أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

سهل نينوى ومستقبل الأقليات في العراق


متاح أيضاً في English

حين هاجم تنظيم “داعش" على شمال العراق واستولى على الموصل في صيف العام 2014، خاض حملة إبادة موازية ضد الأقليات في سهل نينوى. وبالنسبة للعديد من أفراد المجموعات هذه، بمن فيهم المسيحيين واليزيديين، كانت تلك أسوأ موجة من لائحة عمليات إبادة طويلة يعود تاريخها إلى أكثر من ألف عام. غير أنه نتيجة لهذه العمليات، تجددّت وتنامت الدعوات المطالبة بمزيد من الحكم الذاتي. وقد عبّر المزيد من القادة المسيحيين، اليزيديين، التركمان والعراقيين الآخرين عن دعمهم لإقامة إقليم يضمّ حصرًا أقليات شمالي العراق مؤلف من ثلاث محافظات. وقد يكون هذا المسار مناسبًا لحماية هذه المجتمعات المهدّدة وقد يساعد على تسهيل تخصيص التعويضات مقابل خسارة الأراضي والثروات والممتلكات.    

عندما تحدث عن المسحيين في العراق خلال صعود تنظيم “داعش"، قال مطران الموصل للسريان الأرثوذكس نيقوديموس داود شرف إن "المسيحي لا يمكنه العيش حيث لا سيادة للقانون. يمكننا العيش فقط في مكان يحكمه القانون". حتى في ظل العدد المستقر نسبيًا من المسيحيين الذين يعيشون في مراكز آمنة في كركوك وإربيل في إقليم كردستان، تراجع عدد المسيحيين من الذي كان مقدرًا عند 1.5 مليون في 2003 إلى نحو 200 ألف في الوقت الراهن. وبالتالي، فإن إعطاء هذه الجماعات فرصة بناء استقرارها الخاص قد يكون الحل للحفاظ على وجودها في العراق.  

إن الحل للمسيحيين، اليزيديين وغيرهما من الأقليات في وجه الاضطهاد لا يمكن أن يتمثّل بهجرتهم إلى الغرب ولا حتى بالبقاء في بلدهم الحالي ومعاناة الأمرين. وبغية المساهمة في الحفاظ على وجود دائم ومستمر للمسيحيين واليزيديين المستهدفين بشكل خاص، قد تحول إقامة محافظة في سهل نينوى للمسيحيين ومحافظة يزيدية في سنجار (قضاء الشيخان في سهل نينوى) دون مغادرتهم العراق بأعداد هائلة. وسيكون تغيير وجه أقضية تلكيف، الحمدانية، عين سفني والشيخان في محافظة سهل نينوى، وتخصيص قضاء تلعفر ليكون محافظة للتركمان، وقضاء سنجار محافظة يزيدية، من أفضل الوسائل لتمكين المجتمعات المحلية. ويتماشى ذلك مع مساعٍ أخرى ترمي إلى إلغاء مركزية السلطة في العراق لبناء السلام بعد تحرير الموصل، حتى أن رئيس الوزراء العراقي حيدر العبادي أعلن في نيسان/أبريل 2015 أنه "إن لم نسعَ إلى اللامركزية، ستتفكك البلاد. بالنسبة لي، ما من حدود لللامركزية".  

وتتألف الأقليات العراقية، شأنها شأن المجتمع العراقي، من أشخاص ذوي آراء ووجهات نظر متنوعة وأساليب مختلفة للتعبير عن هوياتهم من خلال عوامل وطنية، محلية، عرقية ولغوية. وفي محافظة تكون ملاذًا آمنًا للأقليات، ستحظى هذه الاختلافات بالتقدير.

هل ستكون المحافظات جزءًا من كردستان؟

قدّم الكثيرون نماذج فدرالية ولامركزية عن الحوكمة باعتبارها حلولًا ممكنة لإعادة الإعمار ما بعد النزاع، كما حصل في ليبيا، اليمن، سوريا والعراق. يُذكر أنه خلال الاحتلال الأمريكي للعراق، شجعت الولايات المتحدة القبائل في محافظة الأنبار على اللجوء إلى الحكم الذاتي والدفاع الذاتي من أجل تشكيل مجالس الصحوة لمحاربة تنظيم "القاعدة"، علمًا بأن الحكم الذاتي يكون بمثابة حماية من بسط طائفة واحدة سلطتها.     

