أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

تطور دور المرأة في تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية"


متاح أيضاً في English

26 أيلول/سبتمبر 2017

كشف تقرير نُشر عام 2015 أنه إلى جانب شبكة واسعة من النساء المحليات، سافرت 550 امرأة غربية إلى سوريا والعراق وانضممن إلى تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" ("داعش"). وكشفت دراسة منفصلة نُشرت عام 2016 أن النساء شكلن ما متوسطه 17 في المائة من 4294 مقاتل أجنبي قادم من 11 دولة أوروبية، أي حوالي ألف امرأة، ولا يشمل ذلك القادمات من وسط وجنوب غرب آسيا وأفريقيا والخليج.

قد تبدو هذه النسبة صغيرة نسبيًا، ولكنها ليست ضئيلة. ومع انطلاق برامج مكافحة التطرف، ينبغي إيلاء اهتمام خاص للنساء اللاتي يعبرن الحدود عودةً إلى بلادهن. تحتل المرأة مواقعًا متنوعة في تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية"، كما تتجاوز في نواحٍ عدة الأدوار الهامشية التي حددها لها الدين. لذا فإنه من الخطورة والسذاجة أن يُستخف بمشاركتها ودورها كعضو نشط في تنظيم إرهابي مستمر. وفي ظل هذه الخلفية، ينبغي إلقاء نظرة عامة على تحول صورة المرأة داخل التنظيم خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية من بروزه الإعلامي من أجل فهم التهديدات المختلفة التي تشكلها ووضع استراتيجيات مناسبة للرد.

ولقد تطورت طبيعة مشاركة المرأة في عمليات التنظيم جنبًا إلى جنب مع تطور مسار التنظيم نفسه. ويتواصل هذا التطور اليوم حيث يضطر التنظيم إلى إعادة تشكيل نفسه في أعقاب الهزائم الجغرافية. فقبل عام 2015، تبنى التنظيم موقفًا واضحًا ضد سفر النساء إلى الخلافة الناشئة، معللًا ذلك بأن الحرب لا تناسب النساء. وآثر بدلًا من ذلك أن تبقى النساء المتعاطفات معه في مجتمعاتهن من أجل جمع التبرعات ونشر الدعاية وتربية الجيل القادم من المقاتلين. وفي ذلك الوقت، اشتهر التنظيم بارتكاب جرائم العنف الجنساني.

وفي الوقت الذي حقق فيه التنظيم مكاسب إقليمية غير مسبوقة في شرق سوريا وشمال غرب العراق، بدا أنه استوعب أهمية المرأة في الحفاظ على دولة عاملة وتسهيل إنجاب مواطنيها. وقد أدى استيلاء التنظيم على مدينة الرقة السورية عام 2013 بشكل خاص إلى تحفيز التحول في دعايته عبر الانترنت، فلم يقتصر تجنيد النساء على الأدوار الداعمة التقليدية كالزوجات والأمهات فحسب (والتي لا تزال أدوارهن الرئيسية)، بل أصبحت هناك أيضًا دعوات ليخدمن كطبيبات وممرضات ومعلمات وموظفات. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن المرأة قد أعطيت في نهاية المطاف مسؤولية رصد التزام النساء الأخريات، وهو ما اتضح في إنشاء لواء شرطة الخنساء النسائي. هذا التكيف مع الظروف المتغيرة انعكس لاحقًا في العدد السابع من مجلة "دابق" الخاصة بالدعاية للتنظيم عبر الانترنت، والتي خصصت قسمًا جديدًا يخاطب المرأة بشكل مباشر.

وقد ازداد عدد النساء اللاتي سافرن وحدهن أو بصحبة مرافقات إلى سوريا للانضمام إلى التنظيم الذي كان يحقق مكاسب إقليمية بمعدل سريع في ذلك الوقت. هذا التغيير دل على أن الارتباط الأيديولوجي بالتنظيم أصبح حافزًا هامًا، ولم يعد الأمر يقتصر على الأسباب الشخصية أو العائلية. وعلى الرغم من تزويج النساء سريعًا بمجرد وصولهن إلى مقر الخلافة، إلا أن ذلك يعتبر وسيلة الانضمام إلى التنظيم وليس الغاية.

