أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

فرع "حزب الله" التابع لإيران في العراق: دروس من الأحزاب الشيعية في لبنان


متاح أيضاً في English

بعد الانتشار السريع لتنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" (داعش) في صيف 2014، أصدر المرجع الشيعي علي السيستاني فتوى تدعو كافة الرجال المقتدرين جسديًا إلى الدفاع عن بغداد وصد "الدولة الإسلامية. فأخذ رجالٌ من كافة الطوائف والأعراق، بأغلبية ساحقة شيعية، على عاتقهم محاربة "الشيطان الأعظم" الذي اجتاح بلدهم. وحققت "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" هذه فرقًا أساسيًا في المعركة ضد "الدولة الإسلامية"، ويُرحَّب بها في العراق على أنها مجموعة من الأبطال.

مع ذلك، تبرز مشكلة عندما ينظر المرء إلى العدد الكبير من الفصائل الشيعية المتشددة التي تتألف منها "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" التي تموّلها إيران مباشرةً وتدربها وتسلّحها. وقد أقلق هذا الدعم الإيراني حقًا الكثيرين، إذ يحاكي صعود وحدات "الحشد الشعبي" بشكل مقلق أوجه عدة لصعود "حزب الله" في لبنان. فعبر مقارنة كيف يستخدم "حزب الله" وفصائل "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" السلطة السياسية والتأثير الخارجي والدعاية للتشديد على القوة، قد تتمكن الولايات المتحدة من تعقب ميول مشابهة لدى المجموعات الشيعية المتشددة في العراق، ومن التحرك لإيقاف حدوث حالة مشابهة.

الاختناق السياسي

في منتصف الثمانينات، كان "حزب الله" نوعًا ما مجرد مجموعة مقاومة في جنوب لبنان تشكّلت ردًا على الاحتلال الإسرائيلي. وفي البداية، اكتسبت هذه المجموعة قوتها ببطء عبر أدائها في ساحة المعركة، فأخذت تستوعب مجموعات شيعية أصغر وتستفيد من النظام السياسي الضعيف. ونجحت المجموعة لاحقًا في مواجهة إسرائيل مجددًا في معركة عام 2006، فتسببت بعدد هائل من القتلى وألزمت إسرائيل على التراجع.

وتترجمَ النجاح العسكري المتواصل لـ"حزب الله" بشكل جيد في السياسة. ويخاف البعض من أن يحاول هذا الحزب تفكيك "اتفاق الطائف" وإعادة بناء تسوية تتناسب مع مصالحه لحوكمة البلاد. وقد شارك الحزب في الانتخابات عام 1992، واستطاع تهديد رئيس الحكومة سعد الحريري علنًا عام 2006، بعد أن دعاه هذا الأخير إلى تسليم سلاحه. والآن، يقود "حزب الله" كتلة قوية في البرلمان اللبناني، ساهمت بشكل أساسي في وصول حليفه ميشال عون إلى الرئاسة بعد سنتين من الشغور.

تلمّح "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" في العراق إلى أنها تريد أن تتحوّل إلى بنى سياسية منظمة. ويشكّل "حزب الله" نموذجًا محتملًا للمجموعات الشيعية في العراق فيما تقوم بهذه المحاولة. فتحاول "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" استخدام نفوذها العسكري على الحكومة العراقية للتحكم بالسلطة نيابةً عن إيران، على نحو يشبه كثيرًا ما فعله "حزب الله" في لبنان.

واستخدمت "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" حلفاءها في البرلمان لإضعاف رئيس الوزراء الحالي حيدر العبادي وحكومته، عبر لجنة لمكافحة الفساد صُممت للإطاحة بحلفاء العبادي. وأكبر حليف "لوحدات الحشد الشعبي" في الحكومة هو رئيس الوزراء السابق والفاسد نوري المالكي، الذي تسبب تهميشُه للجماعات السنية بتمهيد الطريق إلى صعود "الدولة الإسلامية". كما دعم المالكي زعماء "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" الذين يريدون مأسسة مليشياتهم أكثر فأكثر، حتى تصبح بنى دائمة شبيهة بـ"حرس الثورة الإسلامية" في إيران.

