أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

التغيير ثمّ الغسل ثمّ الإصلاح: الحكومة التونسية ترزح تحت الضغط


متاح أيضاً في English

12 حزيران/يونيو 2018

في حين أن عملية تغيير الحكومة ستسترضي بعض الأحزاب وبعض المجموعات من المجتمع المدني، لن تؤدي الحكومة الجديدة إلى معالجة التحديات الأعمق التي تواجهها المرحلة الانتقالية الديمقراطية في تونس.

تعالت في الأسابيع الأخيرة أصوات بعض الأحزاب السياسية ومنظمات المجتمع المدني التي تدعو الحكومة التونسية التي يرأسها رئيس الوزراء يوسف الشاهد إلى الاستقالة وإفساح الطريق لتشكيل حكومة جديدة. وقد استلمت حكومة الشاهد مهامها، وهي الحكومة الثامنة في البلاد في خلال عددٍ مساوٍ من السنين، منذ آب/أغسطس 2016، بعد أن فشلت حكومة الحبيب الصيد السابقة في نيل الثقة في البرلمان. ففي ذلك الوقت، وقّعت تسعة أحزاب سياسية وثلاث نقابات عمّالية رائدة اتفاقًا يُعرَف بـ"إعلان قرطاج" الذي يدعو إلى تشكيل حكومة وحدة وطنية جديدة تكون أولوياتها محاربة الإرهاب واتخاذ تدابير لمكافحة الفساد والقيام بإصلاحات اقتصادية. فتم توزيع الوزارات التونسية الست والعشرين في الحكومة الائتلافية الناتجة على أعضاءٍ من الكتلتين الرائدتين في البرلمان – وهما حزب "نداء تونس" العلماني وحزب "النهضة" الإسلامي – بالإضافة إلى مزيجٍ من المستقلين وأعضاءٍ من حزبيْن علمانييْن أصغر حجمًا.

وبحسب ما تشير إليه التقارير الصحفية التونسية، قد يواجه الشاهد المصير السياسي نفسه الذي واجهه سلفه. لكن يحيط الشك في ما إذا كانت عملية التغيير الأخرى في الحكومة ستحقق لتونس الإصلاحات الاقتصادية التي تحتاجها بشدة والتحسينات في قدرة الدولة، وهو أمرٌ تبيّن حتى الآن أنه بعيد المنال بالنسبة إلى الديمقراطية المتخبطة.

ويعود تاريخ السبب المباشر للأزمة الراهنة إلى آذار/مارس الماضي. فبعد الاحتجاجات ضد تنفيذ تدابير تقشفية غير مرغوبة، بدأت حينئذٍ الأحزاب السياسية ومنظمات المجتمع المدني بالتداول بشأن الطريق الواجب سلوكه في ظل الركود الاقتصادي في تونس. وفي أوائل نيسان/أبريل، اتّهم أحد أهم موقّعي "إعلان قرطاج"، وهو "الاتحاد العام التونسي للشغل"، حكومة الشاهد بالفشل في تحقيق أهداف الإعلان ودعا إلى تغيير الحكومة. وفي 3 أيار/مايو، انضمّت خمسة أحزاب سياسية، من بينها حزبَي "النهضة" و"النداء"، إلى نقابات العمّال الرائدة في البلاد في توقيع "إعلان قرطاج" المعدَّل ("قرطاج 2") الذي يتألف من خمسة وستين إصلاحًا اجتماعيًا واقتصاديًا. لكن سرعان ما انهار الإجماع حول مصير حكومة الشاهد.

