أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

التغيير الجذري للثورة التونسية المسالمة


Protesters in Tunisia

متاح أيضاً في English

10-05-2017

كونها مهد "الربيع العربي"، أثبتت تونس أنّها شذّت عن القاعدة. ففي حين تعاني بلاد "الربيع العربي" الأخرى من الحرب والفوضى والتسلط الاستبدادي، بقيت تونس على مسار التغيير المسالم. إلّا أنّه يجب عدم خلط غياب العنف بالعودة إلى ما كانت عليه الحال. فتونس تشهد بالفعل ثورة عميقة وذات معنى.

يمكن فهم الثورة كتغيير تحويلي جذري، وكذلك كتغيير جذري للنظام. إنّ تأثير الثورة يطال المشاعر كما الواقع.

إلّا أنّ المشاعر تميل إلى أن تدوم لفترة أطول من الواقع. ففي حين يُسجّل التاريخ الوقائع والأحداث، يرى الناس عادةً الأحداث عبر مشاعرهم. أمّا الواقع فيتمّ تذكّره من منظار النضال نحو الحريّة والكرامة الإنسانية. لذا يتمّ تبرير كل المصاعب والأعمال الوحشية وهرق الدماء.

غالبًا ما يتمّ وسم الثورات بأنها تعبير شرعي عن العنف.. إلّا أنّ وسم الثورات كاستخدام حقّ للعنف هو في الحقيقة تقنيع فشل النخبة في إحداث هكذا تغيير جذري عبر السبل السلمية.
وحتّى الآن، شكّلت تونس المثل المعاكس للثورة السلمية. فهل تحدث تغييرًا جذريًا؟

من المنصف التساؤل ما إذا كان "الربيع العربي" هو أي شيء أكثر من تجميل لأحداث مختلفة تمامًا. ففي حين بدأت في تونس، تحوّلت بسرعة إلى أحداث عنيفة فور انتشارها في مصر وليبيا واليمن وسوريا- باستثناء تونس.
فماذا حدث إذًا في تونس وما الذي أبقاها سلمية؟

نجد في تونس عملية تغيير جذرية طويلة وسلمية مستمرّة، وتغييرًا للنظام، لكن ليس هذا فحسب بل تغييرًا للنظام السياسي الاجتماعي. 

ويمكن اعتبار حركة النهضة واحدة من القوى الأساسية المحرّكة لهذه التغييرات، فقائدها راشد الغنوشي قد شكّل الشخصية الكاريزمية الدافعة نحو تحقيق التغييرات في روح التسوية.

إنّ دعوة الغنوشي إلى التسوية قد قادت إلى تشكيل حكومة ائتلافية بين الإسلاميين والأحزاب العلمانية. وبالتالي قاومت حركة النهضة الرغبة ببناء حكومة ائتلافية مع حزب أسس نفسه على أسس الإسلام.

كما أصرّ الغنوشي على ضرورة أن يعكس الدستور التوافق العام بين مختلف الفئات الاجتماعية والسياسية في المجتمع، وبالتالي اختار عدم اعتبار الشريعة الإسلامية كمصدر للدستور. كانت هذه عملية ديناميكية أطلقتها حركة النهضة من خلال مناقشة الفقه الإسلامي داخليًا كمصدر. وبمواجهتها مخاوف بعض المواطنين التونسيين، تخلّت حركة النهضة عن هذا المسار بروح التوافق الوطني الحقيقية.

كما اعترضت حركة النهضة على ما يُسمّى بقانون "الحفاظ على الثورة" وساعدت على هزمه. كان هذا القانون ليحجب عن الذين عملوا مع النظام السابق حقوقهم في المشاركة في الحياة السياسية. يعتبر راشد الغنوشي أنّ هكذا قانون هو عقاب جماعي يتعارض مع عدالة وقيم الإسلام.

