أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

كيف نفهم ايران


متاح أيضاً في English

1/9/2018

9 يناير/كانون الثاني 2018

عقب اندلاع الاحتجاجات الشعبية في إيران في الثامن والعشرون من ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2017، نتيجة غلاء الأسعار والتضخم والبطالة، اتهم المرشد الأعلى للجمهورية الإيرانية علي خامنئي "أعداء إيران بالتآمر ضد بلاده".

تحتل إيران مكانة كبيرة في نظر القوى الدولية والإقليمية. وتعطي القراءة التاريخية لعلاقة إيران مع هذه القوى، بأنها علاقة جامدة تسودها الشكوك المتبادلة من ناحية، والمصالح المتبادلة.  ومع ذلك، تعيش ايران  في بيئة جديدة  تتطلع فيها القوى الكبرى إلى احتواء وإقصاء منافسيها، وضمان موقع قيادي في النظام العالمي، ففي الوقت الذي تسعى فيه إيران إلى تصبح قوة مؤثرة، وأن تكون طرفاً مشاركاً ومبادراً في طرح المشاريع الإقليمية في الشرق الأوسط، تصر القوى الكبرى على إبقائها في خانة القوى التابعة، وهذا ما دفع إيران إلى بلورة صيغ ومبادئ وعقائد استراتيجية، تمثل شخصيتها ومصلحتها الإقليمية، ضمن أطر قومية إيرانية واسعة، تشمل كل مناطق النفوذ بالشرق الأوسط، في محاولة إيرانية لرفض أي واقع سياسي أو عسكري يفرض عليها.

  أن صانع القرار السياسي والاستراتيجي في إيران، ينظر إلى أن كل ما تقوم به إيران حالياً في المنطقة يأتي في إطار المصلحة القومية الإيرانية العليا، وأنه إذا كانت القوى الإقليمية والدولية تنظر إلى التدخلات الإيرانية على أنها تدخلات طائفية أو مذهبية فهذا شأنها، بل أن إيران تسوق نفس الاتهامات الموجهة إليها إلى الدول الأخرى، فهي تتحجج بأن هناك دول غيرها أشعلت الصراع الطائفي في المنطقة، وأن الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية هي من أنتجت القاعدة وداعش، وأن إيران تكافح ما أنتجته السياسات الإقليمية والدولية المضللة بالمنطقة.

وبعد عام 2003، أصبحت هناك حالة من الاستقطاب الإقليمي عانت منه منطقة الشرق الأوسط ، كما تأثرت المنطقة كثيراً بفعل الإعلانات الأمريكية المتكررة بتجفيف المنابع الرافضة  للنفوذ الأمريكي، تحت إطار "مكافحة الإرهاب"، ومن ذلك ظهور مسمى دول "محور الشر" الذي أعلنته الإدارة الأمريكية في عهد جورج بوش الابن، والذي شمل "إيران وسوريا وكوريا الشمالية"، أي إعلانها كأهداف مستقبلية ضمن التخطيط الاستراتيجي الأمريكي في الشرق الأوسط، وللهروب من تكرار شبح العراق بعد احتلاله، سعت إيران إلى حماية أمنها القومي بشتى السبل والطرق، خصوصاً وأنها تقع على طول حدود 1450 كيلو متر مع العراق، وانطلاقا من إمكانية استغلال الساحة العراقية وتوظيفها ضدها مستقبلاً، إنغمست إيران بشدة في الواقع العراقي وبشتى المجالات سياسياً واقتصاديا وعسكرياً واجتماعيا ودينياً، محاولة قطع الطريق على أية تهديدات أمريكية مستقبلية، وتكفي الإشارة إلى أن الاتفاقية الأمنية العراقية الأمريكية لم يكن لها أن ترى النور، إلا بعد تضمينها مواد قانونية صريحة بعدم إمكانية الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية من شن هجمات عسكرية ضد إيران إنطلاقاً من الأراضي العراقية.

