أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2565

"شريط آمن" تركي في سوريا: مخاوف محلية وقيود خارجية

سونر چاغاپتاي و جيم يولبولان

متاح أيضاً في English

19 شباط/فبراير 2016


هذا المرصد السياسي هو جزء من سلسلة معهد واشنطن عن المناطق الآمنة في سوريا.

في 17 شباط/فبراير، أعلن نائب رئيس الوزراء التركي يالتشين أكدوغان أن أنقرة تريد إنشاء "شريط آمن" داخل سوريا يبلغ عرضه 10 كيلومترات، تسعى من خلاله إلى تحقيق عدة أهداف: منع «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» الكردي السوري، الذي تعارضه تركيا سياسياً، من زيادة تقدمه في الشمال السوري، والسماح بوصول الإغاثة الإنسانية، وإيواء تدفقات اللاجئين المستقبلية ضمن الأراضي السورية، الأمر الذي يساهم في تخفيف العبء الناتج عن مشكلة اللاجئين الهائلة في تركيا وأوروبا، بالإضافة إلى تأمين نقطة انطلاق للثوار الذين تدعمهم أنقرة والذين رزحوا مؤخراً تحت وطأة الضربات الجوية الروسية وتقدم نظام الأسد وحلفائه ميدانياً.

وحتى الآن، أعربت ألمانيا عن دعمها لإنشاء منطقة حظر جوي في سوريا بالقرب من الحدود التركية، ولكن ما زال على أنقرة إقناع الولايات المتحدة وحلفائها الآخرين في منظمة "حلف شمال الأطلسي" ("الناتو") بذلك. وإذا تمكنت تركيا من إزالة العراقيل الدولية المختلفة التي تواجهها (انظر المرصد السياسي 2564، "المبررات القانونية لإقامة منطقة آمنة في سوريا")، فالسؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هو ما هي المخاوف والقيود المحلية الأساسية التي توجهها تركيا إزاء إقامة مثل هذا "الشريط"؟

التفويض البرلماني

تستوجب المنطقة الآمنة التركية حماية من قوات الجيش التركي فضلاً عن الدول الحليفة وربما الدول العربية التي تتبنى الموقف نفسه (على سبيل المثال، المملكة العربية السعودية وقطر). وبموجب المادة 92 من الدستور التركي، يجب أن يحظى أي نشر لـ «القوات المسلحة التركية» خارج حدود البلاد بموافقة البرلمان. ويكفي أن توافق أغلبية بسيطة من أعضاء البرلمان (276 صوتاً) على الاقتراح لكي يتم تفويضه. وحالياً، يشغل «حزب العدالة والتنمية» الحاكم 317 مقعداً في البرلمان الذي يضم 550 عضواً، وبالتالي فهو لا يحتاج إلى دعم أحزاب المعارضة للحصول على هذا التفويض.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، سبق أن حصلت حكومة «حزب العدالة والتنمية» على تفويض لنشر جنود أتراك في سوريا والعراق. ووفقاً لهذا التفويض الذي تم تمريره في 3 أيلول/سبتمبر 2015 وسيبقى سارياً حتى تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2016، "ما زالت سياسات النظام السوري القائمة على العنف ودعم التنظيمات الإرهابية وتأجيج الخلافات العرقية والمذهبية تشكل مخاطر وتهديدات للإنسانية والأمن والاستقرار الإقليمي للسنة الخامسة من الحرب الأهلية". ويشير التفويض أيضاً إلى أهمية "تنفيذ أنشطة وعمليات في إطار التحالف الدولي ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش») والتنظيمات المماثلة". فضلاً عن ذلك، يسلط هذا التفويض الضوء على التهديد الذي يمثله «حزب العمال الكردستاني» على النحو التالي: "تستمر الوحدات الإرهابية المسلحة التابعة لـ «حزب العمال الكردستاني» باحتلال أراضٍ في شمال العراق. كما أن الزيادة في العناصر الإرهابية الأخرى والتهديد الذي تطرحه واضحاً أيضاً في العراق وسوريا".

