أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

منطق الهجوم الكيماوي


متاح أيضاً في English

04-17-2018

كانت معركة الغوطة تشرف على نهايتها، وكانت الوحدات التابعة للنظام، والتي جهّزتها وساندتها وعززتها القوات الروسية والإيرانية، على وشك تحقيق انتصار كامل: فصائل المعارضة جميعها قد هزمت أو تكاد، الحواضن الشعبية لهذه الفصائل والتي تمنعت عن إشهار الولاء للنظام في المراحل السابقة عوقبت ورحّلت، والتعفيش شمل كل ما له أية قيمة مادية في المناطق التي سقطت بيد النظام. إقدام النظام بالتالي على استعمال السلاح الكيماوي في هذا الظرف، مع ما ينتج عنه من إدانة دولية وعرقلة لتحقيق النصر الشامل، يبدو بالتالي وكأنه خطأ فادح في الحساب. بل إن هذا الفعل يبدو متعارضاً مع مصلحة النظام بشكل صارخ ما يضفي على الرواية الروسية المتدرجة في الأعذار قدراً من الصدقية: يعقل إذن أن الاعتداء لم يحدث ابتداءاً، أو إن كان من تسرب للمادة الكيماوية فقد يكون ذلك نتيجة تخزينها لدى فصائل المعارضة وانتشارها جراء القصف، بل قد تكون هذه الفصائل قد تعمدت استعمال السلاح النووي واستهدفت حاضنتها بنفسها لشحذ التعاطف العالمي.

غير أن القراءة المتأنية لتاريخ النظام في سوريا وسجله الاستبدادي الطويل تشير إلى أن النظام هو بالفعل من ارتكب جريمة الهجوم الكيماوي، ولكن ليس لأغراض عسكرية. بل إن هذا الاعتداء جاء في إطار سعي النظام إلى إحياء المعادلة الوحيدة التي شأنها أن تحقق له البقاء، وهي القاضية بتيئيس الإنسان السوري.

فكما كان الحال في مرات سابقة عديدة، صاحب هذا الاعتداء تداول أشرطة مرئية تظهر الفظائع، بما في ذلك الأطفال والرضّع وهم يستميتون للتنفس. وخروج هذه الأشرطة ليس نتيجة تسريب ولا هو مجرد التقاط عَرَضي للوقائع الجانبية لعملية عسكرية، بل إن هذه الأشرطة هي الغرض المتعمد من الاعتداء. فمن خلالها تصل الرسالة الواضحة التي يريد النظام إبلاغها لعموم السوريين: نقتلكم، نعذبكم، نذيق أطفالكم مرّ الألم، وليس لكم من ملاذ؛ لكم الخضوع، عسى أن تتجنبوا بعض الأذى، أما إن عاندتم فنبيدكم عن بكرة أبيكم.

فخلف واجهة الرئيس العصري في شكله، والسيدة الأولى الأنيقة والمتألقة، وخلف خطابيات المندوب إلى المنظمة الدولية والتي تزعم أن للنظام ما يحتج به، واظب النظام منذ اندلاع الثورة عام ٢٠١١ على تكرار رسالة ثابتة للمجتمع السوري: العالم غير مبالٍ بمصابكم، وهو وإن بدا بصيص اهتمام في أوساطه لما يجري لكم، عاجز عن تجاوز روايتنا، وإن تمكن من ذلك فهو يفتقد السبل لأن يتحرك. فالوعود التي أغدقتها عليكم الولايات المتحدة كاذبة وخاوية، وأوروپا عاجزة، والدعم من العربان والسلطان هباء، فسوف تهزمون وسوف تعاقبون، وإن عفونا عن أرواحكم فإنكم سوف تهتفون بحياة الرئيس القائد من تحت أقدام جنودنا.

ولإيصال هذه الرسالة الفجة إلى عموم المجتمع السوري، يعتمد النظام على منظومة من أربعة مستويات.

عند المستوى الأعلى، يطفح إعلام النظام وبياناته بالاستهجان والغضب عند كل اتهام باستعمال السلاح الكيماوي، واعتماده هنا هو على قلّة الانتباه في الساحة الدولية المشرذمة إزاء الوضع في سوريا، فيتوجه إلى كل جمهور في هذه الساحة بمضمون يتلاءم مع توقعاته. فالمعترضون على هيمنة القوة العظمى يتحفون بأخبار مقاومة النظام للدعاية الغربية الساعية إلى تلطيخ سمعته، فيما المعادون للتوجهات الإسلامية أو حتى للإسلام نفسه فمدعوون للتعاطف مع هذا النظام الزاعم للعلمانية بوجه الانحطاط الإسلامي السياسي أو الديني. أما الأوساط العربية والمسلمة فيشار في عرض واقع الحال لها إلى الترابط والتزامن بين العدوان الإسرائيلي وتهمة الهجوم الكيميائي  كدليل دامغ أن التهمة محض افتراء. ويجري تدوير هذا المضمون، وكل ما يحققه من ردود فعل إيجابية في الإعلام الموجّه إلى الداخل السوري للتأكيد القاطع بأن النظام ناجح في تحديد معالم الرواية العالمية حول ما يجري هنا، فالرسالة الضمنية هنا هي أن «العالم يصدقنا ولا يبالي بكم».

