أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2483

التدخل الروسي في سوريا (الجزء 1): تراجع القدرات العسكرية لن يردع موسكو

آنا بورشفسكايا

متاح أيضاً في English

8 أيلول/سبتمبر 2015


وفقاً لأدلة موثقة بالصور، أُعيد نشرها في تقرير في صحيفة الـ «ديلي ميل» البريطانية في 8 أيلول/سبتمبر، بدأت روسيا بنشر جنودها على الأراضي السورية - على الأقل منذ شهر نيسان/أبريل المنصرم. وهناك تقارير أخرى حول زيادة التعزيزات العسكرية المتصاعدة التي تقوم بها موسكو هناك قد أشارت إلى إرسال شحنات أسلحة متطورة إلى نظام الأسد، ووجود فريق تدخل عسكري وإرسال وحدات سكنية جاهزة إلى قاعدة جوية قرب اللاذقية. وفي 4 أيلول/سبتمبر، وصف الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين الحديث عن جنود روس في سوريا بأنه «سابق لأوانه»، ولكنه أكد أن روسيا تواصل تقديم مساعدات هامة إلى سوريا من خلال التدريب والأسلحة والمعدات. ومهما كان مدى التدخل الروسي المتزايد في سوريا في الوقت الحالي، فإنه يطرح أسئلة حول قدرات روسيا العسكرية بشكل عام.

إصلاحات عسكرية واسعة النطاق

بعد انهيار الاتحاد السوفياتي، دخل الجيش الروسي في مرحلة تراجع حاد، حيث بدأ يعاني من انخفاض الروح المعنوية، ومن مشاكل في التدريب/الانضباط، ونقص المعدات الحديثة، والفساد المستشري. وقد سلط اجتياح جورجيا في عام 2008 الضوء على ما وصفته "خدمة أبحاث الكونغرس" في آب/أغسطس 2011 بأنه "الفشل العملياتي الواسع النطاق للجيش الروسي". وفي الواقع، واجهت القوات الروسية صعوبة في الانتصار على خصم أصغر منها بكثير.

ورداً على ذلك، وفي تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2008، أعلن وزير الدفاع الروسي في ذلك الحين أناتولي سيرديوكوف عن إصلاحات عسكرية كبرى، هدفها إعادة تنظيم هيكلية الجيش وتسلسله القيادي، وتقليص حجمه، وإنشاء قوة رشيقة وعصرية وكفؤة بحلول عام 2020. وشرعت روسيا بعد ذلك بأكبر عملية بناء لجيشها منذ الانهيار السوفياتي، مع زيادات سنوية كبيرة في الإنفاق الدفاعي الذي من المقرر أن يستمر حتى عام 2020. ووفقاً لمجلة "الإيكونوميست"، تتمثل التغييرات الأكثر جوهرية في إطلاق برنامج لتحديث الأسلحة في عام 2010، يمتد على عشر سنوات وتبلغ كلفته 720 مليار دولار.

وحيث بدأ أثر الإصلاحات يكتسب زخماً، اتخذ الكرملين موقفاً أكثر عدوانية في الخارج، باستئنافه إرسال دوريات القاذفات في المحيط الأطلسي والمحيط الهادئ، وتمديده عقود الإيجار لقواعد عسكرية في أرمينيا وطاجيكستان، ووضعه خططاً لبناء قاعدة جوية جديدة في روسيا البيضاء، ورفعه حجم ومستوى المناورات العسكرية السنوية المشتركة التي تجريها روسيا مع الصين. ووفقاً لصحيفة "موسكو تايمز"، عندما ضمّت روسيا شبه جزيرة القرم من أوكرانيا في آذار/مارس 2014، بدا «من دون أدنى شك أن جنودها مدربون ومجهزون بشكل أفضل» مما كانوا عليه خلال الحملة العسكرية في جورجيا في عام  2008 (كما أن القوات في شبه جزيرة القرم كانت من نخبة الجيش الروسي أيضاً).

