أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2579

ما السبيل لمنع تنظيم «القاعدة» من الاستيلاء على منطقة آمنة في شمال غرب سوريا؟

فابريس بالونش

متاح أيضاً في English

7 آذار/مارس 2016


إقرأ المزيد من المقالات في السلسلة التي أصدرها معهد واشنطن حول المناطق الآمنة في سوريا.

من الناحية النظرية، يمكن أن تشكل محافظة إدلب والجزء الشرقي من محافظة حلب في سوريا منطقتان آمنتان تحظيان بحماية دولية، لأنهما مفتوحتين أمام تركيا ويمكنهما بسهولة تلقّي المعونة الإنسانية من وكالات الأمم المتحدة ومنظمات غير حكومية مختلفة (انظر المرصد السياسي 2570، "منطقتان آمنتان محتملتان شمال سوريا"). إلا أن أحد أبرز العوائق المتعلقة بخيار إدلب يتمثل بوجود تنظيمات جهادية متطرفة فيها، لا سيما جماعة «جبهة النصرة» التابعة لتنظيم «القاعدة». ففي غرب حلب وإدلب الخاضعتين لسيطرة الثوار، ستواجه فصائل الثوار "المعتدلة" تحدّياً خطيراً في صدّ قوات «جبهة النصرة».

احتلال «جبهة النصرة» لمحافظة إدلب

حدد "معهد دراسة الحرب" وجود أكثر من 60 جماعة ثوار في المنطقة الغربية من حلب، تضم ما بين 60 ألف و90 ألف مقاتل بشكل إجمالي. ولا تُعتبر «جبهة النصرة» أكبر هذه الفصائل، إذ أن مقاتليها الذين يبلغ عددهم 10 آلاف عنصر لا يمثلون سوى نصف مقاتلي جماعة «أحرار الشام» على سبيل المثال. بيد، تتحالف حالياً «أحرار الشام» وعدة ميليشيات أخرى مع تنظيم «جبهة النصرة»؛ وفي حين قد يمثل المقاتلون التابعون لتنظيمات إسلامية علمانية و"معتدلة" حوالي ثلث قوات الثوار في المنطقة، إلا أنهم ينشطون بشكل أساسي ضمن وحدات صغيرة مجندة محلياً تضم بضع مئات من المقاتلين أو أقل من ذلك.

وتُعد "الفرقة 13" التابعة لائتلاف «فتح حلب» أهم الوحدات "المعتدلة". وتزعم الفرقة، التي تدعمها الولايات المتحدة وتركيا، أنها تضم في صفوفها 2000 مقاتل وأنها تحارب الجيش السوري في حلب و «وحدات حماية الشعب» الكردية في ممر أعزاز. ومنذ بداية التدخل الروسي في العام الماضي، وضعت عدة تنظيمات صغيرة غير تابعة لـ «جبهة النصرة» راياتها الإسلامية وغيرها من الشعارات جانباً، وانضمت إلى تحالفات ذات تسميات قومية على غرار «جيش النصر» و «الجبهة الشامية». ولم تقم بذلك للحصول على المعونة العسكرية الأمريكية فحسب، بل لمقاومة ضغوط الهيمنة التي تمارسها «جبهة النصرة» أيضاً.

انقر على الخريطة لعرض نسخة عالية الدقة.

خلال شتاء 2013-2014، أخرجت «جبهة النصرة» وجماعات ثوار أخرى متنوعة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش») من المنطقة الغربية من حلب، في حين كانت قوات تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» تخرجها بدورها من شرق حلب ووادي الفرات. وقد اعتُبرت هذه الحرب ضد تنظيم «داعش» بغير حق ثورة ثانية بالنسبة إلى عدة محللين، تكلموا عن فورة "القوات الديمقراطية" ضد الجهاديين. وفي الواقع، كانت هذه الحرب مجرد نزاع داخلي بين الجهاديين المتخاصمين. فقد أرادت «جبهة النصرة» وحلفاؤها المحليون القضاء على تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» قبل أن يعمد هذا الأخير إلى القضاء عليها بدوره. وبعد التخلص من تنظيم «داعش» - منافسها الأساسي في شمال غرب سوريا - سعت هذه الجماعات إلى توحيد مختلف تنظيمات الثوار في المنطقة بالقوة. أما بالنسبة إلى التنظيمات التي رفضت ذلك، فقد طُردت ("الفرقة 13"، كمثال) أو تم القضاء عليها («جبهة الحمزة»، مثلاً).

