أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2528

التطهير العرقي يهدّد وحدة سوريا

فابريس بالونش

متاح أيضاً في English

3 كانون الأول/ديسمبر


منذ أن بدأت الحرب الأهلية في سوريا عام 2011، غادر أكثر من نصف سكان البلاد ديارهم وأصبحوا لاجئين أو مشردين داخلياً. ولفهم سبب ذلك وما يمكن فعله لعكس الوضع، علينا أن ننظر في التركيبة السكانية للبلاد بالتفصيل.

عرض نسخة أكبر

النقص السكاني

تضم سوريا حالياً حوالي 16 مليون نسمة – وهو عدد بعيد كل البعد عن التقديرات التي قامت بها الأمم المتحدة في العام 2010 حين قالت إنّ عدد سكان سوريا سيصل إلى 22.6 مليون بنهاية العام 2015. حيث تسبب تراجع عدد المواليد وزيادة عدد الوفيات (سواء تلك الناتجة عن أعمال العنف أو الطبيعية) بخفض النمو السكاني الطبيعي بمقدار النصف منذ العام 2011. وحتى إذا أضفنا اللاجئين إلى عدد السكان الحالي، يبلغ الإجمالي عندئذٍ 21.3 مليون نسمة فقط، أي أقل بـ 1.3 مليون من تقديرات ما قبل الحرب. سجّلت المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين 4.2 مليون سوري حتى الآن، لكنّ هذا العدد يقلل عدد اللاجئين الفعلي بـ 20 في المائة على الأقل، حيث يرفض بعض اللاجئين التسجّل خوفاً من أن يتم إلقاء القبض عليهم وإعادتهم إلى سوريا (كما يحصل الآن في لبنان)، في حين لا يجد العديد من اللاجئين الأثرياء جدوى في التسجيل. لذا فالتقدير الأكثر واقعية لمجموع اللاجئين هو 5.3 مليون نسمة.

عرض نسخة أكبر

ويُتوقع لهذا العدد أن يرتفع بشكل حاد. ففي محافظة حلب وحدها، تسبب تصاعد الأعمال العدائية في ترك 200 ألف نسمة أخرى منازلها في الشهرين الأخيرين، فيما أقنع الهجوم الروسي وغياب الأمل بإحلال السلام على المدى القصير الكثير ممن يعيشون في مناطق تتسم بالهدوء النسبي إلى المغادرة أيضاً، وقد يحذو المزيد من السكان حذوهم في حال تطبيق الخطة الصادرة مؤخراً بقيادة ألمانيا والتي تقضي باستقبال المزيد من اللاجئين.

مناطق السيطرة

على الرغم من صعوبة إعطاء عدد دقيق للأشخاص المشردين داخلياً، تشير البيانات المتاحة إلى أنّ 6.5 مليون سوري فرّوا من مناطق العنف إلى مناطق اكثر أماناً في البلاد. ويشمل هذا العدد حوالي مليوني شخص فروا إلى المناطق التي تسيطر عليها الحكومة حالياً من مناطق تسيطر عليها فصائل أخرى، كما وملايين الأشخاص الآخرين الذين فروا من منطقة يسيطر عليها النظام إلى أخرى بسبب القتال العنيف.

وقد خسرت المناطق التي يسيطر عليها الثوار (الشمال الغربي والجنوب وجيوب أخرى صغيرة مثل الغوطة) العدد الأكبر من الأشخاص لأنّها الأقل أماناً– حيث تعيق الغارات الروسية والتابعة للنظام الحياة الطبيعية فيها، فيما يُنشئ تواجد العديد من فصائل الثوار المختلفة حالة مستمرة من انعدام الأمن. وتبدو المنطقة التي يسيطر عليها تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام" (داعش) الذي أعلن قيام "الدولة الإسلامية" بنفسه أكثر أماناً، وذلك يعود بجزءٍ منه إلى أنّها تتحلى بسلطة مركزية. ومع أنّ الأقليات الدينية والسنّة غير المتدينين فرّوا من الرقة ودير الزور، لكن حلّ محلهم جهاديون أجانب وسوريون نازحون من حلب. ويميل السكان بشكل عام إلى اللجوء إلى حيث لديهم أقارب وحيث المناطق التي لا تشهد قتالًا؛ إذ إن هوية الفصيل الذي يسيطر على المنطقة ليس هامًا بالضرورة. فالمنطقة الكردية تستقطب الأكراد المشردين ولكن ليس الكثير من العرب – وهو ليس بالأمر المفاجئ نظراً إلى أنّ الفصيل الذي يسيطر على المنطقة، أي "حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي"، يهدف إلى جعل المنطقة متجانسة عرقياً.