أعلنت قوات "البيشمركة مؤخرًا أنها لن تنسحب من سهل نينوى بعد تحرير الموصل، لذا من المرجّح أن يخضع مستقبل أي محافظة تتمتع بحكم شبه ذاتي في سهل نينوى لسيطرة "حكومة إقليم كردستان". وفي حين تشكّل كردستان مثالًا حيًا على أن اللامركزية تولّد الازدهار والاستقرار النسبي، من الممكن أن يدعم الأكراد المؤيدون عمومًا للامركزية إقامة محافظة مسيحية-يزيدية طالما تكون تحت سيطرة حكومة الإقليم. وبالطبع، ستستفيد حكومة الإقليم على الأرجح من ضمّ سهل نينوى وحصد الإيرادات النفطية.     

لقد كانت هناك العديد من الشكاوى السابقة من قبل المسحيين بشأن استيلاء "حكومة إقليم كردستان" على أراضيهم والمضايقات التي يتعرضون لها، واستياء اليزيديين من وضعهم تحت خانة الأكراد لأسباب سياسية. غير أن هاتين الطائفتين تخشيان جنود "البيشمركة" منذ أن غادروا مواقعهم في البلدات المسيحية واليزيدية خلال هجوم "داعش"، إلا أن المعاملة الحسنة والإيجابية لليزاديين والمسحيين من قبل حكومة إقليم كردستان ساهمت في تقبلهم للحكومة. ومع ذلك، فإن مشاكل المسيحيين واليزيديين مع "حكومة إقليم كردستان" تبدو تافهة لدى مقارنتها مع تلك التي يواجهونها مع قوى أخرى في المنطقة، حيث أن العديد منهم ممتنون للاستقرار الذي قدمته لهم حكومة الإقليم.     

دولة الوطنية والتنوّع والوحدة

في ظل انتشار الوطنية والنفوذ الأجنبي في أرجاء الإمبراطورية العثمانية، أصبح المسيحيون أهدافًا سهلة إذ اعتُبروا دخلاء. فقد ارتكبت القوات التركية والكردية بحقهم مجازر أودت بحياة مئات الآلاف من المسيحيين، ما دفعهم إلى مغادرة أراضيهم والتشتت واللجوء إلى أماكن آمنة، على غرار سهل نينوى.

وردًا على هذه المجازر، اتخذت كنيسة المشرق شكل دولة أشورية حديثة تطالب بالسيادة والاستقلال. أما المسيحيون من الكلدان الكاثوليك، السريان الكاثوليك، والسريان الأرثوذكس، فلم يعتمدوا التمييز العرقي الكبير نفسه الذي لجأت إليه كنيسة المشرق بعد هذه المجازر، لكن كلاً منهم يتمسك بدرجة معينة من الاعتزاز الطائفي. وعلى سبيل المثال، برزت في أوساط السريان الكاثوليك والأرثوذكس حركة آرامية/سريانية مركزها أوروبا وإسرائيل لها علمها الخاص وتركّز على تعليم اللغة السريانية.

الجدير ذكره أن العديد من المسيحيين لا يتبعون أي من هذه الحركات ويعتبرون أنفسهم مسيحيين عراقيين في الدرجة الأولى. ورغم كل هذه الفوارق المميزة، كانت وحدة المسيحيين ملحوظة منذ هجوم "داعش". وللمرة الأولى منذ أجيال، اجتمع العديد من البطاركة وممثلو كنائس مختلفة للصلاة ومناقشة وضع مجتمعهم الراهن، كما حصل عندما سهلت "جمعية الدفاع عن المسيحيين" غير الربحية اللقاء بين البطاركة والرئيس أوباما، أو عندما عقدت مجموعة متنوعة من المسيحيين في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر اجتماعًا في مقر البطريركية الكلدانية في إربيل لمناقشة الوحدة والمهمة الشاقة المتمثلة بالعودة إلى منازلهم المدمرة بعد تحرير الموصل.

