أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

القوة الناعمة والمنطقة الآمنة قد تخدمان المصالح الأمريكية في سوريا حتى بعد الانسحاب


متاح أيضاً في English

19 شباط/فبراير 2019

في 19 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2018، فاجأت إدارة ترامب المجتمع الدولي بإعلانها سحب القوات الأمريكية من سوريا. وفي حين بدأ البنتاغون بصياغة استراتيجية الانسحاب، لا يزال الإطار الزمني للمغادرة غير مؤكد وقد يمتد على عدة أشهر. ومع انطلاق عجلة العملية أساسًا، يواصل الرئيس السوري بشار الأسد توطيد سلطته ضد قوات المعارضة، في حين تمكّن تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" من الاحتفاظ ببعض الأراضي في سوريا.    

وبناءّ على هذه الخلفية، يجب أن تركز الإدارة الأمريكية الحالية على التكتيكات التي لا يزال بإمكانها تطبيقها من أجل تحقيق أربعة أهداف رئيسية وهي: الحؤول دون معاودة ظهور "الدولة الإسلامية"؛ وردع إيران وروسيا وتركيا و"حزب الله" عن السيطرة على كامل سوريا؛ وإعداد استراتيجية طويلة الأمد لحماية حلفاء الولايات المتحدة على الأرض؛ ووضع حدّ للحرب الأهلية الدائرة في سوريا من خلال محادثات سلام برعاية الأمم المتحدة. وتظهر أمام الولايات المتحدة اليوم فرصة وضع آليات من شأنها المساعدة على تحقيق هذه الأهداف وسط تأمين الانسحاب السالم لجنودها في الوقت نفسه والتركيز على تدابير دائمة لحماية حلفائها، إلى جانب مساعي القوة الناعمة لتعزيز الاستقرار في سوريا على المدى الطويل.  

التعديلات العسكرية على المدى القصير

من أجل ضمان سلامة الجنود الأمريكيين خلال عملية الانسحاب، يتعين على البنتاغون إنشاء نقاط مراقبة وإشراف في جميع أنحاء شمال شرق سوريا، بخاصةٍ في المناطق ذات الأغلبية الكردية. وستخدم نقاط المراقبة والإشراف هذه هدفًا مزدوجًا: ضمان الانسحاب السالم للجنود الأمريكيين وتفادي أي هجمات على الحلفاء على غرار "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" من تركيا أو الميليشيات السورية المتطرفة أو نظام الأسد أو "الدولة الإسلامية".

وبالفعل، وبدلًا من الانسحاب الكامل، يمكن للولايات المتحدة القيام بالكثير من أجل تحقيق أهدافها في سوريا من خلال نشر نحو 600 جندي في نقاط المراقبة هذه في شمال سوريا ما إن ينتهي الانسحاب الأساسي. ولن تساهم هذه القوة الصغيرة في منع تركيا وغيرها من القيام  باستهداف الأكراد في سوريا فحسب، بل ستكون أيضًا بمثابة قواعد أمريكية إضافية مصممة لردع التوسّع الإيراني على طول التنف - وهي قاعدة قد تبقيها إدارة ترامب مفتوحةً عقب الانسحاب الأساسي.

ومن أجل أن تكون أي مساعي قوة ناعمة لاحقة فعالةً، يجب أن تضمن سياسة الولايات المتحدة خلال الأشهر القليلة المقبلة على نحو أكبر أن يتمتع أكراد سوريا بالأمان وبالحرية السياسية عقب الانسحاب. وإنّ السياسة الأكثر فعاليةً لضمان ذلك هي إنشاء منطقة آمنة أو منطقة حظر جوي" نموذج كردستان العراق"  في شمال شرق سوريا تحت رعاية دولية بمساعدة المملكة المتحدة وفرنسا والسعودية والإمارات. وستقف هذه المنطقة الآمنة في وجه الخطط التركية الرامية إلى إنشاء منطقة نفوذ خاصة بها في شمال شرق سوريا تهدد الأكراد السوريين في المنطقة. 

ومن شأن المنطقة الآمنة الخاضعة لإشراف دولي، إلى جانب قواعد استراتيجية أمريكية، أن تساهم مساهمةً كبيرة في إحباط خطط طهران الرامية إلى تشكيل "هلال شيعي" سيسمح لها بممارسة نفوذها من العراق مرورًا بسوريا ووصولًا إلى لبنان. وعلى نحو خاص، قد يشكّل أكراد سوريا في المنطقة الآمنة حاجزًا أمام التوسّع الإيراني ويقطعون الدعم عن "حزب الله" ويمنعون طهران من النفاذ إلى مصادر الطاقة من النفط والغاز.   


