أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

أستحصل النساء السعوديات على المساواة؟


متاح أيضاً في English

April 27, 2017

تطالب النساء في المملكة العربية السعودية، على غرار النساء في كل بقاع الأرض، بالاحترام والمساواة في الحقوق وبألا يُعاملن كمواطنات من الدرجة الثانية. فما حرية القيادة التي تثير جدلًا كبيرًا إلا إحدى مطالبهنّ، فضلًا عن طموحاتهنّ الشخصية ورغبتهنّ الصادقة في المساهمة في كل مجال من مجالات التنمية السعودية من دون أي عقبات أو حواجز قانونية من شأنها أن تمنعهنّ من القيام بذلك. فمن أين أتت هذه العقبات التي تمنع النساء السعوديات من نيل حقوقهن؟

ولمعالجة هذه المسألة، لا بد لنا من الغوص في أغوار الجذور الاجتماعية والدينية لهذه القضية. إلا أن المملكة العربية السعودية، منذ تأسيسها عام 1932، قد شهدت عددًا من التغيرات الثقافية. ولا شك في أن المملكة تعتبر دولة محافظة، نظرًا إلى أنها تتمحور حول قدسيّة الحرمين الشريفين. ومع ذلك، لا تزال تمتلك القدرة على الانفتاح.

يسلّط المفكرون السعوديون الضوء على مسألتين حاسمتين تتعلقان بالخطوات المحتملة التي قد تتخذها المملكة في طريقها نحو مثل هذا الانفتاح. أولًا، لا بد لهذه الخطوات أن تكون صغيرة، وبطيئة، وتدريجية لئلا تُفرَض أي ثورة ثقافية جذرية على الشعب السعودي. أما المسألة الثانية فتشدّد على أن الانفتاح يجب أن ينبع من الداخل بدلًا من أن يحاك على أيدي قوى خارجية. أوافق على المسألة الثانية ولكنني أعارض المسألة الأولى بشدة. فالحقيقة المرّة هي أن تطبيق نهج "التغيير التدريجي" بشكل كامل سيستغرق وقتًا طويلًا من دون أي داع.

فمن الذي سيحدد ما الذي يريده الشعب السعودي؟ وهل تعتبر أغلبية المجتمع السعودي، من رجال ونساء، رافضة لفكرة الانفتاح وإعطاء النساء حقوقهن بالكامل؟ والأهم من ذلك كلّه، لمَ تطرح هذه الحقوق البديهية على جدول النقاش أصلًا؟ وإذ يطرح المرء هذه الأسئلة على نفسه لا يجد مفرًا من أن يسأل: من هو المستفيد الأول من عدم إعطاء النساء السعوديات حقوقهن كاملة؟ أهي الحكومة أم المجتمع؟ والجواب هو، بمنتهى البساطة، أنها أطراف دينية قليلة ولكن نافذة تقدم على استخدام المرأة بلا خجل أو وقار كأداة اجتماعية وسياسية لكسب نفوذ اجتماعي وسياسي. ولقّبت هذه الأطراف مجتمعة "بالنهضوية"، نسبة إلى النهضة أو الصحوة الإسلامية التي أبصرت النور في تلك الفترة.

وفي الستينات، رفضت الحركة النهضوية فكرة السماح للنساء بالتعلم. وضعت القرارات السياسية الحكيمة حدًا لهذه الحركة، وتمثّل النساء اليوم ما يزيد عن خمسة وخمسين بالمئة من الخريجين السعوديين الحائزين على شهادات عليا. والجدير بالذكر أن بنات أعضاء هذه الحركة المتشددة عينها يتهاتفن على تحصيل شهادات عليا ويتنافسن على فرص الحصول على منح دراسية في الخارج.