قوات أمن الأقليات

هناك ميليشيات مدربة ومجهزة بشكل مناسب بإمكانها أن تكون نواة شرطة وقوات أمن في محافظة سهل نينوى. فالسهل يضمّ أربع وحدات رئيسية لقوات الأمن المسيحية، لدى كل منها ميول سياسة مختلفة وتحالفات مع أحزاب: "وحدات حماية سهل نينوى"، "قوات سهل نينوى"، "دويخ نوشا"، "ألوية بابل" (التي تقاتل تحت قيادة "الحشد الشعبي"). ويقاتل اليزيديون عمومًا مع "تحالف سنجار" الذي يتألف بشكل عام من "وحدات مقاومة سنجار" التي تأسست عام 2007.

وكان بطريرك الكلدان لويس روفائيل ساكو أعرب عن شكوكه حيال الميليشيات المسيحية، وحضّ المسيحيين الذين يريدون أن يقاتلوا أن يفعلوا ذلك تحت لواء قوات مؤسسية نظامية على غرار الجيش العراقي أو "البيشمركة". وبالمثل، يعتقد الكثير من المسيحيين العراقيين أنه من الأفضل لهم أن يبقوا منارة للعلم والمجتمع المدني ويواصلوا العمل على تحقيق رفاه المجتمع العراقي ككل - كما فعلوا تاريخيًا. على سبيل المثال، خلال عهد الإمبراطورية العباسية، قام المسيحيون بترجمة نصوص يونانية لقادتهم المسلمين، وعملوا كأطباء خاصين لأبناء الخلفاء العباسيين،  وشغلوا مناصب حكومية رغم تعرضهم للمضايقات والإذلال.

ومن شأن غياب الأرقام الدقيقة أو الاستطلاعات الخاصة بالمسيحيين أو العراقيين عمومًا لهذه الغاية أن يعقّد محاولة إحصاء أعداد مؤيدي بناء محافظة ومعارضيها. غير أنه من الواضح أن الكثير من المسيحيين العراقيين، بغض النظر عن خلفيتهم، يدركون الحاجة إلى التحرك من أجل الحفاظ على شعبهم وإرثهم وأن إقامة محافظة سهل نينوى قد يشكّل الطريقة الأفضل للقيام بذلك.

إعادة الإعمار

حاليًا، وضع القانوني العراقي أسس توحيد المحافظات لتشكيل إقليم (أي كردستان) لكنه لم يأتِ على ذكر سبيل قانوني لتحويل الأقضية إلى محافظات. وبهدف إنشاء المحافظات، لا بد من تقسيم محافظة نينوى إلى أقضية أصغر قبل التمكن من إنشاء إقليم. ومهما كان مستقبل سهل نينوى، يجب أن يقرره الشعب الذي عاش فيه منذ آلاف السنين.

ويتمثّل أحد مصادر الخوف في أن يزيد إنشاء محافظة استهداف الأقليات وأن تهاجم الشعوب جيرانها في المستقبل كما حصل سابقًا. فالحقيقة أن الهدف قائم أساسًا، وأن الوضع لا يمكن أن يسوء أكثر مما هو عليه. وقد تساهم إقامة محافظة على نحو أفضل بتسريع عملية المساعدات بما يمكّن الجمعيات الكنسية أو منظمات المجتمع اليزيدي من مساعدة الناس مباشرة. وفي وقت دُمرت فيه أكثر من 70 في المائة من قرى سهل نينوى، يُعتبر هذا النوع من المساعدة المباشرة مهمًا. فالجاليات قد تعود لتأسيس أعمال أو الاستثمار في المحافظة إن كان الأمن مستتبًا، مع الإشارة إلى أن هذا النوع من الحركة الاقتصادية ضروري لعودة الناس إلى قراهم.