في 22 أيار/مايو، وفي اجتماعٍ عقده الرئيس الباجي قائد السبسي في قصر قرطاج، دعا كلٌّ من "حركة نداء تونس" وحزب "الاتحاد الوطني الحرّ" العلماني و"الاتحاد العام التونسي للشغل" و"منظمة الاتحاد الوطني للمرأة التونسية" إلى استقالة الشاهد وإحداث تغيير كامل في الحكومة. وردًّا على ذلك، تصدّت "حركة النهضة" مع حزب "المبادرة الوطنية الدستورية التونسية" الوسطي و"الاتحاد التونسي للفلاحة والصيد البحري"، فتمت الموافقة على تغيير الحكومة جزئيًّا، إنما مع الإصرار على أن يبقى الشاهد في منصبه. وفي 22 أيار/مايو، تم تعليق "اتفاق قرطاج 2" إلى أجل غير مسمى وانسحب "الاتحاد العام التونسي للشغل" من المحادثات احتجاجًا على بقاء الشاهد في منصبه.

وفي 6 حزيران/يونيو، أقال الشاهد وزير داخليته، لكن جاءت هذه الخطوة على الأرجح ردًّا على حادثة مأساوية حصلت في نهاية الأسبوع، عندما لقي على الأقل 112 شخص حتفهم حين انقلب قاربهم قبالة الساحل التونسي. فقد أصبح مكان ولادة "الربيع العربي" في الأشهر الأخيرة نقطة عبور أساسية للمهاجرين الذين يسعون إلى دخول أوروبا، وأدّت كارثة تحطّم المركب إلى تسليط الضوء على المخاطر التي يواجهونها باستمرار. وقد أدت تلك المأساة إلى زيادة الضغوط على الشاهد، الذي اتُهمت حكومته بالبطء في تقدير خطورة الحادث.

وقد يسترضي استبدال الشاهد وحكومته المجموعات الأساسية مثل "الاتحاد العام التونسي للشغل" بشكلٍ مؤقت، وستدل هذه الخطوة ظاهريًا للشعب التونسي على أن الحكومة تشعر بخيبة أملهم من غياب التقدم، لا سيما من الناحية الاقتصادية. إلا أن عدة اعتبارات سياقية تشير إلى أن المأزق الحالي قد يكون متمحورًا حول الصراع السياسي على السلطة، أكثر منه حول المحاولة الشاملة لتحقيق الإصلاح.

ورغم وفرة الأسباب التي تفسّر خيبة أمل التونسيين من المحنة الاقتصادية التي تمر فيها بلادهم – وهي تشمل معدل البطالة المرتفع باستمرار (15% كمعدل رسمي على المستوى الوطني، لكن ضُعْف ذلك على الأقل على مستوى الخريجين الجامعيين وفي المناطق غير الساحلية من البلاد) والتضخم المتزايد والفروقات البارزة بين المناطق الساحلية والنائية – ترتفع نسبة المناورات السياسية التي تغذّي جهود استبدال الحكومة الحالية بشكلٍ هائل. فأثار تعيين الشاهد في البداية القلق من أن عضويته في حزب السبسي، ولا سيما قربه المزعوم من ابن السبسي حافظ السبسي، ستجعله يعزف عن معالجة مشكلة الفساد في البلاد أو المباشرة بإصلاحات اقتصادية عميقة – فكان يُعتقَد أن كلا الخطوتين تهددان شريحة من النخب الاقتصادية في البلد التي تنتمي بشكلٍ أساسي إلى "حركة نداء تونس".

لكن في السنوات التالية، أثبت الشاهد أنه يتمتع باستقلالية أكبر مما توقع الكثيرون، فدعا إلى "حرب" كاسحة على الفساد (شملت توقيف عدة رجال أعمال بارزين)، ودفع حكومته إلى تطبيق تدابير اقتصادية غير مرغوبة مثل الخصخصة وتجميد أجور القطاع العام وزيادات الضرائب لتسديد دينٍ تبلغ قيمته 2.9 مليار دولار وتم الحصول عليه في عام 2016 من "صندوق النقد الدولي".

