أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2318

اتفاق المصالحة الأخير بين «حماس» و «فتح»، عودة إلى المستقبل

إهود يعاري و نيري زيلبر

متاح أيضاً في English

1 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2014


يُعد الاتفاق الذي تم التوصل إليه بين الفصيلين الفلسطينيين المتنافسين «حماس» و «فتح» في 25 أيلول/سبتمبر، مجرد أحدث ما أُبرم بين الجانبين في سلسلة طويلة من الاتفاقات التي أعلن فيها الطرفان عن نواياهما بالمضي قدماً نحو مصالحة وطنية. ولا يتخطى الاتفاق الذي وُقع في القاهرة كونه صورة مضخمة لاتفاق الوحدة الذي تم التوصل إليه في نيسان/أبريل - وثلاثة اتفاقات شبيهة أخرى فاشلة تعود لعام 2007 - ولا تزال فيه ثغرات بارزة تفصل الحركتين عن أي مصالحة فعلية، بينما تُركت أكثر المسائل الشائكة التي يتناولها مبهمة عمداً. وستكون لتطبيق الخطوط العريضة التي أُعلن عنها في القاهرة أهمية كبرى على السياسة الفلسطينية الداخلية بشكل عام ومصير قطاع غزة بشكل خاص.

"مناخ" من الوحدة

جاء الاتفاق الجديد بعد أيام قليلة من المفاوضات بين مسؤولين من «حماس» و «فتح» في القاهرة، وبعد أن أُرجئت - من قبل كلا الطرفين - إلى أواخر تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، محادثات غير مباشرة نحو التوصل إلى اتفاق أكثر استدامة لوقف إطلاق النار بين إسرائيل و«حماس» في غزة. ويجب ألا تأتي الأولوية الأكبر التي أعطيت للشأن الفلسطيني الداخلي كمفاجأة. فبنظر المجتمع الدولي، تشكل عودة السلطة الفلسطينية برئاسة «فتح» إلى حكم غزة، بعد أن أطيح بها بعنف من القطاع الساحلي عام 2007، الآلية الوحيدة التي يمكن من خلالها فتح الطريق أمام إعادة إعمار غزة وتنمية اقتصادها.

وقد وجدت «حماس» ضرورة للإيحاء بوجود ما يشبه بـ "وحدة وطنية"، إن لم يكن نقل فوري لمسؤولية الحكم إلى السلطة الفلسطينية، نظراً للبيئة المدمرة في غزة ما بعد الحرب حيث يتزايد الضغط الشعبي. وكان لذلك أهمية أيضاً بنظر رئيس السلطة الفلسطينية محمود عباس عشية الخطاب الذي ألقاه أمام الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة في 26 أيلول/سبتمبر. ومن جانب آخر، يقترب بسرعة موعد مؤتمر المانحين الدولي حول غزة والمقرر في 12 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر. لذا فإن البندين الأولين من الاتفاق الجديد يدعوان السلطة الفلسطينية إلى تشكيل حكومة "توافق وطني" - إدارة برئاسة «فتح» بدأت باستلام السلطة في حزيران/يونيو ضمن اتفاق الوحدة في نيسان/أبريل - لتولي المسؤولية عن غزة وتسريع عملية إنهاء الحصار الإسرائيلي-المصري لكي يتم البدء بعملية إعادة الإعمار بأسرع وقت ممكن.

وفي الواقع، يعدّ إعلان النوايا هذا تجاه عودة السلطة الفلسطينية حدثاً جديداً في اتفاقات المصالحة الفلسطينية، لا بل إن نص الاتفاق يذهب إلى أبعد من سابقاته في نواح أخرى أيضاً. فعلى سبيل المثال، يشير إلى أن الطرفين يوافقان على "التعاون مع الأمم المتحدة" حول إعادة إعمار غزة ويذكر للمرة الأولى تفاصيل مهام واضحة لـ "اللجنة الإدارية والقانونية" الجديدة المكلفة بالتدقيق بالقطاع العام المنضوي تحت لواء «حماس» في غزة.

