أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

استطلاع رأي سعودي فريد من نوعه يظهر أكثريةً معتدلة، لكن انقسامًا طائفيًا


متاح أيضاً في English

أثار الخبر الصاعق حول السماح للمرأة بالقيادة في السعودية ردود فعل متباينة ومفاجئة في صفوف أبرز مراقبي المملكة. وبدا ارتياح عام لأن الرياض بدأت أخيرًا بعملية الإصلاح الفعلي، ولكن ظهر أيضًا تخوف من احتمال ردة فعل رجعية. ويدلّ ذلك على قضية أكبر أساسية وأصولية في آن: هل ولي العهد محمد بن سلمان معتدل لدرجة تهدّد بقاءه؟       

ولغاية الآن، اعتمدت الإجابات على هذا السؤال على تخمينات بشأن المواقف الشعبية السعودية. ولكن يظهر حاليًا استطلاع حديث ونادر للرأي العام مستوى ملفتًا من الدعم لهذه المواقف المعتدلة. وتوفّر في الوقت عينه مجموعة البيانات الفريدة من نوعها هذه الدليل القاطع الأول على بعض الانقسامات الاجتماعية الداخلية المستمرة التي لا بدّ من مراقبتها عن كثب في الوقت الذي يتعامل فيه ولي العهد مع ضغوطات الآراء المتباينة الحساسة في صفوف رعاياه.        

ويظهر استطلاع الرأي على وجه التحديد أن نصف الشعب السعودي ينحاز إلى جانبين مختلفين من القضية الأساسية المتعلقة بالأصولية مقابل الإصلاح. ولا يزال الربع يدعم سرًا جماعة "الإخوان المسلمين" بالرغم من تصنيف حكومتهم لها بالمنظمة الإرهابية. وفي المقابل، يعتبر ربع السعوديين من الراشدين أن "الاستماع إلى من يحاولون تفسير الإسلام بطريقة معاصرة ومتسامحة ومعتدلة" هي "فكرة جيدة". 

أما النصف الآخر من الشعب السعودي، فهو في مكان ما في الوسط ويميل ربما إلى منح القادة قرينة الشك عند تحديد السياسة العامة بشأن هذه القضايا الدينية المثيرة للجدل. وتشير هذه النتائج إلى أن الرياض تستطيع الاعتماد على دعم هام من الشعب في إصلاحاتها الاجتماعية وعلى حرية تصرّف كبيرة يمنحها إياها الشعب بشكل عام لتحديد هذا الاتجاه الجديد. ومع ذلك، يحتفظ الأصوليون المتشددون بولاء أقلية لا بأس بها من السعوديين وهذا يفرض وتيرةً بطيئة محتّمة على المرحلة الانتقالية التي ستتخلّلها من دون شك العراقيل.     

فلمَ ينبغي أن يهتم الأمريكيون للرأي العام السعودي؟ ليس لأن هذا الحليف الأساسي في الشرق الأوسط والقِبلة لمسلمي العالم كافة الذين يبلغ عددهم 1.7 مليارات نسمة وأكبر مصدّر عالمي للنفط من دون منازع هو نظام ديمقراطي – فهذا ليس الحال مطلقًا. بل لأن حتى الأنظمة الملكية المطلقة مثل المملكة العربية السعودية ينبغي أن تولي بعض الاهتمام للمزاج العام المتعلّق بأبرز المواضيع من أجل الاستمرار بكل بساطة.  

وتشير هذه النتائج إلى انسجام الرأي العام السعودي بشكل عام مع حكومته بشأن بعض القضايا الساخنة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، كشفت نتائج أخرى عن انسجام السعوديين بشكل عام أيضًا مع أولويات السياسة الخارجية الأمريكية. ويحمل ذلك معه بشائر هامة ومشجعة على نحو مفاجئ على صعيدي الاستقرار الداخلي والشراكة السلسة مع واشنطن. وعلى عكس ذلك، لا بدّ من أن تراعي واشنطن والرياض إشارات التحذير هذه وربما أن تعيد النظر في سياساتهما بشأن القضايا المذكورة أدناه والتي يختلف حولها الرأي العام السعودي.   

أجرت شركة عربية لأبحاث السوق التجارية استطلاع الرأي في الشهر الماضي واعتمدت أسلوب المقابلة وجهًا لوجه مع عينة وطنية تمثيلية عشوائية ضمّت ألف مواطن سعودي. وخلافًا لمعظم استطلاعات الرأي الأخرى، لم يحظَ هذا الاستطلاع برعاية رسمية ولم تراقبه الحكومة ولم توجّهه المعارضة ولم تكن العينة ذاتية الاختيار. وبفضل ذلك، كانت النتائج موثوقة للغاية وعكست بدقة رأي "الشارع العربي" والنخبة السعودية أيضًا.     

