أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الإمارات خصم جديد لتركيا


متاح أيضاً في English

16 شباط/فبراير 2018

16 فبراير /شباط 2018

في خطوة رمزية أعقبت خلافاً دبلوماسياً بين أنقرة وأبو ظبي، أعلنت تركيا في بداية كانون الثاني/ يناير الماضي، رسمياً، تغيير اسم الشارع الذي تقع فيه سفارة الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى "شارع فخر الدين باشا". ويشير هذا الاسم إلى القائد العثماني الذي كان في المدينة المنورة مطلع القرن الماضي وانتقده وزير الخارجية الإماراتي، عبد الله بن زايد آل نهيان، في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي؛ من خلال إعادة نشر تغريده في موقع "تويتر"، تتهم فخر الدين باشا بنهب وسرقة المدينة المنورة عوضاً عن حمايتها، قائلا إن هؤلاء هم أسلاف الرئيس التركي رجب طيب إردوغان.

وقد أثارت إعادة التغريدة ضجة كبيرة في تركيا، وأدت إلى غضب شديد ضد بن زايد في أنقرة التي استدعت القائمة بأعمال سفارة الإمارات لديها. لكن يبدو أن الفائز الحقيقي في تلك اللحظة كان أردوغان الذي يسعى إلى إحياء "العظمة العثمانية التاريخية". وألقى أردوغان خطاباً عبر البث المباشر انتقد فيه بن زايد بكلمات مهينة للغاية. إن إعادة تغريدة واحدة أتاحت لاردوغان الفرصة لدعم موقفه في الداخل وإلقاء خطب نارية لتعزيز محاولاته توحيد العالم الإسلامي تحت قيادة تركيا.

إن منبع هذا التوتر الأخير بين الطرفين ليس ما حدث في الماضي، بل إن المسألة سياسية بحتة ذات صلة باللحظة الراهنة المرتبطة بالتطورات الإقليمية وتوسع الخلافات السياسية والصراعات الأيديولوجية الواضحة بين أنقرة وأبو ظبي خلال السنوات العشر الفائتة. فنظرة سريعة على خارطة الصراعات والأزمات التي تشهدها الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، سنجد أن الدولتين تقفان على طرفي نقيض تماماً. ولا تتردد المنصات الإعلامية التركية في الإعلان والتلميح إلى تورط الإمارات في مخططات ضد تركيا سواء بشكل مباشر أو غير مباشر. كما لم يكن مستغرباً استثناء أردوغان دولة الإمارات من جولته الخليجية في شباط 2017، والتي شملت السعودية وقطر والبحرين.

مثل الانقلاب الفاشل الذي حدث في تركيا يوم الخامس عشر من يوليو/تموز/ 2016 محطة فارقة في تاريخ العلاقات الإماراتية التركية، حيث اتهمت بعض وسائل الإعلام المقربة من أردوغان الإمارات بدعم الانقلاب، خاصة بعد قيام بعض وسائل الإعلام الإماراتية مثل قناة سكاي نيوز وقناة العربية عن دعمهما للانقلاب. وتفيد تقارير إعلامية تركية وقطرية بأن وزير الخارجية التركي مولود جاويش اوغلو ألمح إلى الأمارات حين قال: "إننا نعلم أن دولة قدمت ثلاثة مليارات دولار دعما ماليا لمحاولة الانقلاب في تركيا". وفي مناسبة أخرى دعا الوزير التركي الإمارات إلى التخلي عن موقفها الحالي، قائلًا: "لقد سجّلنا ما قاموا به".  ومع ذلك، فإن تعاطف وسائل إعلام إماراتية أو حتى سعودية أو مصرية مع المحاولة الانقلابية لا يعني تورطه هذه الدول في المحاولة الانقلابية، خاصة بعد أعربت دولة الإمارات، عن ترحيبها "بعودة الأمور إلى مسارها الشرعي والدستوري".

