أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

لفتةٌ نحو إدلب في سوريا – هل الهدف هو "تحقيق التجانس" في البلد؟


متاح أيضاً في English

5 نيسان/أبريل 2019

على غرار أي بلد آخر، تحظى سوريا بنصيبها من النوادر المحلّيّة؛ فكل منطقة تقريبًا هي ضحية النكات والسخرية بنظر المناطق الأخرى بشكل أو بآخر. وينطبق الأمر نفسه على إدلب، التي يتمتع سكّانها بصيت له خاصيته إلى حدٍ ما – على الأقل بين أبناء دمشق – إذ يُعتبَرون شديدي التعنت. وبالطبع، تغدو التداعيات الواقعية لهذا الرأي المتواجد منذ زمن ذات طبيعة أكثر جدّيّة بكثير في سوريا الحالية. ففي بلدٍ دمّرته الحرب لأكثر من سبع سنوات، لا يشعر النظام السوري بالذنب حيال قصف أجزاء معينة من الأرض ليخضع سكانها بسبب طبيعتهم "المتعنّتة".

قد يتم تسليط الضوء على هذه الدينامية وفهمها عاجلًا أم آجلًا في الأوساط الدولية. فقد أعلن التحالف الدولي ضد ما يُدعى تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" وحلفاء هذا التحالف على الأرض – أي "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" – النصر بعد سقوط آخر معقل للتنظيم الجهادي. إلا أن احتفالات الانتصار على هذا العدو المشترك لن تدوم طويلًا. فقريبًا، ومع قدوم الربيع وتمكُّن جنازير الدبابات من السير بثباتٍ أكبر، سيشهد المجتمع الدولي على الأرجح تصعيدًا على ساحة قتالٍ أخرى أكثر تعقيدًا بكثير – وهي محافظة إدلب، التي تحتوي على حوالي 3 ملايين ساكنٍ معظمهم من النازحين، وعلى بعض المجموعات المسلحة الأكثر تطرفاً في البلد.

يبدو أن روسيا، اللاعب العسكري الرئيسي في سوريا، ليست مرتاحة بشكلٍ خاص لفكرة الحملة العسكرية الكبيرة على الأرض. لكنّ تركيا التي أوكلت إليها المهمة الشاقة المتمثلة في حفظ السيطرة على إدلب من خلال المفاوضات الثلاثية الأطراف مع روسيا وإيران، قد تقوم بتنازلاتٍ إذا استطاعت أن تتوقع في المقابل بعض الدعم لمسعاها من أجل "إحلال السلام" في شمال شرق سوريا الذي يسيطر عليه الأكراد. إلى ذلك، من المهم أن نتذكّر أن النظام السوري يتمتع بإرادته الخاصة وليس دميةً متحرّكةً في يد موسكو، ولو أنه قد يرتاح أحيانًا لإعطاء هذا الانطباع ولإلقاء اللوم بشأن ركود أي عملية سياسية على خلافات الخصوم الجيوسياسيين.

يبدو أن القوات داخل النظام السوري، متحمسة للعودة إلى الحرب في إدلب. فإن النظام، وبالرغم من تذبذبه وعدم استقراره على موقف واضح في عدة محافل، لم يوارب في حفظ وعده باسترداد كل قدَم مربّع من الأرض سبق أن خسره منذ سنة 2011، أي أنه يسعى لاسترداد كل جزء من سوريا سواء كان "مفيداً" أو "غير مفيد جدًّا" بحسب تصنيف النظام وحلفاؤه. علاوة على ذلك فقد برز بشكلٍ غير متوقّع سببٌ إضافي سيدَفَعَ النظام إلى الثبات على عزمه في هذا المقام. إذ أن قرار الرئيس ترامب الأحادي الطرف بالاعتراف بهضبة الجولان المحتلة كجزءٍ من إسرائيل ذكّر السوريين بواقع أن النظام السوري منذ عهد الأسد الأب وحتى الآن تعايش نوعًا ما مع واقع احتلال الجولان من قبل إسرائيل. هذه المسألة، وعلى خلفية السعي لطمس هذه الذاكرة، ستشكل عاملاً مهماً من العوامل التي ستدعم اهتمام النظام بتصعيد الوضع في إدلب في الأسابيع القادمة.

