أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الشعبوية المتعصبة هي بداية النهاية للبنان كدولة حداثية


متاح أيضاً في English

4 شرين الأول/أكتوبر 2019

يعيش لبنان اليوم معركة وجودية حول شخصيته وهويته ومستقبله. ليس من المبالغة القول بأن حصيلة هذه المعركة تقرّر نجاح لبنان كمشروع حداثي أو فشله. وحيث أنه لهذا الوطن مكانة هامة في الوعي العربي. وكما أن مسار لبنان في المراحل الماضية كان إذعاناً بما شهدته المنطقة، فإن تداعيات الفشل المحتمل قد تطال جواره.

ذلك أن الصيغة التعددية التي يعيشها لبنان كانت ولا تزال اختباراً في إمكانية تشكيل هوية ذاتية عربية لا تنطلق من التأطير الديني. يوم التأمت جامعة الدول العربية للمرة الأولى عام ١٩٤٥، دفع حضور الوفد اللبناني بأحد المشاركين إلى أن يسأل متندراً «لماذا لم تُوجّه الدعوة لليهود؟». فالوجه المسيحي للبنان كان ولا يزال يشكل تحدياً للبعض في المحيط العربي، فيما يرحّب به آخرون كملاذ من طغيان الأحادية.

واعتماد لبنان بمجموعه الوطني لنمط عيش يقترب من النموذج الغربي يجعل منه استثناءاً في جوار يرى بعضه في الحداثة، فيما يتعدى تلقف منتجاتها المادية، تجاوزاً لنظامه الاجتماعي القائم على الدين. والمجتمعات اللبنانية بعمومها، وإن بأقدار متفاوتة، تندرج في أطر ثقافة واستهلاك تحاكي تلك القائمة في دول الجنوب الأوروپي، أكثر منها لتلك السائدة في العمق البري للمنطقة، وتشكل متنفساً لدعاة التغيير فيها بعيدا عن التناقض المفترض بين الأصالة والحداثة.

على أن هذه السمات التي تجعل من لبنان وطناً على حدة هي اليوم في دائرة الخطر.

قدر كبير من الازدهار الذي شهده لبنان في منتصف القرن الماضي كان عائداً لاستفادته الناجعة من مصائب المنطقة. إذ وفّر لجوء الأرصدة والنخب من القاهرة ودمشق وبغداد، والتي عانت من الفوضى المتواصلة وغير الحاسمة، فرصة للبنان مكّنته من الارتقاء المادي والثقافي إلى مستويات عالمية. غير أن سياسة الانفتاح هذه قد أفسحت المجال كذلك لقيادة منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية، بتشكيلات فصائلها، للقدوم إليه والإقامة فيه على حساب استقراره وأمنه.

وبعد سلسلة حروب مدمّرة، أظهر لبنان في التسعينات ومطلع الألفية الجديدة ملامح الاستعداد للعودة إلى مكانته الطليعية في المنطقة. غير أن ثمة عاملين اعترضا ولا يزالان بشكل خطير، وربما دائم، قدرته على تحقيق هذه العودة.

أول هذين العاملين السيطرة الإيرانية المتقنة على لبنان كدولة وكمجتمع، والمتحققة من خلال وضع اليد المكشوف والمحكم والقريب من الكامل، سياسياً واجتماعياً واقتصادياً، على الطائفة اللبنانية الشيعية، والاختراق الدقيق لسائر الطوائف فيه.

أما العامل الثاني، وهو أكثر خفاءاً وإن وازى الأول أو تجاوزه من حيث المفعول، فهو التخلي المتصاعد داخل لبنان عن مشروع التحديث السياسي الذي قام هذا الوطن على أساسه.

ذلك أن لبنان، والذي يلامس مئوية تأسيسه، جاءت صياغته قبل قرن على أساس توافق بين فرنسا، بصفتها الدولة المنتدبة، والبطريركية المارونية، ونخبة اجتماعية ثقافية محلية، مسيحية بمعظمها ولكن ليس بتمامها، أن مسيرة التاريخ هي نحو الحداثة. فبدلاً من إقامة الدويلة ذات اللون الديني الواحد، والتي كان من شأنها توفير المأوى لمسيحيي المشرق، إنما الهشّ والمعرّض للأخطار، اعتمدت فكرة «لبنان الكبير» القادرة على إدارة التحولات السكانية المرتقبة، والتي كانت للتوّ واضحة على أنها لن تكون لصالح المسيحيين، من خلال دمج غيرهم (من المسلمين والدروز) في كيان سياسي مشترك قائم على الحداثة وقيم الأنوار.