وإن هذا الدفع باتجاه مكافحة الفساد، ورغم أن البعض في المجتمع المدني انتقده لأنه لا يصل إلى الحد اللازم، لم يرُق لبعض الجهات من "حركة نداء تونس"، وهو حزبٌ ناضل لتحقيق التماسك منذ فوزه عام 2014 في الانتخابات النيابية والرئاسية. ففي هذا الوقت، أدّى صعود السبسي الأصغر داخل الحزب إلى تفاقم التصدّع أكثر فأكثر ضمن صفوف حزب "النداء"، والى انتهاء التقارب الذي كان يتمتع به الشاهد مع السبسي.
ولا شك في أن انقسام الحزب ساهم في إضعاف أدائه في الانتخابات المحلية في 6 أيار/مايو.
فشجّعت على الأرجح خسائر حزب "النداء" في صندوق الاقتراع، مقرونةً بالجهود التي بذلها حافظ في اجتماع قصر قرطاج في 22 أيار/مايو، والرامية إلى إقصاء الشاهد بحسب التقارير، على تجرّؤ رئيس الوزراء علنًا على اتهام ابن الرئيس بتدمير الحزب، وتم التكشير عن الأنياب منذ ذلك الحين. فمهما كانت الأسباب الأخرى التي تدفع إلى تغيير الحكومة، تؤدي سياسات الأحزاب دورًا واضحًا بما أن الجهات الرائدة تسعى إلى احتلال المواقع المناسبة للانتخابات الوطنية المقرَّرة في عام 2019.

وما من أدلة بكل ما للكلمة من معنى تشير حتى الآن إلى أن تغيير الحكومة مرةً أخرى سيؤدي إلى تحسينات دائمة في الميادين المحددة التي ذكرتها مجموعات المعارضة في خلال مطالبتها بإزاحة الشاهد. ولا يتضح أيضًا كيف قد يتم تفضيل الحكومة الجديدة من المجموعات المترسخة مثل "الاتحاد العام التونسي للشغل"، نظرًا إلى أن رئيس الوزراء القادم سيستيقظ على المؤشرات المؤسفة نفسها التي تشكّل عبئًا على اقتصاد البلاد. فالنموذج الذي نتج عن التغيير، أقله منذ عام 2014، هو عبارة عن وصول حكومة جديدة تعِد بمجموعة واسعة من الإصلاحات، ومحاولات جزئية لتنفيذها، وتصدي بعض المكوّنات، والوقوع في مأزق سياسي، وإجراء محادثات للمصالحة تحت رعاية الرئاسة، وتأسيس حكومة جديدة تعِد مرة أخرى بإنجاز إصلاحات. فقد تعكس هذه الدورة المتكررة حدًّا ما من المحاسبة السياسية، إنما على حساب عدم الاستقرار الذي يقوّض ثقة المستثمرين الأجانب، وهي عملية دوران سياسي تحد من تمكّن الحكومة من بناء قدرة مؤسسات الدولة المسؤولة عن تأمين الخدمات الأساسية، وتزيد خيبة الأمل من العملية الانتقالية الديمقراطية.

أما بالنسبة إلى صانعي السياسات في واشنطن، فيجب أن يشكّل المأزق السياسي الأخير في تونس رسالة تذكير بالهشاشة التي تطبع عملية الانتقال الديمقراطية في البلاد. وسواء أسفر الاقتتال الداخلي السياسي والتعبئة العامة عن نشوء حكومة جديدة في هذا الوقت أم لا، لا تتبدل مصلحة الولايات المتحدة الأساسية في بقاء تونس مستقرةً نسبيًا. لذلك، سترغب إدارة ترامب في إظهار دعم الولايات المستمر لتجربة تونس الديمقراطية وشراكتها في مواجهة المصاعب الناتجة. ومع الجولة الجديدة المحتملة قريبًا من الزيادات في سعر الوقود، لا بد من أن يتشاور المسؤولون الأمريكيون مع نظرائهم التونسيين حول توقيت ارتفاع الأسعار في المستقبل والسبل الممكنة لتخفيف أثرها، لا سيما في الشرائح الفقيرة من المجتمع التونسي التي يُرجَّح أن تعاني بشكلٍ غير متكافئ. كما ستُحسن واشنطن التصرف إذا نظرت في تأمين مجموعة إسعافات طارئة تهدف إلى مساعدة تونس في توفير رصدٍ أكبر لازدهار شبكات الإتجار بالبشر، على غرار تلك التي سهّلت وقوع المأساة الأخيرة عند تحطم قارب المهاجرين. وعلى الرغم من الصراعات القائمة بين القوى السياسية، إلا أن استمرار المساعدات الاقتصادية لتونس قد يساهم في تحقيق قدر من الاستقرار لحكومة الشاهد.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Reshuffle, Rinse, and Reform: Tunisia's Government Under Strain


