أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

السيسي والأقباط: إلى أين؟


متاح أيضاً في English

شهدت الكنيسة البطرسية بالكاتدرائية المرقسية في العباسية بوسط القاهرة، يوم الحادي عشر من ديسمبر/ كانون الأول الماضي، تفجيرًا ضخمًا، أودى  بحياة أكثر من 25 شخصاً وإصابة العشرات. ويأتي هذا التفجير؛ ليلقي بمزيد من القلق والتوتر على أوضاع الأقباط في مصر، تلك الأوضاع المتقلبة والمضطربة في الأساس منذ فترة طويلة.

وفور وقوع التفجير، انتشرت حالة من الغضب بين الأقباط وخاصة الشباب منهم، والذين توافدوا على موقع الحادث وهم يرددون هتافات وشعارات مناوئة لكل من عبد الفتاح السيسي ووزير داخليته، متهمين إياهما بالمسؤولية عن حدوث تلك المذبحة. وامتد الأمر أيضا، إلى توجيه مظاهر الغضب صوب الإعلاميين المقربين من النظام المصري، أمثال لميس الحديدي وأحمد موسى اللذين تعرضا للاعتداء والطرد من قبل المتظاهرين؛ في رسالة رافضة لوجودهما ولمحاولاتهما تبرير إخفاق النظام في منع تلك المذبحة.

ونتيجة لتلك التظاهرات التي خشي النظام أن تتفاقم ، قررت الحكومة إعلان حالة الحداد في البلاد لمدة ثلاثة أيام، وشارك السيسي في حضور الجنازة، وعوضاً عن أن تقام مراسم جنازة الضحايا بالكاتدرائية المرقسية الكبرى الواقعة في وسط القاهرة؛ كما هو متعارف عليه في مثل تلك الأحداث الكبيرة، فقد أقيمت تلك المراسم بإحدى الكنائس التي تقع في ضاحية مدينة نصر، ولم يُسْمحْ بحضورها؛ إلا لأهالي الضحايا حيث أن  كل قبطي حاول الدخول إلى تلك المنطقة في ذلك اليوم بدون تصاريح؛ انتهى مصيره بالقبض عليه، مما أثار حفيظة الكثير من الأقباط تجاه تلك الإجراءات التي تمت بالتنسيق بين الدولة والكنيسة، وهم يتساءلون: أليس من حق الأقباط توديع شهدائهم؟!  وكان وقد سبق أن أعلن السيسي بنفسه عن المتورط في ذلك التفجير، كما أنه عبر عن رفضه للاتهامات التي تدين أجهزة الأمن بتهمة التقصير أو الخلل.

لقد كانت الرسالة، مفادها أن نظام عبد الفتاح السيسي الذي كان يعتبر الأقباط الداعم الأكبر له؛ صار بين ليلة وضحاها يخشى تظاهرهم الناتج عن الإحساس بخيبة الأمل وانعدام الثقة. ويبدو أن السيسي قد أيقن بأن قيادة الكنسية المتمثلة في "البابا" لن تستطيع كبح جماح شباب الأقباط الغاضب، ففضل التعامل معهم عن طريق القبضة الأمنية. ولم تكن قيادة الكنسية أيضاً، بعيدة عن انتقادات الأقباط الذين يرونها تسبح في فلك النظام؛ حتى ولو كان ذلك على حساب الأقباط أنفسهم، حيث أصبح البابا "توا ضروس الثاني"، والذي صاروا يطلقون عليه لقب "بابا النظام"، محل انتقاد نتيجة تورطه في بعض الإجراءات التي ترهن مصير الأقباط بأمور سياسية. والرسالة الأخرى التي حملها تعامل السيسي مع الأقباط أمنياً، بأنه لن يتردد في استخدام القوة ضد أياً من حلفائه المقربين إذا شعر بانه سوف يعارضه أو يمثل مصدر تهديد حتى ولو محتمل.
ولم تكد الأمور تهدئ حتى ولو قليلا بالنسبة للأقباط لبضعة أيام بعد حادث التفجير المروع الذي أستهدف الكنيسة البطرسية حتى عاودت الاشتعال مرة أخرى، حيث شهدت البلاد عدداً من الحوادث في عدة محافظات منها الإسكندرية حيث قام أحد اتباع الجماعة السلفية المتشددة بذبح أحد التجار الأقباط أمام محله، كما تم العثور على قبطي وزوجته مذبوحين في منزلهما بمحافظة المنوفية، ثم في وقت لاحق تم العثور على طبيب قبطي أيضا مذبوح في شقته بمحافظة أسيوط جنوب مصر، مما يؤكد أن الأقباط مستهدفين في مختلف مناطق ومحافظات مصر.