تشير وجهة النظر الإيرانية بأنها دولة تتعرض لتحديات دولية وإقليمية كبرى، فهناك تنظيمات عسكرية مسلحة استنزفت الكثير من قدراتها العسكرية، وهناك قوى إقليمية تسعى إلى إنهاء وجودها في المنطقة، ونقل الصراع إلى داخلها، وقوى دولية تسعى إلى تغير النظام السياسي فيها. وبوجود هكذا مخاطر وتحديات، ماذا عسى إيران أن تنتظر أكثر؟ الحديث هنا ليس لتبرير الأدوار التي تقوم بها إيران في المنطقة، ولكن لتسليط الضوء على الضرورات الاستراتيجية التي دفعت وتدفع إيران لتأدية أدوارها الحالية في لبنان واليمن والبحرين والعراق وأفريقيا وآسيا الوسطى، بل في أية بقعة تجد فيها إيران أرضاً خصبة يمكن أن تحافظ من خلالها على وجودها وكيانها. فالضرورات التي أباحت لإيران التدخل في كل شؤون المنطقة، تنطلق من نفس الضرورات التي أباحت للولايات المتحدة الأمريكية التدخل بالمنطقة، تحت مسمى مكافحة الإرهاب الجهادي، أو حماية الأمن القومي الأمريكي، وهي كلها أسباب تسوقها إيران لتبرير وجودها وانتشارها بالمنطقة، مع اختلاف الأدوات والأساليب والمسببات.

فالدور الإيراني المؤثر في الساحات العراقية والسورية واللبنانية، تأتي كلها في إطار مكافحة التهديدات التي تواجه أمنها القومي، وأبلغ تعبير عن هذه الاستراتيجية، هي التصريحات التي أطلقها مرشد الجمهورية الإيرانية علي خامنئي بقوله" ينبغي القضاء على التهديدات التي تواجهها إيران في ساحات خارج إيران، قبل أن نضطر إلى أن نواجهها في شوارع طهران". كما أن هناك نقطة مهمة ينبغي الانتباه إليها جيداً، هو أن إيران أعطيت أكبر من حجمها في الشرق الأوسط، فتضخيم الصورة الإيرانية بهيمنتها وسيطرتها على مجمل مناطق النفوذ في المنطقة من قبل الدعاية الغربية، يأتي في إطار السعي لزيادة الضغوط عليها، فحتى صناع القرار في إيران يدركون جيداً أن إيران غير قادرة على مواجهة أي صراع مسلح مع القوى الغربية حتى داخل المنطقة بفعل الفارق الكبير في القدرات العسكرية بينها وبين هذه القوى.فالقدرات العسكرية الإيرانية ترتكز على عنصرين أساسين هما الصواريخ البالستية (داخلياً)، والموجات البشرية والجماعات المسلحة المرتبطة بها (خارجياً)، بل أن العقيدة العسكرية الإيرانية هي أصلاً دفاعية ومصممة لخوض حروب غير متماثلة وحروب إستنزاف طويلة، فالتوزيع الجغرافي داخل إيران، يشير إلى مدى إيلاء صانع الاستراتيجية العسكرية الإيرانية أهمية قصوى لفرضية أي حرب محتملة مستقبلاً، من خلال نقل كل المرافق الحيوية إلى مناطق شمال شرق إيران، لإدراك إيران أن أي حرب مستقبلية ستأتيها من الجهة الغربية والجنوبية.

إن عدم تأثر إيران  بشدة حتى اللحظة بفعل التحديات الإقليمية والضغوط والعقوبات الدولية، يأتي في إطار أمرين رئيسيين، أولهما نجاح إيران في توظيف أوراق اللعب الإقليمية بشكل ناجح، وهو ما مكنها من خوض صراعات سياسية وعسكرية حتى اللحظة في مناطق خارج حدودها، أي أنها لم تجبر على خوض الصراع في داخلها، والأمر الثاني هو عدم نجاح القوى الإقليمية والدولية على إيجاد مسالك سياسية وعسكرية يمكن من خلالها الضغط على إيران وكبح جماحها في المنطقة، فإيران لازلت قوية رغم العقوبات الدولية المستمرة عليها، فهي تنظر دائماً على أنها قادرة على تجاوز التحديات التي تفرض عليها، وهو ما يؤكد عليه علي خامنئي دائماً.

