أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2570

منطقتان آمنتان محتملتان شمال سوريا

فابريس بالونش

متاح أيضاً في English

24 شباط/فبراير 2016


هذا المرصد السياسي هو جزء من سلسلة معهد واشنطن عن المناطق الآمنة في سوريا.

من الممكن أن تنتهي المعركة الكبيرة التي تدور في المناطق المحيطة بحلب بمحاولة مليونَي سوري الدخول إلى تركيا من شمال غرب سوريا (انظر المرصد السياسي 2554، "معركة حلب: مركز رقعة الشطرنج السورية"). ويعود ذلك لأن الاستراتيجية التي يتبعها الجيش السوري - وحلفاؤه ككل - لمكافحة التمرد تقوم على طرد المدنيين في الخطوة الأولى تسهيلاً لتطهير المنطقة من الثوار. ولكن هناك منطقتين آمنتين محتملتين في شمال غرب سوريا تقعان خارج المناطق الكردية والمناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة الدولة. الأولى تقع في وسط محافظة إدلب التي يسيطر عليها الثوار، بينما تقع الثانية في المنطقة الشرقية من محافظة حلب ويسيطر عليها حالياً تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش»). إن وصف كل منطقة قد يساعد في توضيح قدرتيهما كمنطقتين آمنتين.

محافظة إدلب

بعد سقوط الرقة، أصبحت إدلب ثاني عاصمة محافظة يخسرها النظام السوري، بعد أن سقطت في ربيع عام 2015 بيد تنظيم «جيش الفتح»، شأنها شأن المدينتين الكبرتين الأخرتين في المحافظة، جسر الشغور وأريحا، علماً بأن حكومة دمشق كانت قد خسرت سيطرتها على الريف في شتاء 2011-2012.

وإذا كان عدد سكان محافظة إدلب قبل اندلاع الحرب يصل إلى مليونَي نسمة، فهو لا يتعدّى اليوم 1.2 مليون شخص مع نزوح السكان إلى محافظات أخرى أو لجوئهم إلى تركيا. وفي التقييم الأخير الذي أجراه "مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية" في آب/أغسطس 2014، قُدّر عدد الأشخاص المشردين [النازحين] داخلياً من محافظة إدلب بنحو 708,000 شخص.

وفي الوقت نفسه، ينتمي سكان المحافظة إلى مجموعة عرقية ودينية متجانسة إلى حد ما، تتكون من 95 في المائة من العرب السنّة. فأثناء المعارك التي دارت في الأرياف بين عامي 2011 و 2012 وفي مدينة إدلب خلال شهر آذار/مارس 2015، هرب المسيحيون حين استولى الثوار على تلك المناطق. وما حدث بالتحديد هو أن السكان السابقين لقرية اليعقوبية الأرمنية انتقلوا بشكل جماعي إلى منطقة ناغورني قرة باغ الممتدة بين شرق أرمينيا وجنوب غرب أذربيجان. أما بلدتا الفوعة وكفريا فتحتضنان مجتمعات كبيرة من الشيعة ويحاصرهما الثوار منذ سقوط إدلب، بينما تتشتت عشر قرى درزية في جبل السماق. وعلى الرغم من أن مناصري مبدأ التقية لدى الشيعة كانوا قد أعلنوا عن دعمهم للثورة السورية في وقت مبكر، ليس من المستغرب أن يشككك تنظيم «جبهة النصرة» في كونهم منافقين. هذا ويعيش سكانٌ تركمان شمال جسر الشغور على مقربة من الحدود التركية.

Idlib map

انقر على الخريطة لعرض نسخة عالية الدقة.

