أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

كيف يهدد تدهور قطاع التعليم في اليمن بإطالة الصراع


متاح أيضاً في English

25 شرين الأول/أكتوبر 2019

مع دخول حرب اليمن المدمرة عامها الخامس من دون أن تلوح أي نهاية لها في الأفق، يواصل القطاع العام في البلاد تدهوره مع تسجيل معدلات تنذر بالخطر ضمن منطقة النزاع. ومن المتوقّع أن تتفاقم حالة القطاع العام السيئة أساسًا، لاسيّما التعليم، في المستقبل القريب. وفى الوقت الذي تبدوا فيه محنة القطاع التعليمي في اليمن مشكلة ثانوية مقارنة بالتحديات الأخرى التي يعاني منها اليمن، مثل عدم توفر الغذاء والدواء الأساسي، إلا أن القطاع التعليمي لا يمكن تجاهله دون حدوث عواقب وخيمة. وإذا لم يتوفر للشباب اليمني فرص كافية للوصول إلى الفرص التعليمية، فعلى الأرجح أن يلجأ هؤلاء الشباب إلى الجماعات العنيفة التي توفر لهم التعليم والتوظيف، مما يُسهم في خلق بيئة خصبة لنمو تلك الجماعات المتطرفة في البلاد والتهديد بإطالة أمد النزاع أكثر.

وكانت منظمة الأمم المتحدة للطفولة "اليونيسف" قد حذّرت في تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر من العام الماضي بأن الحرب الدائرة في اليمن سترغم أكثر من مليوني طفل يمني على ترك مقاعد الدراسة ومن أن استمرار انقطاع رواتب المعلمين بصورة رئيسية– من شأنه أن يؤدي إلى انهيار قطاع التعليم في تلك المناطق ويهدّد مستقبل جيل بكامله. وحذرت المنظمة أيضًا من الخطر المتنامي الذي يطال أطفال اليمن على شكل عمالة الأطفال أو تجنيدهم ضمن جماعات مسلحة ووضعهم في الجبهات الأمامية لساحة المعركة. ومع بدء العام الدراسي الجديد، أثبتت تحذيرات ("اليونيسف") صحتها. لكن هذه المعضلة لم تحظ بعد بالإستجابة المناسبة من المجتمع الدولي والمحلي. فانهيار قطاع التعليم في المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة الحوثيين، بالرغم من أنه مدمّر، ليس مفاجئًا، فهو نتيجة متوقّعة للنزاع المستمر ويمثل إحدى تداعيات الحرب على كامل البنية التحتية للبلاد– رغم أن هذا القطاع كان يعاني حتى قبل اندلاع النزاع بكثير.     

يُذكر أن الأغلبية من معلمي اليمن يعملون في مناطق خاضعة لسيطرة الحوثيين. ولا يزال هؤلاء المعلمون يواجهون ظروفًا سيئة: فهم لم يتلقوا رواتبهم للعام الثالث على التوالي ويخشى الباحثون الانعكاسات المالية والنفسية لهذا الأمر على الأساتذة وطلابهم. كما أظهرت التقارير ارتفاع معدلات الانتحار وإقدام بعض الأسر على قتل أولادها، ويعود السبب على الأرجح إلى استمرار انقطاع الرواتب وغياب فرص العمل. وكانت هذه الظاهرة الجديدة في قطاع التعليم قد صدمت المجتمع اليمني وعكست مدى الضرر اللاحق بالنظام التعليمي ككل. بدورهم، وصف معلقون يمنيون هذه الأحداث بأنها تمهّد لـ “سابقة خطيرة" للمستقبل.  
من جهة أخرى، اتُهم التحالف بقيادة السعودية بانتهاك القانون الدولي ووضع حدّ لطموحات آلاف الأطفال التعليمية. فمنذ بداية الحرب، توقّف استخدام أكثر من 2500 مدرسة إما بسبب الدمار أو الإقفال أو مصادرتها للاستخدام العسكري. كما نفذت قوات التحالف بقيادة السعودية ضربات جوية استهدفت مدارس وغيرها من المنشآت التعليمية التي لا تزال قيد الاستعمال. وعلى نحو مماثل، اتُهم متمردو الحوثي باستخدام المنشآت التعليمية كمستودعات للأسلحة وسجون سرية لاحتجاز المعارضين وتعذيبهم، وكذلك كمنشآت تجنيد وتدريب. كما اتُهمت المملكة العربية السعودية باستخدام جنود أطفال من السودان للدفاع عن حدودها الجنوبية وإشراكهم في معارك شرسة ضد الحوثيين.، إلى جانب اتهامات مماثلة بأن قوات الحوثي استغلت الجنود الأطفال أيضًا.

