أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

أزمة الخلافة في الجزائر: انقسامات كثيرة، وما من منتصر


متاح أيضاً في English

21 أيلول/سبتمبر 2018

في السنوات التي تلت الربيع العربي، ظلت الجزائر معزولة إلى حد كبير عن الفوضى والاضطرابات التي انتشرت بسرعة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط. ومع ذلك، يتنامى الشعور بالاستياء وعدم الرضا فيها، كما تواجه البلاد بشكل متزايد وصفة تنذر بوقوع أزمة. فأسعار النفط المنخفضة، ومطالب الشباب المتنامية، وانعدام الأمن في البلدان المجاورة مثل ليبيا والساحل تشكّل كلها تحديات خطيرة للحكومة الجزائرية. وفي حين أظهر النظام قدرة على إدارة هذه الأزمات بطريقة منضبطة، فإن انتقال السلطة في حال توفي الرئيس بوتفليقة أو ترك منصبه بشكل غير متوقع سيمثّل تحديًا أساسيًا بالنسبة للجزائر في الأعوام القادمة.

إن مسألة الخلافة غالبًا ما يُساء فهمها، حتى في كافة أنحاء العالم العربي، حيث أنّ بوتفليقة هو العضو الأبرز في النخبة الجزائرية. ولكن، للتمكّن من فهم القوى الفاعلة وراء النظام الذي سيؤثر على سياسات الخلافة يجب فهم النظام الحاكم في الجزائر والأنماط التي شكلت المشهد السياسي الجزائري. وفي هذا السياق، لقد فرّق النظام السياسي المعقد في الجزائر مراكز السلطة، كما لا يخضع لسيطرة أي شخص أو مؤسسة، خلافًا للنموذج الأوتوقراطي الأكثر شيوعًا والمعتمد من قبل الدول العربية الأخرى.

يعتمد النظام السياسي الجزائري منذ الاستقلال على ديناميكيتين حاسمتين لموازنة القوة. أولاً، لقد استمد الرئيس الجزء الأكبر من مصداقيته من الذاكرة الجماعية لحرب الجزائر من أجل الاستقلال ومشاركته فيها. ثانيًا، إنّ تقاسم السلطة بين "جماعة تلمسان" في غرب الجزائر و"الجماعة الشرقية" - اللتين تقسمان كافة شرائح الشعب الجزائري الرئيسية – يوفر لكلاهما حصة دائمة من السلطة داخل النظام الحكومي. وغالبًا ما يكون هذا النظام قوة توازن داخل الحكومة ونظام المعارضة، حيث تتناوب الائتلافات الحاكمة بين مختلف الأطراف مع مرور الوقت. فمنذ استقلال الجزائر، أدى تقاسم السلطة بين الجماعتين إلى مجموعة واسعة من الترتيبات السياسية التي ضمنت فيها العناصر الرئيسية للجماعتين مواقف حكومية رسمية و "نفوذًا" يصعب قياسه.

تبرز هذه الديناميكيات في تقاسم السلطة في فترة ولاية بوتفليقة كما في الفترات السابقة تمامًا. فالتحالف بين الرئيس، الذي يمثل "جماعة تلمسان"، ورئيس أركان الجيش قايد صالح، الذي يتزعم "الجماعة الشرقية"، خلق قوة هرمية، تترابط فيها مصالح الجيش والرئاسة وأعضاء النخبة السياسية والاقتصادية.

في نصف القرن الذي مر على إنشائها، حافظت ديناميكيات النظام الجزائري على نمط العملية الانتقالية الدائمة للبلاد. ولكن، لم تعد القواعد التي تحكمه سارية المفعول، حيث أن معظم المحاربين القدامى الذين قاتلوا ضد الفرنسيين قد ماتوا. وعليه، فإن التسوية القائمة على المقياس الثاني للانشقاقات الاجتماعية قد لا توفر شرعية الديناميكية الأولى - أي المشاركة في الكفاح من أجل استقلال الجزائر. لذا، سيفتقر رئيس من جيل ما بعد الاستقلال إلى الشرعية الموضوعية والمصداقية التي يملكها بوتفليقة حاليًا. وعلاوة على ذلك، يزداد الغموض حول من الذي يملك سلطة حق النقض (الفيتو) على أعمال الحكومة، ومن بينها اختيار خليفة الرئيس. ونتيجة لذلك، تحوّل السعي الى تحقيق توافق في الآراء حول الخلافة إلى "حرب باردة" بسبب استمرار الخلافات. كما أدت "الحرب الباردة" هذه إلى الابتزاز السياسي، وركود الحكم، والتحولات السريعة في صنع السياسات، حيث تسعى مجموعة متغيرة من أصحاب النفوذ إلى السيطرة على اختيار خليفة بوتفليقة.