قبل بدء الأزمة السورية، كان سبعون في المائة من سكان إدلب يعيشون في الأرياف، التي هي عبارة عن منطقة زراعية خصبة تنتج الحبوب والزيتون والخضروات الشتوية وتتبع نمط الري الفردي الذي يتيح لها زراعة محاصيل إضافية في فصل الصيف. وقد شكلت الزراعة بالنسبة للذين بقوا في منطقتهم وسيلةً للصمود بوجه الاضطرابات. بيد، لم تشهد هذه المنطقة نشاطاً صناعياً يُذكر حتى قبل الحرب، وكانت إدلب معروفة كمدينة إدارية. وفي حين كانت محافظة إدلب تعتمد إلى حد كبير على حلب للحصول على المنتجات المصنّعة خلال السنوات التي سبقت الحرب، إلا أن كل شيء أصبح يأتي حالياً من تركيا. وحتى الإمدادات القادمة من تركيا محدودة للغاية بحيث أن قوافل المساعدات الإنسانية قادرة على الوصول إلى باب الهوى فقط. وتعود السيطرة السورية الصارمة على هذه الحدود إلى مطالبة سوريا المستمرة بـ"سنجق الإسكندرون" - أو محافظة هاتاي التركية حالياً. وفي الواقع، إن الحدود بين سوريا وتركيا مرسومة بالأسلاك الشائكة والمُشاع وحقول الألغام. وفي حين يتعذر حالياً اجتياز حدود باب الهوى إلا في حالات إنسانية محددة للغاية، لم يكن ذلك واقع المنطقة قبل عام 2015 وموجة الهجرة الكبيرة إلى تركيا. فخلال سنوات الحرب الأولى كان بوسع السوريين التنقل ذهاباً وإياباً إلى تركيا أو اللجوء إليها عندما تصاعدت وتيرة القتال.

محافظة شرق حلب

على غرار محافظة إدلب، سقط شرق محافظة حلب بسرعة من سيطرة الدولة وبقي نسبياً بمنأى عن القتال بين الجيش السوري والثوار. ولكن في شتاء 2013-2014، وقع اشتباك عنيف بين الثوار و تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في المنطقة وفي كافة أنحاء شمال سوريا، وذلك حينما أبقى تنظيم «داعش» سيطرته على المنطقة حتى بعد أن تم دحره من مدينة حلب والجزء الغربي من المحافظة. ولا يزال التنظيم والثوار يتواجهون في ممر أعزاز ويشتبكون أحياناً (انظر المرصد السياسي 2532، "الصراع على ممر أعزاز قد يؤدي إلى تدخل تركي"). ولكن عموماً، بقيت المنطقة هادئة نسبياً وبمنأى عن القصف، حيث يفرض تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» قوانينه عليها ولكن في الوقت نفسه يوفر الأمان النسبي للسكان. أما اليوم فتشير التطورات إلى أن هذا الهدوء قد لا يطول. فقد شنّ الجيش السوري هجوماً من الناحية الجنوبية الغربية (السفيرة) لرفع الحصار الذي يفرضه تنظيم «داعش» على مطار الكويرس العسكري قبل أن يتوقف على بعد عشرة كيلومترات جنوب مدينة الباب. ومن ناحية الشرق، اجتاز الأكراد نهر الفرات في أواخر كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2015 عبر الاستحواذ على "سد تشرين". هذا وتتمركز جماعة السوريين الأكراد المعروفة باسم «وحدات حماية الشعب» على بعد عشرة كيلومترات من مدينة منبج الواقعة بين أيدي تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» حيث توجد خطط لشن هجوم على المدينة في النهاية. وإلى الشمال هناك لواء "السلطان مراد" التركماني الذي سبق أن استولى على عدة قرى على طول الحدود التركية، ويتمتع بحماية المدافع التركية. ويبدو أن هذه الميليشيا الموالية لتركيا تراقب جرابلس لتستهدفها في خطوتها التالية من أجل منع «وحدات حماية الشعب» من الاستيلاء عليها انطلاقاً من موقعها في كوباني.

East Aleppo map

انقر على الخريطة لعرض نسخة عالية الدقة.