وفى التاسع عشر من فبراير/شباط المنصرم، بث تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية بسيناء فيديو يتوعد فيه الأقباط بالاستهداف أينما كانوا واصف إياهم بأنهم مدعومين من الدول الصليبية والولايات المتحدة ولهم علاقات مع دوائر النظام المصري، واستطرد المتحدث في الفيديو "لزاماً على المجاهدين والموحدين استهداف نصارى مصر وتنغيص عيشهم، وإدخالهم في دائرة الصراع فهم من جملة المحاربين الصلبيين" على حد قوله. كما أعلن المتحدث بأن التنظيم هو من قام بتفجير الكنيسة البطرسية في كانون الأول/ ديسمبر الماضي.

وبالفعل في أعقاب بث هذا الفيديو بدأت عناصر الدولة الإسلامية في سيناء بالقيام بعمليات قتل وذبح وحرق لعدد من الأقباط في ظل غياب تام وكامل للدولة بالرغم من علمها بأن الأقباط أصبحوا الهدف الأول لتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية، وتحت وطأة تلك الهجمات الشرسة التي استهدفتم وفى ظل غياب أي دور لقوات الجيش أو الشرطة لتأمينهم، أمسى الأقباط المتواجدين في سيناء عرضة للتهجير وبدأوا بالنزوح القسري  إلى مدينة الإسماعلية في منطقة غرب قناة السويس، تاركين ورائهم منازلهم وممتلكاتهم، ويقدر عدد هؤلاء حتى الأن ب 133 أسرة بأجمالي 546 فرد.

وبدلاً من البحث عن حل لمشكلة هؤلاء على أساس انهم مواطنين مصريين بغض النظر عن الانتماء الديني، اخذ النظام في استخدام أذرعه الإعلامية لنزع صفة النزوح والتهجير عما حدث، وكعادته في مساندة النظام على حساب الأقباط؛ خرج البابا تواضروس لإصدار بيان في الأول من مارس الجاري يرفض فيه استخدام لفظ التهجير لوصف ما يحدث. مما أثار موجة من السخط والاستياء ليس فقط بين الأقباط ولكن أيضاً بين نشطاء حقوق الأنسان والمجتمع المدني الذين يروا في تصريحات البابا نوع من التدليس للحقائق ومساعدة النظام على التهرب من مسئولياته أمام المجتمع والقانون الدولي.

وبالرغم من كل هذا الغضب العارم بين صفوف السواد الأعظم من الأقباط، كانت هناك بعض الأصوات القبطية التي تحاول تبرئة سمعة نظام السيسي من المصائب المتلاحقة التي تحيق بالأقباط، مستخدمين نفس حجة النظام في تخويف الأقباط بفزاعة عودة الإسلامين إلى المشهد كبديل عن النظام الحالي في حالة المطالبة برحيله.

وهنا وبعد مرور قرابة ثلاثة أعوام على حكم السيسي يجد الأقباط أحوالهم تصاب بحالة من التدهور المستمر الذي صار غير معروف نهايته بعد وصول العنف ضدهم إلى مراحل غير مسبوقة، حتى صار ما كانوا يخشون وقوعه من تعرض لنفس مصير الأقليات الأخرى التي كانت بسوريا والعراق أمر واقع؛ ومروا بكل تفاصليه من تدمير للكنائس لقتل وذبح وحرق للأشخاص ونهب للممتلكات وصولاً إلى مرحلة التهجير القسري والنزوح الجماعي.

وفى النهاية لن يحصل الأقباط تحت حكم السيسي إلا على المزيد من الخسائر المستمرة والمزيد من التخلي عنهم وتركهم فريسة في براثن الإرهاب حتى يبرر شرعية استمراره أمام العالم كمحارب للإرهاب على غير الحقيقة الواقعة، وبالتزامن مع هذه الخسائر التي يتعرض لها الأقباط فلن يحصلوا من السيسي إلا على زيارة كل عام لقداس عيد الميلاد ومزيد من الوعود الفارغة والكلام المعسول، التي لا تعد كونها أكثر من رسائل لتحسين صورته أمام الغرب أكثر منها اهتمام موجه للأقباط أو الداخل المصري.
وتأتى كل هذه التطورات اللافتة في المشهد المصري، لتزيده تعقيداً وتلقى بظلال القلق ليس فقط على أحوال الأقباط بل أيضاً على مصر ، ليصبح التساؤل ليس فقط حول مستقبل الأقباط بل حول مستقبل مصر بشكل عام تحت حكم السيسي.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Sisi and the Copts: Grim Prospects for a Troubled Relationship


Also available in العربية

March 20, 2017

On December 11, a massive explosion shattered St. Mark’s Cathedral in Abbasia, central Cairo, claiming the lives of more than 25 worshipers and wounding scores of others. The event cast even more anxiety and strain over the situation of Egypt’s Copts, which has been volatile and troubled for some time.

Immediately after the blast, anger spread among Copts, especially youths, who gathered at the site of the incident chanting slogans against both Egyptian President Abdel Fatah el-Sisi and his interior minister, holding them ultimately responsible for the massacre. Anger quickly escalated against media personalities close to the Egyptian regime, including Lamid el-Hadidy and Ahmed Moussa, who were assaulted and expelled by the protesting crowd, ostensibly rejecting their efforts to justify the regime’s failure to prevent the attack.

