أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2792

جدول أعمال ترامب-عباس: الحث على اتخاذ خطوات متواضعة لتحقيق السلام

غيث العمري

متاح أيضاً في English

26 نيسان/أبريل 2017


في 3 أيار/ مايو سيجتمع الرئيس الفلسطيني محمود عباس مع الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب في أول زيارة يقوم بها للبيت الأبيض منذ عام 2014. وقد منحت الدعوة بحد ذاتها، كما أعطى الاهتمام الدولي المتجدد بعملية السلام مع إسرائيل بشكل عام، دعماً دبلوماسياً كبيراً لعباس. ومع ذلك، لا تزال مكانته الإقليمية والمحلية غير مستقرة، وقد لا يتمكن من تقديم نتائج ملموسة حول بعض المقترحات التي ستتوصل إليها القمة، ناهيك عن إبرام اتفاق سلام. وبناء على ذلك، ينبغي أن يطلق الاجتماع عملية مشاركة أمريكية متواصلة تحدّد معايير يستطيع عباس من خلالها إظهار استعداده على اتخاذ قرارات صعبة وقدرته على القيام بذلك. ومن خلال العمل معه على إيجاد أفضل السبل لبلوغ هذه المعايير، تستطيع واشنطن مساعدة النظام السياسي الفلسطيني الأوسع نطاقاً على تمكين نفسه من إعادة الانخراط في عملية سياسية بناءة.     

السياق السياسي والدبلوماسي

بعد انهيار المحادثات التي ترأستها الولايات المتحدة في أيار/ مايو 2014، وُضعت عملية السلام على هوامش الدبلوماسية الدولية، بينما احتلت مجموعة من القضايا الإقليمية الأكثر إلحاحاً مركز الصدارة [في العالم]. ومع ذلك فإن الاهتمام المستمر الذي أبداه الرئيس ترامب [بعملية السلام] منذ تنصيبه قد أعاد القضية إلى قائمة الأولويات الدبلوماسية العالمية والإقليمية. فقد تصدّرت هذه العملية جدول لقاءاته الأخيرة في واشنطن مع رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو والرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي والعاهل الأردني الملك عبدالله - وكانت لجميعهم أولويات أخرى عديدة خلال زياراتهم. وبالمثل، حضر المبعوث الأمريكى للسلام جيسون غرينبلات القمة الأخيرة للجامعة العربية في الأردن، حيث تعاملت الجامعة مع القضية الفلسطينية على نحو مركزي وموضوعي، وهو أمر غير عادي لمثل هذه الإجتماعات.   

وترتبط حظوظ عباس الدبلوماسية والسياسية ارتباطاً وثيقاً بهذه التطورات. فقد أدى انهيار المحادثات في عام 2014 إلى فترة من التهميش - فعلى الرغم من بعض الإنجازات الدبلوماسية المتفرقة مثل قرار مجلس الأمن الدولي رقم 2334، إلّان أنّ عزلة عباس في المنطقة ازدادت مع تضاؤل خياراته. وبلغت مكانته الحضيض في الصيف الماضي عندما أفادت بعض التقارير أن ما يسمى بـ "اللجنة الرباعية العربية" (أي السعودية ومصر والأردن والإمارات العربية المتحدة) ضغطت عليه لاتخاذ خطوات سياسية صعبة.

بيد، إنّ تركيز ترامب على عملية السلام والتواصل مع رام الله قد غيّر هذا الوضع. فقد عادت علاقات عبّاس مع أبرز القادة العرب إلى سابق عهدها، وخاصة قبل القمة العربية وأثناءها. وبالمثل، ازدادت اتصالاته مع السيسي والملك عبدالله قبل اجتماعهما مع ترامب وبعدهما. ومع ذلك، فإن هذه الديناميات لا تزال هشة، حيث وُضعت المصادر الكامنة للتوترات بين عباس والدول العربية جانباً على نحو مؤقت ولم يتم إنهائها. وإذا لم يؤد الإهتمام الدولي المتجدد إلى الشروع بعملية دبلوماسية تكون مستدامة، فقد يجد نفسه بسرعة معزولاً مرة أخرى.