كما شارفت المملكة العربية السعودية في الستينات على اعتماد المساواة بين الجنسين بشكل تام قانوني، نظرًا إلى زيادة مستوى الانفتاح الفكري بعد عودة العديد من الطلاب من البعثات الدراسية في الخارج. ولكن لسوء الحظ، تبع هذا الانفتاح عاملان رئيسيان تسببا في تراجع المستوى الثقافي. يتمثل العامل الأول في تعاون المملكة العربية السعودية مع الولايات المتحدة بغية طرد السوفييت من أفغانستان، والذي يبدو أنه لم يكن ممكنًا لو لم تعطَ الأصوات الدينية المتشددة مساحة أكبر للتأثير في المجتمع السعودي. وعبّر هؤلاء المتشددين بنبرة شديدة اللهجة عن رفضهم للمحنة التي مرّ بها الأفغان في ذلك الوقت، مما لم يتسبب إلا في زيادة الضغوطات على المملكة لتحمّل أعباء الدفاع عن العالم الإسلامي. أما العامل الثاني فيتمثل في احتلال مسجد الحرام في مكّة المكرّمة في أوائل الثمانينات. وتعتبر هذه الحادثة، المزوّدة بالشك وبانعدام اليقين، أكثر الحوادث التي آلمت النسيج الاجتماعي السعودي. وفي أعقاب ذلك، قدمت المملكة العربية السعودية بعض التنازلات إلى الهيئة الدينية كضمانة للحفاظ على التماسك الاجتماعي.

إلا أن هذين العاملين لا يعفيان المملكة العربية السعودية من مسؤولية إعطاء النساء حقوقهن وتأمين المساواة بين الجنسين بشكل تام. والسؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هو "أثمة مؤشرات تدل على أن المملكة العربية السعودية ستقلب هذه الصفحة فعلًا؟ إن الانطباع الذي يولده في نفسي الخطاب السعودي يدفعني لأقول أن الإجابة عن هذا السؤال هي بلا شك نعم.

وذلك لأن السعوديين يتطلعون إلى ولي ولي العهد، الأمير محمد بن سلمان، البالغ من العمر 31 عامًا، ليضمن المساواة. وعلى الرغم من التحديات العديدة، يحاول الأمير إجراء إصلاحات اجتماعية، شبيهة لتلك التي أجراها الرئيس ليندون بينيس جونسون وإصلاحات اقتصادية مشابهة لتلك التي أحدثتها تاتشر، في بلد رافض للتغيير بشكل واسع. ولمّح بشكل صريح إلى أنه يجرى العمل على وضع حد للحظر المفروض على حق المرأة في القيادة، وهو ما يمكن القول أنه أكثر التغيرات رمزية  باتجاه نيل النساء حقوقهن في المملكة. كما أصدر أمرًا إصلاحيًا يحظّر على الشرطة الدينية اعتقال المواطنين، إذ قامت باعتقال شبان وشابات لمجرد أنهم حاولوا أن يختلطوا بالجنس الآخر. كما حرص ولي ولي العهد على أن يضع نساء سعوديات في مواقع ذات نفوذ، وعيّن ريما بنت بندر رئيسة للهيئة العامة للرياضة للقسم النسائي التي أنشئت حديثًا. وعيّن أيضًا سارة السهيمي رئيسة لمجلس إدارة شركة السوق المالية السعودية لتداول الأسهم "تداول"، وهي أكبر سوق مالي في الشرق الأوسط.

وللإجابة عن السؤال المطروح في عنوان المقال، أعتقد أن الإجابة هي نعم. ولا أقول ذلك فقط لأن محمد بن سلمان حازم في جهوده البراغماتية الرامية إلى إصلاح المملكة التقليدية والمحافظة، بل لأنه يقرّ أيضًا بأن المكوّن الرئيسي لأي اقتصاد مرن ومتنوع يتمثل في تمكين المرأة بشكل غير مشروط.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Will Saudi Women Get Equality?