كما أن تداعيات تدهور الفرص التعليمية على جيل الشباب في اليمن ظاهرة للعيان، لاسيّما من خلال معدلات التسجيل المتدنية في الجامعات في المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة الحوثيين. وهذا أمر يدعو للقلق على نحو خاص بما أن الطلاب اليمنيين ,وبخلاف فترة ماقبل اندلاع الصراع , باتوا يولون اهتماماً أكبر لمسألة الإنضمام لجماعات مسلحة خطيرة. وينبع استعداد الطلاب للانضمام إلى هذه الجماعات من شعور عميق باليأس وغياب أي بدائل منظورة. وتوفر تلك الجماعات لهولا الشباب الشعور بالانتماء ومصدر للتكسب حيث كانت الحالة الاقتصادية والتعليمية السيئة في اليمن بمثابة محفز لعدد كبير من الطلاب من أجل الانضمام إلى صفوف هذه الجماعات المسلحة انطلاقًا من الوعود المالية التي تقدمها لهم.

يترتّب عن استغلال النظام التعليمي بغية جذب جيل الشباب اليمني إلى ساحات المعركة تداعيات خطيرة على مستقبل اليمن. فالطلاب والأطفال الذين ينضمون إلى صفوف هذه الجماعات ويتشبعون من أيديولوجيتها، سيؤججون الحرب الدائرة أكثر فأكثر.ولهذا السبب فإن انهيار قطاع التعليم في المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة الحوثيين– التي تضمّ أغلبية الشعب اليمني– لا يخدم سوى مصالح الجماعات المسلحة والتنظيمات المتطرفة في البلاد.  

وبالتالي، من الضرورة بمكان أن يوحّد المجتمع الدولي والحكومة اليمنية جهودهم من أجل وضع حدّ لأزمة انقطاع رواتب المعلمين ومعالجة مشاكل القدرة على الحصول على التعليم على الفور. وفى الوقت الذي تكافح فيه الحكومة اليمنية لمواجهة العديد من التحديات الأساسية التي يواجهها المواطن اليمنى، إلا أنها لا يمكنها أن تتغافل عن إعطاء الأولوية لمستقبل الأطفال اليمنيين وذلك من خلال ضمان وجود بنية تحتية تعليمية كافية.

وفى إطار النزاع القائم، يتعيّن على المجتمع الدولي، لاسيّما الولايات المتحدة، ممارسة أقصى درجات الضغط على السعودية من أجل التقيّد بالقانون الدولي الذي يجرّم استخدام الأطفال في النزاعات المسلّحة وإدانة الهجمات السعودية على المنشآت التعليمية بشكل علني. لذلك، فان اتخاذ بعض الإجراءات الداخلية والخارجية يمثل ضرورة قصوى لإنقاذ النظام التعليمي في اليمن من الانهيار. ومن ثم، فان ضمان قدرة المعلمين على أداء وظائفهم وعدم استهداف المرافق التعليمية والأطفال يمكن أن يساعد الشباب اليمني على اختيار مسار التعليم عوضا عن الانضمام للجماعات المسلحة.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

How Yemen’s Deteriorating Education Sector May Prolong the Conflict


Also available in العربية

October 25, 2019

As Yemen’s devastating war drudges into its fifth year with no end in sight, Yemen’s public sector continues to deteriorate at alarming rates within the conflict zone. The already weakened state of the public sector, especially education, is expected to worsen in the near future. While the plight of Yemen’s educational sector has seemed secondary to other challenges plaguing Yemen, such as lack of access to basic food and medicine, this is a sector that cannot be ignored without grave consequences. If Yemen’s youth do not have adequate access to educational opportunities, they are more likely to turn to the violent groups that surround them for education and employment, aiding in the growth of extremist groups in the country and threatening to further prolong the conflict.

