أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2554

معركة حلب: مركز رقعة الشطرنج السورية

فابريس بالونش

متاح أيضاً في English

5 شباط/فبراير 2016


في 2 شباط/فبراير، نجح الجيش السوري وحلفاؤه في قطع الطريق الشمالية بين مدينة حلب وتركيا والمعروفة بممر أعزاز. وعلى الرغم من أن المعركة كانت عملية محلية شارك فيها عدد صغير نسبياً من المقاتلين، إلا أنها قد تشكّل نقطة تحول في الحرب السورية. وهذا التطور الأخير لا يهدد وجود المتمردين في محافظة حلب فحسب، بل قد يضع الحدود التركية السورية المشتركة بأكملها تحت سيطرة القوات الموالية للأسد في غضون أشهر، أو يدفع القوات الكردية المتواجدة في المنطقة إلى تبنّي خيار التعايش مع الأسد.

قطع الممر الشمالي

انطلقت العملية العسكرية للسيطرة على ممر أعزاز من باشكوي (الضاحية الشمالية لحلب) ومن موقع تمركز الشيعة الموالين للنظام في بلدتي نبل- الزهراء. ويشارك «حزب الله» وميليشيتان شيعيتان مدعومتان من إيران - «كتائب بدر» العراقية وميليشيا «الدفاع الوطني» المحلية - كوحدات أساسية في المعركة على الأرض، وتواجه [هذه الوحدات] القوات المتمردة بقيادة «جبهة النصرة» التابعة لتنظيم «القاعدة»، والتي كانت قد أرسلت في السابق المئات من التعزيزات من منطقة إدلب.

عرض نسخة أكبر.

يكمن الهدف الأول للمقاتلين الشيعة في رمزية الانتصار، أي الدفاع عن أبناء طائفتهم الشيعة ضد الإسلاميين السنّة الذين يريدون طردهم. وقد قاوم الموقع الصغير في نبل-الزهراء اعتداءات المتمردين طوال ثلاث سنوات فيما كان «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» الكردي يحمي الجانب الغربي ويسمح بدخول إمدادات الغذاء إليه. وفي المقابل، كان الجيش السوري يحمي حي الشيخ مقصود الكردي في حلب من اعتداءات المتمردين. أما التعاون غير المباشر بين «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» والجيش السوري فقد أصبح الآن تعاوناً مباشراً في وقت تشن فيه قواتهما هجمات ضد المتمردين في ممر أعزاز.

وفي شباط/فبراير 2015، فشلت محاولة لضم موقع نبل-الزهراء مع المنطقة الخاضعة لسيطرة الحكومة بشكل مأساوي بسبب النقص في الاستعدادات ووجود قوات غير كافية. وبعد ذلك، شنت القوات المتمردة هجوماً مضاداً واسعاً وسيطرت على إدلب ثم هددت حلب وحتى اللاذقية. واضطر بشار الأسد إلى طلب التدخل من روسيا دون أي شروط. وفي المقابل، جاء الهجوم الأخير بعد أسابيع من القصف الجوي الكثيف ضد دفاعات المتمردين، لا سيما على مركز باب السلام الحدودي مع تركيا الذي كان المتمردون يحصلون من خلاله على الكثير من امداداتهم.

ولا يبلغ عرض الممر الذي تسيطر عليه المعارضة بين حلب وتركيا سوى خمسة إلى خمسة عشر كيلومتراً، وينحصر بين قوات تنطيم «الدولة الإسلامية» شرقاً وإقليم عفرين الكردي غرباً. أمّا الجماعات المتمردة الرئيسية في هذه المنطقة، فهي «جبهة النصرة» و« أحرار الشام » وحركة "نور الدين الزنكي" و"لواء السلطان مراد" (وهي جماعة تركمانية قريبة جداً من تركيا). وتنضوي هذه الجماعات رسمياً تحت منظمة مظلة للثوار هي تنظيم «جيش الفتح» الذي تدعمه المملكة السعودية وتركيا. لكن منذ حملته العسكرية الناجحة في ربيع 2015، عانى التنظيم من انشقاقات داخلية كبيرة. فقد خاض « أحرار الشام» مؤخراً معارك ضد «جبهة النصرة»، بينما انسحبت جماعة "نور الزنكي" من ضواحي حلب، فيما يقاتل "لواء السلطان مراد" قوات تنطيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، وليس قوات الأسد.

