أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2856

منع إقامة مصنع للجهاديين في إدلب

فابريس بالونش

متاح أيضاً في English

31 آب/أغسطس 2017


انقر على أي خريطة لعرض أو تحميل نسخة عالية الدقة

في تموز/يوليو 2017، استحوذت «هيئة تحرير الشام» [«الهيئة»] على كامل الحدود السورية-التركية في محافظة إدلب وعلى العاصمة السورية لإقليم إدلب على حساب حليفها السابق «أحرار الشام». وجاءت هذه الخطوة بعد عدة أشهر على استسلام المتمردين لقوات النظام في حلب والقوات المتحالفة معها في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2016، حين التزمت عندئذ «هيئة تحرير الشام» بفرض هيمنتها على التمرد السوري بأكمله. ومن خلال قيامها بذلك، سعت إلى إرغام حلفائها السابقين على الخضوع لإستراتيجيتها الجهادية، في حين اتخذت من منطقة إدلب مقراً لها.    

تفوّق «هيئة تحرير الشام»

في 28 كانون الثاني/يناير 2017، تم تشكيل «هيئة تحرير الشام» من خلال اندماج العديد من فصائل المتمردين المرتبطة بـ  «جبهة فتح الشام» («جبهة النصرة» سابقاً). وشملت هذه الفصائل «حركة نور الدين الزنكي»، و«جبهة أنصار الدين»، و«لواء الحق»، و«جيش السنة». ومع ذلك، فمن خلال سعيها إلى إحكام قبضتها على التمرد، فشلت «هيئة تحرير الشام» في ضمّ حليفها الرئيسي السابق، «أحرار الشام». ونتيجةً لذلك، انشقت العديد من كتائب «أحرار الشام»  والتحقت بـ «هيئة تحرير الشام»، في حين انضم آخرون مثل «الجيش السوري الحر»، و«صقور الشام»، و«الجبهة الشامية» إلى «أحرار الشام» من أجل الاحتماء من «هيئة تحرير الشام». وعلى الرغم من استيعاب «أحرار الشام» لعناصرها الجديدة، لم تحصّن «الحركة»  نفسها عسكرياً وبقي تماسكها مزعزعاً - مما جعل من غير المرجح أن تتمكن «الحركة» من منع المزيد من الانشقاقات لصالح «هيئة تحرير الشام».  

ومنذ عام 2014، ساهمت التجسيدات السورية المختلفة لـ تنظيم «القاعدة» في إقصاء كتائب «الجيش السوري الحر» بشكل منهجي في شمال غرب سوريا إما من خلال قتل عناصرها أو ضمها إليها. واليوم، تراجع عديد «الجيش السوري الحر» في منطقة إدلب إلى بضعة آلاف مقاتل، في غربلة ساهمت في حدوثها حركة «أحرار الشام» - وهو أمر يجدر ذكره نظراً لأنه حصل نتيجة الانقسام اللاحق بين «أحرار الشام» و«هيئة تحرير الشام». وفي شتاء 2017، هاجم فرع تنظيم «القاعدة» في سوريا حتى «جند الأقصى»، فصيل متطرف قاتلت «هيئة تحرير الشام» و «جبهة النصرة» قبلها إلى جانبه. وهكذا، اضطرت الجماعة الجهادية الصغيرة إلى التفكك، حيث انضم بعض أعضائها إلى تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في حين التحق آخرون بـ «الحزب الإسلامي التركستاني» (الذي كان يُعرف سابقاً باسم «حركة تركستان الشرقية الإسلامية»)، أحد أهم حلفاء «هيئة تحرير الشام». ويضمّ «الحزب الإسلامي التركستاني» الآلاف من مقاتلي الأويغور الذين قدموا أساساً من شينجيانغ، الصين (المعروفة أيضاً باسم شرق تركستان)، والذين يقاتلون في سوريا ويعيشون مع أسرهم بين جسر الشغور وأريحا.