وينتهي التفويض بالإعلان التالي: "في ظل هذه الظروف، وبهدف اتخاذ الاحتياطات الضرورية لحماية الأمن القومي التركي من أي تهديدات إرهابية وأمنية في إطار القانون الدولي، والقضاء على أي هجمات حالية أو مستقبلية من قبل تنظيمات إرهابية في سوريا والعراق، والاستمرار في حماية أمننا القومي من أي مخاطر محتملة على غرار الهجرة الجماعية، وحماية مصالح تركيا بشكل فعال في ظل هذه التطورات، والمساهمة في تنفيذ السياسات بطريقة سريعة وديناميكية تحول دون وضع تركيا في موقف صعب وفقاً للتطورات الإقليمية، تم تفويض «القوات المسلحة التركية»، عندما تدعو الحاجة لذلك، للقيام بعمليات عابرة للحدود ونشر عناصرها العسكرية في دول أجنبية، بالإضافة إلى الترحيب بقوات مسلحة أجنبية في صفوفها إذا كانت تعمل للغاية ذاتها، على أن تتخذ الحكومة التركية القرارات المناسبة بشأن حدود هذه العمليات ونطاقها وتوقيتها وحجمها".

لقد حصل «حزب العدالة والتنمية» للمرة الأولى على موافقة البرلمان لإرسال جنود إلى العراق عام 2007، بغية التصدي لتهديد «حزب العمال الكردستاني». وينص الدستور التركي على وجوب تجديد مثل هذه التفويضات سنوياً. وفي عام 2012، أُضيفت سوريا إلى هذا التفويض. وخلال التصويت على التجديد في أيلول/سبتمبر الماضي، رفض حزب واحد فقط الاقتراح، وهو «حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي» (أو «حزب ديمقراطية الشعوب»] القومي الكردي، الذي يشغل 59 مقعداً. وقد صوت حزبا المعارضة الآخران لصالح الاقتراح، وهما «حزب الشعب الجمهوري» (134 مقعداً) و «حزب الحركة القومية» (أو «حزب العمل القومي») (40 مقعداً). 

النقاش الداخلي

يقود «حزب العدالة والتنمية» الحملة المطالبة بإنشاء "شريط آمن". فرئيس الوزراء التركي أحمد داوود أوغلو يأمل في أن تضمن خطة حكومته "قدرة اللاجئين على البقاء في وطنهم والعيش في ربوعه". كما يعتقد داوود أوغلو أن هذه الخطة تحمي المدنيين في المنطقة من خلال منع بعض الجماعات التي "يمكن أن تشن هجمات إرهابية" من الدخول إليها.

وقد قدّم «حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي» المناصر للأكراد أشد الاعتراضات المحلية والبرلمانية على عمليات نشر الجنود عبر الحدود. فقد صوت ضد التفويض الأخير لأنه يعتقد أن «حزب العدالة والتنمية» سيستخدمه لنشر جنود ضد مواقع خاضعة لسيطرة «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» الكردي السوري وجناحه العسكري المعروف بـ «وحدات حماية الشعب» في سوريا (وكلاهما متصل بـ «حزب العمال الكردستاني»)، وكذلك ضد أهداف تابعة لـ «حزب العمال الكردستاني» في العراق. وخلال جلسة التصويت على التجديد التي عُقدت في أيلول/سبتمبر، قال العضو في «حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي» مدحت سانجار لزملائه المشرعين: "إذا سمحتم بنشر الجنود ضد الأكراد السوريين، فلن تتمكنوا من إقناع الأكراد في البلاد بأننا جميعاً إخوة نستطيع العيش سويّة". واعتبر عضو آخر في الحزب، حسيب كابلان، أن المنطقة الآمنة سوف "تضعف مقاومة الأكراد في شمال سوريا". وبالرغم من أن «حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي» يفتقر للثقل البرلماني الضروري للتأثير في جلسة التصويت المقبلة على التجديد المقرر لها في وقت لاحق من هذا العام، إلا أن بإمكانه أن يصعّب الأمور على «حزب العدالة والتنمية» من خلال تنظيم تظاهرات معارضة للتفويض في مدن ذات أغلبية كردية.

وفي غضون ذلك، صوّت حزب المعارضة الأساسي، «حزب الشعب الجمهوري» اليساري العلماني، مؤيداً للتفويض في  العام الماضي، بعد أن كان قد رفضه عام 2014. ويفيد مسؤولو الحزب أنهم صوتوا ضد التفويض عام 2014 كونه قد حدد مباشرةً [اتخاذ] إجراءات ضد نظام الأسد، فيما ركز التفويض عام 2015 على التهديدات التي يمثلها «حزب العمال الكردستاني» و تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في سوريا والعراق. وبالإضافة إلى موافقته على نشر القوات العسكرية، يؤيد «حزب الشعب الجمهوري» أيضاً إنشاء منطقة آمنة، ولكن فقط في ظل ظروف معينة، أهمها "سماح النظام السوري بذلك" (وهو شرط يجعل الفكرة موضع نقاش) وتأييد قوى التحالف الدولي للخطوة.