أي أن لبنان، خلال القرن الكامل من وجوده المعاصر، قد شكّل إرهاصاً واختزالاً للإشكالية التي تفرض نفسها على الواقع العالمي بكامله اليوم، والمتجسدة بتجاور تطورين مستقلين قديرين: الأول هو التمدد المعنوي للقيم العالمية ومعايير الحداثة، وإن بأشكال متقطعة وغير مكتملة، والثاني هو التبدل السكاني الموهن لنفوذ الفئة الأكثر قابلية لاحتضان هذا التمدد المعنوي المتحقق.

وبشكل أولي، جرى اعتماد التوزيع الطائفي كأساس للحياة السياسية في لبنان الجديد بُعيد إعلان قيامه، بما يمنح المسيحيين أفضلية طفيفة. وكان الاعتبار، المفرط بالتفاؤل ربما، أن يكون هذا التوزيع مرحلياً، بانتظار استتباب تدريجي للنظام التمثيلي الصادق غير المميِّز. أما الواقع، فإنه بعد انقضاء القرن على قيام لبنان، يبدو هدف إقامة النظام السياسي المتساوي المنفتح أصعب منالاً اليوم مما كان عليه ساعة إعلان دولة لبنان الكبير.

غير أنه يمكن التقدم بالطرح المتماسك بأن فشل لبنان الحالي كمشروع حداثي ليس نهائياً ولا حاصل لذاته، بل عائد إلى عوامل طارئة عليه وعرضية على جوهره، سواء كانت داخلية أو خارجية، من قصوره على مستوى المؤسسة السياسية الحديثة واستمرار الأنماط الإقطاعية في نظام حكمه، إلى الأعباء الثقيلة الناتجة عن الصراعات في جواره. بل إن كل مراحل التاريخ اللبناني المعاصر - الانتداب والاستقلال والجمهورية الثانية - قد حفلت بتوجهات الاندماج الأفقي، أي المتجاوزة للطوائف والقائمة على اعتبارات ثقافية واقتصادية وسياسية، والمتحدية للإقطاعية الجديدة المستتبة في لبنان، بما يفتح المجال أمام قيام دورة وطنية جامعة. كما يمكن الإشارة إلى شخصيات قيادية بارزة سعت إلى كسر القيود القائمة، مثل الرئيس الأسبق فؤاد شهاب، ورئيس الوزراء الراحل رفيق الحريري.

ولا شك أن ترسّخ الإقطاعية الجديدة، والقائمة على عامودية العلاقة الزبائنية والخدماتية بين الزعامات وقواعدها الشعبية، وعلى شرعنة تقاسم الموارد والمواقع بين هذه الزعامات، يجعل منها للتوّ خصماً صعباً للتوجهات الأقل ثباتاً والتي تعبّر عن المصالح الأفقية المشتركة للجمهور اللبناني ككل. ويأتي العبء الإضافي المنهك للاحتلال الإيراني الملتبس للبنان، والقائم على تبعية علنية للولي الفقيه لدى البعض، ليضاعف من الشعور باليأس من إمكانية قيام لبنان متطور.

على أن الضربة القاضية لاحتمالات نجاح المشروع الحداثي في لبنان قد تكون في التخلي الصريح والمتعمد عن الصيغة التعددية والتي قام هذا الوطن على أساسها لصالح صيغة «ائتلاف الطوائف»، بما يشكل إعلاناً سافراً لفشل فكرة «لبنان الكبير»، في سعي عقيم لتطبيق حلول غير قابلة للدوام.

فكل من رئيس الجمهورية ميشال عون وصهره جبران باسيل، وزير الخارجية الحالي والخلف العتيد بالرئاسة، قد يأتي أحياناً على إشهار أدبيات خطابية وطنية، غير أنهما قد برهنا عن اندراج ثابت ضمن منطق لبنان كائتلاف للطوائف، ولا سيما في إصرارهم المتواصل على التأكيد على «حماية حقوق المسيحيين». واقع الحال هو أن اللبنانيين المسيحيين قد أمسوا أقلية عددية في المجموع السكاني العام، ما أدّى، ضمن نظام المناصفة الذي يمنح المسيحيين والمسلمين حصة متساوية في المجلس النيابي، إلى فوز عدد من النواب المسيحيين بمقاعدهم بأكثرية من أصوات ناخبين مسلمين. وهذا في اعتبار عون وغيره يشكل تعدياً على حقوق المسيحيين، ويستوجب التصحيح من خلال انتخاب كل طائفة لنوابها، بما يمنح وزناً مضاعفاً لأصوات الناخبين المسيحيين بالمقارنة مع المسلمين.