وخلاصة القول، يجب أن نعطي مساحة واسعة لدراسة وفهم التاريخ والعقلية السياسية الإيرانية، فهي لديها من الحجج والبراهين ما يخولها لدخول أي ساحة من ساحات الشرق الأوسط، ضمن مسميات ومبررات عديدة، بعضها سياسي والأخر مذهبي، ولا ينبغي التوقف على أدوار إيران في المنطقة، فإيران تؤمن بدورها العالمي، وبمكانتها الدولية الفاعلة، وبأنها قادرة على تقديم نموذج حضاري إسلامي يخدم الإنسانية كلها، بل أنها اليوم دولة مبادرة وقادرة على إنتاج نظم أمنية وعسكرية بقيادتها ووفق رؤيتها، وعلى الجميع أن يفهم ذلك، يفهم على أن الطائفي والمذهبي من وجهة نظره، هو قومي ووطني من وجهة نظر إيران، وما بين هاتين الرؤيتين نحتاج إلى مراجعة تاريخية حقيقية، إذا ما أردنا أن نفهم إيران كدولة وسياسة ومجتمع.

وأخيرا، هناك بعض البدائل والحلول التي يمكن أن تنتهجها الولايات المتحدة وحلفائها في المنطقة للحد من النفوذ الإيراني المتزايد، منها إيجاد مسالك عسكرية وأمنية قادرة على تحجيم واحتواء النفوذ الإيراني في المنطقة، من خلال توظيف الجماعات المسلحة المعارضة للنفوذ الإيراني، ودعمها وتسليحها، وتوفير الدعم الدولي لها. كما يمكن أيضا توظيف دبلوماسية عامة وقوة ناعمة قادرة على كسب المجتمع الإيراني والمجتمعات الخاضعة للتأثير الإيراني، من خلال العديد من المبادرات الاستيعابية، وإفهامها بأن ما يقوم به النظام السياسي في إيران أشاع فوضى مجتمعية بمجمل المنطقة. وفى هذا الصدد ينبغي على الولايات المتحدة أن تعمل على دعم المعارضة خلال احتجاجاتها الحالية وتفعيل دورها داخلياً وخارجياً، من أجل إيجاد تحالف إيراني وطني معارض موحد، ليكون الواجهة الحقيقية والبديل الجاهز للنظام الإيراني الحالي.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

How to Understand Iran


Also available in العربية

January 9, 2018

Following the eruption of the recent protests that began in Iran on December 28, 2017, due to growing inflation and unemployment, Iranian Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei accused Iran's enemies of “trying to strike the Iranian nation.”

Iran occupies an important position in the eyes of international and regional powers. A historical reading of the relationship of Iran to these powers shows an enduring yet rocky relationship governed by both mutual suspicion and mutual interests. But today Iran is living in a new environment in which the great powers are striving to contain and exclude their rivals to ensure a commanding position in the global order. During the time that Iran has aimed to become power player itself, it has been an active and proactive party in proposed regional plans for the Middle East; however, the great powers have insisted that Iran remain in a subordinate position. This stance is what has driven Iran to crystallize formulas, principles, and strategic doctrines that represent its regional identity and interests within a broad framework of Iranian nationalism. Iran’s efforts encompass all areas of influence in the Middle East and attempt to reject any political or military reality imposed upon it.

Iran’s political and strategic decision-makers perceive that everything Iran is currently doing in the region originates from the context of its higher national interest. If regional and international powers consider Iran’s interventions to be factional and sectarian, that is their own business. On the contrary, Iran is directing at other countries the same accusations made against it, as Iran argues that it is other countries inflaming sectarian conflict in the region and that the United States caused al-Qaeda and the Islamic State, while Iran is merely fighting back against what misguided regional and international policies have unleashed in the Middle East.

After 2003, the Middle East suffered from regional polarization and was greatly affected by repeated American declarations to eliminate opposition to American influence under the banner of “the war on terror.” From this emerged the so-called “axis of evil” countries declared by the George W. Bush administration: Iran, Syria, and North Korea. This declaration indicated the future goals of American strategic planning for the Middle East. To escape the specter of post-occupation Iraq, Iran sought to protect its national security by any and all means, especially since it shares a 1,450-kilometer border with Iraq. Proceeding from the possibility of America exploiting the Iraqi theater and using it against Iran in the future, Iran plunged forcefully into the Iraqi scene in all areas—political, economic, military, social, and religious—in an attempt to cut off any future American threats. It is enough to note that the Iraqi-American security agreement did not see the light until after explicit legal articles were inserted to counter the possibility of America launching military attacks against Iran from Iraqi territory.

