أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2564

المبررات القانونية لإقامة منطقة آمنة في سوريا

جيمس جيفري

متاح أيضاً في English

19 شباط/فبراير 2016


ينبغي على أي مناقشة بشأن فرض منطقة حظر جوي أو منطقة آمنة أو منطقة عازلة مماثلة داخل سوريا، أن تقوم بتحليل المبررات القانونية الممكنة لمثل هذا الإجراء. ويعني ذلك التطرق لمختلف القوانين المعمول بها والصلاحيات التنفيذية داخل الحكومة الأمريكية، وآليات الأمم المتحدة ذات الصلة، والمسألة الأوسع نطاقاً المتعلقة بالدعم الدبلوماسي الدولي.

الاعتبارات القانونية المحلية

كان "التفويض باستخدام القوة العسكرية" الذي صدر بتاريخ 18 أيلول/ سبتمبر 2001 المحرك القانوني الأساسي الذي مكّن الولايات المتحدة من شنّ عمليات ضدّ تنظيم «القاعدة» [في ذلك الحين]، وتنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش») مؤخراً. وقد طمأن وزير الدفاع الأمريكي آش كارتر المشرعين خلال شهادته أمام "لجنة الخدمات المسلحة" في مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي بتاريخ 9 كانون الأول/ ديسمبر 2015 إلى أنّ هذا "التفويض" أساس قانوني كافٍ لجميع العمليات ضدّ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، بما في ذلك في سوريا. وبالتالي، قد يبدو أنّ مسألة إقامة منطقة آمنة أو منطقة حظر جوي بهدف عرقلة خطوط الاتصال الخاصة بـ تنظيم «داعش» تقع ضمن السلطة القانونية المحلية القائمة لإدارة أوباما والتي تتيح لها شنّ عمليات ضد التنظيم.

وتستطيع الإدارة الأمريكية القول إنّ أنشطتها تدعم قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 2254، الذي يدعو بشكل خاص إلى المساعدة الإنسانية داخل سوريا، وذلك لتبرير الأهداف الأدنى الهامة للمنطقة، ألا وهي حماية المدنيين ووقف تدفق اللاجئين السوريين المزعزع للاستقرار إلى تركيا وأوروبا. فللولايات المتحدة سوابق كثيرة فيما يتعلق باستخدام أفراد عسكريين لمساعدة المحتاجين في الكوارث الطبيعية أو الحروب (على سبيل المثال، الإنزالات الجوية في البوسنة و"عملية توفير الراحة" في شمال العراق).

ولكن الهدف الضمني القاضي باستخدام منطقة آمنة لممارسة الضغط على نظام الأسد وحلفائه الإيرانيين والروس يشكّل مشكلة أكبر. وقد يكون فشل تحالف الأسد في تنفيذ قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 2254 واتفاق ميونيخ من 12 شباط/ فبراير أحد المبررات السياسية لهذا الهدف - وكانت روسيا قد وقّعت على الاتفاق الأخير، كما أنّ كلاً من موسكو وطهران طرف في القرار رقم 2254. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، وثّقت العديد من التقارير الإعلامية عملية سرية بإدارة "وكالة الاستخبارات المركزية" لدعم المعارضة المسلحة ضدّ نظام الأسد. وبموجب سياسات العمل السري للولايات المتحدة، ينبغي أن توافق لجان الكونغرس المعنية على مثل هذه الأنشطة. ولا يرقى ذلك إلى مصاف موافقة قانونية من الكونغرس، بل يشكل دليلاً داعماً (وإن كان غير مباشر نظراً لتصنيف لجنة "الاستنتاجات" بشأن هذه المسائل) لفكرة أنّ الأجهزة المختصة في الكونغرس قد وافقت عموماً على جهود الإدارة الأمريكية لمساعدة المعارضة.

وينبغي أن تكون السلطة الدستورية للرئيس الأمريكي كقائد أعلى للقوات المسلحة والمادة 51 من الفصل السابع من ميثاق الأمم المتحدة (الذي أنشأ الحق الأصيل في الدفاع عن النفس) أسباب كافية لتبرير الإجراءات الدفاعية لحماية المنطقة الآمنة والعناصر المتمركزة فيها. ولكن من المؤكد أنّ هناك حدود لذلك، فمن غير المرجح أن يشكّل "التفويض باستخدام القوة العسكرية" الصادر في عام 2001 وسيلةً تسمح بشن هجوم وقائي على أنظمة الطائرات والدفاع الجوي الروسية أو السورية بناءً على مبررات حماية منطقة تهدف إلى التخفيف من قدرة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية».