كانت حركة النهضة مشاركًا إيجابيًا أساسيًا في عملية الحوار الوطني. لقد سمحت بإرادتها استقالة الحكومة وشاركت في تشكيل حكومة مستقلّة، مهيّئة بذلك الطريق لإتمام الدستور وقيام الانتخابات الديمقراطية بعد ذلك. إنّ دور المجتمع المدني في التوصّل إلى قرار سلمي قد مكّن أطراف "الرباعي" من المجتمع المدني الفوز بجائزة نوبل للسلام. وقد كانت ديناميكية المجتمع المدني الفاعلة متوافقة مع حسّ الواجب المدني الذي برهنت عنه حركة النهضة وأخصامها السياسيون. كانت أولويّة الجميع، وكان حسّ الديمقراطية العميق هذا ما وجّه العملية.

لقد شاركت حركة النهضة أخيرًا في حكومة ائتلافية مع الحزب السياسي الخصم.

لم تأت الثورة التونسية بالتغيير داخل النظام فحسب، بل أتت بالتغيير أيضًا داخل النظام الاجتماعي السياسي وفي قواعد "اللعبة السياسية".

قد يقول البعض إنّ الثورة التونسية قد أصلحت البلاد بدل تغييرها بشكل جذري، لا سيّما عندما لا يكون الناس و"وجوه" النظام القديمة ناشطين على الساحة السياسية فحسب، بل عادوا أيضًا لاستلام القيادة على الساحة السياسية.

غير أنّه وبسبب هذا المشهد بالتحديد قد يقول البعض إنّ التغيير الجذري قد حصل أوّلًا، وتسبّب هذا المشهد باندلاع الثورة التونسية وقد تخطّى "ربيعها" "عواصف الشتاء" التي ضربت الجوار.

فكيف يمكن الحديث عن التغيير في تونس؟

أوّلًا: صحيح أنّ العديد من القادة الحاليين على الساحة السياسية في تونس ينتمون إلى النظام القديم، لكنّهم لم يتسلّموا السلطة تبعًا للنظام القديم ولا يحكمون تبعًا لقواعد النظام القديم.

وصحيح أنّ الناس الذين يقودون نظامًا سياسيًا هم مهمّون لكن للنظام عادةً تأثير أكبر على المجال العام والخاص. ما يمكن وصفه بالنظام الجيّد أو السيّئ يمكن بالتالي أن يؤثّر على كل حالة للدولة .

إنّ الذين يحكمون تونس اليوم تسلّموا السلطة وفقاً لانتخابات ديمقراطية، ويمثّلون بذلك إرادة شعب تونس الحرّة، بغض النظر عن أيديولوجياتهم.

إنّ حسّ الديمقراطية القوي هذا هو الذي وجّه العملية. وكان أحد شعارات الغنوشي المتكررة خلال الحملة الانتخابية أنّ "الموظف الرسمي الذي يدخل أبواب الدستور هو الابن الشرعي للثورة". ويصف الغنوشي نفسه بـ"الديمقراطي المسلم" وليس إسلاميًا. وهكذا تُعتبر حركة النهضة مختلفة تمامًا عن الحركات المصنّفة بـ"الإسلام السياسي".

كديمقراطي مسلم، يشير الغنوشي إلى مثل "نبي الإسلام" بهدف جديد. عند دخوله مكة كفاتح، أعلن النبي أنّ من دخل دار أبي سفيان فهو آمن. كان أبي سفيان قائد قريش، القبيلة التي حكمت القبائل العربية الأخرى وكان الخصم الرئيسي لنبي الإسلام.

وتكمن الفكرة في أنّ نبي الإسلام لم يحاول الانتقام بل حرص بدل ذلك على أن يخضع حتّى ألدّ أعدائه لحكم سلطة ناشئة بغض النظر عن معتقداتهم: كان الأهمّ تأسيس نظام سياسي ونظام اجتماعي مستقرّين.

من خلال هذه الأمثلة، أحدث الغنوشي وحركة النهضة تأثيرًا جذريًا في تغيير النظام السياسي في تونس. 

في الواقع، انتقلت تونس من نظام سلطة مركزي تأسس على حكم حزب واحد وحكومة كانت تحكمها سلطة شخص واحد وهو رئيس الجمهورية إلى نظام ذات حكم متعدد الأحزاب يرتكز على فصل السلطات ويضطلع البرلمان فيه بدور أساسي وتبني فيه الحكومة المحلية والمناطقية نظامها السلطوي المحلي.