هناك مطامع كبيرة للغاية [للسيطرة على] شرق محافظة حلب وقد تندلع فيها أعمال العنف بسرعة وعلى نطاق واسع. وبخلاف إدلب الواقعة بيد الثوار، من المرجح أن تسقط هذه المنطقة بيد القوات الموالية لروسيا أو تلك الموالية للغرب، وذلك لأنها تخضع لسيطرة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». ومع ذلك، فكما هو الحال مع محافظة إدلب، يبقى السؤال الصعب الذي يطرح نفسه هنا هو كيف يمكن حماية المدنيين بعد طرد التنظيم.

وحالياً يبلغ عدد السكان في شرق محافظة حلب نحو 700 ألف نسمة، كما كان عليه في عام 2010. ويعزى هذا الاستقرار جزئياً إلى القتال المحدود في الوقت الذي يحل فيه الأشخاص المشردين داخلياً من مدينة حلب محل اللاجئين إلى تركيا. أما عدد النازحين داخلياً في شرق محافظة حلب فيناهز الـ 600 ألف شخص وفق التقديرات الصادرة عن "مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية" لعام 2014، لكن من المحتمل أن تكون المعارضة السورية قد ضخّمت هذا الرقم لتحصل على كمية أكبر من المساعدات الإنسانية. وكما هو الحال في إدلب، تشكل الزراعة أهم نشاط اقتصادي في شرق حلب، وبذلك تتم تلبية احتياجات السكان الأساسية إلى حدٍّ كبير، بينما يتم جلب السلع المصنّعة والأدوية وغيرها من تركيا دون أي صعوبة. وقد حافظت حافظت هذه العملية لنقل البضائع على ثباتها بينما بقي النفط السوري يتدفق في الاتجاه المعاكس، حتى مع فرض القيود على سفر المدنيين إلى تركيا منذ الهجمات التي تعرضت لها باريس في 13 تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر 2015.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك إنّ جميع سكان شرق حلب هم الآن من السنّة. فقد كان الوجود المسيحي فيها نادراً حتى قبل عام 2010، علماً بأن آخر العائلات المسيحية قد فرّت مع الموظفين الحكوميين العلويين في عام 2012. مع ذلك، فِإن التنوع العرقي في تلك المنطقة أكبر من التنوع الديني، فالأقليات الكردية والتركمانية تتمتع بمكانة يصعب تقديرها، إذ إنّ العديد من القرى مختلطة كما أن التمثيل الذي تملكه هذه المجموعات العرقية غير معروف في المناطق الحضرية في منبج والباب وجرابلس. ولهذا الغموض الديمغرافي أهمية لا سيما في صفوف الأكراد الذين يزعمون أن تلك المنطقة هي كردية تاريخياً. وبالتالي يمكن أن تقع مواجهة كبيرة في أعقاب رحيل تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، ما لم تُتخذ الاحتياطات اللازمة لملء الفراغ السياسي.

مناطق آمنة ومجتمع ريفي قادر على التكيف

بقي كلٌّ من محافظة إدلب وشرق محافظة حلب بمنأى نسبياً عن القتال السوري. ولا تزال المجتمعات المحلية الريفية قوية وتستفيد عموماً من الخدمات الأساسية الفعالة وتوزيع المساعدات الإنسانية التي توفرها حكوماتها المحلية. ومع أن هاتين المنطقتين تنعمان تقريباً بالاكتفاء الذاتي عندما يتعلق الأمر بالطعام، يبقى من الضروري الحفاظ على ممر مفتوح لها إلى تركيا خاصة فيما يتعلق بالخدمات العلاجية والصحية. لذلك من شأن إقامة منطقة آمنة في أي من هاتين المنطقتين أن يشجّع اللاجئين والنازحين داخلياً على العودة إلى القرى والبلدات الصغيرة حتى في غياب الخدمات العامة الكاملة. وفي الواقع أن أبناء الريف الذين أقاموا سابقاً في تلك المناطق سيكونون معتادين على نمط العيش التقشفي أكثر من سكان المدن. كما أن تأمين الظروف اللائقة لعودة اللاجئين إلى المدن الأكبر التي دُمرت فيها البنى التحية ينطوي على تعقيدات أكبر من القرى والمدن الصغيرة. وفي إطار اتفاقٍ لوقف إطلاق نار عام، يمكن للعلاقات التجارية أن تعود إلى مجاريها سريعاً بين المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة النظام وتلك الخاضعة للثوار، الأمر الذي قد يسهّل التنمية الاقتصادية وييسّر عودة اللاجئين والنازحين داخلياً.