واليوم، تشكّل «هيئة تحرير الشام» أكبر جماعة متمردة في سوريا ومحافظة إدلب على حد سواء. ومن بين مقاتلي «الهيئة» الذين يناهز عددهم 30 ألف عنصر والمنتشرين في جميع أنحاء البلاد، يتمركز نحو الثلثين في منطقة إدلب. وغالباً ما تستقطب «هيئة تحرير الشام» المزيد من المجندين عقب الانتصارات العسكرية. وعلى وجه الخصوص، في تموز/يوليو 2017، شملت الكتائب الجديدة لـ «أحرار الشام» التي انضمت [إلى «الهيئة»] «أسود الإسلام»، ومقرهم جنوب شرق محافظة إدلب؛ و«أسود المعرة»، ومركزهم في معرة النعمان؛ وجماعة خاضعة لسلطة أمير الدانة، وهي بلدة صغيرة شمال إدلب. كما تعززت صفوف «هيئة تحرير الشام» في إدلب من خلال مقاتلين خارجين من جيوب كانت خاضعة سابقاً لسيطرة المتمردين وأصبحت حالياً تحت سيطرة الجيش السوري، على غرار الزبداني وحي الوعر في حمص والقابون وداريا وغيرها. فضلاً عن ذلك، قد يصل نحو 1500 مقاتل من «هيئة تحرير الشام» وعائلاتهم قريباً من قرية عرسال اللبنانية، حيث نفذ «حزب الله» والجيش اللبناني حملة ضد الجهاديين السنّة. وحتى الآن، يمكن تسجيل حدوث عملية انشقاق كبيرة واحدة في صفوف «الهيئة»: تلك التي نفذتها «حركة نور الدين الزنكي» التي انفصلت عن «هيئة تحرير الشام» لتصبح قوة مستقلة في أواخر تموز/يوليو 2017.     

نظم تحكم «هيئة تحرير الشام»

خلال تقييم نقاط قوة «هيئة تحرير الشام»، قد يكون وجودها غير المستقر في المنطقة مضللاً. وبالفعل، تعتمد «الهيئة» على قدرة شبكتها أكثر من اعتمادها على تكديس الأراضي. فخلال تموز/يوليو الماضي، قامت بطرد جماعات منافسة من مدينة إدلب ومن بلدات أصغر مثل معرة النعمان وسراقب وأتارب، وجميعها معاقل سابقة لـ «الجيش السوري الحر». وعند احتلال مثل هذه المجتمعات، تتوخى «هيئة تحرير الشام» الحذر والتعقل بغية تجنب إثارة عداء السكان المحليين.     

وفي الأقسام الجنوبية والشرقية من المحافظة، تكتفي «هيئة تحرير الشام» بغزواتها السابقة للقواعد العسكرية للجيش السوري كما حصل في أبو الظهور. وأخيراً، تحتفظ بمعاقل بالقرب من حلب (في الضواحي الشمالية الغربية)، وحماه (خان شيخون)، واللاذقية (جسر الشغور)، التي يمكنها من خلالها استكشاف فرص للتوسّع ضد النظام السوري. أما المناطق الأخرى التي لا يسكنها العرب السنة فهي أكثر صعوبة في السيطرة عليها. وعلى نطاق أوسع، لا تسعى «هيئة تحرير الشام» إلى استمرارية جغرافية بل إلى السيطرة على نقاط إستراتيجية يمكنها من خلالها شن غارات، بما في ذلك ضد قرى مثل كفرنبل، وهو معقل مناهض للإسلاميين. وبعد أن استمدت الولاء من الفصائل المحلية في جميع أنحاء منطقة إدلب، بإمكان «هيئة تحرير الشام» حشد آلاف المقاتلين الإضافيين، كما هو الحال في هجوم حماة ضد الجيش السوري في ربيع 2017.      