القوة الناعمة على المدى الطويل

إلى جانب التعديلات العسكرية القصيرة الأمد المصممة لدعم الهيكليات المؤسسية المتلائمة مع الأهداف الأمريكية في المنطقة، يتعين على الولايات المتحدة أن تعزّز مصالحها من خلال اللجوء إلى الاستثمار في القوة الناعمة على المدى الطويل من أجل الحدّ من نفوذ خصومها الإيديولوجيين.

وتعتبر المساعدة التنموية أحد إجراءات القوة الناعمة الضرورية بشكل خاص التي يمكنها أن تساعد الولايات المتحدة على تعزيز مصالحها في سوريا. ونظرًا إلى أن سوريا بلد غني بالموارد الطبيعية، يمكن لوكالات حكومية أمريكية على غرار "الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية" (USAID) أن ترسل خبراء ميدانيين من أجل إعداد خطط لتحسين البنية التحتية الاقتصادية السورية في مرحلة ما بعد الحرب. فعلى سبيل المثال، يمكن لوكالات الإغاثة المساعدة على إيجاد سبل لتوليد الطاقة الشمسية والمائية واعتماد خطط للتنمية الزراعية لزيادة الإنتاج الزراعي وبناء أنظمة الري ومحاربة التصحّر والجفاف. وسيُظهر نشاط إعادة الإعمار الجلي حسن نيّة الولايات المتحدة تجاه السوريين ويحدّ في الوقت نفسه من مساعي مماثلة تقوم بها روسيا أو إيران أو تركيا أو تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية".  

كما يمكن لهذه الوكالات أن تساعد الشعب السوري على المشاركة في عملية إعادة الإعمار من خلال منحه قروضًا صغيرة لتمكين الشركات المتخصصة في البنية التحتية من التطوّر. ومن شأن برامج مماثلة أن تستحدث فرص عمل وتساهم في تنمية المجتمع السوري من خلال المساعدة على الحد من الفقر والنزاع المسلّح والتطرّف. فضلًا عن ذلك، ستمنح الشركات الأمريكية فرصة العمل في سوريا وإنشاء شراكات عمل في المستقبل. 

غير أن المساعدة الاقتصادية لن تكون فعالةً من دون دعم أمريكي لبنية المجتمع المدني التحتية. وبغية حماية سوريا بشكل أكبر من معاودة ظهور "الدولة الإسلامية" والاستفادة من الجهود التي سبق أن بذلتها الولايات المتحدة لحماية المؤسسات الديمقراطية الناشئة في المناطق الخارجة عن سيطرة نظام الأسد، يتعين على الحكومة الأمريكية أن توفر أيضًا ورش عمل تدريبية للقادة السياسيين وقادة المجتمع المدني. بهذه الطريقة، يمكن لإدارة ترامب أن تساعد من هم على الأرض لدراسة العناصر الأساسية للديمقراطية والنظام الفدرالي والانتخابات وحقوق الإنسان وإعداد دستور شامل، وأن تزوّدهم كذلك بوسائل مبتكرة لمحاربة الإرهاب.    

علاوةً على ذلك، إن السوريين بأمس الحاجة إلى نظام تعليمي جديد. ويمكن لوزارة الخارجية الأمريكية المساعدة من خلال مبادرات من شأنها تزويد الطلاب السوريين بمناهج تعليمية متطورة وكتب دراسية لاستبدال المواد الحالية ذات الإيديولوجيا البعثية. وتُعتبر رعاية هذه الأدوات التعليمية إحدى أكثر الوسائل فعاليةً لمساعدة الجيل الجديد في سوريا على مواجهة التحديات الاقتصادية والمجتمعية التي تعترض بيئتهم اليوم. ومن أجل مساعدة قطاع التعليم في سوريا على الوقوف على رجليه من جديد، يجب تصميم مثل هذه المبادرات للمساعدة على بناء مدراس دمرتها الحرب والسماح لخبراء أمريكيين في مجال التعليم بالسفر إلى سوريا.  