مؤخرًا، حكمت المحكمة العليا في العراق ضد قرار أصدره العبادي لإلغاء مناصب النيابة الرئاسية الثلاثة، وهي شرفية إلى حد كبير ويشغل المالكي واحدًا منها. وهذا يُضعف الموقف السياسي للعبادي بشكلٍ أكبر من خلال رفض أحد أهم إجراءاته الرامية إلى توجيه الدعم الشعبي نحو تقليص الفساد في الحكومة وبالتالي يترك خصمه الأساسي في موقع السلطة. وفي الواقع، بمساعدة المالكي، ما استغرق عشرين عامًا ليحققه "حزب الله"، يمكن أن تحققه "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" في خلال سنتين.

التدخل الإيراني

تلقى "حزب الله" من إيران الأسلحة والمساعدة المالية والتدريب على القتال، فتدرب أكثر من 3000 مقاتل من هذا الحزب في إيران على تكتيكات حرب العصابات، وإطلاق الصواريخ والقذائف، وتشغيل الطائرات من دون طيار، والحرب البحرية. وشنت إيران غارات جوية في العراق دعمًا "لوحدات الحشد الشعبي"، وتتوافر أمثلة عدة عن قيام قاسم سليماني، وهو ضابط عسكري إيراني رفيع المستوى وقائد "فيلق القدس"، بإسداء المشورة إلى القوات العراقية وتوجيهها في المعركة. كذلك، يبرز شبه كبير في كيفية محاكاة "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" لـ"حزب الله" من خلال تهميش المجموعات أو الشخصيات الشيعية التي لا تدعمها إيران، كما يفعل مع "حركة أمل".

يتواجد "حزب الله" التابع لإيران في العراق منذ سنة 2003 على شكل "كتائب حزب الله"، التي حاربت ضد القوات الأمريكية وقوات الائتلاف في خلال الصراع الطائفي في العراق في 2007، والتي تملك نسخة مطابقة تقريبًا لشعار "حزب الله" على العلم. وكان أحد قادة المجموعة، أبو مهدي المهندس، مستشارًا سابقًا لـ"فيلق القدس" الإيراني، وتلقى علنًا التدريب والتمويل من "فيلق القدس" و"حزب الله" اللبناني، وعمل مع "حرس الثورة الإسلامية" في خلال الحرب العراقية-الإيرانية. وهو الآن نائب رئيس لجنة الحشد الشعبي لـ"وحدات الحشد الشعبي" في العراق. وقال قائد آخر في "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" وهو رجل الدين البارز قيس الخزعلي إن "معركة الموصل انتقام من أحفاد قاتلي الحسين". والخزعلي الذي دعم المالكي في انتخابات 2014 معروف بدعمه المفترَض لإيران في خلال الحرب العراقية-الإيرانية.

كذلك، قاتل قائد "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" هادي العامري، وهو وزير النقل العراقي السابق ورئيس منظمة "بدر"، إلى جانب إيران في خلال الحرب العراقية-الإيرانية. واتُّهم بالإشراف على رحلات شحن الأسلحة الإيرانية إلى سوريا، وقد أشاد مؤخرًا بقاسم سليماني. ويمكن رؤية هذا التلاقح بين المجموعات الشيعية و"وحدات الحشد الشعبي" و"فيلق القدس" و"حزب الله" اللبناني بشكل أوضح حتى على مسرح الحرب السورية، حيث تساهم الأرض والأعداء المشتركون والدعم الإيراني المباشر بتقريب عدد كبير من هذه القوات.

دعامات الدعاية والدعم الشعبي

يستخدم "حزب الله" و"وحدات الحشد الشعبي" عقيدة المقاومة الشيعية التقليدية، وبالتحديد استشهاد الحسين، لتبرير أعمالهما. وكلا المجموعتين بارع في الاستفادة من الفخر القومي والشعور الوطني الجماعي لتعزيز قضيتهما. فكسب "حزب الله" الدعم الشعبي من عدة مدنيين لبنانيين، كثيرون منهم لا ينتمون إلى الطائفة الشيعية، بسبب القذائف التي أطلقها على إسرائيل وحرب العصابات اللاحقة في 2006. حتى أن "حزب الله" يدير متحفًا عن المقاومة يبعد بضع ساعات عن بيروت، ويصوّر فيه انتصاراته من خلال عرض دبابات إسرائيلية مدمرة وصور كبيرة لحسن نصرالله. ومؤخرًا، أشاد عدة لبنانيين بـ"حزب الله" لأنه يحمي الحدود مع سوريا من أي غزو لتنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية"/"جبهة النصرة"، وتستمر الإشادة به لأنه يدافع عن القضية الفلسطينية.