ويتيح المعقل الرئيسي لـ «هيئة تحرير الشام»، الذي يشمل منطقة الحدود مع تركيا من جسر الشغور إلى باب الهوى، التحكم بشكل منقطع النظير بكل من المدن والريف. ويمكن إيجاد نقطة ضعف وحيدة في منطقة يسكنها التركمان شمال اللاذقية، وهي محمية تركية صغيرة تستخدم معبر اليمضية الحدودي. وتُعتبر السيطرة الشاملة على الحدود التركية-السورية أمر أساسي لكي تؤكد «هيئة تحرير الشام» سلطتها على المحافظة وقدرتها على الهيمنة على الفصائل الأخرى. فمثل هذه السلطة تمكّن الجماعة الجهادية من احتكار المساعدات الإنسانية وكافة أنواع التجارة مع تركيا من خلال هذا المعبر. وبالفعل، بينما تمارس مختلف الجماعات أعمال التجارة مع المناطق التي تسيطر عليها الحكومة، تأتي المساعدات الإنسانية من تركيا بشكل شبه حصري، علماً بأن إطعام سكان المنطقة الذين يبلغ عددهم مليوني نسمة، نصفهم تقريباً من المشردين داخلياً، أمر ضروري. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، إذا تعذّر على الفصائل الأخرى الحصول على الأسلحة من تركيا والمنطقة الحدودية التي تسيطر عليها تركيا بين عزاز وجرابلس، فإنها قد تلجأ إلى الحكومة السورية لتجنب دمارها إذا استمر الوضع الراهن.

وفي 22 آب/أغسطس، أعلنت «هيئة تحرير الشام» عن تعزيز سيطرتها على كافة اللجان المحلية - التي تتألف من المدنيين الذين يوفرون الخدمات العامة ويوزعون المساعدات الإنسانية من الخارج - ضمن "المنطقة المحررة". وبشكل يثير الفضول، أعقب هذا التصريح بياناً أصدرته تركيا طلبت بموجبه إنشاء هيئة مدنية لإدلب تتولى إدارة المساعدات الإنسانية والمعابر الحدودية، وتهدد خلاف ذلك بوقف المساعدات الإنسانية. ومع ذلك، فإن «هيئة تحرير الشام» تدرك أن تركيا لن تخاطر بدعوة مئات الآلاف من السوريين الجائعين إلى حدودها، وهو تدفق لا يمكن التحكم به. وسيكون أول هؤلاء الوافدين من المشردين داخلياً الذين ستغص بهم المخيمات بشكل كبير، بسعيهم للحصول على الحماية من عمليات القصف التي يشنها النظام السوري. 

الهجمات الانتحارية والتصرف التركي المحتمل

بالنسبة لـ«هيئة تحرير الشام»، تشكل مخيمات المشردين داخلياً مواقع مثالية للتجنيد حيث يمكن للجماعة استغلال بؤس السكان الضعفاء. فعلى سبيل المثال، قام الجهاديون بتجنيد آلاف المراهقين لاستخدامهم ككبش فداء في المعركة على الراموسة في آب/أغسطس 2016، مما سمح بخرق الحصار المفروض على حلب مؤقتاً. وعلى الرغم من أن المعركة لم تكن ضرورية على الصعيد العسكري، إلّا أنّها هدفت إلى تعزيز مكانة «هيئة تحرير الشام»، التي أعيد تشكيلها من «جبهة فتح الشام» لكنها انفصلت بشكل ودي عن زعيم تنظيم «القاعدة» أيمن الظواهري. وتحتاج المنظمة الإرهابية الآن إلى تجنيد الانتحاريين بشكل مستمر، وهم من بين أفضل ما تملكه في الحرب. وفي حين تستقطب الهجمات الانتحارية إعجاب وتقدير قادة جهاديين آخرين، إلا أنها تخيفهم في الوقت نفسه لأنهم يدركون أنهم ليسوا بمنأى عنها. وفي إطار نشره للمهاجمين الانتحاريين، توافق زعيم «هيئة تحرير الشام» أبو محمد الجولاني تماماً مع وصف "شيخ الجبل" الذي تحدث عنه برنارد لويس في كتابه "ذي أساسينز" ["الحشاشون... فرقة ثورية في تاريخ الإسلام"]. وعلى وجه التحديد، يمكن أن تعتمد «هيئة تحرير الشام» على «الحزب الإسلامي التركستاني» لتأمين أعداد كبيرة من الانتحاريين الذين تمّ تلقينهم إيديولوجياً في معسكراته التدريبية للأطفال بالقرب من جسر الشغور. يُذكر أن الانتحاريين الأويغوريين سبق لهم أن حاربوا على الخطوط الأمامية للمعركة على الراموسة.