التحضير لعام 2019

بعد تعرض بوتفليقة لجلطة دماغية في عام 2013، حدّ الرئيس من ظهوره العلني، ما أثار تكهنات وسائل الإعلام المحلية حول قدرته على إتمام ولايته. وفي هذا الإطار، وصف بوتفليقة نفسه بأنه "متعب سياسيًا" وأفاد بأنه قد "ولّت أيام جيلي". ومع ذلك، فقد فاجأ المراقبين عندما فاز في العهدة الرابعة في عام 2014، حيث أدلى بصوته وهو على كرسي متحرك.

تزداد التكهنات في الفترة التي تسبق انتخابات عام 2019، ومن بينها الاقتراح الداعي إلى تفعيل المادة 88 من الدستور الجزائري التي تنص على أنه "إذا استحال على رئيس الجمهورية ممارسة واجباته بسبب مرض خطير ومزمن، فإن المجلس الدستوري يقترح بالإجماع أن يكشف البرلمان عن الأسباب المعوقة". وتنص المادة أيضًا على أنه "يحق لرئيس الجمعية الوطنية تولي رئاسة الدولة القائمة بالتصرف لمدة أقصاها (45) يومًا". ولكن، في حال "لا يزال الرئيس غير قادر على مواصلة مهامه بعد انقضاء مهلة الـ (45) يومًا، يعلن البرلمان عن شغور منصب رئاسة الجمهورية".

في ظل هذه الظروف، يشكّل تعيين الخليفة أمرًا في غاية الأهمية لضمان انتقال السلطة سلميًا وبسلاسة. من الواضح أن الخطط مهيأة لمحاولة القيام بعملية انتقالية مستقرة، لكن من غير الواضح ما إذا كانت الدائرة المقربة من الرئيس تستطيع تمهيد الطريق لولاية خامسة مستقرة تحافظ على الوضع الراهن إلى أن يظهر مرشح توافقي.

لقد تصاعدت الحرب الباردة على الخلافة بعد انتخاب الرئيس مجددًا في عام 2014. وبدلاً من تأمين الاستقرار اللازم في فترة ما بعد ولاية بوتفليقة، أقصى هذا النزاع الداخلي عددًا من المرشحين المحتملين للرئاسة المستقبلية من دون توفير البدائل. كما أدت سلسلة من عمليات التسريح داخل النظام الجزائري إلى تغييرات كبيرة في المشهد السياسي، حيث كان بعضها من تدبير بوتفليقة نفسه. أولاً، سارع الرئيس إلى تفكيك الوكالة الجزائرية الشهيرة "دائرة الاستعلام والأمن" التابعة للسلطة الجزائرية عن طريق إقالة زعيم الدائرة المخضرم محمد مدين في عام 2015. ثم قام بوتفليقة بتغيير تسمية الوكالة من "دائرة الاستعلام والأمن" إلى "دائرة المراقبة والأمن"، واستبدالها بجهاز استخبارات خاضع للسيطرة الرئاسية كخطوة أخيرة لتعزيز قبضته على السلطة. ويشار إلى أن مدين كان يُعرف بـ "رب الجزائر"، وقد أتاحت إقالته مجالاً أكبر أمام بوتفليقة للجوء إلى عملية انتقالية هادئة. والآن، لا تملك "دائرة المراقبة والأمن" سلطة اتخاذ القرار بشأن مصير الجزائر السياسي، ويشمل ذلك اختيار خليفة للبلاد.