وقد ضعف ممر أعزاز بشكل خاص بعد أن تمكنت "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية"، وهي تحالف قوات كردية وعربية تحت مظلة «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي»، من استلام زمام الأمور في وجه المتمردين وبدأت بالتقدم غرباً في الأسابيع الأخيرة وراحت تقترب من طريق حلب-أعزاز. واستفادت "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" من قصف القوات الروسية على خطوط المتمردين فضلاً عن إمدادات السلاح المباشرة لها من روسيا. وفي 4 شباط/فبراير، أعلنت الجماعة فرض سيطرتها على بلدتين شمال نبل-الزهراء هما الزيارة والخربة. وفي ضوء هذه التطورات، فإن الانتصار الأخير للجيش السوري يبدو وكأنه يصب في مصلحة الأكراد القادرين على التقدم في الناحية الشمالية من ممر أعزاز، بينما تكتفي قوات النظام وحلفاؤها بتعزيز موقعها حول حلب بدلاً من التقدم باتجاه الممر.

إغلاق الحدود الغربية

بعد أن تم قطع الطريق الشمالية حالياً، فإن الطريق من حلب إلى معبر باب الهوى الغربي الخاضع لسيطرة المتمردين قد تشكّل الهدف التالي. وعلى خط موازٍ من عملية أعزاز، شن «حزب الله» هجمات في الضواحي الشمالية لحلب لقطع الطريق التي تعرف بـ "الكاستيلو" التي تصل من خلالها الإمدادات إلى الأحياء الشرقية حيث ينتشر المتمردون. ولكن هذا الهجوم لم يكن بالوحشية التي تميّز بها الهجوم في الشمال نظراً لطبيعة الأرض الجغرافية التي تجعل من الصعب السيطرة عليها إذ تشكّل كثافة المباني السكنية عائقاً أمام تقدّم الدبابات. ولن يحاول النظام وحلفاؤه استعادة تلك المنطقة بسرعة لا سيما وأن خطر الخسائر الضخمة نتيجة حرب المدن كبير جداً. لذلك، فإن الحل الأفضل هو تطويقها والانتظار، مما سيتيح الوقت أمام عشرات آلاف المدنيين الذين ما زالوا في شرق حلب بالفرار منها. هذا ويفر الكثير من المقاتلين أيضاً ربما خوفاً من ألا يتمكنوا من الانسحاب بعد تطويق المنطقة وحصارها بشكل كامل كما حدث في حمص في ربيع 2014.

وفي غضون ذلك، يرجح أن تركز الجهود السورية والروسية على مناطق الريف غرب حلب، إذ أصبح من الممكن الآن شن هجوم من الزهراء على المتمردين شمال غرب حلب ودعم هجمات مماثلة من الناحية الجنوبية الغربية، حيث حقق الجيش تقدماً كبيراً منذ تشرين الأول/أكتوبر الماضي. لكن من غير المرجح أن تدخل قوات الأسد المناطق الحضرية الكثيفة السكان، بل قد تتجه إلى الميدان المفتوح وتلجأ لقطع خطوط التواصل للمتمردين. وربما يركز الجيش والقوات المتحالفة معه في الأشهر المقبلة على السيطرة على قسم كبير من الحدود الغربية بين باب الهوى وجبل التركمان في محافظة اللاذقية شمال البلاد.

عرض نسخة أكبر.