وبالنظر إلى التطورات الأخيرة، لا ترغب أي جهة حكومية في تحويل محافظة إدلب إلى مصنع جهادي. وعلى وجه الخصوص، قد تصبح لدى تركيا المحفزات اللازمة للتدخل عسكرياً استناداً إلى التهديد الإرهابي ومصالح أنقرة الجيوسياسية. ويقيناً، أن الأتراك يولون أولوية لمنع تأسيس كيان مؤيد لـ «حزب العمال الكردستاني» يعمل بين عفرين ونهر دجلة. ومع ذلك فإن مستقبل إدلب يدخل أيضاً في حسابات أنقرة، وقد تصب التطورات هناك في صالح الأكراد أو ضدهم. وبالفعل، أعرب الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان عن رغبته في إقامة منطقة خاضعة للوصاية التركية في إدلب شبيهة بتلك القائمة في ممر أعزاز-جرابلس. وإذا تصرف الأتراك، قد تؤدي خطتهم العسكرية إلى ضربة في سوريا تمتد على مسافة خمسة وثلاثين كيلومتراً تقريباً، من جسر الشغور إلى باب الهوى، بما في ذلك مدينة إدلب. ومن شأن هذه الحملة أن تؤدي حتماً إلى معركة كبيرة مع «هيئة تحرير الشام» التي تحتل المنطقة نفسها على وجه التحديد.

عدم وجود خطط طويلة الأمد لإمارة «هيئة تحرير الشام»

يدرك أبو محمد الجولاني أنه فور دحر تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، فإن التحالف بقيادة الولايات المتحدة، إلى جانب روسيا وتركيا وإيران، سيحوّلون نارهم نحو جماعته. ورهناً بتطورات الحملة المناهضة لـ تنظيم «داعش»، والتعاون بين هذه الجهات الخارجية، قد يكون أمام جولاني عاماً واحداً أو عامين قبل أن يحين وقت جماعته. ويدرك بالتالي أن هدفه الرئيسي لا يتمثل بإقامة إمارة إسلامية دائمة في إدلب، وإنما تأسيس قاعدة تجنيد لجيشه من الجهاديين، وفقاً للمبادئ التي وضعها الظواهري: "يجب أن تركز إستراتيجية الجهاد في الشام على حرب العصابات... لا تنشغلوا في التمسك بالأرض".

وتفسر مثل هذه اللغة سبب سعي المجتمع الدولي بإلحاح إلى التصدي لـ «هيئة تحرير الشام»، التي تزداد قوةً يوماً بعد يوم، من دون انتظار التدمير الكامل لتنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». على اللاعبين الدوليين أن لا يعتمدوا على المتمردين المعتدلين، أو «أحرار الشام»، لتحقيق هذا الهدف. وفي الواقع، يجب أن تكون مقاربة التحالف الدولي الشاملة تجاه «هيئة تحرير الشام» في إدلب مماثلة تماماً لتلك التي ينتهجها إزاء تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في الرقة وأماكن أخرى. وسيؤدي عدم القيام بذلك حالياً إلى تكبّد تكاليف باهظة في وقت لاحق.

 

فابريس بالونش، هو أستاذ مشارك ومدير الأبحاث في "جامعة ليون 2"، وزميل زائر في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2856

Preventing a Jihadist Factory in Idlib

Fabrice Balanche

Also available in العربية

August 31, 2017


The international coalition must take the same comprehensive approach to HTS as it is taking to the Islamic State.

CLICK ON ANY MAP TO VIEW OR DOWNLOAD A HIGH-RESOLUTION VERSION.

In July 2017, Hayat Tahrir al-Sham (HTS) seized the entire Syrian-Turkish border in Idlib province and the Syrian provincial capital of Idlib, to the detriment of its former ally Ahrar al-Sham (AS). The move came several months after the rebels fell in December 2016 to regime and allied forces in Aleppo, whereupon HTS committed itself to dominating the entire Syrian rebellion. In so doing, it sought to force its former allies to submit to its jihadist strategy, while basing itself in the Idlib area.

