أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الطائفية في الأوشام


متاح أيضاً في English

ما من حربٍ في العالم لا تجلب معها المِحَن. فحتى ولو ربح "حزب الله" الحرب السورية، ستبقى الانقسامات الحادة بين الشيعة اللبنانيين. وقد أدّت الحرب إلى تفاقم ظاهرة الطائفية بطرق مختلفة. فيومًا بعد يوم، يزداد الفقراء في المنطقة فقرًا، في حين تحقّق الطبقة الوسطى استثمارات مربحة.  

وينتشر الشعور بالإحباط والاستياء على نطاقٍ واسعٍ في صفوف فقراء الطائفة الشيعية، كما يساهم فشل الأحزاب السياسية الشيعية في تحسين معيشة أنصارها في تعزيز هذه العقلية. وقد انعسكت هذه الظاهرة في متاجر رسم الأوشام. فأصبحت الأوشام تمثيلًا أكثر شيوعًا وقوةً للإضطرابات الداخلية، لاسيما في الطبقات الفقيرة والشباب غير المتعلمين بما فيه الكفاية والعاطلين عن العمل وغيرهم من أفراد المجتمع المهمشين.

وازدادت شعبية الأوشام الدينية بسرعة بعد اندلاع الصراع السوري. وتحمل الكثير من هذه الأوشام دلالةً طائفيةً مرتبطة بالطائفة الشيعية. وتعكس هذه الدلالة الطائفية الواضحة، بعدّة طرق، استعداد الأفراد في المناطق الطائفية المحدّدة لشنّ أي معركة للدفاع عن مجتمعاتهم الدينية. وإنّ هذه الأوشام هي الأكثر انتشارًا في المجتمعات الفقيرة، وتميّز بالتالي أفراد الطبقة الدنيا أكثر عن نظرائهم من الطبقات الاجتماعية الأخرى الذين سعوا لفصل أنفسهم عن الفقراء بحسب الحي السكني أو المدرسة مثلًا.

وعقدت مؤخرًا مجموعة من الشباب الشيعة العاطلين عن العمل والمحرومين اجتماعيًا واقتصاديًا سلسلةً من الاجتماعات في الضواحي الجنوبية لبيروت. وعلى الرغم من أنهم لم ينضموا إلى صفوف "حزب الله"، ينتمي هؤلاء إلى دائرة انتخابية تدعم الحزب عادةً، وتُعرف عمومًا باسم "الحاضنات الشعبية". وللتعبير عن إحباطهم إزاء أوضاعهم المعيشية والحرب السورية وللإشادة بأقوال الإمام الحسين عن الشجاعة والنبل في الحرب، وافق كلّ منهم على رسم وشم يحمل رموز الطائفة الشيعية. ويقول محمد، وهو صاحب متجر لرسم أوشام، إنّه في الفترة الممتدة من عام 2013 إلى عام ،2015 أظهر عدد كبير من الشباب اهتمامًا بوشم أجسادهم بصورٍ دينية. وقام هو وزميله بوشم 1700 شابٍ شيعي تقريبًا في خلال هذه الفترة. وانخفض الإقبال انخفاضًا حادًا عام 2016 ليصل إلى 200 شابٍ منذ أوائل عام 2016 حتى شهر آذار/مارس 2017.

ومن بين الأوشام الأكثر شيوعًا: "هبوا للانتقام للحسين" و"كلنا عباس يا زينب" و"خلّصنا يا بقيّة الله" و"يا زينب". ويحصل الكثيرون على وشمٍ جديد لتغطية وشمٍ قديم لا يحمل أهميةً دينية. وكان الإمام الحسين وشقيقه أبو فاضل العباس نموذجَين تارخيَين للصبر في وجه الفقر والحرمان الاجتماعي، وهما المشكلتان السائدتان في ضواحي لبنان التي يهيمن عليها الشيعة. وهكذا يُبدي الشباب من خلال أوشامهم استعدادهم للتضحية باللحم والدم في ما يعتبرونه معركةً محبطة وطويلة في سوريا.   

ويرتبط اهتمام الشباب بالأوشام بنتيجة الحرب، فينحسر هذا الاهتمام مع انحسار الحرب. ووفقًا لمحمد، عاد النشاط إلى سوق الأوشام بعد معركة عرسال في شهر تموز/يوليو الماضي.