وفي الوقت نفسه، قد يهاجم «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» المنطقة الحدودية البالغ طولها 90 كيلومتراً بين أعزاز وجرابلس شمالاً، والتي يسيطر عليها حالياً تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» وهو ما يتوافق مع استراتيجية الحزب التي تسعى لربط الموقعين الكرديين عفرين وكوباني (عين العرب) ببعضهما البعض. وخلافا للولايات المتحدة، لا تريد روسيا معاداة الأكراد من خلال إحباط هدفهم السامي الذي يكمن بتوحيد أرضهم. إضافة إلى ذلك، يريد الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين ممارسة الضغط على الجبهة الحدودية التركية المشتركة بأكملها مع سوريا، والتي تشكل أحد الأهداف الإقليميية الرئيسية للتدخل الروسي. أمّا إذا نجح «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» والقوات الموالية للأسد في هجوميهما المنفصلين، فستصبح المنطقة الحدودية بأكملها تحت سيطرتهم ولن يبقى للقوات المناوئة للأسد، أكانت المتمردين أو تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، منفذاً إلى تركيا.

إطلاق حملة مضادة أو فتح جبهة جديدة؟

منذ أيلول/سبتمبر، تُركز استراتيجية موسكو على ثلاثة أهداف: الأول هو حماية المنطقة العلوية الساحلية حيث نشرت روسيا قواعدها اللوجستية، والثاني تعزيز موقع الأسد ودفع المتمردين بعيداً عن المدن الكبرى، حمص وحماة واللاذقية وحلب ودمشق، والثالث قطع خطوط الإمدادات الخارجية للمتمردين.

وقد تم تحقيق الهدفين الأولين إلى حد كبير: فلم تقع هجمات على اللاذقية أو طرطوس التي يمكن أن تهدد القواعد الروسية فيها، كما لم تقع أي مدينة كبرى تحت سيطرة المتمردين. وعلى العكس من ذلك، أخلى المتمردون حي الوعر بحمص في كانون الأول/ديسمبر بعد أن يئسوا من وصول أي مساعدة.

والآن وبعد أن قُطعت طريق أعزاز، فقد تم الوصول إلى نصف الطريق نحو تحقيق الهدف الثالث. ويبدو أن روسيا وحلفائها قادرين على تحقيق طموحاتهم، فالضعف في القوة البشرية الذي يتخبط فيه جنود الأسد يعوّض عنه التفوق الجوي الكلّي وتعزيزات الميليشيات الشيعية.

إلا أن كلاً من تركيا والسعودية قد لا تقف مكتوفة الأيدي في ضوء التقدّم الروسي-الإيراني الكبير في سوريا. على سبيل المثال، قد تشكلان تنظيماً جديداً للمتمردين يشبه مظلة «جيش الفتح» و/أو ترسلان صواريخ مضادة للطائرات لبعض الكتائب. وثمة خيار آخر هو فتح جبهة جديدة في شمال لبنان حيث قد تنخرط الجماعات السلفية المحلية وآلاف اللاجئين السوريين المحبطين في القتال. ومن شأن هذه الخطوة أن تهدد معقل الطائفة العلوية التي ينتمي إليها الأسد في طرطوس وحمص بشكل مباشر، وتهدد أيضاً الطريق الرئيسي إلى دمشق. وقد يؤدي ذلك أيضاً إلى تطويق قوات النظام، وقطع طرق التواصل والامدادات والتمويل لـ «حزب الله» بين لبنان وسوريا. أمّا السؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هنا، فهو: هل تملك الرياض وأنقرة الوسائل والإرادة للمضي في هذا المسار الجريء والخطير؟

أياً كان الأمر، ففي ظل غياب أي تطور نادر آخر، من الصعب أن يتمكن المتمردون من مواجهة الماكنة الحربية الروسية-السورية-الإيرانية أو التصدي لها. إن النجاحات الأخيرة في حلب تضع بوتين وسط رقعة الشطرنج السورية وتدحض توقعات بأن التدخل الروسي لن يحدث فرقاً يذكر أو قد يوقع موسكو في فخ مستنقع آخر.

