أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

ما الذي يجب أن يعمله الرئيس الجديد للمعونة عن تاريخ المعونة الامريكية؟


متاح أيضاً في English

المرة الأولى لتعرضى للمعونة الأمريكية لمصر كانت في بداية التسعينيات. كنت طفلا في أحد المناطق النائية بإمبابة (واحدة من أكثر المناطق كثافة سكانية وتطرف بمصر)، المنطقة لم يكن بها مجارير صرف صحى، والسبيل الوحيد لصرف مخلفات المنازل آنذاك كانت عن طريق عربة خاصة تأتي للمنزل كل شهر أو أثنين لصرف المخلفات.

مع بداية واحد من أيام الصيف جاءت عربات محملة بعمال يصعب عدهم. خلال أيام كانوا قد حفروا جميع شوارع الحي. وفي أحد الأسابيع جاؤوا بيافطة كبيرة وثبتوها على المخرج الرئيسي للحي عليها صورة لشخصين كل منهم يمسك يد الأخر وتصميم يشبه علم أمريكا (عملت بعدها بسنوات أن هذا هو شعار المعونة الامريكية). بقى العمال طوال صيف وشتاء وبعدها ذهبوا جميعًا بعد أن عادت شوارع المنطقة لحالها. مع ذهابهم كان جميع سكان الحي مبتهجين للمشروع الجديد الذي قامت به "الحكومة" يشعرون برضا بالغ بسبب إهتمام الحكومة بهم. بقى المشروع هو المحور الرئيسي لحديث سكان الحي، وكيف أن هذا الحكومة تساعدنا لتجعل منطقتنا نظيفة وأقل مرضًا. شعر القليل من السكان بالأسى لحال صاحب العربة الخاصة التي اعتادت تفريغ مخلفات المنازل لأنهم لن يحتاجوا إليه بعد اليوم. 

التفت سكان الحي كل منهم لأعماله ودراسته لا يجتمعون إلا يوم الجمعة يوم الصلاة الرئيسية للمسلمين خلال الأسبوع. يختلف الموضوع الذي يتحدث فيه الإمام كل جمعة ولكن الجميع الائمة كانوا يتفقوا على أمر وحيد، وهو الدعاء بالموت لأمريكا.

بعد ما يقرب من عشرة أعوام على مشروع المعونة الأمريكية، أو كما إعتاد أن يطلق عليه سكان الحي "مشروع الحكومة" كنت في السنة الأولى للجامعة في كليه الحقوق جامعة القاهرة. كانت مجموعات الإخوان المسلمين والسلفيين لا تخطئهم العين. يعرضون على كل الطلبة المساعدة في كل خطوة ما له علاقة بالدراسة وما هو بعيد عنه. وعلى حياء كانت هناك مجموعة صغيرة من الاشتراكيين الثوريين لا يتحدثون إلا عن السياسه. بالرغم من الإختلاف الكبير بين المجموعات الثلاثة كانوا مجتمعين على أمر فكري وحيد وهو أن أصل الشر في العالم هو للولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل.  

بعدها بحوالي عام قرأت أول قرأت أول كتاب عن الإسلام والسياسة كتاب "الإسلام وأصول الحكم" للشيخ على عبد الرازق، والذي يذكر فيه الشيخ عبد الرازق بإختصار أن الشريعة لا تصلح للحكم وإنها فقط للعبادات. كتاب الشيخ عبد الرازق كان أول خطوة لخروجي من الحى (المتطور بأموال المعونة الأمريكية) ومن جدار أفكاره التي تكونت إما عن طريق إمام المسجد أو عن طريق التليفزيون الحكومي. إنتهى بي الأمر أن أكون الأول في كلية الحقوق الذي عمل لنشر الأفكار الليبرالية بين الطلبة وتأسيس أول منظمة شبابية تدعو لليبرالية الكلاسيكية في مصر 2007. وذلك بعد الإنفتاح السياسي في مصر بدافع من ضغط دولي. 