غالباً ما تسلّط تقارير وسائل الإعلام الرئيسة الضوء على أنّ الجيش السوري يتحكم بأقل من 17 في المائة من البلاد، فيما يتحكم تنظيم "داعش" وفقاً لها بأكثر من 50 في المائة منها. ومع ذلك، لا تراعي هذه الأرقام التي تبدو صادمة معالم البلاد الجغرافية – وتحديداً أنّ 47 في المائة من البلاد هي عبارة عن سهوب قليلة السكان. بالطبع إنّ توسيع نطاق السيطرة ليشمل بعض السهوب قد يحمل مصالح استراتيجيةً لـ"داعش"؛ فتشكل تدمر مثلاً مركزاً رئيساً للحركة يشمل موارد غاز ونفط هامة وهي تقع على الحدود مع العراق والأردن. على أي حال، يسيطر نظام الرئيس السوري بشار الأسد على الحصة الأكبر من مناطق سوريا السكانية، والمناطق المأهولة أكثر بالسكان. كما أنّ حوالي 10.1 مليون نسمة يعيشون في المنطقة التي تسيطر عليها الحكومة، أو ما يعادل 63 في المائة من إجمالي السكان المقيمين في البلاد. في حين أنّ المناطق التي تسيطر عليها الفصائل الثلاث الرئيسة الأخرى (الأكراد و"داعش" والثوار) فهي متساوية تقريباً، حيث تتضمن كل منها حوالي المليوني نسمة. باختصار، فقد انتقل النظام من السيطرة على ما يقارب 20 مليون سوري قبل الحرب إلى حوالى 10 ملايين سوري حالياً.

عرض نسخة أكبر

التطهير العرقي المحلي

إلاّ أنّ التحرّكات السكانية واسعة النطاق لم تكن مجرّد نتيجة ثانوية أسفرت عنها الحرب، بل تمثّل استراتيجيات تطهير عرقي واعية تنفذها كل من الفصائل.

عرض نسخة أكبر

ودلالة على ذلك أنّ تركيبة البلاد العرقية الطائفية لم تتغير كثيراً ككل على الرغم من فرار اللاجئين المسيحيين والسنّة العرب بأعداد غير متناسبة. فلطالما كان المسيحيون منتشرون في كافة أنحاء البلاد من دون منطقة لجوء خاصة بهم مثل حالة العلويين والدروز، ما دفع الكثير منهم إلى اللجوء إلى الخارج. أما السنّة العرب، فلأنّ التمرّد بدأ في صفوفهم، كانوا الهدف الأول لقمع النظام وغاراته (على الرغم من أنّ بعض العشائر السنّية تدعم بشار الأسد وقد بقيت بأمان في المنطقة التي تسيطر عليها الحكومة). بشكل عام، فإنّ تركيبة سوريا السكانية الحالية مقسمة بين 22 في المائة من الأقليات الدينية و16 في المائة من الأكراد و61 في المائة من السنة العرب – وبتعبير آخر، لا يختلف أمرها كثيراً عن التركيبة التي كانت سائدة قبل الحرب.

عرض نسخة أكبر

بالطبع إنّ هذه الأرقام قد تتغير في الأشهر القادمة، وبالأخص إذا أنشأ "حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي" منطقة متواصلة خاضعة للسيطرة الكردية على طول الحدود مع تركيا عبر الاستيلاء على الأراضي بين أعزاز وجرابلس، علماً أنّ أي خطوة من هذا القبيل لربط جيب عفرين ذي الغالبية الكردية ببقية أراضي الحزب في الشمال الشرقي (الذي يعرف بـ"روج آفا" أو كردستان السورية) قد يدفع بمئات آلاف السنّة العرب إلى الفرار. وفي هذا الوقت، من المرجّح أن يسفر توسيع الجهود المبذولة للقضاء على "داعش" عن حرب سنية داخلية بين العشائر التي تدعم الجماعة الإرهابية وغيرها من الفصائل، ما سيؤدي إلى المزيد من تدفق اللاجئين.