In October of last year, United Nations Children Fund (UNICEF) warned that the ongoing war in Yemen would force more than 2 million Yemeni children out of school and drastically cut teacher salaries⁠⁠—leading to the collapse of the education sector in these areas as well as threaten an entire generation’s future. UNICEF additionally warned of the heightened risk to Yemeni children in the form of child labor or recruitment into armed groups on the frontlines of the battlefield. With the new school year, these prognostics have proven to be correct. Yet this dilemma has yet to receive appropriate international and local community response. The decline of the education sector in Houthi controlled areas, though devastating, is not surprising. It is an expected result of the continuing conflict and the repercussions of war on the country's overall infrastructure⁠—though this sector suffered long before the outbreak of the conflict.

The majority of Yemen's teachers work in Houthi-controlled areas. These teachers continue to face intensely challenging conditions. Teachers’ salaries remain unpaid, and many researchers are concerned about the likely financial and psychological ramifications of the conflict on teachers and their students. Reports of suicide and filicide have escalated, presumably as result of unpaid salaries and lack of job opportunities. This new phenomenon within the education sector has shocked Yemeni society and illustrated the extent of the damage on the education system as a whole. Yemeni commentators have also described these instances as setting a "dangerous precedent" for the future.

On the other side, the Saudi-led coalition has been accused of violating international law and halting the educational aspirations for thousands of children. Since the start of the war, more than 2,500 schools are no longer operating, either due to destruction, closures, or requisition for military use. Saudi-led coalition forces have also carried out air-strikes targeting schools and other educational facilities still in use. Similarly, Houthi rebels have been accused of using educational facilities as weapons depots, secret prisons to arrest and torture dissidents, as well as recruitment and training facilities. Saudi Arabia has also been accused of using child soldiers from Sudan to defend its southern border and engage in fierce battles against the Houthis, along with similar accusations that Houthi forces have used child soldiers from Yemen as well.

The effects of deteriorating educational opportunities on Yemen’s younger generation are also visible, especially through low university enrollment rates in Houthi-controlled areas. This is particularly pressing since there appears to be a concerning number of Yemeni students who express interest in joining dangerous armed groups. Students’ willingness to join these groups arises from a profound feeling of hopelessness and a lack of perceived alternatives. These groups offer a sense of belonging and the promise of payment. Considering the grim economic and educational state of Yemen, a large number of students have been motivated to join the ranks of these armed groups based on financial promises.

Exploitation of the education system to attract Yemen’s younger generation into the battlefield bears serious consequences for Yemen's future. The students and children that join the group's ranks, imbued with its ideology, will further fuel the ongoing war. A collapse of the education sector in the Houthi controlled areas⁠—accounting for the majority of Yemen’s population⁠—can only serve the interests of armed groups and extremist organizations in the country.

Therefore, it is of paramount importance that the international community and the Yemeni government combine their resources to end the teachers’ salary freeze and address the issues of access to education as soon as possible. While the Yemeni government is struggling with the many basic challenges faced by its citizens, it cannot forget to prioritize the future of Yemeni children by ensuring there is adequate educational infrastructure.

In terms of the conflict itself, the international community, and particularly the United States, must place maximum pressure on both Saudi Arabia and the Houthis to abide by international laws that criminalize the use of children in armed conflict, as well as publicly condemn Saudis’ attacks on educational facilities. External and internal steps directed at saving Yemen’s educational system from collapse are vital. Only when teachers are able to do their jobs and educational facilities and children are not targeted will Yemen’s youth be able to choose receiving an education over joining armed groups.

Customize your RSS Feed