Fearing that these demonstrations might grow, the government declared an official state of mourning in the country for three days. President Sisi himself attended the funeral for the victims. But rather than holding the funeral service at the main St. Mark’s Cathedral in central Cairo, as would have been expected, the ceremony was conducted in a church in the Nasr City suburb. Attendance was restricted to families of the victims. Other mourners from the Coptic community seeking to enter were detained, stirring the ire of many toward the harsh measures, which were in fact carried out in coordination between the state and the Coptic Church. The general feeling in the community could be summed up with one question: does the Coptic community not have a right to bid farewell to their martyrs? Prior to the funeral service, Sisi himself had named the culprit in the blast while simultaneously rejecting accusations against the security agencies for dereliction and deficiency.

The event was a clear indication that the Sisi administration, of which Copts had generally been major supporters, had instantly pivoted to fearing their protests, an expression of mounting disappointment and distrust. Sisi seemed to realize that the Coptic Church leadership, notably Pope Tawadros II, would not be able to curb the anger of the Coptic youth, and has thus resorted to security measures. Indeed, the Church leadership has not been immune to scholarship from many in the Coptic community, who accuse it of collusion with the authorities at the expense of the Copts themselves. Pope Tawadros II — who among detractors is dubbed “the regime’s Pope” — had already become subject to criticism for his involvement in controversial measures deemed detrimental to the status of Copts on political affairs. The security approach adopted by Sisi towards the Copts carried an additional message: that he will not hesitate to use force against anyone, even close allies, if his assessment is that they constitute an opposition or a threat, whether actual or potential.

The Coptic community was accorded little reprieve. A few days after the incident at St Mark’s Cathedral, Egypt witnessed anti-Copt incidents in several governorates. In Alexandria, a follower of a hardline Salafi group slaughtered a Coptic merchant in front of his shop; in the Monufia governorate, a Coptic couple was found murdered in their home; and in the Assiut governorate in southern Egypt, a Coptic medical doctor was found murdered in his apartment. Egyptian Copts felt targeted nationwide.

On February 19, the Sinai branch of the Islamic State terror organization released a video vowing to target Copts everywhere, considering them local proxies of the “Crusader” countries, including the United States, and accusing them of complicity with the Egyptian regime. The video declares that “it is incumbent upon the mujahideen and the monotheists to strike Egypt’s Christians, disturb their lives, and bring them into the circle of conflict, for they are among the warriors of the Crusaders.” It also claims responsibility for the bombing of St. Peter and St. Paul’s Church last December.

Indeed, soon after the release of the video segment, followers of the Islamic State in Sinai killed, beheaded, and burned a number of Copts — amidst a seemingly total absence of the state, despite ample awareness that the Copts had become a primary target for terror. Facing horrendous attacks and feeling abandoned by security forces, many Copts in the Sinai Peninsula felt compelled to relocate to the city of Ismailia, west of the Suez Canal, leaving behind their homes and property. One early count was 133 families, with a total of 546 members.

The state media seemed more focused on contesting the characterization of these grave events as being population “displacement” and “flight” — terms with connotations of ethnic cleansing— rather than focusing on seeking solutions for a serious issue affecting Egyptian citizens irrespective of their religious affiliation. Pope Tawadros II, in a position perceived by many Copts as supportive of the government at the expense of the community, issued a statement on March 1 rejecting in turn the use the term “displacement”. The Pope’s statement provoked a wave of resentment and indignation, not only among Copts, but also among human rights and civil society activists who viewed it as a distortion of facts, crafted merely to absolve the authorities from their responsibilities before the international community and international law.

While the dominant Coptic reaction was one of anger and frustration, some voices within the community sought to exonerate the Sisi government from the successive calamities that have befallen Egyptian Copts, by resorting to the standard argument used by the government. The Coptic community was thus warned that the only alternative to the Sisi administration, were it to fall, would be the Islamists.

After nearly three years of Sisi’s reign, the Copts find themselves facing continuous decay in their livelihood and rights with no end in sight.  Violence against them has reached unprecedented levels, raising the genuine fear of suffering the same fate of minorities in Syria and Iraq, effectively obliterated. Copts have witnessed the destruction of their churches, the killing, beheading, and burning of their people and the looting of their possessions; and now they have to endure forced displacement and mass exodus.

The sentiment among Copts is that Sisi will provide no real security for their community. Copts will instead be left to attrition, loss, and neglect, facing on their own the depravity of terrorism — while Sisi, against ground realities, polishes his credentials and legitimacy to a world audience as a fighter of terrorism. While suffering continuous losses, the Copts expect little from Sisi apart from an annual attendance at the Christmas mass, more unfulfilled promises, and more supportive but hollow rhetoric — all designed to improve his own image before the West, with precious little regard for the actual interests of the Copts or other Egyptians.

These momentous events in Egypt add to the complexity of the nation’s delicate situation and cast shadows of anxiety, not only over the Copts, but also over Egypt as a whole. The question is thus not just about the future of the Copts but about the future of all of Egypt under Sisi’s precarious rule.

 

Customize your RSS Feed