Also available in العربية

April 27, 2017

Women in Saudi Arabia, like women all over the world, demand respect, equal rights, and to not be treated as second-class citizens. The highly-debated freedom to drive is but one of their requests, alongside their personal ambitions and a genuine desire to contribute to every area of Saudi’s development without any legal obstacles or barriers preventing them from doing so. So where did Saudi Arabia’s handicap towards women’s rights come from?

Addressing this question requires a deep dig into the social and religious roots of the issue. But since its founding in 1932, Saudi Arabia has gone through a number of cultural shifts. Saudi Arabia is undoubtedly a conservative country, since it revolves around the sacredness of the two Holy Mosques. However, it still possesses a capacity for opening up.

Saudi intellectuals raise two critical points about potential steps towards such openness. First, they must be small, slow, and gradual, so that no overwhelming cultural upheaval will be imposed on the Saudi people. The second point is that this openness must come from within, rather than from external forces. I agree with the second point, but vehemently disagree with the first. The harsh reality is that the “gradual-change” approach would take a needlessly long time to fully implement.

So who will determine what Saudi people want? Does the majority of Saudi society, men and women, reject the idea of openness and giving women their full rights? Most importantly, why are these basic rights even subject to deliberation to begin with? Posing these questions would undoubtedly compel one to ask the following: who is the primary beneficiary of not giving Saudi women their full rights? Is it the government, or is it the society? The answer is, quite simply, a few but influential religious parties that have shamelessly used women as a socio-political tool to gain socio-political influence. Collectively these parties were called the Revivalists, in reference to the Islamic revival that was taking place at the time.

In the 1960s, the revivalist movement rejected the idea of allowing women into education. Wise political decisions stood up to this movement, and women now represent more than 55% of Saudi graduates in higher education. The daughters of the very same members of this hardline movement are now racing towards higher education and scholarship opportunities abroad.

The sixties also found Saudi Arabia on the cusp of full legal gender equality, as the level of intellectual openness rose after many students returned from their overseas study missions. Unfortunately, a cultural regression caused by two main factors followed. First, Saudi Arabia's collaboration with the U.S. in the expulsion of the Soviets from Afghanistan, which seemingly could not have been done without giving hardline religious voices more space to influence Saudi society. These hardliners were extremely vocal about the plight of the Afghans at the time, which only added more pressure on the kingdom to carry the mantle of defending the Muslim world. The second factor is the seizure of the Great Mosque of Mecca in the early eighties. It was the most distressing event for Saudi social fabric, fraught with confusion and uncertainty. In the aftermath, Saudi Arabia made some concessions to the religious establishment as a guarantee to preserve social cohesion.

But these factors do not absolve Saudi Arabia of the responsibility to give women full rights and equality. The question is, are there any indications that Saudi Arabia will actually turn the page? The impression I get from popular Saudi discourse is that the answer to this question is an emphatic yes.

This is because Saudis are looking to the 31-year old Deputy Crown Prince, Mohammed bin Salman, to ensure equality. Despite the many challenges, he is attempting to undertake LBJ-like social reforms and Thatcher-like economic reforms in a country that is infamously resistant to change. He explicitly hinted that an end to the ban on women's driving is in the pipeline, which would arguably be the most symbolic change towards women’s rights in the Kingdom. He also issued a transformative order that barred the religious police from making arrests, which they previously did to young men and women for even attempting to mix with the opposite sex. The Deputy Crown Prince is also keen on putting Saudi women in positions of influence, and appointed Reem bint Bandar to head the newly established Women's Sports Authority. He also appointed Sarah Al-Suhaimi to lead the Saudi stock exchange Tadawul, the largest financial market in the Middle East.

To answer the question posed by the article’s title, I think the answer is in the affirmative. I say this not only because Mohammed bin Salman is strident in his pragmatic efforts towards reforming the traditionally conservative kingdom, but because he also recognizes that the key ingredient to any resilient and diverse economy is the unbridled empowerment of women.

Customize your RSS Feed