فيما لا تستطيع "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" أن تتباهى بالقدر نفسه من الدعم المؤسسي، ما زال الملايين في العراق معجبين بها، لأن قواتها تضع حياتها على المحك لمحاربة "الدولة الإسلامية". وعلى غرار تعاطف نصرالله مع معاناة المسيحيين في العراق ومصر، ترثي "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" باستمرار مجزرة المسيحيين بواسطة شرائط مصورة مؤثّرة تُظهر جنودًا يحررون الكنائس، ويحمون الراهبات من "الدولة الإسلامية"، ويصلّون إلى جانب الأولاد ونساء عجزة مسيحيات. حتى أن قادة "قوات الحشد الشعبي" روّجوا لقائد كاثوليكي كلداني، هو ريان الكلداني الذي يُزعم أنه يدير كتيبة مسيحية من "وحدات الحشد الشعبي".

مستقبل للعراق

يتواجد الشيعة في لبنان والعراق كمجموعتين منفصلتين وفريدتين؛ فيتنوع تاريخهم وحكايتهم وعقيدتهم فيما يتمتعون بديناميكيات اجتماعية فريدة. لكن ما هو واضح هو أنه، في كلتا الحالتين، استغلت إيران الفوضى لتعزيز وكلائها. ولمستقبل العراق مجموعة واسعة من النتائج المحتملة، التي تتراوح من المصالحة الوطنية إلى نزاع يستنزف القوى بين الشيعة في الجنوب عندما تعود المليشيات إلى أماكن مثل محافظتيْ ذي قار والمثنى. ومع أنه لا علم لنا بما سيحصل، سيؤدي ترشُّح "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" للبرلمان أو دعمها لأي فريق سياسي إلى نتائج كارثية، وقد يشكل حافزًا لصعود نسخة متقدمة من تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية".

من غير الواضح كيف ستتصرف "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" بعد الموصل، لكن على الولايات المتحدة والعبادي التخطيط مسبقًا وضمان عدم وصول إيران إلى مبتغاها مجددًا. فيمكن أن تتخذ حكومة العبادي بعض الخطوات لردع صعود "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" بعد الموصل. ولا يُعتبَر كل الشيعة العراقيون دمًى موالية لإيران: ففي الواقع، كثيرون منهم هم قوميون متحمسون. ويمكن أن يستغل العبادي القومية العراقية لمحاربة تزايد الانقسام الطائفي. فيجب مكافأة هؤلاء الرجال الذين اعتادوا القتال لأنهم تركوا "قوات الحشد الشعبي"، وجمعهم في الجيش العراقي، وتدريبهم على قواعد الاشتباك العسكري الرسمية أو إدخالهم إلى القوى العاملة.

كما يجب أن تستخدم الولايات المتحدة نفوذها قدر المستطاع في بغداد أو طهران أو موسكو لمنع قادة "وحدات الحشد الشعبي" من أن يصبحوا قادة سياسيين مؤسسيين. وإذا لم يتم أخذ الاحتياطات، سيحتوي الشرق الأوسط في نهاية المطاف على بلد يضم خمسة أضعاف سكان لبنان ويخضع لسيطرة إيران المباشرة. ومع ارتفاع القومية العراقية إلى مستوى لم تشهد مثله منذ سنوات بسبب هجوم الموصل، سيكون من الحكمة أن تستفيد الولايات المتحدة من ذلك لتوحيد العراق. ويجب وضع حد لـ"قوات الحشد الشعبي" ما إن يتم إلحاق الهزيمة بـ"الدولة الإسلامية"، كما يجب أن تشترط الولايات المتحدة التماس تقدم سياسي لتقديم المساعدة العسكرية. وفي النهاية، على الولايات المتحدة أن تعزز الحوكمة الجيدة عبر اعتماد نظام الجدارة والمحاسبة في الحكومة. وسيأتي ذلك بثمار مضاعفة من خلال الحد من آراء القوى الخارجية في الشؤون العراقية.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Iran’s Hezbollah Franchise in Iraq: Lessons from Lebanon’s Shiite Militias


Also available in العربية

As Shiite militias in Iraq attempt to become potent political actors, they may follow Hezbollah's Lebanese model: using military leverage over the government to wrestle power on Iran's behalf.

