أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الأهداف الطاقوية لروسيا في سوريا


متاح أيضاً في English

عندما بدأت روسيا تدخلها العسكري في سوريا، كانت الاعتبارات السياسية محفزها الأساسي أكثر منها تلك الاقتصادية. لكن الآن، في وقت تميل فيه كفة الانتصار أكثر فأكثر إلى نظام الأسد، وجدت روسيا فرصةً جديدة لترسيخ موطئ قدمها في المنطقة. وفي حين تبدو قوات المعارضة مغلوب على أمرها نسبيًا واحتمالات الاستقرار أكثر واقعيةً، تتطلع شركات الطاقة الروسية إلى تجديد استثماراتها في قطاع الطاقة السوري وتوسيعها. لكنها لا تسعى إلى التنقيب عن احتياطيات النفط السورية المحدودة واستخراجها، فهي تختزن كميات هائلة، بل تحاول الاضطلاع بدور فعال في إعادة إعمار البنية التحتية للنفط والغاز في سوريا وتشغيلها. ومن خلال هذه الجهود الحثيثة، تأمل شركات الطاقة الروسية التحكم بجزء كبير من خطوط الأنابيب ومنشآت التسييل والمصافي والموانئ، وبالتالي الاستفادة من موقع سوريا كنقطة عبور لنفط وغاز المنطقة المتجهين نحو أوروبا. وبذلك، لن تنجح روسيا في توسيع نطاق هيمنتها فحسب شرق البحر المتوسط، وهو حلم يراودها منذ حروب القوقاز في القرن التاسع عشر، بل ستتمكن من تشديد قبضتها على إمدادات الغاز الأوروبية. 

المصالح الإقليمية

من الناحية الإنتاجية، لم يولِ قطاع النفط الروسي هذا القدر من الأهمية لسوريا. فاحتياطيات النفط السورية تقدّر بنحو 2.5 مليار برميل، أي 0.2% فقط من الحصة العالمية، في حين لا يكفي مخزونها من الغاز البالغ 8.95 مليارات متر مكعب لتلبية حاجاتها المحلية حتى. لكن عام 2010، دخلت "تاتنفت" السوق السوري من خلال مشروع تطوير في حقل قيشام الجنوبي قرب دير الزور، الذي يُعتقد أنه يختزن 4.9 ملايين طن من النفط. وفي عام 2013، مع دخول الحرب مرحلتها الأكثر دموية، فازت شركة "سيوز نفط غاز" الروسية بمناقصة حصرية للتنقيب عن احتياطيات الغاز البحرية السورية وتطويرها في منطقة الامتياز 12، ما زاد أصول الشركة المتواضعة قرب الحدود السورية مع تركيا. ومنذ ذلك الحين، علّقت الشركتان عملياتهما بسبب المخاوف الأمنية. لكن شركات الطاقة الروسية عازمة على العودة.

وفي عام 2015، أعلنت المديرة التنفيذية لـ “اتحاد منتجي النفط والغاز" غيسا غوتشل أنه "عندما يتوقف القتال ويستقر الوضع في سوريا، ستكون الشركات الروسية التي أرغمت على تجميد عملياتها بسبب الحرب الأهلية مستعدة لاستئناف أعمالها بسرعة وتنفيذ العقود المبرمة قبل الحرب المقدرة بقيمة 1.6 مليار دولار على الأقل". وبحلول عام 2016، تمكّنت حملة جوية روسية عشوائية وتدفق مطرد للأسلحة والمساعدات من قلب موازين الحرب إلى حدّ كبير لصالح نظام الأسد والحدّ من الضبابية السياسية السائدة، ما يؤكد أن هدف غوتشل قد يتحقق قريبًا. وفي وقت أصبح فيه الجيش السوري في موقع الهجوم، بدأ نظام الأسد يسمح للشركات الروسية بالنفاذ إلى قطاع الطاقة السوري في سابقة من نوعها. وفي شباط/فبراير من ذلك العام، سافر وفد سوري إلى موسكو للاجتماع بوزير الطاقة وأقطاب قطاع النفط حيث طلبوا من شركات النفط والغاز الروسية مساعدتهم على ترميم قطاع الطاقة المدمر في سوريا. في هذا السياق، قال وزير الخارجية السوري وليد المعلم إن بلاده مستعدة لتقديم "كافة المحفزات الممكنة" إلى الشركات التي تشارك في إعادة الإعمار. وقد تشرح مقاربة مماثلة، أقله جزئيًا، السبب الذي دفع بالحكومة السورية في تموز/يوليو 2017 إلى عرض نسبة 25% من أرباح حقول النفط والغاز المحررة من قبضة تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" على شركة "إيفرو بوليس"، وهي شركة مقاولات عسكرية روسية يُزعم أنها مملوكة من يفغيني بريغوجين، وهو صديق مقرب لبوتين.

