أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

منع انتشار التطرف في سوريا


متاح أيضاً في English

9 نوفمبر 2016

في حال باءت المساعي الدبلوماسية الأمريكية-الروسية بفشل محتم ودائم، قد تكون سوريا على شفير أن تصبح مركز الجهاد الدولي.

في حال باءت المساعي الدبلوماسية الأمريكية-الروسية بفشل محتم ودائم، قد تكون سوريا على شفير أن تصبح مركز الجهاد الدولي. فمعركة حلب التي لا تنتهي أبدًا تعيد إحياء مشاهد بائسة لصراع مرير لم نشهده منذ الحرب العالمية الثانية، ونتيجةً لذلك يبدو أن بعض المواطنين السنّة "الذين يعيشون على أنظمة الدعم الاقتصادي" يحتضنون الإسلام المتشدّد كوسيلة للبقاء على قيد الحياة. و"نشر" موقع إخباري غير مشهور ومناهض للجهاديين مؤخرًا صورًا لسكان شرق حلب يحملون لافتات موالية لـ"جبهة فتح الشام" ومناهضة للأمم المتحدة خلال تظاهرة صغيرة أمام قافلة مساعدات تابعة للأمم المتحدة. وجاءت رواية الموالاة "للنصرة" هذه لتأكّد تقارير سابقة عن جهاديين يوزعون مساعداتٍ غذائية ضئيلة "علنًا" بهدف الفوز بدعم السكان الذين يتضورون جوعًا.

ويتمثّل الدليل التالي على التطرف المستفحل بالبروز المفاجئ لجنود أطفال على كافة جبهات الصراع. ففي نيسان/أبريل 2016، نشر "مكتب الممثل الخاص للأمين العام المعني بالأطفال ونزع السلاح" التابع للأمم المتحدة تقريرًا شديد اللهجة يسلّط الضوء على محنة أطفال سوريا. وورد في التقرير أن كافة الفصائل المشاركة في الحرب الأهلية السورية تقريبًا تجنّد الأطفال، واللافت أن الفصيلتين الأكثر "اعتدالًا" - أي "الجيش العربي السوري" و"الجيش السوري الحر" - متهمتان بتجنيد أطفال في السابعة من عمرهم للقتال في الصفوف الأمامية. وإن لم يكن هذا الأمر مروّعًا بما فيه الكفاية، وثّق "مكتب الممثل الخاص للأمين العام المعني بالأطفال ونزع السلاح" أيضًا أنّ نسبة تجنيد المراهقين قد ارتفعت بنسبة عشرين في المئة في فترة إثني عشر شهرًا فحسب. وقد يمثّل الشباب السوري المستقبل لشكل أكثر عنفًا وتدميرًا حتى من الجهاد الدولي، ما يُطلق العنان للخطر الكبير التالي الذي يهدّد وجود سوريا كدولة مدنية. وقد يدفع انتصار ساحق روسي-سوري في معركة حلب بالمتمردين المدعومين من الغرب إلى التخلي عن الجهات الراعية الدولية التي عجزت عن الوفاء بوعودها القاضية بإحضار النظام إلى طاولة الحوار. وقد يصبّ أي شرخ بين الدول الغربية والمتمردين المعتدلين في مصلحة الجماعات الجهادية الني انتهزت سابقًا الفرص لتجنيد مقاتلين علمانيين غارقين في أزمة وغرس بذور التطرف في عقولهم. وخلال مشاحنة علنية نادرة مع الولايات المتحدة، ألقى خالد خوجة، وهو عضو بارز في "الهيئة العليا للمفاوضات لقوى الثورة والمعارضة"، اللوم على الولايات المتحدة لعجزها عن توفير أسلحة هجومية دقيقة لتغيير ميزان القوى في حلب.

وستصبّ خطة روسيا الرامية إلى استئصال المتطرفين من سوريا - مع ممارسة ضغوط على الولايات المتحدة للقضاء على الجنود المشاة التابعين لتنظيم "القاعدة" - في مصلحة المتطرفين والنظام السوري على حدّ سواء، الراغبين في جرّ الولايات المتحدة إلى مأزق. لكن رغم المخاطر الكبيرة المحيطة بالصراع السوري الذي بات أشبه بقنبلة قد تنفجر، قلّلت إدارة أوباما من أهمية سوريا الجيوستراتيجية، حيث أشارت إلى أن "حلًا سياسيًا" صعب المنال وحده قادر على إنهاء هذا الصراع. وكان هذا العذر لتجاهل حجم الصراع ليُعتبر كافيًا قبل سنوات، غير أن النتائج الفورية للحرب - كالإرهاب الدولي وبروز تنظيم "القاعدة" في سوريا - تسلّط الضوء على الحاجة إلى انخراط شامل للولايات المتحدة في الحرب. لكن أي تحرّك أحادي الجانب تتخذه جهة فاعلة واحدة في الصراع المتعدد الجهات قد يكون مؤذيًا على المدى الطويل. ويتوجب على الولايات المتحدة استخدام نفوذها لإقناع الجهات الدولية بضرورة إعادة احتساب انخراطها في الحرب من خلال تفويض قوات حفظ السلام للإشراف على مناطق عازلة مستقبلية تفصل بين الفصائل المتعددة. فوجود قوات حفظ سلام متعددة الجنسيات سيكون رادعًا كبيرًا بالنسبة لكافة الجهات.