Following the rapid spread of ISIS in the summer of 2014, Shiite Marja Ali al-Sistani issued a fatwa calling all able-bodied men to defend Baghdad and push back against ISIS. Men of all sects and ethnicities, overwhelmingly Shiite, took it upon themselves to fight this "great evil" that had overtaken their country. These Popular Mobilization Units (PMUs) have made a fundamental difference in the battle against ISIS and are hailed as heroes in Iraq.

A problem arises, however, when one looks at the large number of hardline Shiite factions of the PMUs that are directly funded, trained, and armed by Iran. This Iranian support has rightly worried many, as the rise of the PMUs unnervingly mimics multiple aspects of Hezbollah's rise in Lebanon. By looking at parallels between how Hezbollah and factions of the PMUs use politics, foreign influence, and propaganda to increase their power, the United States might be able to track similar trends in Iraqi's hardline Shiite militias, and move to stop this before a similar situation occurs.

POLITICAL SUFFOCATION

In the mid 1980s, Hezbollah was a rather simple resistance militia in South Lebanon that formed in response to the Israeli occupation. Initially, they slowly amassed power through their performance on the battlefield, absorbing smaller Shiite militias and taking advantage of a weak political system. The group would later confront Israel again on the battlefield in 2006, inflicting heavy casualties and forcing an Israeli withdrawal.

Hezbollah's consistent military success in Lebanon translated well into politics. Some worry that Hezbollah will try to dismantle the Taif Accord and reconstruct the country's governing arrangement to their benefit. While they were participating in elections in 1992, they were able to publicly threaten former prime minister Saad Hariri in 2006 after he called on them to lay down their arms. Now, Hezbollah leads a powerful bloc in the Lebanese parliament, essentially bestowing their ally Michel Aoun with the presidency after two years of deadlock.

The PMUs in Iraq are hinting they want to transform from militias into organized political structures. Hezbollah provides a potential model as they attempt to do so. The PMUs are trying to use their military leverage over the Iraqi government to wrestle power on behalf of Iran, much like Hezbollah did in Lebanon.

The PMUs have used their allies in parliament to weaken current prime minister Haider al-Abadi and his cabinet through an anticorruption committee designed to oust Abadi's allies. The PMU's greatest ally in government is corrupt former premier Nouri al-Maliki, whose marginalization of Sunni communities paved the way for the rise of ISIS. Maliki has also backed PMU leaders who want to further institutionalize their militias into more permanent structures, akin to Iran's Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC).

Recently, Iraq's Supreme Court ruled against a decision by Abadi to eliminate the three largely ceremonial vice presidential positions, one of which is held by Maliki. This further weakens Abadi's political standing by overruling one of his most important measures to streamline popular support for curtailing government corruption and thus leaving his main opponent in power. In effect, with Maliki's help, what Hezbollah took twenty years to accomplish the PMUs could accomplish in two years.

IRANIAN INVOLVEMENT

Hezbollah has received Iranian-supplied weaponry, monetary aid, and combat training, with over 3,000 Hezbollah militants having undergone training in Iran on guerrilla warfare tactics, firing missiles and rockets, operating drones, and marine warfare. Iran has launched airstrikes in Iraq in support of PMUs, and there are many examples of Qasem Soleimani, senior Iranian military officer and commander of the Qods Force, advising and directing Iraqi forces into battle. In addition, there are strong parallels between how the Iraqi PMUs mimic Hezbollah by sidelining any non-Iranian-backed Shiite groups or figures, as they have done with the Amal Movement.