ولكن، كما ذكر أحد كبار المسؤولين في «حماس» مؤخراً، "إن ما حدث في القاهرة كان تفسيراً لاتفاقات [قائمة]، وليس اتفاقاً جديداً." ومثله مثل اتفاقات سابقة، حافظ الاتفاق الأخير على الغموض حول مجموعة من القضايا الحاسمة، ومن المرجح أن ذلك كان عن قصد. ووفقاً لما جاء على لسان الوزير في السلطة الفلسطينية حسين الشيخ في 26 أيلول/سبتمبر، "لا تكمن أهمية الاتفاق في نصه أو محتواه، بل في خلق مناخ إيجابي لتطبيقه".

أسئلة حول مستقبل غزة

يكمن الغموص الجوهري الذي يحيط بالاتفاق في حجم التنازل عن السلطة الذي قد تكون «حماس» مستعدة للقيام به لصالح السلطة الفلسطينية وحكومة الوفاق الوطني في غزة. وفي هذا الإطار تبرز ثلاث قضايا هي: مستقبل وزارات الحكومة المحلية وبينها عمال القطاع العام التابعين لـ «حماس»؛ وأي دور، إن وجد، ستلعبه «حماس» في المعابر الحدودية في غزة في إطار إعادة الإعمار ما بعد الحرب؛ والنظام الأمني العام في القطاع في المرحلة القادمة.

القطاع العام في غزة. منذ اتفاق المصالحة في نيسان/أبريل، طالبت «حماس» باستمرار بأن تقوم السلطة الفلسطينية بدفع رواتب آلاف موظفي القطاع العام الذين وظفتهم في غزة. ولم يحصل هؤلاء الموظفين من الخدمة المدنية - الذين يقدر عددهم بنحو 43 ألف موظف وثلثهم من شرطة «حماس» وقوات الأمن في وزارة الداخلية - على رواتبهم منذ أشهر. وفي المقابل، يواصل 70 ألف موظف في القطاع العام تابعون لـ «فتح» باستلام رواتبهم من السلطة الفلسطينية منذ انقلاب «حماس» عام 2007، على الرغم من أنهم تلقوا تعليمات "بعدم المواظبة في عملهم".

ويدعو الاتفاق الأخير إلى قيام "اللجنة القانونية والإدارية" المذكورة أعلاه، والتي تتألف من تكنوقراط في السلطة الفلسطينية بفرز موظفي «حماس» في القطاع العام و"التعاطي بإنصاف" مع الملف. وعلى عكس الجهود السابقة، يرجح أن يتم تسريع عمل اللجنة الجديدة على الرغم من عدم تحديد إطار زمني لها، ويدعو الاتفاق حكومة السلطة الفلسطينية لـ "ضمان المكافآت المالية" (مثلاً، المقدمات) لموظفي القطاع العام التابعين لـ «حماس» حتى انتهاء عمل اللجنة. ولكن على عكس التصريحات الأخيرة لمسؤولين في «حماس»، من غير المرجح لدرجة كبيرة أن تشمل هذه المقدمات جميع الموظفين التابعين لها، لاسيما العناصر الأمنية. وقد وُضعت آلية دولية من قبل جهة ثالثة لدفع رواتب هؤلاء الموظفين، على الرغم من عدم إعلان تفاصيلها الرسمية. وفي المرحلة القادمة، سيكمن التحدي الأكبر في هذا المجال في ترشيد القطاع العام في غزة، كما دعت الجهات المانحة الغربية مراراً وتكراراً. إنه لأمر غير واقعي أن يتم ضمّ آلاف الموظفين في القطاع العام من «فتح» و «حماس» في إطار بيروقراطي عملاق واحد.

إعادة الإعمار. ينص الاتفاق الجديد على أن تقوم حكومة الوفاق الوطني الجديدة للسلطة الفلسطينية بممارسة "واجباتها الأمنية في مناطق السلطة الفلسطينية الوطنية"، بينها المعابر الحدودية في غزة. وتنص الاتفاقية أيضاً على أن تكون حكومة السلطة الفلسطينية "مسؤولة عن الإشراف والمتابعة" فيما يخص أعمال الإعمار. بيد، لا ينص الاتفاق في أي بند منه على تخلي «حماس» عن سلطتها الفعلية داخل القطاع، وقد أعلن عباس رسمياً رفضه التام لقبول "حكومة ظل" تحت قيادة «حماس». ويسود الاعتقاد حالياً بأن «حركة المقاومة الفلسطينية» تدفع باتجاه إقامة لجنة إعادة إعمار مشتركة يمكنها من خلاها مواصلة ممارسة سيطرتها - وجني المنافع الاقتصادية والسياسية - على أي برنامج هائل للمساعدة الدولية تحت مظلة مفيدة للسلطة الفلسطينية.