عرض نسخة أكبر

في الوقت الراهن، لا تظهر أعداد السكان في سوريا الفصل العرقي السائد الذي بدأ يحصل في المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة كل فصيل من الفصائل. أمّا النظام، إذ يدرك جيّدًا أنّ قاعدته العلويّة ما هي إلا أقلية قد بدأت بالانحسار، فقد أنشأ منطقة تحت سيطرته تضمّ 41 في المائة من الأقليّات الدينية، مقارنة بالعدد السائد على المستوى الوطني الذي يشير إلى 22  في المائة. من جهته يهم الجيش بالدرجة الأولى أن يحكم السيطرة على المناطق المسيحية والعلوية والدرزية والاسماعيلية والشيعية.  

عرض نسخة أكبر

في المقابل، غالباً ما تدفع انتصارات الثوار الأقليات المحلية الدينية والعرقية إلى الرحيل. وتبقى منطقة جبل السماق ذات الغالبية الدرزية في محافظة إدلب الشمالية الغربية وحدها تحت سيطرة الثوار، متنعّمة بحماية سعودية خاصة مردّها الزعيم الدرزي اللبناني وليد جنبلاط، حيث يتّضح أنّ الاستثناء الهش هو الذي يبرهن القاعدة. فجماعات الثوار تسيطر على أرض عربية سنية حيث الأقلية هي من التركمان السنّة الذين هم على الأرجح الأكثر عداءً لبشار الأسد.

بالمثل، تميل الأقليات الدينية كلها إلى الفرار من المناطق التي يسيطر عليها تنظيم "داعش". وقد بقي عدد من الأكراد، نظراً إلى أنّه لا يبدو أن "داعش" يميّزهم عن غيرهم من أهل السنّة من العرب، وذلك على الأرجح لأنّهم من المؤمنين السنة أيضاً. بالتالي، فرّ عدد كبير من الأكراد غير المتدينين إلى مناطق التي يسيطر عليها "حزب الاتّحاد الديمقراطي". 

أمّا في منطقة "روج آفا" الكردية، فلا بدّ للعرب القبول بالعيش كأقليات، شأنهم شأن الأكراد في خلال حكم العرب، أو الرحيل. وقد دفع هذا الانقلاب في الأدوار بعض العرب السنّة إلى مناصرة "داعش" إذ صعب عليهم تقبّله نظراً إلى اعتيادهم السيطرة على شمال شرقي البلاد. 

لا تعني سيطرة النظام على المناطق الأكثر تنوّعاً أنّ الأسد خيرًا أكثر من الثوار أو الأكراد أو تنظيم "داعش". بل يعكس ذلك استراتيجيته السياسية. فالأسد يعلم أنّ عليه طرد ملايين العرب السنّة ليكون ميزان القوة في صالح الأقليّات التي تدعمه. كما يحتاج إلى تقسيم السنّة عبر إعادة توزيع الأراضي والبيوت التي تعود إلى اللاجئين، الأمر الذي يجعل الموالين السنّة أكثر امتناناً له ويحرّضهم على أي شخص يقرر العودة.

في المحصّلة، إنّ الصراع السوري عبارة عن حرب طائفية، والتطهير العرقي جزء لا يتجزّأ من الاستراتيجية التي تتّبعها مختلف الجهات، حتّى لو ادّعت العكس. 

ماذا يعني التطهير العرقي بالنسبة إلى مستقبل سوريا

على الرغم من أنّ  الكثير من اللاجئين والمتشردين سيودّون العودة إلى ديارهم عندما يحلّ السلام، إلّا أنّهم لن يتمكّنوا من فعل ذلك بسبب عرقهم و/أو انتمائهم السياسي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ستكون إعادة تنظيم أوضاع النازحين مسألة استراتيجية للجهات كافّة. فجهودها الرامية إلى التطهير العرقي المحلّي قد جعلت من التقسيم مسألة يصعب حلّها أكثر فأكثر. إنّ التنوّع الطائفي في زوال في عدد من المناطق السورية وعملية توحيد لون المنطقة هذه تؤدي إلى رسم حدود داخلية.  