الإنفاق غير المستدام

على الرغم من الإنفاق المتزايد وملامح النجاح، أشار تقرير أصدرته "خدمة أبحاث الكونغرس" في آذار/مارس 2014 إلى أن «سوء الإدارة وتغيير الخطط والفساد ومشاكل تجهيز الأفراد والقيود الاقتصادية» جميعها أمور ما زالت تعرقل الإصلاحات العسكرية الروسية. علاوة على ذلك، عبّر خبراء روس عن قلقهم من أن الإنفاق العسكري الضخم يجري على حساب النمو الاقتصادي والاستثمارات الضرورية في مجالي البنى التحتية والتعليم. وفي مقال نُشر في أيار/مايو 2015، استنتج الخبير الاقتصادي الروسي سيرغي غورييف أن الكرملين لن يستطيع تحمل كلفة الإنفاق العسكري الحالي، مشيراً إلى أن بيانات الميزانية للأشهر الثلاثة الأولى من العام الحالي أظهرت أن الإنفاق العسكري لهذه الفترة فاق ضعف المبلغ المحدد له في الميزانية، متخطياً نسبة 9 في المائة من "الناتج المحلي الإجمالي" لتلك الفترة. وأضاف غورييف: «بعبارة أخرى، أنفقت روسيا حتى الآن أكثر من نصف جميع ميزانيتها العسكرية لعام 2015. وإذا استمر الإنفاق بهذا المعدل، سوف يفرغ صندوق روسيا الاحتياطي قبل نهاية العام». كذلك، استقال وزير المالية أليكسي كودرين من منصبه في أيلول/سبتمبر 2011 لأنه عارض الإنفاق العسكري المتزايد، من بين أسباب أخرى.

وقد فاقم ضمّ شبه جزيرة القرم من هذه القيود الاقتصادية. فوفقاً لموقع «ستراتفور.كوم»، يكمن جزء من المشكلة في ضرورة تأمين الدعم العسكري القوي والمستمر للانفصاليين في شرق أوكرانيا، وبالإضافة إلى ذلك «إن التوتر المتزايد مع الغرب ومنظمة "حلف شمال الاطلسي" قد أجبر موسكو على تدعيم أنشطتها الأمنية وتدريباتها ومناوراتها العسكرية، مثل الدوريات الجوية بالطائرات المقاتلة وتحركات السفن الحربية». ووسط هذه العزلة الدولية، وهبوط أسعار النفط، وتراجع قيمة الروبل، أصبحت معدلات التضخم بالعشرات، مع ارتفاع أسعار بعض المواد الغذائية الأساسية إلى حد 30 في المائة. وكما قال الرئيس الأمريكي باراك أوباما في آب/أغسطس 2014، شهدت روسيا هجرة لرؤوس الأموال تراوحت قيمتها بين 100 و200 مليار دولار.

وفي غضون ذلك، تواصل روسيا الحفاظ على وجودها العسكري الواسع في "جوارها القريب"، أي الجمهوريات السوفياتية السابقة. ووفقاً لتقرير مجلة "نيوزويك" من كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2014، بلغ عدد القوات المرابطة في أرمينيا (3200 جندي)، وأبخازيا وأوسيتيا الجنوبية (7000)، وترانسنيستريا (1500)، وقيرغيزستان (500)، وطاجيكستان (5000). ولكي نضع هذه الأرقام في سياقها، يبلغ عدد القوات المسلحة الروسية من 700 إلى 800 ألف عنصر، بينما يبلغ عدد أفراد الجيش أقل من 300 ألف عنصر. وعلاوة على ذلك، ما زال الجيش يعتمد بشكل أساسي على المجندين الذين يتلقون تدريباً محدوداً.

المؤشرات الديمغرافية والإسلام الراديكالي

يتراجع عدد سكان روسيا بشكل حاد منذ أوائل التسعينيات. وكما كتب الخبير الديموغرافي نيكولاس إيبرستات في عام 2011، «تمثل المشاكل التي تسببها الأنماط السكانية الروسية ظاهرة لا سابق لها في مجتمع متمدّن ومتعلم لا يعيش في حالة حرب». فما زالت البلاد تعاني من معدل وفيات مرتفع، ونسبة مواليد منخفضة، وهجرة المثقفين في سياق التراجع الاقتصادي العام. ولا تظهر البيانات الديموغرافية الأخيرة الصادرة عن الكرملين (من أيار/مايو 2015) أي تغيير يذكر في هذه الأنماط.