قيمة سوريا بالنسبة إلى روسيا

قبل اندلاع الحرب، واجهت شركات النفط والغاز الروسية منافسة شرسة من إيران التي خططت لبناء خطوط أنابيب تمر في إيران-العراق-سوريا من قطر، التي سعت إلى ربط حقولها الغازية بتركيا من خلال أنابيب تمر في سوريا، وعبر مصر، التي أملت توسيع "خط الغاز العربي" من الأردن إلى تركيا. واحتاج قطاع الطاقة الروسي إلى استراتيجية سورية من شأنها، بحسب جيف مانكيو من "مركز الدراسات الاستراتيجية والدولية"، أن "تحرص على عدم إقدام أطراف أخرى على زيادة إمداداتها بطريقة تنافس الروس". وكانت شركات النفط الروسية، مدركةً قيمة سوريا كمركز لنقل النفط والغاز أكثر منه دولة مزودة، سعت إلى إيجاد وسيلة للمشاركة في مشاريع الطاقة السورية وليس التنافس معها. وفي ظل الدعوة التي وجهتها سوريا عام 2016، لاحت هذه الفرصة أمام الروس. وفي حال قبلت شركات الطاقة الروسية طلب سوريا، ستكتسب سيطرة كبيرة على قطاع الطاقة السوري، إذ إنها ستطالب بالقسم الأكبر من الحصص في الاستثمارات المغامرة التي تمدّها بالقوى البشرية والإمدادات المطلوبة. وبهذه الطريقة، سيضمن قطاع النفط والغاز الروسي أن أي بلد يدرس احتمال شحن منتجاته النفطية عبر مرافئ وخطوط أنابيب سوريا سيرغم على التماس رضا روسيا، إن لم يضطر إلى التفاوض معها مباشرة. ونتيجةً لذلك، ستقلل شركات النفط الروسية المنافسة من إيران أو العراق أو قطر أو السعودية. كما أن السيطرة على مشاريع مماثلة تعني أن روسيا ستتمتع أقله جزئيًا بالقدرة على التحكم بنحو 50.5 مليار متر مكعب/سنويًا من صادرات الغاز الطبيعي، أي ما يعادل 5.5 مرات أكثر من احتياطيات سوريا كاملة ونحو 27 في المائة من صادرات الغاز الطبيعي المسال الروسية السنوية.

فضلًا عن ذلك، يمكن أن يساعد الاستثمار في بنية الطاقة التحتية في سوريا على ضمان مصالح روسيا النفطية والغازية في دولة العراق المجاورة حيث وقعت شركة "سترويترانسغاز" اتفاقًا مع الحكومة العراقية لإعادة بناء خط أنابيب كركوك-بانياس الذي سيربط حقول "لوك أوجل" قرب البصرة وحقول "غاز بروم" قرب كركوك بميناء بانياس السوري الصديق، على بعد 35 كيلومترًا شمال منشأة روسيا البحرية في طرطوس. وكان قد تمّ تعليق المشروع عام 2011 بسبب تنامي الاضطرابات في المنطقة، ولكن لم تبرز مؤشرات كثيرة على التخلي عنه بالكامل. وفي حال استؤنف، بإمكان روسيا أن تحظى بشبه احتكار لمصالحها في المنطقة، إذ يمكن للشركات الروسية إرسال نفطها وغازها عبر خطوط أنابيب بنتها روسيا ليتّم شحنها من ميناء تحميه البحرية الروسية.  

