أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

إدراجات جهات فلسطينية ومصرية جديدة على لائحة الإرهاب تسلّط الضوء على إيران و«الإخوان المسلمين»

ماثيو ليفيت

متاح أيضاً في English

31 كانون الثاني/يناير 2018


خلال المؤتمر السنوي لـ «معهد دراسات الأمن القومي» في تل أبيب في 31 كانون الثاني/يناير، أعلن "منسق شؤون مكافحة الإرهاب" في وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية ناثان سيلز أن واشنطن أضافت جهات فلسطينية ومصرية جديدة إلى لائحة الإرهاب، وهذه الكيانات متّهمة بارتكاب أعمال مخلة بالاستقرار على غرار تقويض عملية السلام واستهداف كبار المسؤولين المصريين وتهريب الأسلحة إلى قطاع غزة. وتشمل هذه الجهات شخصاً واحداً هو زعيم حركة «حماس» اسماعيل هنية إلى جانب ثلاثة تنظيمات هي «حركة الصابرين» (غزة) و«لواء الثورة» (مصر) و«حركة سواعد مصر» المعروفة باسمها المختصر «حسم». وتطال هذه الإدراجات مسألتين تهمّان بوجه خاص إدارة ترامب، وهما: رعاية إيران للإرهاب، والعنف المستلهَم من جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين».

وكلاء إيران

في البيان الصحفي الذي ذُكرت فيه الجهات المصنّفة على لائحة الإرهاب، شدد وزير الخارجية الأمريكي ريكس تيلرسون على أن "إيران ترعى وتوجّه" كلاًّ من «حماس» و«حركة الصابرين» وأن هاتين الحركتين مستمرّتان في محاولة القيام بهجمات بناءً على توجيهات طهران. ويشير البيان على سبيل المثال إلى أن "قوى الأمن التابعة لـ«السلطة الفلسطينية» ألقت القبض على خمسة عناصر «حركة الصابرين» كانوا يعملون بناءً على أوامر إيران ويحصلون على التمويل في غزة لتنفيذ هجماتهم".

وعلى النحو نفسه، كان اسماعيل هنية يعمل على تحسين العلاقات مع إيران خلال فترة تولّيه رئاسة «حماس» في غزة. وعلى الرغم من تدهور العلاقات مع طهران عندما رفضت الحركة دعم نظام الأسد في سوريا، إلّا أنّها سرعان ما عادت إلى سابق عهدها في عهد هنية، ولا سيما بعد أن أرسل وفداً من «حماس» إلى إيران في العام الماضي. وفي وقت سابق من هذا الشهر، صرّح رئيس أركان جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي غادي أيزنكوت أن المبالغ السنوية التي تدفعها إيران لتمويل «حماس» وغيرها من الجماعات المسلحة في غزة ارتفعت إلى 100 مليون دولار. وبالاضافة الى تواصل هنية مع إيران، سلّطت وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية الضوء أيضاً على "علاقاته الوثيقة" مع الجناح العسكري لحركة «حماس» وما ذكرته بعض التقارير عن ضلوعه في "هجمات إرهابية ضد مواطنين إسرائيليين." (وهذه التهم هي سبب تولّي وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية إدراجه على لائحة الإرهاب وليس وزارة الخزانة، التي تستهدف بالدرجة الأولى المموّلين الإرهابيين واللوجستيين، علماً أن هنية كان يخضع أيضاً لقيود مالية مفروضة من وزارة الخزانة لبعض الوقت قبل الإعلان الصادر في الواحد والثلاثين من كانون الثاني/يناير).

ومن ناحيتها، تتقاضى «حركة الصابرين» وفقاً لبعض التقارير، عشرة ملايين دولار سنوياً من طهران. وقد تأسس هذا التنظيم على يد القائد السابق لـ«حركة الجهاد الإسلامي في فلسطين» هشام سالم الذي كان هدفاً لعدة محاولات اغتيال، من بينها محاولات نفّذتها جماعات جهادية سلفية فلسطينية. وسالم هو مسلم من الطائفة الشيعية، و«حركة الصابرين» تصرّح علناً عن ولائها لإيران وتنظّم التجمعات بمناسبة الذكرى السنوية لـ«الثورة الإسلامية» عام 1979 وتعقد حلقات دراسية حول العقيدة الشيعية. أضف إلى ذلك أن راية هذا التنظيم هي نسخة معدّلة عن راية «حزب الله»، وقد اتخذ التنظيم مواقف موالية لإيران بشأن قضايا لا علاقة لها بالصراع العربي الإسرائيلي. هذا ويتحدّر سالم من سلالة طويلة من الإرهابيين وسبق أن أُلقي القبض عليه من قبل السلطات الإسرائيلية و«السلطة الفلسطينية» و«حماس» على مر السنين.