وعلى كل الحال، ستحتاج الحكومة إلى عديد كبير من قوات الأمن التابعة للسلطة الفلسطينية لكي تستطيع تنفيذ "واجباتها الأمنية" في غزة. غير أن هذه القوات تتألف فقط من تسع كتائب من قوات "الأمن الوطني"، الأمر الذي يعيق إعادة انتشار واسع من الضفة الغربية إلى قطاع غزة، باستثناء كتيبة يصل عددها وفقاً للتقارير إلى ما يقرب من ألف عنصر من النخبة التابعين لـ "الحرس الجمهوري". وسيتعيّن تعويض الفرق من قبل أفراد الأمن التابعين لـ «فتح» البالغ عددهم 30 ألف عنصر كانوا قد بقوا في القطاع بعد انقلاب عام 2007. ولم يؤدي هؤلاء الأفراد خدمتهم منذ سبع سنوات كما احتجزت «حماس» العديد منهم في فترات مختلفة، لذا سيحتاجون إلى التدريب وإلى إعادة الفرز من جديد لتحديد ما إذا كان ولاؤهم مزدوج لـ «حماس» وإلى الشخصية القوية المنفية في «فتح»، محمد دحلان. وبشكل عام لا يتناول الاتفاق الجديد البنية التحتية المطلوبة لإعادة نشر عناصر قوات الأمن التابعة للسلطة الفلسطينية في غزة.

سلطة واحدة، حركات مسلحة كثيرة. خلال الأسابيع القليلة الماضية، بدأت «حماس» بتشكيل "جيش شعبي" في غزة لدعم النخبة من "كتائب عز الدين القسام"، يكون شبيهاً بنموذج الميليشيات الاحتياطية التي يستخدمها «حزب الله» في لبنان و"قوات الدفاع الوطنية" المدعومة من إيران التي تقاتل في سوريا. وفي حين أن أحداً لا يتوقع أن تقوم قوات الأمن التابعة للسلطة الفلسطينية بإرغام «حماس» والجماعات المسلحة الأخرى التي لا تعد ولا تحصى في غزة على تسليم سلاحها، إلا أن التداعيات لهذه الخطوة واضحة، فـ «حماس» تخلق وقائع على الأرض للحفاظ على نفوذها إذا عادت السلطة الفلسطينية إلى غزة، لكي تعوّض عن أي سلطة سياسية إسمية قد تتنازل عنها.

المقايضات في السياسة الفلسطينية

في الوقت الذي يولي فيه الاتفاق الجديد أهمية كبرى لمسألة قطاع غزة، تركز بكل وضوح خمسة من بنوده التسعة على السياسة الفلسطينية. وتُظهر المقايضة على الأقل إسمياً أنها تمنح السلطة الفلسطينية موطئ قدم في غزة مقابل تخفيف القيود السياسية المفروضة على «حماس» في الضفة الغربية. ومع ذلك، فهنا أيضاً يبقى الاتفاق محاطاً بالكثير من الغموض.