أخيرًا، من شأن استثمار روسي كبير في مشاريع طاقة سورية أن يبرر استمرار الوجود العسكري في المنطقة، نظرًا إلى أن البحرية والقوات الجوية الروسية لا تعتزم مغادرة سوريا قريبًا. ففي كانون الثاني/يناير 2017، أبرمت روسيا وسوريا اتفاقًا يمتد على 49 سنة يسمح لروسيا بالإبقاء على أسطولها البحري في ميناء طرطوس، الذي تعتزم توسيعه ليشمل 11 سفينة حربية إضافةً إلى غواصات نووية، في وقت صادق فيه الدوما في تموز/يوليو على مشروع قانون لإنشاء قاعدة جوية روسية جديدة في سوريا. تجدر الملاحظة أن السيطرة على أجزاء كبيرة من بنية الطاقة التحتية في سوريا، الأساسية لاقتصاد البلاد، لا تمكّن روسيا من تبرير وجودها العسكري باعتباره دفاعًا عن مصالحها الاقتصادية فحسب، بل أيضًا تمنحها القدرة على ممارسة نفوذ أكبر على الحكومة السورية، ما يضمن دعم النظام لأي سياسات تفضيلية.   

المخاطر والمكاسب 

يمثل اقتصاد روسيا المتعثر التحدي الأكبر أمام تحقيقها هذا الهدف. فانخفاض أسعار النفط والاحتياطي النقدي الذي يُستنزف بسرعة يحولان دون سعي روسيا إلى إعادة إعمار مكلفة. كما أن مثل هذا التعهد يتطلب قدرًا من الاستقرار السياسي الذي لم يتمّ بلوغه بعد. غير أن تحسين الاقتصاد المحلي والاستقرار السوري ليسا وهمًا، حيث يقدّر تحليل أجراه "البنك الدولي" أنه بحلول عام 2019، سيكون الاقتصاد الروسي قد تعافى بالكامل من الركود الذي دام سنوات طويلة في وقت يشعر فيه تجار السلع الأساسية، بتشجيع من تدابير التقشف المتوقّع من "أوبك" اتخاذها لمواجهة الإنتاج المفرط، بتفاؤل حذر حيال ارتفاع أسعار النفط. ويتزامن كل هذا مع انتخابات روسية يتوقع بوتين فوزه الأكيد فيها، ما يضمن إمكانية مواصلة نظامه السعي وراء تطبيق سياسة خارجية طموحة على نحو متزايد. في هذه الأثناء، وفي حين أن عمليات وقف إطلاق النار ومناطق الحد من التصعيد في سوريا هشة، توفّر المسار الأوضح للسلام منذ كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2016. وعليه، ومتى يحين الوقت، ستستفيد شركات النفط والغاز الروسية من التزام بلادها بنظام الأسد، ما يضمن بقاء روسيا لاعبًا مهيمنًا في المنطقة لسنوات عديدة. 

ومن شأن القيام بذلك أن يقرّب روسيا من تحقيق بعض أهدافها الجيوسياسية الطويلة الأمد. أولًا، إلى جانب خطي أنابيب "السيل الشمالي 2" و"التيار التركي" عبر بحري البلطيق والأسود، ستكمّل السيطرة على "الحنفية" السورية طرق تصدير النفط الثلاثية التي تتلقى عبرها أوروبا الغاز. وبهذه الطريقة لن تتجنب روسيا المرور في دول أوروبا الشرقية وبالتالي رسوم العبور فحسب، بل سيصبح الاتحاد الأوروبي حينها عاجزًا عن شراء الغاز من أي دولة مصدّرة، بما فيها دول الشرق الأوسط، من دون إبرام صفقات بشكل مباشر أو غير مباشر مع روسيا. ثانيًا، من شأن تواجد طويل الأمد في سوريا أن يعزّز هيمنة روسيا في شرق البحر المتوسط. وستمثل قاعدة بحرية ومطارات قادرة على استيعاب أكبر وجود عسكري روسي خارج حدودها تحديًا كبيرًا لكلّ من شركات الطاقة الغربية العاملة في المنطقة، على غرار "نوبل غاز"، والدعم العسكري الذي توفره. ونتيجةً لذلك، ستقترب روسيا أكثر من ميزان قوى عالمي متعدد الأقطاب سعت إليه منذ سقوط الاتحاد السوفيتي.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Russia's Energy Goals in Syria