وفي أغلب الأحيان، يتم تضخيم مفهوم "عروس الجهاد" بشكل خاطئ في الإعلام الغربي، وهذا الاعتقاد الخاطئ خطير لعدة أسباب، ولكن خاصة لأنه مهين بطبعه، فهو يسيء الفهم ويفرط في تبسيط انجذاب النساء إلى التنظيم على أنه نابع من الارتباط بشخص أو علاقة ما وليس من فكرة أو فرصة. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن التركيز على جانب الزواج في الحياة داخل دولة الخلافة يعني النظر إلى الانضمام إلى صفوفها من حيث السبب وراء رغبة الرجال في انضمام النساء، وليس السبب وراء اختيار النساء أنفسهن. ومن أجل تطبيق الإجراءات المناسبة لمكافحة الإرهاب، ينبغي على الإعلام ومسؤولي الحكومات في الغرب أن يعترفوا بأن النساء غالبًا ما يشاركن بشكل فعال في عمليات التنظيم، وأنهن لسن مجرد فتيات ضعفن أمام إغراء الرومانسية.

ومع استمرار انهيار الخلافة، وخاصة بعد استعادة السيطرة على مدينة الموصل العراقية مؤخرًا، ينبغي دراسة حسابات مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي الخاصة بالنساء المنتميات للتنظيم بشكل متواصل، باعتبارهن العدسة الرئيسية التي يُنظر من خلالها إلى واقع التنظيم الغامض. فعلى سبيل المثال، من المرجح أن حسابات شهيرة مثل "عصفور الجنة" أو "أم معاوية"، والتي اكتسبت شعبيتها من إبداء النصائح وسرد الحكايات للنساء المهتمات بالهجرة إلى دولة الخلافة، ستغير خطابها من مجرد سرد الحكايات إلى إعطاء الإرشادات.

ونظرًا لتضاؤل فرص الهجرة، فمن المحتمل أن هذه الحسابات ستدعم بشدة الهجمات الإرهابية في بلدان متابعيها. فبالفعل سُجلت حالات مثل البريطانية خديجة دير التي أعلنت عن رغبتها في المشاركة في أعمال القتل، كذبح الصحفي جيمس فولي، والمدونة الشهيرة أم ليث التي دعت عبر مواقع "تويتر" و"تمبلر" و"آسك إف إم" الشباب المسلمين الذين "لا يستطيعون الوصول إلى ساحة المعركة" إلى "جلب ساحة المعركة إلى أنفسهم"، وتشفين مالك التي وصلت إلى حد وصف هجوم سان برنادينو عام 2015 كأحد أهداف تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية".

وبعيدًا عن رؤية التنظيم لدور المرأة، فمن المهم أيضًأ فهم رؤية هؤلاء النساء لأنفسهن، مما يعد ضروريًا لتطوير نهج شامل لمكافحة التطرف العنيف، وخاصة الهجمات الفردية. وتشكل النساء جزءًا لا يتجزأ من جهاز التنظيم على الرغم من تصرفاته تجاههن والتي تنطوي على مفارقة تاريخية. وهكذا فإنه من الضروري فهم سبب انجذاب النساء إلى التنظيم بشكل أفضل، وخاصة أنه من المرجح أن تستمر الاتهامات المتبادلة التي دفعتهن إلى الانضمام إليه منذ البدء بعد عودتهن إلى بلادهن.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

The Evolution of Women in the Islamic State


Also available in العربية

September 26, 2017

A 2015 report estimated that in addition to an extensive network of local women, 550 Western women left their homes to travel to Syria and Iraq in order to join the Islamic State. A separate study in 2016 revealed that an average of 17 percent of as many as 4,294 foreign fighters traveling from eleven EU member states were female, putting the number at closer to 1,000.This does not include women traveling from Central and Southwest Asia, Africa, and the Gulf. 