بالرغم من أن الحي الذي نشأت فيه هو مثال مباشر لمنطقة تطورت بأموال المعونة الامريكية على أمل أن يخلق هذا التطور منطقة أو سكان أصدقاء للولايات المتحدة، إلا أن هذا التطور لم يوفر أي بديل لأفكار كره الولايات المتحدة التي طالما إعتاد سكان الحي سماعها سواء من الإسلاميين أو من الإشتراكيين الثوريين في التلفزيون أو الجامعة. طوال ما يزيد ثلاثون عامًا حاولت الولايات المتحدة من خلال المعونة وغيرها من السبل أن تخلق نظام حليف ومجتمع يشارك أو على الأقل يتقبل القيم الأمريكية. خلال هذه السنوات كانت مصر –ولازالت- الدولة الثالثة المتلقية للمعونة الامريكية على مستوى العالم، كما أشار تقرير في واشنطن بوست. استثمرت الولايات المتحدة طوال هذه الفترة ما يقرب من 28 مليار دولار في المساعدات الاقتصادية. ولكن النتيجة لم تتحقق.

بالرغم من هذا الاستثمار الكبير لا تزال المؤسسات المصرية تحتاج إلى إصلاح جوهري. المعونة الأمريكية قامت ببناء 200 مدرسة، وقامت بتوفير 24 مليون كتاب لمكتبات المدارس، وقامت بتدريب ما يزيد عن 200.000 مدرس، ومساعد و مسؤوليين إداريين، بالاضافة إلى توفير التكنولوجيا اللازمة للتعليم داخل هذه المدارس. بعد كل هذه الجهود كانت النتيحة أن يأتي التعليم المصري الاخير في ترتيب جودة التعليم في العالم بأن جاء رقم 118 ضمن 118 دولة في العالم في تقرير التنافسية العالمية لعام 2013-2014.

نفذت المعونة الكثير من مشروعات البنية التحتية التي غيرت حياة المصريين بشكل لا يمكن إنكاره. قدمت المعونة ما يقارب 5.7 مليار دولار (وهو أكثر من 20% من كامل المعونة المقدمة لمصر) ما بين عام 1975 حتى 2006 ونفذت مشروعات جعلت ثلث المصريين يحصلون مياة شرب. وذادت نسبة انتاج انتاج الكهرباء في مصر عشرة أضعاف منذ بدأ دعم المعونة للطاقة عام 1975 وزاد استهلاك المصريين للطاقة بنسبة 600%. لا يعلم المصريون عن مساهمة المعونة في تطوير حياتهم بشكل ملحوظ ولا يسمعون من الحكومة المصرية أو من الاعلام الحكومي والخاص غير شيطنة الولايات المتحدة. على مسؤولي المعونة الامريكية في حال تمويل مشروعات بنية تحتية في مصر أن يطلبوا من الحكومة المصرية ذكر دور المعونة في هذه المشروعات لتغيير الصورة النمطية عن الولايات المتحدة في مصر.

صورة الولايات المتحدة لدى الغالبية العظمي للمصريين سيئة السمعة ولكنها لم تكن دومًا كذلك. في عام 1974 رحب المصريون بالرئيس نيسكون بآمال وطموحات عريضة لبدأ علاقة دافئة وصادقة مع الولايات المتحدة، تم ذلك بدعم واضح من الرئيس السابق أنور السادات، الذي أعتاد الحديث بصورة جيدة عن الولايات المتحدة وعن ضرورة بناء صداقة بين الدولتين. السادات أعتاد الحديث للمصريين على ضرورة وأهمية هذه الصداقة لمصر على عكس الرئيس السيسي الذي فقط يذكر ذلك بالانجليزية في أحاديث للصحف الامريكية ولا يذكره على الاطلاق بالعربية، فالرئيس السيسي قال في أحد لقاءاته بصحيفة وول ستريت جورنال "نحن نريد علاقة استراتيجية مع الولايات المتحدة تكون أهم من أي شيئ أخر. مصر لن تدير ظهرها للولايات المتحدة حتى وإن أدرات الولايات المتحدة ظهرها لمصر." كل المطلوب أن يذكر السيسي نفس الحديث للمصريين ليغير الصورة الشيطانية التي أعتاد الاعلام أن يستخدمها في وصف الولايات المتحدة.

جزء لا يتجزأ من تقوية العلاقة المصرية – الأمريكية هو ضرورة العمل على الإصلاح الديمقراطي وحقوق الانسان وجلعها شق رئيسي من دور الوكالة الامريكية الدولة للتنمية. وعلى وجه الخصوص، تعديل قانون المنظمات غير الحكومية الصارم الذي صادق عليه السيسي مؤخرًا والذي سيعرقل جهود جميع المنظمات الإنمائية في مصر، سواء الأجنبية أو المحلية. وكان السفير مارك غرين، الذي وافق الكونغرس مؤخرًا على رئاسته للوكالة الأمريكية الدولية للتنمية، والذي كان في السابق رئيس المعهد الجمهوري الدولي، وأعرب عن دعمه لتعزيز الديمقراطية وإعتبارها واحدة من أهداف الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية.

