أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

تفجير القاهرة يكشف الميل الجهادي لـ «الإخوان المسلمين»

اريك تراجر

متاح أيضاً في English

2 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2017


أعلنت الجماعة المصرية المسلحة «حسم» المتحالفة مع «الإخوان المسلمين» مسؤوليتها عن التفجير الذي استهدف سفارة ميانمار في القاهرة في 30 أيلول/سبتمبر. وفي حين لم يُصَبْ أحد بأذى، يشير الاعتداء إلى أن الجماعات الموالية لحركة «الإخوان المسلمين» تنفذ تهديداتها السابقة بضرب المصالح الأجنبية وتحسّن قدراتها الإرهابية.

ومنذ الإطاحة بزعيم «الإخوان» محمد مرسي من الرئاسة في عام 2013، انتشرت جماعات مسلحة متشددةغير بارزة في مصر. وعلى الرغم من أنه لا يمكن ربط هذه الجماعات بشكل حاسم بسلسلة القيادة التي تشتهر بصرامتها في صفوف جماعة «الإخوان» والتي قطعتها الحكومة خلال حملة القمع الشديدة التي أعقبت الإطاحة بمرسي، إلّا أنّها تتبنى إيديولوجية «الإخوان المسلمين» وروايتهم بشكلٍ علني.

فعلى سبيل المثال، إن الصفحة الإعلامية المعروفة باسم "ق-Qaaf" التي تنشر باستمرار الهجمات التي تشنها مثل هذه الجماعات، غالباً ما تغدق الثناء على الشخصيات التاريخية في «الإخوان المسلمين». وفي تعليق نشرته عبر مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي في آب/أغسطس، استشهدت بشعار «الإخوان المسلمين» عندما توجهت إلى القراء فكتبت "هل نسيتم أن الجهاد سبيلنا، والموت في سبيل الله أسمى أمانينا؟". فضلاً عن ذلك، عندما قتلَتْ قوات الأمن مسلحاً في تموز/يوليو، ادعت «حسم» والحزب السياسي لجماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» أنه من أعضائها. كما رثت «حسم» المرشد العام السابق لجماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» محمد مهدي عاكف كـ "مجاهد" عندما توفي في أيلول/سبتمبر بعد أن أمضى أربع سنوات في السجن.

ومن جهتها، كانت مختلف شخصيات ووسائل إعلام «الإخوان المسلمين» تشجع على شنّ هجمات ضد مدنيين أجانب ومصريين لسنوات. وفي كانون الثاني/يناير 2015، بثت شبكة تلفزيونية موالية لـ «الجماعة» ومقرها اسطنبول بياناً يدعو الرعايا الأجانب والشركات الأجنبية والدبلوماسيين والسياح إلى مغادرة مصر أو مواجهة "العقاب الثوري". وبعد فترة وجيزة، أصدرت الهيئة الشرعية لـ «الإخوان المسلمين» بياناً بعنوان "فقه المقاومة الشعبية للانقلاب"، الذي أيّد استخدام العنف ضد المسيحيين ومجموعة واسعة من "المتعاونين" مع الحكومة.

ومن ناحية أخرى، ازدادت قدرات الجماعات المسلحة المتشددة التابعة لـ «الإخوان المسلمين» على مر الزمن. وكما ذكر الباحث مختار عوض في تقرير "مسح الأسلحة الخفيفة" في تموز/يوليو 2017، فإن الموجة الأولى من المسلحين التي برزت بعد الإطاحة بمرسي لم تكن مدربة وكانت مسلحة بقنابل مولوتوف ومسدسات صغيرة. غير أنه في منتصف 2016، أظهر صعود «حسم» و«لواء الثورة» أن هذه الجماعات أصبحت مدربة بشكل جيد وباتت تملك أنظمة فعالة للقيادة والتحكم ووسائل اتصال محترفة. وفي حين استهدفت عموماً كبار المسؤولين الأمنيين المصريين ومراكز الشرطة، استجابت هذه الجماعات أيضاً إلى دعوات متزايدة داخل جماعة «الإخوان» لاستهداف المدنيين: فقد حاولت «حسم» اغتيال مفتي الجمهورية السابق علي جمعة في العام الماضي، كما نشر «لواء الثورة» لائحة بالشخصيات المستهدفة شملت رجال أعمال بارزين وصحفياً وقاضياً ومحامياً قبطياً.