This percentage may seem relatively small, but it is not insignificant. As countries’ nascent de-radicalization programs kick in, particular attention should be paid to women crossing back over the border. Women occupy a versatile position in the Islamic State and in many ways transcend the marginal roles for which scripture designates them. To discount their participation and agency as active members of an ever-persistent terror organization would be both dangerous and naïve. Against this backdrop, an overview of the transformation of the image women in the Islamic State have held over its past few years of media prominence is crucial to both understanding the varying threats they pose and to developing appropriate strategies in response.   

The nature of female participation in Islamic State operations has evolved along with the organization’s own trajectory. This evolution continues today as the group is forced to reconfigure itself following geographic defeats. Prior to 2015, the Islamic State espoused a distinct aversion to females traveling to the fledgling caliphate, stating that war was no place for women. Rather, it enjoined sympathetic women to remain in their communities to fundraise, spread propaganda, and raise the next generation of fighters. Meanwhile, the Islamic State also gained notoriety as gross perpetrators of gender violence.

As the Islamic State made unprecedented territorial gains in eastern Syria and northwest Iraq, it seemed to internalize the importance of women in both maintaining a functioning state and facilitating the reproduction of its citizens. Their capture of the Syrian city of Raqqa in 2013, in particular, catalyzed a shift in their online propaganda; not only were women actively recruited for traditional supporting roles like wife and mother (which still remains their primary function), but there was now an additional call for women to serve as doctors, nurses, teachers, and administrators. Notably, women were eventually given the responsibility to monitor compliance among other women, evident in the establishment of the all-female al-Khansaa police brigade. This adaptation by the Islamic State to changing circumstances was later reflected in the seventh edition of the group’s online propaganda magazine, Dabiq, which included a new section directly addressing women.

The number of women traveling alone or with female companions to Syria to join the Islamic State also increased as the group rapidly gained territory. This change indicated that ideological attachment to the Islamic State was now an important motivating force, rather than just personal or familial reasons. While women are quickly married off upon arrival in the caliphate, this should be viewed as a means of joining the Islamic State, rather than an end.

The “jihadi bride” aspect of women in the Islamic State is often erroneously magnified in Western media. This misconception is dangerous for many reasons, but especially because it is inherently dismissive. It misconstrues and over-simplifies women’s attraction to the group as stemming not from an idea or opportunity, but from an attachment to a person or relationship. Moreover, to focus on the marriage aspect of life in the caliphate is to view enlistment through the lens of why men want women to join, instead of why women themselves choose to go. In order to implement appropriate counterterrorism measures, Western media and government officials will need to recognize that women are often active participants in Islamic State operations rather than just vulnerable, young girls lured with the promise of romance.

As the caliphate continues to crumble, most recently with the recapture of Mosul, continued study of the social media accounts of women in the Islamic State is critical, considering they are a primary lens into the often obscure reality of the group.  For one, it is likely that popular accounts such as Bird of Jannah and Umm Muawiyah, who gained prominence via their tips and tales for women interested in undergoing the Hijrah, or the journey to the caliphate, will shift their discourse from anecdotal to instructive. Due to dwindling opportunities for migration, it is possible that these actors will more heavily advocate for terror attacks in their followers’ home countries. Already on record are women such as Khadijah Dare who trumpeted her desire to partake in murderous activities like the beheading of journalist James Foley; the notorious Islamic State blogger Umm Layth, who implored young Muslims via Twitter, Tumblr, and Ask.fm who “cannot make it to the battlefield” to “then bring the battlefield to yourself”; and  Tashfeen Malik, who went so far as to actualize Islamic State objectives with the 2015 San Bernardino attack.

Beyond the Islamic State’s view of the role of women, it is also important to understand how these women view themselves. This understanding is critical to developing a comprehensive approach to countering violent extremism, and particularly in combating lone wolf attacks. Women are an integral part of the Islamic State apparatus, despite the group’s anachronistic dispositions towards them. A better grasp of the Islamic State’s appeal to women is vital, particularly since the recriminations that drove them to the group in the first place will likely continue once they return home.

 

Customize your RSS Feed