Iran's Hezbollah brand has existed in Iraq since 2003 in the form of Kataib Hezbollah, which fought against American and coalition forces during Iraq's sectarian strife in 2007 and has a near exact copy of Hezbollah's logo on its flag. One of the group's leaders, Abu Mahdi al-Muhandis, was a former advisor to Iran's Qods Force, openly received training and funding from the Qods Force and Lebanese Hezbollah, and worked with the IRGC during the Iraq-Iran War. He is now the deputy chairman of the Popular Mobilization Committee for the PMUs in Iraq. Another PMU leader and prominent Shiite cleric, Qais al-Khazali, said that the "Mosul battle is revenge against the descendants of the killers of Hussein." Khazali, who backed Maliki in the 2014 elections, is notorious for supposedly backing Iran during the Iraq-Iran War.

PMU commander Hadi al-Ameri, the former Iraqi minister of transportation and head of the Badr Organization, similarly fought alongside Iran during the Iran-Iraq War. He has been accused of overseeing flights of Iranian weapons shipments headed to Syria and recently expressed praise for Qasem Soleimani. This cross-pollination of Shiite groups, PMUs, the Qods Force, and Lebanese Hezbollah is seen even more clearly in the Syrian theater, where many of these forces are bridged by land and brought closer together by common enemies and direct Iranian support.

THE PILLARS OF PROPAGANDA AND POPULAR SUPPORT

Traditional Shiite resistance theology, specifically the martyrdom of Hussein, is used by Hezbollah and the PMUs to justify their actions. Both groups are adept at tapping into nationalist pride and collective national sentiment in order to bolster their cause. Hezbollah drew popular support from many Lebanese civilians, including many non-Shiites, for the rockets they launched at Israel and subsequent guerrilla warfare in 2006. Hezbollah even runs the Museum for Resistance Tourism a few hours from Beirut, where they tout their victories by showcasing exhibitions of destroyed Israeli tanks and large portraits of Hassan Nasrallah. More recently, Hezbollah received praise from many Lebanese for protecting the border with Syria from any ISIS/Jabhat al-Nusra incursions, and continues to receive praise by advocating for the Palestinian cause.

While PMUs cannot boast the same amount of institutionalized support, they are still admired by millions in Iraq for putting their lives on the line to fight ISIS. Similar to Nasrallah's sympathy for suffering Christians in Iraq and Egypt, the PMUs regularly lament the genocide of Christians with flashy videos featuring soldiers liberating churches, protecting nuns from ISIS, and praying alongside old Christian women and children. Leaders of the PMUs have even promoted a Chaldean Catholic leader, Rayyan al-Kildani, who purportedly runs a Christian PMU.

A FUTURE FOR IRAQ

Shiites in Lebanon and Iraq exist as two separate and unique communities; they have varied histories, narratives, theological doctrines, and unique social dynamics. However, what is clear is that in both situations, Iran has taken advantage of chaos to bolster its proxies. The future of Iraq has a wide range of possible outcomes, from national reconciliation to an all-out intra-Shiite conflict in the south when militias return to places like Dhi Qar or al-Muthanna provinces. Even though it is yet to be seen what will happen, an outcome in which the PMUs run for parliament or back a political party will have disastrous consequences, possibly providing fodder for the rise of ISIS 2.0.

It has yet to be seen how the PMUs will act after Mosul, but the United States and Abadi would be wise to plan ahead and ensure that Iran doesn't have its way again. The Abadi government can take certain steps to prevent the rise of PMUs after Mosul. Not all Iraqi Shiites are pro-Iranian puppets: in fact, many are fervidly nationalistic. Abadi can tap into Iraqi nationalism to combat further sectarian division. These battle-hardened men must be rewarded for abandoning the PMUs, collected into the Iraqi army, and either trained in formal military rules of engagement or funneled into the workforce.

The United States must pull whatever strings it can in Baghdad, Tehran, or Moscow to prevent PMU leaders from transforming into institutionalized political leaders. If no precautions are taken, the Middle East will end up with a country over five times the population of Lebanon under direct control of Iran. With Iraqi nationalism at its highest in years due to the Mosul offensive, the United States should take advantage of this to unify Iraq. The PMUs' powers will need to be widely curtailed once ISIS is defeated, and Washington should condition military aid on political progress. Lastly, the United States should promote good governance through meritocracy and accountability in government. This will go a long way toward preventing outside forces from having their say in Iraq's affairs.

Yousif Kalian is a research assistant in The Washington Institute's Program on Arab Politics.

Customize your RSS Feed