وقد سمحت الأوشام لأبناء المجتمع الشيعي الفقير بالإنخراط في خطاب الحرب بأجسادهم، ما منحهم صوتًا كانوا يفتقرون إليه في السابق. وحسب المساحة من أجسادهم التي تغطيها الرموز والشعارات الدينية، تخيف رؤية أجسادهم الآخرين أحيانًا. ويقول محمد: "إنّ شكل الوشم على جسدي يثير الخوف. أعيش في بيئةٍ مليئة بالمشاكل حيث يستخدم الناس عددًا من الأسلحة الخفيفة. ويوصل الوشم رسالةً للآخرين بأنني قادر على الردّ على الاعتداء".

وإنّ القدرة على إيصال هذه الرسالة مهمة أيضًا عندما يتعلق الأمر بالصراع الطبقي. فإن الحادث الذي وقع في منتصف عام 2016 والذي قامت فيه مجموعة من الشباب المقيمين في منطقة الحرش التي تعاني من الفقر باقتحام منطقة الجناح الثرية يعكس درجة الإحباط والغضب اللذين يشعر بهما الكثير من الشيعة الفقراء تجاه نظرائهم الأغنياء.   

وقد حوّل حسين البالغ من العمر 24 عامًا جسده إلى لوحة رمزية تصوّر تاريخ الشيعة، مع الاقتباس "يا عباس" مكتوب على صدره. ووفقًا لحسين، تمثّل الصور التي تغطي جسده قدسية الشيعة وترتبط بالحروب في سوريا والعراق. ويوضح أنّ وشم الدمعة في زاوية عينه اليسرى يذكّره بحزنه على موت الإمام الحسين، كما يعكس إصراره على توفير قوته اليومي. ولكن للدمعة قصة أخرى، فغالبًا ما يستخدمها المراهقون كرمز إلى انخراطهم في العصابات المنتشرة في جميع أنحاء الأحياء التي يكثر فيها العنف والجرائم.

ويقول جعفر البالغ من العمر 20 عامًا إنّ الأحدات التي وقعت حيث يقيم في منطقة صبرا المعروفة بالجرائم تسببت في شعوره بالخوف: "يسيطر العنف على هذه المنطقة، ويتجول فيها المدمنون على المخدرات من دون أي عقاب".   

ولم تنفّذ الحكومة اللبنانية مشاريع إنمائية في ضاحية بيروت الجنوبية منذ عقود، كما لم تساعد الأحزاب السياسية الشيعية كثيرًا في هذا المجال. وأدّى ذلك إلى قيام ظروف مؤاتية للعنف. ويضيف جعفر: "نحن جاهزون لأعمال العنف لأنّ أوضاعنا المعيشية تجبرنا على ذلك".  

وفي الوقت عينه، تقوم الأجهزة الأمنية اللبنانية بمداهمات في المناطق الشيعية الفقيرة لإلقاء القبض على المجرمين بمن فيهم تجار المخدرات والأسلحة. وبينما ترسل الأجهزة الأمنية المئات إلى السجن، تفتقر إلى الموارد اللازمة لإعادة تأهيلهم. وتكشف نظرة سريعة على التقارير الأمنية الرسمية أنّ عددًا كبيرًا من الشباب المدانين وُلدوا في التسعينيات، ومن بينهم جعفر. وبحسب روايته، قد خذله نظام السجن، إذ قال: "دخلت إلى السجن بسبب سلوكي السيء وخرجت منه أسوأ بكيثر".

وما يزيد الأمور سوءًا هو أنّ المظاهرات التي يقوم بها "المشاغبون" غالبًا ما تصبح عنيفة. ففي شهر آذار/مارس 2017، قامت منظمات المجتمع المدني اللبناني وعدد من الناشطين بتنظيم مظاهرات ضدّ زيادة الحكومة للضرائب. وأثناء المظاهرة، رمت مجموعة من الأشخاص الملثمين زجاجات المياه على رأس رئيس الوزراء سعد الحريري بعد وصوله ليدعو المتظاهرين إلى تشكيل لجنة لمناقشة مسألة الضرائب. وتسبّب سلوكهم بموجة من الاستياء بين النخبة تجاه تصرفات المجتمع المدني اللبناني. وانسحب بعد ذلك المتظاهرون من الشوارع خوفًا من تعرّضهم للخطر.

وعلى مدى سنوات طويلة، ادّعى كلٌّ من "حزب الله" و"حركة أمل" أنهما يمثلان مطالب الشيعة اللبنانيين وتطلعاتهم. وحاولا توطيد سلطتهما من خلال إشراك الفئات المهمّشة، ولكنهما باتا مؤخرًا يتجاهلان أنصارهما الفقراء ويقدمان لهم خدمات أقلّ. وعلى وجه الخصوص، يفتقد "حزب الله" لأي خطة لتحسين حياة الجماعات المحرومة، ما يساعد على تفسير انخراطه المتزايد في الحرب السورية كوسيلة لتشتيت الانتباه. وإنّ عمق الأزمة التي يعاني منها الفقراء غير واضح، ولكنها أخطر من أن استيعابها حاليًا. 