غير أنّ التغيير الجذري الأساسي الذي حصل في تونس يكمن في واقع أنّ الحياة السياسية لم تعد ترتكز على الإيديولوجيا. يكمن النضال في تعزيز الكفاح نحو المواطنية وحق الأفراد في الحرية والكرامة؛ هكذا نضال هو التركيز المشترك لمختلف الأحزاب السياسية. لهذا قرّر الغنوشي وحزبه رفض راية الإسلام السياسي. وبالفعل فبعد أكثر من سنتين من النقاش الداخلي خلال المؤتمر العاشر لحركة النهضة اعتمد الحزب هذا الاتجاه الذي أطلق عليه اسم "التخصص".

ويعني "التخصص" أنّ حركة النهضة تحدّ مشاركتها بالمجال العام في المسائل السياسية. أمّا باقي المسائل كالاجتماعية والثقافية والدينية فهي من اختصاص فاعلين اجتماعيين ومدنيين آخرين سواء كانوا أفرادًا أو ضمن مجموعات.
يعتقد الغنوشي أنّ الثورة التونسية لم تضع حدًّا لسلطان نظام استبدادي فحسب، بل وضعت حدًّا أيضًا للحاجة الاجتماعية إلى حركة استبدادية.

لا يكمن التحدّي الحقيقي الذي لا يزال يواجه تونس في الصراع بين الإسلام والعلمانية، بل في التحدّي بين أولئك الذين يناضلون لتعميق التغيير الذي أشعلته الثورة والذين يعتبرون أنّ نتيجة الثورة لا تصب في مصلحتهم، ويناضلون بالتالي لإعادة فتح الجروح القديمة.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

The Radical Change of the Tunisian Peaceful Revolution


Protesters in Tunisia

Also available in العربية

October 05, 2017

As the birthplace of the Arab Spring, Tunisia has proven to be an oddity. While other Arab Spring countries have experienced varying levels of war, mayhem, and authoritarian crack-downs, Tunisia has remained on a path of peaceful change. The absence of violence, however, should not be mistaken for a return to the status quo. Tunisia continues, instead, to experience a deep and meaningful revolution.

A revolution can be understood as radical transformative change as well as a radical regime change. The impact of a revolution reaches both emotions and reality. Emotions, however, tend to outlive reality. While history records facts and events, people usually see events through their emotions. Reality is remembered through the prism of the struggle towards freedom and human dignity. All the hardships, atrocities, and bloodshed, it is argued, are thus justified and redeemed.

Most of the time, revolutions are branded as a legitimate expression of violence. However, branding revolutions as a legitimate use of violence is, in reality, masking the elite’s failure to bring about such a radical change through peaceful means.

So far, Tunisia has presented the counter-example of a peaceful revolution. Can it bring about a radical change?

It is fair to question whether the Arab Spring is anything beyond a romanticizing of dramatically different events. While it started in Tunisia, once it spread to Egypt, Libya, Yemen, and Syria, it quickly turned violent— except in Tunisia.

So what had happened in Tunisia and what has kept it so peaceful? And why will it remain peaceful?

In Tunisia, there is a long and peaceful, still radical, process of change; not only a change of regime, but also one of the sociopolitical system.

The Ennahdha Party can be considered one of the main driving forces behind these changes. Rachid Ghannoushi, the leader of Ennahdha Party, has been the charismatic figure pushing towards the accomplishment of the proposed changes, all within the spirit of compromise.

Ghannoushi’s call for compromise has ushered the formation of coalition governments between Islamists and secularist parties. Ennahdha, therefore, fought the temptation of building a coalition government with a party which had grounded itself in Islam.

Ghannoushi also insisted that the constitution should reflect the general consensus between the different social and political factions of the society, hence opting against considering Sharia law as a source of the constitution. This was a dynamic process in which Ennahda started by internally discussing Islamic jurisprudence as a source. Faced with the concerns of some fellow Tunisians, Ennahda abandoned this path, in the true spirit of national consensus.