وفي هذا الإطار، هناك قوى أخرى تشارك إلى جانب الرئيس في معركة الخلافة هذه. فلقد أوقفت القوات الخاصة من البحرية الجزائرية سفينة مبحرة من فالنسيا وضبطت 701 كلغ من الكوكايين في ميناء وهران غرب الجزائر، وشملت قائمة المشتبه بهم المتورطين عددًا من الشخصيات العامة من بينهم قضاة ومدعون عامون ورؤساء بلديات، إلى جانب السائق الشخصي لـ "عبد الغني هامل" – المدير العام للأمن القومي والعضو في دائرة النخب السياسية الجزائرية الضيقة. نفى هامل الاتهامات واعتبرها هجومًا شخصيًا من قبل رئيس أركان الجيش قايد صالح. وبالفعل، دفعت الضغوطات التي مارسها صالح إلى إقصاء هامل من مركزه كمرشح محتمل لخلافة بوتفليقة، ما أدى إلى انتهاء مسيرته السياسية.

أمّا عبد المجيد تبون، رئيس الوزراء الأسبق، فكان ضحية أخرى لهذه الصراعات على السلطة. فقد تم إعفاؤه من منصبه كرئيس للوزراء بعد تعيينه بثلاثة أشهر فقط. إذ اعتبر كثيرون أن تبون هو من أتباع قايد صالح داخل النظام ومرشح محتمل للجماعة الشرقية، كما أضعف عزله موقف رئيس هيئة الأركان العسكرية في اختيار مرشح. وفي هذا الصدد، ذكرت مصادر حكومية أن هناك مشاكل تواصل بينه وبين الرئيس، لكن السبب الرئيسي وراء إقالته انبثق من مساعيه للحد من قوة بعض الأوليغارشية الحاكمة، بمن فيهم رئيس منتدى رؤساء المؤسسات علي حداد، الذي ينتمي للفصيل الرئاسي. فكان ذلك خطًا أحمر بالنسبة للدائرة المقربة من الرئيس.

خلال هذه الصراعات على السلطة، تمتنع كلتا الجماعتين عن العنف، لكن لم يباشر أي منهما في عملية مصالحة جدية لضمان مرحلة انتقالية تتسم بالاستقرار. حتى الآن، يبدو أن "الفائز" في هذه الحرب الباردة هو قايد صالح، لكنه لا يزال غير قادر على التصرف في ما يتعلق بعملية اختيار الرئيس من دون مراعاة "جماعة تلمسان"، كما أنّ تصاعد الحدة بين نخبة الطرفين لن يؤدي سوى إلى تعقيد هذه العملية.

ونظرًا لهذه المكائد، فليس من المستغرب أن تستمر الجماعتين في تفضيل بوتفليقة، حتى لو كان مسنًا ومريضًا، على حسم المواجهة في مسألة الخلافة خلال الانتخابات المقبلة. ومع ذلك، فإن حملة "التنظيف المنزلي" لا تسهّل عملية تبني مرشح توافقي، إذ أن الظروف التي أثبتت شرعية بوتفليقة لم تعد قائمة. وسيتعين على المؤسسة السياسية في الجزائر أن تجد في نهاية المطاف ديناميكية جديدة مستقرة بما يكفي لتحل محل تلك التي توفرت بالمشاركة في استقلال الجزائر، وإلا ستواجه تحديات البلدان الأخرى من دون الاستقرار السياسي الذي ميز الجزائر حتى الآن.

تعقيب من أحمد مرواني

حينما نتحدث عن مسألة ومعضلة الخلافة في الجزائر، وترتيبات ما بعد عام 2019، يجب عدم إغفال طبيعة وتركيبة النظام السياسي الجزائري الذي يتغذى ويستمر من صراع وتجاذب بشأن السلطة تعود جذوره إلى مرحلة الثورة الجزائرية ضد الاستعمار الفرنسي قبل عام 1962. فمنذ استقلال الجزائر كان التداول على السلطة وعلى الرئاسة يتم وفقا لمخرجات الصراع بين المدني والعسكري، والذي ينتهي دوما بالوصول إلى توافق بتقاسم مراكز النفوذ والمصالح، ولم تكن أبدا مسألة الخلافة مرتبطة بصراع عشائري بين مناطق جغرافية محددة بين الشرق وبين الغرب الذي يمثله جماعة تلمسان والتي تقف وتدعم الرئيس عبد العزيز بوتفليقة.