Also available in العربية

August 30, 2017

When Russia began its military intervention in Syria, it was motivated more by political incentives than economic ones. However, now that victory increasingly favors the Assad regime, Russia has found new opportunity to bolster its foothold in the region. With the opposition forces relatively subdued and prospects for stability appearing more realistic, Russian energy companies are looking to renew and expand their investments in the Syrian energy sector. But their aim is not to explore and extract Syria’s modest petroleum reserves—Russia has plenty. Rather, they seek to actively participate in rebuilding and operating Syrian oil and gas infrastructure. By undertaking such a massive endeavor, Russian energy companies hope to control significant portions of pipelines, liquefaction facilities, refineries, and terminals, thus capitalizing on Syria’s potential as a transit hub for regional oil and gas heading to Europe. In doing so, Russia will not only expand its dominance in the Eastern Mediterranean, a dream since the Caucasian Wars of the nineteenth century, but also solidify its stranglehold on the European gas supply.

Regional Interests

From a production standpoint, Syria never had much value to the Russian petroleum industry. Syrian oil reserves are at 2.5 billion barrels, only .2 percent of the global share, while its 8.95 billion cubic meters (bcm) of gas are insufficient to meet even domestic demands. Nevertheless, in 2010, Tatneft entered the Syrian market with a development in the South Kisham field near Deir-ez-Zor, which is believed to contain 4.9 million tons of oil. In 2013, with the war entering its bloodiest period, Russian company Soyuzneftegaz won an exclusive tender to explore and develop Syria’s offshore gas reserves in Block 12, adding to the company's modest holdings near Syria’s border with Turkey. Both companies have since suspended their operations, blaming security concerns for their decision. However, Russian energy companies are determined to return.

In 2015, executive director for the Union of Oil and Gas Producers Gissa Gutchel announced, “When the fighting stops and the situation in Syria is stabilized, Russian companies which had to freeze their operations due to the civil war will be ready to quickly resume their operations and fulfill contracts signed before the war that are valued at minimum at $1.6 billion”. By 2016, an indiscriminate Russian air campaign and a steady stream of arms and aid tipped the scales heavily in favor of the Assad regime and reduced future political uncertainty, ensuring Gutchel’s goal could soon be realized. With the Syrian army on the offensive, the Assad regime began to offer Russian companies unprecedented access to its energy sector.  In February of that year, a Syrian delegation travelled to Moscow to meet with the Minister of Energy and the heads of the petroleum industry where they asked Russian oil and gas companies to help restore Syria’s destroyed energy sector. The Syrian Minister of Foreign Affairs, Walid Muallem, said his country was ready to offer “all possible incentives” to companies participating in the reconstruction. Such an approach may explain, at least in part, why in July 2017 the Syrian government offered 25 percent of profits from oil and gas fields freed from the Islamic State to Evro Polis, a Russian military contractor allegedly owned by Evgeniy Prigozhin, a close friend of Putin’s.