وقد تكون الكتلة الأصغر في البرلمان، وهي «حزب الحركة القومية» التركي ذو الفكر القومي المتطرف، مناصر أقوى لعمليات الانتشار عبر الحدود وإنشاء "شريط آمن" من «حزب العدالة والتنمية» نفسه. ووفقاً لرئيس الحزب دولت بهتشلي أن "خطة «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» التي تقضي بإنشاء ممر كردي على طول الحدود تشكل هجوماً مباشراً على وحدة الأراضي التركية والوجود القومي التركي"، وبالتالي فإن أنقرة "بحاجة ماسة إلى بناء منطقة آمنة على طول حدود تركيا الجنوبية من أجل حماية أمنها القومي". وغنياً عن القول إن الكتلة القومية ستدعم الحكومة بشكل مطلق حول القيام بعمليات في سوريا.

أنقرة بحاجة إلى انضمام واشنطن إلى الركب

نفت الحكومة التركية مؤخراً ادعاءات بأنها تستعد للتوغل عسكرياً داخل سوريا بالتنسيق مع الممكلة العربية السعودية وقطر ودول عربية أخرى. ويعي «حزب العدالة والتنمية» أن أي عملية نشر واسعة للجنود داخل سوريا ستتعرض للاستهداف الروسي المباشر. فموسكو لا تعارض سياسة أنقرة القائمة على دعم الثوار المناهضين للأسد فحسب، بل تريد أيضاً أن تثأر من تركيا على خلفية إسقاطها طائرة روسية خرقت أجواءها في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر الماضي. ويقيناً، يتمتع «حزب العدالة والتنمية» بالدعم البرلماني الضروري لنشر القوات التركية، كما يمتلك الجيش التركي القدرة الاحترافية اللازمة للقيام بالأعمال الصعبة لإنشاء "شريط آمن" («القوات المسلحة التركية» هي ثاني أكبر قوة عسكرية في منظمة "حلف شمال الأطلسي"). إلا أن أنقرة تحتاج مع ذلك إلى الدعم المخابراتي والجوي من الولايات المتحدة ومنظمة "حلف شمال الأطلسي" وإلى دعم واشنطن الدبلوماسي في الأمم المتحدة لتنفيذ هذه العملية بنجاح وردع الانتقام الروسي.

 

سونر چاغاپتاي هو زميل "باير فاميلي" ومدير برنامج الأبحاث التركية في معهد واشنطن. جيم يولبولان هو مساعد باحث في زمالة "ايفون سيلفرمان" في المعهد.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2565

A Turkish 'Secure Strip' in Syria: Domestic Concerns and Foreign Limitations

Soner Cagaptay and Cem Yolbulan

Also available in العربية

February 19, 2016


Although Ankara has the necessary parliamentary authorization and professional military capacity to establish a safe zone, it would still need Western intelligence help, air support, and diplomatic backing to cover the operation and deter Russian retaliation.

This PolicyWatch is part of a TWI series on Syrian safe zones.

On February 17, Turkish deputy prime minister Yalcin Akdogan stated that Ankara wants to create a ten-kilometer-wide "secure strip" inside Syria. The proposed strip would serve several goals: to prevent further advances in the north by the Syrian Kurdish Democratic Union Party (PYD), which Turkey opposes politically; to allow for humanitarian relief and the hosting of future refugee flows on Syrian territory, which would help alleviate Turkey and Europe's massive refugee problem; and to provide a staging ground for Ankara-backed rebels currently buckling under Russian airstrikes and ground advances by the Assad regime and its allies.

Thus far, Germany has voiced support for a Syrian no-fly zone near the Turkish border, but Ankara has yet to convince the United States and other NATO allies on the matter. Assuming it can clear the various international hurdles (see PolicyWatch 2564, "Legal Justifications for a Safe Zone in Syria"), what are Turkey's main domestic concerns and limitations regarding the creation of such a strip?

PARLIAMENTARY AUTHORIZATION

A Turkish safe zone would require protection by forces from the Turkish military as well as allied countries and potentially like-minded Arab states (e.g., Saudi Arabia and Qatar). According to Article 92 of the Turkish constitution, the parliament must approve any deployment of the Turkish Armed Forces outside the country's borders. A simple legislative majority (276 votes) is needed for the authorization to pass. Currently, the ruling Justice and Development Party (AKP) holds 317 seats in the 550-member parliament, so it does not need opposition party support to win such authorization.