وفيما أصبحت هيمنة «جبهة النصرة» حتمية، سيطرت الجماعة على «جيش الفتح»، وهو تحالف مدعوم من قبل تركيا وقطر والمملكة العربية السعودية. وفي ربيع عام 2015، هزّ تقدم «جيش الفتح» في إدلب وجسر الشغور وأريحا نظام الأسد. وكانت مساهمة الجهاديين أساسية في تحقيق هذه الانتصارات. على سبيل المثال، لعب الانتحاريون المنتسبون لـ «جند الأقصى»، وهي جماعة زميلة لـ «جبهة النصرة» تابعة لتنظيم «القاعدة»، دوراً أساسياً في إتاحة النفاذ إلى مدينة إدلب - مركز محافظة إدلب.

انقر على المخطط لعرض لعرض نسخة عالية الدقة.

منذ تنفيذ هذا الهجوم الناجح، تشاركت الجماعات الفرعية الست التابعة لـ «جيش الفتح» السيطرة على قرى المحافظة. وقد قُسمت إدلب إلى عدة قطاعات، ولكن يبدو أن «جبهة النصرة» وأتباعها المقربين فرضوا سيطرتهم الكاملة على المدينة. ففي مقابلة مع قناة "الجزيرة" في حزيران/يونيو الماضي، أعلن قائد «جبهة النصرة» أبو محمد الجولاني بوضوح عن نيته إنشاء إمارة إسلامية في شمال غرب سوريا. وسعياً لتحقيق هذا الهدف، استخدمت الجماعة طرقاً عنيفة مشابهة لتلك التي يعتمدها تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، والاختلاف الوحيد هو أنه لا يتم الإعلان عن عمليات الإعدام في إدلب بانفتاح مشابه لذلك الذي يحصل في الرقة، عاصمة تنظيم «داعش». وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن معظم السكان غير السنة قد فروا من المنطقة، مع أن بعضهم قد أُرغم على تغيير دينه، على غرار دروز "جبل السماق" (وحتى تغيير الدين لم يمنع ارتكاب مجزرة بحق 20 درزياً في قرية "قلب لوزة" في حزيران/يونيو). ويعتقل مقاتلو «جبهة النصرة» بشكل منتظم ناشطين محليين في المجتمع المدني، ليختفي بعدها العديد منهم.

من منظور عسكري، تستطيع اليوم «جبهة النصرة» وأتباعها التدخل في أي مكان تقريباً من محافظة إدلب، من دون أن تلقى معارضة كبيرة من أي جماعات قد تكون مسيطرة رسمياً على قرية أو مدينة معينة. وفي معظم الخرائط التي تحاول إظهار توزع فصائل الثوار، نجد أن «جبهة النصرة» محصورة عموماً في منطقتين من المحافظة، وهما معقلي "حارم" و"جبل الزاوية"، إلا أن  الجماعة متواجدة بالفعل في جميع أنحاء شمال غرب سوريا.

«جبهة النصرة» و «أحرار الشام» يكمل أحدهما الآخر

تملك «جبهة النصرة» أيديولوجيا منسجمة ومشروعاً سياسياً واضحاً لسوريا. فعموماً يتبع سكان الأراضي الخاضعة لسيطرة «جبهة النصرة» الأحكام الصادرة عن محاكمها ويقدّرون نزاهة مقاتليها وشجاعتهم، الأمر الذي لا ينطبق على جماعات الثوار الأخرى (انظر أدناه للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات حول الهيمنة الإيديولوجية للجماعة). وحتى الآن، تسامحت «جبهة النصرة» مع أعمال المنظمات غير الحكومية الأجنبية و"مكتب تنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية" التابع للأمم المتحدة بالعمل على أراضيها، لأنها بحاجة إلى خدماتها الاجتماعية لفرض سلطتها السياسية. ويتم حالياً تمرير المساعدات الإنسانية عبر معبر "باب الهوى" الحدودي الخاضع لسيطرة «أحرار الشام» - جماعة حليفة لـ «جبهة النصرة» - فيما تسيطر قوات «جبهة النصرة» مباشرةً على الطرق المتفرعة من المعبر.

انقر على المخطط لعرض لعرض نسخة عالية الدقة.