إذا كان هذا هو الحال، لا بد من أن يُدرك المراقبون الدوليون في خلال التعاطي مع مسألة إدلب أن مجتمعها أثبت مراراً وتكراراً خلال الحرب عكس الصورة النمطية التي تعتبر شعبها "متطرفًا"، إذ انتفض المجتمع الإدلبي عدة مرات على المجموعات الجهادية. فتلك المجموعات حاولت كسب موطئ قدمٍ دائم في المنطقة، إلا أنها فشلت في كسب قلوب السكان وعقولهم. من هنا، فقد وجدت إدلب نفسها في موقفٍ صعب. إذ أن المقاتلين الجهاديين ظلوا يمارسون اضطهاداً ضد الأقليات الدينية. ومن جانب آخر فقد تم نقل المقاتلين الذين قبلوا الخروج من خلال اتفاقات الهدنة مع النظام من مناطق مختلفة في شاحناتٍ إلى إدلب بشكلٍ منهجي وتُرِكوا يجوبون المحافظة. فمن الواضح أن إدلب لم يكن ينظر إليها على أنها جزء من "سوريا المفيدة" خلال الحرب، لذا أصبحت بمثابة مكان الخردة بالنسبة للنظام. فقد تخلّص النظام من "العناصر غير المرغوب بهم" في هذه المنطقة بهدف إعادة بناء باقي البلاد وفقًا لشروطه الخاصة.

قد يفسّر ذلك أيضًا سبب عدم قدرة إدلب على التعويل على التعقل والرحمة إذا ما قرر النظام غزوها واحتدمت المعركة. فثمة حسابات يجب أن تُصفّى هناك أكثر من أي محافظة أخرى بالنسبة إلى النظام والأوساط الموالية له. فإدلب وسكّانها جعلوا قوات النظام تتكبد أعدادًا هائلة من الضحايا، وهم في نظره أشخاص متعنتون ومتعصبون لا سبيل إلى تقويمهم أو إصلاحهم.

ثمة سببٌ وراء مستوى الوحشية الذي تشهده الحرب السورية عموماً، تترسخ ملامحه في انعدام الثقة المتبادلة والازدراء والكراهية. فتغذية مشاعر الكراهية شكّلت عاملًا مهمًّا أدّى إلى تصعيد العنف إلى مستويات غير مسبوقة. فاشتركت الميليشيات من كافة الجهات في مسابقة تصعيد العنف، وصعّبت عن قصد التمييز بين المدنيين والمقاتلين، ومارست العدالة أو اللاعدالة كما يحلو لها. لكنّ النظام هو من برَعَ حقًّا في هذا المضمار.

بين الأغلبية السنّيّة، اشتدّت الضغينة التي غذّاها المتطرفون إزاء الأقليات. وبدلًا من إلقاء اللوم حصريًّا على أشخاص النظام المرتكبين والمتسلطين بذاتهم، استهدفت الضغينة السنية الطائفة العلوية، التي اعتبر أفرادها بنظر السنة السورية عموماً المستفيدين المباشرين من تولي أحدٍ منهم حُكم البلاد، على حساب باقي أفراد الشغب السوري.

يتعيش النظام من جهته على مخاوف من يسمون مجازاً بالأقليات من الإبادة أو الرضوخ القسري للأكثرية السنية أو استيلاء الإسلام المتشدد التام على السلطة. فإثارة هذه المخاوف كانت مسألة متعمدة من السهل ملاحظتها، إلا أن هذه الاستراتيجية كانت فعّالة جداً. فقد وجد العلويون والمسيحيون والسّنّة الموالون للنظام (الذين أصبحوا يرون أنفسهم أقليةً خاضعة للهجوم أيضًا) أنفسهم في معركةِ بقاء. مع أن الضحايا في هذه الحرب من جميع الأطراف، لكن - وفي الواقع السوري - يندفع من شعروا بأن كامل وجودهم (ووجود مجتمعاتهم) قاب قوسين أو أدنى إلى السعي نحو الانتصار الكامل أو حتى الادعاء به على ضوء الواقع العسكري الحالي القائم على الإقليم السوري.

