أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الضرر والضرار في أزمة الخليج


متاح أيضاً في English


هل يصحّ اتهام قطر بتمويل الإرهاب؟ نعم، بالتأكيد. ولكن مع التنبيه إلى أن المعيار الذي يجيز تثبيت التهمة هنا يتيح كذلك توجيهها إلى المملكة العربية السعودية، والإمارات العربية المتحدة، ومصر، وبالطبع إلى إيران، وتركيا، وروسيا، وكذلك إلى الولايات المتحدة. إذ بما أن تعريف الإرهاب ما يزال مسألة خلافية، فإن أية حكومة تقدم دعماً ما لجهة غير حكومية خارج بلادها عرضة لأن تتهم بتمويل الإرهاب وتمكينه. ولكن ذلك لا يعني أن جميع الاتهامات متكافئة. والاتهام الموجه إلى قطر ليس مبنياً على العدم. ثمة خلاف عميق بين قطر من جهة وكل من السعودية والإمارات من جهة أخرى بشأن الإرهاب، وذلك من ثلاثة أوجه: تعريفه، وكيفية معالجته والتعاطي معه، والتواصل مع إيران.

ليس ثمة إجماع بين دول مجلس التعاون حول المعطيات التي من شأنها تعريف الإرهاب وتحديده. فقطر أكثر ليونة في درء التهمة عن التشكيلات والتوجهات الإسلامية فيما السعودية والإمارات أكثر تشدداً في توجيهها إليها. بل إن قطر قد اعتمدت بالفعل التمييز بين الطروحات الإسلامية السياسية، أي الصيغ التوفيقية التي تقرن ما بين إشهار القبول بالنظم القائمة وبين الدعوة إلى ترتيب سياسي اجتماعي قائم على مفهومها للدين من جهة، وبين التوجهات الإسلامية القطعية الرافضة للنظام السياسي القائم برمّته، سواء بشكله المحلي أو بامتداداته العالمية، والساعية إلى استبداله بآخر صارم أو قسري أساسه الانصياع والطاعة باسم الدين، من جهة أخرى. والتمييز بين الفئتين له ما يبرّره من حيث اختلافهما في المنهج، غير أنه للجمع بينهما ما  يسنده كذلك، لاتفاقهما من حيث الهدف وللتكامل الضمني بينهما رغم حدة التشاحن. بل يمكن اتهام الطروحات الإسلامية السياسية بأنها معبر نظري وعملي وحسب للتدرج إلى الطروحات القطعية. وقد كانت الأمارات دوماً على ريبة إزاء أي تمييز بين الفئتين، فيما كان موقف السعودية غير حاسم في البدء، قبل أن يتجه إلى الانسجام مع موقف الإمارات.

ولم يعد الاختلاف في وجهات النظر أزاء الطروحات السياسية الإسلامية مجرد أمر نظري مع اندلاع «الربيع العربي»، والحراكات المتوالية في تونس ومصر وليبيا واليمن والبحرين، بل أصبح شأناً ذا تداعيات عملية. ذلك أن قطر ارتأت أن الجماعات المرتبطة بالإخوان المسلمين في العديد من دول «الربيع» تشكل البديل الأفضل والذي من وسعه تحقيق الاستقرار ومنع التطرف من استقطاب الجمهور المنتفض، فعمدت بالتالي إلى تقديم الدعم لها واحتضانها. في المقابل فإن كل من الإمارات العربية المتحدة والمملكة العربية السعودية، للوقاية من خطر الشعبوية التي يتسم بها خطاب الإخوان المسلمين والمثيرة للقلاقل محلياً وعلى مستوى المنطقة، توجهت بالدعم المادي والعيني لمجموعات محافظة ولائية إزاء الحكم في نهجهها السلفي، أي أقرب إلى الخط الذي تلتزمه المؤسسة الدينية في السعودية. وجهد كلتا الدولتين انصب في اتجاه إعادة تشكيل النظام السلطوي والذي سعت الحراكات إلى إسقاطه، ضمن إطار أكثر عقلانية . بل ثمة من فاخر بأن أبو ظبي هي «عاصمة الثورة المضادة». فكان أن الجهود المتضاربة للشركاء الخليجيين الثلاثة، مع انضمام تركيا في نهجها وجهدها إلى الخط الذي التزمته قطر، ساهمت في تراجع الإشكالية المطروحة ضمن الربيع العربي إلى مواجهة بين السلطويين والإسلامويين، وإلى إخراج الأصوات الإصلاحية المدنية، والتي كانت قد أشعلت الحراك، من الساحة. أما التقييم السائد في العواصم الغربية للحركات الإسلامية فقد تأرجح بين مواقف القطبين القطري التركي من جهة، والإماراتي السعودي من جهة أخرى. وقد كانت حكومة الرئيس السابق أوباما أقرب للتصور القطري التركي، فيما حكومة الرئيس ترامب تجنح بوضوح نحو الموقف الإماراتي السعودي.