كان النظام الجزائري وخلافا لكل أنظمة الحكم في العالم يساند قوته من خلال تحالف المؤسسة العسكرية ممثلة في قيادة الأركان من جهة وهيئة الاستعلامات والأمن (المخابرات) من جهة أخرى إلى جانب مؤسسة الرئاسة، لكن مع  مجيء بوتفليقة عام 1999 ومع جهوده في تحجيم نفوذ العسكر بحل جاهز المخابرات، تنامى بالمقابل وبشكل لافت فاعل جديد في المشهد السياسي وهم جماعات المصالح وأرباب المال الذين جمعوا ثروات طائلة خلال فترة حكم الرئيس بوتفليقة ما سمح لهم بالتدخل في القرارات السياسية بشكل غير مسبوق، والدليل على ذلك وقوفهم وراء إقالة رئيس الحكومة الأسبق عبد المجيد تبون بعد ثلاثة أشهر فقط من توليه رئاسة الحكومة بسبب تحرشه برجال الأعمال، هؤلاء سيكون لهم تأثير في المشهد السياسي المقبل.

ورغم تقليص دور ونفوذ المؤسسة العسكرية في مسألة حسم منصب الرئاسة، إلا أن دور هذه المؤسسة ما يزال الأقوى، ولا يمكن حسم مسألة الاستخلاف على منصب الرئاسة دون موافقة الجيش، فإذا كانت بقية دول العالم لها جيوش، ففي الجزائر فإن الجيش له دولته، فوجوده سابق على وجود الدولة وهو الذي بناها عام 1962.

ورغم حل دائرة الاستعلام والأمن إلا أن هذا الجهاز وما يمتلكه من تأثير ونفوذ فيما يسمى بالدولة العميقة لا ينبغي تجاهل هذا الكيان في رسم معامل المرحلة المقبلة، خاصة وأن دعوات بدأت تظهر هنا وهناك لدعوة مدير المخابرات السابق محمد مدين للترشح للرئاسيات القادمة، وينبغي التذكير أن الفريق محمد مدين مسحوب على منطقة القبائل أو الأمازيغ، وهؤلاء أيضا لهم تأثير بارز في المشهد السياسي الجزائري من خلال حجم نفوذهم المالي والإعلامي والخارجي وتحديدا فرنسا.

كما يبرز العامل الخارجي في رسم معالم ما بعد بوتفليقة، فلا يمكن حسم مسألة الخلافة دون الرجوع إلى موقف القوى الخارجية وتحديدا فرنسا وأمريكا، فالجزائر التي ظلت لعقود خلت رهينة للقرار الفرنسي فإن هذا النفوذ تراجع نوعا ما لصالح دور أخرى وبشكل خاص الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية التي تبحث عن حماية مصالحها الاقتصادية والسياسية والجيوسياسية في المنطقة، ومن مصلحتها وجود شريك مغاربي مستقر أمنيا لمواجهة تداعيات الإرهاب في المنطقة ليبيا ومنطقة الساحل تحديدا.

لذلك مسألة ما بعد 2019 ستكون خاضعة في حال قرار الرئيس بوتفليقة عدم الترشح لولاية خامسة لتوافقات بين مختلف الفواعل السابق ذكرها وهي: الجيش، مؤسسة الرئاسة، أرباب المال، والدول الخارجية فرنسا وأمريكا، وسينتهي الأمر حتما إلى توافق على شخصية تضمن لكل الفواعل استمرار مصالحها وبسط نفوذها.

 

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Algeria’s Succession Crisis: Plenty of Divisions, but No One Conquers


Also available in العربية

September 23, 2018

In the years since the Arab Spring, Algeria has remained largely insulated from the rapidly-spreading unrest and turmoil affecting the MENA region. Yet dissatisfaction in Algeria is growing, and the country is increasingly facing a recipe for crisis. Depressed oil prices, the demands of a growing youth population, and the insecurity in neighboring countries like Libya and those of the Sahel all pose serious challenges to the Algerian government. And while the regime has shown a capacity to manage these crises in a controlled manner, the key issue for Algeria in the coming years will be the transition of power should President Bouteflika pass away or leave office unexpectedly.

As Bouteflika is the most visible member of the Algerian elite, the issue of succession is often misunderstood, even within the rest of the Arab world. Understanding the forces at play behind the regime that will affect succession politics requires an understanding of Algeria’s governing system and the patterns that have shaped the Algerian political landscape. Algeria’s complex political system has dispersed power centers and is not controlled by any single person or institution, as opposed to the more common autocratic model of several other Arab states.