 

فابريس بالونش، هو أستاذ مشارك ومدير الأبحاث في "جامعة ليون 2"، وزميل زائر في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2570

Two Potential Safe Zones in Northern Syria

Fabrice Balanche

Also available in العربية

February 24, 2016

Both Idlib province and eastern Aleppo province have been relatively spared from the fighting, and their rural communities remain strong.

Read more articles from the TWI series on Syrian safe zones.

The major battle taking place around Aleppo may ultimately result in two million Syrians attempting to enter Turkey from northwestern Syria (see "The Battle of Aleppo Is the Center of the Syrian Chessboard," PolicyWatch 2554). This is because the Syrian army's counterinsurgency strategy -- and that of its allies -- is founded on expelling civilians first, which allows for easier clearing out of the rebels. In northwestern Syria, however, two potential safe zones exist outside the Kurdish and government-held areas. The first is centered in the rebel-held Idlib province, the second in the eastern part of Aleppo province, currently under Islamic State control. A description of these areas can help elucidate their potential as safe zones.

Idlib Province

After Raqqa, Idlib became the second provincial capital lost by Damascus, falling in spring 2015 to Jaish al-Fatah (Army of Conquest) along with the province's two other major cities, Jisr al-Shughour and Ariha. Damascus had lost control of the countryside in winter 2011-2012.

With a prewar population of about two million, Idlib province now has no more than 1.2 million inhabitants, with the balance having moved to other provinces or having sought refuge in Turkey. In its most recent evaluation, in August 2014, the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA) estimated that Idlib province had 708,000 internally displaced persons (IDPs).

The province, meanwhile, has a fairly homogeneous ethno-religious population consisting of 95 percent Sunni Arabs. During the countryside fighting of 2011-2012, and in Idlib city in March 2015, Christians fled as rebels took control. In particular, former residents of the Armenian village of Yacoubiyah transplanted themselves en masse to the Karabakh-Nagorno region, which straddles eastern Armenia and southwestern Azerbaijan. The towns of al-Fua and Kefraya host large Shiite communities, surrounded by rebels since Idlib's fall, and ten Druze villages are scattered in Jabal al-Summaq. Although proponents of the Shiite principle of taqqiya (dissimulation) proclaimed their support for the Syrian revolution early on, they are unsurprisingly suspected of munafiq (insincerity) by Jabhat al-Nusra. To the north of Jisr al-Shughour, a Turkmen population lives close to the Turkish border.

Idlib map



Before the Syrian crisis began, 70 percent of Idlib's population lived in the countryside, a fertile agricultural area that produces grains, olives, and winter vegetables, with individual irrigation allowing for additional crops in summer. For those who have remained, agriculture has provided a means to survive the turmoil. Even before the war, the area had very little industrial activity, and Idlib was known as an administrative city. Also, whereas in the prewar years Idlib province depended heavily on Aleppo for manufactured products, today everything comes from Turkey. Yet even supplies from Turkey are severely limited, with humanitarian convoys only able to reach Bab al-Hawa. Strict Syrian control of this border can be traced to the lingering Syrian claim on the "Sanjak of Alexandretta" -- today's Hatay province of Turkey. Indeed, barbed wire, no-man's-land, and minefields mark the border between Syria and Turkey. Whereas today the Bab al-Hawa border cannot be crossed except in very select humanitarian cases, this was not the reality before 2015 and the huge migration to Turkey. In the earlier war years, Syrians could make return trips to Turkey or take refuge when fighting surged.