يجب على الإدارة الأمريكية المقبلة أن تتخذ موقف أكثر تشدّدًا إزاء روسيا وإيران والنظام السوري للحؤول دون أن تصبح سوريا ملاذًا آمنًا للجهاديين الدوليين. وكان المسؤولون في مجال الدفاع قد حذّروا من أن التدخل في الصراع قد يعرّض المقاتلات الأمريكية للخطر، غير أنه من المؤكّد تقريبًا أن القوات الروسية والسورية لن تخاطر في دخول حرب مع الولايات المتحدة بشأن مناطق في سوريا هي أساسًا مهجورة ومدمّرة.  

ويتعيّن على الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية انتهاج مقاربة منهجية، تؤكّد بعناية على النفوذ الأمريكي عبر المحاورين الأتراك الذين تربطهم علاقات جيدة مع مقاتلي المعارضة السورية. وتنطوي الخطوة الأولى لجعل سوريا ملاذًا آمنًا في تصفية قيادة الجماعات الجهادية ومنح جنود المشاة فرصة الانضمام إلى فصائل أكثر اعتدالًا مقابل حصولها على دعم "سياسي". وبحسب تقديرات البعض، فإن أغلبية المقاتلين المنتمين إلى "جبهة فتح الشام" و"جند الأقصى" وحتى "الدولة الإسلامية" لا يعتنقون الإسلام المتطرف بل انضمّوا فعليًا إلى الجهاديين للاستفادة من أجور أعلى وسلاح متقدّم ومساكن أفضل. وسيبعث توحيد أطياف المعارضة تدريجيًا على أرض الواقع تحت جناح الولايات المتحدة وتركيا والتحالف الدولي برسالة واضحة إلى سوريا وروسيا وإيران مفادها أن التعنّت المستمر في العملية السياسية سيدمّر النظام السوري لا محالة.

وإن افترضنا أن النظام السوري سيبقى متمسكًا بموقفه السياسي، على الولايات المتحدة وحلفائها السماح للمعارضة التي تمت إعادة تكوينها ببسط سيطرتها وحوكمتها على الحدود السورية-التركية. فوجود حكومة منافسة ترافقه زيادة في العقوبات قد يرغمان النظام على التفاوض أخيرًا بحسن نية. وقد اقترح بعض الخبراء في الصراع فكرة استخدام جنود أجانب لضمان أمن "مناطق مستقلة" مستقبلية، لكن هذا الأمر يكاد يكون مستحيلًا من دون الإقدام أولًا على مصالحة الفصائل المختلفة المشاركة في الصراع أو على الأقل تسوية الخلافات بينها. وتقترح إستراتيجية بديلة استخدام المتمردين الأكثر اعتدالًا لتشكيل وحدات مستقلة لمكافحة الإرهاب من أجل حماية المناطق ذات الأغلبية السنّية والدفاع عنها، ما يدفع بالمرء إلى التساؤل ما إذا كان الوقت قد حان لكي تبدأ الولايات المتحدة وحلفاؤها بتقييم المتمردين وتدريبهم وتجنيدهم، بعد أن سلّحتهم في الأساس. وقد تمثّل هذه الخطوات أفضل آمال سوريا للحؤول دون مستقبل يهيمن عليه الجهاديون الانتحاريون العازمون على تدمير الغرب. وفي الوقت نفسه، سيكون من الضروري نوعًا ما طمأنة إسرائيل وإيران وجهات فاعلة أخرى في الشرق الأوسط إلى أنه حتى إن ازداد عديد المعارضة، لن تكون سوريا الجديدة دولة سنّية مارقة. وسيكون ذلك توازنًا هشًا في أحسن الأحوال، غير أن البديل المحتمل - أي أرض لا تنتهي ينبثق منها الجهاديون واللاجئون تحدّ بعض أقرب حلفائنا - أسوأ حتى.
 

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Preventing the Radicalization of Syria


Also available in العربية

If the American-Russian diplomatic process permanently fails, Syria could be on the brink of becoming the epicenter of international jihadism.