العلاقة بين حزب العدالة والتنمية الذي يرأسه اردوغان، بجماعة الإخوان المسلمين، هي علاقةٌ قديمة بدأت في حقبة السبعينات من القرن الماضي، وبالتحديد في عهد رئيس الوزراء الأسبق نجم الدين أربكان، القدوة السياسية لأرد وغان، والأب الروحي للإسلام السياسي في تركيا، في حين كانت حكومة الأمارات العربية المتحدة في خلاف وصراع طويل مع الإخوان المسلمين.

توسعت الفجوة وازداد التوتر في علاقات تركيا والإمارات منذ الإطاحة بحكم الرئيس الإخوانى المصري السابق محمد مرسي، الذي عزله الجيش بعد انقلاب عسكري في تموز/يوليو عام 2013. وينظر مسؤولون في أنقرة إلى الإمارات كأحد أبرز الداعمين لهذا الانقلاب. وردا على الانقلاب في مصر، رفض اردوغان أي اتصالات مع القاهرة على المستوى الرئاسي، مشترطا إطلاق سراح مرسي والمقربين منه، للتصالح مع مصر.  وعلى الطرف الأخر من المشهد، اعتمد مجلس الوزراء الإماراتي عام 2014، قائمة بالمنظمات الإرهابية من ضمنها الإخوان المسلمين، وأبرزها جماعة الإخوان الإماراتية (جمعية الإصلاح).

تزامنا مع تفجر الأزمة الخليجية؛ وما رافقها من حصار دبلوماسي واقتصادي من جانب السعودية والإمارات والبحرين ومصر على قطر أرسلت تركيا، في حزيران/ يونيو الفائت، أول فرقة عسكرية إلى قاعدة بالقرب من الدوحة. وخلال زيارة للقاعدة العسكرية التركية في قطر، أعلن ارودغان أن تركيا ستواصل دعمها لقطر "في مختلف المجالات، لا سيما في المجال الصناعي والعسكري". وحقيقة الأمر، يدعم نشر هذه القوات تطلعات أردوغان الإقليمية، ومن المستبعد جداً أن يتخلى أردوغان، بسهولة، عن أول موطئ قدم له في الخليج، وهو ما يثير مخاوف الإمارات والسعودية، اللتين تخشيان من استخدام أنقرة نفوذها المتزايد في المنطقة كأداة ضغط على الحليفين الخليجيين واستفزازهما.

وفى سوريا، تتبنى أنقرة موقفا مبنياً منذ عام 2011 على دعم جماعة الإخوان المسلمين وأطراف من التركمان السوريين. وفي آب/أغسطس الفائت، قال زير خارجية الإمارات، عبد الله بن زايد: "إذا استمرت إيران وتركيا بالأسلوب نفسه والنظرة التاريخية أو الاستعمارية أو التنافسية بينهما في شؤون وقضايا عربية سنستمر في هذا الوضع سواء الآن في سوريا أو في دول أخرى بعد ذلك". بل سبق ذلك تصريح له اعتبر فيه حادثة إسقاط الطائرة الروسية من قبل الجيش التركي في سوريا عملاً إرهابياً، إذ قال إن الإمارات تستنكر "الأعمال الإرهابية التي شهدتها كثير من الدول، وخاصة الطائرة الروسية التي سقطت فوق سيناء وحادثة إسقاط المقاتلة العسكرية الروسية في سوريا".

وفي خلال الأسابيع القليلة الماضية، وتزامنا مع الحملة العسكرية التركية ضد "وحدات حماية الشعب" الكردية في منطقة عفرين بسوريا، وقفت الإمارات ضد العملية، كما الموقف المصري تماماً. بل ذهبت صحيفة "يني شفق" التركية، المقربة من أردوغان، إلى أن "وحدات حماية الشعب" تتلقى الدعم من أبو ظبي في عفرين، وأن السعودية أيضاً متورطة في هذا العمل. 