Since independence, Algeria’s political system has instead relied on two crucial dynamics to balance power. First, the bulk of the president's credibility has always derived from the collective memory of Algeria’s War for Independence and his participation in it. Second, power-sharing between the "Tlemcen clan" of western Algeria and "The Eastern clan"—to which all major segments of the Algerian population belong—provide both with a permanent share of power within the governmental system. This system is often a balancing force within the government and opposition system, where ruling coalitions rotate among various parties over time. Since Algerian independence, power-sharing between the two clans has led to a wide array of political arrangements in which the principal elements of the two clans were guaranteed both official government positions and less quantifiable ‘influence.’

These dynamics of power-sharing are just as clear in the Bouteflika period as in previous eras. The alliance between the president, who represents the Tlemcen clan, and the military chief of staff Gaïd Salah, who hails from the Eastern clan, has created a pyramidal power structure, in which the interests of the military, the presidency, and members of the political elite are intertwined in decision making.

In the half-century since its inception, the dynamics of the Algerian system have locked the country into a mode of permanent transition. However, its governing rules no longer apply, since most veterans who fought against the French have died. Thus, a compromise based on the second metric of social cleavages will still not provide the legitimacy derived from participation in the fight for Algeria’s independence. A president from the post-independence generation would lack the substantive legitimacy and credibility Bouteflika currently possesses. Furthermore, it is increasingly unclear who holds the power of veto over government action, including choosing the successor of the president. Thus, due to protracted disagreements, the search for consensus over the succession has turned into a "Cold War." This "Cold War" has led to political blackmail, governance stagnation, and quick shifts in policy-making, as a changing pool of influencers seek to control the choice of Bouteflika’s successor.

Preparing for 2019

After suffering a stroke in 2013, President Bouteflika limited his public visibility, fueling domestic media speculation over his ability to serve out his mandate. Bouteflika described himself as “politically tired” and claimed that "my generation has had its day." However, he surprised observers when he went on to win a fourth term in 2014, casting his vote from a wheelchair.

Speculation is increasingly rife in the lead-up to the 2019 elections, including the suggestion of activating article 88 from the Algerian constitution. This article stipulates that "if it is impossible for the President of the Republic to exercise his duties due to a serious and chronic illness, the Constitutional Council unanimously proposes to the Parliament to disclose the reason for the impediment." The article also states that "The President of the National Assembly shall be entitled to assume the presidency of the acting State for a maximum of (45) days." However, in case "The President is still unable to continue his duties after (45) days, the Parliament shall announce the vacancy of President of the Republic."

Under these conditions, selecting a successor is paramount in ensuring a smooth and peaceful transition of power. Evidently, plans are in place to attempt a stable transition, but it is unclear whether the president's inner circle can prepare the ground for a stable fifth term that maintains the status quo until a consensual candidate emerges.

The Cold War over succession has escalated since the president's re-election in 2014. Rather than securing the stability needed in the post-Bouteflika period, this in-fighting has removed a number of potential candidates for the future Presidency while failing to provide alternatives. A series of dismissals inside the Algerian regime has led to major shifts in the political landscape, some orchestrated by Bouteflika himself. First, the president maneuvered to dismantle the infamous agency of Algerian Power, the DRS (Département du Renseignement et de la Sécurité), by dismissing the veteran chief of the DRS Mohamed Mediene in 2015. Bouteflika then rebranded the DRS, replacing it with a new presidentially-controlled intelligence service, the DSS (Département de Surveillance et de Sécurité), as a final move to strengthen his grip on power. Mediene had been known as the "God of Algeria," and his removal allowed Bouteflika more scope to opt for a soft transition. Now, the DSS does not have the power of decision over Algeria’s political destiny, including the choice of a successor.

However, other forces besides the president have also been involved in this succession battle. Special forces from the Algerian Navy boarded a ship sailing from Valencia and seized 701kgs of cocaine in the western Algerian port of Oran, and the list of involved suspects included a number public figures. Judges, prosecutors, and mayors, as well as the "personal driver" of Abdelghani Hamel—the head of General direction for National Security (DGSN) and member of a very select inner circle within the Algerian political elites. Hamel denied the allegations and considered it as a personal attack from the military chief of staff Gaïd Salah. Indeed, subsequent pressure from Salah pushed Hamel, who is now finished politically, from his former position as a potential candidate to succeed Bouteflika.