 

فابريس بالونش، هو أستاذ مشارك ومدير الأبحاث في "جامعة ليون 2"، وزميل زائر في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2554

The Battle of Aleppo Is the Center of the Syrian Chessboard

Fabrice Balanche

Also available in العربية

February 5, 2016

With ample Russian and Iranian help, regime forces have cut the rebels' main lifeline in the north, and they will likely steer their relentless steamroller to the west unless outside powers take action.

On February 2, the Syrian army and its allies succeeded in cutting the northern road between Aleppo city and Turkey, known as the Azaz corridor. Although the battle was a local affair involving a relatively small number of fighters, it may prove to be a turning point in the war. In addition to threatening the rebel presence in Aleppo province, the development could put the entire Turkey-Syria border under the control of pro-Assad forces within a matter of months, or spur Kurdish forces there to choose coexistence with Assad.


The offensive against the corridor was launched from Bashkuy (on the northern outskirts of Aleppo) and from the pro-regime Shiite enclave in the villages of Nubl and Zahra. Hezbollah and two other Iranian-supported Shiite militias (the Iraqi brigade al-Badr and the enclave's local "National Defense" militia) are the main ground units participating to the battle, pitted against rebel forces led by al-Qaeda affiliate Jabhat al-Nusra, which had previously sent hundreds of reinforcements from the Idlib area.

View larger version.

For Shiite fighters, the purpose of the battle is highly symbolic: to defend their fellow Shiites against Sunni Islamists who want to expel them. The small Nubl-Zahra enclave has resisted rebel assaults for three years, with the Kurdish Democratic Union Party (PYD) protecting its western flank and allowing food deliveries to enter. In exchange, the Syrian army has protected Aleppo's Kurdish neighborhood of Sheikh Maqsoud against rebel attacks. Passive cooperation between the PYD and the Syrian army is now becoming active as both forces are on the offensive against rebels in the Azaz corridor.

A February 2015 attempt to join the Nubl-Zahra enclave with the government zone failed dramatically due to lack of preparation and insufficient forces. Afterward, a heavy rebel counteroffensive took Idlib, then threatened Aleppo and even Latakia. Bashar al-Assad was obliged to ask for Russian intervention without any conditions. In contrast, the latest offensive was preceded by weeks of heavy aerial bombardment against rebel defenses, particularly at the Bab al-Salam border post with Turkey, through which the rebels receive many of their supplies.

The opposition-controlled corridor between Aleppo and Turkey is only five to fifteen kilometers wide, wedged between Islamic State (IS) forces to the east and the Kurdish canton of Afrin to the west. The main rebel groups in this area are Jabhat al-Nusra, Ahrar al-Sham, Harakat Nour al-Din al-Zinki, and the Sultan Murad brigade (a Turkmen group very close to Turkey). These groups are formally members of the rebel umbrella organization Jaish al-Fatah, which is supported by Saudi Arabia and Turkey. Since their victorious campaign of spring 2015, however, significant internal divisions have emerged. Ahrar al-Sham and Jabhat al-Nusra have recently fought each other, while Nour al-Zinki has withdrawn from the outskirts of Aleppo, and Sultan Murad is only fighting IS forces, not Assad.

The Azaz corridor grew particularly weak after the Democratic Forces of Syria (DFS) -- an alliance of Kurdish and Arab forces under the PYD umbrella -- gained the upper hand against the rebels and began to advance westward in recent weeks, approaching the Aleppo-Azaz road. The DFS has benefitted from Russian shelling against rebel lines, as well as direct Russian weapons deliveries. On February 4, the group announced the capture of two villages north of the Nubl-Zahra enclave, Ziyarah and al-Kharba. In light of this situation, the Syrian army's latest victory would seem to benefit the Kurds, who can advance in the northern part of Azaz corridor while regime and allied forces content themselves with solidifying their position around Aleppo instead of heading to Azaz.