وعندما طُلب من السعوديين اختيار أولويتهم القصوى للسياسة الأمريكية، اختاروا في المقام الأول وبنسبة 27 في المئة "زيادة معارضتها العملية لنفوذ إيران وأنشطتها إقليميًا". وتبعه بنسبة 24 في المئة "توسيع نطاق دورها الفعال في محاربة تنظيم "داعش" و"القاعدة" والجماعات الإرهابية المماثلة". وتلى ذلك مباشرةً "بذل جهد أكبر للتوصل إلى حل دبلوماسي للأزمة في اليمن". واحتل المرتبة الرابعة "ممارسة ضغط أكبر لحل الصراع الفلسطيني-الإسرائيلي" بنسبة 16 في المئة. وعلى نحو ملحوظ أيضًا، قالت نسبة قليلة (11 في المئة) إنه يتعيّن على الولايات المتحدة بكل بساطة "الحد من تدخلاتها في المنطقة".

وفضلًا عن ذلك، تتّفق أغلبية ملفتة من الشعب السعودي على عنصر أساسي جديد في السياسة الأمريكية: رأى 68 في المئة من السعوديين أنه "ينبغي على الدول العربية الاضطلاع بدور جديد في محادثات السلام الفلسطينية-الإسرائيلية وتقديم المحفزات للجانبين من أجل اتخاذ مواقف أكثر اعتدالًا".       

وهذا لا يعني إطلاقًا أن الشعب السعودي يحبّذ السياسة الأمريكية بشكل عام. ففي الواقع، أبدت نسبة 20 في المئة وجهة نظر مؤيدة لهذه النقطة العامة. ومع ذلك، ترى ضعف هذه النسبة أنه "من الضروري أن تجمع علاقات جيدة بين بلدنا والولايات المتحدة". وتوافق النسبة عينها أيضًا على "حاجة البلدان العربية إلى مساعدة القوى الخارجية مثل الولايات المتحدة للتغلّب على خلافاتها" في الأزمة الحالية مع قطر.

وفي ما يتعلّق بهذا النزاع الإقليمي الساخن يتّفق ثلاثة أرباع السعوديين على ثلاثة أمور: أولًا، "النتيجة الفضلى هي الحل التوافقي". ثانيًا، الهدف هو "أقصى درجة من التعاون العربي ضد إيران". وثالثًا، قناة "الجزيرة" سيئة. ولكن ينقسم السعوديون على نحو مفاجئ حول نقطتين هامتين إضافيتين بالرغم من تشدد حكومتهم ضد قطر. فهم يختلفون حول مواصلة مقاطعة قطر وحول ما إذا "يحق لكل بلد عربي تقرير مصيره بنفسه" أم لا.   

وفي هذا الصدد، يتميّز هذا الاستطلاع أيضًا بتقديمه أرقام حول الاختلافات الطائفية السعودية. ويتألّف مواطنو السعودية بنسبة 90 في المئة تقريبًا من السنّة فضلًا عن أقلية شيعية بنسبة 10 في المئة. ويبرز توافق مفاجئ للآراء حول بعض القضايا. ويوافق السعوديون من الطائفتين بشكل عام على أن "الإصلاح السياسي والاقتصادي الداخلي الآن هو أهم بالنسبة لبلدنا من أي قضية تتعلّق بالسياسة الخارجية". ويرى ثلاثة أرباع السعوديين من المجموعتين أنه "يتعيّن على العرب العمل بجهد أكبر من أجل التعايش والتعاون بين السنّة والشيعة". ويُظهر السعوديون توافقًا بين الطوائف حول هذه المسائل.     

ولكن في ما يتعلّق ببعض القضايا الهامة الأخرى، يتجلّى انقسام طائفي عميق. وردًا على سؤال حول السياسة الإيرانية الأخيرة عبّرت نسبة 3 في المئة ليس إلا من السعوديين السنّة عن رأي مؤيّد – مقابل 46 في المئة من السعوديين الشيعة. ويمتد هذا الاختلاف الحاد ليطال وكيل إيران الشيعي اللبناني "حزب الله". ويؤيّد 57 في المئة من السعوديين الشيعة هذه الحركة مقابل 4 في المئة لا غير من السنّة.       

وفي الإجمال تثبت مجموعة البيانات الفريدة من نوعها هذه الأساس الراسخ الذي يرتكز عليه سعي حكومتي الولايات المتحدة والسعودية إلى تعاون أكبر ضد الإرهابيين الجهاديين وضد إيران ومن أجل إطار عمل إقليمي واسع النطاق حول القضايا الإسرائيلية-الفلسطينية. وفي الوقت عينه، تظهر الانقسامات الشعبية السعودية حول بعض القضايا العربية الداخلية والإسلامية والطائفية التي قد تكون فيها التعديلات في السياستين السعودية أو الأمريكية ضرورية.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Unique Saudi Poll Shows Moderate Majority, But Sectarian Split


Also available in العربية

The startling news that Saudi Arabia plans to let women drive aroused surprisingly mixed reactions among key kingdom-watchers. There is general satisfaction that Riyadh is really reforming at long last, but also some apprehension about a possible reactionary backlash. This points to a larger issue that is at once fundamental and fundamentalist: is Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman too moderate to last?