ويتبجح عون وباسيل بحالات متكررة من الاستيلاء على المواقع لصالح التابعين لهم على أنه انتصار لحقوق المسيحيين - بالتمثيل غير المتساوي. وقد اعتمد باسيل كذلك، في سعيه إلى منصب الرئاسة خطاب حميه المتعصب والمستفز إزاء اللاجئين الفلسطينيين والسوريين.

وقد أدى هذا الخطاب إلى التصعيد اللفظي في الحوار اللبناني العام، كما في المواقف السياسية، وصولاً إلى الانحدار نحو العنصرية الوقحة. فحين أصدر رئيس إحدى البلديات التي تقطنها أكثرية مسيحية قراراً يمنع بموجبه غير المسيحين من الإقامة في بلدته، وهو محسوب على التيار السياسي للرئيس، لم يواجه بالأدانة. وحين أرادت إحدى الفنانات الإعراب عن امتعاضها لاعتراض اللاجئين الفلسطينيين على توجيهات جديدة أصدرها وزير العمل، فإنها دعت إلى إحراقهم، كما فعل هتلر باليهود، دون عواقب جدية.

وقد أثبتت الشعبوية المتعصبة أنها ظاهرة تتسبب بالعدوى، فالضرر الذي يطال الخطاب السياسي في لبنان اليوم جلي، إذ يعمد خصوم عون وباسيل من السياسيين المسيحيين إلى المزايدة في التعصب، ما يطلق دورة متواصلة من العدائية والتطرف ويدفع الخطاب الوطني إلى الاهتراء.

وبالفعل، يمنح الخطاب الشعبوي المتعصب بعض السياسيين المسيحيين شعوراً بالتمكين، بما ينسجم مع مصلحة إيران في متابعة العصبيات الطائفية في لبنان، لتعزيز إمساكها بالطائفة الشيعية، ولمنع قيام خطاب لبناني جامع متجاوز للطوائف وقادر على مواجهة هيمنتها. على أن التلاقي في المصالح بين عون وباسيل وإيران من شأنه الإضرار العميق بلبنان كدولة حداثية، ومن شأنه تباعاً اعتراض استمرار الوجود المسيحي الفاعل فيه.

فمن يعتنق الشعبوية المتعصبة ويجاهر بالفئوية الطائفية في هويته السياسية، ويتراجع قولاً وفعلاً عن وعد لبنان التعددي الجامع، والذي صاغه المؤسسون لهذا الوطن قبل مئة عام، يتخلى عن السبيل الأنجع لمواجهة النتائج السلبية للتحول السكاني الأكيد - أي تشكيل مجتمع متحد على أساس القيم والحاضن لجميع مواطنيه دون تفضيل للأديان والطوائف. فالشعبوية المتعصبة تستدعي اليوم الاستعلائية الحضارية وتعيد انتاج تاريخ لبنان والمنطقة على أنه صراع بين المسيحية والإسلام. ومن شأن هذا التصوير إثارة العواطف وتحقيق النتائج الانتخابية لأصحابه. ولكنه، بالإضافة إلى أنه تشويه لتاريخ المنطقة، من شأنه للتوّ مضاعفة التوتر بين الطوائف والتسبب في عزل المسيحيين عن محيطهم وتعريضهم للأخطار.

فالصراع الوجودي في لبنان ليس بين المسيحيين والمسلمين، على ما في استعمال هذين المصطلحين من اختزال، بل هو ضمن الأوساط المسيحية بين من يئس من صيغة «لبنان الكبير» ولجأ إلى مقولة واهية بأن الامتيازات الآنية هي حقوق دائمة، وبين من أدرك أن السبيل لحماية حقوق المسيحيين وعموم اللبنانيين هو في الارتقاء نحو هوية لبنانية حداثية مستنيرة قائمة على التعددية والقيم العالمية.