Moreover, the AKP government already has an authorization in hand for deploying troops to Syria and Iraq. Passed on September 3, 2015, and effective until October 2016, this authorization states that "the Syrian regime's policies of violence, support to terrorist groups, and provocation of ethnic and sectarian differences continue to be risks and threats to humanity, security, and regional stability for the fifth year of the civil war." It also notes the importance of "carrying out activities and operations as part of the international coalition against [the Islamic State] and similar groups." In addition, it highlights the Kurdistan Workers Party (PKK) threat: "Armed PKK terrorist units continue to occupy territory in northern Iraq. A rise in other terror elements and the threat they put forward is also evident in Iraq and Syria."

The authorization concludes with the following declaration: "In light of these circumstances, to take necessary precautions to protect Turkey's national security against any terrorism and security threats within international law, to eliminate any attacks now or in the future from terrorist groups in Syria and Iraq, to continue our national security against potential risks such as mass migration, to protect Turkey's interests effectively during these developments, and to help implement policies in a fast and dynamic manner that will prevent Turkey from being put in a difficult position depending on regional developments, the Turkish Armed Forces, if need be, have been authorized to carry out cross-border operations, deploy military personnel to foreign countries, and also welcome foreign armed forces if they are serving the same purpose, with their boundaries, extent, timing, and size to be decided by the government."

The AKP first received parliamentary approval to send troops to Iraq in 2007, to counter the PKK threat. The constitution stipulates that such authorizations be renewed annually. In 2012, Syria was added to the authorization. During last September's renewal vote, only one party rejected the motion: the Kurdish nationalist Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP), which holds 59 seats. The two other opposition factions voted in favor of it: the Republican People's Party (CHP, with 134 seats) and the Nationalist Action Party (MHP, with 40 seats).

DOMESTIC DEBATE

The AKP has been leading the charge in advocating a "secure strip." Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoglu hopes that his government's plan will ensure that "refugees are able to stay and live in their own country." He also believes it will protect civilians in the area by preventing certain groups that "can carry out terror attacks" from entering the zone.

The pro-Kurdish HDP has presented the strongest domestic and parliamentary objections to cross-border deployments. It voted against the most recent authorization because it believes the AKP will use such license to deploy troops against positions held by the PYD and its military wing, the People's Defense Units (YPG), in Syria (both connected to the PKK), as well as against PKK targets in Iraq. During the September renewal vote, party member Mithat Sancar told fellow legislators, "If you authorize deployment against the Syrian Kurds, you can't convince the Kurds at home that we are all brothers who can live together." And party member Hasip Kaplan argued that a safe zone would "weaken the resistance put up by Kurds in northern Syria." Although the HDP lacks the parliamentary strength to sway the next renewal vote later this year, it can make things difficult for the AKP by holding anti-authorization demonstrations in Kurdish-majority towns.

Meanwhile, the main opposition party, the secular-leftist CHP, voted for the authorization last year after rejecting it in 2014. According to party officials, they voted against the 2014 authorization because it directly mentioned action against the Assad regime, while the 2015 authorization focused on PKK and Islamic State threats in Syria and Iraq. Besides approving military deployment, the CHP also supports the creation of a safe zone, but only under certain conditions -- namely, if "the Syrian regime permits it" (a restriction that almost renders the idea moot), and if international coalition powers support it.

The smallest bloc in parliament, the Turkish ultranationalist MHP, may be an even stronger advocate of cross-border deployments and a "secure strip" than the AKP itself. According to party leader Devlet Bahceli, "The PYD's plan to have a Kurdish corridor along the border [is] a direct attack against Turkey's territorial unity and national existence," so Ankara has an "urgent need to build a safe zone in Turkey's southern borders to protect its national security." Needless to say, the government will find unequivocal support for operations in Syria from the nationalist bloc.

ANKARA NEEDS WASHINGTON ON BOARD

The Turkish government recently rejected claims that it was readying a military incursion into Syria in coordination with Saudi Arabia, Qatar, and other Arab states. The AKP is aware that any significant deployment inside Syria would be immediately targeted by Russia. Moscow not only opposes Ankara's policy of backing anti-Assad rebels, it also wants to retaliate for Turkey's November shootdown of a Russian plane that violated its airspace. To be sure, the AKP has the necessary parliamentary backing to deploy troops, and its military has the professional capacity to do the heavy lifting in establishing a "secure strip" (the Turkish Armed Forces are NATO's second largest contingent). Yet Ankara would still need U.S. and NATO intelligence and air support to effectively carry out such an operation and deter Russian retaliation, as well as Washington's diplomatic backing at the United Nations.

Soner Cagaptay is the Beyer Family Fellow and director of the Turkish Research Program at The Washington Institute. Cem Yolbulan is a Yvonne Silverman Research Assistant at the Institute.