وأخيراً، سيكون من الحكمة بمكان أن تتّخذ الإدارة الأمريكية خطوات متسقة مع "قانون سلطات الحرب" - أي إخطار الكونغرس ودفعه لأن يأذن بعملية ضمن المدة المحددة بما بين ستين وتسعين يوماً. ومن شأن هذه المقاربة أن تشير أيضاً إلى جدية الولايات المتحدة أمام حلفائها وأعدائها على حد سواء.

الاعتبارات القانونية الدولية

كجزء من تقرير "معهد دراسات الحرب" لشهر تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر بعنوان "خيارات الولايات المتحدة فيما يتعلق بمنطقة حظر الطيران في سوريا" نشر "المعهد" التحليل الأخير، وربما الأفضل، للجوانب القانونية الدولية لفرض منطقة حظر جوي. ولو افترضنا بصورة معقولة أنه لن يكون ثمة أي تفويض من قبل مجلس الأمن الدولي لإقامة منطقة مماثلة، تتضح ثلاثة مبررات قانونية محتملة:

·         قرارات مجلس الأمن بشأن تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»: هنا يستشهد "معهد دراسات الحرب" بقرار مجلس الأمن رقم 2170، والذي يخوّل الدول بالتحرك ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، والذي على أساسه قامت الولايات المتحدة وغيرها من دول التحالف بشنّ عمليات عسكرية في سوريا دون الحصول على إذن من دمشق. ومع ذلك، يمكن إيجاد حجة قانونية أفضل في قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 2249 - الذي تمّ اعتماده بعد سلسلة من الحوادث الإرهابية المرتبطة بـ تنظيم «داعش» والتي بلغت أوجها مع هجمات باريس - الذي حثّ الدول الأعضاء على "اتخاذ جميع التدابير اللازمة، وفقاً للقانون الدولي، ولا سيما ميثاق الأمم المتحدة، والقوانين الدولية الخاصة بحقوق الإنسان، واللاجئين، والشؤون الإنسانية، في الأراضي الواقعة تحت سيطرة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، في سوريا (مع التشديد عليها) والعراق، وكذلك مضاعفة جهودها وتنسيقها لمنع وقمع أي أعمال إرهابية يقوم بها تنظيم «داعش» على وجه التحديد." وقد حثّ القرار نفسه الدول الأعضاء أيضاً "على تكثيف جهودها لوقف تدفق المقاتلين الإرهابيين الأجانب إلى العراق وسوريا"؛ وبالطبع سيكون ذلك أحد الأهداف المحددة لإقامة منطقة حظر جوي.

·          قرارات مجلس الأمن بشأن سوريا. هنا يستشهد "معهد دراسات الحرب" بقرار مجلس الأمن رقم 2118، ولكنّ القرار الأخير رقم 2254 هو أكثر انطباقاً لأنه يضغط لوقف إطلاق النار ويدعو إلى تقديم المساعدة الإنسانية للسكان السوريين (المادة 12). وقد شكّلت قرارات مماثلة بشأن العراق في عهد صدام حسين غطاءً ضمنياً لإقامة مناطق حظر جوي فوق البلاد - ولم تنشئ القرارات نفسها المناطق موضع البحث، ولكنّ شكواها العامة إزاء وجوه القلق في المجال الإنساني والتهديدات للسلام النابعة من العراق ما بعد عام 1991 عملت على تبرير العمليات التي شنتها الولايات المتحدة وأطراف أخرى دون مواجهة اعتراضات قانونية كبيرة.

·         "مسؤولية الحماية". هذا المبدأ ليس قائماً في القانون الدولي، ولكن تمّ استخدامه لتبرير القيام بعمليات دون قرارات صادرة عن مجلس الأمن، ولا سيما في كوسوفو في عام 1999. ومرة ​​أخرى، يخوّل قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 2249 اتخاذ "جميع التدابير الضرورية" ضدّ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، من بين أمور أخرى، وفقاً «للقانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان، واللاجئين، والشؤون الإنسانية» - وهذا اعتراف صريح بمبرّر "مسؤولية الحماية."