ويواجه عباس أيضاً سلسلة من التحديات السياسية المحلية. وكانت بعض هذه المشاكل موجودة من قبل وازدادت حدّتها عندما انهارت المحادثات عام 2014. وأصبح الانقسام بينه وبين حركة «حماس» أكثر تعمقاً من أي وقت مضى، وأظهرت استطلاعات الرأي أن ما يقرب من ثلثي الجمهور الفلسطيني يعتقد إنه عليه أن يتنحى. وقد ظهرت مشاكل أكثر خطورة داخل حركة «فتح» التي يترأسها، حيث تحداه بعض أعضائها الرئيسيين تحدياً علنياً وسرياً في حين عزّز آخرون مكانتهم لخلافة الرئيس البالغ من العمر اثنين وثمانين عاماً.   

ومن أجل التغلّب على هذه التحديات، عقد عباس مؤتمراً عاماً لحركة «فتح» طال انتظاره في أواخر العام الماضي، وعزّز مكانته كقائد للحركة واستبعد خصومه، وأبرزهم عضو اللجنة المركزية السابق محمد دحلان. إلّا أنّ المؤتمر لم يسفر عن أي رؤية جديدة لـ «فتح» فيما يتخطى استراتيجية دبلوماسية ضعيفة لم تلقَ أصداء عامة تُذكر. وبدلاً من اجتذابه الأعضاء الأصغر سناً، وطّد عباس سلطته من خلال انتخاب الموالين له مما أبعد بالتالي دوائر رئيسية وزاد من تقلّص قاعدة «فتح». ومن أبرز الأمثلة على ذلك استبعاد مروان البرغوثي - زعيم في حركة «فتح» الذي يحظى بشعبية واسعة ويقضي خمسة أحكام مؤبدة في السجون الإسرائيلية في قضايا تتعلق بالإرهاب والقتل – وذلك خلال تخصيص حقائب اللجنة المركزية على الرغم من حصول البرغوثي على أكبر عدد من الأصوات في المؤتمر، ولم يتم انتخاب أي من أنصاره لمناصب هامة. وفي 17 نيسان/ إبريل، دعا البرغوثي إلى إضراب عن الطعام واسع النطاق، لم يقتصر فقط على توجيه ضربة للسلطات الإسرائيلية، بل كان بمثابة عرض للقوة ضد عباس، مما يدل على أهميته السياسية المستمرة. 

ديناميكيات القمة

يُدرك عباس أن أهميته الجديدة تعتمد بشكل حصري تقريباً على مدى استمرار واشنطن في جعل عملية السلام أولوية، مما يمنح ترامب نفوذاً هائلاً خلال القمة. ويدرك عباس أيضاً أن ضعفه الداخلي ورصيده الدبلوماسي الإقليمي المحدود سيحدّان من قدرته على الوفاء بأي مطالب أمريكية.   

وعندما اجتمع نتنياهو مع ترامب، طُلب منه "وقف النشاط الاستيطاني" - وهو طلب لم يستوف الشروط الفلسطينية بالتجميد التام لبناء المستوطنات ولكنه شكّل تحدياً كبيراً بالنسبة لرئيس الوزراء نظراً للحالة الراهنة للسياسة الداخلية الإسرائيلية. ويمكن أن يتوقع عباس تقديم ترامب مطالب جوهرية مماثلة له. ويمكن تسليط الضوء على ثلاث مسائل على وجه الخصوص هي:      

1. وقف تعويضات "الشهيد". إن قيام السلطة الفلسطينية بدفع الأموال للأفراد الذين يمارسون أعمال العنف ولعائلاتهم يشكل ثانية مصدر قلق رئيسي في واشنطن، لا سيما بعد مقتل الجندي السابق في الجيش الأمريكي تايلور فورس على يد فلسطيني في تل أبيب في العام الماضي. وتصدرت هذه القضية محادثات ترامب مع نتنياهو، ومن المحتمل أن يُطلب من عباس وقف هذه المدفوعات في الأسبوع القادم. وسيشكّل القيام بذلك تحدياً سياسياً بالنسبة له تحت أي ظرف من الظروف، وخصوصاً هذه الأيام في خضم الإضراب عن الطعام الذي يقوده البرغوثي.     