وفي خضم سياق عالمي يجري فيه تطبيع الشعبوية وتتكاثر فيه المواقف المتعصبة والعنصرية، تسير النسخة اللبنانية من هذا الخطاب بخطى وثيقة إلى طرح المزيد من المادة المستفزة، مبتعدة بالوطن عمّا أراد له مؤسسوه. ولا بد بالتالي للأسف، بما يستنزف مصالح كافة اللبنانيين، من المسيحيين وغيرهم، ويحبط جميع المواطنين المستنيرين في سائر الدول العربية إذ اعتبروا أن لبنان هو الشعلة  في الليل العاصف، من الإقرار بأن فرص تحقيق الحداثة الصادقة في المنطقة تتراجع.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Bigoted Populism May Spell the End of Lebanon as a Modern State


Also available in العربية

October 4, 2019

An existential battle is raging in Lebanon regarding the country’s national character, identity, and prospects, with nothing less at stake than the success or failure of Lebanon as a modern project. Given that the country occupies a unique place in the wider Arab consciousness, the implications of its failure have the potential to reverberate regionally, especially since Lebanon’s path has often foreshadowed later developments in the region.

Lebanon’s pluralist composition was and remains a test case in the shaping of an Arab self-identity distinct from religious delineation. When the first meeting of the Arab League convened in 1945, Lebanon’s presence as a founding member prompted one participant to wonder loudly “so, why have we not invited the Jews?” The Christian face of Lebanon continues to challenge some Arab perspectives while serving as a welcome departure from oppressive homogeneity for others.

Lebanon’s acceptance of a quasi-Western lifestyle as a national norm also continues to place it as an exception in a region that can still view modernity—beyond the immersion in its material gadgets—as an affront to its religiously framed social order. Lebanon’s multiple communities have—albeit unevenly—developed patterns of culture and consumption more in line with the Southern European model than with its regional neighbors, providing for the latter as a result an alternative model away from the posited conflict between modernity and authenticity.

Today, the unique features of Lebanon are under threat.

The success of mid-century Lebanon was in good part due to its agility in leveraging regional afflictions to its advantage. Capital flight and elite migration from Cairo, Damascus, and Baghdad—all then suffering recurrent and inconclusive turmoil—provided Lebanon with funds and talent for a cosmopolitan prosperity. Alas, with the PLO’s leadership, as well as its rank and file, benefiting from comparable accommodation, Lebanon’s classical liberal order attracted the catalyst of its own demise.

And after being salvaged from a devastating series of wars in the latter half of the 20th century, Lebanon gave signs in the 1990s and early 2000s that it might be able to restore its status as a pioneer in the region. Two factors, however, have proved to be serious, maybe terminal, obstacles to such a restoration.

The first is the carefully crafted Iranian control of Lebanon as a state and society, achieved through both open political, social, and economic quasi-total stranglehold of Lebanon’s Shi’i community and the covert penetration of other communities.

Yet the second factor, more subtle but equally if not more powerful, is the increasing abandonment within Lebanon of its founding project of political innovation.

Lebanon was created close to a century ago amidst a conviction shared by France, as the Mandate power, the Maronite patriarchate, and a Lebanese socio-cultural elite—predominantly but not exclusively Christian—that the trajectory of history is towards modernization. Instead of a mono-religious enclave that may have offered the Christians of the Levant a precarious refuge, the idea of a “Greater Lebanon” sought to manage the expected demographic shift, which was readily understood to be numerically detrimental to the Christians, by a process of integration of non-Christians (Muslims and Druze) into a political commonwealth informed by modernity and the values of the enlightenment.

Thus, in the course of its century of its modern existence, Lebanon provided a harbinger and a microcosm of the problématique that is coming to the fore of global civilization today. It experienced two separate potent trends: (1) a cultural-civilizational expansion of universal values and modern norms, albeit along an imperfect and fragmented pattern, and (2) a demographic shift that challenged the demographic dominance of the core population whose predispositions are supportive of the cultural ascending trend.

The communitarian arrangement initially adopted as a basis for political life in Lebanon, while providing the Christians with a slight edge, was proclaimed to be temporary. It was assumed—perhaps over-optimistically—that this arrangement would be replaced by an unqualified democratic system. Yet a century later, Lebanon is objectively farther from the goal of liberal democracy than at its inception.

