة للمرة الأولى عام 2014، وهو مرشح توافقي، اعتُبر سلوكه الدبلوماسي أسلوبًا قياديًا ملائمًا للسلام أكثر منه للحرب. ولكن العبادي برهن عن قدرته على توحيد الفصائل المختلفة لمشاركته الحكم. فتمت الإطاحة بتنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام" خلال فترة حكمه، وتم التعامل مع أزمة الاستفتاء الذي أجري في كردستان العراق بطريقة تفادت زعزعة الاستقرار في المنطقة بأسرها.

ومع ذلك، وبينما تحلى العبادي بالعديد من صفات القائد الجيد، ستحتاج المهمة الملقاة على عاتق رئيس الوزراء المقبل أكثر من مجرد مزايا فردية. فهي تستلزم شخصًا له رؤية يتوحّد حولها العراقيون وليس تهديدًا يجبرهم على التوحد كما كان عليه الحال مع "الدولة الإسلامية"، فيعمل هذا الشخص من خلال هذه الرؤية على معالجة مشاكل البلاد الجوهرية والوديعة والخبيثة بكفاءة. ولكن في المرحلة التي يتحسن فيها الوضع الأمني، من شأن فشل الحكومة المتواصل في تأمين الخدمات أو معالجة الفساد والبيروقراطية أن يشوّه إرث العبادي، لا بل أيضًا صورة العراق ما بعد "البعث" ككل.

إلا أنّ المطالبات الشعبية بقيادة ذات رؤية والمنبثقة من جنوب العراق تحمل بعض التفاؤل. فالاحتجاجات المتواصلة تبيّن أن المواطنين العراقيين لن يسمحوا للحكومة بالاستمرار بإهمال التحديات الخبيثة والوديعة في العراق.

ففي الواقع، ثمة قيود معينة على نوع الحكومة القادرة على الاستجابة لمطالب المتظاهرين بشكلٍ مرضٍ. إذ يجب أن تنبثق الرؤية من أجل العراق عن زعيمٍ سياسي، فالمؤسسة الدينية لن ولا تستطيع الانخراط بشكل مباشر لأن نظام الحكم في العراق ليس دينيًا. وآية الله العظمى علي السيستاني لم يتدخل في الخطاب السياسي إلا عندما أصبح وجود الدولة العراقية مهددًا، ولم يتدخل إلا للتشديد على الخصائص الديمقراطية للبلاد. وفي حين أن ممثلي السيستاني يلقون أسبوعيًا المواعظ السياسية، تأتي هذه الأخيرة على سبيل النصح للمواطنين والزعماء السياسيين وليس بمثابة قانون أمر واقع. من هنا ينبغي على زعماء العراق السياسيين أن يعالجوا المشاكل المتعلقة بهيكل الحكومة نفسها من خدمات لا يعتدّ بها وفساد وبيروقراطية.

ونظرًا لمخاطر التدخل الخارجي وظهور ميل لدى الشباب بالتحسّر على زمن الاستبداد، فإن استمرار آلية الحوكمة بوضعها القائم لن يتسبب للناس بالمزيد من الصعاب فحسب، بل قد يهدد في النهاية النظام الديمقراطي في العراق إذا ما ظهر نظام استبدادي "ذو رؤية" يَعِد بالخدمات التي يحتاجها العراقيون أشدّ الحاجة.

ومن أجل تفادي هذا المستقبل، يجب على الحكومة العراقية المقبلة أن تولي اهتمامها للمطالب التي تحملها التظاهرات الحالية: فهذه الاحتجاجات فريدة بمطالبها الموحّدة ونطاقها الأوسع، وإذا نُظّمت بشكل أفضل تمكّنت من إحداث "حسٍّ بالإلحاح" ضروري لحدوث تغيرات حكومية. وبحسب خبراء التحوّل والتغيير، قد تؤمّن هذه الأصوات الضغط اللازم لإرغام زعماء العراق على وضع رؤية للتغيير، تتعامل مع مشاكل البلاد الخبيثة والوديعة إلى على أنها أزمات يجب حلها.

الرؤية التي يحتاجها العراق هي سياسة حيادية ومتنوعة للاقتصاد والطاقة من اجل تقوية الدولة العراقية وتطوير قدرتها على تحقيق التوازن بين القوى الإقليمية الفاعلة في سياستها الخارجية كشريك مستقل. إن وجود دولة عراقية اقوى مع خدمات أفضل وفساد وبيروقراطية اقل سوف تسمح للقائد الديمقراطي إن يوحد جميع الفصائل العراقية خلفه أو خلفها.