لا ينظر الغرب إلى «أحرار الشام» كتنظيم إرهابي على الرغم من أنه يعتنق الأيديولوجيا ذاتها تقريباً مثل «جبهة النصرة»، التي تم تصنيفها رسمياً كتنظيم إرهابي من قبل الولايات المتحدة ودول أخرى. أما نقاط الاختلاف الحقيقية الوحيدة مع «جبهة النصرة» فهي أن جماعة «أحرار الشام» تتمتع بإدارة أقل مركزية ولم تعبّر عن ولائها المباشر لزعيم تنظيم «القاعدة» أيمن الظواهري. ويتوقع بعض المحللين حصول انشقاق بين الجماعتين في المستقبل القريب، معتبرين أنه على «أحرار الشام» الابتعاد عن تنظيم «القاعدة» إذا ما أرادت أن تصبح بديلاً مقبولاً لنظام الأسد. غير أنه بنفس القدر الذي يتعذر فيه على «جبهة النصرة» الانفصال عن تنظيم «القاعدة»، يتعذر على «أحرار الشام» على الأرجح الانفصال عن «جبهة النصرة»، إذ أن قيامها بذلك قد يُفقدها شرعيتها المحلية ودعمها الخاص من قبل مؤيدي تنظيم «القاعدة» في الخليج العربي. كما أنها ستخسر هويتها، فتصبح جماعة ثوار "عادية" أسوةً بالجماعات الأخرى. فضلاً عن ذلك، إن ضباط الجماعتين كانوا سابقاً جنوداً زملاء تابعين لأسامة بن لادن، بمن فيهم الجولاني وعادل راضي صقر الوهابي الحربي في «جبهة النصرة» ومحمد بهايا (المعروف بـ "أبو خالد السوري") وهاشم الشيخ (المعروف بـ  "أبو جابر") في «أحرار الشام». باختصار، تكمّل الجماعتان بعضهما البعض على أكمل وجه، وبالتالي، من غير الواقعي الاعتقاد بأنهما ستصبحان خصمين متنافسين سياسياً في زمن الحرب.

أرض خصبة للسلفية

تكمن قوة «جبهة النصرة» في التنوع الجغرافي لعمليات التجنيد التي تقوم بها، بخلاف الجماعات المعتدلة وعمليات التجنيد الخاصة بها ذات الطابع المحلي للغاية. وقد ساعدت هذه المقاربة «جبهة النصرة» إلى حد كبير على تجنب النزاعات القبلية التي غالباً ما تقوّض الثورة.

وتتمتع «جبهة النصرة» بنقطة حصينة أخرى هي سلطتها الأيديولوجية، التي تساعدها على الحفاظ على شرعيتها في عدة أجزاء من شمال غرب سوريا، بالرغم من العنف المتكرر الذي تمارسه بحق السكان المحليين. فالتيار السلفي للفكر الإسلامي الذي تعتنقه «جبهة النصرة» بدأ ينتشر في ريف إدلب وحلب منذ عدة عقود، من خلال كتائب من الأئمة الشباب المدرَبين في المملكة العربية السعودية. وهذا التيار السلفي يناسب السكان الريفيين الذين يعيشون في حالات تخلف في شمال سوريا أكثر من أيديولوجية جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين»، التي هي أكثر تناسباً مع الطبقة الوسطى الحضرية.

وهناك بعض الاستثناءات. غالباً ما تُذكر مدينة "كفرنبل" كمثال على الديمقراطية والعلمانية المحليتين، ويتم تسليط الضوء عليها على نطاق واسع من قبل الصحفيين الذين يزورون [المناطق] الشمالية، في حين لطالما اعتُبرت منطقة "جبل الزاوية" التي تجسد "موسكو الصغيرة" معقلاً يسارياً. إلا أن هذه الاستثناءات غير مُدرجة على مستوى المحافظات، كما أن الفُسحة في "كفرنبل" تتقلص باستمرار. ففي كانون الثاني/يناير، على سبيل المثال، كادت «جبهة النصرة» أن تغتال رائد فارس، الناشط المشهور في المجتمع المدني ومدير إذاعة "كفرنبل". وقد أُرغم على الإقرار بذنبه علناً على خلفية بثه موسيقى عبر أثير إذاعته، فيما لم تعترض أي من جماعات الثوار المحلية على اعتقاله.

