أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الأسباب وراء معارضة نقل السفارة الأمريكية من تل أبيب إلى القدس


متاح أيضاً في English

14 شباط/فبراير 2017

استولت إسرائيل- المنشأة حديثا- على القدس الغربية في أعقاب حرب العام 1948 والقدس الشرقية في حرب العام 1967، ولكن لم تحظَ أي من عمليتي الاستيلاء العسكريتين باعتراف دولي. إلا أن الكونغرس الأمريكي تبنى عام 1995 "قانون سفارة القدس"، الذي يعترف بالقدس عاصمة أبدية لإسرائيل غير قابلة للتقسيم. ولكن كل إدارة أمريكية حينذاك، سواء أكانت ديمقراطية أم جمهورية، أجّلت تطبيق هذا القانون، مستشهدةً بمصالح الأمن القومي.

كذلك، سيُحسن الرئيس ترامب صنعًا لو لم يلتزم بتعهده الذي يقضي بنقل السفارة الأمريكية إلى القدس، وذلك للأسباب الآتية:

أولًا، ستناقض إدارة ترامب في هذه الحالة السياسة الأمريكية القديمة التي تعتبر القدس مدينةً محتلة كجزءٍ من قرار التقسيم التي اتخذته الأمم المتحدة عام 1947 لجعل القدس منطقةً دولية وإبقائها مفتوحةً أمام الأديان السماوية الثلاثة.

ثانيًا، ستناقض إدارة ترامب الالتزام الأمريكي باتفاقية أوسلو لعام 1993 حيث تبقى قضية القدس إحدى القضايا الرئيسية الخمس الواجب تسويتها في مفاوضات السلام النهائية بين الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين. فالاعتراف الأمريكي بالقدس كعاصمة غير مقسمة لإسرائيل من شأنه تقويض هذا الالتزام والحد من اندفاع إسرائيل لناحية سعيها إلى تسوية هذه القضية بشكل سلمي وكذلك إعطاء المتطرفين المسلمين حجةً لتصعيد الخطط الإرهابية ضد المدنيين في القدس.

ثالثًا، ستوسع هذه الخطوة الهوة بين الولايات المتحدة وحلفائها الأوروبيين، فبعد انتهاء مؤتمر السلام في الشرق الأوسط في باريس، أعربت فيديريكا موغيريني، رئيسة الشؤون الخارجية في الاتحاد الأوروبي عن قلقها من أن نقل السفارة الأمريكية إلى القدس سيكون له "عواقب وخيمة"، ونصحت إدارة ترامب ضد نقل السفارة الأمريكية إلى القدس وقالت إنها "قلقة" من أن يثير ذلك قلقا شعبيا في أنحاء العالم. " وأكدت موغيرينى أن الاتحاد الأوروبي سيعمل على الإبقاء على بعثته في تل أبيب والاستمرار في احترام قرارات الأمم المتحدة التي تعارض ضم إسرائيل للقدس الشرقية التي يريدها الفلسطينيون عاصمة لدولتهم في المستقبل. كما أعلنت موغيرينى خلال مؤتمر صحفي انه “من المهم بالنسبة لنا جميعًا أن نمتنع عن اتخاذ إجراءات أحادية الجانب، وخاصة تلك التي لها عواقب وخيمة في قطاعات واسعة من الرأي العام في أجزاء واسعة من العالم." كما أضافت أنها “بالطبع قلقة من أن شرائح واسعة من الرأي العام في أجزاء كبيرة للغاية من العالم – العالم العربي وكذلك إفريقيا واسيا وأجزاء من أوروبا – يمكن أن يكون لها رد فعل على خطوة لن تكون منسجمة مع التوافق الدولي”. وترى موغيرينى أن تلك الخطوة من شأنها أن تؤدى إلى عزل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية على الساحة الدولية نظرا لأنها لا تتماشى مع الإجماع الدولي الذي نص عليه قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 478/1980، والذي يعارض ضم إسرائيل للقدس الشرقية كجزء من "عاصمة موحدة".

رابعًا، ستؤدي هذه الخطوة إلى تراجع الدعم من قبل الأنظمة العربية المؤيدة للأمريكيين على غرار الأردن والسعودية والمغرب ومصر، وهي دول تحتاجها الولايات المتحدة كحلفاءٍ لها في حربها ضد الإرهاب وتنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية".

خامسًا، قد تولّد هذه الخطوة اضطرابات في الشارع العربي، مقوضه بذلك التعاون الخجول بين إسرائيل والدول العربية المعتدلة. وإذا ما اتخذت عملية السلام المؤجلة منحًى عنفيًا، قد يُستهدَف المواطنون الأمريكيون والمصالح الأمريكية في المنطقة، ما يزيد من عزلة الولايات المتحدة في العالم العربي والمسلم. وكما أكد الملك عبد الله الأردني لترامب خلال زيارته الأخيرة إلى واشنطن، أن نقل السفارة الأمريكية من تل أبيب إلى القدس "يهدد حل الدولتين ويزيد من حدة الصراع الإسرائيلي الفلسطيني".