أما على صعيد التعليم العالي، فمن شأن نشر منح "فولبرايت" الطلابية في سوريا أن يساعد الطلاب السوريين الذين توقفت دراستهم بسبب الحرب والفقر والإرهاب على متابعة بعض تحصيلهم العلمي في الولايات المتحدة. ومن أجل تعزيز الجسور الثقافية بين السوريين والأمريكيين، يمكن لوزارة الخارجية أن تدعو أيضًا شباب سوريين إلى الولايات المتحدة من أجل المشاركة في برامج قيادية وتدريب إعلامي وبرامج لغة إنكليزية. ونظرًا إلى طبيعة نظام التعليم المتزعزعة حاليًا في سوريا، يمكن أن يكون لهذه الجهود تأثير هائل على آراء الطلاب السوريين حول الديمقراطية والحؤول دون رسم إيران معالم قصة بديلة.

وعلى نحو مماثل، يُعتبر دعم الولايات المتحدة لوسائل الإعلام المستقلة المتاحة في سوريا عنصرًا أساسيًا للترويج للقيم الديمقراطية وتعزيز مكانة الولايات المتحدة في البلاد. وتتحمل وسائل الإعلام الحكومية الأمريكية على غرار "مجلس محافظي البث الإذاعي" (BBG) – وهي المنظمة الجامعة التي تشرف على وكالات إعلامية مثل "شبكة الشرق الأوسط للإرسال" (MBN) و"صوت أمريكا" (VOA) - مسؤوليةً تندرج ضمن بيان مهمّتها، وهي مساعدة الصحفيين السوريين في سوريا. ومن خلال بث الأصوات السورية على الراديو والتلفزيون وغيرهما من الوسائط، يمكن لهذا الانكشاف أن يساعد في نهاية المطاف على إنشاء قطاع صحافة مستقل ومحترف في بعض الأجزاء من سوريا. كما يمكن لهذه المنظمات الأمريكية أن توظّف صحفيين سوريين طموحين كمتدربين لمساعدتهم على تطوير مهارات يمكن أن يطبقوها لاحقًا في مسيرتهم المهنية.

ونظرًا إلى الخيارات العسكرية القصيرة الأمد وخيارات القوة الناعمة الطويلة الأمد المتوافرة أمام الولايات المتحدة، لا يجب أن يعني الانسحاب العسكري من سوريا فك ارتباط كامل للولايات المتحدة من هذا البلد الذي مزّقته الحرب. فمن خلال تواجد محدود على الأرض والإعلان عن منطقة آمنة ومساعي القوة الناعمة لتعزيز التعافي الاقتصادي والاجتماعي والتعليمي، بإمكان الولايات المتحدة مواصلة تعزيز أهدافها في سوريا.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

After Withdrawal, Soft Power and a Safe-Zone Can Still Help U.S. Interests in Syria


Also available in العربية

February 19, 2019

On December 19, 2018, the Trump administration surprised the international community by announcing the withdrawal of U.S. forces from Syria. While the Pentagon has begun crafting a strategy for withdrawal, the timeline for the departure is uncertain and could stretch over several months. With the process already in motion, Syrian President Bashar al-Assad continues to consolidate his power against opposition forces, while the Islamic State (IS) has been able to hold onto some territory in Syria

Against this backdrop, the current U.S. administration ought to focus on what tactics its can still implement to achieve its four major objectives: preventing a resurgence of IS; stopping Iran, Russia, Turkey, and Hezbollah from controlling all of Syria; developing a long-term strategy to protect American allies on the ground; and putting an end to the Syrian civil war through UN-sponsored peace talks. The United States currently has the opportunity to install mechanisms that would help in achieving these objectives while ensuring the safe departure of its troops, centering on permanent measures to protect its allies and soft power efforts to promote long-term stability in Syria.

Short-Term Military Adjustments

To ensure the safety of U.S. troops during the withdrawal, the Pentagon should set up observation and monitoring points throughout northeastern Syria, especially in majority-Kurdish regions. These observation and monitoring points would serve a dual purpose: to ensure the safe withdrawal of U.S. troops and to ward off attacks on allies like the Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF) from Turkey, Syrian extremist militias, the Assad regime, or IS.

Indeed, rather than a complete withdrawal, the United States could do much to further its objectives in Syria by stationing approximately 600 soldiers to these monitoring points in northern Syria once the main withdrawal is complete. This small force would not only further prevent Turkey and other rivals from targeting Syrian Kurds but would also serve as additional U.S. bases designed to ward off Iranian expansionism in areas currently controlled by U.S. allies alongside the al-Tanf base in the south—a base the Trump administration is potentially keeping open after the main withdrawal.