ما من منطقة آمنة من دون قوات برية خارجية

ينبغي على الحكومات والمحللين الأجانب التنبه للوضع الفعلي في شمال غرب سوريا ووقف التكهنات بشأن مواجهة الثوار "المعتدلين" للجهاديين بالاعتماد على أنفسهم. فاليوم، لا يُعتبر الغرب لاعباً قوياً في تلك المنطقة، إذ لا يأخذه المقاتلون المحليون على محمل الجد ولا تتمتع الميليشيات المدعومة من الغرب بالقوة الكافية لتغيير ميزان القوى ضمن جماعات الثوار. وإذا ما قررت الجهات الفاعلة الدولية إنشاء منطقة آمنة في شمال غرب سوريا، فلن يكن من المستطاع منع «جبهة النصرة» من زيادة تعزيز موقعها في المنطقة إلا من قبل قوة حفظ سلام خارجية كبيرة. وهذه القوة ليست واردة على أجندة الغرب في الوقت الحاضر، إلا أن ذلك قد يتغير. وفي هذه الحالة، قد تكون تركيا أكثر احتمالاً للتعاون مع زملائها في منظمة "حلف شمال الأطلسي" ("الناتو") لكبح عناصر تنظيم «القاعدة» من تعاونها مع روسيا. ويتمثل أمل آخر بأن يؤدي بروز جماعات على غرار «جند الأقصى» و«حركة تركستان الشرقية الإسلامية» إلى اندلاع حرب جديدة بين الجهاديين.

 

فابريس بالونش، هو أستاذ مشارك ومدير الأبحاث في "جامعة ليون 2"، وزميل زائر في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2579

How to Prevent al-Qaeda from Seizing a Safe Zone in Northwestern Syria

Fabrice Balanche

Also available in العربية

March 7, 2016

Strong ground support for moderate rebels would be needed to keep any buffer zone in the northwest from falling under the control of al-Qaeda's Syrian affiliate.

Read more articles from the TWI series on Syrian safe zones.

In theory, Syria's Idlib province and the eastern part of Aleppo province could serve as safe zones with international protection, since both areas are open to Turkey and could easily receive humanitarian aid from UN agencies and various NGOs (see PolicyWatch 2570, "Two Potential Safe Zones in Northern Syria"). Yet one of the most formidable obstacles to the Idlib option is the presence of radical jihadist groups there, particularly al-Qaeda affiliate Jabhat al-Nusra (JN). Throughout rebel-held western Aleppo and Idlib, "moderate" rebel factions would face a serious challenge fending off JN forces.


The Institute for the Study of the War has identified more than sixty rebel groups in the western Aleppo area, with a total of some 60,000-90,000 fighters. Jabhat al-Nusra is not the largest of these factions: its 10,000 fighters are only half that of the group Ahrar al-Sham, for example. Yet Ahrar and many other militias are now allied with JN, and while those who fight for secular and "moderate" Islamist groups may account for as many as a third of the area's rebel forces, they are mainly found in small, locally recruited units with a few hundred fighters or less.

The most important "moderate" unit is Division 13, a member of the coalition Fatah Aleppo. Supported by the United States and Turkey, the group claims to have 2,000 fighters and has been battling the Syrian army in Aleppo and the Kurdish People's Defense Units (YPG) in the Azaz corridor. Since the Russian intervention began last year, many small groups not affiliated with JN have put aside their Islamist banners and other trappings, joining coalitions with nationalist names such as Jaish al-Nasr (the Army of Victory) and al-Jabah al-Shamiya (the Levant Front). They have done so not only to receive U.S. military aid, but also to resist JN's hegemonic pressures.


During winter 2013-2014, JN and various other rebel groups pushed the Islamic State out of the western Aleppo area, even as IS forces drove them out of eastern Aleppo and the Euphrates Valley. This war against IS was wrongly hailed as a second revolution by many analysts, who spoke of a burst of "democratic forces" against the jihadists. In fact, it was only an internal conflict between rival jihadists: JN and its local allies wanted to eliminate IS before it could do the same to them. After getting rid of IS, their main competitor in the northwest, they sought to unify the area's various rebel groups by force. Those who refused were either expelled (e.g., Division 13) or eliminated (e.g., al-Hamza Front).

As JN's hegemony became inevitable, the group took control of Jaish al-Fatah (the Army of Conquest), a coalition supported by Turkey, Qatar, and Saudi Arabia. In spring 2015, Jaish al-Fatah advances in Idlib, Jisr al-Shughour, and Ariha shook the Assad regime. The jihadist contribution was fundamental to these victories; for example, suicide bombers from JN's fellow al-Qaeda affiliate Jund al-Aqsa played a major role in opening access to the provincial capital of Idlib city.