وقد يكون ثمة مبرران قانونيان آخران ذويْ أهمية وغير مذكوريْن في تقرير "معهد دراسات الحرب". أولاً، في حال تجاهل نظام الأسد وشركاؤه وقف الأعمال العدائية الذي دعا إليه اتفاق ميونيخ - الذي تمّ التفاوض عليه تحت مظلة قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 2254 وغيره من القرارات، وهذا أمر مرجّح جداً - فإن مثل هذا "الانتهاك" قد يبرّر حجة "القوة القاهرة". فعلى سبيل المثال، تستطيع واشنطن أن تؤكد أنّ الأطراف غير راغبة في الالتزام باتباع أي تفاهمات واتفاقات دولية بشأن قضية الحرب والسلم، وبالتالي السماح للدول الأخرى باتخاذ إجراءات تصبّ في مصلحتها. وعلى وجه الخصوص، تَستخدم المادة 13 من القرار رقم 2254 أقوى عبارات ممكنة "للمطالبة" بوضع حدّ للهجمات على المدنيين.

ثانياً، يمكن بناء حجة قوية على واقع أنّ "حلف شمال الأطلسي" يواجه حالة طوارئ على جبهتين: الأولى هي أنّ تركيا، إحدى الدول الأعضاء، قد تتورط في أعمال عدوانية مباشرة وواسعة النطاق مع روسيا وغيرها من الأعضاء في تحالف الأسد، والثانية أنّ أزمة اللاجئين السوريين قد يكون لها أثر سلبي على جناح الحلف الأوروبي بأكمله. وسيضفي هذان التهديدان على ما يبدو الشرعية على التحرك الأمريكي والدولي المحدود لإنشاء منطقة لحماية المدنيين، وطرد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، والعمل بمثابة منطقة عازلة بين تركيا وجبهة الأسد.

الاعتبارات السياسية والدبلوماسية

في الوقت الذي يكون فيه التبرير القانوني المحلي لإقامة منطقة حظر جوي واضح المعالم، ليس هناك شكّ في أنّ الوضع أقل وضوحاً بموجب القانون الدولي. ومع ذلك، ثمة مبررات قانونية كافية في قراريْ مجلس الأمن رقم 2170 و2249 ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، والقراريْن رقم 2249 و2254 بشأن دعم الجهود الإنسانية لمساعدة اللاجئين، أقلها توفير دوافع لـ "منطقة رمادية" مقنعة تتيح اتخاذ إجراءات. وفي ظل هذه الظروف، تصبح المكانة التي تحتلها التحركات الأمريكية ضمن المجتمع الدولي بالغة الأهمية. وتمتلك واشنطن حالياً ورقة رابحة مهمة، لأنّ سوريا وروسيا هما على الأرجح الطرفان اللذان سيطعنان في إقامة منطقة كهذه على أسس قانونية، وكلاهما على قائمة أكبر المخالفين للقانون الدولي، مباشرة بعد كوريا الشمالية.

ولكن مع ذلك، ينبغي أن يلتزم أي إجراء أمريكي بمبادئ معينة لكسب تأييد دولي واسع. أولاً، يتعين على الولايات المتحدة ضمان دعم إجراءاتها الفعلية لأقوى الحجج القانونية - وعلى وجه التحديد تلك التي تبرّر طرد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» وتوفير ملاذ للاجئين والمشردين داخلياً. كما ينبغي عليها فرض وقف لإطلاق النار داخل المنطقة ومنع جماعات المعارضة، حتى "الودية" منها، من شنّ هجمات انطلاقاً من المنطقة. وبالمثل، ينبغي على العناصر الأمريكية القيام بتدريب قوات المعارضة وتجهيزها في مناطق أخرى.

ثانياً، يجب أن تلتزم واشنطن بمبدأ التناسب في قانون الحرب، إذ سيتمّ اعتبار اتخاذ أي إجراء يتخطى الدفاع المباشر عن النفس ضدّ الأسد وحلفائه كعمل غير متّسق مع الهدف المعلن لإقامة المنطقة موضع البحث.

وفي هذا الصدد، وحتى إذا تم إنشاء منطقة آمنة، يتعين على الولايات المتحدة مواصلة عملية التفاوض ضمن "المجموعة الدولية لدعم سوريا"، متمسّكة بنصّ وروح اتفاقيات جنيف، وفيينا، وميونيخ. وفي الوقت نفسه، ينبغي عليها تجنيد أكبر عدد ممكن من أعضاء التحالف المناهض لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» للمشاركة الرمزية - على الأقل - في عمليات المنطقة مع قوات من الجيش الأمريكي وشريكه الأساسي، تركيا. كما يتوجب عليها الدفع نحو إصدار إعلانات دعم رسمية من هيئات دولية مثل منظمة "حلف شمال الأطلسي" وجامعة الدول العربية - نظراً للمخاطر في سوريا، ولبنان، والعراق.