Also available in العربية

June 12, 2018

While a cabinet reshuffle in Tunisia would appease some parties and civil society groups, ushering in a new government would do little to address the deeper challenges facing the country’s democratic transition.

In recent weeks, Tunisia's government, under the leadership of Prime Minister Youssef Chahed, has faced growing calls from certain political parties and civil society organizations to resign and make way for a new cabinet. Chahed's government, the country's eighth in as many years, has been in place since August 2016, after the preceding cabinet of Habib Essid failed to obtain a vote of confidence in parliament. At the time, nine political parties and three leading labor unions signed an agreement known as the Carthage Declaration calling for a new national unity government that would prioritize the fight against terrorism, anti-corruption measures, and economic reforms. The resulting coalition government apportioned Tunisia's twenty-six ministries to members of the two leading blocs in parliament – Chahed’s secular Nidaa Tounes (Call of Tunisia) Party and the Islamist Ennahda (Renaissance) Party – alongside a mix of independents and members of two smaller, secular parties.

If recent Tunisian press accounts are any indication, Chahed may meet a similar political fate to that of his predecessor Essid. But it is questionable whether another change in government would bring Tunisia the much-needed economic reforms and improvements in state capacity, which have thus far proved elusive for the struggling democracy.

The proximate cause of the current crisis dates to this past March, when as a response to protests against the implementation of unpopular austerity measures, political parties and civil society organizations began deliberating on a strategy to reverse Tunisia's economic stagnation. In early April, a key signatory of the Carthage Declaration, the Tunisian General Labor Union (UGTT), accused Chahed's government of failing to fulfill the goals of the Declaration and called for a cabinet reshuffle. On May 3, five political parties, including Ennahda and Nidaa, joined the country’s leading labor unions in signing an amended Carthage Declaration (“Carthage II”) comprising sixty-five social and economic reforms. But this consensus soon broke down over the fate of Chahed's government.

In a meeting at Carthage Palace convened by President Beji Caid Essebsi on May 22, Nidaa Tounes, the secular Free Patriotic Union Party, the UGTT, and the National Union of Tunisian Women all called for Chahed's resignation and a complete change in government. In response, Ennahda, the centrist National Destourian Initiative, al-Massar, and the Tunisian Union of Agriculture and Fisheries pushed back, agreeing to a partial government reshuffle but insisting that Chahed retain his post. Consequently, the Carthage II Agreement was suspended indefinitely on May 22, and the UGTT withdrew from the talks in protest against Chahed remaining in office. As of this writing, negotiations between the parties are ongoing.

On June 6, Chahed did dismiss his Interior Minister, but that move was likely in response to a tragic incident over the preceding weekend in which at least 112 individuals had died when their boat capsized off the Tunisian coast. The birthplace of the Arab Spring has in recent months become a key transit point for migrants seeking entry to Europe, and the shipwreck disaster brought into sharp relief the persistent dangers they face. The tragedy only increased the pressure on Chahed, whose government was accused of being slow to appreciate the gravity of the incident.