وعلى الساحة الليبية، تعكس التوترات الداخلية الليبية أيضاً توترات القوى الداعمة، وخاصة التنافس القوي الجديد بين محوري تركيا وقطر، ومصر والأمارات. فالمحور الأول يدعم فصائل مصراته المتحالفة مع رئيس المجلس الرئاسي، فايز السراج. في حين يدعم الثاني قوات الجنرال خليفة حفتر. وفي متنصف كانون الثاني / ديسمبر الفائت، هاجم المتحدث باسم الجيش الوطني الليبي، تركيا قائلاً إن "التدخل التركي أدخلنا في مأزق ووضع ليبيا في موقف ضعيف جداً أمام الإرهاب والإرهابيين"، محذراً من "مؤامرة تحاك القوى الوطنية في بلاده، تبلورت معالمها في الزيارة الأخيرة للرئيس التركي إلى شمال أفريقيا. وجاءت هذه الاتهامات بعد أن ضبط الخفر اليوناني سفينة محملة بمواد لتصنيع المتفجرات، كانت متجهة من تركيا إلى مصراته. وفي حينها اتهم حفتر تركيا بمحاولة تسليح "ميليشيات إسلامية" ضده.

وفي ما يتعلق بالملف الفلسطيني، حاولت الإمارات ومصر، عبر تنفيذ تفاهمات بين محمد دحلان القيادي المفصول من حركة فتح وبين حركة حماس، تعزيز نفوذ أبو ظبي والقاهرة في غزة وتقليص دور الدوحة وأنقرة تدريجياً في القطاع. وقد أعلن السفير الفلسطيني لدى أنقرة، فائد مصطفى، قوله إن "تركيا منزعجة من التقارب الأخير الذي حصل بين حماس ودحلان، كون الأخير شخصية سلبية من وجهة نظر الأتراك". تخشى تركيا أن يؤدي أي تقارب من هذا النوع إلى إضعاف تأثيرها ونفوذها في الملف الفلسطيني.

وهناك أيضا توجس وتنافس في منطقة القرن الإفريقي، حيث يبدو أن هناك توجه واضح لدى أنقرة لتعزيز الوجود التركي في القارة، واستعادة ميناء سواكن السوداني هو جزء من استراتيجية جديدة أوسع لإحياء النفوذ التركي في منطقة البحر الأحمر، وهو ما أثار مخاوف دول عربية بينها مصر والسعودية والإمارات، والتي تخشى التمدد التركي ومخاطر ذلك على الأمد الطويل. وفي اعتبار أن السودان موطن لأعضاء جماعة الإخوان المسلمين المصريين، فإن القاهرة وأبو ظبي قلقتان جداً من إمكانية توسع النفوذ التركي بين الإخوان السودانيين ونظرائهم المصريين في السودان. وتدرك كل من تركيا والإمارات أن الصومال يمكث على بعض ممرات الشحن الرئيسية في العالم، ويرى الطرفان فرص لبناء الموانئ البحرية وغيرها من هياكل النقل الأساسية.

ومع تطوير تركيا والإمارات علاقاتهما العسكرية والاقتصادية في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وشمال وشرق أفريقيا، من المرجح أن تشتد منافساتهما العسكرية والاقتصادية في هذه المناطق. ويركز تواجدهم في تلك المناطق على الوضع الجيوسياسي طويل المدى أكثر من عمليات عسكرية قصيرة الأجل.

وختاما، هناك عوامل متشابكة ومعقدة سترسم مستقبل العلاقة بين أنقرة وأبو ظبي، ومن بينها ما ستؤول إليه انتخابات الرئاسة التركية في العام القادم، إضافة إلى مسار النزاعات في سوريا والعراق وتأثيرها على دور تركيا الإقليمي. وهناك أيضاً مدى ثبات موقف تركيا المستقبلي من جماعة الإخوان المسلمين بشكل عام، ومستقبل العلاقة بين أنقرة وكل من الرياض والقاهرة، وكذلك التحولات القادمة في العلاقة التركية الإيرانية، والأهم من ذلك شكل التحالف الأمريكي - التركي. وفي النهاية تدرك أنقرة - التي تدهورت علاقاتها مع واشنطن، أن أبو ظبي والرياض حليفان متلازمان، تدعمهما أمريكا. لكن لا يتوقع أن تتخذ الولايات المتحدة أي خطوة أو موقف صريح حيال التوتر الإماراتي التركي الجاري، خاصة وأن العلاقة بين أبو ظبي وأنقرة لم تصل إلى حد القطيعة.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

The United Arab Emirates: Turkey’s new rival

Also available in العربية


February 16, 2018

In a symbolic move following a diplomatic dispute between Ankara and Abu Dhabi, Turkey announced at the beginning of January that it would officially change the name of the street where the United Arab Emirates(UAE) embassy is located to “Fahreddin Pasha Street.” This  early 20th century,  Ottoman commander had recently been criticized by Emirati Foreign Minister Abdullah bin Zayed Al Nahyan on Twitter  reposting a comment that accused Fahreddin Pasha of robbing and looting Medina rather than defending it, and remarking on the history of the “ancestors” of Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan.