If the American-Russian diplomatic process permanently fails, Syria could be on the brink of becoming the epicenter of international jihadism. The neverending Battle of Aleppo is re-creating miserable scenes of bitter conflict never seen since World War II, and as a result it appears that some Sunni citizens on economic life support are embracing hardline Islam as a form of survival. Recently, a low-key anti-jihadist news website "revealed" photos of east Aleppo residents holding up pro-Jabhat Fatah al-Sham and anti-UN signs during a small demonstration outside a UN aid convoy. The pro-Nusra narrative fits previous reports of jihadists "transparently" distributing meager rations in order to win the support of starving citizens. 

The next indication of rampant radicalism is the sudden emergence of child soldiers on all fronts of the conflict. In April of 2016, the United Nations Office of the SRSG Children and Armed Conflict published a scathing report underscoring the plight of Syrian children. The report claims that nearly every faction participating in the Syrian civil war recruits child soldiers, and remarkably, the two most "moderate" factions – the Syrian Arab Army and Free Syrian Army - are accused of recruiting seven-year-olds to fight on the front lines. If that is not grim enough, the SRSG also documented that in the span of just twelve months adolescent conscription has increased by twenty percent. Young Syrians could represent the future of an even more violent and destructive form of international jihadism, leading to the next major threat to Syria's existence as a civil state. A decisive Russian-Syrian victory in the battle of Aleppo could compel Western-backed rebels to give up on international sponsors who have failed to deliver on their promises of bringing the regime to the negotiating table. Any rift between Western countries and moderate rebels could play into the hands of jihadist groups that have previously capitalized on opportunities to recruit and radicalize beleaguered secular fighters. And in rare public spat with the United States, Khalid Khoja, a chief member of the opposition High Negotiations Committee (HNC), blamed the U.S. for failing to provide precise offensive weaponry to change the balance of power in Aleppo.

Russia’s plan for eradicating extremists from Syria – pressuring the United States to decimate al-Qaeda foot soldiers  - would play into the hands of both extremists and the Syrian regime, keen on drawing the United States into a quagmire. Yet despite high stakes and the explosiveness of the Syrian conflict, the Obama administration has downplayed the geostrategic importance of Syria, arguing that only an elusive “political solution” can bring an end to the conflict. This alibi of ignoring the magnitude of the conflict may have sufficed years ago, however the immediate results of the war – international terrorism and the emergence of al Qaeda in Syria - underscore the need for comprehensive American involvement. Nonetheless, unilateral action taken by only one player in the multi-sided conflict could be detrimental in the long run. The United States must use its influence to persuade international players to recalibrate their respective involvement in the war by committing peacekeepers to future buffer zones separating the various factions. The presence of a multinational peacekeeping force would be a monumental deterrent to all sides. 

The next administration ought to get tougher on Russia, Iran, and the Syrian regime to prevent Syria from becoming a safe haven for international jihadists. Defense officials have warned that intervening in the conflict could put American fighter jets at risk; however it is nearly certain that Russian and Syrian forces would not risk war with the United States over areas of Syria that are already depopulated and destroyed.

The United States must take a methodical approach, carefully asserting American influence vis-a-vis Turkish interlocutors that have good ties with Syrian opposition fighters. The first step in securing safe havens Syria is liquidating the leadership of jihadists groups and offering foot soldiers the opportunity to join more moderate factions in exchange for “political” support. By some estimates, the majority of fighters belonging to Jabhat Fatah al-Sham, Jund Al Aqsa, and even the Islamic State do not subscribe to radical Islam and in fact typically joined jihadists to take advantage of a higher rate of pay, advanced weaponry, and better living accommodations. Gradually uniting the opposition on the ground under the banner of the United States, Turkey, and the international coalition would send a clear message to Syria, Russia, and Iran that continued intransigence in the political process will inevitably destroy the Syrian regime.

Assuming continued political posturing on the part of the Syrian regime, the United States and its allies should allow the reconfigured opposition to establish governance on the Syrian-Turkish frontier. The presence of a rival government coupled with enhanced sanctions may force the regime to finally negotiate in good faith. Some Experts on the conflict have proposed the idea of using foreign troops to secure future “autonomous zones” but this could be nearly impossible without first reconciling or at least deconflicting the diverse factions participating in the conflict. An alternative strategy proposes using the most moderate rebels to form independent counterterrorism units to protect and defend predominantly Sunni areas, prompting one to ask if the time has come for the US and its allies to begin vetting, training, and enlisting for this mission the rebels that they are already arming. These steps could represent Syria’s best hope for averting a future characterized by kamikaze jihadists hell-bent on destroying the West. At the same time, it will be essential somehow to reassure Israel, Iran, and other Middle Eastern players that even if the opposition gathers new strength, the new Syria will not become a Sunni rogue state.  This will be a delicate balancing act at best, but the likely alternative – an endless jihadi and refugee breeding ground bordering some of our closest allies – is even worse.
 

Customize your RSS Feed