وفي بيان صدر بعد الاعتداء الذي وقع يوم السبت، وصفت «حسم» الهجوم بأنه "رسالة تحذيرية لسفارة السفاحين قتلة النساء والأطفال في أراكان"، في إشارة إلى التطهير العرقي لمسلمي الروهينغا في ميانمار. كما نشرت الجماعة صوراً على موقع "تويتر" أظهرت أنها مشَّطت منطقة السفارة قبل التفجير، لتشير إلى أنها كانت قادرة على شنّ اعتداء أكثر دماراً بكثير. وفي السياق نفسه، نشرت خارطة تُظهر عدداً كبيراً من المرافق الدبلوماسية الأخرى المجاورة في حي الزمالك الراقي في القاهرة، بما فيها سفارات الصين والهند واليونان والفاتيكان. وبذلك، تكون الجماعة قد أثبتت قدرتها على اختراق حي من المفترض أن يكون محمياً بشكل جيد، وأشارت إلى أن دبلوماسيي دول أخرى عرضة للخطر تماماً كسفارة ميانمار.

ومما لا يبشر بالخير، تشير القدرات المتنامية للجماعات المسلحة المتشددة التابعة لـ «الإخوان المسلمين» ومجموعة الأهداف الموسعة التي وضعتها إلى أن الفجوة بينها وبين الإرهابيين السلفيين-الجهاديين تتقلص حتماً. فبالفعل، يبدو أن تنظيم «القاعدة» عازم على استمالة هذه الجماعات المصرية: فقد روّجت وسائل الإعلام الموالية للتنظيم بيانات «حسم» منذ أواخر 2016، وأصدرت المنظمة الدولية مؤخراً بياناً حداداً على عاكف، في محاولة واضحة لجذب المزيد من عناصر «الإخوان». وإذا نجحت مثل هذه المبادرات، قد تسعى حركة «حسم» وجماعات مماثلة إلى الاستفادة من خبرة تنظيم «القاعدة» وقد تصبح حتى أكثر تهديداً.

وحتى الآن، تركّزت مخاوف واشنطن حيال مكافحة الإرهاب في مصر على فروع تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، لا سيما في شبه جزيرة سيناء. ومع ذلك، فإن اعتداء حركة «حسم» على السفارة أثبت أن الجماعات الموالية لـ «الإخوان المسلمين» أصبحت تشكّل تهديداً أكثر خطورة، سواء على صعيد قدراتها أو مخططاتها. وتؤدي الخطابات والعمليات التي قامت بها هذه الجماعات مؤخراً إلى تفاقم التحديات الأمنية التي تواجهها مصر في وادي النيل، حيث يتزايد نشاط فروع تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». ولذلك ينبغي على إدارة ترامب الرد على ذلك من خلال تصنيف جماعتي «حسم» و«لواء الثورة» رسمياً ضمن لائحة "المنظمات الإرهابية الأجنبية"، مما يتيح للحكومة الأمريكية تخصيص المزيد من الموارد الاستخبارية لاستهدافهما. 

 

إريك تراجر هو زميل "استير ك. واغنر" في معهد واشنطن، ومؤلف الكتاب "الخريف العربي: كيف ربح «الإخوان المسلمون» مصر وخسروها في 891 يوماً".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Cairo Bombing Exposes the Muslim Brotherhood's Jihadist Tilt

Eric Trager

Also available in العربية

October 2, 2017


This weekend's embassy attack demonstrates that Brotherhood-aligned militants are becoming a more formidable threat, so Washington should designate them accordingly.

Hasm, an Egyptian militant group aligned with the Muslim Brotherhood (MB), has claimed responsibility for the September 30 bombing at the embassy of Myanmar in Cairo. While no one was injured, the attack indicates that MB-aligned groups are acting on their past threats to strike foreign interests and improving their terrorist capabilities.

