أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

يجب على مؤتمر المانحين الخاص بغزة أن يبعث بالرسالة الصحيحة حول «حماس»

نيري زيلبر

متاح أيضاً في English

10 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2014


في 12 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، سوف يجتمع أكثر من خمسين وزير خارجية ودبلوماسيين دوليين رفيعي المستوي في القاهرة لجمع الأموال لإعادة إعمار قطاع غزة. ففي أعقاب الحرب التي دامت شهرين تقريباً بين إسرائيل و «حماس» هذا الصيف، من اللافت أن أياً من الطرفين المتحاربين لن يكون بين الحضور. وعوضاً عنهم، سينضم وزير الخارجية الأمريكي جون كيري إلى نظرائه من روسيا والصين وأوروبا والمملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة وتركيا وقطر، والعديد من البلدان الأخرى. والشيء الوحيد الذي يمكن للمجتمع الدولي المنقسم أن يتفق حوله، على ما يبدو، هو أن الفلسطينيين يحتاجون إلى المساعدة المالية ويستحقونها. ومع ذلك، فبالإضافة إلى المبالغ بمليارات الدولارات التي تم التعهد بها، ستكون الحصيلة السياسية أهم نتائج المؤتمر: يتوجب على قمة القاهرة أن تعيد التأكيد بأن مساعدات إعادة الإعمار ورفع كامل للحصار عن غزة تبقى مشروطة بتخلي «حماس» عن السيطرة الفعلية على أراضي القطاع وتسلّم السلطة الفلسطينية إدارة غزة.

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن الطلب الرسمي للمساعدات الذي قدمته السلطة الفلسطينية للمانحين في الأسبوع الماضي يضم مبالغ كبيرة تشمل: أربعة مليارات دولار لأعمال "الإغاثة والإنعاش وإعادة الإعمار" في غزة، و 4.5 مليار دولار أخرى للدعم المباشر لميزانية السلطة الفلسطينية خلال السنوات الثلاث المقبلة. ولكي توضع هذه المبالغ في سياقها التاريخي، تم التعهد بمبلغ 4.7 مليار دولار في مؤتمر المانحين الذي عُقد في مصر بعد حرب غزة عام 2008-2009، منها 1.6 مليار دولار لإعادة إعمار القطاع الساحلي. وكان الطلب الفلسطيني الرسمي في ذلك الحين 2.7 مليار دولار فقط، وبالتالي تجاوز ذلك المؤتمر التوقعات وبدا كأنه حقق نجاحاً - على الأقل من الناحية النظرية. وفي النهاية، لم يتحقق الكثير من المساعدات، ويعود ذلك أساساً إلى استمرار حكم «حماس» في غزة (منذ الانقلاب العنيف الذي أطاح بالسلطة الفلسطينية عام 2007). ومن الناحيتين القانونية والسياسية، كان من المستحيل بالنسبة للعديد من الجهات المانحة التعامل مع منظمة صنفها الاتحاد الأوروبي والولايات المتحدة بأنها داعمة للإرهاب.

بيد، ستكون المبالغ التي سيتم التعهد بها هذه المرة مهمة فقط بقدر ما ستشير إلى وجود اهتمام دولي دائم بالقضية الفلسطينية. وبعبارة أخرى، في الوقت الذي يوجد فيه العديد من الأزمات الأخرى التي تتنافس للحصول على المساعدات الدولية النادرة، [فإن السؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هو] هل سيحقق المانحون الهدف [الذي طلبه الفلسطينيون] - أم يتجاوزونه مرة أخرى؟ واستفاضة في هذه النقطة، هل ستترجم فعلاً التعهدات الإسمية - التي أُقِرت تحت الأضواء الساطعة لمؤتمر دولي - إلى عمل ملموس فيما بعد؟