2. الاعتراف بإسرائيل كدولة يهودية. أُثيرت هذه القضية أولاً كمسألة تفاوضية مركزية من جانب إسرائيل خلال عملية أنابوليس عام 2007، وأصبحت نقطة خلاف علنية رئيسية بين القادة من الجانبين. وناقش ترامب ونتنياهو هذه المسألة مطولاً في شباط/ فراير، وأفادت بعض التقارير أن المسؤولين الأمريكيين أشاروا إليها في الاجتماعات الأخيرة مع عباس. وفي حين تشير استطلاعات الرأي إلى [وجود] مرونة محتملة حول هذه القضية في صفوف الفلسطينيين، إلّا أنّ عباس قد يتعرّض لهجوم من قبل خصومه السياسيين إذا تبيّن لهم أنه يُدلي بمثل هذا التصريح تحت ضغط أمريكي.  

3. تبنّي نهج إقليمي لعملية السلام. غالباً ما يُشار إليه بأنه نهجاً "من الخارج إلى الداخل" ويتضمن قيام الدول العربية بدور أكبر في عملية السلام، يشمل انخراط إسرائيل الواضح. وبالفعل، لفت ترامب إلى أن مثل هذه الخطوات قد تساعد على "توسيع الآفاق". ومع ذلك، ففي حين رحّب الفلسطينيون تقليدياً بالدعم العربي خلال عملية السلام، إلّا أنّ أي دور ينطوي على المزيد من الضغط من قبل القادة العرب يشكّل مصدر قلق لعباس نظراً للتوترات الأخيرة بينه وبين هؤلاء الزعماء. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يخشى بعض الفلسطينيين من أن يؤدي هذا النهج إلى إضعاف مركزية قضيتهم لصالح المخاوف العربية - الإسرائيلية الأوسع نطاقاً. 

وحتى الآن، سعى عباس إلى استباق هذه المطالب وأية مهام صعبة أخرى من خلال تحويل تركيز القمة على مواضيع أقل تطلّباً. فمن جهة، يشير ضمه للواء ماجد فرج إلى الوفد الفلسطيني إلى رغبته في مناقشة المسائل الأمنية. وهذا من شأنه أن يسمح له ذلك بالارتكاز على قصة نجاح مؤكدة، حيث أُحرز تقدماً ملحوظاً في هذا القطاع بمساعدة المنسق الأمني الأمريكي بين إسرائيل والسلطات الفلسطينية. وبالمثل، فإن ضم رئيس صندوق الاستثمار الفلسطيني محمد مصطفى هو بلا شك محاولة للاستفادة من اهتمام إدارة ترامب بتنمية الاقتصاد الفلسطيني، كما اتضح من انخراط غرينبلات المتكرر مع القطاع الخاص الفلسطيني.    

ودبلوماسياً، قد يقول عباس لترامب إنه سيوقف الجهود الفلسطينية لتدويل الصراع عن طريق الأمم المتحدة وغيرها من المحافل أو يحد منها. وقد فقدت استراتيجية التدويل وجهتها والزخم الشعبي في الأشهر الأخيرة، لذلك فهو يستطيع تقديم هذا التنازل مع تداعيات سياسية قابلة للتحكم.

وقد تقوم بادرة دبلوماسية أكثر فعالية على عرض استئناف محادثات السلام الثنائية مع إسرائيل تحت رعاية أمريكية. ففي 19 نيسان/ إبريل، أشار عباس إلى أنه "مستعد للقاء رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي في أي وقت في واشنطن برعاية الرئيس ترامب". وسيكون عقْد أي اجتماع من هذا القبيل مكلفاً سياسياً بالنسبة للرئيس الفلسطيني، خاصة إذا عُقد دون الحصول على تجميد استيطاني كامل وإطلاق سراح المزيد من السجناء مسبقاً، إلا أن الضرر السياسي سيبقى أقل مما ستتسبّب به القضايا الأخرى التي قد يثيرها ترامب. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، إن عباس على دراية بالمفاوضات الثنائية وواثق من قدرته على المناورة في هذا الإطار.