وبالإضافة إلى الخلاف في تعريف الإرهاب، فإن قطر قد تمايزت عن شركائها في مجلس التعاون في اعتمادها توجهاً «انفتاحياً» في التعامل مع المنظمات الإرهابية. فسواء كان الهدف الوصول إلى تسوية محلية في ساحات النزاع، أو إطلاق سراح محتجزين ومخطوفين، دخلت قطر في تسويات مالية مع منظمات إرهابية لا خلاف على تصنيفها. وإحسان الظن يدفع إلى القول بأن الهدف من هذه الإجراءات كانت التوصل إلى الحلول الفورية المطلوبة، بل وإدخال المنظمات الإرهابية في علاقة تبعية تسمح بقدر من الضبط لها، أو حتى التوصل إلى فك عقد الشبكات الإرهابية. أما القراءة الأقل تحسيناً للظن فبوسعها أن ترى في هذا السلوك وحسب تمويلاً مموهاً للإرهاب. ولا شك أن قطر قد نالت الثناء والتقدير الموضعيين بعد نجاح المفاوضات التي حققت بعض النتائج، مثل تخفيف حدة القتال في سوريا أو إنقاذ أشخاص اختطفتهم منظمات إرهابية. إلا أن الحصيلة الصافية لهذه الخطوات كان بالفعل المزيد من التمكين للإرهاب. والموقف الحالي للمملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة هو أن هذه النتيجة، أي تمكين الإرهاب، لم تكن عرضية، بل كانت هدفاً متعمداً وإن مستتراً لغرض زعزعة أمن المنطقة.

وقد اعتمدت قطر كذلك المنحى «الانفتاحي» في مقاربتها للعلاقة مع إيران وأدواتها في المنطقة، لبنان واليمن وربما كذلك البحرين. وتصف قطر مقاربتها هذه بالسيادية. والواقع أن الرياض والتي تلزم حلفاءها في العديد من الدول الإسلامية المستفيدة من الدعم السعودي بمواقف قد تكون أكثر تشدداً إزاء إيران من تلك التي تعتمدها هي نفسها، فإنها  تبدي قبولاً ضمنياً بالتمايز الذي تلتزمه كل من الكويت وسلطنة عُمان، بل حتى الإمارات العربية المتحدة،  في العلاقة مع طهران، لاعتبارات التجارة والجوار. غير أنه نتيجة لتآكل الثقة بين الرياض والدوحة، فإن المطلب السعودي إزاء قطر هو أن تلتزم هذه الأخيرة بصيغة الموقف من إيران المتّبعة في الدول التي تربطها بالسعودية علاقات زبائنية غير ندية، وليس بما يماثل الصيغ الخليجية. والمقولة التي تتكرر في الإعلام المموّل سعودياً هي أنه لا يجوز لـ «دويلة» من ثلاثمئة ألف نسمة أن تتحدى الإرادة الجماعية (للقوة العظمى على مستوى المنطقة والدول الموالية لها).