ولكن بينما يتأرجح عدد سكان روسيا حول الـ 144 مليون نسمة، بلغ عدد السكان المسلمين في البلاد من 21 إلى 23 مليون نسمة، ويستمر في الازدياد. وتتمتع العائلات المسلمة بصحة أفضل من السكان الروس الأصليين (ويرجع ذلك جزئياً إلى معدلات إدمان الكحول العالية نسبياً بين الروس الأصليين) كما أن العائلات المسلمة تميل إلى إنجاب المزيد من الأطفال. ووفقاً لإحصاءات من عام 2014 كانت قد أصدرتها وزارة التنمية الإقليمية الملغاة، تتمتع منطقة شمال القوقاز - وهي منطقة روسية يتركز فيها السكان المسلمون بشدة - بأحد أعلى معدلات النمو في البلاد.

ومن المرجح أن يؤدي ازدياد عدد السكان المسلمين إلى تداعيات خطيرة على أمن روسيا وقواتها المسلحة وسياستها الخارجية. فعلى سبيل المثال، قد تزداد النزاعات الداخلية بين السكان الروس الأصليين والأقليات في أماكن مختلفة من البلاد. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يعتقد بعض المحللين بأن المسلمين سيشكلون عما قريب نصف المجندين في القوات المسلحة الروسية، الأمر الذي يثير تساؤلات حول ما إذا كانت القوات المسلحة ستواصل دعمها لسياسات موسكو في شمال القوقاز. وفي أيلول/سبتمبر 2013، أعلن وزير الدفاع سيرغي شويغو أن الجيش سيحد من عدد المجندين الآتين من تلك المنطقة بشكل جذري، بالرغم من النقص في عدد المجندين الكلي وتوفر عدد كبير من الجنود المحتملين في شمال القوقاز. وجاء ذلك الإعلان بعد عدة سنوات من الحديث عن بدء الجيش بإقصاء المجندين من تلك المنطقة.

وفي غضون ذلك، ما زالت روسيا تخسر معركتها المحلية مع الإسلام المتطرف، الذي تكثف وانتشر في جميع أنحاء القوقاز وآسيا الوسطى. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، ازدادت التوترات في طاجيكستان بين السلطات الموالية للكرملين والمعارضة الإسلامية. وفي 4 أيلول/سبتمبر، شهدت العاصمة دوشنبه موجة نادرة من العنف، راح ضحيتها 9 عناصر من الشرطة و13 مسلحاً. وزعمت السلطات إن «إرهابيين» متعاطفين مع ما يسمى بـ «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش») هم المسؤولون عن الحادثة - وقد اتهمت السلطات على وجه الخصوص نائب وزير الدفاع السابق عبد الحليم نزار زودا، وهو عضو في «حزب النهضة الإسلامية» الذي تم حظره مؤخراً.

المحصلة

في الوقت الذي تُوسع فيه روسيا من وجودها العسكري في سوريا، قد تجد موسكو أن انتشارها العسكري الواسع سيحول دون تحقيق التزاماتها بشكل فعال في أماكن أخرى من العالم. وفي الواقع، أعلن الرئيس الأوكراني بترو بوروشينكو في 5 أيلول/سبتمبر أنه تم احترام اتفاق وقف إطلاق النار الأخير في شرق البلاد لمدة أسبوع كامل - وهو أمر لم يحدث منذ اندلاع الحرب بين الجيش الأوكراني والانفصاليين الذين تدعمهم روسيا. وتزامن هذا الإعلان مع التقارير حول زيادة الوجود العسكري الروسي في سوريا.

وعلى الرغم من ذلك، لا يبدو أن روسيا ستخفض من مواقفها العدوانية في "جوارها القريب". ففي شهر آب/أغسطس المنصرم، أعلنت وزارة الخارجية في جورجيا أن الكرملين نشر جنوداً في أبخازيا «تحت ذريعة إجراء أعمال صيانة لسكة الحديد بين أوتشامشير وإنغوري». وأشار بيان وزارة الخارجية إلى أن روسيا قامت بتحركات مماثلة قبل الغزو التي قامت به عام 2008، حين «أطلقت موسكو بطريقة غير قانونية أعمال صيانة لسكة الحديد التي تمر في أبخازيا ونشرت جنوداً عبر سكة الحديد على أراضي جورجيا، الأمر الذي استغلته لاحقاً لنقل الجنود والمعدات خلال الأعمال العدائية». ووفقاً لبيان صدر عن وزارة الدفاع الروسية في 7 أيلول/سبتمبر، أمر بوتين بإجراء مناورات عسكرية مفاجئة في "المنطقة العسكرية الوسطى"، وهي رقعة واسعة تضم نهر الفولغا وجبال الأورال وغرب سيبيريا.