HTS Preeminence

On January 28, 2017, HTS was formed through the merger of several rebel factions associated with Jabhat Fatah al-Sham (formerly Jabhat al-Nusra). These factions included Harakat Nour al-Din al-Zinki, Jabhat Ansar al-Din, Liwa al-Haqq, and Jaish al-Sunna. In seeking to strengthen its grip on the rebellion, HTS failed, however, to integrate its main former ally, Ahrar al-Sham. As a result, many AS brigades defected to HTS, while others, such as Free Syrian Army remnants, Suqur al-Sham, and al-Jabha al-Shamiya (Levant Front), joined AS in order to gain protection from HTS. Despite absorbing its own new elements, AS did not bolster itself militarily, and the group's cohesion has suffered -- making it unlikely AS will be able prevent further defections to HTS.

Since 2014, the various Syrian incarnations of al-Qaeda have methodically eliminated the Free Syrian Army (FSA) brigades in northwestern Syria by either killing or appropriating their members. The FSA has been reduced to a few thousand combatants today in the Idlib area, a winnowing to which AS contributed -- and noteworthy in light of the later AS-HTS split. In winter 2017, the Syrian affiliate of al-Qaeda even attacked Jund al-Aqsa, an extremist faction alongside which HTS, and Jabhat al-Nusra before it, fought. The small jihadist group was thus forced to dissolve, with some of its members joining the Islamic State and others the Turkestan Islamist Party (TIP; previously known as the East Turkestan Islamic Movement), a strong HTS ally. The TIP includes several thousand Uyghur fighters originally from Xinjiang, China (aka East Turkestan), who are fighting in Syria and living with their families between Jisr al-Shughour and Ariha.

Today, HTS constitutes the largest rebel group in both Syria and Idlib province. Of the 30,000 or so HTS combatants across the country, some two-thirds are situated in the Idlib area. Following military victories, HTS often attracts additional recruits. In particular, in July 2017, new AS brigades to join included Usud al-Islam (Lions of Islam), located in southeastern Idlib province; Usud al-Maarat (Lions of Maarat), based in Maarat al-Numan; and a group under the emir of al-Dana, a small town in northern Idlib. Further reinforcing HTS in Idlib have been fighters booted from previously rebel-held enclaves now controlled by the Syrian army, such as Zabadani, the al-Waar district of Homs, al-Qabun, Daraya, and others. Additionally, some 1,500 HTS fighters and their families might soon arrive from the Arsal area of Lebanon, where Hezbollah and Lebanese forces are conducting a campaign against Sunni jihadists. Only one notable HTS defection can be counted thus far: that of Harakat Nour al-Din al-Zinki, which broke off to become an independent force in late July 2017.

HTS Nodes of Control

In assessing the strength of HTS, the group's fluid territorial presence can be deceptive. Indeed, HTS relies more on the potency of its network than on the accumulation of territory. This past July, the group chased rival groups from Idlib city as well as from smaller towns such as Maarat al-Numan, Saraqeb, and Atareb, all of which are former FSA strongholds. When occupying such communities, HTS notably practices discretion in order to avoid antagonizing locals.

In the southern and eastern sections of the province, HTS is satisfied with its past conquests of Syrian army military bases such as that in Abu Duhur. Finally, it retains strongholds near Aleppo (in the northwestern suburbs), Hama (Khan Sheikhoun), and Latakia (Jisr al-Shughour), from which it can probe opportunities for expansion against the Syrian regime. Other areas not populated by Sunni Arabs are more difficult to control. In broader terms, HTS does not seek territorial continuity but instead control of strategic points from which it can launch raids, including against villages such as Kafr Nabl, an anti-Islamist stronghold. Having elicited allegiance from local factions throughout the Idlib area, HTS can mobilize thousands of additional combatants, as in the Hama offensive against the Syrian army in spring 2017.

The main HTS stronghold, encompassing the border area with Turkey from Jisr al-Shughour to Bab al-Hawa, allows for unparalleled control of both cities and the countryside. A lone weak point can be found in the Turkmen-inhabited country north of Latakia, a small Turkish protectorate that uses the Yamadi crossing border. Overall control of the Syrian-Turkish border is fundamental to HTS assertion of power over the province and its ability to dominate other factions. Such control provides the jihadist group with a monopoly over the transit of humanitarian aid and any form of trade with Turkey. Indeed, whereas various groups engage in trade with government-held areas, humanitarian aid comes almost exclusively from Turkey, and feeding the area's two million inhabitants, nearly half of whom are internally displaced, is essential. Moreover, should other factions lose access to weapons from Turkey and the Turkish-controlled border area between Azaz and Jarabulus, they may turn to the Syrian government to avoid destruction if the status quo persists.