بالإضافة إلى ضرورة الوقوف ضد القانون الجديد للمنظمات غير الحكومية، يجب على السفير غرين إعادة النظر في استراتيجية الوكالة  وعملها في مصر. ووفقا لتقرير بوميد لعام 2017 بشأن مقترح الميزانية، فإن مستويات المساعدات المقترحة من الإدارة في ميزانية العام المالي 2018 موجهه بأغلبية ساحقة نحو المعونة العسكرية، مع تخصيص 5% فقط للمساعدة الاقتصادية، وخصص 1% فقط لبرامج الديمقراطية والحكم. إن هذه السياسة من تهميش مساعدات الاصلاح لن تخلق مجتمعا ودودًا أو حكومة ودية قي مصر بل ستكون كما كان الحي الذي نشأت فيه يستفيد من أموال المعونة ولكنه يرى الولايات المتحدة كأصل الشر في الكون.
وفي الوقت نفسه، من المرجح أن يؤدي الإنفاق المتواصل على البرامج الاقتصادية والتعليمية دون معالجة الفساد في مصر إلى نفس النتائج. ويجب على السفير جرين أن يتعلم من الماضي وأن يضع هدفًا واضحا لبناء علاقات مع المستفيدين المحليين من المشاريع الإنمائية بعقد اجتماعات علنية مباشرة مع المجموعات المحلية ومنظمات المجتمع المدني المحلية. يجب على الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية الاستثمار في بناء المؤسسات الحكومية وغير الحكومية لمكافحة الفساد. كما ينبغي أن تطالب الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية بأن يكون تقرير الجهاز المركزي للمحاسبات في مصر علنيًا ومتاحًا للمواطنين والنواب والصحافة، أو على الأقل الأقسام والمراجعة التي تغطي المشاريع  التي تقوم بها  أو تساهم فيها الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية.

يجب على السفير جرين أن يطلب ضمانات من مسؤولين حكوميين مصريين بأنهم سيتكلمون عن أهمية العلاقات القوية مع الولايات المتحدة، وينبغي للسفارة الأمريكية بالقاهرة أن تقف ضد التقارير الإعلامية التي تهاجم الولايات المتحدة في مصر. السفير جرين يجب أن يعلم أن المساعدات الخارجية الأمريكية لمصر يمكن أن تكون عنصرا قيمًا لتحويل مصر إلى حليف حقيقي، ولكن يجب عليه أيضا الامتناع عن الإستمرار في دعم الحكومة التي لا تتردد في عض اليد التي تمتد بالمساعدة.

 

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

What USAID Should Know of Its History


Also available in العربية

September 13, 2017

The first time I was exposed to the work of the United States Agency for International Development (USAID) in Egypt was in the early 1990s. I was a child in Imbaba, one of the most populous, radicalized, and poorest areas in Cairo. The area did not have sewage drains, and the only way to dispose of household waste was through a private vehicle that came to the house every month or two to collect it.

Early one summer day, carts loaded with workers came to the neighborhood. Within days, they had dug up all the streets of the neighborhood to install a sewer system. A week later, they raised a big poster over the entrance to the neighborhood: it depicted two hands holding each other, surrounded by something that looked like the American flag (the USAID logo, I would learn many years later). The workers departed in the winter, after restoring our streets to their original condition. As they left the neighborhood for the last time, all the residents cheered, heartened by “the government’s” interest in their affairs - meaning the Egyptian government, as no one in my neighborhood understood the role of the U.S. government in the project. The Egyptian government’s generosity, and its interest in our health, was agreed upon by all. Some felt sorry for the truck driver, whose job collecting waste was now rendered superfluous.

The neighborhood was brought together each week by Friday prayers. Despite their differences, all the sheikhs stressed one similar point in their sermons: praying for death to America.

Nearly ten years later I enrolled in law school, where I found that same idea now being expressed by my classmates. The Muslim Brotherhood and Salafists were ubiquitous on campus, where their welcoming demeanor comforted students coming to the big city for the first time. A small group of ‘revolutionary socialists’ were there as well. Despite the many differences between Islamic groups and revolutionary socialists, one hatred united them all:  their hate of the United States and Israel and their beliefs in theories that the United States and Israel were conspiring to undermine Egypt and the broader Arab world.