However, the case can be made that the current failure of Lebanon as a project of modernity should not be viewed as final and intrinsic, but ought to be attributed to incidental and tangential factors, both internal and external—from the deficiency in modern political organization and the perpetuation of feudal patterns, to the heavy burdens imposed by regional conflicts. Patterns of horizontal integration—across communities, on cultural, economic, and political premises—challenging Lebanese neo-feudalism and pointing to the emergence of a shared national cycle abounded at all periods of modern Lebanese history—Mandate, independence, civil war, and Second Republic. It is also possible to point to political leaders who sought to break the neo-feudal mold, such as former President Fouad Chéhab and former Prime Minister Rafik Hariri.

The strength of the neo-feudal system, with its elements of kleptocracy, patronage, clientelism, and widespread complicity seems on its own daunting to the fragile resistance offered by horizontal interests. The added burden of the “Satrapy”, Iran’s camouflaged occupation of a large political space in Lebanon, may indeed be responsible for the sense of despair in a modern Lebanon.

The real knock-out punch to the prospects of success of the project of modernity in Lebanon may however be in the deliberate abandonment of the original formula of an integrated pluralistic Lebanon in favor of the “confederation of communities” model—one that effectively declare the failure of the idea of “Greater Lebanon” while seeking untenable remedies.

President Michel Aoun and his son-in-law and putative successor Gebran Basil—despite occasional nationalist rhetoric—have both demonstrated an unwavering adherence to the idea of a “confederated” Lebanon. This is particularly visible in their repeated insistence of the need to “safeguard the rights of the Christians.” With Christians now a minority of the total population, Lebanon’s equal political sharing system between Christians and Muslims has resulted in many Christian Members of Parliament owing their seats to Muslim votes. Aoun and others have suggested this situation amounts to a denial of Christian rights, and should be remedied by each community electing its representatives, a system that would weight Christian votes over Muslim ones.

Aoun and Basil have flaunted successive power grabs for their associates as acts of championing the rights of their community—to over-representation. In his current pursuit of the presidency, Basil has embraced the provocative and bigoted rhetoric of his father-in-law, specifically targeting Syrian and Palestinian refugees.

This rhetoric is setting the tone for an escalation in Lebanese public discourse and eventual policy, which could easily develop into blatant racism. For example, the mayor of a majority-Christian town has recently declared that non-Christians will not be allowed to rent or buy property in his town and experienced no public backlash. Meanwhile, an entertainer, objecting to protests in refugee camps by Palestinians against new labor regulation measures, has called for them to be burned, openly invoking the Nazi “final solution” with no meaningful repercussions.

Bigoted populism has proven to be contagious. The damage to political culture in Lebanon is tangible, with Christian political rivals of Aoun and Basil driven to overbidding, setting in motion a vicious cycle of animosity, radicalization, and attrition of the common national discourse.

The new Lebanese Christian populists’ sense of empowerment is in harmony with Iran’s tactical interest in segmenting the Lebanese population along communitarian lines—both to strengthen its grip on the Shi‘i community and to prevent Lebanese unity across community lines from challenging its control. While Iran’s intentions are compatible with the immediate political interests of Aoun and Basil, all parties must recognize that feeding into them will severely damage Lebanon as a modern state and, ultimately, will deny a continuing meaningful Christian presence in it.

By retreating from the promise of an integrated pluralistic Lebanon, as contemplated by its founding parties, the promoters of identity politics and bigoted populism abandon the most effective antidote to the potentially damaging cultural effects of the inevitable demographic shift—that of creating a community of values that welcomes all citizens, irrespective of religion and community. Populism is summoning tropes of supremacism and a recasting of the history of Lebanon and the region as a civilizational duel between Christianity and Islam. This “clash of civilizations” model may arouse passions and indeed secure the Christian electoral base for its promoters. But, while not reflective of the complex history of the region, it will amplify animosity and inter-community tensions in the Lebanese here and now, and will leave the Christian community isolated and vulnerable.

The existential conflict in Lebanon is not between “Christians” and “Muslims”. It is within the Christian community, between those who have despaired of the concept of “Greater Lebanon” and seek the questionable proposition in which untenable privileges are claimed to be permanent rights, and those who realize that safeguarding the rights of the Christians, and all Lebanese, is through the ascension towards a genuinely modern and enlightened Lebanese identity accepting of pluralism and universal values.

In an international climate that has normalized populism and is awash with bigoted and racist discourse, bigoted populism confidently advances in Lebanon, sliding the country away from the path chosen by its founders. To the detriment of all Lebanese, Christians and otherwise, and to the chagrin of enlightened citizens of Arab countries from whom Lebanon may have been the canary in the mine, the prospects of genuine modernity in the region may be receding.

Customize your RSS Feed