Until now, answers to this question have relied solely on guesses about Saudi popular attitudes. But now a rare new public opinion poll demonstrates a remarkable level of support for such moderate positions.  At the same time, this unique data set provides the first hard evidence of some continuing internal social divisions that bear careful watching, as the crown prince navigates these delicate cross-pressures among his subjects.

Specifically, the poll shows that on the basic question of fundamentalism vs. reform, half the Saudi public line up on different sides. A quarter still privately support the Muslim Brotherhood, even though their government has labeled it a terrorist organization. In contrast, a quarter of Saudi adults say it is “a good idea” to “listen to those among us who are trying to interpret Islam in a more modern, tolerant, and moderate direction.”

That leaves the other half of the Saudi public somewhere in the middle -- and probably inclined to give their leaders the benefit of doubt in determining public policy on such controversial religious matters. These findings suggest that Riyadh can count on some significant grass-roots backing for its social reforms, and considerable leeway from the public at large to define this new direction. Nevertheless, hard line fundamentalists also retain a hold on a substantial minority of Saudis, making this transition unavoidably slow, and almost certainly a bit bumpy.  

Why should Americans care about Saudi public opinion?  Not because this key Mideast ally, literally a Mecca for all the world’s 1.7 billion Muslims, and the largest global oil exporter by far, is a democracy -- which it most decidedly is not.  Rather, even an absolute monarchy like Saudi Arabia must pay some attention to the public mood on the most salient subjects, simply in order to survive.

These results indicate that Saudi public opinion today is roughly in tune with its government on certain hot issues. Moreover, other findings reveal that Saudis are also roughly in tune with American foreign policy priorities. And that is an important and surprisingly encouraging augury, both of internal stability and of smooth partnership with Washington. Conversely, on the issues noted below about which Saudi public opinion is much more mixed, both Washington and Riyadh need to heed those warning signs, and perhaps rethink their policies accordingly.

The poll was conducted last month by an Arab commercial market research company, using face-to-face interviews with a random, representative national sample of 1,000 Saudi citizens. And unlike most other such polls, this one was not an officially sponsored, government-monitored, opposition-oriented, or self-selected sampling. As a result, the findings are highly credible, accurately reflecting “Arab street” as well as Saudi elite opinion.

Asked to pick their top priority for U.S. policy, Saudis put “increase its practical opposition to Iran’s regional influence and activities” in first place, with 27 percent. Next comes “expand its active role in fighting against Daesh, Al-Qaidah, and similar terrorist groups,” with 24 percent. Close behind is “do more to find a diplomatic solution to the crisis in Yemen.” Only in fourth place, with 16 percent, comes “push harder to resolve the Palestinian-Israeli conflict.” Significantly, too, even fewer (11 percent) say the U.S. should simply “reduce its interference in the region.” Moreover, a remarkably solid majority of the Saudi public approves a key new element in U.S. policy: 68 percent say “Arab states should play a new role in Palestinian-Israeli peace talks, offering both sides incentives to take more moderate positions.” 

None of this means that the Saudi public likes U.S. policies overall. In fact, just 20 percent voice a positive view on that general point. Yet twice as many say it is “important for our country to have good relations” with the United States. And the same proportion also agree that in the current crisis with Qatar, “Arab countries need help from outside powers like the U.S. in order to overcome their differences.”

On that hot regional dispute, three-quarters of Saudis agree on three things: one, “the best outcome is a compromise”; two, the goal is “the maximum degree of Arab cooperation against Iran”; and three, Al-Jazeera TV is bad. But Saudis are surprisingly divided, despite their government’s hard line against Qatar, on two other relevant points. They split down the middle on whether to keep boycotting Qatar. And they split down the middle on whether or not “each Arab country has every right to decide for itself. “

In this connection, this survey is also unique in offering hard data about Saudi sectarian differences. The country’s citizens are approximately 90 percent Sunni Muslim, but also include a 10 percent Shia Muslim minority. On a few issues, a surprising consensus emerges.  Saudis of both sects generally agree that “right now, internal political and economic reform is more important for our country than any foreign policy issue.” And three-quarters of both groups say that “Arabs should work harder on behalf of coexistence and cooperation between Sunnis and Shia.” On these questions, the Saudi public presents a picture of consensual sects.

On some other important issues, however, a deep sectarian divide clearly emerges. Asked about Iran’s recent policies, a mere three percent of Saudi Sunnis express a favorable opinion – as against 46 percent of Saudi Shia. This sharp divergence extends to Iran’s Lebanese Shia proxy, Hezbollah. Fifty-seven percent of Saudi Shia, compared with just 4 percent of Sunnis, have a positive view of that movement. 

Altogether, this highly unusual data set strongly suggests that both the U.S. and Saudi governments are on unexpectedly solid ground in seeking greater cooperation against jihadi terrorists, against Iran, and in favor of some broader regional framework on Israeli-Palestinian issues. At the same time, the grass-roots Saudi divisions on some intra-Arab, Islamic, and sectarian issues show where Saudi or American policy adjustments may be necessary.

Customize your RSS Feed