فعلى سبيل المثال، ينص الاتفاق عبر جمل قصيرة تفتقر إلى أي تفاصيل بأن اللجان المعنية بـ "الحريات العامة" و"المصالحة المجتمعية" ستستأنف عملها لإنهاء القيود المفروضة على النشاطات والكوادر السياسية لـ «حماس» و «فتح» في الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة، على التوالي، بما في ذلك الإفراج عن السجناء. وقد وردت تقارير بأن «حماس» كانت قد أعدمت العشرات من عناصر «فتح» خلال حرب غزة، بينما كشفت الاستخبارات الإسرائيلية في آب/أغسطس شبكة واسعة تابعة لـ «حماس» في الضفة الغربية مما أدى إلى قيام كل من الرئيس محمود عباس وإسرائيل باتهام «حماس» بالتخطيط لانقلاب هناك. ولم يحدد بعد ما إذا كانت السلطة الفلسطينية ستخفف من الحملة الأمنية التي تشنها على عناصر «حماس» في الضفة الغربية، أو إذا كانت «حماس» ستمنح نشطاء «فتح» حريات أكبر في غزة.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يُنيط الاتفاق بـ "المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني" الذي تملك فيه «حماس» أغلبية المقاعد، مهمة الانعقاد مجدداً بعد أن تقوم مختلف الكتل السياسية بإجراء "المشاورات اللازمة". وكان اتفاق نيسان/أبريل قد دعا إلى الشئ نفسه أيضاً، ولكن ذلك لم يتحقق، وبعده جاء اعتقال عدد من نواب «حماس» البارزين في أعقاب عملية اختطاف ثلاثة مراهقين إسرائيليين وقتلهم في حزيران/يونيو. وعلى أي حال، من غير الواضح كيف يمكن لبرلمان تهيمن عليه «حماس» أن يتعاون مع حكومة السلطة الفلسطينية التي تسيطر عليها «فتح». كما أنه من غير الواضح ما هو الإطار الزمني للانتخابات الرئاسية والتشريعية الجديدة، التي ينص الاتفاق بشكل مُبهم على أن تجرى بعد إعداد "الظروف" المناسبة لها "بسرعة".

وأخيراً، يتناول بند هام في الاتفاق إنجاز الأهداف السياسية للحركة الوطنية الفلسطينية بما في ذلك تأسيس دولة ضمن حدود عام 1967، عاصمتها القدس ومنح حق للاجئين الفلسطينيين بالعودة "إلى ديارهم". ولا يشير النص عن قصد فيما إذا كان هذا التطور يقع ضمن إطار عمل اتفاق سلام مع إسرائيل والاعتراف بها، كما أشار عباس في الماضي. بل إن اختيار المصطلحات فيه يترك مجالاً لدمج استراتيجية «حماس» التي تعارض الاتفاق مع إسرائيل والاعتراف بها، ليشكل هدنة طويلة الأمد بهدف تحرير كافة أراضي فلسطين من زمن الانتداب - على مراحل في نهاية المطاف. وعلاوة على ذلك، ليست هناك إشارة إلى "مبادرة السلام العربية"، أي الاقتراح السعودي القائم منذ فترة طويلة الذي وافق عليه عباس علناً، والذي يمتد ليشمل الاعتراف بإسرائيل مقابل الانسحاب إلى حدود عام 1967.

وعلى الرغم من غموض الاتفاق والشكوك التي تحيط بتنفيذه الفعلي، ليست لأي من حركتي «حماس» أو «فتح» مصلحة في إجهاض جهود المصالحة في هذه المرحلة. إن الاتفاق الجديد غامض بما فيه الكفاية لكي يسمح لكلا الطرفين بالمضي قدماً في الوقت الذي يستمران في التنازع حول تفاصيله. وفي الواقع، يدعو البند الأخير من الاتفاق إلى تشكيل "لجنة متابعة" لمراقبة كيفية تنفيذ البنود و"تذليل العقبات". وبعبارة أخرى، يستمر التنافس القائم منذ فترة بين «حماس» و «فتح» - وإذا كان التاريخ يحمل أي دليل للمستقبل فلن يكون اتفاق المصالحة الأخير هو النهائي.

 

إهود يعاري  هو زميل ليفر الدولي في معهد واشنطن ومعلق لشؤون الشرق الأوسط في القناة الثانية في التلفزيون الإسرائيلي. نيري زيلبر هو باحث زائر في معهد واشنطن، وصحفي وباحث في مجالي السياسة والثقافة في الشرق الأوسط.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2318

Back to the Future: The Latest Hamas-Fatah Reconciliation Deal

Ehud Yaari and Neri Zilber

Also available in العربية

October 1, 2014


Despite the ambiguities in the new agreement, the uncertainty of its actual implementation, and the lack of clarity about what it might mean for Gaza, neither Hamas nor Fatah has an interest in aborting the reconciliation effort at the moment.