Replacing Chahed and his cabinet may temporarily appease key constituencies such as the UGTT, and the move would ostensibly signal to the Tunisian public that the government is aware of their frustration with the lack of progress, especially on the economic front. Still, several contextual considerations suggest that the current impasse may be more about a political power struggle than a comprehensive attempt at reform.

Tunisians have a number of reasons to be frustrated with the economic predicament of their country. These include a stubbornly high unemployment rate (officially 15% nationally but at least double that among university graduates and in the country’s interior), rising inflation, and glaring disparities between the country’s coastal and peripheral regions. Nevertheless, there is a hefty dose of political maneuvering fueling the efforts to replace the current government. Chahed’s initial appointment had elicited concern that his membership in Essebsi’s party, and especially his alleged closeness to Essebsi’s son Hafedh Essebsi, would make him reluctant to tackle the country’s corruption problem or pursue deep economic reforms – both actions considered threats to a segment of the country’s economic elites concentrated in Nidaa Tounes.

But in the ensuing years, Chahed proved more independent of Nidaa Tounes than many expected, calling for a sweeping “war” on corruption (which included the arrest of several prominent businessmen) and nudging his government to implement unpopular economic measures such as privatization, public sector wage freezes, and tax increases in exchange for a $2.9 billion loan in 2016 from the International Monetary Fund.

The anti-corruption push, though criticized by some in civil society for not going far enough, did not endear him to certain players within Nidaa Tounes, a party which has struggled to cohere since winning the 2014 parliamentary and presidential elections. Meanwhile, the younger Essebsi’s ascent within the party further exacerbated the rift within Nidaa’s ranks, whatever closeness Chahed may have once enjoyed with Essebsi deteriorated, and the party’s fragmentation undoubtedly contributed to its poor showing in the May 6 local elections.

Nidaa’s losses at the ballot box, compounded by Hafedh’s reported efforts in the May 22 meeting at Carthage Palace to push Chahed out, likely emboldened the Prime Minister to publicly accuse the President’s son of destroying the party, and the gloves have been off ever since. Whatever else may be driving the current push for a cabinet reshuffle, internal party politics are clearly at play as Tunisia's  leading political actors seek to position themselves for national elections scheduled in 2019.

As such, there is little evidence to suggest that yet another government reshuffle would bring lasting improvements in the very arenas opposition groups have cited in calling for Chahed’s dismissal. Nor is it clear how a new government would find greater favor with entrenched interests such as the UGTT, given that the incoming Prime Minister would wake up to the same dismal indicators weighing down the country’s economy. The emerging pattern, at least since 2014, has seen a new government come in promising broad reforms, making partial attempts to implement them, and receiving push-back from certain constituencies. This sequence then sparks a political impasse, reconciliation talks under the auspices of the Presidency, and the installation of a new government once again promising reforms. The repeating cycle may reflect a certain degree of political accountability, but it has come at the expense of instability undermining the confidence of foreign investors, a political turnover rate limiting the government’s ability to build up the capacity of state institutions charged with delivering basic services, and growing public disillusionment with the process of democratic transition.

For policymakers in Washington, the latest political impasse in Tunisia should serve as a reminder of the fragility characterizing the country’s democratic transition. Regardless of whether the political infighting and public mobilization will result in a new government this time around, the United States maintains an interest in seeing Tunisia remain relatively stable. As such, the Trump Administration will want to demonstrate America’s continued support for Tunisia’s democratic experiment and its partnership in facing attendant difficulties. With a new round of fuel price increases in the offing, U.S. officials should be consulting with their Tunisian counterparts about the timing of future price hikes and possible ways to lessen their impact, particularly on poorer segments of Tunisian society likely to suffer disproportionately. Washington would also do well to consider an emergency aid package aimed at assisting Tunisia in more closely monitoring the burgeoning human trafficking networks, such as those facilitating the recent migrant shipwreck tragedy. Political power struggles notwithstanding, economic assistance to Tunisia would help to bring a measure of stability to Chahed's government.  

Customize your RSS Feed