أما المستوى الثاني فهو الانتاج الإعلامي الأصلي الموجه للجمهور المحلي، ومن خلاله يجري تأصيل السلوك المرتقب إزاء النظام ورأسه. فالغلو في التبجيل والخضوع هنا مقبول، بل مرغوب، فتتوالى مشاهد الاستذلال والتسابق على حطّ قدر الذات والآخرين في إشهار الولاء للقائد المفدّى. سكان الغوطة العطشى، بعد تحمّلهم حصاراً قاسياً وقصفاً قاتلاً شتّت شملهم وقتل عزيزهم، كان عليهم الهتاف بفداء رأس النظام بالروح والدم، على شاشات إعلام النظام المرئي، كشرط للحصول على قدر قليل من المياه. أما المقاتلين التابعين للنظام هنا، فإظهارهم لكامل ولاءهم مرّ عبر الصراخ والتهويل في أوامرهم لجموع السكان أن يعلنوا مطلق الطاعة. والبرنامج الإعلامي للنظام برمتّه هو مجموعة متبدلة من الصور المشابهة لهذا المشهد، بعضها دقيق خفي وبعضها الآخر فجّ وقح، إلا أنها برمّتها تفيد أن القيادة قديرة على كل شيء وحاضرة في كل مكان وأن الولاء والطاعة لها فرض واجب في كل آن.

والفعالية القصوى للمستوى الثاني لا تتحقق إلا من خلال تفعيل المستوى الثالث والذي يعتمد على وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي كوسيلة للنشر. في عتمة هذه الوسائط يجري تبادل المقاطع المرئية التي تتغنّى بالإهانة والتعذيب والقتل، كمظاهر لمصدر قوة النظام الأولى أي قدرته على الترويع. فمن المقطع الذي شاع رواجه لجندي سوري يضرب الأسرى ويدعس على وجوههم قائلاً «تطالبون بالحرية، خذوا الحرية» إلى الأشرطة القاتمة التي تنقل حالات اعتداءات جنسية وإعدامات لا تختلف عن تلك التي أصدرها تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» إلا بسوء معايير الانتاج، فيما المضمون الساقط متطابق. والتعليقات في صفوف مؤيدي النظام حول هذه المقاطع هو الترحيب والقبول والانتشاء، غير أن الجمهور المقصود هو أولاً معارضي النظام، والغرض الأول هو بثّ روح اليأس في صفوفهم. ومع تواصل الإساءات والجرائم التي يرتكبها النظام، فإن سيل هذه المقاطع مستمر دون توقف. إلا أن هذا البرنامج المعمّى يحتاج بين الحين والآخر إلى المواد المذهلة، كما الأشرطة التي تظهر عواقب الهجوم الكيميائي، للمحافظة على فعالية عامل الترويع.

أما المستوى الرابع فهو مجموع رسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، الحاصلة تلقائياً أو المصطنعة والمدفوعة، والتي من شأنها تأكيد فعالية المستويات السابقة والمحافظة على سيطرة النظام على الخطاب المتداول في الفضاء الافتراضي. والهدف هنا هو التضييق على كل مخالف، من خلال الشتائم والتهديدات، لردع أي خروج عن الطاعة أو تحدٍ للمواقف التي تشيعها السلطة.

فحساب النظام، ومعه أربابه الروس والإيرانيين، هو أن الغرب عامة والولايات المتحدة خاصة، ليست راغبة البتة بالانخراط الواسع والذي من شأنه أن يزعزع الاستقرار الشرير للحرب السورية. أي أن واشنطن ليست بصدد التورط الجدي في سوريا. فالضربة الأميركية من شأنها دون شك إنزال الخسائر بالمقومات العسكرية للنظام. غير أن التعويل المتزايد لهذا النظام على الموارد الروسية، والتي لن يطالها إي ضرر، يجعل من الخسارة المرتقبة ثمناً مقبولاً ليتمكن النظام من المزيد من التأصيل لحكمه الترويعي. والواقع هو أن أية ضربة لا تقتل النظام تزيده قوة. ومهما كان حجم الضربة، ما لم تصاحبها رؤية واضحة للإطاحة بالنظام الاستبدادي، من شأنها تعزيز موقفه وروايته القائلة أن العالم غير المبالي، غير الراغب بالتورط، لن يقدم إلا على خطوات رمزية لا جدوى منها ولا تخدم إلا مصالح من قام بها. وعندها لا يبقى للإنسان السوري إلا الرضوخ لأمر قاتله.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

The Logic of the Chemical Attack


Also available in العربية

04-17-2018

The battle for the suburbs of Damascus was nearing its end. The regime units — equipped, backed, and supplemented by Russian and Iranian forces — were on the verge of achieving total victory: the defeat of all rebel factions, the expulsion of a population that had demonstrated its lack of loyalty to the regime, and the plundering of all items of any value in the conquered territory. For the Damascus regime to engage in a chemical attack at such a juncture, provoking international condemnation and risking the derailing of its march to victory may thus appear to be a gross miscalculation. In fact, such an action seems so evidently contrary to the interests of the regime that many reasonable observers may assign some credibility to the successive versions of the Russian apologetic narrative — denying that a chemical attack took place; attributing the spread of chemical agents to their presence in the targeted arsenal of the rebels, or directly blaming the rebels for intentional use of chemical weapons against their own population in order to generate world sympathy.