Abdelmadjid Tebboune, the former Prime Minister, is another victim of these power struggles; he was relieved of his duties only three months after his appointment as Prime Minister. Many considered Tebboune Gaïd Salah's man inside the regime and a potential candidate of the Eastern clan, and his dismissal weakened the military chief of staff's position to choose a candidate. Government sources mentioned communication issues between him and the president, but the understood reason of his departure emanated from his push to limit the power of certain oligarchs, including the head of the Business Leaders Forum (FCE) Ali Hadad, who belongs to the presidential faction. This was a red line for the president's inner circle.

In these power struggles, both clans have so far refrained from resorting to violence to solve disputes, but neither have they embarked on a serious process of reconciliation in order to ensure a stable transition. The “winner” of this cold war currently appears to be Gaïd Salah, but he still cannot influence the process of choosing a president without taking into account the Tlemcen clan, and the increasing acrimony between the two side's elites will make this only more difficult to reach a lasting compromise.

Given these machinations, it is no surprise that both clans continue to prefer Bouteflika, even aging and ailing, over facing the issue of succession during the next election. However, this ‘housekeeping’ is not making the adoption of a consensual candidate easier, as the conditions that established Bouteflika’s legitimacy are no longer present. The Algerian political establishment will ultimately have to find a new dynamic stable enough to replace the stability provided by participation in Algeria's fight for independence, or else face the country’s other challenges without the political stability that has so far characterized Algeria.

Ahmad Marwane responds:

When speaking of the succession dilemma in Algeria and its post-2019 arrangements, it is essential to understand the Algerian political system, which feeds and endures from a conflict and power struggle rooted in the Algerian revolution against French colonialism that lasted until 1962. Since declaring independence, handovers of power and the presidency have been based on the outcome of conflict between civilians and the military, which is always resolved by reaching a consensus shared by different centers of influence and interests. The struggle has never been based on tribal conflict between different geographic regions in the East and the West – for example, in the form of the Tlemcen group, which supports President Abdelaziz Bouteflika.

Unlike other regimes in the world, Algeria’s regime used to be supported by an alliance between the military institution—represented by the chiefs of staff and the Département du Renseignement et de la Sécurité (DRS)—and the presidency. When Bouteflika took office in 1999, he made efforts to reduce military influence by dismantling the intelligence apparatus.

But this in turn has led to the emergence of a new actor on the political scene. Interest groups and the business elite have accrued huge amounts of wealth during Bouteflika’s tenure as president, which has allowed them to intervene in political decisions in an unprecedented manner. For example, they were behind the dismissal of former Prime Minister Abdelmadjid Tebboune after just three months in office because he was “harassing businessmen.” They will continue to have an influence on the political scene.

Despite the diminishing role and influence of the military institution in determining the president, it is still perhaps the biggest factor. The presidential succession crisis cannot be solved without the approval of the army. While every other state in the world has an army, in Algeria it is the army that has a state, as the Algerian army predates the Algerian state and was the one to build it in 1962.

Although the DRS was dissolved, this apparatus and its influence and impact in the so-called deep state cannot be ignored as the next phase of politics is shaped. There have been occasional calls for former intelligence director Mohammed Mediéne to run in the next presidential election. It is also noteworthy that Mediéne hails from the Amazigh region of Kabylia, an area that has a large influence on Algerian politics through the size of their financial and media influence, as well as their foreign ties, especially with France.

There are also external factors that will shape the post-Bouteflika landscape. The crisis will not be solved without taking into account the position of certain foreign powers, namely France and the United States. Although Algeria had been previously been under France’s sway, French influence in the country has declined in favor of the United States, which seeks to protect its economic, political and geopolitical interests in the region. In particular, it is in America’s interest to have a stable security partner in the Maghreb to combat terrorism, especially in the Sahel region and in Libya.

If Bouteflika decides not to run for a fifth term, the post-2019 political question will be subject to a consensus among all of the previously mentioned factions: the army, the presidency, the business elite, France, and the United States. The matter will inevitably end in a consensus that ensures that all key players are able to continue pursuing their interests and exerting influence.

Customize your RSS Feed