سادسًا، ستكتسي هذه الخطوة أبعادًا دينية عميقة في العالمين الإسلامي والمسيحي. ففي العالم الإسلام، ستعتبرها الجماهير جزءًا من الحرب التي تشنها إدارة ترامب على الإسلام، مما قد يدفع بالكثيرين إلى دعم إيديولوجية تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية". وبدلًا من "اجتثاث الإرهاب الإسلامي المتطرف من على وجه الأرض"، كما تعهد ترامب في خطاب تنصيبه، ستؤدي تلك الخطوة إلى تقويته. أما في العالم المسيحي، فستُعتبر تلك الخطوة تنازلًا عن القدس لصالح الديانة اليهودية. كما ستشكل تجاهلًا لحقوق المسيحيين الدينية ومراكزهم الدينية في المدينة المقدسة.

وباختصار، ستلهب هذه الخطوة الأوضاع في المنطقة من دون داعٍ، فتعرّض المصالح الأمريكية والأمريكيين لخطر الهجمات من جهة وتتسبب بزعزعة الاستقرار السياسي في الأنظمة العربية المعتدلة من جهة أخرى. بالإضافة إلى انه لا يوجد العديد من الفوائد للولايات المتحدة من جراء ذلك وحتى لإسرائيل. والرئيس ترامب كونه رجل أعمال ذكي سيزن قراره بحرص وسيتصرف على هذا الأساس.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

The Case Against Moving the Embassy


Also available in العربية

The newly established state of Israel captured West Jerusalem in the aftermath of the 1948 War and East Jerusalem in the 1967 War; however, neither military acquisition was recognized internationally. In 1995, though, the US Congress adopted the Jerusalem Embassy Act claiming Jerusalem as the eternal capital of Israel and that it should not be divided. However, each US administration since then, both Democrat and Republican, has stalled the implementation of this act, citing national security interests.

President Trump would be similarly well-advised not to act on his pledge to move the embassy to Jerusalem, for the following reasons.

First, the Trump administration would be contradicting America’s longstanding policy of considering Jerusalem an occupied city as part of the 1947 UN Partition resolution to internationalize the city and keep it open for all three heavenly religions.

Second, it would contradict US commitment to the 1993 Oslo Accords in which Jerusalem remains one of five major issues to be settled in the final peace negotiations between Israelis and Palestinians. A US recognition of Jerusalem as Israel’s undivided capital would undermine this commitment and diminish Israeli motivation to settle this issue peacefully while giving Muslim radicals the pretext to escalate terrorist tactics against civilians in Jerusalem.

Third, the move would widen the gap between the US and its European allies. Following the Mideast peace conference in Paris, EU foreign affairs chief Federica Mogherini expressed her worry that moving the US embassy to Jerusalem would have "serious consequences" and advised the Trump administration against moving the US embassy to Jerusalem as she "worried about a possible worldwide popular backlash.” Mogherini affirmed the European Union delegation will keep its embassy in Tel Aviv and continue to respect UN resolutions opposing Israel's annexation of east Jerusalem, which the Palestinians want as the capital of a future state. Mogherini said at a press conference that she believes “it is very important for us all to refrain from unilateral actions, especially those that have serious consequences in large sectors of public opinion in large parts of the world." She added: "I'm worried that large parts of public opinion in parts of the world that are quite significant -- the Arab world but also Africa, Asia and parts of Europe -- could have in reaction of a move that for sure would not be in line with the international consensus." The move would also alienate the US in the broader international community since it is not in line with the international consensus embodied in UN Security Council resolution 478 of 1980 which opposed Israel's annexation of east Jerusalem as part of its ‘unified capital’.

Fourth, the move would weaken support from the American-allied regimes in the Arab world such as Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Morocco, and Egypt which the US needs as allies in its war against terrorism and the Islamic State.
Fifth, the move could cause tumult in the Arab streets, damaging Israel’s timid cooperation with moderate Arab states. If the stalled peace process were to ignite into violence it very well might target US citizens and interests in the region, further isolating the United States in the Arab and Muslim world. Relocating the American embassy from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem, as King Abdullah of Jordan asserted to Trump in his recent visit to Washington, “would threaten the two-state solution and have a detrimental effect on the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.”

Sixth, the step would have deep religious overtones in both the Muslim and Christian world. In the Muslim world, it will be perceived by the masses as part of the war launched by the Trump administration against Islam, driving many to support the ideology of the Islamic State. Instead of “eradicating radical Islamic terror from the face of the Earth,” as Trump pledged in his inaugural address, it would empower it. In the Christian world, the move would be perceived as conceding Jerusalem to Judaism only. This would signal a disregard for Christian religious rights and sites in the holy city of Jerusalem.

In sum, such a move would inflame the region unnecessarily, exposing US interests and Americans to attack while causing political instability for moderate Arab regimes. There are not many benefits for the United States - and even for Israel - to take such a risky move. Trump, as a shrewd businessman, would do well to carefully weigh this decision and act accordingly.

Customize your RSS Feed