ولا بدّ من دعوة المنظمات في الولايات المتحدة، من أمثال "معهد الولايات المتحدة للسلام"، إلى تولي زمام الأمور خلال عملية المصالحة. وإلى أن يصبح العراق مستقرًا سياسيًا واقتصاديًا، قد تكون اللامركزية السبيل الوحيد لإنقاذ البلاد الذي لا يزال جديدًا على هذه الخطوة ومجتمعاته المتعثرة. وعندما يسود الاستقرار من جديد، سيعود بدوره المزيج المتنوع من الأقليات والأفكار التي يضمها العراق حتمًا. لكن إلى حين تحقّق ذلك، يتمثّل الطريق الوحيد لاستمرار المسيحيين واليزيديين في تقرير المصير والحكم الذاتي.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

The Nineveh Plains and the Future of Minorities in Iraq


Also available in العربية

When the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS) stormed northern Iraq and took over Mosul in the summer of 2014, it ran a parallel campaign of genocide against the minorities of the Nineveh Plains. For many of these groups, including Christians and Yezidis, this was the worst of a long list of genocides going back over a thousand years. As a result, calls for autonomy were renewed and strengthened. More Christian, Yezidi, Turkmen and other Iraqi leaders have expressed support for creating a region exclusively for minorities of Northern Iraq composed of three provinces. This could be a good path for preserving these endangered communities and could help better facilitate compensations for the loss of land, wealth, and belongings.

When discussing Christians in Iraq during the rise of ISIS, Syriac Orthodox Archbishop of Mosul Nicodemus Daoud Sharaf stated that “a Christian cannot live where law does not prevail. We can only live in a place governed by law.” Even with the relatively stable number of Christians living in Kirkuk and Erbil in the Kurdistan Region, the number of Christians has declined from an estimated 1.5 million in 2003 to around 200,000.  Giving these groups the opportunity to create their own stability might be the answer to preserving their existence in Iraq.

The solution for Christians, Yezidis, and other minorities in the face of persecution under ISIS can neither be to emigrate to the West, nor to stay and suffer. In order to help preserve a lasting presence of targeted Christians and Yezidis, creating a province in the Nineveh Plains for Christians and a Yezidi province in Sinjar (and Shekhan district of the Nineveh Plains) might stem their flow out of Iraq. Repurposing the districts of Tel Keif, al-Hamdaniyah, al-Shikhan and Shekhan for the Nineveh Plains province, Tel Afar district for a Turkmen province, and Sinjar district for a Yezidi province would be good ways to empower local communities. This is in line with other efforts to decentralize power in Iraq to build peace after the liberation of Mosul. Even Iraqi Prime Minister Haidar al-Abadi stated in April 2015 that “if we don’t decentralize, the country will disintegrate. To me, there are no limits to decentralization.”

Iraqi minorities, like the rest of Iraqi society, are people with diverse opinions and identities influenced by national, local, ethnic, and linguistic factors. In a minority-haven province, these differences will be celebrated.

Part of Kurdistan?

Federal and decentralized models of governance have been touted by many as possible solutions for post-conflict rebuilding in Libya, Yemen, Syria, and Iraq. During the US occupation of Iraq, the US encouraged tribes in the Anbar province to use self-governance and self-defense to form the Awakening Councils to fight al-Qaeda. Self-governance can serve as a safeguard from one sect overreaching their rule.

The Peshmerga recently announced it will not withdraw from the Nineveh Plains after the liberation of Mosul, so it is likely that any future for a semi-autonomous Nineveh Plains province will fall under the control of the Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG). With Kurdistan as the main example of decentralization creating prosperity and relative stability, it is likely that the generally pro-decentralization Kurds would back a Christian-Yezidi province as long as it falls under KRG control. The KRG would also benefit from harvesting the oil found in the Nineveh Plains.

There have been Christian complaints in the past of land seizures and harassment by the KRG, as well as irritation among Yezidis at being labeled Kurds for political reasons. Both groups are also wary of Peshmerga soldiers after they abandoned positions in Christian and Yezidi villages during the ISIS onslaught. But the generally positive treatment by the KRG towards Christians and Yezidis has led to greater approval of the regional government.  Furthermore, the issues Christians and Yezidis have with the KRG pale in comparison to those with other powers in the area, and many are grateful for the stability provided by the KRG.