The careful reading of the long history and track record of the despotic regime in Syria strongly suggests that the regime did indeed undertake the chemical attack, but not for any military purpose. It was instead a fundamental element in the effort of the regime to restore the only formula within which it can survive: caging the Syrian population in a state of despair.

As in numerous previous episodes, the graphic footage of civilian casualties, including infants and toddlers gasping for air, was not leaked or incidental coverage of the collateral damage of a military operation, but the intended product of the exercise. Through it, the messaging of the regime is clear: We will kill you, we will maim you, we will inflict horrible suffering on your children, and you have no recourse; submit and suffer less; resist and be viciously exterminated.

Hidden behind the facade of a modern looking president and glamorous first lady, and framed internationally by the lengthy diatribes of a UN representation presumably versed in the art of argumentation, lies this one consistent message from the Damascus regime to its population since the onset of its uprising in 2011: the world does not care about you; and even if it did, it is incapable of piercing through our obfuscation; and even if it were, it lacks the resources to act; promises of support, from the United States, are hypocritical and meaningless; Europe is impotent; backing from the puppet regimes in the Gulf and the aspiring Neo-Ottoman Sultanate in Turkey is ephemeral and futile; you will be defeated, you will be punished, and, if we spare your miserable life, you will proclaim your absolute allegiance to the President from under the boots of our soldiers.

To communicate this blunt message, the regime has recourse to a four-tier system.

At the top level, it is outrage and indignation at any accusation of any use of chemical weapons; here, the regime relies on the segmented attention span of the multiple intended audiences, and sends distinctly different content tailored to each. The anti-imperialists thus cherish the regime’s resistance to Western propaganda aimed at smearing it, while anti-Islamists or even anti-Muslim audiences in some Western quarters sympathize with this presumably secular leadership striving to contain Islamist/Islamic perfidy. To Arabs and Muslims, the conflation of any Israeli action with the accusation is presented as proof of its fallacy. These top-level messages, and the positive reactions they generate are recycled to the Syrian population and neighboring societies as solemn indications of the success of the regime in setting the global narrative — “The world believes us and ignores you”.

The second level of communication is directly intended for the local audience. It sets the norm of behavior vis-à-vis the head of the regime. Excess is tolerated, even encouraged in reporting the self-humiliation and debasement of Syrians in their expression of their devotion to their “Leader.” Thirsty residents of Ghouta, in the suburbs of the capital Damascus, having suffered a devastating siege and bombardment that left lives shattered and families separated, were ushered on Syrian television to chant their readiness to sacrifice soul and blood for the leader, as a prerequisite to receiving precious few bottles of water. Loyalist fighters competed in their own display of total allegiance by vocalizing their demand that the captive population proclaims submission. The information operation of the regime is a set of variations, some subtle, some crude, on this theme. The leadership is omnipotent, omnipresent, and expects an unqualified resignation.

The effectiveness of this message is a function of the third level, with social media as its means of dissemination. Herein flourishes the dark exchange of horrid video segments of mistreatment, torture, and killings that illustrate the real source of power of the regime: terror. From the quasi-iconic Syrian soldier abusing and stepping on demonstrators while screaming “You demand freedom, here is your freedom,” to the more macabre scenes of sexual assault and executions, distinguishable from the polished releases of the “Islamic State” by their poor production quality, but completely equal in depravity. The reaction to this material in the ranks of regime supporters is approval and elation; the main targeted audience, however, is regime opponents, where it is supposed to promote desperation. With the on-going stream of criminal abuse proudly committed by its units, this stealth regime media operation faces no shortage of new material. The periodic introduction of spectacular material, such as the aftermath of a gas attack, is nonetheless essential to maintain the efficacy of the terror effect.

The fourth level, assumed by injected, prompted, or independently generated social media messages serve to confirm the success of the previous pro-active levels and to cement a pro-regime domination of the discourse in cyberspace. The aim of this effort is to maintain a high level of intimidation — through threats and insults — against all expressions of dissent or divergence from the official line.

The calculus of the regime, as well as that of its Russian and Iranian sponsors, is that the West, notably the United States, is unwilling to commit to a devastating action that would destroy the malevolent stability of the Syrian war. Washington will not own a broken Syria. The potential U.S. action would undoubtedly cause a loss in military assets for the regime. With its increased reliance on Russian resources — which would be immune to any damage, such loss is an acceptable price to pay for the regime in its quest for the restoration of its rule by terror. In fact, as long as the U.S. action does not “kill” the regime, it will make it stronger. A strike, however potent, that does not yield a credible strategy for the removal of the despotic regime will only confirm its narrative of an uncaring, unwilling global community only willing to engage in symbolic actions for its own purposes. In that unfortunate case, the Syrians, the regime hopes, have no choice but to submit to their killer.

Customize your RSS Feed