وتكشف هذه التوجهات النقاب عن مفارقة هامة: فبينما تتراجع قدرات روسيا العسكرية، من المرجح أن تزداد عدوانية الكرملين في "جواره القريب"، بما في ذلك الشرق الأوسط. وبالرغم من المشاكل التي تواجهها، ما زالت القوات المسلحة الروسية قادرة على ما يبدو على إتمام مهمات محدودة. لذلك، سيكون من الخطأ استخدام التراجع الواسع للقوات المسلحة الروسية كذريعة لتأخير القيام بخطوات أكثر تشدداً. وتكمن المقاربة الأكثر فعالية في إدانة شديدة لزيادة التعزيزات [العسكرية] الروسية في سوريا، بالتزامن مع مواصلة الضغط على الكرملين لتغيير السياسات التي يتبعها مع جيرانه.

 

آنا بورشيفسكايا هي زميلة "آيرا وينر" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2483

Russia in Syria (Part 1): Declining Military Capabilities Won't Hold Moscow Back

Anna Borshchevskaya

Also available in العربية

September 8, 2015


Although the reported intervention in Syria may spread Russia's armed forces too thin, the Kremlin seems poised to grow even more aggressive in its near abroad.

Read Part 2 of this PolicyWatch, which examines the force Russia is building in Syria and what military implications it holds for the Assad regime, the rebels, and the U.S.-led campaign against ISIS.

According to photo evidence republished in a September 8 Daily Mail report, Russian troops have been on the ground in Syria since at least April. Other reports of Moscow's increased military buildup there have mentioned additional deliveries of advanced weaponry to the Assad regime, a military advance team, and prefabricated housing units sent to an airfield near Latakia. On September 4, President Vladimir Putin described the talk of Russian troops in Syria as "premature," but he confirmed that Moscow continues to provide serious assistance through training, weaponry, and equipment. Whatever its current extent, Russia's increased involvement in Syria raises questions about its overall military capabilities.

LARGE-SCALE MILITARY REFORMS

After the fall of the Soviet Union, the Russian military entered a sharp state of decline, suffering from low morale, training/discipline problems, lack of modern equipment, and massive corruption. The 2008 invasion of Georgia highlighted what Congressional Research Service described in August 2011 as "large-scale Russian military operational failures"; indeed, Moscow's forces prevailed only with difficulty over a considerably smaller opponent.

In response, then-defense minister Anatoly Serdyukov unveiled major military reforms in October 2008, aiming to reorganize the army's structure and chain of command, reduce its size, and create a lean, modern, and competent force by 2020. Russia then began its largest military buildup since the Soviet collapse, with major annual increases in defense spending that are slated to continue until 2020. According to the Economist, the most substantial of these changes is a ten-year, $720 billion weapons modernization program launched in 2010.

As the reforms gained traction, the Kremlin also took an increasingly aggressive posture abroad, resuming bomber patrols in the Atlantic and Pacific, extending leases on military bases in Armenia and Tajikistan, launching plans for a new air base in Belarus, and increasing the size and sophistication of its annual joint military exercises with China. According to the Moscow Times, when Russia annexed Crimea from Ukraine in March 2014, its troops were "unmistakably better trained and equipped" than they had been during the 2008 Georgia campaign (the troops in Crimea were also the Russian army's elite).

UNSUSTAINABLE SPENDING

Despite the increased expenditures and signs of success, a March 2014 Congressional Research Service report indicated that "mismanagement, changes in plans, corruption, manning issues, and economic constraints" continued to complicate Moscow's military reforms. Moreover, Russian experts have raised concerns that the massive spending is being conducted at the expense of economic growth and much-needed investments in infrastructure and education. In a May 2015 article, Russian economist Sergei Guriev concluded that the Kremlin cannot afford its current military expenditures, noting that budget data for the first three months of the year showed military expenditures were more than double their budgeted amount, exceeding 9 percent of the quarterly GDP. "In other words, Russia has already spent more than half of its total military budget for 2015. At this rate, its reserve fund will be emptied before the end of the year," he wrote. Similarly, Finance Minister Alexei Kudrin left his position in September 2011 because he opposed the increased military spending, among other reasons.