وفي السنوات الأخيرة، اعتمد "حزب الله" على حملة إعلامية لتصوير تدخله في سوريا كحرب لحماية الشيعة في لبنان، وحشد الرأي العام لصالح هذه الحملة العسكرية. ومع ذلك، فإنّ هذه الجهود للتأثير على المجتمع الشيعي مقترنةً بالعسكرة المتزايدة بسبب الحرب لم تؤدِّ إلّا إلى مفاقمة المشكلة.  

وحاولت وسائل الإعلام الموالية لـ"حزب الله" التعتيم على محنة المجتمع الشيعي اللبناني من خلال نشر النجاحات السطحية. وفي منتصف شهر حزيران/يونيو 2017، أطلقت محطة تلفزيونية مؤيدة لـ"حزب الله" حملةً إعلانية تصوّر ضاحية بيروت الجنوبية في حالة ممتازة بشوارع نظيفة ورجال شرطة ينظمون حركة المرور. كما حاولت الحملة تصوير تدخّل الحزب في سوريا كحرب استباقية ضد الارهاب وضرورية للحفاظ على استقرار ضواحي بيروت وجمالها. ومع ذلك، تمّ التصدي بسرعة لهذه الإعلانات من قبل شابة مناصرة لـ"حزب الله" كتبت تعليقًا على موقع فيسبوك أنّ الوضع في الضاحية أسوأ بكثير ممّا يصوّره الإعلان.

ومن المرجّح أن يتدهور وضع المجتمع الشيعي الفقير مع مرور الوقت، إذ إنّ الوضع في سوريا لا يزال يُلحق الضرر بالمجتمع الشيعي اللبناني. ويمكن أن تكون إحدى العواقب ولادة حركة تزرع فوضى أكثر ممّا هو موجود. ولا تتأثر الطبقة العليا إلى حدٍّ كبير بعواقب الانقسامات الطائفية في الوقت الحاضر. ومع ذلك، إذا اجتمعت هذه التوترات في حركة سياسية منظمة جديدة، ستشعر كل الفئات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية في لبنان بآثارها

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Tattoo Sectarianism


Also available in العربية

October 05, 2017

There is not a war in the world that does not bring misfortune. Even if Hezbollah wins the Syrian war, sharp divisions among the Lebanese Shia will remain. The war has exacerbated the phenomenon of sectarianism in a variety of ways. Day after day, the region’s poor become poorer, while the middle class make profitable investments.

Frustration and resentment are widespread among poor members of the Shia community, and the failure of Shia political parties to improve the lives of their constituents has only contributed further to this mentality. This phenomenon has reverberated inside tattoo shops. Particularly among the lower classes, undereducated youth, the unemployed, and other marginalized members of society, tattoos are becoming a more common and powerful representation of inner turmoil.

Religious tattoos grew quickly in popularity after the outbreak of the Syrian conflict. Many of these tattoos carry a sectarian connotation associated with the Shia sect. This highly sectarian connotation, in many ways, reflects the willingness of individuals in strictly delineated sectarian regions to wage any battle to defend their religious communities. These tattoos are most prevalent among poor communities, thus distinguishing members of the lower class even further from their counterparts in other social classes who have already endeavored to segregate themselves from the poor--by neighborhood or school, for instance.

Recently, a group of unemployed and socioeconomically-disadvantaged Shia youth held a series of meetings in Beirut’s southern suburbs. Although they had not joined the ranks of Hezbollah, they belonged to a constituency that would typically support the party, commonly known as “popular incubators.” As an expression of frustration at their living conditions and the Syrian war, and as an homage to the Imam Hussein’s words about courage and nobility in warfare, each agreed to get a tattoo incorporating symbols of the Shia sect. One tattoo shop owner, Muhammed said that from 2013 to 2015, many youths took interest in tattooing their bodies with religious images. He and his friend tattooed nearly 1,700 young Shia during this time period. Turnout declined sharply in 2016, down to 200 from early 2016 through March 2017.

Among the most popular tattoos were: “Rise to avenge Hussein;” “We are all your Abbas, Zainab;” “Save us, oh Remnant of God;” and “Oh, Zainab.” Many get new tattoos to cover old ones that do not carry religious significance. The Imam Hussein and his brother, Abu Fadl al Abbas, were both historical models of patience in the face of poverty and social deprivation, two problems prevalent within Lebanon’s Shia-dominated suburbs. Likewise, through their tattoos, the youths demonstrate their willingness to make sacrifices of flesh and blood in what they see as a frustrating, prolonged battle in Syria.