نصف سكّان سوريا تقريبًا، ومعظمهم من المسلمين السنة، أجبروا على الهرب وترك كل شيءٍ خلفهم – بغض النظر عما إذا كانوا قد دعموا الانتفاضة أم لم يفعلوا. لكن بدلًا من التحسّر على هذا الرحيل باعتباره "ضرراً اجتماعياً" أو "نتيجةً مأسوفًا عليها لفوضى الحرب الأهلية"، على المجتمع الدولي أن يضع الأمور في نصابها وينظر إلى هذا الموضوع على أنه قد يشكل تغييراً بنيويا لسكّان سوريا بشكلٍ دائم.

في سنة 2011، نزل السوريون إلى الشوارع وتبنوا شعار ما يُسمّى بـ"الربيع العربي": "الشعب يريد إسقاط النظام"، فلم يوافق النظام، والحرب أنتجت شكلاً جديداً للشعب بدلًا من ذلك، أو كما وصف الأسد الشعب في العام الماضي في خطاب استرعى انتباهًا شديدًا بأنه أصبح "أكثر صحة وأكثر تجانسا بالمعنى الحقيقي".

على أنه يجب التأكيد بأنه ليس هناك أي دليلٍ قاطعٍ حتى الآن بأن هذا الوضع الذي وصل إليه السوريون هو هدف للحرب بحد ذاته. من جهة أخرى فقد اعتاد حكام الشرق الأوسط على تشريد شعوبٍ كاملة وترحيلها وإعادة توطينها منذ زمن التوراة. إلا أن النظام السوري وبناء على هذا الوضع فقد اقترب بشكل كبير من إنشاء "سوريا الغد" بنظره، بغض النظر عما إذا كان ذلك نتيجة "لهندسة ديمغرافية" أو أنه مفرز من مفرزات الحرب التي طالت كافة مجالات الحياة.

يتألف النظام السوري اليوم من مجموعة كبيرة من أرباب الحرب وعناصر من الاستخبارات والجيش، بالإضافة إلى جزءٍ كبيرٍ من عامة الناس. هذه المجموعات سبق واقتنعت بفكرة أن العودة للعيش بطريقة ما قبل سنة 2011 لا يمكن أن تكون خياراً. فالسكان الذين يبلغ عددهم 20 مليونًا، كما تفكر تلك المجموعات، يشكّلون علامةً أكيدةً على الاكتظاظ السكّاني. والأغلبية السنّيّة، التي شكلت 75 في المئة وكانت ستستمر في الازدياد حتمًا، شكلت عقبة أمام التعايش السلمي. وبحسب وجهة النظر هذه، لم يكن تنظيما "القاعدة" وما يُدعى "الدولة الإسلامية" مجرد حالتين شاذتين عن المذهب السني، إنما جسّدا بالأحرى جوهره الحقيقي. من هنا وعلى ضوء طريقة التفكير هذه، يمكن القول بأن ظهور هذين التنظيمين ساعد فعليًّا النظام السوري في المراحل الأولى من الحرب.

لكن، وبغض النظر عن تحليل الأسباب والدوافع، ماذا لو لقي الشكل الجديد لسورية حسب الوضع الراهن استحسانًا بين هؤلاء السوريين الباقين في البلد؟ في تلك الحالة، سيحصل أولئك الذين لم يشتركوا في الانتفاضة على عدد أكبر من المنافع المرتبطة بعدد أكبر من الوظائف والعقارات وموارد المياه والموارد الاقتصادية بشكل عام. على أنه يجب القول، بأن هذا الخط من التفكير يشكل حتى الآن تصوّرًا هامشيًّا ليس له دور يذكر. لكنّ، ما هو هامشيٌّ قد يصبح تيّارًا في سوريا في أية لحظة.