Ennahda also objected and helped defeat the so-called “safeguarding of the revolution” law. Such a law would have denied those who worked with the previous regime from their rights to participation in the political life. Ghannoushi considers that such a collective punishment law contradicts justice and the ethics of Islam.

Ennahda was a key positive participant in the national dialogue process. It voluntarily allowed the resignation of the government, and participated in the formation of an independent government, therefore paving the way towards the completion of the constitution and then the democratic elections. The role of civil society in reaching a peaceful resolution has earned the “Quartet” of civil society actors the Nobel Peace Prize. The proactive dynamism of civil society was in line with the sense of civic duty demonstrated by Ennahda and its political rivals. The priority for all is this deep sense of democracy that has guided the process.

Finally, Ennahda has participated in a coalition government with the opposing political party.

Not only did the Tunisian revolution bring about a change within the regime, it also brought about a change within the social political system and a change in the rules of the political game.

One may argue and say that Tunisia’s revolution has reformed the country, rather than radically changed it, especially when people and the old faces of the regime are not only still active within the political scene but have come back to lead the political scene.

It is exactly because of this scene, though, that one may say that a radical change has occurred in the first place, and that such a scene has caused the Tunisian revolution and its spring to have survived the winter storms of the neighborhood.

So in which way may one speak about change in Tunisia?

First, it is true that many of the current leaders of the political scene in Tunisia used to belong to the old regime. Regardless, they did not come to power according to the old system, and they are not governing according to the rules of the old regime.

It is surely true that people leading a political regime are important. However, the system usually has more impact on the public and private sphere. What can be described as a good or a bad system can, accordingly, influence every condition of the state.

Those who are governing Tunisia today came to power as a result of democratic elections; hence, they represent the free will of the people of Tunisia, irrespective of their ideology.

It is this deep sense of democracy that has guided the process. A recurring slogan of Ghannouchi during the electoral campaign was that “the public servant who enters the door of the constitution is the legitimate child of the revolution.” Ghannouchi describes himself as a “Muslim Democrat,” not an Islamist. As such, Ennahda is radically different from the movements categorized as “political Islam.”

As a Muslim Democrat, Ghannouchi refers to the example of the Prophet of Islam with a new focus. Upon entering Makkah as a conqueror, the Prophet had declared that he who enters the house of Abu Sufyan is safe. Abu Sufyan was the leader of Quraysh, the tribe which had governed other Arab tribes, and was the main opponent of the Prophet of Islam.

The idea is that the Prophet of Islam did not try to take revenge; he instead made sure that even his sworn enemies came under the rule of the emerging authority, irrespective of their faith. What mattered first was the establishment of a stable political regime and social system.

Through such models, Ghannouchi and Ennahdha made a radical impact in changing the political system of Tunisia.

In fact, Tunisia moved from a centralized power system, which was founded on one party rule and a government that is ruled by the sole authority of the person of the president of the republic, to a multi-party system that is based on the separation of powers, in which the parliament plays a major role, and local and regional government are building their local authority system.

However the main radical change that happened in Tunisia consists in the fact that the political life is no longer based on ideology. The struggle is to strengthen the fight for citizenship and the right of the individuals in freedom and dignity, such a struggle is the shared focus of different political parties. That is why Ghannouchi and his party have decided to reject the banner of Islamism and political Islam. Indeed, it was after more than two years of internal debate at the tenth conference of Ennahdha that the party had opted to this orientation, termed “specialization.”

“Specialization” means that Ennahdha restricts its participation within the public sphere to political concerns. All other issues — social, cultural, and religious — would be the domain of other social and civil actors whether they be individual or within groups.

Ghannouchi believes that the Tunisian revolution not only has ended the reign of a totalitarian regime, but it has also ended the social need for a totalitarian movement.

The real challenge, which still faces Tunisia, is not the conflict between Islam and secularism. Instead, it is rather a challenge between those striving to deepen the change that was sparked by the revolution, and those who consider that the outcome of revolution is not in their benefit, and therefore, strive to revive old wounds.

Customize your RSS Feed