وأخيراً، يجب على واشنطن أن تحثّ روسيا على المشاركة في هذه المبادرة، فالأهداف الصريحة من إقامة المنطقة ستكون متّسقة مع مواثيق الأمم المتحدة وغيرها من الاتفاقيات التي وافقت عليها موسكو بشكل رسمي. ومع أنه من غير المرجح أن يوافق الكرملين على تلبية هذه الدعوة، فإن القيام بعرض مماثل سيضعف أي مزاعم روسية بشأن طبيعة المنطقة "العدوانية."

 

جيمس جيفري هو زميل متميز في زمالة "فيليب سولوندز" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2564

Legal Justifications for a Safe Zone in Syria

James F. Jeffrey

Also available in العربية

February 19, 2016


UN Security Council Resolutions 2170, 2249, and 2254 offer ample grounds for establishing a zone to protect refugees and counter the Islamic State, but shaping the international diplomatic response would be paramount given the legal gray areas inherent in such action.

This PolicyWatch is part of a TWI series on Syrian safe zones.

Any discussion of imposing a no-fly zone, safe haven, or similar buffer area inside Syria must analyze possible legal justifications for such a measure. This means addressing various applicable laws and executive powers within the U.S. government, the relevant UN mechanisms, and the broader question of international diplomatic support.

DOMESTIC LEGAL CONSIDERATIONS

The Authorization for Use of Military Force (AUMF) of September 18, 2001, has been the primary legal vehicle enabling U.S. operations against al-Qaeda and, more recently, the Islamic State (IS or ISIL). In testimony before the Senate Armed Services Committee on December 9, 2015, Secretary of Defense Ash Carter reassured legislators that the AUMF was a sufficient legal basis for all operations against IS, including in Syria. Thus, establishing a safe or no-fly zone with the purpose of blocking IS lines of communication would seem to fall within the Obama administration's existing domestic legal authority for operations against the group.

To justify important subordinate goals for the zone -- protecting civilians and stemming the destabilizing flow of Syrian refugees to Turkey and Europe -- the administration could argue that its activities are in support of UN Security Council Resolution 2254, which specifically calls for humanitarian assistance inside Syria. The United States has ample precedent for using military personnel to assist the needy in natural disasters or wars (e.g., air drops in Bosnia, Operation Provide Comfort in northern Iraq).

More problematic is the implicit purpose of using a safe zone to exert pressure on the Assad regime and its Iranian and Russian allies. One political justification for that goal is the Assad alliance's failure to live up to UNSCR 2254 and the February 12 Munich agreement; Russia signed the latter, and both Moscow and Tehran are party to 2254. Furthermore, many media reports have documented a CIA-run covert operation to support armed opposition against the Assad regime. Under U.S. covert action policies, such activities have to be approved by the appropriate congressional committees. This does not amount to legal approval by Congress, but it does constitute supporting evidence (albeit indirect given the classification of committee "Findings" on such matters) that the appropriate organs of Congress have generally approved administration efforts to help the opposition.

As for justifying defensive actions to protect a safe zone and personnel stationed within it, the president's constitutional authority as commander-in-chief and Chapter VII, Article 51, of the UN Charter (which established the inherent right of self-defense) should be sufficient grounds. There are certainly limits to this, however. The 2001 AUMF would be an unlikely vehicle to authorize a preemptive attack on Russian or Syrian aircraft and air defense systems based on the justification of protecting a zone designed to degrade IS.

Finally, the administration would be wise to take steps consistent with the War Powers Act -- that is, notifying Congress and pushing for it to authorize the action within the established sixty-to-ninety-day period. Such an approach would also signal American seriousness to friend and foe.