إن حدوث التبديل الديمغرافي المذكور أعلاه، وجعله واقعًا غير قابلٍ للتغيير من خلال ردع النازحين السوريين بشكلٍ قوي عن العودة – عن طريق نزع ملكيتهم مثلاً، يشكّل في الحقيقة كابوسًا لا سيما بالنسبة إلى أولئك السوريين الذين ما زالوا متمسكين برؤية بلدهم سوريا بعد الحرب يشبه ما كان عليه قبل الحرب، أو بالأحرى سوريا في أيامها الأولى. على الجانب الآخر، فإن تثبيت هذا التبديل الديمغرافي وجعله جزءاً من واقع له صفة الديمومة سيسبب المشاكل أيضًا لكل أصحاب القرار في أوروبا، الذين وضعوا وظائفهم على المحك من خلال المراهنة على أن أي حلٍ لأزمة الهجرة إلى أوروبا سيشهد في النهاية حتماً عودة معظم اللاجئين السوريين.

بالمناسبة، قد ترى الأحزاب الشعبوية اليمينية في أوروبا نفسها في مأزق تضارب المصالح: فبصفتها مدافعة عن النظام السوري، تتبنى الرأي القائل بأن التعايش مع مجموعة كبيرة من السكان المسلمين شبه مستحيل، ولهذا السبب عينه تدفع باتجاه عودة اللاجئين إلى سوريا. فالمفاجأة قد تكون صاعقة، إذا تلقّت تلك الأحزاب من دمشق نبأ يؤيد بقاء ملايين السوريين المرحَّلين في أوروبا.

مع ذلك، إن سيناريو التغيير الديمغرافي العميق هذا، بعيدٌ من أن يكون صفقةً منتهية. فما زال هناك الكثير من السوريين – من جميع الاتجاهات وجميع المكونات الاجتماعية – يرفضون من أعماق قلبهم فكرة التغيير الديمغرافي، حتى أنه يمكن القول بأن هؤلاء قد يشكلوا الرأي الغالب بين السوريين. يؤمن هؤلاء السوريون بالتعايش ويرون أن التنوّع يشكّل قوّةً. هذا الاعتقاد هو أكثر من مجرّد عبارةٍ لتبرير مفهوم تعدد الثقافات، إنه واقعٌ حي. فبالنسبة لهؤلاء السوريين، ثمة مصلحة حقيقية في المصالحة، بغض النظر عن الجهة المسؤولة عن تطور الأحداث في سوريا. من هنا يمكن الجزم في النهاية، على أن النظام الذي مازال يتفاعل مع شعبه، لا يزال بحاجة إلى جزءٍ مهمٍ من السكان السوريين حتى يبقى ويحافظ على وجوده. وهكذا، يكمن مصير السوريين في خارج سورية ومصير إدلب أيضاً في العلاقة الخاصة التي تربط بين النظام وشعبه وقدرة هذا الشعب في التأثير على النظام.

من هذا المنطلق يبرز المجتمع السوري كلاعبٍ قويٍ في لعبةٍ كان من المفترض أن يسيطر عليها النظام السوري وروسيا وإيران وتركيا. ومع أن "المجتمع السوري" هو مصطلحٌ مبهمٌ وصعب الفهم بالنسبة إلى الجهات الفاعلة السياسية فيه، فربما يشكّل القوة الوحيدة التي يمكن أن تردع الواقع وتمنع الحكم في النهاية على جزءٍ كبيرٍ من سكّان سوريا بالرحيل الدائم، وتجنب البلد ويلات اندلاع جولة جديدة من الصراع في إدلب.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

A Turn Towards Idlib in Syria – Is the Goal to ‘Achieve Homogeneity’ in the Country?


Also available in العربية

April 5, 2019

Like any other country, Syria has its fair share of local quirks; almost every region is at the receiving end of bawdy jokes or even outright mockery. The same holds true for Idlib, whose inhabitants enjoy the rather dubious reputation—at least in Damascus—of being stubborn, somewhat backwards, and receptive to extremism, among other things. The real-world repercussions of this longstanding resentment, of course, is of a much more serious nature in today’s Syria. In a country ravaged by war for over seven years, the Assad regime and its supporters have no qualms about bombing certain parts of the population into submission due to their ‘stubborn’ nature.