Since this successful offensive, the six subgroups of Jaish al-Fatah have shared control of the province's towns. Idlib was divided into sectors, but JN and its close affiliates appear to have full control of the city. In an interview with Al Jazeera last June, JN leader Abu Muhammad al-Julani clearly stated his intention to create an Islamic emirate in northwestern Syria. In pursuing that goal, the group has used brutal methods similar to those of IS -- the only difference is that executions in Idlib are not advertised as openly as they are in the IS capital of Raqqa. Most non-Sunnis have fled the area, though some were forced to convert, such as the Druze of Jabal al-Summaq (even converting did not prevent the massacre of twenty Druze in Qalb Lawzah in June). JN fighters regularly arrest local civil society activists, many of whom disappear.

Militarily speaking, JN and its affiliates are now able to intervene pretty much anywhere in Idlib province without much opposition from whatever groups may be officially controlling a given village or city. On most of the maps that attempt to illustrate the distribution of rebel factions, JN is typically confined to two specific areas in the province -- the strongholds of Harem and Jabal al-Zawiya -- yet the group is actually present throughout the northwest.


Jabhat al-Nusra has a consistent ideology and a clear political project for Syria. Residents of JN territories generally follow the judgments issued by its courts and respect the integrity and courage of its fighters -- hardly the case for other rebel groups (see below for more on the group's ideological sway). Thus far, JN has tolerated the work of foreign NGOs and the UN's Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs because it needs their social services to help establish its political power. Humanitarian assistance is currently channeled through the Bab al-Hawa border crossing controlled by JN ally Ahrar al-Sham, and the roads leading from the crossing are directly controlled by JN forces.


The West does not regard Ahrar al-Sham as a terrorist group even though it has nearly the same ideology as JN, which is formally designated as such by the United States and other countries. Its only real differences from JN are that it has a less centralized management and has not expressed direct allegiance to al-Qaeda leader Ayman al-Zawahiri. Some analysts are suggesting that a fissure will soon develop between the two groups, arguing that Ahrar al-Sham needs to move away from al-Qaeda if it wants to become an acceptable alternative to the Assad regime. Yet just as JN cannot break with al-Qaeda, Ahrar likely cannot break with JN -- doing so would risk losing their local legitimacy and their private backing from Persian Gulf supporters of al-Qaeda. They would also lose their identity, becoming "regular" rebel groups like the others. Moreover, the officers of both organizations were former fellow soldiers of Osama bin Laden, including Julani and Adel Radi Saqr al-Wahhabi al-Harbi for JN, and Mohammed Bahaiya (aka Abu Khalid al-Suri) and Hashem al-Sheikh (aka Abu Jaber) for Ahrar al-Sham. In short, the two groups complement each other perfectly, and it is unrealistic to believe that they will become political competitors during wartime.


JN's strength lies in the geographic diversity of its recruitment, unlike the moderate groups and their highly localized recruitment. This approach has helped JN largely avoid the clan quarrels that often undermine the rebellion.

Another strong point for the group is its ideological power, which helps it maintain legitimacy in many parts of the northwest despite its frequent brutality against locals. The Salafist strain of Islamist thought that JN espouses has been spreading throughout the countryside of Idlib and Aleppo for several decades via battalions of young imams trained in Saudi Arabia. This brand of Salafism is more appropriate to the underdeveloped rural populations in northern Syria than the Muslim Brotherhood's ideology, which is more suited to the urban middle class.

There are some exceptions. Kafr Nabl is often cited as an example of local democracy and secularism, widely highlighted by journalists visiting the north, while the "little Moscow" of Jabal al-Zawiya has always been a leftist stronghold. Yet these exceptions are not reproducible at the provincial level, and Kafr Nabl's free space is steadily being reduced. In January, for example, JN nearly assassinated Raed Fares, a famous civil society activist and head of Kafr Nabl radio. He was forced to give a public mea culpa for broadcasting music on his station, and none of the local rebel groups protested his arrest.


Foreign governments and analysts should open their eyes to the true situation in northwestern Syria and stop speculating about "moderate" rebels confronting the jihadists on their own. Today, the West is not considered a powerful actor in this area -- local fighters do not take it very seriously, and Western-backed militias are not strong enough to change the balance of power within the rebellion. If international actors decide to establish a safe zone in the northwest, only a substantial outside peacekeeping force would prevent JN from further strengthening its position there. Such a force is not on the West's agenda at the moment, but that could change. And in that case, Turkey is much more likely to cooperate with fellow NATO countries in curbing al-Qaeda elements than with Russia. Another hope is that the rise of groups such as Jund al-Aqsa and the East Turkestan Islamic Movement could spark a new inter-jihadist war.

Fabrice Balanche, an associate professor and research director at the University of Lyon 2, is a visiting fellow at The Washington Institute.