وفي هذا الصدد، يجدر بأولئك الذين سيشاركون في المؤتمر أن يضغطوا على المسؤولين في السلطة الفلسطينية لمعرفة الكيفية التي سيتعتزمون بموجبها تنفيذ خططهم للإنعاش وإعادة الإعمار على الأرض في غزة. ومؤخراً التزمت حركتا «حماس» و «فتح» (التي تسيطر على السلطة الفلسطينية في الضفة الغربية) بتنفيذ اتفاق "المصالحة" الذي وقعتاه في وقت سابق من هذا العام. وكجزء من هذا الاتفاق، تتولى السلطة الفلسطينية السيطرة على المعابر الحدودية والوزارات ومشاريع إعادة الإعمار في قطاع غزة. إلا أنه يبقى أن نرى كيف سيتم تنفيذ ذلك عملياً نظراً لأن «حماس» لن تسلّم سلاحها. وهناك خطط لإعادة نشر قوات الأمن الفلسطينية في غزة، على الرغم من أن العملية للقيام بذلك وحجمها والإطار الزمني لتنفيذها ما تزال غامضة. وعلاوة على ذلك، يبقى تسويغ البيروقراطية الحكومية داخل القطاع قيد البحث، ويهدف إلى تدقيق موظفي الخدمة المدنية التابعين لـ «حماس» في غزة والذي يصل عددهم إلى حوالي 20,000-30,000 موظف. وفي غضون ذلك، تهدف النية الفلسطينية الرسمية إلى توفير "حل مؤقت" من شأنه أن يدفع بعض التعويضات المالية لهؤلاء الموظفين. وهنا أيضاً، تم ترك الإطار الزمني لاستكمال العملية إلى أجل غير محدد.

وبالتالي، ستكون هناك حاجة إلى إعطاء إجابات حول آليات عودة السلطة الفلسطينية إلى غزة، سواء من حيث البيئة الأمنية أو أعمال إعادة الإعمار الفعلي (وخاصة فيما يتعلق بكيفية قيام السلطات بمراقبة المواد ذات الإستخدام المزدوج مثل الأسمنت، الذي حولته «حماس» سابقاً لأغراض عسكرية). وبسبب ميليشياتها المسلحة الكبيرة، ما زالت «حماس» تمارس قدرة فعالة على رفض الأحداث داخل غزة بصرف النظر عن حجم تنازلها عن السلطة السياسية الإسمية لصالح السلطة الفلسطينية.

ولهذا السبب، يمكن القول إن أهم نتائج مؤتمر المانحين يجب أن تكون في الرسائل التي تصدر من قبل الدول البارزة والجهات الفاعلة غير الحكومية. يتعيّن تعزيز الفكرة القائلة بأن السلطة الفلسطينية، وليس جماعة إرهابية مثل «حماس»، هي القناة الشرعية الوحيدة لفتح قطاع غزة وتأهيله. إن سياسة الرفض والعنف اللذان تتبعهما هذه الحركة لا يمكن مكافأتهما بمليارات الدولارات من المساعدات الدولية، وخاصة بعد ان شنت «حماس» حرب مدمرة وغير ضرورية قبل ثلاثة أشهر فقط.

يجب على المسؤولين في المؤتمر أن يوضحوا، بنفس القدر من الأهمية تقريباً، أنه ستكون هناك انعكاسات إذا خرقت «حماس» نظام إعادة الإعمار الذي أُقيم بعد الحرب - سواء من خلال تحويل المواد ذات الاستخدام المزدوج من مشاريع البناء المشروعة، أو التدخل في عمليات مفتشي الأمم المتحدة أو موظفيها، أو استخدام وسائل العنف لإجبار قوات السلطة الفلسطينية على العودة [إلى الضفة الغربية] أو مضايقة إسرائيل. يتعيّن على سكان غزة أن يعرفوا مسبقاً أن «حماس» هي العقبة التي تقف أمام قيام مستقبل أفضل وأكثر أملاً، وأن الحل يكمن في سيطرة السلطة الفلسطينية على القطاع. وإذا كان أحدث مؤتمر للمانحين حول غزة سيكون الأخير من بين مؤتمرات كهذه، فيجدر به أن يشير إلى بداية النهاية لحكم «حماس» على سكان القطاع.

 

نيري زيلبر هو باحث زائر في معهد واشنطن، وصحفي وباحث في مجالي السياسة والثقافة في الشرق الأوسط.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Gaza Donor Conference Needs to Send the Right Message on Hamas

Neri Zilber

Also available in العربية

October 10, 2014


Officials at this weekend's summit should reinforce the message that Hamas is not a legitimate go-between for reconstruction assistance, while also pressing PA officials for practical answers about their plans in Gaza.