والمنطق الذي سار بقطر إلى هذا التمايز بالسياسات قد يكون صعب التوثيق، إلا أن استقراء خطوطه العريضة ممكن. فهذا التمايز يعود إلى الانقلاب القصر عام ١٩٩٦، إذ اجتمعت حول الأمير حمد، أمير قطر الجديد، شخصيات داعية إلى نسخة معدّلة من العروبة اللينة ذات النكهة الإسلامية، مع الإقرار الضمني بأن العقائديات لم تفلح، ومع التركيز على الثقافة والاقتصاد كوسائل للاستنهاض المحتم. وبدا أن الأمير حمد يجتهد بمشروع تحديثي لقطر يضعها في صدارة النهضة العربية الإسلامية العتيدة. إلا أن الليونة في التأطير قد استقطبت كذلك التوجهات المتعارضة. فقطر أضحت عامل تطبيع مع إسرائيل، فيما هي تحتضن أصواتاً معادية لها، وقطر سعت إلى شراكة طويلة الأمد مع الولايات المتحدة فيما هي تمدّ اليد لإيران. وتضافرت التفسيرات التي تضع الإخوان المسلمين أو حتى عزمي بشارة عضو الكنيست الإسرائيلي سابقاً في صلب عملية تشكيل الرؤية القطرية الجديدة. ولا يمكن استبعاد أية من الفرضيتين، ولكن دون الجنوح إلى المبالغات الاختزالية. فقد استمر الأمير حمد بالإمساك بزمام التفاصيل في جهده لجعل قطر قوة مؤثرة اقتصادية ومعنوية على مستوى العالم. وبدا للوهلة الأولى وكأن الربيع العربي جاء تصديقاً للرؤية القطرية. ولكن سرعان ما تبين أن الأمر كان واهماً. فقد كان توقع قطر أن يشكل الإخوان المسلمين عامل التحول المطلوب، إلا أن هذا التوقع خاب وانهار، فلجأت الدوحة إلى المنحى الدفاعي للاحتفاظ بمواقعها ومكاسبها في مختلف الساحات، ولمواجهة جهود شركائها في مجلس التعاون والساعية إلى إلزامها بوضع ودور موازيين فعلياً لما لجارتها البحرين.

والواقع أنه يمكن بالفعل الحكم على سياسات قطر بالفشل. فدعمها للإسلاميين التوفيقيين قد بالغ من حجمهم وساهم في تشتيت حراكات الربيع العربي. وتعاطي قطر مع المنظمات الإرهابية لم يؤدّ إلى تفكيك الشبكات بل العكس قد يكون الصحيح. أما خط الدوحة المفتوح باتجاه طهران، فقد ساهم وحسب في تبديد جهود احتواء المشروع التوسعي الإيراني.

غير أن هذا التقييم وما يبرزه به من وقائع بينة لا يبرر على الإطلاق الهجوم الصاعق على المؤسسات والقيم المفترضة من جانب المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة ومن معهما، تحت مسمّى مقاطعة قطر. فمؤتمر القمة العربي الإسلامي الأميركي المنعقد الشهر الماضي في الرياض حقق كسباً ظاهراً للموقف السعودي، وأنشأ أداة فاعلة جديدة لمطالبة قطر بالسير مع الجماعة. وسواءاً كان خبر التصريحات المنيبة والمنسوبة إلى أمير قطر صادقاً، أو كان نتيجة تزوير على الشبكة المعلوماتية، فإن السعودية وحلفائها لم تستنفد بالتأكيد الوسائل المتاحة للحصول على التصحيح المطلوب، قبل الشروع بفعل ملحمي الطابع في استنزافه لمجلس التعاون ومطالبته قيادة قطر بالخضوع والاستسلام، فيما يحقق الضرار الواضح بالمجتمع وحقوق الأفراد والمؤسسات المشتركة وسمعة المجلس والمنطقة. فمجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية كان قد برز كتجربة رائدة سبّاقة باتجاه تحقيق الرخاء والتقدم والاستقرار. وإذ برداء التعقل والحداثة يسقط لتحلّ محلّه من كل جانب لغة سجالات وتحديات من وحي الجاهلية (أو على خطى جمال عبد الناصر ومعمّر القذافي وصدّام حسين).