التداعيات على السياسة الأمريكية                 

على الرغم من أن الإعلان عن عقد اجتماع قمة بين القادة الفلسطينيين والإسرائيليين، اللذين لم يلتقوا منذ عام 2010، سيشكّل تطوراً إيجابياً، إلا أن إطلاق عملية تفاوض من دون تغيير السياق يخاطر بتكرار نمط خطير. فالمحادثات بين القادة غير الراغبين إلى التوصل إلى اتفاق أو غير القادرين على ذلك مصيرها الفشل، حيث أن كلا الجانبين سيركزان على تبادل اللوم بدلاً من [إجرائهما محادثات جدية]. ولهذا الفشل ثمن [باهظ] سواء من ناحية ترسيخ الشكوك بين الطرفين، الأمر الذي يؤدي إلى تآكل مصداقية الدبلوماسية بين جمهورهما، أو حتى التسبب بانهيار أمني علماً بأن هذا السيناريو مغالى فيه ولكنه ليس غريباً.  

ويتطلّب إنشاء سياق جديد [قيام] العديد من المكونات، وإحداها محادثات واشنطن الجارية مع إسرائيل حول المستوطنات، وكذلك سياسات إدارة ترامب الجديدة بشأن القضايا الأخرى التي تهم المنطقة، وخاصة إيران.

ولكن يجب على الفلسطينيين أيضاً أن يساعدوا على إنشاء هذا الإطار الجديد من خلال بدء العمل على بعض التغييرات المحددة المذكورة أعلاه. وربما لا يستطيع عباس تحقيقها على الفور، ولكن إذا ترافقت المطالب الأمريكية مع جزرة الانخراط المستمر مع السلطة الفلسطينية، والوعد بنتائج في المجالين الأمني والاقتصادي، سيكون من الصعب على عباس رفضها - خاصة إذا عُرضت عصا الإهمال كبديل. ويمكن لاجتماع 3 أيار/ مايو إطلاق عملية تتحقق فيها واشنطن من قدرة السلطة الفلسطينية على تقديم هذه الحلول الوسط، وفي النهاية، اتخاذ الخطوات الأكثر صعوبة التي ينطوي عليها اتفاق السلام. وسيشمل جزء من تلك العملية الثنائية وضع آليات وتحديد مواعيد زمنية لبلوغ هذه الأهداف.     

بإمكان الدول العربية الرئيسية أيضاً المشاركة في هذه العملية، وتقديم محفزات سياسية ومالية، والضغط، عند الضرورة، على الفلسطينين. وسيكون لذلك فائدة إضافية تتمثل بالسماح لواشنطن بمعرفة ما يمكن توقعه من هذه الدول إذا أُطلقت عملية سلام كاملة "من الخارج إلى الداخل".

ومع ذلك، ففي الوقت الراهن، إن احتمال إجراء مفاوضات فلسطينية -إسرائيلية بشأن الوضع النهائي يبدو سابقاً لأوانه. وبدلاً من ذلك، ينبغي أن تنظر واشنطن في عملية تدفع الأطراف إلى إعادة تنظيم سياساتها من خلال إشراكها في خطوات محدودة بل هامة نحو السلام، جنباً إلى جنب مع استراتيجية إقليمية أوسع نطاقاً تزيد من نفوذ الولايات المتحدة على الجهات الفاعلة الأخرى. ويمكن لهذا النهج أن يرسي الأسس لعملية سلام تملك فعلاً فرصة للنجاح في المستقبل غير البعيد. 

 

غيث العمري هو زميل أقدم في معهد واشنطن ومؤلف تقريره الأخير "الحوكمة كمسار نحو التجدد السياسي الفلسطيني". وقد عمل سابقاً في مناصب استشارية مختلفة مع السلطة الفلسطينية.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2792

The Abbas-Trump Agenda: Urging Modest Steps Toward Peace

Ghaith al-Omari

Also available in العربية

April 26, 2017


Although the Palestinian leader is hesitant to discuss tougher U.S. requests and may be unable to deliver on them immediately, President Trump should make firm demands on difficult issues while offering to work with him on meeting them.

On May 3, Palestinian Authority president Mahmoud Abbas will meet with President Trump in his first White House visit since 2014. The invitation itself, and more generally the renewed international attention to the peace process with Israel, have given Abbas a much needed diplomatic boost. Yet his regional and domestic standing remain precarious, and he may be unable to deliver on some of the proposals that arise out of the summit, let alone conclude a peace deal. Accordingly, the meeting should launch a process of continued U.S. engagement, laying down markers by which Abbas can demonstrate his willingness and ability to make difficult decisions. In working with him on the best ways to reach these markers, Washington can help the wider Palestinian political system enable itself to reengage in a meaningful diplomatic process.