Ever since MB leader Mohamed Morsi was ousted from the presidency in 2013, low-profile militant groups have proliferated in Egypt. Although these groups cannot be linked definitively to the MB's notoriously rigid chain of command, which the government decapitated during the severe crackdown that followed Morsi's overthrow, they openly espouse the MB's ideology and narrative.

For example, Qaaf, the media outlet that frequently publicizes attacks by such groups, often pays tribute to MB historical figures. In an August social media post, it referenced the MB's motto when it implored readers, "Have you forgotten that jihad is our way, and death for Allah's sake is our highest aspiration?" Moreover, when security forces killed a militant in July, Hasm and the MB's political party both claimed him as one of their own. Hasm similarly mourned former MB General Guide Muhammad Mahdi Akef as a "mujahid" (holy warrior) when he died in September after four years in prison.

For their part, various MB figures and media outlets have been encouraging attacks against foreign and Egyptian civilians for years. In January 2015, an Istanbul-based, MB-aligned television network aired a communique ordering foreign nationals, foreign companies, diplomats, and tourists to leave Egypt or face "revolutionary retribution." Shortly thereafter, an MB organ issued a report titled "The Jurisprudence of Popular Resistance to the Coup," which endorsed violence against Christians and a wide range of government "collaborators."

Meanwhile, MB-aligned militant groups have become more capable over time. As scholar Mokhtar Awad noted in a July 2017 Small Arms Survey report, the first wave of militants to emerge after Morsi's ouster had no training and were armed with Molotov cocktails and small handguns. By mid-2016, however, the rise of Hasm and Liwa al-Thawra signaled a shift toward well-trained groups with effective command-and-control systems and professionalized communications. And while they have largely targeted high-ranking Egyptian security officials and police installations, these groups have also heeded increasing calls within the MB to attack civilians: Hasm attempted to assassinate former Grand Mufti Ali Gomaa last year, and Liwa al-Thawra has published a hit list that includes a prominent businessman, a journalist, a judge, and a Coptic lawyer.

In a statement issued after Saturday's attack, Hasm called it "a warning message to the embassy of the slaughterers who kill women and children in Arakan," referring to the ethnic cleansing of Rohingya Muslims in Myanmar. The group also released photographs on Twitter showing that it had cased the embassy prior to the bombing, implying that it was capable of executing a much more destructive attack. In the same vein, it released a map highlighting the many other nearby diplomatic facilities in Cairo's upscale Zamalek neighborhood, including the embassies of China, India, Greece, and the Vatican. Doing so touted the group's ability to penetrate a supposedly well-protected neighborhood and signaled that other countries' diplomats are as vulnerable as Myanmar's.

Ominously, the increased capabilities and expanded target sets of MB-aligned militant groups suggest that the gap between them and Salafi-jihadist terrorists is narrowing. Indeed, al-Qaeda seems intent on coopting these Egyptian groups: al-Qaeda-aligned media outlets have promoted Hasm statements since late 2016, and the international organization recently issued a statement mourning Akef in an apparent bid to win over more MB members. If such overtures succeed, Hasm and similar groups might seek al-Qaeda's expertise and become even more threatening.

Until now, Washington's counterterrorism concerns in Egypt have centered on Islamic State affiliates, particularly in the Sinai Peninsula. Yet Hasm's embassy attack demonstrates that MB-aligned groups are becoming a more formidable threat, in both ability and intent. The recent rhetoric and operations of such groups are compounding Egypt's security challenges in the Nile Valley, where Islamic State affiliates have been increasingly active. The Trump administration should therefore respond by formally designating Hasm and Liwa al-Thawra as Foreign Terrorist Organizations, enabling the U.S. government to dedicate more intelligence resources to targeting them.

Eric Trager is the Esther K. Wagner Fellow at The Washington Institute and author of Arab Fall: How the Muslim Brotherhood Won and Lost Egypt in 891 Days.