والمطالبة بالحد الأقصى، كما هو لسان حال الصف المعادي لقطر اليوم، يفترق عن المقاربة المتسمة بالحكمة والتدرج والهدوء والتي كانت دوماً أسلوب القيادة في الممكلة العربية السعودية. وليس من شأن الإصرار على الحد الأقصى أن يحقق النتيجة المرجوة، بل بوسعه أن يستجلب النتائج العكسية. والسعادة والشماتة لا تخفى في صفوف الخصوم والأعداء. فاللهجة الإطلاقية العادية لقطر قد شكلت دعوة مباشرة لطهران لتعميق التواصل مع الدوحة. وتوالي القوائم التي تصنف الأشخاص والمؤسسات إرهابية، وتسعى إلى إلزام قطر تنفيذ المقتضى، تمزج ما بين الإرهابي الحقيقي والمعارض السياسي وتتوقع من قطر مستوى من الدقة في تصفية الإرهاب غير متوفر في الدول المطالبة به. هذا فيما الإعلام المؤيد لتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية وغيرها من المنظمات الإرهابية لا يخفي غبطته بالمجريات، ويعتبر الصراع في صف خصومه وسيلة إضافية له للاستقطاب من خلال التركيز على الطبيعة الاعتباطية والهشة لمنظومة الدول الخليجية.

مثالية قطر في المرحلة السابقة، لمن يرى إحسان الظن، لم تحقق المبتغى، بل وفّرت لإيران متنفساً، وضخّمت من دور الإخوان المسلمين، بل أحياناً منحت المتشددين والإرهابيين حبل نجاة. فالمطلوب بالتأكيد السعي الحثيث إلى قلب هذه التوجهات، دون التفريط بالنتائج الإيجابية للسياسة القطرية فيما يتعدى هذه الأوجه. غير أن هذه المراجعة وإعادة الصياغة لا يجوز أن تستعمل كمبرر لتعميق السلطوية التي يعاد تأسيسها في دول الربيع. قد تكون سردية التحولات والتي اعتمدتها قطر على مدى عقدين من الزمن ساذجة بالفعل. إلا أن نقضها لا يعني تأصيل العودة إلى السلطوية والطغيان بما يحاكي حال المجتمعات العربي قبل ذلك بثلاثة عقود. وفيما الحكومة الجديدة في الولايات المتحدة منشغلة بالآني والطارئ، فإنه من المفيد الإقرار بحقيقة عوامل الضغط على مستوى المنطقة، والتي سعت قطر إلى التعاطي البناء معها.

لا المنطقة ولا العالم في وضع يسمح بتحمل انهيار إحدى التجارب الناجحة النادرة في العالم العربي، أي التعاضد والتكامل والاندماج كما تحقق في إطار مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج. ومصلحة واشنطن، الآنية كما على المدى البعيد، تقتضي أن يتحفظ المسؤولون فيها عن إصدار المواقف النارية، وأن يسعوا إلى احتواء التصعيدات العبثية وإلى المساهمة في تشكيل سياسة واحدة ومنسجمة على مستوى دول مجلس التعاون. والأذى الدائم قد وقع، إلا أن فرصة إنقاذ ما تبقى من فخ الضر والضرار لا تزال قائمة، وإن إلى حين.
 

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

The Gulf Crisis: A Tragic Act of Self-Immolation


Also available in العربية

June 15, 2017

Does Qatar fund terrorism? Certainly. It is an argument based on an accusation that is applicable to Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Egypt, Iran, Turkey, Russia, and the United States. As long as there is no agreed-upon definition of terrorism, any and all governments that provide support to non-governmental entities outside of their borders can be accused of aiding and abetting terrorism. Still, not all accusations are of equal weight, and the case against Qatar is not trivial. There is a substantive disagreement between Qatar on the one hand, and Saudi Arabia and the UAE on the other on three aspects of terrorism:  definition, management, and the engagement of Iran.