The Iranian perspective reveals a country exposed to major international and regional challenges: many of the military capabilities of armed military organizations have been exhausted; regional powers seek to end their presence in the region and to transfer the conflict to inside Iran; and international powers are pursuing regime change in Iran. In the presence of such dangers and challenges, what more may await Iran? The discussion here is not to justify the roles played by Iran in the region, but to highlight the strategic imperatives that drive Iran to act in Lebanon, Yemen, Bahrain, Iraq, Africa, and Central Asia—indeed, in any patch of fertile ground upon which Iran might preserve its presence and statehood. The imperatives that allow Iran to intervene in all affairs in the region spring from the same imperatives that allow the United States to intervene in the Middle East under the banner of countering jihadist terrorism or of protecting American national security. All of these reasons lead Iran to justify its presence and expansion in the region through a variety of tools, methods, and justifications.

Iran’s influential role in Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, comes within the framework of countering threats to its national security. The expression of this strategy has been conveyed through the statements of the Supreme Leader of the Iranian Republic, Ali Khamenei, who often refers to confronting threats outside of Iran in order to avoid facing them within Iran. There is another important point to be noted: Iran has been attributed a heft in the Middle East greater than that which it actually possesses, as Western propaganda exaggerates Iranian hegemony and control over its spheres of influence in the region in order to increase pressure on Iran, while even the decision-makers in Iran are well aware that Iran is not capable of facing any armed conflict with Western powers—even within the region—by virtue of the large difference in military capabilities between Iran and these powers. Iranian military capabilities are based on two basic components, namely, ballistic missiles (internally) and human waves and the armed groups connected to them (externally). In fact, Iranian military doctrine is primarily defensive and designed to wage assymetric warfare and wars of attrition. The geographical distribution inside Iran necessitates careful prioritization of military strategy when envisioning any possible future war. For example, all vital facilities are transferred to the northeastern parts of Iran because Iran is aware that any future war would come from the west and the south.

Iran to date has not been seriously affected by regional challenges, pressures, and international sanctions, in the context of two major issues. First, Iran is succeeding in playing its regional cards effectively, which has enabled it for the moment to carry out political and military struggles outside its borders without being forced to engage in conflict inside Iran. The second issue is the lack of success on the part of regional and international powers to find political and military routes to pressure Iran and to curb its defiance in the region. Thus, Iran remains powerful despite the continuing international sanctions and always considers itself capable of overcoming its challenges, as Ali Khamenei constantly affirms.

All in all ,we must give broad attention to the study and understanding of Iranian history and political mentality because it contains effective arguments and proofs that can be used in any Middle Eastern arena, among many designations and justifications, both political and sectarian. It is not necessary to halt Iran’s roles in the region, since Iran believes in its global role, its active international position, and its capability to provide a model of Islamic civilization that will help all of humanity. Indeed, Iran sees itself today as a forward-looking nation capable of producing security and military systems under its leadership and according to its vision. It is up to the rest of the world to understand that what is sectarian and factional from the world’s perspective, is nationalist and patriotic from Iran’s perspective. Between these two visions, we need real historical, policy, and social reconsideration if we want to understand Iran as a nation.

Finally, there are some alternatives and solutions that the US and its allies could pursue to limit Iran’s growing influence. Among them are finding military and security avenues capable of restraining and containing Iranian influence in the region through supporting and arming armed opposition groups. Another possibility is to use public diplomacy and soft power to win over Iranian society and communities subject to Iranian influence through numerous comprehensive initiatives that help those communities understand that the political regime in Iran is spreading societal chaos throughout the entire region. There is also a need to support the Iranian opposition in its current protests and activate its role both internally and externally to assemble a unified, national, Iranian opposition alliance that will be the true face and ready alternative to the current Iranian regime.

Customize your RSS Feed