The retweet created an uproar in Turkey and provoked outrage against bin Zayed in Ankara, where officials summoned the Emirati embassy’s charge d’affaires. However, it seems that the real winner of this episode was Turkish President Erdogan, who is trying to revive the historic greatness of the Ottoman Empire. Erdogan gave a speech, in which he criticized bin Zayed in very insulting terms. Thus, one retweet gave Erdogan an opportunity to bolster his domestic position and  give a fiery speech in support of his efforts to unite the Islamic world under Turkey’s leadership.

Yet the real source of the recent tension between these two countries has nothing to do with the distant past, and is rather a purely political issue tied to the current moment. It is rooted in regional developments, growing political disputes, and clear ideological conflicts between Ankara and Abu Dhabi over the past ten years. The map of conflicts and crises in the Middle East and North Africa shows that the two parties stand on completely opposite sides. Turkish media will hardly allow an occasion to pass without attacking the UAE directly or indirectly. It was also no surprise that Erdogan omitted the Emirates during his Gulf tour in February 2017, which included Saudi Arabia, Qatar and Bahrain.

The failure of the coup d'état, which took place in Turkey on July 15, 2016, represented a milestone in the history of UAE-Turkish relations. Some media outlets close to Erdogan accused the UAE of backing the coup, especially after some UAE-based media such as Sky News and Al Arabiya openly declared their support to the coup. According to Turkish and Qatari media reports, Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu was referring to the UAE when he said: “We know that a country gave three billion dollars of financial support to the coup attempt in Turkey.” On another occasion, the Turkish minister called on the Emirates to abandon its current position, saying: “We have recorded what they have done.” However, the initial sympathy of UAE, or Saudi and Egyptian media with the attempted coup does not mean that these countries were involved in backing that coup. Moreover, the UAE soon officially welcomed "the return of Turkey to its legitimate and constitutional track."

A related problem concerns the relationship between Justice and Development Party (AKP), headed by Erdogan, and the Muslim Brotherhood. That relationship with the AKP’s precursor parties dates back to former Prime Minister Necmettin Erbakan. Erdogan’s political  “godfather,” ever since the 1970s.  Erbakan was also considered the father of political Islam in Turkey. The UAE government, in sharp contrast, has long been at odds with the Muslim Brotherhood.

The gap widened and tensions increased between Turkey and the UAE after the overthrow of former Egyptian President Mohamed Morsi, of the Muslim Brotherhood, who was ousted by the army in July 2013. Ankara officials saw the UAE as one of the main supporters of the coup. In response to the coup in Egypt, Erdogan refused to engage in any contacts with Cairo at the presidential level. He required the release of Morsi and his associates, as a condition to reconcile with Egypt. At the other extreme on this spectrum, in 2014, the Emirati cabinet issued a list of terrorist organizations including the Muslim Brotherhood — most prominently the Emirati Muslim Brotherhood, the Al Islah group.

More recently, coinciding with the ongoing diplomatic and economic blockade against Qatar by Saudi Arabia, the Emirates, Bahrain and Egypt, Turkey dispatched its first military squad to a base near Doha in June 2017. In mid-November of that year, during the Turkish president’s visit to this base, he confirmed his continuing support for Qatar “in a variety of fields, especially industrial and military.” The deployment of these forces supports Erdogan’s regional ambitions. It is highly unlikely that Erdogan will give up his first foothold in the Gulf easily. This has raised concerns among the Emirates and Saudi Arabia, which fear that Ankara will use its growing influence in the region as a tool to pressure and provoke the two Gulf allies.