Youth interest in tattoos is connected with the outcome of the war; as the war recedes, so too does interest in tattoos. After the battle of Arsal last July, the tattoo market was once again reenergized, according to Muhammed.

Tattoos have allowed poor Shia communities to engage in the discourse of war with their bodies, granting them a voice they lacked previously. Depending on how much of their body is covered in religious symbols and slogans, the sight of their bodies sometimes frightens others. “The form of the tattoo on my body incites fear,” said Muhammed. “I live in an environment filled with problems, where people use a number of light weapons. Tattoos communicate a message to others that I am able to respond to aggression.”

The ability to send this message is also relevant when it comes to class conflict. An incident in mid-2016 in which a group of young people residing in the poverty-stricken Al-Harsh area stormed the wealthy area of al-Janah reflects the degree of frustration and anger that many poor Shia hold toward their wealthier counterparts.

24-year-old Hussein has transformed his body into a symbolic canvas depicting Shia history, with the quote, “Oh, Abbas” written across his chest. According to Hussein, the images that cover his body represent the sanctity of the Shia and are tied to the wars in Syria and Iraq. The teardrop tattoo at the corner of his left eye reminds him of his sadness for the death of Imam Hussein, he explains; it also reflects his persistence in finding his daily sustenance. But the teardrop has another story: teenagers often use it to symbolize their involvement in gangs scattered throughout rough neighborhoods.

20-year-old Jaafar says that the events that have occurred where he lives in the Sabra neighborhood, an area known for crime, has caused him fear: “Violence rules the area, and drug addicts roam through it with impunity,” he says.

The Lebanese government has not implemented development projects in Beirut’s southern suburb of Dahieh for decades, nor have the Shia political parties been much help. This has created fertile conditions for violence. “We are prepared for acts of violence because our living situations force us to be this way,” according to Jaafar.

Meanwhile, the Lebanese security apparatus conducts raids into poor Shia areas to arrest outlaws, including drug and arms dealers. While it sends them to prison by the hundreds, it lacks the resources necessary to rehabilitate them. A cursory glance at official security reports reveals that a large number of convicted youth were born in the 1990s, including Jaafar. By his account, the prison system failed him: “I entered prisons on account of my bad behavior, and I came out much worse.”

To make matters worse, demonstrations by these “troublemakers” often turn violent. In March 2017, Lebanese civil society organizations and activists organized demonstrations against the government’s move to raise taxes. During the protest, a group of masked individuals chucked water bottles at Prime Minister Saad Hariri’s head after he arrived to invite the demonstrators to form a committee to discuss the tax issue. Their behavior caused a wave of resentment among the elite toward Lebanese civil society movements. The demonstrators subsequently withdrew from the streets, fearful of being drawn into danger.

For many years, both Hezbollah and Amal have claimed to represent the demands and aspirations of Lebanese Shia. They have attempted to consolidate their power by co-opting marginalized groups, but lately they have begun to ignore and cater less to their poorer constituents. In particular, Hezbollah does not have a plan to improve the lives of deprived communities, which helps explain their increased involvement in the Syrian War as a tool of distraction. The depth of the crisis afflicting the poor is unclear, but it is currently too serious to contain.

In recent years, Hezbollah has relied on a media campaign in order to portray its intervention in Syria as a war to protect Lebanese Shia, and to mobilize public opinion in favor of this military campaign. However, these efforts to sway the Shia community, combined with increased militarization due to the war, have only exacerbated the issue.

Media loyal to Hezbollah has also attempted to obscure the plight of the Lebanese Shia community by publicizing superficial successes. In mid-June 2017, one pro-Hezbollah TV station launched an ad campaign that depicted Dahieh, the southern suburb of Beirut, in prime condition--with clean streets and policemen regulating traffic. The campaign at-tempted to portray the party’s Syria intervention as a preemptive war on terror neces-sary to preserve the stability and beauty of Beirut’s suburbs. However, the ads were quickly countered by a young, pro-Hezbollah woman, who wrote in a Facebook post that the situation in Dahieh was much worse than depicted in the ad.

The situation of poor Lebanese Shia will likely deteriorate over time, as the situation in Syria continues to wreak havoc on the Lebanese Shia community. One consequence could be the birth of a movement that sows even more chaos than is already present. The upper class is largely unaffected by the consequences of sectarian divisions at the moment. However, if these tensions consolidate into a new, organized political movement, all socioeconomic groups in Lebanon will feel its effects.

Customize your RSS Feed