This dynamic may come to the fore sooner rather than later. The international coalition against the so called Islamic State and the coalition’s on-the-ground allies—the Syrian Democratic Forces—have declared victory after the last stronghold of the jihadist organisation fell. However, celebrations of victory over this joint enemy will not last long. Soon, with spring arriving and the ability for tank tracks to find better grips, the international community is likely to see escalation on another, far more complex battlefield—Idlib province, with both approximately 3 million, largely displaced inhabitants and some of the country’s most hardened insurgent groups.

It seems that Russia, the Syrian regime’s protector and main military player, is not particularly comfortable with the idea of a major military campaign on the ground. But Turkey was assigned with the uphill task to keep control over Idlib during the tripartite negotiations with Russia and Iran. It may make concessions to forces looking to move into Idlib if, in exchange, it can expect some backing in its endeavour to ‘pacify’ the Kurdish-held Syrian Northeast.  Moreover, it is important to remember that the Syrian regime has its own will and is not Moscow’s puppet, though it may sometimes be comfortable for the regime to create this impression and to put the blame for the stagnation of any political process on the quarrels of geopolitical rivals.

Forces inside the Syrian regime, and maybe the president himself, seem eager to go back to war in Idlib. While the regime may have lied and been deceptive many times, it’s been consistent in keeping its promise to reconquer every square foot of territory that was lost since 2011–both what the regime and its allies identify as the ‘useful’ Syria and the ‘not so useful’ parts. An additional reason for the regime to prove itself both resolute and adamant has just emerged rather unexpectedly. President Trump’s unilateral decision to recognise the annexed Golan heights as part of Israel reminded Syrians of the fact that both Hafez and Bashar had lived rather comfortably with this ostensible national taint of annexation up until this point. These factors suggest a regime interest in escalating the situation in Idlib in the upcoming weeks.

If this is the case, international observers should recognize when dealing with Idlib that during the course of the war, its communities have time and again disproven the stereotype of a ‘radicalized’ people, repeatedly rising up against a succession of Jihadi insurgent groups. These groups have tried to gain a permanent foothold in the area but have failed to win over the hearts and minds of the population. Thus, Idlib has found itself between a rock and a hard place. Jihadi fighters kept trickling in, exacting terrible revenge on religious minorities. Captured rebel fighters from other areas were systematically bussed into Idlib and left to roam the province. Idlib was clearly not considered part of the ‘useful Syria’ during the war and has therefore become the regime’s junkyard. The regime has disposed of its ‘undesirable elements’ in this region in order to rebuild the rest of the country on its own terms.

This may also explain why Idlib, if the regime decides to conquer it and the battle escalates, cannot count on mercy. Even more than other provinces, Assad and his loyal circles have accounts to settle there, because Idlib and and its populace have inflicted considerable casualties on the regime’s forces and because, in the eyes of many other Syrians, they are incorrigible, irreformable fanatics.

There is logic to the level of brutality that has shaped the war thus far. Its underlying features are rooted in mutual distrust, disdain, and hatred. Fanning those feelings, though, proved to be the crucial factor that escalated violence to unprecedented levels. Militias on all sides took part in that contest, purposefully blurring the line between civilians and combatants, meting out justice on a whim. But it was the regime that truly excelled in that exercise.

Among the Sunni majority, the hatred fuelled by extremists towards minorities festered. Rather than putting the blame solely on the Assad clan and its network of power and control, this hatred targeted the Alawites because they were perceived to squarely benefit from having one of their own rule the country–at the expense of all other groups.

The regime, for its part, feeds on minorities’ fears: of extinction, forced submission, or a total Islamist takeover. It’s both an unquestionable automatism and an easily spotted, deliberate method to manufacture loyalty, but the strategy has worked nonetheless. Alawites, Christians, and Sunnis loyal to the regime (who have come to see themselves a minority under attack as well), were thus forced into a battle of survival. There may be casualties on all sides. Still, in this war, those who felt their whole existence (and that of their communities) was on the line have come forward to claim a total victory.