The agreement reached between rival Palestinian factions Hamas and Fatah on September 25 was just the latest in a long line of accords declaring their intention to move toward national reconciliation. Signed in Cairo, the agreement is, at most, an amplification of the unity deal reached in April -- similar to that and three other failed agreements dating to 2007, significant gaps still separate the parties, and the thorniest issues were once again left purposefully vague. How the broad outlines declared in Cairo are implemented in practice will be crucial -- for intra-Palestinian politics generally and the fate of the Gaza Strip in particular.

A "CLIMATE" OF UNITY

The new agreement came after a few short days of negotiations between Hamas and Fatah officials in Cairo, and after indirect talks on a more durable Gaza ceasefire between Israel and Hamas were postponed -- by both parties -- until late October. The greater priority placed on intra-Palestinian affairs should not come as a surprise. For the international community, the only mechanism by which Gaza can be opened to reconstruction aid and economic development is the return of the Fatah-dominated Palestinian Authority, which was violently ousted from the coastal enclave in 2007.

Providing a semblance of "national unity," if not an immediate transfer of authority to the PA, was important to Hamas in the shattered postwar Gaza environment, where public pressure is growing. It was also important to PA president Mahmoud Abbas ahead of his September 26 speech at the UN General Assembly. Moreover, the international Gaza donor conference set for October 12 is fast approaching. Thus, the first two clauses of the new agreement call for the PA "national consensus" government -- a Fatah-dominated administration seated in June as part of the April unity deal -- to take over responsibility for Gaza and expedite the end of the Israeli-Egyptian blockade so that reconstruction can begin in earnest.

This statement of intent regarding the PA's return is indeed a novelty in Palestinian reconciliation deals, and the text of the agreement goes further than its predecessors in other respects as well. For instance, it mentions that the parties agree to "cooperate with the UN" on Gaza reconstruction, and it details, for the first time, a clear mandate for a new "Legal and Administrative Commission" tasked with vetting the large Hamas-affiliated public sector in Gaza.

Yet as one senior Hamas official recently stated, "What happened in Cairo was an explanation of [existing] agreements, not a new agreement." And similar to past accords, ambiguity remains on an array of crucial issues -- likely by design. PA minister Hussein al-Sheikh put it thusly on September 26: "The importance of the agreement does not lie within the text of the agreement itself, but rather in creating a positive climate to implement it."

QUESTIONS ABOUT GAZA'S FUTURE

The central ambiguity surrounding the agreement is how much control Hamas is willing to effectively cede to the PA and the national consensus government in Gaza. Three issues stand out: the future of local government ministries, including Hamas-affiliated public-sector workers; what role, if any, Hamas will play at Gaza's border crossings and in the postwar reconstruction framework; and the territory's overall security regime going forward.

Gaza's public sector. Since the April reconciliation deal, Hamas has consistently demanded that the PA pay the salaries of the thousands of public-sector workers it has recruited in Gaza. These civil servants -- believed to number approximately 43,000, over a third of which are Hamas police and Interior Ministry security forces -- have not been paid in months. In contrast, the estimated 70,000 Fatah-affiliated civil servants in Gaza have continued receiving their salaries from the PA since the 2007 Hamas coup despite being instructed to stay at home.

The latest agreement calls for the above-mentioned Legal and Administrative Commission, made up of PA technocrats, to vet the Hamas public sector while "displaying fairness." Unlike past efforts, the new committee's work will likely be expedited -- although no timeframe has been given, the agreement calls on the PA government to "guarantee financial awards" (i.e., advances) to Hamas civil servants until the committee finishes. Contrary to recent statements by Hamas officials, however, these advances are highly unlikely to include all of the group's workers, particularly security personnel. A third-party international mechanism has been mooted for paying these employees, though official details have not been forthcoming. Going forward, the biggest issue will be rationalizing the Gaza public sector, as called for repeatedly by Western donors. Simply combining the thousands of Fatah and Hamas civil servants there into one giant bureaucracy is not realistic.

Reconstruction. The new agreement stipulates that the PA's national consensus government will exercise "its security duties over the areas of the Palestinian National Authority," including Gaza border crossings. It also states that the PA government will be "responsible for supervision and follow-up" on reconstruction. Yet nowhere does the document mention Hamas ceding de facto authority inside the territory, and Abbas is on record refusing to swallow a Hamas "shadow government." At present, Hamas is believed to be pushing for a joint reconstruction committee, where it can continue exercising control over -- and reaping economic and political benefits from -- any massive international assistance program under a useful PA umbrella.