INTERNATIONAL LEGAL CONSIDERATIONS

The latest and perhaps best analysis of the international legal aspects of a no-fly zone was published by the Institute for the Study of War (ISW) as part of its November report "U.S. Options for a Syria No-Fly Zone." Reasonably assuming that there would be no UN Security Council mandate for a zone, three potential legal justifications are evident:

  • Security Council resolutions on IS. Here the ISW cites UNSCR 2170, which authorizes states to act against IS, and on which basis the United States and other coalition nations are conducting military operations in Syria without permission from Damascus. However, an even better legal argument can be found in UNSCR 2249 -- passed after a series of IS-linked terrorist incidents culminating in the Paris attacks -- which urged member states to "take all necessary measures, in compliance with international law, in particular with the United Nations Charter, as well as international human rights, refugee and humanitarian law, on the territory under the control of ISIL also known as Daesh, in Syria (emphasis added) and Iraq, to redouble and coordinate their efforts to prevent and suppress terrorist acts committed specifically by ISIL." That same resolution also urges member states "to intensify their efforts to stem the flow of foreign terrorist fighters to Iraq and Syria"; this of course would be one of the no-fly zone's specific purposes.
  • Security Council resolutions on Syria. Here the ISW cites UNSCR 2118, but the latest resolution, 2254, is even more applicable because it presses for a ceasefire and calls for humanitarian assistance to the Syrian population (Article 12). Similar resolutions aimed at Saddam Hussein's Iraq served as implicit cover for no-fly zones over that country -- the resolutions themselves did not establish the zones, but their general admonitions about humanitarian concerns and threats to peace emanating from Iraq post-1991 served to justify action by the United States and other parties without significant legal challenge.
  • "Responsibility to protect." This principle is not established in international law but has been used to justify action without Security Council resolutions, notably in Kosovo in 1999. Again, UNSCR 2249 authorizes "all necessary measures" against IS, inter alia, in compliance with "international human rights, refugee and humanitarian law" -- a clear acknowledgement of the "R2P" justification.

Two other legal justifications not cited in the ISW report may also be relevant. First, in the highly likely situation that the Assad regime and its partners ignore the cessation of hostilities called for in the Munich agreement -- which was negotiated under the umbrella of UNSCR 2254 and other resolutions -- then such a "violation" could justify a "force majeure" argument. For example, Washington could assert that the parties are unwilling to adhere to any international understandings and agreements on an issue of war and peace, thereby permitting other states to take action in their own interest. In particular, Article 13 of Resolution 2254 uses the strongest possible language to "demand" an end to attacks on civilians.

Second, a strong case could be made that NATO faces an emergency situation on two fronts: member state Turkey could become embroiled in broad, direct hostilities with Russia and other members of the Assad alliance, and the Syrian refugee crisis could have a destabilizing effect on the alliance's entire European wing. Both threats would seemingly legitimize limited U.S. and international action to establish a zone to protect civilians, drive out IS, and serve as a buffer between Turkey and the Assad front.

POLITICAL AND DIPLOMATIC CONSIDERATIONS

While the domestic legal justification for a no-fly zone is clear cut, the situation is obviously less clear under international law. Nevertheless, enough legal justification exists under UNSCRs 2170 and 2249 against IS, and under 2249 and 2254 in support of humanitarian efforts for refugees, to make at least a "gray area" case for action. Under such circumstances, the manner in which U.S. action plays out in the international community becomes paramount. Washington has a major trump card in the current situation because the two parties most likely to challenge a zone on legal grounds would be Syria and Russia, both of which are right behind North Korea in the big league of international law violators.

Even so, any American action would have to adhere to certain principles to win broad international support. First, the United States would need to ensure that its actual actions support the strongest legal arguments -- namely, those that justify driving IS out and providing a haven for refugees and internally displaced persons. It would also have to enforce a ceasefire within the zone and prohibit even "friendly" opposition groups from launching attacks out of it. Likewise, U.S. personnel would have to train and equip opposition forces elsewhere.

Second, Washington must adhere to the principle of proportionality within the law of war. Taking any action beyond immediate self-defense against Assad and his allies would be perceived as incompatible with the zone's stated purpose.

In this regard, even if a safe zone is established, the United States would need to continue the negotiating process within the International Syria Support Group (ISSG), adhering to the letter and spirit of the Geneva, Vienna, and Munich agreements. Meanwhile, it should enlist as many members as possible from the anti-IS coalition for at least token participation in zone operations, alongside forces from the U.S. military and essential partner Turkey. It should also solicit formal declarations of support from international organs such as NATO and -- given the stakes for Syria, Lebanon, and Iraq -- the Arab League.

Finally, Washington should urge Russia to participate in the initiative, as the zone's explicit purposes would be aligned with UN and other instruments that Moscow has formally approved. While the Kremlin is unlikely to accept the invitation, making such an offer would weaken any Russian allegations about the zone's "aggressive" nature.

James Jeffrey is the Philip Solondz Distinguished Fellow at The Washington Institute.