On October 12, over fifty foreign ministers and high-ranking international diplomats will convene in Cairo to raise money for reconstruction of the Gaza Strip. After nearly two months of war between Israel and Hamas this summer, it is telling that neither of the belligerents will be in attendance. Instead, Secretary of State John Kerry will join with colleagues from Russia, China, Europe, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Turkey, Qatar, and numerous other countries. The only thing a fractious international community can agree on, it seems, is that the Palestinians require -- and deserve -- financial assistance. Beyond the dollar amounts pledged, however, the most important outcome of the conference will be political: the Cairo summit needs to reemphasize that reconstruction aid and a full-scale lifting of the blockade around Gaza remain contingent on Hamas ceding effective control over the territory back to the Palestinian Authority.

The official request put to donors last week by the PA is significant: $4 billion for the "relief, recovery, and reconstruction" of Gaza, and another $4.5 billion for direct budgetary support to the PA through the next three years. To put these figures in historical context, $4.7 billion was pledged at the donor conference held in Egypt after the 2008-2009 Gaza war, including $1.6 billion for reconstruction of the coastal territory. The official Palestinian request then was only $2.7 billion, so the conference surpassed expectations and looked like a success -- at least on paper. In the end, much of the aid failed to materialize, due primarily to continued Hamas rule over Gaza (in place since a violent 2007 coup ousted the PA). Legally and politically, dealing with a U.S.- and EU-designated terrorist organization was impossible for many donors.

This time around, the dollar figures pledged will be important only insofar as they indicate enduring international attention to the Palestinian question. In other words, with so many other crises vying for scarce international aid, will donors meet -- or again exceed -- the target? More to the point, will nominal pledges made under the bright lights of an international conference actually translate into concrete action afterward?

In this regard, those attending the conference must press PA officials on how they plan to implement their recovery and reconstruction plans on the ground in Gaza. Hamas and Fatah (which controls the West Bank-based PA) recently recommitted themselves to the "reconciliation" agreement they signed earlier this year. As part of that agreement, the PA is to assume control over Gaza's border crossings, ministries, and reconstruction projects. Yet it remains to be seen how this will be implemented in practice given that Hamas will not disarm. There are plans in place to redeploy PA security forces to Gaza, though the process for doing so, the scale, and the timeframe remain opaque. Moreover, rationalization of the government bureaucracy inside Gaza has also been mooted, aimed at vetting the approximately 20,000-30,000 Hamas-affiliated civil servants there. In the interim, the official Palestinian intention is to provide a "temporary solution" that would extend some financial compensation to these employees. Here as well, the timeframe for completing the process has been left open-ended.

Answers will therefore need to be given about the mechanics of the PA's return to Gaza, in terms of both the security environment and actual reconstruction work (especially regarding how authorities will monitor dual-use materials such as cement, which Hamas has previously diverted for military purposes). Given its sizeable armed militia, Hamas will still wield an effective veto over events inside Gaza no matter how much nominal political authority it cedes to the PA.

For this reason, arguably the most important outcome of the donor conference needs to be in the messaging from prominent states and nongovernmental actors. The idea needs to be reinforced that the only legitimate conduit for the opening and rehabilitation of Gaza is the PA, and not a terrorist group like Hamas. The group's rejectionism and violence cannot be rewarded with billions of dollars in international aid, especially after it launched a devastating and needless war just three months ago.

Almost as important, officials at the conference need to make clear that there will be repercussions if Hamas violates the postwar reconstruction regime -- whether by diverting dual-use items from legitimate construction projects, tampering with the operations of UN inspectors or staff, or using violent means to coerce returning PA forces or harass Israel. The people of Gaza need to know ahead of time that the obstacle to a better and more hopeful future is Hamas, and that the solution is the PA. If this latest donor conference for Gaza is to be the last, then it has to mark the beginning of the end of Hamas rule over their lives.

Neri Zilber, a visiting scholar at The Washington Institute, is a journalist and researcher on Middle East politics and culture.