In order for any later soft power efforts to be effective, U.S. policy in the next few months should further guarantee that Syrian Kurds will remain secure and politically free after the withdrawal. The most effective policy for this assurance is establishing a safe or no-fly zone in northeastern Syria under international auspices with the help of the United Kingdom, France, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates. This safe-zone will counter Turkish plans to establish its own sphere of influence in northeast Syria, which threatens the region’s Syrian Kurds.

An internationally monitored safe-zone, along with strategic U.S. bases, would also do much to thwart Tehran’s plans to form a "Shiite crescent" that would allow it exert influence all the way from Iraq, through Syria, and into Lebanon. In particular, Syrian Kurds in the security zone could serve as a buffer against Iranian expansion, cut off support for Hezbollah, and stop Tehran from accessing oil and gas energy sources.

Long-Term Soft Power

Beyond short-term military adjustments designed to support institutional structures that align with U.S. regional objectives, the United States should further advance its interests by turning to long-term soft power investments to limit the influence of its ideological adversaries. While institutions in northeastern Syria currently act as a bulwark against these forces, sustained engagement is necessary to ensure this position can be maintained. 

Development aid is an especially needed soft-power measure that can also help the United States promote its interests in Syria. As Syria is a country rich in natural resources, U.S. government agencies such as USAID can send field experts to develop plans to improve the Syrian economic infrastructure in the post-war phase. For instance, aid agencies can help find ways to generate solar and water power and introduce agricultural development plans to increase agricultural production, build irrigation systems, and combat desertification and drought. Visible reconstruction activity will demonstrate U.S. goodwill to Syrians while mitigating similar efforts by Russia, Iran, Turkey, or IS.

These agencies can also assist the Syrian public to take part in the reconstruction process by granting small loans to enable companies specializing in infrastructure to develop. Such programs could generate job opportunities and contribute to the development of Syrian society by helping reduce poverty, armed conflict, and extremism. Moreover, they will give American companies the opportunity to work in Syria and build joint business ventures in the future.

However, economic aid will not be effective without U.S. support of a civil society infrastructure. In order to further safeguard northeastern Syria from an resurgence of IS and take advantage of the efforts the United States has already expended to protect nascent democratic institutions in those areas outside of the Assad regime’s control, the U.S. government should also provide training workshops for political and civil society leaders. In this manner, the Trump administration could help those on the ground further study the foundational elements of democracy, the federal system, elections, human rights, and the development of an inclusive constitution while also teaching innovative ways to combat terrorism.

In addition, Syrians desperately need a new educational system. The U.S. Department of State can help with initiatives that would provide Syrian students with an advanced curricula and textbooks to replace the current materials, which are ideologically-Ba’athist. Sponsoring these educational tools is one of the most effective ways to help Syria’s new generation navigate the current economic and societal challenges of their environment. To help the education sector in Syria back on its feet, such initiatives must be designed to help with the construction of schools that were destroyed by the war and enable American education experts to travel to Syria.

In terms of higher education, extending Fulbright student grants to Syria can help Syrian students whose studies have been interrupted by war, poverty, and terrorism complete some of their education in the United States. To further build cultural bridges between Syrians and Americans, The Department of State could also invite Syrian youths to the United States to participate in leadership programs, media training, and English language programs. Given the precarious nature of Syria’s current educational system, these efforts could have an outsized impact on influencing Syrian students’ views on democracy and preventing Iran from shaping an alternative narrative.

Similarly, U.S. support of independent media outlets accessible throughout Syria is vital to promoting democratic values and boosting the United States’ status in Syria. U.S. governmental media like the Broadcasting Board of Governors (BBG)—the umbrella organization overseeing such media agencies as Middle East News Network (MBN) and Voice of America (VOA)—have a responsibility per their mission statements to assist Syrian journalists in Syria. By broadcasting Syrian voices on radio, television, and other mediums, this exposure can eventually help in creating an independent and professional journalism sector in certain sections of Syria. These U.S. organizations can also hire aspiring Syrian journalists as interns to help them develop skills they can apply later on in their careers.

Given the short-term military and long-term soft power options available to the United States, the military withdrawal from Syria does not need to mean a complete U.S. disengagement from the war-torn country. Through limited presence on the ground, the declaration of a safe zone, and soft power efforts to promote economic, social, and educational recovery, the United States can continue promoting its objectives in Syria.

Customize your RSS Feed