 

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Iraq Needs a Leader with Vision


Also available in العربية

August 16, 2018

Since the fall of Saddam Hussein’s regime, the Iraqi state has successfully weathered a series of security crises that united the public against a common enemy. For example, during the war with the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS), Iraqis from different backgrounds joined forces and rallied behind the government. Yet after the fighting ended, national politics became marred by corruption and self-serving agendas once again, while the public’s support of the country’s leaders morphed into a wave of protests against poor governance.

Indeed, the government have so far failed to solve or unite the country around the types of challenges that are currently holding Iraq back in the same way it did around security challenges. Nonetheless, the current wave of protests may actually provide Iraqi leadership with an opportunity to incorporate popular criticisms and enact a new agenda that would once again bring the country together.

Applying the methodological framework of leadership expert Keith Grint, it appears that Iraqi leaders focus on critical problems (crises) while neglecting ‘tame’ challenges—recurring problems fixable through the steady application of the logically appropriate solution—and ‘wicked’ challenges—those issues that can only be addressed with imperfect solutions, which must be weighed against the original challenge.

This strategy has had dire consequences for the general level of Iraqi governance. Critical problems require a different management strategy than the other types of challenges: the swift and decisive mode of authority applied to the country’s security crisis since 2003. However, the reliance on authority has come at the expense of the competent administration, patience, and flexibility required to manage ‘tame’ problems, such as the continued weakness of Iraqi services infrastructure.

Moreover, successive Iraqi governments have made no progress dealing with Iraq’s wicked problems. To be sure, these challenges are naturally the most difficult to address, especially given that the relationship between cause and effect is often unclear. Iraq’s corruption and the stifling bureaucracy are good examples of these relatively intractable issues. In order to manage these types of challenges, vision is paramount—a quality that Iraqi leadership has lacked.

Iraq’s governments have demonstrated just how key vision is in what has and has not been accomplished in the past fifteen years. Iraq had a strongman in Maliki and a unifying figure in Abadi, yet neither leader displayed ‘vision’ to tackle the country’s issues beyond its security crises. This is why Iraq struggles to have a clear candidate for the premiership every four years other than the incumbent prime minister and has had an unexpected compromise candidate chosen in two of the last three government formations.

When Prime Minister Haider Al-Abadi first took office in 2014, his diplomatic demeanor was interpreted as a suitable leadership style for peace rather than war. However, Abadi proved his ability to unite different factions to govern alongside him. ISIS was defeated under his leadership, and the crisis of Iraqi Kurdistan’s referendum was managed in a way that prevented subsequent destabilization of the entire region.

Abadi has demonstrated that he possesses many of the qualities that characterize a good leader, but the task ahead of the next prime minister will need more than just individual qualities. The position requires someone who provides a uniting vision rather than a threat for Iraqis to rally behind, and through this vision tackle the country’s critical, tame, and wicked problems in a competent way. Now in a time of improved security, the government’s continuing failure to provide services or tackle corruption and bureaucracy can tarnish not just Abadi’s legacy, but that of post-Ba’athist Iraq altogether.

However, there is some sense of optimism in the popular demands for visionary leadership spreading from the south of Iraq. Ongoing protests have shown that Iraqi citizens will not allow the government to continue neglecting Iraq’s wicked and tame challenges any longer.

There are certain strictures on what type of government can respond to protesters' demands in a satisfying way. A vision for Iraq must come from a political leader; the religious establishment cannot and will not become directly involved because the Iraqi system is not a theocracy. Grand Ayatollah Ali Al-Sistani has intervened in political discourse only when the existence of the Iraqi state was in question, and did so to emphasize the country’s democratic qualities. And while Sistani’s representatives give weekly political sermons, these function as advice for citizens and political leaders rather than a kind of de-facto law. Thus, Iraq’s political leaders must fix the issues of their own governmental structures, like unreliable services, corruption, and bureaucracy.

Given the dangers of foreign intervention and a developing tendency among youths towards authoritarian nostalgia, a continuation of the status-quo in governance will not only push the people into further hardships, it could ultimately threaten Iraq’s democratic system if a ‘visionary’ authoritarian regime emerges that promises the services Iraqis so desperately need.

In order to avoid this potential future, the next Iraqi government should take heed of the appeals of the current demonstrations: unified in demands and larger in scale, these protests are unique and, if better organized, could create a ‘sense of urgency’ essential for governmental change. As transformation experts suggest, these voices may provide the necessary pressure to force Iraq’s leaders to develop a vision for change, ironically turning the country’s wicked and tame problems into a crisis in and of themselves.

The vision Iraq needs is one with an objective and diverse economic and energy policy to strengthen the Iraqi state and improve its ability to balance foreign policy between regional actors as an independent partner. A stronger Iraqi state accompanied with better services and less corruption and bureaucracy will allow a democratic leader to rally all factions of Iraqis behind him or her.

Customize your RSS Feed