POLITICAL AND DIPLOMATIC CONTEXT

After U.S.-led talks collapsed in May 2014, the peace process was relegated to the margins of international diplomacy, and a host of more pressing regional issues took the fore. Yet the sustained interest shown by President Trump since his inauguration has placed the issue back on the global and regional diplomatic priority list. The peace process figured highly during his recent Washington meetings with Israeli prime minister Binyamin Netanyahu, Egyptian president Abdul Fattah al-Sisi, and Jordan's King Abdullah -- all of whom had numerous other priorities during their visits. Likewise, U.S. peace envoy Jason Greenblatt attended the recent Arab League summit in Jordan, which treated the Palestine issue in a central, substantive manner unusual for such gatherings.

Abbas's diplomatic and political fortunes have been closely linked to these developments. The collapse of the 2014 talks ushered in a period of marginalization -- despite scattered diplomatic achievements such as UN Security Council Resolution 2334, Abbas grew more isolated in the region as his options dwindled. His standing reached its nadir last summer when the so-called "Arab Quartet" (i.e., Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Jordan, and the United Arab Emirates) reportedly pressured him to take difficult political steps.

Trump's focus on the peace process and outreach to Ramallah changed that. Abbas's relations with key Arab leaders were restored, most notably before and during the Arab Summit. Likewise, his communications with Sisi and King Abdullah increased before and after their meetings with Trump. Yet these dynamics are still fragile -- the underlying sources of Abbas's tensions with Arab states have only been set aside temporarily, not eliminated. If the renewed international interest does not result in a sustained diplomatic process, he might quickly find himself isolated again.

Abbas has also been facing a string of domestic political challenges. Some of these were preexisting problems that only intensified when the 2014 talks collapsed. The split with Hamas became more entrenched than ever, and polls showed that nearly two-thirds of the Palestinian public believed he should step down. Even more serious problems surfaced within his own Fatah movement, where some key members challenged him overtly and covertly while others positioned themselves to succeed the eighty-two-year-old president.

To sidestep these challenges, Abbas held the long-delayed Fatah General Conference late last year, reaffirming his position as the movement's leader and pushing out his opponents, most notably former Central Committee member Mohammad Dahlan. Yet the conference did not produce any new vision for Fatah beyond a tired diplomatic strategy that has little public resonance. And rather than attracting younger members, Abbas's consolidation of power through the election of loyalists alienated key constituencies, further shrinking Fatah's base. Most notably, Marwan Barghouti -- the popular Fatah leader who is serving five life terms in Israeli jails on terrorism and murder convictions -- was passed over during the allocation of Central Committee portfolios despite garnering the most votes at the conference, and none of his supporters were elected to significant positions. On April 17, Barghouti called for a large-scale hunger strike that was intended not only as a shot at Israeli authorities, but also as a show of force against Abbas, demonstrating his continued political importance.

SUMMIT DYNAMICS

Abbas understands that his newfound relevance depends almost exclusively on the extent to which Washington continues making the peace process a priority, which gives Trump tremendous leverage during the summit. Yet Abbas also realizes that his domestic vulnerability and limited regional diplomatic credit will constrain his ability to deliver on any U.S. demands. 

When Netanyahu met with Trump, he was asked to "hold back on settlements" -- a request that did not meet the Palestinian demand for a full freeze on settlement construction but was nevertheless a weighty challenge for the prime minister given the current state of Israeli domestic politics. Abbas can expect Trump to make similarly substantive requests of him. Three issues in particular could take the spotlight:

1. Stopping "martyr" payments. The PA's practice of paying money to individuals who engage in violence and their families has reemerged as a central concern in Washington, particularly after U.S. Army veteran Taylor Force was murdered by a Palestinian in Tel Aviv last year. The issue figured highly during Trump's meeting with Netanyahu, and Abbas will likely be asked to stop such payments next week. Doing so would be politically challenging for him under any circumstances, but more so today in the midst of the Barghouti-led hunger strike.