There is no agreement in the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) on the criteria to define terrorism. Qatar’s threshold for applying the terrorism label to Islamist movements is more lenient than that of Saudi Arabia and the UAE. Qatar has effectively accepted the distinction between political Islamism and radical Islamism.— The former is a version of the ideology proclaiming an acceptance of democratic principles while advocating for a socio-political order in which religion is paramount; the latter rejects the political order, locally and globally, and seeks its replacement with a militant, even predatory regime in the name of religion. A case can be made for the distinct consideration of the two versions, but a case can also be made for the symbiosis between them. Some accuse political Islamism  of serving as a mere staging ground for radicalism. The UAE has consistently been skeptical of any differentiation within Islamism, and while Saudi Arabian policy had displayed considerable ambivalence in the past, it has gradually embraced the UAE stance.

With the Arab Spring, these differences were no longer merely theoretical or marginal. In many Arab Spring theaters, Qatar deemed the local Muslim Brotherhood affiliate as a more viable option and a credible alternative capable of syphoning away radical constituencies. Accordingly, Qatar provided it with considerable support. Wary of the local and regional destabilization that could result from Muslim Brotherhood populism, the UAE and Saudi Arabia offered funds and materials to more conservative groups that accept the political quietism at the core of Saudi Salafism. They simultaneously strove to restore a more reasoned version of the challenged autocratic order. The combined efforts of these three Gulf rivals  degraded the Arab Spring debate into one between theocrats and autocrats, at the exclusion of the democrats.

In addition to disagreeing on definition, Qatar distinguished itself from its GCC partners in adopting a more “liberal” approach to  manage terrorist groups. Whether in order to seek local concessionsor to resolve hostage situations, Qatar entered into financial settlements with abject terrorist groups. A charitable assessment may see in such actions a tool to achieve results, create dependencies, and potentially fracture terrorist networks. A less charitable assessment may deem it a clear act of funding terrorism. Qatar earned immediate praise upon successful negotiations yielding some relief from warfare in Syria and the release of hostages held by terrorists. The net impact of these actions, however, further enabled terrorism. Saudi Arabia and the UAE declare the outcome intentional and aimed at regional disruption, not merely incidental.

Qatar also applied a “liberal” approach to its relationship with Iran and Iranian proxies in Lebanon, Yemen, and allegedly Bahrain. While Saudi Arabia leverages its leadership and patronage position in many Muslim-majority countries to demand alliance against Iran, it has accorded flexibility to GCC partners — Kuwait, Oman, and even the UAE — for proximity and trade considerations. Qatar sought to assert a more sovereign approach in its interactions with Tehran. In light of the distrust that has accumulated between Riyadh and Doha, Saudi Arabia has demanded that Doha comply with their anti-Iranian stance. The argument in Saudi media is that Qatar, a “statelet” of 300,000, ought not be challenging the collective will.

The rationale behind Qatar’s policy is difficult to document; however, it is possible to outline it. Qatar’s separate course dates back to the palace coup of 1996. Hamad, the new Emir, combined a new version of soft Arab nationalism with an Islamic tint, which focuses on culture and economy. Much of the modernization efforts of Hamad sought to place Qatar at the center of the putative Arab-Islamic Renaissance, although the fluid characterization of his project attracted contradictory tendencies. Hence, Qatar lightly pursued normalization with Israel, but also displayed anti-Israel posturing; it sought a strategic partnership with the United States, while also expanding ties with Iran. There exists much speculation about a disproportionate influence on the Muslim Brotherhood, and about the Rasputin-like role of former Israeli MK Azmi Bisharah. Neither can be dismissed, but both ought to be qualified. Hamad maintained a hands-on engagement, as he sought to elevate Qatar into a global economic mini-super-power, and a definitive regional agent of influence. The Arab Spring seemed at first to vindicate Qatar’s assessment, but it was an illusion: Qatar’s expectation that the Brotherhood would be the vehicle of transformation was proven thoroughly false. Qatar has since been forced to preserve its acquired footholds while countering efforts by its neighbors to scale it back to a Bahrain-like status.