وتفيد التقارير أن دعم إيران لـ«حركة الصابرين»  يتضمن تمويلاً للمشاريع الخيرية التي تهدف إلى كسب تأييد شعبي للتنظيم، اقتداءً بنموذج «حزب الله» بشكل شبه كامل. على سبيل المثال، أفادت التقارير الإعلامية الإسرائيلية من عام 2015 أن اللوازم المدرسية التي وزّعتها «حركة الصابرين» في غزة ضمّت صوراً لأمين عام «حزب الله» السيد حسن نصرالله. ومع ذلك لم يُكتب حتى الآن، أي تقرير معمّق عن هذا التنظيم.

العنف المستلهم من جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين»

ظهر تنظيم «حسم» في تموز/يوليو 2016 بعد تبنّيه المسؤولية عن الهجوم الذي أودى بحياة ضابط الشرطة المصري محمود عبد الحميد. ومنذ ذلك الحين، نفذ التنظيم عدة هجمات محلية أخرى استهدفت أفراد الحكومة وقوى الأمن بشكل خاص. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، تبنى المسؤولية عن عملية تفجير سفارة ميانمار في القاهرة في أيلول/سبتمبر 2017.

وبعد شهر على ظهور «حسم» ، أعلن «لواء الثورة» تأسيسه عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. وعلى غرار «حسم»، استهدفت هجماته بالدرجة الكبرى عناصر الأمن والحكومة في مصر، ومن بينها اغتيال ضابط كبير في الجيش هو الرائد عادل رجائي في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2016.

وقد يكون الاتصال المباشر بين «حسم» و«لواء الثورة» وبين جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» محل نقاش، ولكن كلتا الحركتين تعتبران منسجمتين ومستلهمتين من هذه الجماعة. وبحسب الخبير في الشؤون المصرية إريك تراجر، " منذ الإطاحة بزعيم «الإخوان المسلمين» محمد مرسي من الرئاسة عام 2013، انتشرت جماعات مسلحة متشددة غير بارزة في مصر. وعلى الرغم من أنه لا يمكن ربط هذه الجماعات بشكل حاسم بسلسلة القيادة التي تشتهر بصرامتها في صفوف جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين»، والتي قطعتها الحكومة خلال حملة القمع الشديدة التي أعقبت الإطاحة بمرسي، تتبنى هذه الجماعات إيديولوجيا «الإخوان المسلمين» وروايتهم بشكلٍ علني."

والأمر المعبّر هو أن أعمال «حسم» و«لواء الثورة» وخطاباتهما تتشابه إلى حدّ كبير مع أعمال وخطابات القيادي المتشدد الراحل في جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» محمد كمال، و "الصفحات التي تعرض هجماتهما على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي غالباً ما تستعرض شعارات «الإخوان المسلمين» والشخصيات التاريخية التابعة لهم". وفي إحدى الحالات، تبنّت كل من حركة «حسم» و«الإخوان المسلمين » الهجوم على قوات الأمن في تموز/يوليو 2017 كما لو كان خاص بكل منهما بصورة منفردة. ومن المرجح على نطاق أوسع أن تكون عناصر من «الإخوان المسلمين » قد انضمت إلى جماعات مسلحة حسنة التدريب على غرار «حسم» و«لواء الثورة»، في حين ظلّت تدّعي شن هجمات ضد المدنيين الأجانب والمصريين.

وعلى الرغم من أن الإدراجات الجديدة لوزارة الخارجية الأمريكية تأتي في إطار الجهود الرامية إلى حرمان تلك الكيانات من الموارد اللازمة لتخطيط عمليات إرهابية وتنفيذها، إلّا أن أياً منها لا يملك على الأرجح أي ممتلكات تخضع لسلطة الولايات المتحدة. وبالتالي فإن هذه الخطوات هي أكثر رمزية في طبيعتها، وتهدف إلى دعم الحلفاء الإقليميين الرئيسيين الذين يشاركون مخاوف واشنطن بشأن رعاية إيران للإرهاب والعنف المستلهم من «الإخوان المسلمين».

 

ماثيو ليفيت هو زميل "فرومر- ويكسلر" ومدير برنامج "ستاين" للاستخبارات ومكافحة الإرهاب في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

New Palestinian and Egyptian Designations Highlight Iran and the Muslim Brotherhood

Matthew Levitt

Also available in العربية

January 31, 2018


The State Department is upping the pressure on Tehran and the Brotherhood's violent progeny in Gaza and Egypt.