Close to half the population, most of them Sunni Muslims, was forced to flee and leave everything behind–regardless of whether they had supported the uprising or not. But rather than lamenting this exodus as ‘collateral damage,’ an unfortunate by-product of a messy civil war, we should see it for what it also seems to be: an attempt to permanently alter the make-up of Syria’s population.

In 2011, Syrians took to the streets and took up the chant of the so-called Arab Spring: ‘The people demand the fall of the regime.’ The regime begged to differ and went to work to shape a new people instead–or in Assad’s words, more ‘homogeneous and authentic in the true sense’ [أكثر صحة وأكثر تجانسا بالمعنى الحقيقي], as he described it last year in an address that drew considerable attention.

There is no incontrovertible proof that–and, if yes, when–this had become a war objective in and of itself. Despots in the Middle East have been displacing, exiling, and resettling whole peoples since biblical times. But the Assad regime seems to have almost perfected the method of ‘demographic engineering,’ with the apparent ultimate goal of creating a ‘Syria of tomorrow.’

The regime’s core followers comprise of the Assad clan, a myriad of warlords, intelligence, and army officers, as well as a small but committed fraction of the populace. These groups have already convinced themselves that a return to the pre-2011 order is not an option. 20 million inhabitants, so the argument goes, are already a sure sign for overpopulation. And a 75 per cent Sunni majority, which was bound to continue expanding, has always spelt trouble for peaceful coexistence. According to this view, Al-Qaeda and the so-called Islamic State weren’t merely an aberration of Sunnism but rather embodied its true essence. Due to this narrative, their appearance actually helped the Syrian regime in the early stages of the war.

But what if the idea of just getting on with the status quo gains traction among those Syrians who remain in the country? In that case, those who didn’t take part in the uprising would get a bigger slice of the cake. The share of jobs, real estate, water and hydrocarbon resources are all at stake here. So far, this line of thinking might seem like a fascist fringe fantasy. But the fringe could become mainstream in Syria, as well.

The completion of the aforementioned demographic shift—making it an irreversible reality by actively keeping displaced Syrians from returning or dispossessing them—is truly a nightmare for many Syrians. This is especially the case for those who still cling to a vision of a post-war Syria similar to its pre-war situation or rather the early days of the Republic. But the implementation of such a demographic change would also spell trouble for all those in Europe who have put their careers on the line by betting on a solution to the migration crisis that would eventually see the majority of refugees return.

Incidentally, right-wing populist parties in Europe could see themselves embroiled in a conflict of interest. As staunch advocates of the Assad regime, they espouse the view that coexistence alongside a sizable Muslim population is close to impossible–which is the very reason they push for refugees’ return to Syria. They would be in for quite a surprise if they get the memo from Damascus arguing that hundreds of thousands of exiled Syrians should remain in Europe.

However, this scenario of profound demographic engineering is far from a done deal. There are still many Syrians–among all its ethnic and religious groups in and outside of Syria–who wholeheartedly reject this extremist line of thinking. Potentially, they are even still in the majority. These Syrians believe in coexistence and may see diversity as strength. This creed is much more than just a phrase to justify a concept of multiculturalism–it’s a living reality. For these Syrians, there is a genuine interest in reconciliation–no matter who is calling the shots in Damascus. And after all, the regime still interacts with its people. It still needs a critical part of the Syrian population to survive and to implement whatever plan it has in mind. Thus, the fate of Idlib lies in this relationship between regime and its people.

Bearing this in mind, Syrian society itself is emerging as a powerful player in a game that was supposed to be controlled by the Assad regime, Russia, Iran, and Turkey. And though ‘Syrian society’ is a vague term and hard to grasp for political actors, it is in all probably the only force that can now prevent a fait accompli that would ultimately condemn a large part of Syria’s population to permanent exile and spur a new round of total war in Idlib.

Customize your RSS Feed