Syria’s Value to Russia

Before the war, Russian oil and gas companies faced stiff competition from Iran, which planned on building an Iran-Iraq-Syria pipeline, from Qatar, which sought to connect its gas fields to Turkey by pipeline through Syria, and from Egypt, which hoped to expand the “Arab Gas Pipeline” from Jordan to Turkey. Russia’s energy sector needed a Syrian strategy that would, according to Jeff Mankoff of the Center for Strategic and International Studies, “make sure that other people aren’t increasing supply in a way that competes with them”. Recognizing Syria’s value as an oil and gas transport hub rather than supplier, Russian petroleum companies hunted for a way to participate in Syrian energy development rather than compete with it. With Syria’s invitation in 2016, such an opportunity presented itself. If Russia’s energy companies accept Syria’s request, they will gain significant control over Syria’s energy sector, as they would demand the bulk of shares in ventures for which they provide manpower and supplies. In doing so, the Russian oil and gas industry would ensure that any country seeking to ship its petroleum products through Syria’s ports and pipelines will be forced to consider Russia, if not outright negotiate with it. As a result, Russian oil companies would minimize any competition from Iran, Iraq, Qatar, or Saudi Arabia. Furthermore, having control over such projects means Russia will have at least partial access to approximately 50.5 bcms/year of natural gas exports, 5.5 times more than all of Syria’s reserves and approximately 27 percent of Russia’s annual LNG exports.

Furthermore, investing in Syrian energy infrastructure can help secure Russia’s oil and gas interests in neighboring Iraq. Stroytransgaz signed a deal with the Iraqi government to rebuild the Kirkuk-Baniyas pipeline, which would connect Lukoil fields near Basra and Gazprom fields near Kirkuk with the friendly Syrian Port of Baniyas, 35km north of Russia’s naval facility at Tartus. The project was shelved in 2011 due to growing instability in the region, but there has been little indication that it was fully abandoned. If it is resumed, Russia could have a near-monopoly over its interests in the region, as Russian companies could send their oil and gas through Russian-built pipelines to be shipped from a port defended by the Russian navy.

Finally, a significant Russian investment in Syrian energy developments would justify a maintained military presence in the area, as the Russian navy and air force are not planning to leave Syria soon. In January 2017, Russia and Syria agreed on a forty-nine-year deal allowing Russia to maintain its navy at the Port of Tartus, which it plans on expanding to house eleven warships as well as nuclear submarines. While in July, the Duma ratified a bill establishing a new Russian air base in Syria. By controlling significant portions of Syrian energy infrastructure-a crucial industry for the Syrian economy-Russia can not only rationalize its military presence as a defense of its economic interests, but also exert greater influence over the Syrian government, securing the regime’s support for any favorable policies.

Risks and Rewards

The greatest challenge to Russia realizing such a goal is its own floundering economy. Low oil prices and fast-evaporating cash reserves prevent Russia from pursuing a costly reconstruction. Such an undertaking also requires a level of political stability yet to be attained. However, domestic economic improvement and Syrian stability are not a fantasy. Analysis by the World Bank predicts that by 2019, Russia’s economy would be in full recovery from its years-long recession while commodities traders, encouraged by anticipated OPEC austerity measures against over-producers, are cautiously optimistic about a rise in oil prices. This coincides with a Russian election which Putin is all but certain to win, ensuring that his regime can continue pursuing an increasingly aggressive foreign policy. Meanwhile, Syrian ceasefires and de-escalation zones, while tenuous, have provided the clearest path to peace since December 2016. Thus, when the time comes, Russian oil and gas companies will capitalize on their country’s commitment to the Assad regime, thus ensuring Russia remains a dominant player in the region for years to come.

Doing so will bring Russia closer to realizing some of its long-term geopolitical goals. First, along with the “Nord Stream-2” and “Turk Stream” pipelines through the Baltic and Black Seas respectively, control of the Syrian “tap” would complete a trident of petroleum export routes through which Europe receives its gas. Not only would Russia circumvent Eastern European countries, thus avoiding transit fees, but the EU would also be unable to purchase gas from any exporter, including those in the Middle East, without direct or indirect dealings with Russia. Second, a long-term presence in Syria would increase Russia’s dominance in the Eastern Mediterranean. A naval base and airfields capable of hosting the largest Russian military presence outside of its borders will present a significant challenge to both Western energy companies operating in the region, such as Noble Gas, and to the military support that comes with them. Thus, Russia will be one step closer to the multi-polar global power-balance which is has sought since the fall of the Soviet Union.

Customize your RSS Feed