On August 22, HTS announced its consolidation of control over all local committees -- consisting of civilians who distribute public services and humanitarian aid from abroad -- of the "liberated zone." Curiously, this statement followed one by Turkey demanding the creation of an Idlib civilian body to manage humanitarian aid and border crossings, and threatening otherwise to halt humanitarian aid. HTS knows, however, that Turkey will not risk inviting hundreds of thousands of hungry Syrians to its border, an unmanageable influx. The first such arrivals would be internally displaced persons (IDPs), who would crowd the camps in dramatic fashion, seeking protection from Syrian regime bombardments.

Suicide Attacks and Potential Turkish Action

For Hayat Tahrir al-Sham, IDP camps constitute ideal recruitment sites where the group can exploit the misery of fragile populations. The jihadists, for example, recruited thousands of teenagers for use as cannon fodder in the August 2016 battle for Ramouseh, which allowed a temporary breach in the siege of Aleppo. Although unnecessary on the military level, the battle was intended to enhance the prestige of HTS, which had been reconstituted from JFS but had parted amicably with al-Qaeda leader Ayman al-Zawahiri. The terrorist organization now needs to constantly replenish its supply of suicide bombers, one of its best assets in the war. While drawing the admiration of other jihadist leaders, the suicide attacks also scare them because they know they are not immune. In his deployment of suicide attackers, HTS leader Abu Muhammad al-Julani corresponds perfectly to the portrait of the "old man of the mountain" (al-Shaykh al-Jebel) described by Bernard Lewis in The Assassins. Specifically, HTS can count on the TIP to supply large numbers of suicide bombers indoctrinated in its children's training camps near Jisr al-Shughour. Uyghur suicide bombers have already performed on the frontlines during the battle for Ramouseh.

In observing recent developments, no state actor wants to see Idlib province become a jihadist factory. Turkey, in particular, could be spurred to intervene militarily, based on the terrorist threat and Ankara's geopolitical interests. To be sure, the Turks hold the priority of preventing the creation of an entity favorable to the Kurdistan Workers Party (PKK) operating between Afrin and the Tigris River. Yet the future of Idlib is also part of Ankara's calculus, and developments there could weigh in favor of or against the Kurds. Indeed, Turkish president Recep Tayyip Erdogan has voiced his desire to create a Turkish protectorate in Idlib similar to the existing Azaz-Jarabulus corridor. Should the Turks act, their military plan might entail a strike into Syria extending about thirty-five kilometers, from Jisr al-Shughour to Bab al-Hawa, including the city of Idlib. Such a campaign would inevitably lead to a major fight with HTS, which occupies precisely the same area.

No Long-Term Plans for an HTS Emirate

Abu Muhammad al-Julani understands that once the Islamic State is defeated, the U.S.-led coalition, along with Russia, Turkey, and Iran, will turn its guns on his group. Depending on developments in the anti-IS campaign, and coordination among these external actors, Julani might have a year or two before his group's time comes. He thus understands that his principal goal is not to create a permanent Islamic emirate in the Idlib area but rather to establish a recruitment base for his army of jihadists, in accordance with the principles set out by Zawahiri: "The strategy for jihad in al-Sham [Greater Syria] must focus on a guerrilla war...Do not occupy yourselves with holding territory."

Such language explains why the international community must seek urgently to counter HTS, which grows stronger by the day, without awaiting the complete destruction of the Islamic State. International actors should not rely on moderate rebels, or Ahrar al-Sham, to achieve this goal. Indeed, the international coalition must pursue the same comprehensive approach to HTS in Idlib as it is taking to the Islamic State in Raqqa and elsewhere. Failure to do so now will entail far greater costs later.

Fabrice Balanche, an associate professor and research director at the University of Lyon 2, is a visiting fellow at The Washington Institute.