بيد أنّ التقسيم الرسمي لا يشكّل بالضرورة حلّا جيّداً، إذ يمكن أن يقود إلى صراعات جديدة، الأمر الذي شهده السودان، حيث انتهى أمر دولة جنوب السودان الجديدة بحربٍ أهليّة.

بالتالي، قد يضطر المجتمع الدولي إلى العمل على اتّفاق سوريّ يكون من جهة كاتفاق الطائف الذي فرض نوعاً من الوحدة في لبنان، واتفاقية دايتون التي ألزمت البوسنة بتقسيم عصيب بإشراف دوليّ كثيف. ستقبل الطوائف المختلفة في سوريا العيش في جمهوريّة جديدة وموحدة، ولكن ليس في الجمهورية العربية السورية التي كانت قبل الحرب. ويتّضح أنّ النظام الفدرالي هو النظام السياسي الأنسب لأنّه لا يمكن إعادة المركزية التي كانت سائدة، بغضّ النظر عن الفريق الحاكم.

 

فابريس بالونش، هو أستاذ مشارك ومدير الأبحاث في "جامعة ليون 2"، وزميل زائر في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2528

Ethnic Cleansing Threatens Syria's Unity

Fabrice Balanche

Also available in العربية

December 3, 2015


The escalating conflict remains a sectarian war, and deliberate ethnic cleansing by various actors is drawing new internal borders that will be difficult to erase.

Between refugees and internally displaced persons (IDPs), more than half of the Syrian population has left their homes since the war began in 2011. To understand why this has happened and what can be done to reverse it, one must examine the country's demographics in detail.
 

View larger version

POPULATION SHORTFALL

Syria currently has around 16 million residents -- a far cry from the 2010 UN projection that the population would reach 22.6 million by the end of 2015. The birth deficit and excess mortality (violent and natural) have reduced the natural population growth by half since 2011. Even if refugees are added to the current population figure, the total would be only 21.3 million, or 1.3 million less than the prewar projection. The Office of the UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) has registered 4.2 million Syrians thus far, but that figure undervalues the actual number of refugees by at least 20%. Some refugees refuse to register for fear of being arrested and taken back to Syria (as is happening in Lebanon), while many wealthy refugees do not see the point of registering. So a more realistic estimate of total refugees is 5.3 million.

That number is expected to increase sharply. In Aleppo province alone, escalating hostilities have spurred another 200,000 people to leave their homes in the past two months. The Russian offensive and the lack of short-term hope for peace have convinced many living in relatively calm areas to leave as well, and more may follow suit if the recent German-led plan to welcome more refugees is implemented.

AREAS OF CONTROL

Although it is difficult to give an exact number for IDPs, the available data suggests that 6.5 million Syrians have fled violent areas for safer areas of the country. This includes about 2 million who have fled to the current government-controlled zone from areas controlled by other factions, as well as millions of others who fled one regime-controlled area for another due to intense fighting.

The areas held by rebels (the northwest, the south, and other small pockets such as Ghouta) have lost the most people because they are the least secure -- Russian and regime airstrikes impede normal life there, and the presence of numerous different rebel factions creates persistent insecurity. The area held by the self-styled Islamic State (IS) seems safer, in part because it has a central authority. Although religious minorities and secular Sunnis fled Raqqa and Deir al-Zour, they were replaced by foreign jihadists and Syrians displaced from Aleppo. In general, people tend to seek refuge where they have relatives, and where there is no fighting; the identity of the faction that controls the area does not necessarily matter to them as much. The Kurdish area attracts displaced Kurds but few Arabs -- no surprise given that the faction in control, the Democratic Union Party (PYD), aims to make the area ethnically homogeneous.

Mainstream media reports often highlight the fact that the Syrian army controls less than 17% of the country, and IS over 50%. Yet these seemingly shocking figures do not factor in Syria's geography -- namely that 47% of the country is sparsely inhabited steppes. Of course, extending control over some of the steppes may hold ​​strategic interest for IS; Palmyra is a traffic hub with important gas and oil resources, for example, and it borders Iraq and Jordan. In any case, the Assad regime controls the largest share of Syria's residential areas, and also the most populated area. Around 10.1 million inhabitants live in the government zone, or 63% of the total resident population. The areas controlled by the other three main factions (Kurds, IS, and rebels) are roughly equal, with about 2 million each. In short, the regime has gone from controlling about 20 million Syrians prewar to about 10 million now. 