Whatever the case, a significant contingent of PA security forces (PASF) would be required if the government is to exercise "its security duties" in Gaza. Yet the PASF comprises only nine National Security battalions, which does not allow for significant redeployments from the West Bank to Gaza, save for a rumored contingent of up to a thousand elite Presidential Guards. The difference will have to be made up by the estimated 30,000 Fatah-affiliated security personnel who remained in Gaza after the 2007 coup. These personnel have not worked in seven years, and many were detained by Hamas at different periods, so they will need retraining and vetting as well -- not least because of potential dual loyalty to Hamas or exiled Fatah strongman Muhammad Dahlan. In general, the new agreement does not address the infrastructure required for redeploying the PASF into Gaza.

One authority, many guns. Over the past few weeks, Hamas has begun raising a "popular army" in Gaza to complement its elite Izz al-Din al-Qassam Brigades, likely hewing closely to the reserve militia model employed by Hezbollah in Lebanon as well as the Iranian-backed "National Defense Forces" fighting in Syria. While no one expects the PASF to forcibly disarm Hamas and the myriad other armed groups in Gaza, the implications of this move are clear: Hamas is creating facts on the ground to preserve its power if the PA returns to Gaza, counterweighing any nominal political authority it may cede.

QUID PRO QUOS IN PALESTINIAN POLITICS

While the new agreement puts much emphasis on Gaza, five of its nine clauses focus on Palestinian politics writ large. At least nominally, the tradeoff appears to be granting the PA a foothold in Gaza in return for easing political restrictions on Hamas in the West Bank. But here too ambiguity remains.

For instance, short sentences lacking any detail stipulate that the committees on "Public Freedoms" and "Community Reconciliation" will resume their work. These committees are intended to end the restrictions on Hamas and Fatah political activities and cadres in the West Bank and Gaza, respectively, including the release of prisoners. Hamas reportedly executed several dozen Fatah members during the Gaza war, while Israeli intelligence uncovered a large Hamas network in the West Bank in August, with both Abbas and Israel accusing the group of plotting a coup there. It has yet to be determined whether the PA will soften its ongoing crackdown on Hamas members in the West Bank, or whether Hamas will grant increased freedoms to Fatah activists in Gaza.

In addition, the agreement nominally tasks the Palestinian Legislative Council (PLC), where Hamas holds a majority, with reconvening after the various political blocs hold "necessary consultations." The April unity deal called for this as well, but it did not materialize, and several prominent Hamas parliamentarians were subsequently arrested after the June kidnapping and murder of three Israeli teenagers. In any case, it is unclear how a parliament dominated by Hamas would work with a Fatah-ruled PA government. Also unclear is the timeframe for new presidential and legislative elections, which the agreement vaguely stipulates should be held after "conditions" are "quickly" prepared.

Finally, a major clause in the agreement deals with achieving the political goals of the Palestinian national movement, including the establishment of a state within the 1967 lines, with Jerusalem as its capital, and the right of Palestinian refugees to return "to their homes." The text purposefully does not say whether such a development would come in the framework of a peace agreement with -- and recognition of -- Israel, as Abbas has indicated in the past. Rather, the wording leaves room for incorporating Hamas's strategy of no agreement or recognition, but rather a long-term hudna (armistice) for the purpose of eventually liberating all the lands of Mandatory Palestine in stages. Moreover, there is no mention of the Arab Peace Initiative, the longstanding Saudi proposal that Abbas has publicly accepted, which would extend recognition to Israel in return for withdrawal to the 1967 lines.

Despite the document's ambiguities and the uncertainty of its actual implementation, at this point neither Hamas nor Fatah has an interest in aborting the reconciliation effort. The new deal is just vague enough for both parties to move forward while they continue to squabble over the details. Indeed, the final clause of the agreement calls for a "follow-up committee" to monitor how the terms are executed and to "overcome obstacles." In other words, the long-running Hamas-Fatah rivalry endures, and if history is any guide, this latest reconciliation agreement will not be the last.

Ehud Yaari is a Lafer International Fellow with The Washington Institute and a Middle East commentator for Israel's Channel Two television. Neri Zilber, a visiting scholar at the Institute, is a journalist and researcher on Middle East politics and culture.