Eastern Aleppo Province

Like Idlib province, eastern Aleppo province quickly fell from state control and was relatively untouched by fighting between the Syrian army and rebels. However, during winter 2013-2014, rebels and the Islamic State clashed violently, as throughout northern Syria, with IS holding the area even as the group was expelled from Aleppo city and the province's western section. In the Azaz corridor, the Islamic State and the rebels continue to face each other down and sometimes fight (see PolicyWatch 2532, "The Struggle for Azaz Corridor Could Spur a Turkish Intervention"). But overall, the area has been fairly quiet and free of bombardment, with the Islamic State imposing its laws but at the same time providing relative safety to the population. Now, however, developments suggest the calm may not last. The Syrian army launched an offensive from the southwest (al-Safira) to lift the IS siege of the Kuwaires military airport before stopping ten kilometers south of al-Bab. To the east, the Kurds crossed the Euphrates River in late December 2015 by seizing Tishrin Dam. The People's Defense Units (YPG), the Syrian Kurdish group, are stationed ten kilometers from IS-controlled Manbij, with plans to eventually launch an offensive against the city. To the north, the Turkmen brigade Sultan Murad, which has seized several villages along the Turkish border, enjoys Turkish artillery support. This pro-Turkish militia appears to be eying Jarabulus as its next target to prevent the YPG from seizing it from its Kobane position.

East Aleppo map

Click on map to view or download high-resolution version.


Eastern Aleppo province is highly coveted and could quickly erupt into widespread violence. Distinct from rebel-held Idlib, this territory -- because under IS control -- will likely be conquered by either pro-Russian or pro-Western forces. Like with Idlib province, however, the difficult question remains of how to protect civilians once the Islamic State is ousted.

Similar to the 2010 figure, eastern Aleppo province now has some 700,000 inhabitants. This stability owes in part to the limited fighting, with refugees to Turkey being replaced by IDPs from Aleppo city. OCHA's 2014 estimate cites 600,000 IDPs in eastern Aleppo province, but this figure may well have been exaggerated by the Syrian opposition to obtain more humanitarian aid. As in Idlib, eastern Aleppo's main economic activity is agricultural, so the population's basic needs remain largely satisfied. Manufactured goods, medicines, and other items are transported from Turkey without difficulty. This transit of goods has remained steady, with Syrian oil flowing in the other direction, even as civilian visits to Turkey have been restricted since the November 13, 2015, Paris attacks.

Eastern Aleppo's population is now 100 percent Sunni. Christians were rare even before 2010, but the last of the Christian families fled with Alawite civil servants in 2012. However, ethnic diversity is stronger than religious diversity, with Kurdish and Turkmen minorities holding a position that is difficult to estimate. Many villages are mixed, and these ethnic groups' representation is unknown in the urban areas of Manbij, al-Bab, and Jarabulus. This demographic ambiguity is meaningful, especially among the Kurds, who claim the area is historically Kurdish. A major confrontation could therefore occur once the Islamic State leaves, unless precautions are taken to fill the political vacuum.

Safe Zones and Rural Resilience

Both Idlib province and eastern Aleppo province have been relatively spared from the Syrian fighting. Rural communities remain strong and generally benefit from effective basic services and distribution of humanitarian aid provided through their local governments. Although these two areas are virtually self-sufficient when it comes to food, maintaining an open gate to Turkey is essential, especially for medication and health services. A safe zone in either region, therefore, could promote the return of refugees and IDPs to the villages and small towns even absent full public services. Indeed, former rural inhabitants of these areas will be more accustomed to enduring spartan living than urban dwellers would be. And establishing decent conditions for return is far more complicated in large cities, where infrastructure was destroyed, than in villages and small towns. As part of a general ceasefire, economic relations are likely to resume quickly between the regime zone and the rebel zone, which could facilitate economic development and the return of the refugees and IDPs.

Fabrice Balanche, an associate professor and research director at the University of Lyon 2, is a visiting fellow at The Washington Institute.