LOCAL ETHNIC CLEANSING

The large-scale population movements have not been a simple byproduct of war. Rather, they represent conscious strategies of ethnic cleansing by each faction.

To be sure, the ethno-sectarian composition of the country as a whole has not changed much, despite the departure of disproportionately Christian and Sunni Arab refugees. Christians have traditionally been scattered throughout the country and do not have their own area of refuge like the Alawites and Druze, spurring many of them to flee abroad. As for Sunni Arabs, because the insurgency took root in their ranks, they have been the first target of regime repression and airstrikes (though some Sunni clans support Bashar al-Assad and have remained safe in the government zone). Overall, Syria's current population is 22% religious minorities, 16% Kurds, and 61% Sunni Arabs -- in other words, not that different from the prewar composition.

View larger version

These figures could change in the coming months, of course, particularly if the PYD creates a continuous zone of Kurdish control along the border with Turkey by seizing territories between Azaz and Jarabulus. Any such move to connect the northwestern Kurdish enclave of Afrin with the rest of the PYD's territory in the northeast (known as Rojava) could spur hundreds of thousands of Sunni Arabs to flee. Meanwhile, expanded efforts to eliminate IS will likely produce an internal Sunni war between tribes supporting the terrorist group and other factions, creating further refugee flows. 

View larger version


For now, Syria's overall population figures hide the rampant ethnic separation already occurring within territories controlled by each faction. Acutely aware that its Alawite base is a shrinking minority, the regime has created a zone of control with 41% religious minorities, compared to the national figure of 22%. The army consistently prioritizes asserting its grip over Christian, Alawite, Druze, Ismaili, and Shiite localities.

 

In contrast, rebel victories often spur local religious and ethnic minorities to depart. Only the Druze area of Jabal al-Summaq in northwestern Idlib province remains in the rebel zone, enjoying special Saudi protection in connection with Lebanese Druze leader Walid Jumblatt -- it is the fragile exception that proves the rule. Rebel groups dominate a Sunni Arab territory; the main minority there is Sunni Turkmen, which is probably the most anti-Assad group.

Similarly, all religious minorities tend to flee IS-held areas. Some Kurds have remained behind; IS does not seem to distinguish them from local Sunni Arabs, probably because they are Sunni believers as well. That said, many secular Kurds have fled to PYD territory.

In the Kurdish zone of Rojava, Arabs must agree to live as minorities -- as the Kurds did during centuries under Arab rule -- or leave. This reversal of power is intolerable for many Sunni Arabs accustomed to dominating the northeast, leading some to support IS.

The fact that the regime-controlled zone is the most diverse does not mean that Assad is more benevolent than the rebels, Kurds, or IS. Rather, it reflects his political strategy. He knows he must expel millions of Sunni Arabs to make the balance of power more favorable to minorities who support him. He also needs to divide the Sunnis by redistributing land and housing that belonged to refugees, making loyalist Sunnis who remain behind even more beholden to him and pitting them against any who decide to return.

In sum, the Syrian conflict is a sectarian war, and ethnic cleansing is an integral part of the strategy used by various actors, even if they claim otherwise.

WHAT ETHNIC CLEANSING MEANS FOR SYRIA'S FUTURE

Although many refugees and IDPs will want to return home once peace is established, they will be unable to do so because of their ethnicity and/or political affiliation. Resettling displaced people will become a strategic question for each player. Their efforts at local ethnic cleansing are already making Syria's de facto partition more and more irremediable. Sectarian diversity is disappearing in many areas of the country, and this process of regional homogenization is drawing internal borders.

Yet formal partition is not necessarily a good solution. It could generate new conflicts, as seen when Sudan split and then the new country of South Sudan dissolved into civil war.

Therefore, the international community may need to work toward a Syrian agreement that lies somewhere between the Taif Accord, which imposed a kind of unity on Lebanon, and the Dayton Agreement, which imposed a difficult partition on Bosnia under intense foreign supervision. Syria's various communities will accept living in a new, united Syrian Republic, but not the Syrian Arab Republic as it existed prewar. A federal system would be the best political regime because the previous centralization cannot be reestablished, whatever the ruling group.

Fabrice Balanche, an associate professor and research director at the University of Lyon 2, is a visiting fellow at The Washington Institute.