2. Recognizing Israel as a Jewish state. First raised as a central negotiating issue by Israel during the 2007 Annapolis process, this has become a major public point of disagreement between leaders on both sides. Trump and Netanyahu discussed it at length in February, and U.S. officials reportedly mentioned it in recent meetings with Abbas. While opinion polls indicate potential flexibility on this issue among the Palestinian public, Abbas's political opponents could attack him if they perceive that he is making such a pronouncement under American pressure.

3. Embracing a regional approach to the peace process. Often referred to as "outside-in," this approach entails Arab states playing a greater role in the peace process, including open engagement of Israel. Trump has already noted that such moves could help create a "bigger canvas." Yet while Palestinians traditionally welcomed Arab support in the peace process, any role that entails more pressure from Arab leaders is a concern for Abbas given his recent tensions with them. Additionally, some Palestinians fear that such an approach would dilute the centrality of their cause in favor of broader Arab-Israeli concerns.

Thus far, Abbas has sought to preempt these requests and any other difficult tasks by shifting the summit's focus to less demanding topics. For one, his inclusion of Maj. Gen. Majid Faraj in the Palestinian delegation indicates that he wants to discuss security. This would allow him to build on a proven success story, since significant progress has been made in this sector with the help of the U.S. Security Coordinator for Israel and the Palestinian Authority. Likewise, the inclusion of Palestine Investment Fund chairman Muhammad Mustafa is no doubt an effort to capitalize on the Trump administration's interest in developing the Palestinian economy, as demonstrated by Greenblatt's repeated engagement with the Palestinian private sector.

Diplomatically, Abbas may tell Trump that he will cease or limit Palestinian efforts to internationalize the conflict via the UN and other fora. The internationalization strategy has lost direction and popular momentum in recent months, so he can afford to make this concession with manageable political repercussions.

A more potent diplomatic gesture would be an offer to resume bilateral peace talks with Israel under American auspices. On April 19, Abbas indicated that he is "ready to meet the prime minister of Israel any time in Washington under the patronage of President Trump." While any such meeting would be politically costly for him, especially if held without garnering a full settlement freeze and further prisoner releases in advance, it would still be less politically damaging than other issues Trump may raise. Additionally, Abbas is familiar with bilateral negotiations and confident of his ability to maneuver within that framework.

IMPLICATIONS FOR U.S. POLICY

Although announcing a summit between Palestinian and Israeli leaders, who have not met since 2010, would be a positive development, launching a negotiation process without a change of context risks repeating a dangerous pattern. Talks between leaders who are unwilling or unable to reach a deal are destined for failure, with both sides focusing instead on shifting blame. Such failure would come with a price, whether in terms of deepening suspicions between the two sides, further eroding the credibility of diplomacy among their publics, or even sparking a security breakdown -- an extreme but not outlandish scenario.

Creating a new context has many components. Washington's ongoing conversations with Israel on settlements are one, as are the Trump administration's emerging policies on other issues of concern to the region, particularly Iran.

But the Palestinians must also help create this new context by breaking ground on some of the specific changes mentioned above. Abbas probably cannot deliver on them immediately, but if U.S. demands are accompanied by the carrot of continuing engagement with the PA, and the promise of deliverables in the security and economic spheres, they would be hard for Abbas to dismiss -- especially if the stick of neglect is held out as the alternative. The May 3 meeting can launch a process in which Washington probes the PA's ability to make these compromises and, ultimately, take the more difficult steps entailed in a peace deal. Part of that bilateral process would involve devising mechanisms and setting timelines for reaching these objectives.

Key Arab states can also be involved in the process, offering political and financial inducements and, when necessary, bringing pressure to bear on the Palestinians. This would have the additional benefit of letting Washington know what can be expected from these states if a full "outside-in" peace process is launched.

For now, though, the prospect of final-status Palestinian-Israeli negotiations seems premature. Instead, Washington should consider a process that pushes the parties to realign their politics by engaging them on limited but significant steps toward peace, in tandem with a wider regional strategy that increases U.S. leverage on other actors. Such an approach could lay the groundwork for a peace process that actually has a chance of succeeding in the not-so-distant future.

Ghaith al-Omari is a senior fellow at The Washington Institute and author of its recent report "Governance as a Path to Palestinian Political Rejuvenation." Previously, he served in various advisory positions with the Palestinian Authority.