In my second year of law school, I first read a book about Islam and politics, Islam and the Foundations of Governance, in which Ali Abdul Razek argues that Islamic law should have no role in governance. This book opened my eyes to concerns other than those of my neighborhood preachers, mosques, or the Islamic and socialist student associations.  I became the first law student working to promote liberal ideas on campus, and co-founded the first classic liberal youth organization in Egypt in 2007 after graduation, coinciding with the opening of the public sphere in Egypt under international pressure.

Despite my neighborhood being a direct beneficiary of USAID, the USAID projects in Egypt created neither the atmosphere nor the resources for people like me to learn ideas other than those of the Islamists or the socialists, and USAID’s development of the neighborhood did not stop the hate toward the United States. For more than thirty years, the United States has tried to cultivate an ally in Egypt that shares - or at least accepts - American values. Egypt is the beneficiary of one of the United States’ longest-running foreign aid programs, and is the third largest global recipient of U.S. aid after Afghanistan and Israel, the Washington Post reported. The United States has invested nearly $28 billion in economic assistance in Egypt. However, the mission not achieved.

Yet, despite this substantial investment, the Egyptian institutions most in need of reform remain stagnant. USAID built 200 schools, provided 24 million books to school libraries, trained more than 200,000 teachers, assistants, and school administrators, and provided support for technology use. The culmination of these efforts was Egyptian education ranking 118 out of 118 countries in education quality in the 2013-2014 Global Competitiveness Report.

USAID has carried out many infrastructure projects that have undeniably changed the lives of Egyptians. USAID provided nearly $5.7 billion to Egypt between 1975 and 2006 (more than 20 percent of total aid to Egypt), and improved access to drinking water for one-third of Egyptians. Egypt's electricity production has increased tenfold since aid projects started in 1975, and energy consumption by Egyptians increased by 600 percent. But the problem is that Egyptians are never told about USAID’s work, or are exposed only to disinformation spread by the Egyptian media. If USAID funds a health or education project, the United States should require the Egyptian government to inform its people that USAID works to help them in order to change minds about the Unites States. 

The image of the United States among Egyptians more broadly is notoriously dim.  However, in 1974 the Egyptian people welcomed President Nixon optimistically, eager to build friendly relations with the United States thanks to the efforts of president Anwar al-Sadat who spoke clearly about the necessity of a strong relationship between Egypt and the United States. In 2015, Sisi himself said, “We are keen on a strategic relationship with the United States above everything else. And we will never turn our backs on you—even if you turn your backs on us.”

An inseparable part of strengthening the Egyptian-American relationship must be working for democratic rights. In particular, the draconian NGO law recently ratified by Sisi will stymie the efforts of all development organizations in Egypt, both foreign and domestic.  Ambassador Mark Green, who Congress recently approved to head USAID,  was previously the president of the International Republican Institute (IRI) and has voiced support for democracy promotion as one of USAID’s goals.

In addition to pushing back against the NGO law, Ambassador Green should reconsider USAID’s broader Egypt strategy. According to the 2017 POMED report on the budget proposal, the administration-requested aid levels in the FY 2018 budget proposal are overwhelmingly tilted towards military aid, with only five percent budgeted for economic assistance and only one percent set aside for democracy and governance programs. An aid package that marginalizes spending on reform will create neither a friendly society nor a friendly government.

At the same time, continued spending on economic and education programs without tackling corruption in Egypt  will likely lead to the same results.  Ambassador Green must learn from the past and set a clear goal of building relations with local beneficiaries of development projects by holding direct public meetings with local groups and local civil society organizations. USAID must invest in building governmental and non-governmental institutions to combat corruption. USAID should also demand that Egypt’s accountability  report be public, or at least the sections that cover USAID projects.

Ambassador Green should seek assurances from Egyptian government officials that they will speak about the importance of strong relations with the United States, and the U.S. Embassy in Cairo should push back against media reports that attack the United States in Egypt. He must recognize that U.S. foreign aid to Egypt could be a valuable component of turning Egypt into a real ally, but he must also refrain from continuing to support a government that does not hesitate to bite the hand that feeds it.   

 

Customize your RSS Feed