Now that the northern road is cut, the next target is likely the road from Aleppo to the rebel-controlled western border crossing of Bab al-Hawa. In parallel with the Azaz offensive, Hezbollah launched attacks in the northern suburbs of Aleppo to cut the road called "Castello," by which the eastern rebel neighborhoods are supplied. This offensive has been less brutal than the one in the north because the terrain is more difficult to conquer: the high density of residential buildings prevents tanks from progressing. The regime and its allies will not try to retake this area quickly, since the risk of heavy losses from urban warfare is too great. The best solution is to surround it and wait, which will allow time for tens of thousands of civilians who remain in eastern Aleppo to flee. Many fighters are fleeing as well, perhaps because they fear they will not be able to withdraw once the area is fully besieged, as happened in Homs in spring 2014.

Meanwhile, Syrian and Russian efforts will likely focus on the countryside west of Aleppo. From Zahra, it is now possible to attack the rebels northwest of Aleppo and support similar actions from the southwest, where the army has progressed a great deal since October. Again, Assad's forces are unlikely to tackle dense urban areas, instead moving in the open field and cutting rebel lines of communication. In the coming months, the army and its allies will probably aim to seize a sizable section of the western border between Bab al-Hawa and Jabal Turkmen in northern Latakia province.

View larger version.

At the same time, the PYD might attack the ninety-kilometer border area between Azaz and Jarabulus in the north, currently held by IS. This would be in keeping with the group's strategy of linking the Kurdish enclaves of Afrin and Kobane. Unlike the United States, Russia does not want to antagonize the Kurds by prohibiting their deeply held goal of territorial unification. Moreover, Vladimir Putin wants to put pressure on Turkey's entire frontier with Syria: it is one of the main regional goals of the Russian intervention. If the PYD and pro-Assad forces succeed in their separate offensives, the whole border will be under their control, with no window into Turkey for anti-Assad forces, be they rebels or IS.


Moscow's strategy since September has been shaped by three goals. The first is to protect the coastal Alawite area where Russia has installed its logistics bases. The second is to strengthen Assad, pushing the rebels far from the large cities of Homs, Hama, Latakia, Aleppo, and Damascus. The third is to cut the rebels' foreign supply lines.

The first two objectives have largely been met: there have been no attacks on Latakia or Tartus that could interfere with the Russian bases there, and no large city has fallen to the rebels. To the contrary, the rebels evacuated the Homs neighborhood of al-Waar in December because they were desperate, not seeing any help coming.

Now that the Azaz road has been cut, the third goal is halfway reached. Russia and its allies seem to have the means to meet their ambitions, with Assad's manpower weakness offset by complete air superiority and Shiite militia reinforcements.

Yet Turkey and Saudi Arabia may not remain passive in the face of major Russian-Iranian progress in Syria. For example, they could set up a new rebel umbrella group similar to Jaish al-Fatah, and/or send antiaircraft missiles to certain brigades. Another option is to open a new front in northern Lebanon, where local Salafist groups and thousands of desperate Syrian refugees could be engaged in the fight. Such a move would directly threaten Assad's Alawite heartland in Tartus and Homs, as well as the main road to Damascus. Regime forces would be outflanked, and Hezbollah's lines of communication, reinforcement, and supply between Lebanon and Syria could be cut off. The question is, do Riyadh and Ankara have the means and willingness to conduct such a bold, dangerous action?

Whatever the case, without that or another black-swan development, it is difficult to see how the rebels can resist the Russian-Syrian-Iranian steamroller. The latest successes in Aleppo place Putin at the center of the Syrian chessboard, contrary to forecasts that Russian intervention would make little difference or trap Moscow in another quagmire.

Fabrice Balanche, an associate professor and research director at the University of Lyon 2, is a visiting fellow at The Washington Institute.