The annexation of Crimea exacerbated these financial constraints. According to Stratfor.com, the need for consistent and strong military support for separatists in eastern Ukraine is only part of the problem -- in addition, "the increased tension with the West and NATO has compelled Moscow to increase training, military exercises, and security posturing such as combat air patrols and naval movements." Amid international isolation, falling oil prices, and a weakened ruble, inflation rose to double digits in Russia, with prices on some basic foodstuffs increasing as much as 30 percent. And as President Obama noted in August 2014, Russia experienced capital flight of somewhere between $100 and $200 billion.

Meanwhile, Russia continues to maintain a large military presence in the rest of its "near abroad," including stationed troops in Armenia (3,200), Abkhazia and South Ossetia (7,000), Transnistria (1,500), Kyrgyzstan (500), and Tajikistan (5,000), according to a December 2014 Newsweek report. To put this in context, Russia's entire armed forces comprise between 700,000 and 800,000 personnel, with an army of less than 300,000. Moreover, the military continues to rely primarily on conscripts with limited training.

DEMOGRAPHICS AND RADICAL ISLAM

Russia's population has been in sharp decline since the early 1990s. As demographer Nicholas Eberstadt wrote in 2011, "The troubles caused by Russia's population trends...represent a previously unprecedented phenomenon for an urbanized, literate society not at war." The country continues to face high mortality, low fertility, and emigration of the well-educated in the context of overall economic decline; the Kremlin's most recent demographical data (from May 2015) shows little change in these trends.

Yet as Russia's overall population continues to hover at approximately 144 million, its Muslim population has reached around 21-23 million and growing. Muslim families have better health than ethnic Russians (due in part to relatively high alcoholism rates among the latter) and tend to bear more children. According to 2014 statistics from the now-defunct Ministry of Regional Development, the North Caucasus -- a Russian region with heavy concentrations of Muslims -- has one of the highest growth rates in the country.

This expanding Muslim population is likely to have serious implications for Russia's security, armed forces, and foreign policy. For example, internal clashes between ethnic Russians and minorities may increase in various parts of the country. Moreover, some analysts believe Muslims may soon make up as many as half of Russia's military conscripts, raising questions about whether the armed forces would continue to support Moscow's policies in the North Caucasus. In September 2013, Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu announced that the army would dramatically cut down on conscripts from that region, despite the military's overall recruiting shortfall and the large pool of potential soldiers in the North Caucasus. This announcement came several years after the military had reportedly already begun excluding conscripts from that area.

Meanwhile, Russia continues to lose its domestic battle with radical Islam, which has intensified and spread throughout the Caucasus and Central Asia. Most recently, tensions have grown in Tajikistan between pro-Kremlin authorities and the Islamist opposition. On September 4, a rare burst of violence hit the capital, Dushanbe, where nine policemen and thirteen militants were killed. Authorities claimed that "terrorists" who sympathize with the so-called "Islamic State"/ISIS were responsible -- in particular, they have blamed former deputy defense minister Abduhalim Nazarzoda, a member of the recently banned Islamic Renaissance Party.

CONCLUSION

As Russia increases its military presence in Syria, it could find itself spread too thin to effectively fulfill its commitments elsewhere. Indeed, on September 5, Ukrainian president Petro Poroshenko stated that the latest ceasefire agreement in the east had been observed for an entire week -- something that had not happened since fighting with Russian-backed separatists first broke out. This statement coincided with reports of Russia's build-up in Syria.

Even so, Moscow shows no signs of decreasing its aggressive posture in its near abroad. In August, Georgia's Foreign Ministry noted that the Kremlin had deployed troops to Abkhazia "under the pretext of carrying out restoration works over the railway section from Ochamchire to Enguri." The statement pointed out that Russia had made similar moves prior to its 2008 invasion, when Moscow "illegally launched restoration of the Abkhazian section of the railway and deployment of railway troops to the Georgian territory, which it subsequently used effectively for the transportation of its troops and equipment during the hostilities." And according to a September 7 Russian Defense Ministry statement, Putin ordered snap military exercises in the Central Military District, a vast area that encompasses the Volga River, the Ural Mountains, and western Siberia.

These trends reveal an important irony: as Russia's military capabilities decline, the Kremlin will likely grow even more aggressive in its near abroad, including the Middle East. Despite their problems, the Russian armed forces still appear capable of carrying out limited missions, so using their broader decline as an excuse to delay tougher action would be a mistake. A more effective approach would be to strongly condemn Moscow's buildup in Syria while continuing to pressure the Kremlin on its policies toward its neighbors.

Anna Borshchevskaya is the Ira Weiner Fellow at The Washington Institute.