The Qatari policy created a robust case against itself. Its support of accommodationist Islamists may have inflated their self-assessed influence and contributed to the derailing of the Arab Spring. Qatari engagement of terrorist organization has not resulted in any meaningful dismantling of terrorist networks; the opposite is true. And Qatari channels to Tehran weaken the sought-after containment of Iran.

None of these arguments, however, justify the assault on institutions and assumed values that have been committed by Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and sundry clients against Qatar in the current escalation. The U.S.-Arab Islamic summit in Riyadh last month was a considerable gain for the Saudi camp, providing an effective tool to prod Qatar in the desired direction. Statements attributed to the Emir of Qatar suggested that he was dissenting from some of the Riyadh’s decisions. Whether they are true or not, Saudi Arabia and its camp had certainly not exhausted the available options for redress before engaging in their GCC bullying that demands unconditional surrender from Doha’s leadership while inflicting damage on society, the rights of citizens, shared structures, and regional reputation. The GCC seemed to have evolved into a twenty-first-century haven of prosperity, progress, and order. Suddenly, the cloak of reason and modernity is shed and replaced by aggressive feuding and posturing worthy of pre-Islamic Arabia, or at least of the Nasser-Qaddhafi-Saddam legacy.

The stance currently taken by the Saudi camp is a departure from the deliberate, incremental, and quiet approach usually associated with Saudi leadership. It is unlikely to achieve meaningful results, or at least not the ones intended. Both Iran and the Islamic State are cheering the developments. Tehran has already extended a hand to Doha. The anti-Qatar coalition issued their own list of terrorists and terrorist organizations, demanding that Qatar dissociate itself from those listed. Further lists, issued by governments supporting the action against Qatar, were also circulated. Some names on these lists are recognized terrorists and terrorist outfits; whether Qatar has provided them with any support is contested. Some other names have explicit links to Qatar, but labeling them terrorists is rather controversial. Were standards applied in forming the lists applied across the board, many individuals and organizations benefitting from the support of Riyadh and Abu Dhabi would have to be included. In short, the coalition is seeking a level of purity from Qatar that it does not apply to itself. Radical Islamists are elated about the feud in their enemy’s camp, and are proactively highlighting the precarious and capricious nature of the Gulf’s political order in their recruitment campaigns.

Qatar’s idealism of yesteryear has not materialized. Instead it has provided Iran with relief against actions intended to curtail its project of regional hegemony, exaggerated the role of the Muslim Brotherhood, and even offered radical Islamists and jihadists a lifeline. It is thus important to seek a measured reversal of these policies; one that does not obliterate the positive achievements of Qatar, and one that is not premised on Qatar’s submission and surrender. Most importantly, though, the review of Qatar’s policies should not offer autocracy the license to strengthen its grip on Arab societies. The narrative embraced by Qatar almost two decades ago may have been naïve, but the alternative should not be a return to the oppressive authoritarianism of three decades prior. While the United States under the new administration focuses on the immediate, it is crucial to recognize the reality of the underlying regional pressures that Qatar sought to manage.

Neither the region nor the world can afford the collapse of one of the rare success stories in the Arab world, which is the cooperation and integration achieved by the Gulf States. For its own immediate and strategic interests, the U.S. administration should refrain from conflicting and inflammatory positions, seek to contain and diffuse this unnecessary escalation, and usher in a reasonable alignment in policy and approaches in the region. Permanent damage has already been inflicted, but the opportunity to rescue what is left still exists — in all probability, however, not for too long.

Customize your RSS Feed