Regarding Syria, Ankara’s position has been based since mid-2011 on support for the Muslim Brotherhood-linked opposition and factions of Syrian Turkmen. But last August, Emirati Foreign Minister Abdullah bin Zayed said: “If Iran and Turkey persist in the same historical, colonial and competitive behavior and perspectives between them in Arab affairs, we will continue in this situation, not just in Syria today but in some other country later on.” He also labeled the downing of the Russian plane by the Turkish army in Syria a terrorist act, saying that the Emirates condemned “the terrorist acts witnessed in many countries, particularly the Russian plane which was downed above the Sinai and the incident of the Russian military fighter plane in Syria.”

In the past few weeks, during the Turkish military campaign against the Kurdish YPG militia in the Afrin area of Syria, the Emirates have stood against this operation, just as Egypt has. Indeed, the Turkish newspaper Yeni Safak, which is close to Erdogan, went so far as to say that YPG were receiving support from Abu Dhabi and Cairo in Afrin and that Saudi Arabia was also involved in these activities.

Parallel tensions play out even further afield, in Libya. Libyan domestic conflicts reflect opposing outside forces, especially the powerful new competition between the Turkish-Qatari axis and the Emirati-Egyptian axis. The first axis supports Misrata brigades allied with the Chairman of the Presidential Council, Fayez al-Sarraj, while the second backs the forces of General Khalifa Haftar. Midway through last January, the spokesman of the Libyan National Army attacked Turkey, saying, "The Turkish intervention has put us in a bind and placed Libya in a very weak position against terrorism and the terrorists.” He warned of a “conspiracy hatched by national forces in the country, its outlines crystallized in the recent visit of the Turkish president to North Africa." These accusations came after the Greek coast guard captured a boat filled with explosive materials heading from Turkey to Misrata. Haftar also accused Turkey of trying to arm “Islamist militias” against him.

In the Palestinian issue, the UAE and Egypt have tried to reach agreements between the rival Fatah and Hamas movements, including exiled Fatah renegade Mohammed Dahlan, to strengthen Abu Dhabi and Cairo’s influence in Gaza and gradually reduce the role of Doha and Ankara in the territory. The Palestinian ambassador in Ankara, Faed Mustafa, was quoted as saying, “Turkey was disturbed by the recent rapprochement between Hamas and Dahlan as the latter is a negative figure from the Turks’ point of view.” Turkey fears that any rapprochement of this type could weaken its influence over the Palestinian issue. 

Unease and competition are also emerging elsewhere in Africa. Ankara intends to bolster the Turkish presence on the continent and restore the Sudanese Red Sea port of Suakin, as part of a  new, broader strategy to revive Turkish influence in these regions. This has created concerns among Arab countries, including Egypt and Saudi Arabia, who fear Turkish expansion and its long-term risks. Moreover, considering that Sudan is home to members of the Egyptian Muslim Brotherhood, Cairo and Abu Dhabi are very concerned about the possibility of expanding Turkish influence among the Sudanese Brothers and their Egyptian counterparts. On the Horn of Africa, both Turkey and the UAE recognize Somalia’s position on some of the world’s main shipping routes. As a result, they both see opportunities to build naval ports and other transport infrastructure there.

Thus, with Turkey and the UAE developing their economic and military relationships throughout the Middle East and North and East Africa, it is likely that their military and economic rivalry will intensify. Their presence in many of these places focuses on the long-term geostrategic situation more than on short-term military operations. Still, many other complicated, interrelated factors will determine the future relationship between Ankara and Abu Dhabi, including the Turkish presidential election next year, as well as the conflicts in Syria and Iraq and their impact on Turkey’s regional role. There is also the question of Turkey’s future firmness toward the Muslim Brotherhood  and Ankara’s future relations with both Riyadh and Cairo, as well as the uncertainties in the Turkish-Iranian relationship — and, more importantly, in the Turkish-American alliance. In the end, Ankara, whose relations with Washington have deteriorated, knows that Abu Dhabi and Riyadh are inseparable allies backed by the U.S. However, it is unlikely that the U.S. will take any explicit positions or measures regarding the current Turkish-Emirati tensions, since the relationship between Abu Dhabi and Ankara has not yet reached the breaking point.

Customize your RSS Feed