The State of Nationalism, Diversity, and Unity

As nationalism and foreign influences spread throughout the Ottoman Empire, Christians became easy targets of violent discrimination since they were viewed as outsiders. Turkish and Kurdish forces carried out massacres of hundreds of thousands of Christians, pushing them to scatter from their homelands and congregate in safe areas, such as the Nineveh Plains.

In response to these massacres, the Church of the East shaped themselves as a modern-day Assyrian nation with claims to sovereignty and independence. Christians of the Chaldean Catholic, Syriac Catholic, and Syriac Orthodox churches did not make the same strong ethnic distinction as the Church of the East did after these massacres, but each have a degree of denominational pride. For instance, among Syriac Catholics and Orthodox there exists an Aramaic/Syriac movement based in Europe and Israel with its own flag and an emphasis on teaching the Syriac language. 

It is worth noting that many Christians are followers of none of the movements and view themselves as Iraqi Christians first and foremost. Despite all of these unique differences, unity amongst Christians has been high since the ISIS attacks began. For the first time in generations, many patriarchs and representatives of the various churches have been gathering to pray and discuss their community’s situation, such as when the non-profit 'In Defense of Christians' facilitated a meeting for the patriarchs with President Obama or when an assorted group Christians met at the Chaldean Patriarchal headquarters in Erbil to discuss unity and the daunting task of returning to their destroyed homes after the liberation of Mosul.

Security Forces

If properly trained and equipped, there do exist militias that would serve as groundwork for police and security forces in a Nineveh Plains Province.  There are four main Christian security forces in the Plains, all with various political leanings and party alignments: the Nineveh Plains Protection Units (NPUs), Nineveh Plains Forces (NPFs), Dwekh Nawsha, and the Babylon Brigades, who fight under the Hash’d al-Shaabi. Yezidis mostly fight under the Sinjar Alliance, which is composed primarily of the Sinjar Resistance Units (YBS).

Chaldean Patriarch Louis Raphael Sako has expressed doubts about Christian militias, urging Christians who want to fight to do so with institutionalized forces such as the Iraqi army or the Peshmerga. Many Iraqi Christians similarly believe that it would be best for them to remain stewards of scholarship and civil society, and continue work towards the well-being of Iraq as a whole.

The lack of proper numbers or polling among Christians, or Iraqis as a whole, adds to the difficulty of trying to gauge the number of proponents and opponents to building a province. However, it is clear that many Iraqi Christians, regardless of background, understand the need to take action to preserve their people.

Rebuilding

Currently, Iraqi law contains parameters for a province to unite under a region (i.e. Kurdistan) but no legal pathway exists for districts to become provinces. In order for the provinces to be created, many districts of the Nineveh Province would need to devolve into smaller provinces before they are able to create a region. Whatever the future of the Nineveh Plains, it should be decided by the people who have lived there for thousands of years.

One fear is that creating a province will place an even bigger target on the backs of minorities and that in the future, the same populations who turned on their neighbors will do so again. The reality is that the target already exists, and the situation cannot get much worse than it has already. Establishing a province could help better expedite the aid process so that church organizations or Yezidi community organizations could directly aid the people. With over 70% of the towns in the Nineveh Plains destroyed, direct aid is indispensable. Diasporas would likely return to establish businesses or would invest in the province if there were guaranteed security. This sort of economic movement is necessary for people to return to their villages.

Organizations in the United States, like the United States Institute of Peace (USIP), must be called to lead during the reconciliation process. Until Iraq is politically and economically stable, decentralization may be the only way to save the fledgling country and its embattled communities. When stability returns, the diverse mosaic of Iraq’s minorities and ideas will surely return as well. In the meantime, however, Christians’ and Yezidis’ only chance of survival is self-determination and self-governance.

Photo courtesy of the Iraqi Christian Relief Council and the Philos Project.

Customize your RSS Feed