Speaking at the annual conference of the Institute for National Security Studies in Tel Aviv, State Department Counterterrorism Coordinator Nathan Sales announced on January 31 that Washington has placed new terrorist designations on Palestinian and Egyptian entities. Accused of destabilizing activities such as undermining the peace process, targeting high-level Egyptian officials, and smuggling weapons into the Gaza Strip, the designees include one individual, Hamas leader Ismail Haniyeh, and three groups: Harakat al-Sabirin (Gaza), Liwa al-Thawra (Egypt), and Harakat Sawad Misr, known by the acronym Hasm (Egypt). The designations touch on two issues of particular interest to the Trump administration: Iranian sponsorship of terrorism and Muslim Brotherhood-inspired violence.

IRANIAN PROXIES

In a press release describing the designations, Secretary of State Rex Tillerson emphasized that both Hamas and al-Sabirin are "sponsored and directed by Iran" and continue to attempt attacks at its behest. For example, the release notes that "Palestinian Authority security forces arrested five [al-Sabirin] operatives who were working under Iranian orders and received funding in Gaza to carry out their attacks."

Likewise, Haniyeh led efforts to improve ties with Iran during his tenure as Hamas leader in Gaza. Although relations with Tehran deteriorated when the group refused to back the Assad regime in Syria, they quickly recovered under Haniyeh's tenure, particularly after he sent a Hamas delegation to Iran last year. Earlier this month, IDF chief of staff Gadi Eisenkot stated that Iran's annual funding for Hamas and other Gaza militant groups has increased to $100 million. Along with Haniyeh's outreach to Iran, the State Department also highlighted his "close links" with the Hamas military wing and his reported involvement "in terrorist attacks against Israeli citizens." (Such charges are the reason why his designation was handled by the State Department rather than the Treasury Department, which primarily targets terrorist financiers and logisticians; that said, Haniyeh was also subject to Treasury financial restrictions for some time before today's announcement.)

For its part, al-Sabirin reportedly receives $10 million per year from Tehran. The group was founded by former Palestinian Islamic Jihad leader Hisham Salem, who has been the target of several assassination attempts, including by Palestinian Salafi-jihadist groups. Salem is a Shia Muslim, and al-Sabirin is openly pro-Iranian, organizing rallies on the anniversary of the 1979 Islamic Revolution and holding seminars on Shia ideology. The group's flag is a close variation of Hezbollah's, and it has taken pro-Iranian positions on issues unrelated to the Arab-Israeli conflict. Salem has a long terrorist pedigree, having been arrested by Israeli, PA, and Hamas authorities over the years.

Iran's support for al-Sabirin reportedly includes funding for philanthropic projects aimed at building grassroots support for the group, following the Hezbollah model in quite literal terms. For example, school supplies distributed by al-Sabirin in Gaza have featured pictures of Hezbollah leader Hassan Nasrallah, according to Israeli media reports from 2015. Yet little has been written on the group in any depth.

BROTHERHOOD-INSPIRED VIOLENCE

Hasm emerged in July 2016 after taking responsibility for the deadly attack on Egyptian police officer Mahmoud Abdul Hamid. Since then, it has carried out numerous other domestic attacks, targeting government and security personnel in particular. Most recently, it took responsibility for the September 2017 bombing of Myanmar's embassy in Cairo.

One month after Hasm emerged, Liwa al-Thawra announced its formation on social media. Like Hasm, its attacks have predominantly targeted Egyptian security and government personnel, including the assassination of high-ranking army officer Maj. Adel Ragaai in October 2016.

Hasm and Liwa al-Thawra's direct connection to the Muslim Brotherhood may be up for debate, but both are considered to be aligned with and inspired by the organization. According to Egypt expert Eric Trager, "Ever since MB leader Mohamed Morsi was ousted from the presidency in 2013, low-profile militant groups have proliferated in Egypt. Although these groups cannot be linked definitively to the MB's notoriously rigid chain of command, which the government decapitated during the severe crackdown that followed Morsi's overthrow, they openly espouse the MB's ideology and narrative."

Tellingly, Hasm and Liwa al-Thawra's actions and rhetoric strongly resemble those of late Brotherhood hardliner Mohamed Kamal, and "the social media pages that publicize their attacks often promote Brotherhood slogans and historical figures." In one instance, Hasm and the Brotherhood both claimed a July 2017 attack on security forces as their own. More broadly, MB members have likely joined well-trained militant groups such as Hasm and Liwa al-Thawra, all the while calling for attacks against foreign and Egyptian civilians.

Although the State Department's new designations are framed as an effort to deny these entities the resources to plan and carry out terrorist activities, none of them likely hold property subject to U.S. jurisdiction. The actions are therefore more symbolic in nature, aimed at shoring up key regional allies who share Washington's concerns about Iranian terror sponsorship and Brotherhood-inspired violence.

Matthew Levitt is the Fromer-Wexler Fellow and director of the Stein Program on Counterterrorism and Intelligence at The Washington Institute.